The Governor's House Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,2

Valore della struttura
43 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

We love Charleston

4,6 su settembre 08, 2014

Beautiful home, great location. Would stay here again.


Great Property Needs Some TLC

2,8 su marzo 18, 2014

The Governor's House is a beautiful property, but attention to detail is missing. Although I like historic charm, I do not want to experience dust from the 19th century. Our room had thick dust on the wooden blinds (some of which were broken), on the molding and behind furniture. Some of the wallpaper was peeling or damaged in our bedroom and bathrooms. The internet did not reach the bedrooms and barely was usable on the outdoor porch. The afternoon snack and breakfast food was excellent. We enjoyed chatting with other guests around the large dining table as this was the highlight of our stay. Unfortunately the value for money was poor due to the condition of the rooms, but it can easily be remedied.


Review for Feb 2014 visit

4,8 su marzo 06, 2014

Outstanding facility and accomodations. I will probably be a return guest. I will also gladly recommend this property to my family and friends.


Beautiful, historic place!

4,8 su gennaio 17, 2014

This was our first trip to Charleston and the staff helped make our experience great. Once we got there they showed us around the house and told us about the history of it. They also gave us some recommendations of things to see and do while there. It was a very welcoming and relaxing experience and we would certainly go back.


Loved if

5 su dicembre 14, 2013

This place was great. Slept like babies every night. Staff was very accommodating. Complimentary breakfasts were delicious.


Great Location on Broad

3,4 su novembre 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston and we were pleased to find the Governor's House Inn located within easy walking distance for most venues of interest for us. We also appreciated the generous parking area behind the house as parking space is at a premium in downtown Charleston. The house interior is very nice, clean, and well kept. We stayed in the Wagener Room on the main floor and the room is very nice & the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is quite small though and the location of the Wagener Room is just off the main dining area which is quite loud in the mornings and is also beneath the main staircase which sees a lot of traffic. I would recommend a room on the second floor due to all the noise around this particular room. The exterior of the house is a little run down & could use some repair work & I would describe the breakfast as average at best.


Highly recommended.

4,4 su ottobre 21, 2013

The Governor's House Inn is definitely the place to stay in Charleston if you're looking for romance, history, and prime location. My girlfriend and I stayed here in mid-October and it met all of our expectations and beyond. Mid-afternoon tea/wine/cheese on the porch was a great way to relax before getting ready for a night out on the town and the location made it convenient to go in and out as we leisurely perused the sites. Worth the stay.


Southern Charm

4,6 su settembre 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Governor's House Inn, in Charleston, S. Carolina. The location and accommodations were perfect. Staff was attentive, helpful, and very pleasant. The breakfasts were good, but portions might have been a bit larger. Although we didn't ask for seconds, and maybe we could have! Would return in the future, no qualms.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

4,4 su luglio 19, 2013

My wife and I loved this bed abd breakfast. the staff were great, accomodations fabulous and the personal piazza was very romantic and charming. The food was not as good as we have experienced at other bed and breakfasts but the accommodations made up for that. I highly recommend this place for anyone wanting a charming, relaxed stay in Charleston


best b&b in town

4,6 su dicembre 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Governor's House Inn and during our next stay in Charleston we will return!!!! The service was "top of the line"!


Charleston Anniversary Weekend

5 su novembre 23, 2012

We cannont rave enough about the Governor's House. The staff is outstanding in that they are friendly and helpful in every way. We arrived late on Thursday night and wanted to get something light. Robert pointed us to "Fast and French", a block or so east and across the street and it was the perfect end to a hectic day. One of our favorite memories from the trip. Very friendly and informative crowd. The room was everything we had hoped for and although it would have been nice to have had some warmer weather. We had a delightful time and will definitely be back. We still have a lot to see.


charming old world B&B

4,4 su settembre 24, 2012

Wonderful service, lovely accommodations in the heart of Charleston, close to great restaurants and the market. Helpful staff and 'tea time' complete with wine. It was woorth the visit.


Outstanding Ambience, Average Incidentals

3,2 su agosto 02, 2012

A grand piano, gorgeous paintings, and a fantastic dining room thrill and amaze the guest. However, the breakfasts are small and strange. Quite incongruous with the lush surroundings. A basket of pastries and good coffee would have been much better than this sub par cooking. Overall, the staff seemed to be challenged with doing beyond their training. I hope that in the future they could simplify their scope and thereby improve the quality and availability of beverage/ food. This building is truly stunning within and without.The overall effect is that one has somehow wrangled a night at the Smithsonian- a most satisfying thought. A+++ on building, grounds, location.


Can't wait to go back

4,2 su luglio 30, 2012

The history, service and amenities were outstanding. Bathroom in our room was very small and that was a minor downside. We booked a return stay at the Governor's House Inn before leaving back in the same room.


Can't Say Enough-Wonderful!

4,8 su aprile 13, 2012

My husband and I, as well as brother and his wife, spent 3 nights at the Governor's House Inn in March 2012. We have stayed at many nice B&B's over the years and this one rates with only 2 others at the very top of the list. The property itself and guest accomodations were beautiful and had the historic charm we were looking for. It is very clean and had a very attentive, yet unintrusive, staff. The location istelf was also great. Within walking distance of some key tourist areas while still being apart and residential. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to enhance their overall Charleston experience.


Our anniversary weekend

5 su febbraio 28, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Wonderful hospitality!


Southern Hospitality

3,8 su gennaio 29, 2012

The Governor's Inn is our first stay in a B&B. I may never stay in a hotel again. This is by far the most enjoyable weekend we have spent in years. The staff was very helpful in making diner reservations for us. We really enjoyed the afternoon tea while sitting on the Veranda.. I truly felt like we were special guest at the Governor's Inn. I highly recommend making reservations for an outstanding stay in Charleston.


Best in Charleston

4,6 su dicembre 05, 2011

The very best "inn" Charleston! Wonderful facilities, location, service, accommodation, staff. Would highly recommend to anyone. Exceptional service & ambiance. Loved it.


A truly memorable experience

4,0 su novembre 19, 2011

The only mistake we made was not staying longer. The Governor's House Inn is a wonderful place to stay, very comfortable, very friendly and welcoming staff, close to the Market area and restaurants, if there is a nicer place to stay in Charleston it must be extraordinary. We cannot praise the Inn more highly.


Best Bed nad Breakfast Anywhere!

5 su novembre 09, 2011

My husband myself and my son stayed at the Governors House while looking at the Citidel College Oct 21-24 2011 for a college tour. It does not get any better than this, that is for sure! The Governors House is run like a well oiled ship, and I have stayed in alot of Bed and Breakfast in the US. Close to King street and Meeting street for shoping , you can just walk. I will be back, I do miss the afternoon tea,I am spoiled!


Great find!

4,8 su ottobre 30, 2011

Excellent service, beautiful historic and romantic inn. Extremely clean and inviting. Individual room AC so important during an extremely hot month. We loved our stay & will go back!


The charming Governor's House

4,6 su ottobre 19, 2011

My husband and I chose Governor's House for our 15th wedding anniversary. We had originally tried to get Two Meeting street for our stay but they were booked and recommended the Governor's House to us. The Governor's House is quite charming. We really enjoyed our stay. The house staff is fabulous! They went over and beyond to help us book tours, reservations, dinning etc. The most valuable benefit of the property is the location. It is a short walking distance to everything! Much better location than Two Meeting street would have been. We stayed for four days in the Rutledge suite and loved it. The food was wonderful. We enjoyed both breakfast and afternoon tea. Overall, we loved our stay, the house and the staff and will return there in the future!

Risposta del proprietario
We are so happy your enjoyed your recent stay and are honored you and your husband chose the Governor's House Inn to celebrate your 15th anniversary. Thank you for your kind words. Yes, indeed the Inn is in the perfect location to many places of interest in the city. Our staff enjoyed assisting you and your husband with all the details of your stay, with the hope that everything turned out perfectly for you. I do want to point out that your $35.00 charge reflected the cost for the champagne, which was delivered to your room with a beautiful silver service presentation. While breakfast service begins at 8:00 a.m, our staff is happy to serve seasonal fruit and freshly baked, homemade muffins to any early check-outs. This is, of course, part of the tariff and we have never charged extra for it. We also have hot tea and coffee available for those who would like a beverage to go. As always, we invite you to return to the grandeur of this lovely Inn. We will take good care of you with whatever you may need.


Grand Southern Experience

5 su ottobre 03, 2011

Gorgeous house, gracious staff, incredible food... our honeymoon could not have been in a better place!


Love the Governors House

5 su settembre 06, 2011

This weekend my boyfriend and I took a last minute trip to Charleston. While looking on bedandbreakfast.com I found the Governors House Inn. I called and made our reservation, the staff was very friendly and full of information about the room I requested. When we arrived in Charleston, we were able to park our car in the Governors House Inn’s private lot and walk around Charleston for a few hours before check in. It was then that I spoke to another staff member who informed us we were complementary upgraded to The Rutledge Suite. We were offered the most delicious peach ice tea, which the staff served to us as we toured the stunning Inn. Our room, The Rutledge Suite was perfect from the moment we stepped inside. The hardwood floors are original and gorgeous. The two triple windows that serve as access to our private porch were amazing and our four poster king bed rendered the best sleep I have had in years. Our room was equipped with a luxury whirlpool bath, which was like heaven after walking around Charleston. The staff also offered to make our dinner reservations, retrieve our luggage and serve breakfast in our room if would prefer. The breakfast was delicious and perfect serving of Italian quiche, homemade banana bread, and seasonal fruit. Between four and five, the inn servers afternoon tea, wine, cheese and pastries. Our experience at the Governors House Inn exceeded our expectations, I have done nothing but sing its praises at the office and will most defiantly stay again.


Governor's House Inn "A MUST"

5 su agosto 14, 2011

Service and Staff were outstanding! Breakfast was yummy. Our room was heavenly! Thank you for our great stay, Laura. Elaine & Gerry


Relaxing Treat

5 su luglio 25, 2011

Our experience at the Governor's House Inn was relaxing, refreshing, and a much needed respite. Staff was knowledgeable and accommodating to our wants and needs. The Inn is tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Additionally, the afternoon tea and full breakfast were delicious & homemade at the Inn.


Where else would I stay?

4,8 su luglio 05, 2011

This year was my 4th trip back to my hometown, Charleston, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The experience is much more than being in an historic mansion, a life-style in which I was raised. It is the staff that make it so comfortable it feels like home. In fact, my first time at Governor's House Inn, I walked out of my room leaving the door open and was half way downstairs before it dawned on me I wasn't at a friend's house and really should lock the door. I was instantly comfortable. Move beyond the extras like breakfast, wine and snacks in the afternoon, exquisite surroundings, and walking distance to everything worth seeing to the assistance in finding the right tours, finding tickets for events you may not be able to acquire on your own. Within hours you will feel like Southern aristocracy with inherit right to be pampered. Last, but not least, off street parking. Trust me, general parking in Charleston isn't all that easy or convenient.


Fabulous Charleston Weekend

4,8 su febbraio 08, 2011

My husband and I took a long weekend trip to Charleston. We spent a lot of time researching area B&Bs and decided to book (2) nights at The Governor’s House Inn. So glad we did! The location was terrific allowing us to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go, the accommodations historic and lovely, the breakfast and afternoon tea/wine/snacks wonderful, and the hospitality top notch. Mary and all the staff were attentive to our needs making reservations for transportation and dining and providing great recommendations for restaurants and local sites. We enjoyed true southern hospitality. This was our first trip to Charleston, but it won’t be our last. We look forward to staying at The Governor’s House Inn again.


Gracious hospitality in an historic inn

4,4 su gennaio 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Governor's House Inn - the home is beautifully restored, and the rooms are lovely. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating and helpful. You can easily walk to shops, sites, and restaurants, along the scenic Charleston streets. We would definitely recommend the Governor's House when visiting Charleston.


Treated Royally at The Governor's House Inn

4,8 su dicembre 08, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at a variety of B&Bs and have always enjoyed the experience. Our stay at The Governor's House Inn was probably our best. From the moment we walked through the front door and were met by LeeAnn who gave us a grand tour and suggestions for dinner, until we left (sadly) three days later with hugs from Mary (the inkeeper), Donna and Laura, we felt that we were in the company of friends. When you walk through the door of this beautiful 250 year old house, you immediately feel the history there. The woodwork, the “window/doors”, the hearts of pine floors and the grand scale of the rooms takes you to another era. The friendliness , knowledge and warmth of the staff make the Governor’s House Inn truly memorable. The staff is definitely part of the reason why we loved the Governor’s House so much. Afternoon tea consisted of red and white wines, some delicious variety of cheese dip and crackers, a tray of chocolates and a wonderful cake, along with varieties of tea and coffee. All of the downstairs rooms are common areas and all have fireplaces, soaring ceilings and comfortable and cozy seating areas. There are also wonderful wrap-around porches with comfortable seating. We choose The Magnolia Room which I believe is the least expensive and on the very top of the inn. We loved it! It is a cozy but not small room with dormers and window seats and a queen canopy bed. Also a large and modern bath with a large glass/tile shower and double vanities and another dormer window. The inn conveniently provides bathrobes. We had a chance to see several of the unoccupied rooms and they are all beautiful, most with fireplaces. The location of the Governor’s House Inn is perfect for walking around historic Charleston and we walked everywhere. The staff gave us wonderful suggestions as to places to eat and tours to take.


Disappointing

2,6 su novembre 23, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in one of their suites. The staff was excellent; however we were somewhat disappointed with the breakfast and tea. We have stayed at many B&B's in the US and abroad. I feel that their breakfast was very limited...each morning we were served a small fruit selection and then some sort of saussage casserole or other similar thing. Only later did they say (after I complained) that they would have given up a bowl of cereal or a yogurt. Tea time had two very good cakes and then some dip with crackers. They did serve a nice red and white wine. The beds are all extremely high so if you are rather short, you'll have a difficult time getting in and out of bed. The pillows are like rocks and of very poor quality. Overall, for $400/night including tax, it certainly wasn't worth it. The location is very good; however, there are many other places right in town for half the price which would have been pretty good and then one could have enjoyed a breakfast at a restaurant rather than what they offered at the inn.


Governor's House in November

3,8 su novembre 22, 2010

The Governor's House is a beautiful place to stay and the location is ideal. The staff is friendly and helpful, they made several last minute reservations for us no problem. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms--the Magnolia Room, and it was bigger than most B&B rooms. We got a good rate on B&B.com so it was still expensive but below what we would have normally paid, making it well worthe the money. The only part that was just ok was the breakfast. It was fine but not really a home cooked B&B meal--more like a slice of quice and some fruit. We would stay again if we got a similar deal.


Our Charleston Getaway

5 su luglio 30, 2010

Of all the places we've been in our 23 years of marriage, The Governor's House Inn has to be my favorite. Hospitality & charm embraced us from the moment we arrived to the day we departed. Walking the streets of Charleston and staying at this Bed and Breakfast has refreshed me. We will definately be back one day. Thank you all so very much!


Beautifully restored!

3,2 su luglio 13, 2010

We had a lovely room and the house is absolutely exquisite. The only negative thing we can say is that the breakfast was a little small in comparison to other B&Bs we have stayed in. The staff was absolutely friendly and helpful.


True Southern Hospitality

5 su giugno 27, 2010

This was our first trip to Charleston and because of The Govenor's House, I'm sure we'll return. We entered this magnificent 250 year old home and I immediately felt enveloped in a more genteel era, when people took the time to enjoy the moment. There's history, beauty and grandeur everywhere you look. Although we were staying in one of the smallest rooms, the staff treated us as if we were the only guests in the house. They're so knowledgeable about the city, the restaurants, the tours and they'll make your reservations, book your tours, always wanting to know if they can do anything for you, or can they bring you something to drink, but very unobtrusive. Our favorite time was High Tea,we even cut one tour short to make it back in time. Sandra, the hostess of tea time would tell us all about the homemade sweet delicacies, cheese spreads and the different kinds of wine. It seems the other guests always made it back too. Wonderful socializing time. Breakfast was always a gourmet's delight every morning. Mary even went out and provided me with Lipton tea and 1% milk. I'd told her I would bring my own but to my surprise the first morning she had it for me. That's real Southern Hospitality!! The Piazza(porch) was our favorite place to sit in the wicker rockers and talk about our day every evening and have something cool to drink. You can really drift into the era with the fragrance of the flowers, constant service by the staff and the beauty of The Govener's House. We can't wait to visit again, we think this is the best experience we've ever had at a B&B and we attribute it to the wonderful Staff.


Wonderfully wonderful!

4,4 su marzo 15, 2010

I stayed here on 9-29-09 for 2 nites & it was very, very nice! I was very, very happy w/ the accomodations, breakfasts, nice inn keepers & a major + is the free sherry that's served in one of the parlors every evening. I have a sleep number bed at home, & tho' these beds aren't sleep numbers, they're very comfortable & the bed covers felt so good. I had to split my rooms both nites & stayed in the Magnolia room & the St. Michaels room. They're both gorgeously appointed rooms, but the Magnolia has a really nice bathroom. Even though these rooms are cheaper than some of their other rooms, they were still just as good & I felt very good in them. Beautiful inn!!


The Governor's house Inn

5 su febbraio 26, 2010

The building is meticulously maintained and the staff are welcoming and friendly. Although we were in the smallest room in the house, it was still very comfortable and lovely. The breakfasts were delicious and the afternoon tea was very nice. We would definitely stay at The Governor's house Inn again.


EXCELLENT

4,0 su settembre 21, 2009

Excellent place to stay to launch a get-to-know-you visit to Charleston. Most of what you need to see is in walking distance. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the Governor's House takes you back to a time that you wish existed now.


My Expectations Were High

3,8 su settembre 09, 2009

My expectations were high for Governor's Inn, and they met or exceeded all of them. We would absolutely recommend them and will likely stay there again.


I plan to return every year.

4,8 su aprile 13, 2009

I have stayed at the inn twice and hope to keep coming back. The rooms are beautiful, as is the house itself and the grounds. The service is great, the food outstanding and the location can't be beat. Look out when you pull into the drive. There's a friendly cat named New who likes to bask in the sun of the parking lot. I would recommend this place to anyone.


Absolutely Magnificent!

5 su febbraio 28, 2009

I was so excited when we approached this Stately Home. The gardens are well kept and beautiful, even in January. The home was built in 1760 and is absolutely magnificent! It has been completely refurbished with period antiques but with all the modern connivances we all look for. We have stayed in many 5 star inns and hotels but the Governors House will be an experience not soon forgotten. The entire staff makes sure you feel so welcomed and so much attention to every detail. I was so relaxed and can not say enough about the superior service, professionalism, the grounds as well as the exceptional cleanliness. If you need something, they seem to immediately know and are there to assist but never crowd you. Donna the Assistant Innkeeper, Deanne and their support staff are exceptional with so much attention to detail. We were served such fabulous homemade breakfast as well as the exceptional social hour. We were delighted that we could park our car and walk to the downtown areas finest restaurants, antique stores, galleries and shops. We would highly recommend this inn to make your stay a memorable experience. LaDonna and Joe


Charming and Cozy B&B

4,6 su novembre 18, 2008

My husband & I were there for his homecoming weekend at the Citadel. We were greeted Friday night and shown around the home then into our room, which I thought was the best. Someone was there to get our luggage, turndown service with Godiva chocolate and fresh ice and water, with the gas fireplace going when we arrived. The service never ended and they truely went above and beyond what we could have imagined. The food was THE best, everything made from scratch! You will not be disappointed. We also were able to walk to everything, it is very close to anything you want to do. We will be back!


perfect!

5 su novembre 04, 2008

the food was some of the best i have had. gourmet breakfast daily, far from just a continental breakfast served at many B&B's. our room was extremely clean. the staff was always pleasent and happy to help us find our way around town. and afternoon tea, wine and cheese (plus some sweets) was to die for! Can't say enough, LOVED IT!


The Governor's House Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $185 - $545
  • Recensioni (43) 4,5
  • Camere 11
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8437202070
  • Numero di Fax 1-8438056549
  • Gratuito 1-8007209812

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina