The Inn At the Crossroads Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,3
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,3
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
93 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Fantastic

4,8 su settembre 01, 2014

An excellent spot just outside of town. Close to several vineyards and Monticello. Within walking distance of pippin hill vineyards which has a fantastic view. The house is a gem. Breakfast was fantastic. Would highly recommend it


outstanding week end

5 su giugno 22, 2014

We went there with our family from France and rented 5 rooms . it' s an outstanding location for visiting Monticello, charlottesville, in a quiet area. just have a good time to rest. Our guests were very considerate, taking care of everything we could need. My mother had her birthday and our guest Jim offered us a glass of very good wine to celebrate. We highly recommand this Inn . Catherine


Comfortable and Clean

3,0 su giugno 26, 2013

We were in the Tavern Keeper's Suite. It was spacious and comfortable. If the original inn keeper had 16 children, I imagine it was a little crowded. The owners were courteous. They made the extra effort to leave a breakfast treat for us on the day we departed early.


Innkeeper went out of his way to be helpful.

4,0 su maggio 15, 2013

I'll come back here again when I'm in Charlottesville.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again!


Beautiful historical inn

3,2 su aprile 21, 2013

Beautiful historical inn

Risposta del proprietario
That's exactly what we think. Thank you so much!


Excellent

5 su aprile 19, 2013

I have returned home from an excellent stay at the Inn at the Crossroads. The setting is quiet and peaceful; a true getaway. Inside the Inn is very clean, intimate, and decorated in true historical fashion. The coffee was made on time and the breakfast was homemade and they used local fruit. I would highly suggest staying here if your in town. Jim was full of information and historical stories and Janet made you feel right at home. We will be back:)

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your kind words. We know how some folks depend on that 6 am cup of coffee each day. Glad you felt right at home, that is what we strive for at the Inn.


Lovely place, excellent location

3,2 su marzo 27, 2013

Stayed in the Summer Kitchen cottage which is charming but not for people with wonky hips or knees - very steep steps. We walked up behind the Inn to the gazebo and found one of the more beautiful views of a pastoral landscape to be found in Virginia. The good pizza place across the street is a bonus.


An Outstanding Experience

5 su febbraio 24, 2013

Great staff, wonderful room, and hearty breakfast.


Great B&B

4,2 su febbraio 18, 2013

The Property Managers of the B&B were very attentive and welcoming. The food was great, the ambience was classy. Only negative was due to the thin walls and you could easily hear others in the B&B in the hallways and other rooms on your floor but understandable given age of the B&B. B&B was sold out both nights over the weekend,


A Delightful Little Place

5 su febbraio 13, 2013

I was really impressed by the owners' hospitality, the tidiness of the room, the workmanship of the restoration, and the great price. With food and vineyards within walking distance, there was no need for anything but a pair of comfortable shoes and a walking stick!


Fantastic Getaway

4,8 su febbraio 10, 2013

Jim and Janet are tremendous hosts and went above and beyond to ensure that the planning and execution of the surprise birthday weekend was perfect. Strongly recommend a stay with them in this bucolic relaxing atmosphere, only a few miles from UVA and bustling Charlottesville.


Timeless

5 su gennaio 28, 2013

We stayed in the Summer Kitchen Cottage over MLK weekend and already know that we found our go-to place for a few days away from it all. Once we pulled in, time seemed to stand still. The historic buildings instantly transport one beyond the hustle and bustle of modern life to a few memorable days basking in the languid comfort of southern hospitality. Jim and Janet are the quintessential hosts accommodating every request while effortlessly balancing friendly conversation and sightseeing advice with privacy and discretion. We enjoyed the Inn's comfortable, clean rooms, generous portions of delicious homemade breakfast, convenient proximity to the Blue Ridge Mountains and UNESCO World Heritage sites, and, most of all, the atmosphere of ease in a unique setting. Save us a room for next time, Jim!


Wonderful find

5 su novembre 07, 2012

The room was beautiful and the remodeled shower was divine. Exceeded our expectations.


walnut tree.

4,2 su novembre 04, 2012

very historic.


Wonderful

4,4 su ottobre 25, 2012

I recently stayed in the cottage part with my wife and we loved it! It was our 10th anniverssary and a nice romantic setting. The owners were excellent caretakers and very knowledgable about the area and the history. I highly recommend staying here and me and the wife will definitely be back.


Awesome 1st Night after Wedding

5 su ottobre 22, 2012

We spent our 1st two nights of our marriage in the Cottage which is a wonderful room. It's 2 stories, very pristine, clean, and has a new bathroom. We didn't use the couch or the living space; all our time was spent in the bedroom but it looked very warm and cozy. We did NOT eat breakfast since we already had prior arrangements. I liked Jim (the owner) a lot. He was very friendly. A+ experience!!!!


Lovely Historic Inn - Innkeepers Enhance the Stay

4,6 su ottobre 17, 2012

What a lovely historic inn - room was very comfortable for such a historic location; Updated bath and other ammenities didn't detract from the historic feel of the room. Location was beautiful especially in the Fall; Innkeeper was so helpful - knowledgeable and happy to share stories about the history of the inn and surrounding area. Always available to help with anything that was needed. My only disappointment was that my schedule did not allow for me to have breakfast during my stay -- I heard that it is quite something. (Rating for Dining is provided because system requires it). Definitely would choose to stay at the Inn at the Crossroads again.


We will be back!

4,8 su ottobre 16, 2012

Wonderful accomodations. The owners made us feel welcome. This was our first visit and we are looking forward to the next.


A Great Getaway

5 su settembre 19, 2012

A 2-night weekend stay to visit Monticello and Blue Ridge/Skyline Drive unexpectedly turned into a 3-night stay....and The Inn at The Crossroads was the perfect retreat. After a crazy week in Fairfax, quiet, relaxing calm was in order. The relaxing front porch, cozy guest room, delightful breakfasts, and location was perfect for a nice getaway weekend with events in 3 different directions. I highly recommend the Inn, for whatever length of stay you need.


Perfect Accompaniment to Historical Visit

4,6 su settembre 11, 2012

This was the perfect place to bring our friends for their first visit to Charlottesville and Monticello. Jim and Janet are wonderful hosts and breakfasts were delightful. We got the "red-carpet" treatment at Albemarle Ciderworks when we mentioned The Inn, even though it was past closing time! We will be back.


Quiet, Comfortable, Historic Room

4,8 su settembre 07, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Breakfasts were terrific, but not overwhelming.


Great breakfast, but watch out for the power tools...

3,2 su agosto 22, 2012

While the inn was interesting because of its incredible age and history, it was decorated oddly and had power various tools lying about the porch during our entire stay, directly in the path of foot traffic. The breakfast was outstanding, as was the wonderful dining area, far exceeding my expectations.


Wonderful Historic Inn

4,6 su agosto 13, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Inn Aug 6-10 and had a wonderful experience. Our trip was entirely dedicated to historic sites, so staying here just added to our history lessons. We stayed in the Tavern Keepers Suite, 3 adults were easily accommodated w/ the King bed in one room and the large futon in the other. The large shower was wonderful!! The fact that the rooms don't have TVs added to our enjoyment as we read each night and played card games. WIFI was easy to access and worked great. We made it to Monticello in about 12 minutes, and also made trips to Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, UVA, and Montpelier. Jim is full of information about the area, and Janet cooks up a huge breakfast that we could never eat all of. They were very accommodating on the 2 days we needed an early breakfast due to our timed reservations at Monticello and the day we had to leave for a long day in the car. It was quiet, clean, and steeped in history, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.


Historic place, committed owners

3,0 su agosto 06, 2012

Little more serice upon entering would have been nice. Now we had to find our way after dinner in the dark, when the front door was locked and we did not have the code. On the whole nice place


Wonderful B&B

5 su agosto 04, 2012

Jim and Janet are fantastic hosts! Everything about our stay was enjoyable.


Excellent!

4,8 su luglio 27, 2012

The owners were friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfast was delicious and hearty. The inn itself is amazing. We loved every minute of our stay.


Going to Charlottesville VA? This is the place to stay.

4,8 su luglio 22, 2012

We were visiting author Rita Reynolds and she recommended the Inn at the Crossroads in Charlottesville, VA. We LOVED it. It is beautiful, literally filled with history and antiques and sports the most comfortable rooms I have had on the road. And the bathroom was exceptional - marble, a huge, walk in shower with a giant sunflower shower head. My daughter and I rested luxuriously in this beautiful setting run by two delightful people - Jim and Janet. Oh, and breakfast was fabulous - fresh fruits, gourmet waffles and stuffed french toast. I would recommend the Inn at the Crossroads to anyone and everyone.


Another wonderful visit!

5 su luglio 20, 2012

A return trip for us to their stand-alone "Summer Kitchen Cottage." We would not hesitate to return. Such a romantic and cozy building. First rate property all around.


Great B&B for a Great Weekend!

4,6 su luglio 13, 2012

Inn at the Crossroads was the perfect place for a weekend getaway in western Virginia. The owners are incredibly accommodating, rooms private and cozy, and breakfast absolutely phenomenal. Jim goes out of his way to make your stay memorable and is more than willing to suggest things to do around Charlottesville and the Shenandoahs. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area.


A wonderful experience

4,6 su luglio 11, 2012

Great place. Well kept secret. The owners were great the room was peaceful. The breakfast was awesome. I highly recommend it.


Great value!

3,6 su luglio 05, 2012

The proprietor was very friendly and helpful. This B&B is very comfortable and the house is perfect for a family gathering.


Can not ask for more!

4,2 su giugno 21, 2012

Family and Friends gathered at this wonderfully historic location for rest, socializing and exploration of the area. Views were magnificent, food and caretakers were excellent. Jim and Janet were very friendly to talk to and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were very comfortable and affordable. Easy to get to and centrally located to places we wanted to visit. lots of beautiful vineyards in the area. Antique stores abound and the restaurants we went to had literally no wait at all. We will go back again, could not ask for more


Historic with beautiful scenery

3,2 su giugno 13, 2012

This inn is located in a gorgeous area 15 minutes from Charlottesville with a winery next door. There is a lot of historic charm, with that being said, amenities are minimal. Never did get to eat there due to the scheduled events for which I was in the area. Inn keepers are very nice.


Best Stay at a B&B ever!

5 su giugno 03, 2012

If you want a nice, secluded stay at an Inn LOADED with history, in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, only minutes from Charlottesville, VA, this is where you want to be! The history surrounding this Inn, alone, makes it worth the stay. Add to that, the Innkeepers, Jim and Janet, who can't do enough to make you feel right at home and are more than willing to fill you up with the history of the Inn as well as the surrounding area. You are minutes from Charlottesville and Staunton, VA; seconds to local wineries and a ciderworks; and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway. I wouldn't recommend you stay anywhere else but the Crossroads Inn!


History at its best!

5 su maggio 30, 2012

Our stay at The Inn At the Crossroads was a wonderful experience of history and comfort. What better place to stay when visiting Monticello, than the tavern owned by Jefferson's nephew? The Innkeepers Jim and Janet have created a memorable bed and breakfast whether you are visiting the area for the historical sites or the numerous wineries. Jim was our personal history teacher and Janet cooked up a delicious breakfast, part of which had its basis in history. We slept well in our clean and comfortable room, remembering those who had been there before us.


Anniversary Weekend

4,4 su maggio 29, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Inn at the Crossroads. We stayed in the "summer kitchen" which afforded us the privacy we desired. The location is very convenient to Monticello, Michie Tavern, Ash Lawn, Charlottesville and maany wineries. We would gladly stay there again. Joe Davis


A Great Place to Stay

3,8 su maggio 16, 2012

Jim and Janet were great hosts. The food was great, and we had something different each of the 3 mornings we had breakfast. The location wasw great. We were close to Montichello, Ash Lawn (President Monroe's home), and many winerys.


A Perfect Weekend

5 su maggio 16, 2012

The beautiful setting, the spacious room, the homemade breakfast, the charming hosts: we could not have had a better weekend at the Inn at the Crossroads in North Garden; another great reason to spend time in Virginia. --Ashton Nichols, Carlisle, PA


Another wonderful stay at the Inn at the Crossroads!

5 su maggio 10, 2012

This was our second stay at the Inn at the Crossroads and we were not disappointed. Jim and Janet are the best hosts. Jim can answer your questions regarding just about anything in the area: restaurants, historical sites, golfing, etc. Janet makes the best breakfasts ever :). We are sure that there is a third stay at the Inn in our future!


Wonderful Old Inn

5 su maggio 09, 2012

We spent four nights here in April...it was delightful. although the house, which has always been an INn since Colonial Days, is a star in itself, it's the innkeepers, Jim and Janet, who make it feel truly like a home. They are pleasant, informative, conversational, friendly hosts, and rapidly enter the ranks of Friends. They have put many hours and years into the place, and it shows, form the decor to the wonderful breakfasts and surroundings. The house is historically accurate, lovely, situated on a picturesque hill surrounded by lush farmland, herds of cattle, as well as vineyards and orchards. One truly feels transported into the past with all the comforts and luxuries of today.


Wonderful experience!

4,6 su aprile 16, 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic experience at the Crossroads Inn. The service was outstanding! We will be moving to the area soon, and the innkeepers were kind enough to help my husband with some contacts for a possible job. The location is also fantastic- just a short drive into Charlottesville, and right next door to a beautiful winery! We would highly recommend this B&B!!


Lovely, Historic B&B

5 su marzo 29, 2012

My fiancee brought me to The Inn At the Crossroads for birthday-getaway weekend. We arrived at the inn at about 8pm, during a rain shower. We found the innkeeper waiting for our arrival. He met us at our car with an umbrella, to help us with our bags. We stayed in the Tavernkeepers Suite, which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. As we put our bags away, the innkeeper filled us in on the rich history of the inn. By this time, the rain had let up. On the advice of the innkeeper, my fiancee and I took a flashlight and went for a short walk to their gazebo in a nearby clearing where we spent the rest of the evening stargazing. Both mornings that we were there, we were greeted by a delicious breakfast. We spent our first day at Monticello (the home of Thomas Jefferson), which was very close-by. Back at the inn, our room provided a very restful retreat where we could unwind at the end of the day. We left the inn after breakfast on the second day, to head back home. Even though we had only been gone from home (Northern VA) for less than 48 hours, we both felt very rested. On our way home, we stopped at Albemarle Cider Works for a cider tasting, which was unusual and fun. We continued on towards home, stopping at Montpelier (the home of James Madison). The visit rounded out our weekend of historic places. We would definitely stay at The Inn At the Crossroads again. Thank you, Jim & Janet, for a wonderful time!


A quite lovely B&B

4,8 su febbraio 16, 2012

This historic tavern is quaint and delightful. It was a trip back in time and a nice place to stay while traveling through this Historic region on the Constitution Route.


Fantastic Stay at an Historic Inn

4,8 su gennaio 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn at the Crossroads and had an exceptionally lovely time. The owner was incredibly friendly and took a great deal of time to make us feel welcome and at home. The Inn is full of so much history and we loved hearing all the details. The rooms were cozy, comfortable, and clean. Breakfast was excellent. I'd definitely recommend this Inn to anyone visiting Charlottesville.


Gracious & Historical

4,6 su dicembre 05, 2011

Very warm welcome & Jim, the proprietor gave us a very interesting & informative background on the history of the building & grounds. The breakfast was really wonderful, in taste & also in tradition. They also gave us a reference to the Cider Works, who treated us quite royally.


A lovely weekend

4,6 su ottobre 24, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the Inn. Everything in the room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The innkeeper, Jim, was very knowledgeable about the history of the inn and the area. He went out of his way to help us, even getting a Saturday evening reservation at a popular restaurant at the last minute. The breakfasts were based on historical meals in the area and were outstanding. Next time we are in the area, we will definitely be back!


Inn at the Crossroads

5 su ottobre 20, 2011

Here's the key. Jim Stern is an absolute font of information about history (local and regional) - where to go (and when), who to see, what to taste, etc. The Inn in wonderful and bedecked with Americana, but Jim is the golden key. If you just want to chill out - super - but if you have come to experience an amazing slice of US history, food, and more - this is a fabulous base of operations. I have nothing but the highest regard and will come back again & again.


Wonderful Inn, Great Hosts

4,2 su agosto 29, 2011

We stayed in the Summer Kitchen cottage. It's got all the modern comforts while also evoking a much earlier era. The sense of history is palpable. We loved the space, the back porch and the property. The Inn hosts are also really great and helped us with dining and activity suggestions that were all right on. We will defintely be back.


Historic B&B with amazing food and impeccable service.

4,8 su agosto 26, 2011

The Inn at the Crossroads exceeded our expectations in every way. My fiance and I loved the wine and cider press tours, the food, and - of course - the early American buildings and grounds. We plan on going back next summer, and look forward to seeing Tim, the innkeeper, again.


A great b & b

4,0 su agosto 24, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our stay in the Tavern Keepers Suite. We got comfort and even a feeling of luxury while staying in a historic inn. Easy drive to Charlottesville and to Monticello. Also enjoyed our conversations with Jim about Thomas Jefferson.


The Inn at the Crossroads

5 su agosto 05, 2011

The Inn at the Crossroads is warm and welcoming. Jim and Janet Stern graciously welcome you as their guest, offer guidance to assist as you plan your days in Charlottesville and, prepare wonderful breakfasts each morning. The rooms at the Inn are charming and, the grounds delightful with flowers, swings and gazebo. We have fond memories of our visit to Charlottesville and our stay at the Inn at the Crossroads.


Historic B&B

4,2 su agosto 04, 2011

This Inn was a true gem. The Inn Keepers were wonderful. We would definitely return for another stay when visiting Charlottesville.


Great place to stay

5 su agosto 02, 2011

Great B&B, clean, service fantastic. Innkeeper full of historical facts and willing to share. We look forward to another stay.


Lovely historic inn

4,0 su luglio 14, 2011

Excellent place to stay, on all fronts, with very knowledgeable host. Place retains its historic feel really well.


Great Escape from DC

4,6 su luglio 07, 2011

Jim and Janet are very friendly. When I erred in making my reservation on the website, everyone was very accommodating. Jim and Janet give great advice about things to do in and around Charlottesville.


Fabulous!

4,8 su giugno 27, 2011

This is is quite charming. The host, Jim works hard to ensure that guests have everything that they need, and handled some unexpected summertime power outages in the county with great preparedness, even offering the use of the dryer when we got soaked when we were out in a surprise thunderstorm. He had great recommendations of things to do and places to eat and provided specific directions. The food was exceptional. We really enjoyed ourselves and would return again in a heartbeat.


A perfect weekend getaway!

4,8 su giugno 22, 2011

I found the Inn online and decided to take a chance, and I'm very glad I did! It was a short car ride into Charlottesville for dinner and a short ride to a number of wineries and hiking as well. The Inn was lovely and quaint, and I was shocked at how clean and well-kept it was given its age. The bed was extremely comfortable (I stayed in the Mary Sutherland room) and though the room was a bit small, it was more than adequate for our needs. We even got to wake up to a beautiful view of mountains and farmland. The owner, Jim, was very personable and happy to chat. He even went out of his way to help us arrange transportation to the wineries at the last minute. If you're looking for a country inn, this is definitely the place to be!


Great place to stay as you explore the local history

4,4 su giugno 22, 2011

We enjoyed this historic Inn on a recent trip to the Charlottesville area. The Inn is not far from a busy road, but we were not bothered by noise. Innkeeper Jim was very generous with information whenever we asked and apologized that the AC unit in our room was a temporary one as the other one had just broken the day before. Nice large room and friendly folks!


Great Weekend, Hospitable Hosts

4,8 su giugno 13, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at Inn of the Crossroads and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We booked the Tavernkeepers Suite which has a wonderful living room with two couches and fireplace (although it was 98 degrees so we didn't need a fire). The bedroom had a comfortable king bedroom, lots of room to hang and store clothes and was very spacious. As hot as it was, the air conditioning worked just fine and we were very comfortable. Since this is an old inn, I had expected an old style bathroom. The bathroom was amazing. A two head shower with tile on the floor and walls that included a seat and shelving to put your stuff on. It was very modern and big. I think a family of 4 could have all fit into that shower. My only issue withthe bathroom is that I need to be standing about an inch away from the mirror in order to see to put my make up on and I just couldn't get close enough due to the sink (which was nice and large). Breakfast was a fantastic treat every morning. Janet knows how to cook and she surprised with a great meal each morning we were there. The blueberry muffins were the best I ever had. Janet did give me the recipe but mine were not quite as good as hers I admit. The location is out in the middle of nowhere but it is only a short drive into Charlottesville or to Moniticello or many local wineries and other sites. Don't plan to watch TV while you are here because there is none. I found that to be a great respite from the TV noise that is often in the background. However, we were so busy doing local sites and things that it never dawned on us that we needed a TV. We did bring a laptop and some movies but only had time to watch one of those. This inn has so much charachter which is why I chose it. But I would go back again because of the outstanding hospitality provided by Jim and Janet (your friendly innkeepers). Of all the B and B's we have stayed in (and there have been many), this one ranks in the Top Three for us.


Rustic Historical Building

3,4 su giugno 03, 2011

The room is small and the building is very rustic. We've had better breakfast and more hospitalities at other B&Bs before. But the place is kept squeeky clean, which we really appreciated. The owner Jim is a very interesting gentleman.


Mid week stay

4,4 su maggio 04, 2011

The caretakers accommodated our special request with no problems and even correct our reservation so weren't overcharge. The property is perfectly located and super historic which made is even more enjoyable. Lastly, the breakfasts were outstanding and large which was a great way to start the day.


A wonderful time at the Inn at the Crossroads

4,0 su aprile 14, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Inn at the Crossroads. Our hosts, Jim and Janet, couldn't have been more helpful. They were very knowledgeable about the area, referred us to great and very reasonably pricing restaurants, gave directions to all historic sites and knew so much about them. The rooms were wonderfully decorated, clean and comfortable. The Inn itself is in a beautiful spot and also conveniently located to everything! The breaksfasts - Delish! We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more and definitely plan to go back.


a wonderful stay...

4,6 su febbraio 22, 2011

We had a wonderful time. Jim was extremely knowledgeable of the history not only of the Inn but also the.area. He was also helpful directing us to various local places to see. He even went as far as getting me flowers for our room for Valentines Day...major points there let me tell you! The rooms were very well kept and clean. The breakfast was delicious. The area and view is beautiful. Thank you Jim.


Beautiful, historic inn with a knowledgeable innkeeper

4,8 su novembre 10, 2010

This inn is like stepping back in time. The lovingly restored main building is set in a quiet, rural setting right off the main highway through Charlottesville. Even the breakfasts included historic dishes served at Monticello. Only 10 miles from UVA, I would recommend this place to anyone who loves history and a good night's sleep. Our room was cozy, but very clean and comfortable.


No cross words for the Crossroads

3,8 su novembre 06, 2010

The weather turned decidedly against us as we arrived at North Garden, from 97 Celsius and sun to 65 Celsius and torrential rain overnight, but the Inn at the Crossroads gave us a really warm welcome. The house and location are delightful. Our bedroom was really comfortable with a lovely view over the rolling Virginia hills. Breakfast was traditional American - a bit sweet for us Brits, but a pleasant change. Our hosts made us welcome and went out of their way to make us familiar with the locality. Our only minor niggle was the poor internet access. We like others were wandering around the house searching for a good signal, but a lovely place and a good way to meet people! Strongly recommend this jewel in the middle of the beautiful Virginian countryside, and for its access to the Blue Ride Parkway and Shenandoah Valley.


Our favorite

5 su novembre 01, 2010

Members of our family have stayed at the Inn and, this time, the Rural Ridge Cottage, on a number of occasions now and have always found the experience wonderful. Breakfast has won raves every morning. The setting is beautiful year round and the innkeepers have been warm, knowledgeable, and exceptionally accomodating. The range of accomodations is wonderful- everything from a traditional double room at the inn to the Summer Kitchen Cottage at the main location and the fantastic, family- and kid-friendly Rural Ridge Cottage just a minute down the road. If we sound like fans, it's because we are!


Great place for a weekend away

4,0 su ottobre 27, 2010

Stayed here as a base for wine tasting, hiking, and nights out on the town in Charlottesville. Served as a great base for all of those activities. The hosts were extremely knowledgeable about the area, which made it nicer.


Hidden Gem in Charlottesville area

4,8 su ottobre 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the "summer kitchen cottage" on this property in Fall 2010. It was lovely and had a lot of character and charm. The hosts were very friendly and the breakfasts were delicious.


Rustic, quiet and out of the way

2,2 su settembre 27, 2010

If you're looking for a rustic, quaint out of the way place to stay this maybe the place for you. If not, find somewhere else. We arrived shortly after 7:00 on a Sunday evening looking for the inn (that was more out of the way than we anticipated from the web site), hungry. With little around we ended up at the pizza joint across the road which wasn't bad but one would expect more dining options than a pizza joint. The room was okay with few amenities (such as no tv) and breakfast the next morning well below that anticipated with two small waffles with fruit and two (very) small pieces of ham. When we consider the two other B&B's we stayed at during our trip the Inn was, by far, ranked third on this trip list.

Risposta del proprietario
As a Virginia Landmark Property, our mission is to preserve all of the buildings and the surrounding acreage close to how it was in Jefferson's time. We have wireless internet but not TVs, because wireless is unobtrusive. Charlottesville is a college town, but food late on Sunday is a challenge. Blue laws are gone, but Southern traditions of stopping service at 8 pm on Sundays still hold. As far as the food, please you read the other reviews here. We serve many breakfast items that were served to Jefferson at Monticello, dutch apple babies and potted bread, real maple syrup and hand made tea cakes. We bake all of our own breads, make homemade yogurt and granola and buy local produce all year long. Yes we are in the country, only 14 minutes to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive according to mapquest. But we are also 14 minutes from Monticello and 12 minutes to UVA. Drive the 5 extra minutes from the city limits and you avoid the noise of a college town, rumble from freight trains and the bar crowd. Downtown is bustling, but we like the safety and the tranquility of being tucked between a vineyard and an orchard with a cider-works. If you who would feel excited to open a door with a handle that was turned by Thomas Jefferson, Dabney Carr, Martin Van Buren, Teddy Roosevelt and Franklin Roosevelt then you should visit us. The guest who wrote this review just 'stopped in'. If they had com to Bnb.com first they would have had a better idea about the nature of a Landmark Property and why we are so proud of The Inn. I think reading the Bnb.com website would have made it clear this Inn was not for them or anyone looking for college town nightlife. Our evening activity is letting the guests take out the telescope and look at the stars.


Great Innkeeper!

3,6 su agosto 17, 2010

This was a great B&B experience for us, mainly due to the outstanding innkeeper, who was warm and attentive without being at all intrusive: he was concerned not only with making our stay at his inn a happy one, but with our making the best of our vacation time. The inn itself had two slight drawbacks for us, which might not be drawbacks for other people: 1) we like to sit outside, and while there were lovely places to sit, the inn is right at the road, and the traffic noise was sometimes (not always) intrusive on the beautiful views. 2) The common room seemed a little small, so didn't feel like a place you could relax for a couple of hours with a book should it be raining. Neither of these points would keep us from going back.


Great Weekend at the Inn

4,4 su agosto 14, 2010

My wife and I spent a fantastic (albeit too short) visit to the Inn and were thoroughly pleased. Jim was a fantastic host going out of his way to make sure we were settled and had a good idea of what we could do in the area. The building's history was fantastic and worth the visit on its own. Finally, breakfast was one of the best I've had and certainly the most creative! Thanks Jim and Janet for contributing to a fantastic weekend.


Pretty Spot

4,0 su agosto 08, 2010

My husband and I stayed comfortably in the Summer Kitchen Cottage with our 7-month-old in August. The innkeeper, Jim, was very helpful and provided great info about both the inn and things to do in the area. The property is beautiful with flowers, hummingbirds, butterflies, and curvy little walkways here and there. Wish we had had more time to explore the inn and catch all the historical info.


Travel back to the 1800's

3,8 su luglio 26, 2010

As a respite from the madness of Northern Virginia, we spent several relaxing days at the inn during the summer. Waking up in the Mary Sutherland room and looking out at the mountains in the distance puts you in a great frame of mind to explore the Charlottesville area, especially Jefferson's Montecello and Madison's Montpelier. While at the historic inn, it is easy for you to transport yourself back in time. Its location is removed from the hustle of Charlottesville but is close enough that you can quickly be in downtown if you desire. We also enjoyed a great breakfast and the company of other interesting quest.


Wonderful Inn

4,6 su luglio 23, 2010

My wife and I happened upon the Inn at the Crossroads when we escaped DC after the Snowmaggedon. We did some snowshoeing around the property and toured Charlottesville. We were so impressed with the Inn and its keepers, we spent our first anniversary there in May. Jim and Janet are two of the warmest and most generous people you could ever hope to meet. We'll be back many times in the years to come.


Great for family or romantic getaway

4,6 su luglio 22, 2010

I have been to the Inn at the Crossroads on two separate occasions. Both times I stayed in the Summer Kitchen cottage. It is a great place to stay no matter if you are traveling with family or looking for a romantic getaway with a loved one. The cottage is quaint, but has all modern amenities. It is private but still close to the main inn. The setting is beautiful and close to Charlottesville attractions. The innkeepers are friendly and breakfast was delicious. Definitely a great value for the money!


An Historic Gem

4,4 su luglio 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at the Crossroads back in the summer of 2008 for our anniversary. The Inn is fantastic and the innkeepers were very hospitable. They suggested a great place to eat for dinner down the road in Batesville. The breakfasts were awesome (and healthy)! It is also located conveniently near Charlottesville and other historic sites like Monticello and Michie's Tavern. Since we live in Lynchburg, we would definitely go back for a weekend getaway!


Charming inn and wonderful service

4,4 su luglio 14, 2010

Charming atmosphere. We felt like we were in the 18th century, but with modern comforts. Wonderful breakfast. We relaxed on the patio for an entire day and loved it.


Excellent Stay!

4,8 su luglio 12, 2010

The Inn at the Crossroads is a perfect place to stay for a Virginia getaway. The innkeepers are super friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious! The Inn's location was perfect for our first sightseeing trip to the Charlottesville area, and the surrounding wineries. We'd definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, relaxing bed and breakfast.


Guests from Texas Love it!

4,0 su giugno 26, 2010

Inn keepers are so friendly! Recommended a great little cafe down the street for dinner and fed us an AMAZING breakfast. Room was cozy and historic. I would love to go back.


Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!

5 su giugno 26, 2010

This is the most incredible place to stay. It is in fact at a crossroads where Plank Road that was originally built from planks so that wagons could transport goods from the mountains to the James River for export, crosses a larger newer road. The Innkeepers are warm and kind and make sure your stay is one you won't forget. We've visited at least three times. Once, as a couple, and then again as a family, staying in the Kitchen Cottage. Jim has done an incredible job of capturing an era gone by, and is more than happy to share the history of the place. The grounds are well kept and the history of the home comes alive in every room, including the morning gathering around the breakfast table, where the food is hot and everything is delicious and freshly prepared. I am a writer, and the surrounding countryside is perfect for a quiet getaway. I think the best thing about the Inn is the hospitality and individual attention that Jim, the innkeeper, spends on every guest. We hope to renew our wedding vows at the Inn. (Oh, and the best pizza in Virginia is nearby: Dr. Ho's Humble Pie). I have links from my website to both The Inn at the Crossroads and Dr. Ho's. Check it out: http://micheleyoung-stone.com


Pleasantly surprised

4,8 su ottobre 16, 2009

We enjoyed our historic cottage, the lovely views and most of all meeting the owner at a delicious breakfast.


Relaxing Retreat

4,6 su settembre 30, 2009

A lovely historic building restored to offer quiet, relaxation, and friendly service. Of 5 places I stayed in Charlottesville was the most comfortable.


Great little place

4,6 su luglio 28, 2009

A great, and quiet, place for my wife and I to slip out to for the weekend. Right in the middle of hiking, downtown, and wineries.


Historic home

5 su febbraio 20, 2009

A lovely home dating back to the 1800's. An especially nice host with history knowledge and wonderful stories. Gourmet breakfast. Beautiful countryside. By far best food in a B&B!


Virginia Hospitality

4,0 su dicembre 08, 2008

We recently made our first trip to Virginia to visit some of the Historical sights. I prefer to stay in a B & B if possible as I love old houses and it seems to enhance the travel experience. You get to meet some interesting people along the way. While planning the itinerary we logged onto B & B Online and was intrigued by the look and feel of the Inn at the Crossroads in Charlottsville as we planned to visit Monticello. Although my stay was only for one night, the Innkeepers, Jim and Janet were wonderful hosts attending to our needs as well as providing some history of their Inn (Which, coincidently enough, was owned at one time by Thomas Jefferson's nephew!). The food was great, the bed comfy and I would definitely return to stay there and would highly recommend it to anyone considering a visit to the Charlottsville area. D.J.H. & K.L.M. Boston, MA


Crisp November weekend

4,0 su novembre 25, 2008

Interesting hosts, comfortable room and a delicious breakfast that will last you well into midafternoon.


Historic Roots in VA

3,8 su ottobre 14, 2008

This inn has rooms through which FDR, Teddy Roosevelt, & other historic figures passed. The link to important history is palpable. A very comfortable & pleasant place to stay.


ONE OF THE BEST!

5 su agosto 14, 2008

We had a wonderful stay!! The breakfast was a work of art AND delicious. Very friendly and hospitable! Chris and Jan


weekend getaway

5 su aprile 27, 2008

We happened across this inn by accident and it is one of the best finds. The service is excellent, the host and hostess are very attentive. The breakfast both days was outstanding. I would reccommend this B&B to others


Near UVA but in the country!

4,8 su marzo 18, 2008

Our daughter goes to UVA and we have stayed at all of the BnB's and chain hotels near UVA to great disappointment. Finally we have found our home for the next few years. Our room, the American Suite had great views of the Blue Ridge but we were only 10 minutes from the UVA dorms. The places in Charlottesville were so noisy, traffic, train tracks, UVA students. This place was quiet, peaceful and the most historic Inn we've ever had the pleasure of visiting. It's also right by Teddy Roosevelt's Pineknot.


A wonderful inn!

4,4 su novembre 02, 2007

Jim will tell you the historic background of the Inn, what to see and where to eat. Janet will cook delicious breakfasts for you and give you the recipes if you ask! At the end of the day you will love the comfortable beds. If you just want to hang around the grounds and the views are great.


Three Wonderful Nights

5 su agosto 26, 2007

We spent three wonderful nights at The Inn at the Crossroads. Our room was the Americana Suite and we couldn't have asked for nicer accommodations. The breakfasts were delicious and the grounds were gorgeous. We looked forward to coming back to the inn every evening to sit outside and take-in the beautiful Virginia countryside. Thanks so much Jim for the great breakfast conversations! Sharon and Gary from WineryAdventures.com


The most historic B&B we've ever visited

5 su giugno 27, 2007

We stayed here because it is only 10 minutes to our daughter dorm at UVA but we will be returning for the spa shower in the Tavernkeeper Room and the great history of this building. Our room had a newspaper picture of Franklin Roosevelt sitting in the room in 1936 and it said that Teddy Roosevelt was in the same room in 1905. We didn't see any ghosts, but we kind of wish we did. Nothing but kudos to the Innkeepers for restoring this wonderful Inn!


The Inn At the Crossroads

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $119 - $239
  • Recensioni (93) 4,5
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-4349796452

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina