Mountain Trails Lodge Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi5,0
  • Valore4,8
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
94 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Ranch Party Getaway

5 su ottobre 05, 2014

3rd year to stay for our annual Williams Ranch Party. The Lodge is great for views, comfort, and most of all the best "West Texas Hospitality" you can find. As another comment we reviewed stated this is our 3rd stay here and they treated us just like family coming in to town. You just don't see that anywhere. You give your credit card and that is the most important part you play when you stay with most all motels, hotels, or lodges. Also we always enjoy the fundraising cook off, the Fort Tour, shopping down town, the observatory, all of the dining, and the fantastic views. See you next year Mountain Trails Lodge.


Relaxing, quiet time

5 su settembre 06, 2014

This is the perfect place if you enjoy getting away from the big city and if you like beautiful scenery. We took beautiful drives around the area and the Fort is spectacular. The Turners were great hosts and treated us each morning to an amazing breakfast.


Writers' Retreat 2014 for handicap people

4,6 su aprile 15, 2014

I'm handicapped and so used the only cabin with a ramp. It was a wonderful cabin, but not really set up for someone with legs that don't work. I brought my own potty chair and it's a good thing I did, because I could NOT use the toilet as it was. Even another bar on the wall opposite the door probably would not have made it usable. I didn't try the shower, but it looked like it would be okay. I could have backed into the tiny room, transferred to the bathtub bench and used the hand-held shower. The lip on the threshold of the front door was problematic. When the wind caught that door to the outside and slammed it back, it was hard to get over the threshold so I could grab the door knob to pull it closed at the same time I was trying to reenter the cabin. That door knob gave me fits! I had the hardest time getting it to turn! Maybe a knob with more texture would help. Also, I couldn't reach the controls on the air-conditioner/heater, so it stayed on the whole time I was there. Moving that unit down somehow might save you some money on the electric bill. I brought my own portable ramp, and it's a good thing, because I could not get into some of the rooms. It might serve you guys well to purchase a portable ramp for the lodge, because that would increase the accessibility. The large room where the presentations were made could be made more accessible by putting the current ramp where the stairs are (makes for a straight shot into the door) and the stairs where the ramp is now. Then the portable ramp (which I hope you'll buy) could complete the path (to jump that 5-6 inch step) into the room, though you might have to built the top of the platform wider to accommodate the length of the portable ramp. And that building needs a handicap accessible toilet as well. You're SO CLOSE!


Third year to stay

4,8 su aprile 14, 2014

This was my third year to stay at Mountain Trail Lodge. It is quiet, clean and very pleasant. Jenny and Scott have a way of making one feel at home, not just as paying guest. Each year I look forward to visiting with them. And to top it off, the food is outstanding.


Peaceful retreat

4,6 su aprile 14, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The food was fantastic, the people friendly, and the bed comfortable. Mountain Trails Lodge is located close enough to explore Alpine and Ft. Davis all in a short weekend.


Going Home

5 su marzo 22, 2014

There is no other way to describe our stay at Mountain Trails Lodge except to say that it's like going home, only better. Scott, Jenny and Brian are down-to-earth, without guile, intelligent, and willing to do whatever it takes to help you while you're with them. We have stayed with them before and will continue to book with them when we go to Ft. Davis, which we hope will be for many years to come. They've become our kin. Thanks, all of you, and God bless MTL and you.


Great stay!

5 su marzo 16, 2014

We stayed here the week of Spring Break from Saturday night through Tuesday night. The accommodations were great - VERY clean and had everything we needed. The FULL breakfast each morning was excellent (eggs and a meat each morning along with either biscuits or muffins, awesome pancakes, and French toast the mornings we were there. Also fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal each morning). We will definitely stay here again when visiting Ft. Davis!


Wonderful stay at Mountain Trails Lodge

4,6 su gennaio 18, 2014

This is one of the first vacations my husband and I had had in 10 years. This was the last leg of our journey and I was not dissappointed in the accommodations or service at Mountain Trails Lodge. The owners were absolutely wonderful and the breakfast every morning could not have been better at any five star restaurant. Thanks for such a wonderful stay.


Fantastic Stay - wonderful place!

5 su gennaio 04, 2014

During a tour of far West Texas, we chose to celebrate our anniversary with a two night stay in Fort Davis. We chose the Mountain Trails Lodge. On first view, I had hoped for massive mountains right off the deck. That is not the case, though the view is spectacular! After a tour of the area, we had the best possible "relax on your porch" view possible. Add to that the friendliest and most accommodating hosts, phenomenal breakfasts, and just overall a great vibe - we stayed another night! We will most certainly be back. You won't be disappointed!!


A great way to discover Ft Davis

4,2 su dicembre 19, 2013

I would return to Mountain Trails Lodge and recommend it to others - particularly as a great base from which to explore the Ft Davis area. It's right on the highway to everything; easy in-an-out; spotless, modern cabins; and run by a couple of great people who you will wish were family once you get to meet them. My deepest regret is that we missed barbecue night. Oh, and by the way, their complimentary breakfast is a REAL breakfast - like sausage, biscuits and gravy, eggs, waffles, good fresh fruit - not cold bagels, muffins and cereal.


Great Hospitality!!

4,6 su novembre 10, 2013

We decided to go someplace quiet for our anniversary trip. We just couldn't have done better!! We were there between holiday crowds and got to get intimately aquainted with Jenny and Scott. Helpful in everyway, when we asked for assintance. The breakfast was superior to any restuarant, truly home-cooked with personal touches. Bryan's Bar-B-Que was wonderful, as was the Chocolate Lava Almond Cake! We found it close enough to town and yet far enough out that we could sit on the porch in complete privacy, with coffee or wine. We had a cabin (23) that faced the sunrise, which was good, as we are early risers. Spotless and cozy, just like we like it! Andersons, Kerrville, Tx.


Way better than expected

5 su novembre 04, 2013

Great hosts, very good accomodations and scumptous breakfast. You won't be sorry.


Great Family Reunion

4,4 su ottobre 23, 2013

9 of us from Midland and Houston had planned a Big Bend National Park stay, but opted for Mountain Trails when the government closed the park. It was a great alternative! We had four cabins together and Mountain Trails gave us a group rate. Breakfast was outstanding every morning and we had lots of space to barbecue and enjoy each other's company. Scott and Jenny, thank you ! We'll be back.


Great place to stay

4,6 su ottobre 17, 2013

MTL is a great value for a place to spend a few nights in Ft. Davis. The cabins are cozy, the beds are comfortable, and the setting is quite lovely. Breakfast was excellent, with all the food made fresh and hot. The staff is VERY friendly, and we left knowing that we will be back to stay again in the future.


tbrady

5 su ottobre 14, 2013

I would change the clock to a clockradio. Thanks for a wonderful visit. Tom Brady


Fun in Ft Davis

5 su ottobre 13, 2013

Owners & all the personnel were very friendly. Breakfast was the best part of our stay. All of many options were great! We loved our stay!


Outstanding in every detail - Great Stay!!

4,8 su settembre 16, 2013

When booking a place on-line you often do not know what you will get. The Mountain Trails Lodge turned out to be my very best selection in a very long time. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone. Jenny and Scott saw personnally to every detail in our stay and ensured we had everything that we wanted. The excellent gas grill that was available to us free was a special treat as we grilled ribeye steaks twice. The breakfasts that Scott and Jenny prepared for us were outstanding! We loved the Davis Mountains and the McDonald Observatory and can not wait to return. And of course, we will stay again at the Mountain Trails Lodge with its great views and outstanding value!!!


A great place to stay.

4,8 su settembre 12, 2013

Due to the rains in the evenings,we will definitely be back so we can sit on the porch and look at the the stars. We are so glad a friend recommended this place.


Tranquility

4,0 su settembre 08, 2013

If you can put a price on a peaceful place, this is a truly quiet place with a minimum of traffic noise. The thoughtfully healthful and delicious breakfast is worth the price!


Nice place to stay!

5 su settembre 03, 2013

Easy to find. Comfortable cabins. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful both days. The owners are friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back again!


Great place for a family vacation!

5 su agosto 26, 2013

Loved the owners. They were so accommodating, I can't say enough good things about them. They arranged an astronomer for us. Fixed us a boxed lunch when we went swimming. Cooked wonderful meals for us both nights we spent there. Had a really nice set up for playing cards and watching hummingbirds. Just great!


Great place.

4,8 su agosto 19, 2013

Jenny was extremely welcoming, accommodating and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and loved the delicious homemade breakfast. We definantly recommend this place to others. Liz and Alex M.


Great Place to Stay in Fort Davis

5 su agosto 05, 2013

It is a very different type of Bed and Breakfast from where I stayed in the past. Loved it. Great room, friendly service, terrific breakfast. Highly recommend it for your stay. Will definitely stay again and recommend to my friends.


Nice place.

4,6 su agosto 05, 2013

The cabins are a good price. You get a clean room with a decent bed. The shower is tiny and there is no bathroom sink. The kitchenette sink serves all purposes. That was the only downside to the place. The upsides were great customer service and "real" breakfast every morning. I will trade a small bathroom for an outstanding breakfast any day. We were staying for the Prude Ranch Races, which caused us to miss breakfast on the morning of the race. When we got back to the lodge Jenny got food out for us and made sure we were taken care of. The Mountain Trails Lodge is a great value. If you want luxury, bath robes and pampering, stay somewhere else. But if you want friendly people who work hard to accomodate you and you really are more interested in having a clean place to sleep and shower than you are in staying at the Ritz Carlton, then this is the place. My wife and I will be repeat customers.


A Wonderful Stay

5 su luglio 31, 2013

My family and I stayed for two nights and were very pleased with all of the accommodations. Jenny made sure we had an awesome view so we could look at the stars and see the beautiful sunrise over the desert and mountains...it was breathtaking! The beds were very comfortable, which was a plus for me! The breakfast on each of the mornings was so much more than I had expected--home cooked and delicious! We plan on coming back within this year, and will definitely stay here again!


Outstanding

4,0 su luglio 30, 2013

The natural beauty, setting and tranquility of this mile high outpost are scintillating. I recommend it to any one!


Loved the place! Owners (Scott and Jenny) offered a warm and friendly welcome. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

5 su luglio 18, 2013

Atul B. in Texas


nice and quiet B&B

5 su luglio 14, 2013

You have a nice view of the evening sky to look at the stars.


The perfect place to catch a break from the big city hustle and bustle

4,6 su luglio 14, 2013

We chose to make reservations here to spend the night after attending a McDonald Observatory star party. Jenny and Scott definitely lived up to their reputations of being hospitable, welcoming, and friendly. The cabins are cozy and give off an aura of warmth and comfort. The area is nice and quiet, but it's after dark when things get truly magical. It's difficult for me to describe what I felt seeing the Milky Way galaxy in all its glory, right from our cabin porch! For those who are into astronomy, take your telescope! Big city folk who come out here will find out what the night sky really looks like because there's virtually no light pollution out there. This lodge is a great place for those who just need to get away from the big city for a while. It's remote, it's quiet, and it's peaceful there. The Turners' hospitality make it even more pleasant. We will definitely stay out there again next time we visit McDonald Observatory or when we just need to get away from the city.


Central location to everywhere

5 su luglio 12, 2013

We originally tried to book a cabin at the Balmorhea State Park but they were sold out, so a co-worker told us about Mountain Trails Lodge... When we first got there we were a little in culture shock because the room we were in didn't have a t.v or phone, but then realized they had a group tv/game room, which was perfect. Homemade breakfast every morning made upon order (free) was such a relief from the normal continental breakfast buffet i am use to... The owners Scott and Jennifer were friendly and shared the history of the area with us and made sure we knew of the site seeing areas that we needed to make sure we made time for. Was close to Balmorhea State Park, the Marfa Lights area, Big Ben Museum in Alpine, the Chihuahuan Desert Research Institute, McDonalds Observatory and beautiful scenic views... would definitely stay here again...


Lovely!

5 su giugno 28, 2013

The cabins at Mountain Trails Lodge are lovely! Very comfortable, sparkling clean, just perfect. I wish I could have stayed longer! I didn't have the opportunity to sample the food, but I can only imagine it was in line with the beautiful accommodations and friendly, helpful hosts.


great cozy and friendly

5 su aprile 29, 2013

Jenny and Scott are so friendly and accommodating. They provide a great place to rest after a day of riding or sight seeing. Breakfast is included and is great. I have been here twice and will definitely come back.


Weekend get away.

5 su aprile 22, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for a weekend get away. It is right outside the main strip of town, which allows for a bit of seclusion, but it is close enough to everything that you need. The owners are very friendly and excellent cooks. This place was great!


fantastic site for a retreat or group

4,8 su aprile 16, 2013

I attended a retreat at this lodge and highly recommend it for gatherings of any kind. The owners go above and beyond to help you out with whatever you need - and with a smile, too, which is not always the case when large groups of people come in all at once wanting all sorts of things. The food was absolutely delicious as well. The only thing worth mentioning to the contrary is the size of the bathroom (tiny), but it is very functional and clean, just a little tight. (This is not a criticism but a heads up.) The place is fantastic, beds are comfy, rooms have fridges. The lodge also has a large room for presentations, excellent water, sunsets, quiet as can be at night. An excellent place to stay in the beautiful Big Bend area.


Gem in the Mountains

5 su aprile 16, 2013

For the 2nd year the Texas Mountain Trail Writers have held our Spring Retreat here, and our attendees rave about the food, rooms, and service. We are quite happy with everything. Reba Cross Seals


Relaxing and Welcoming

4,8 su aprile 01, 2013

My two kids (ages six and nine) greatly enjoyed our stay! Scott, Jenny, & Jessica are helpful and accomodating. We will definitely visit again!


Excellent From Beginning to End of Stay

5 su marzo 15, 2013

From the time I booked our reservation to the end of our stay, Jenny and Scott made sure that our needs were met. A personal email confirmation from Jenny eased my worries about their availability and she made sure we were in an adjoining cabin. The cabins were perfect and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, there was something new prepared each morning, like french toast, eggs, tacos or pancakes. The staff was friendly and helpful. The property had true West Texas charm. I look forward to visiting the Fort Davis again and when I do I will make reservations at the Mountain Trails Lodge.


Awesome place to stay! Highly recommend!!

5 su marzo 11, 2013

My father, my son and myself stayed at Mountain Trails Lodge this past weekend. There are so many wonderful things to say about the place and Scott and Jennifer. They are amazing cooks, they are wonderful hosts and the place itself is warm and inviting. My family highly recommends this place to anyone looking for lodging in Ft Davis!!


AWESOME experience!!

4,8 su gennaio 18, 2013

Every year, I try to take my wife on a special trip for our anniversary. This past year, I did not want to go very far from home, since we had never been to Fort Davis, i decide to book a bed and breakfast place for us. Since i wait til the last minute to decide where to go, there was very limited place to stay in Fort Davis. Thankfully, Scott and Jennifer came through for me and had cabins availble for New Year's eve and New Year's day at the Mountain Trail Lodge in Fort Davis. I was so impressed with the hospitality that we received the whole time we were there. They made us feel like part of the family! The breakfast is to die for, mainly because both Scott and Jennifer are the cooks and man can they cook a great breakfast! The cabins were very nice and a very relaxing stay. Fort Davis is a great place to visit, if you enjoy mountain sceneries and good country folks. I highly recommend staying at the Mountain Trails lodge. Scott, Jennifer and Jessica are wonderful folks to be around. Thanks again guys and hope to see ya'll soon!!


A warm place!

4,6 su gennaio 02, 2013

Family owned - Wonderful delicious breakfast cooked by the friendly owner, cozy cabins and comfortable beds.


Natural haven in Fort Davis

4,2 su dicembre 24, 2012

We stayed just after Christmas last year, the lodging was great with views of gorgeous starry night skies and wonderful homemade breakfasts every day.


cozy and peaceful getaway!

4,4 su dicembre 01, 2012

It was very quiet and cozy. Great scenery. Jenny was very attentive, friendly, and accommodating. The home-cooked breakfast was yummy. We enjoyed our stay!


Great place for a visit to west Texas

4,2 su dicembre 01, 2012

We stayed here for four nights at thanksgiving and really enjoyed it. We would definitely come again and would recommend it to our friends.


Thanksgiving

4,6 su novembre 30, 2012

Beautiful location, comfortable cabins, wonderful food and very friendly staff


Quiet, cozy, and comfortable

5 su ottobre 27, 2012

Very comfy beds w/ lots of fluffy pillows and a thick comforter. Nice kitchenette w/ efficient fridge and microwave. I particularly liked the overstuffed rocking chairs where l would sit and read at night. The hosts are friendly and VERY knowledgeable about local flora, fauna, history, and events. There is a TV/game room and a large colorful dining room. (The waffles are great) I will stay there every time l visit Ft. Davis. Jeremiah


Quite and comfy.

5 su ottobre 17, 2012

We stayed here three nights and I slept like a log. Comfortable room and friendly people. Jenny really makes you feel welcome. Hot breakfast every morning with fresh orange juice. When we come back to visit this area, this is where we will stay. Jerry & Michelle from Harlingen, TX.


Great Bed and Breakfast.

5 su ottobre 16, 2012

We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.The people were friendly and helpful and made you feel very comfortable. The cabins were clean and had a great view. The breakfast were outstanding, better than some we have had in hotels. The price was very affordable.


Mountain Trails Lodge, Fort Davis, Texas

4,8 su ottobre 09, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at Mountain Trails Lodge. The cabins are roomy including a table with 4 chairs and 2 plush swivel rockers. The microwave, refrigerator, and WIFI are added benefits. With the heater/air conditioner and ceiling fan, it is easy to control the temperature in the cabin. The cabins are a short distance to Fort Davis National Historic Site and McDonald Observatory. The Star Party at McDonald Observatory was the highlight of our trip. We would definitely recommend Mountain Trails Lodge for anyone staying in the Fort Davis area.


Mountain Trails Lodge weekend stay

5 su ottobre 08, 2012

You just can't beat Texas hospitality. We enjoyed our stay! Great view from the porch! Nice and quiet! Very clean cabin!


Loved it! Great place to stay!

5 su settembre 10, 2012

When we were looking for a place to stay in Fort Davis, Mountain Trail Lodge was last on our list. But we booked 2 cabins there, coz of its reasonable rate with breakfast. Now, after spending 2nights there, I'm sure that we made the best choice. We booked 2 cabins there. The cabins we booked had 2 queen size bed with 4chair dining. The cabins were neat, clean and cozy. The place was slightly outside of Fort Davis and was very calm. The view from our cabin was great. The breakfast was awesome! It’s like having home food in a lodge. They had freshly baked Biscuits, crispy potatoes, scrambled eggs and Chowder made of meat and sausage. They also had a bunch of cereals with Milk, juice and all. The chowder and the biscuits are the best I've had so far. You can see Jenne in the front desk. She is very warm and sweet. She'll come to every table to greet you and to get used plates from you (even though she has staffs working). I love this place and I'll stay here if I go to Fort Davis again.


Great place to stay!

5 su settembre 06, 2012

I recently spent 2 weeks in West Texas and found the Mountain Trails Lodge the best place to stay. Ft. Davis is quiet and peaceful unlike the bustling towns of Marfa and Alpine that seems to have a train come through every hour on the hour all night long. If you like loud whistles at night stay in Alpine or Marfa. If you don't go 25 miles north to Ft. Davis. The views south into the desert and mountain country are spectacular and the sunrises from our room were absolutely beautiful. It's so quiet you can here the birds and the gentle wind. The room was very nice and the hot, homemade breakfast every morning was a huge treat! This place is centrally located and very convenient to many day trips that we did in the big bend. I have been visiting this part of the country for 35 years and the Mountain Trails Lodge is by far my favorite place to stay. What a bargain for a nice clean room, hot breakfast every morning and royal treatment by the owners, Scott and Jenny Turner . MTL will always be where we stay in the big bend country and I highly recommend folks give this place a try. You won't be disppointed!


What an amazing place!

5 su agosto 26, 2012

It had been my lifelong dream to see the Mountains of West Texas, so my husband just looked at me and said, "well, let's go!" So we did. We chose Mountain Trails Lodge because they were MORE than accommodating to us and our dog. The rooms were ultra clean and spacious. The food was out of the world, and man, you cannot beat the views! We took our chairs with us from Austin and enjoyed so many nights just viewing the stars. You don't need a tv. Thanks so much to Jenny and her family. We look forward to returning to Fort Davis next summer!


Good place to stay.

4,6 su agosto 03, 2012

Clean, friendly, convenient, and affordable. Breakfast is home-cooked. I like the fact that you can drive right up to the room and easily get your stuff in and out. Sitting on the porch with a cold beer is not bad either.


Great place to stay near McDonald Observatory!

4,4 su luglio 31, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here and enjoying Scott & Jenny's hospitality. It's the perfect spot to enjoy all the Fort Davis area has to offer. We did the day programs at McDonald Observatory, returned to the lodge to relax and went back for the night programs. Breakfast can only be described as a FEAST. Great decor and comfortable accomodations. Be ready to enjoy evenings on the porch enjoying nature (no TV and that's a good thing!).


Two days in the mountains

5 su luglio 31, 2012

After deciding to make a road trip from San Antonio out to West Texas I started calling around for availability at the state parks (have a pass may as well use it) only to find them booked out a year in advance (WOW.) I spoke with a lady at Indian Lodge who gave me the number to Mountain Lodge and it was smooth sailing from there. Scott was very friendly and was able to book me in right away. Couple of hours later I got my email confirmation and we were good to go. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Truly I enjoyed the fact there was no TV in the room as we were there to soak up the West Texas ambiance. Fresh linens were made available for showers and each morning we were there breakfast was outstanding. Not only was it good and hot Jenny made every attempt to make it healthy. Definitely will be back next year if not sooner!!


Great room for the money

4,8 su luglio 28, 2012

Great people! Took us in on spur of moment, treated us like family. Also, Jennifer is a great cook.


Wonderful visit...

4,6 su luglio 25, 2012

We spent two days in the area and throughly enjoyed it. Our accomadations met Jenny and Scott were welcoming and made our stay memorable.


Great stay!

4,8 su luglio 25, 2012

Gracious hosts. They are working hard to build a great B & B in an area that has limited accomodations. I would definitely stay here again. George Schank Conroe, Texas


Rest and Relaxation

5 su luglio 17, 2012

Scott and Jenny are simply wonderful!!! The cabins are modest yet very, very comfortable. Her home cooked breakfast each morning was wonderful. We enjoyed the pavillion and grilled out everynight. My husband and I traveled with our teenagers ( 18 and 17), we had so much fun that they didnt even miss watching TV!!! The views from the porch were spectacular, the fresh mountain air was invigorating, we'll be back next year!!! P.S. I love the wild, wild west and all the history associated. Scott knows all about the Wild Wild West, and he loves talking about it. Pick his ear....... you will enjoy it! :) Sincerely , Marcus and Demetra Cumby


Unbelievable!!

5 su luglio 09, 2012

We took 15 middleschool kids for 6 nights and can't express what a great time we had. Ms. Jenny and Mr. Scott made us feel so welcome and were the best host you could imagine. They had two of the best guides I have ever been around. Thanks Deron and my favorite, Big ol' Brian. It is probably not a big deal to most, but to get back to the cabins after a full day of exploring, sleeping in those wonderful beds was exactly what we needed. On top of that, the food was extremely good. This place lives up to and beyond what we expected. Thanks again to the staff and we will most definately be returning!


Kids Camp

5 su giugno 29, 2012

WONDERFUL!!! This is such an amazing Lodge with incredible service! Very nice people who work there and they are very accommodating. All of the activities that the children get to participate in are very educational and the kids loved it! I have nothing negative about this camp, everything was great!


Great Get Away

5 su giugno 25, 2012

We took a small group of friends with a combination of toddlers, teenagers, and adults. The place was fantastic and the owners were fabulous! Breakfast was great! The place is amazing and GREAT for groups!!!! We will be returning!!


Great Place and GREATER hosts!!

5 su giugno 15, 2012

We have had the opportunity to stay with Jenny and Scott twice this year and hated leaving them!! They are the sweetest, kindest and accommodating hosts anyone could ever wish for! We have fallen in love with Ft. Davis and them! Jenny's breakfasts are the best! They both are so knowledgeable about the area and always have a suggestion to meet your needs. We're already making plans for our next visit in March 2013!


Friendly Staff, Nice Rooms, Pretty Scenery

4,8 su giugno 08, 2012

The breakfast was great. We really liked staying here. I would've liked a little warning that there aren't any plates, utensils, or a stove in the kitchenette. Perhaps everyone else knows this when they see kitchenette, but since there were cabinets, I thought it might be stocked with more. Also, there isn't a bathroom sink, just the kitchen sink. Again, not really a big deal just thought I'd prepare everyone else. We would totally stay here again. Really quiet place, very comfortable and cozy.


Great time!

5 su maggio 29, 2012

After being delayed a day to Fort Davis due to car trouble, Jenny greeted us with a smile and a big welcome. The cabin was clean and tidy. The home cooked breakfasts were delicious and filling. Jenny also gave us excellent recommendations for hiking and sight seeing while we were there. We will definitely return!


Great friendly place

5 su maggio 28, 2012

It was a great memorial day weekend, we visited the observatory, the ft Davis museum and the mysterious Marfa Ligths... The cabins were superb, the breakfast was yummy and Jenny and Scott were outstanding as host. Really a great place !


A nice getaway

5 su maggio 27, 2012

It was our first stay at Mountain Trails Lodge,but definitely won't be our last.The cabins are very comfortable and clean.You start you day with a delicious breakfast and end the day This was our first stay at Mountain Trails Lodge,definitely won't be our last.The cabins were very comfortable and clean.Started the morning with a great breakfast,especially liked the blueberry waffles.Ended the day enjoying the night sky from our porch.A great place to kick back and relax.Jenny and Scott,thanks for your hospitality,it is obvious you love what you do!


a great weekend in Fort Davis

5 su maggio 07, 2012

Our Christian Motorcyclist group (15 people) just spent a weekend at Mountain Trails Lodge and were delighted. The cabins are clean and attractive at a reasonable rate. The breakfast was SO GOOD! But best of all: the owners, Jenny and Scott, went out of their way to make us happy and comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful weekend. We hope to return soon.


Mountain Trails

4,8 su aprile 16, 2012

Very unique, very enjoyable, very friendly. The breakfast was OUTSTANDING. Jenny & Scott were very friendly and I was able to learn about cisterns. I would certainly stay again if in the area.


Mtn. Trails Lodge is a very unique arrangement! Very clean, very private and very quiet!

5 su gennaio 31, 2012

As you can see from Mtn. Trails Lodge's website's pictures, the “rooms” are in trailers! We LOVED this concept, enjoying the privacy these trailers provide. They are quite roomy – other than the bathroom/shower – adequate, but small. After attending the Star Party at McDonald Observatory (don’t miss it!!), we arrived at Mtn. Trails Lodge quite late. It was pitch black out and thank goodness Jenny had given us a heads-up to use GPS “coordinates” (longitude/latitude) to find it! (Trust me -- Regular GPS doesn’t find Mtn. Trails Lodge!) We appreciated our relaxing 2-night stay and breakfast was delicious both days! We got a kick out of the self-guided walk thru Fort Davis’s Historic Downtown and thoroughly enjoyed exploring Fort Davis Nat'l Historic Site -- home of the post-Civil War Black 10th Cavalry! Pork Chops and homemade applesauce for Sunday’s Supper were mouth-watering at the “Fort Davis Drug Store”. We had a wonderful visit with Jenny & Scott – both very interesting people! They were extremely helpful in recommending our drive thru Big Bend Nat’l Park – which is absolutely spectacular! Based on reviews of previous guests, I had hoped to see some "wild animals" outside our window. Instead, we got a big laugh on our first morning! I looked at the field outside just before dawn and in the distance, I saw an animal shape, like a very fat javelina. As the sun came up, I showed my husband my discovery. OOPS! It was a big barrel-shaped bar-b-que! We’d definitely stay again with Jenny & Scott at their Mtn. Trails Lodge!!


Wonderful breakfasts!!

4,0 su gennaio 31, 2012

Everyone was so nice and the room was just perfect for a quiet get-away. Wish there was a sink in the bathroom, but other than that it was great! They were so helpful and even supplied a cot for an extra guest. Breakfast was simply outstanding in every way. Thanks for a wonderful time.


Awesome Place

5 su gennaio 29, 2012

My Husband and I stayed for a pleasant weekend at the Mountain Trails Lodge. It was a very quite time. Scott and Jenny were great hosts and gave us great information about places to go and places to eat. The freshly prepared breakfasts were awesome. We will positively visit again.


Perfect resting spot for visiting the observatory

4,4 su novembre 17, 2011

These are nice cabins for families visiting the area. It was a 10-15 minute drive up to the observatory. The owners were super friendly and the waffles were delicious. (Look elsewhere if you want a romantic getaway).


Great place

4,8 su ottobre 29, 2011

I stayed there last week while in town for my grandmother's memorial service. Cozy, clean cabins and good location right next to town. LOVED the delicious homemade breakfasts and cheery breakfast room! Also had a very cute outdoor BBQ/picnic area which looked like it would be great for groups/families. Only con was the very small bathroom in the cabin - barely enough room to bend over to shave my legs. But overall, great place and I'd definitely recommend it!


Great Place to Stay

4,2 su ottobre 17, 2011

My wife and two kids (5 and 7) stayed here for a weekend getaway. If your going to Ft. Davis to head out and hike and see the sites, this is the place to stay. The hospitality was excellent. The breakfast was perfect. Scott and Jennifer are as nice and good of host as they come.


Outstanding breakfasts and hospitality in Ft. Davis

4,2 su ottobre 11, 2011

Jenny serves up breakfast fit for a king/farm hand. The cottage rooms are clean and very comfortable with a lovely porch for taking in the views. The lodge is located less than five minutes from town, the fort and from the nature center. We had a wonderful stay.


great place

5 su ottobre 11, 2011

Nice cabins, porch with a great view, tremendous breakfasts and wonderful hospitality. Jennifer is very personable and helpful with local information and assistance.


Labor Day Weekend stay

4,0 su settembre 06, 2011

Staff is very friendly and makes a point of knowing your names when you check in. I have special dietary requirements and they were more than happy to make accommodations. Rooms are small but very comfortable and perfect for sun rise viewing. Situated close to the observatory, state parks, and surrounding towns. I would stay there again in a heart beat!


Recent Visit to DMLand E

4,6 su agosto 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Ft. Davis with the Turners. The food and accomodations were great. Good value for what you pay.


Off the beaten path but conveniently located

5 su agosto 16, 2011

DMEC is the perfect home base convenient to Alpine, Fort Davis or Marfa. Jenny's breakfast provides tasty fuel for your Big Bend excursion. I highly recommend it!


Highly Recommended

4,8 su luglio 12, 2011

Pleasantly Surprised! Perfect for our family of four. We enjoyed our weekend getaway especially at night sitting outside on the porch when it seemed like every star was visible in the sky. I did not expect such wonderful accomadations for the price per night stay. I already recommended this Bed & Breakfast to several family members, friends, and co-workers. We hope to return soon!


Mass Audubon

4,4 su maggio 10, 2011

Scott and Jennifer were extremely gracious and helpful hosts. When wildfires in the area kept our group from visiting certain venues they arranged access for us to a private ranch in the area. In many ways, they saved our visit to the Davis Mountains. And the breakfasts were outstanding!


Ft. Davis' Best Ambassadors

5 su aprile 10, 2011

Scott, Jenny and Jessie (and you too, Brian) are examples of the best in hospitality and friendliness. Thank you for welcoming my cousin and me into your everyday lives -- and for the healthful and delicious breakfasts, the clean and cozy cabin, and the fire extinguishers (that's a joke, folks)! I'm looking forward to bringing artist friends to Ft. Davis and working with you to set up remote art treks. Thanks again for spoiling us!


This is the place to relax and enjoy life!

5 su aprile 01, 2011

If you can imagine watching the sunset over the Davis Mountains after a day of biking, hiking and birding -all topped off with a star party- then you have experienced a day at DMEC. All that’s missing is your delicious breakfast the next morning, and the friendly planning advice from Jennifer and Scott Turner for your next adventure. This gracious and kind couple provides cozy and clean accommodations and readily shares their encyclopedic knowledge of the local and extended area. The Fort Davis area is close to many State and National Parks, all within an easy day’s drive; all sorts of outdoor adventures are there for the taking. The nearby McDonald Observatory is a must-visit. The Fort Davis area is very bike-friendly and offers every kind of riding from trails to mountains. Astronomy buffs will enjoy the on-site star pad, while amateur and experienced birders alike will enjoy the plethora of species in the area. Jennifer and Scott can offer group plans, guided activities –including star parties and birding tours- and are utterly committed to making sure you have the best stay possible at DMEC. We enjoyed every single minute of our stay and not only will we definitely return next year, we also recommend DMEC to anyone seeking lasting and happy vacation memories.


Awesome Spring Break!!!

5 su marzo 23, 2011

All outstanding ratings are well deserved. Scott and Jenny have done an excellent job with the property and were aways readily available. Darrin was a bonus with his knowledge on the history of the area. The breakfast was Excellent as described. Very family friendly environment and quiet. We will return to DMLE. Scott, Jenny and staff, thanks for a great time.


Great place for outdoor enthusiasts to stay

5 su marzo 17, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at DMEC. Our cabin was very adequate--clean, comfortable and roomy. Scott and Jennifer were friendly and helpful in providing information about local attractions and opportunities to enjoy the great outdoors. Great view, great breakfast! We are happy we found DMEC.


Can't wait to go back!

5 su gennaio 17, 2011

Jenny and Scott are great! They are very friendly and accommodating and their love of the area is exemplified by their hard work and dedication that they have put into making everyone feel at home. We slept so comfortably and the breakfast was delicious! I would highly recommend the lodge for your next visit to the Davis mountains! Arthur, Michelle and AJ


Great Place

4,8 su novembre 08, 2010

This was a great retreat for us to stay at in West Texas. The owners are very nice and cook a wonderful breakfast. Very helpful and knowledgable of what to do around the area. We will definately stay there again


The Best Ever !!!!

5 su novembre 08, 2010

My husband and our two friends stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights mid October and we had a great time. Scott and Jenny are the best. They are the best breakfast cooks ever. They helped us to plan our dailey routes around Big Bend and were the just most wonderful people around. (Scott - Sorry about your Rangers, at least they made it - The Cowboys certainly will not.) We will be back to some exploring and will for sure stay here. Thanks for everything. Lila & Troy Brenham, TX


A Perfect Gem

5 su ottobre 28, 2010

Here is the place that I thought only existed in my mind. Perfect accommodation, real people for hosts, peaceful scenery, quiet. And great breakfasts! I rank it with Huab Lodge in Namibia as my favorite (huab.com). Well done, Jenny and Scott. Warren Burkholder, Houston, Texas


I hope to make it back someday.

4,8 su ottobre 05, 2010

They'll be the first to tell you that they are not for everone (no room tv, but they do have a big screen and computer as well as wifi in some of the common areas). However, I don't know anyone that wouldn't enjoy staying here, whether you are here to do nothing but take in the views and relax or hiking many of the trails including Guadalupe Peak nearby. If you have questions about the local hikes, flora or fauna you are guaranteed to get much more than someone behind the desk reading a brochure to you. They are very knowledgeable on the subjects and happy to share. Thank you, dmec, for the hospitality. I hope to be back. Sincerely, Josh


Great place to stay!

5 su settembre 28, 2010

Very nice, clean cabins with great beds! The breakfast was tasty and filling. It was very quite, with a very nice view. We had a pair of binoculars and watched three bucks romping thru a meadow as we sat on the porch in the evening. Scott & Jennifer are excellant hosts, and great conversationalists. We will stay there again!


Friendly knowledgeable hosts, clean rooms

5 su settembre 21, 2010

We stayed at DMEC Lodge the weekend after Labor Day. The cabins were very clean and comfortable. The hosts Scott and Jennifer were great. They were very friendly and helpful. They gave us information about the area--drives, hikes, best places to eat etc. They cooked us a good breakfast every morning. They could not have been nicer. Hope to stay again.


GREAT people, Great views, Great rooms!!

5 su settembre 06, 2010

Stayed over labor day weekend 2010 and were greeted by very friendly hosts. This is a small family run business that does everything they can to make you feel at home. The provided breakfast is AMAZING, home cooked food that is sure to please. Cozy and clean cabins with great private porches.


Mountain Trails Lodge

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $94 - $94
  • Recensioni (94) 4,8
  • Camere 16

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-4324263481
  • Gratuito 1-8004033484

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina