Ultime Recensioni in South Boston, Virginia

Amazing experience! a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il luglio 25, 2016

My girlfriend and I came up to South Boston and stayed in the Charles Bass house. It was a wonderful experience! John made us feel like royalty. the house is spotless, john is very welcoming, plus the breakfast he made was delicious. I'd highly recommend this bed and breakfast for anybody

Vedi più recensioni


Nice stay a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4,4 Recensione postata il giugno 29, 2016

Our stay was just one night. The room was nice, bed comfortable but the best part was the breakfast. We had plenty of food, all freshly cooked with even fresh out of the oven berry coffee cake. We didn't utilize any of the grounds because it was a quick stay.

Vedi più recensioni


Pleasant surprise a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4,8 Recensione postata il marzo 05, 2016

Spacious rooms, great value, comfortable and relaxing. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Vedi più recensioni


Hospitality and charm in a beatiful home a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il novembre 02, 2015

My October 2015 stay at the Charles Bass House was delightful. John is a gracious and attentive host, and truly makes you feel as though you're a guest in his home. Staying there was like a mini-spa vacation...the hot tub was great after driving, with a glass of wine to enjoy as well, and made for a relaxing evening. John's restaurant suggestion of nearby "Bistro 1888" in the center of South Boston was equally enjoyable, with excellent food and a great atmosphere. I stayed in the first-floor suite, which was huge, very comfortable, and impeccably clean. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. I'm looking forward to future reasons to return to Charles Bass House!

Vedi più recensioni


A great place to stay! a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il settembre 14, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Charles Bass House B & B! John was a great host. We enjoyed the hot tub, the soothing music, the comfortable suite, the local wine, and the delicious breakfast. John directed us to a restaurant for dinner where we had a fantastic meal. It was a lovely stay.

Vedi più recensioni


Great place to stay a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4,8 Recensione postata il agosto 20, 2015

My family (my husband and I, my brother and his girlfriend, and my parents) stayed in this B&B while in town for a family wedding in May. The hosts were very accommodating of our boisterous group, and we enjoyed the dogs and the tour of the estate. Breakfast was great, rooms were clean, and we were so much happier staying here than at a chain hotel in South Boston! Beautiful house and grounds, great breakfast.

Vedi più recensioni


Wonderful Valentine's Day Weekend Getaway a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4,6 Recensione postata il febbraio 22, 2015

If you want a relaxing home away from home experience this is the place to go! My husband and I had an amazing Valentine's Day Weekend here and we can't wait to go back. The house was beautiful, clean, comfortable, and worth every cent we spent. John is a wonderful host and great cook. He made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door and we really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. I can't recommend this venue enough!!!

Vedi più recensioni


B&B done right a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il novembre 23, 2014

John Fulton knows his business, and every detail is just right. We've stayed in dozens of B&Bs over the years, and the Charles Bass House is our favorite. We love the suite downstairs -- it is plenty of private space, and the atmosphere in the house is perfect with wine and snacks available, music, and a well-maintained hot tub that is just the right temperature. Add in coffee on the sun porch in the morning, followed by a delicious breakfast, some social time (but not too much) and for us, the experience is just what we need when we plan a getaway.

Vedi più recensioni


Charles Bass House a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4,0 Recensione postata il settembre 07, 2013

Stayed one night, first time at a Bed and Breakfast. It was during the weekday, so there was no hot breakfast, but we had the best continental breakfast we'd ever had! We really enjoyed it!

Vedi più recensioni


Amazing house and host! a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4,8 Recensione postata il settembre 05, 2013

John was so welcoming and friendly. He was the perfect B&B host- he made us feel welcome but he didn't push himself on us too much or infringe on our privacy. The house is gorgeous and the room was clean and beautiful. The price was so reasonable. Definitely staying here again if we ever find ourselves in the South Boston area!

Vedi più recensioni


The BEST!!!!!! a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il agosto 05, 2013

You can tell that John takes pride in his establishment and has a passion for detail. The heavenly bed, soft music, candles inside and out, along with the perfect temperature of the hot tub, ensured that I would experience the best night of rest and relaxation. Waking up the the smell of breakfast cooking and a gracious host made it hard for me to leave. This place is a must if you are in the area. If not even in the area, it is worth the trip if you are looking for the perfect place of peace. Thanks John!!!!!

Vedi più recensioni


Oak Grove Plantation a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

3,8 Recensione postata il luglio 11, 2013

Enjoyable stay; friendly & helpful host; interesting family & home history. Nice place to stay in a pastoral setting.

Vedi più recensioni


Wonderful B&B a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il giugno 26, 2013

I highly recommend this B&B. John is a wonderful host and the house is gorgeous with an inviting hot tub.

Vedi più recensioni


Review by an Inside-outsider a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il giugno 15, 2013

I stayed at the Charles Bass House B&B from June 6-12, 2013. I live in IL, but I grew up in Halifax County. I wanted an alternative to a standard hotel, so I was delighted to find that this home had been converted to a B&B. I cannot rave enough about it. The home itself is absolutely magnificent. It has been beautifully restored and it is so elegant and comfortable. I stayed in the guest suite on the main floor, which has a large bedroom, a private bath and a private sitting room with TV. It is right in the heart of South Boston, but it is still quiet and you can sit outside without being bothered by too much noise. This is only minutes from the dining/shopping areas in downtown South Boston and Town of Halifax. Check out The Prizery to see if there are any concerts or Little Theatre productions while you are in town. It is also very close to several of the best restaurants in the area. As for amenities: I did not try the hot tub while I was there, but it is on a sheltered deck and you could enjoy it year-round because the weather is moderate even in the winter. The outside deck on the back of the house is idyllic. There is ample seating and a nice patio set with an umbrella for eating or reading outside. There is also off-street parking which was very convenient. Mr. Fulton is a gracious host and an excellent cook, so make sure you are hungry for breakfast! I think I gained about 5lbs during my stay. Fresh fruit every day, muffins and scones on weekdays, and freshly cooked bacon & eggs on the weekend. Oh, and great music and conversation! If you can't tell, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I will most definitely call him first next time I go back for a visit. I hope this review will convince you to give it a try, or if you are local, to recommend it to family and friends. And if you do stay there, be sure you say hello to his dog, Raisin!

Vedi più recensioni


A gem in Southside Virginia a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4,8 Recensione postata il maggio 29, 2013

I apologize if this review appears twice. Submission error occurred the first time I wrote this. My wife and I had a wonderful time at Oak Grove Plantation. It looked very interesting online and offered dog-friendly accommodations so that we could take our Standard Poodle with us on this getaway. When we learned that the owner, Pickett Craddock, had two Standard Poodles, that sealed the deal for us. Virtually everything about our visit lived up to our expectations. The house was well-appointed and interesting from an architectural and historical perspective. Our room, the Library, was generous and well-appointed. I loved the built in bookshelves, and the separate entrance made it easy to deal with the dog when necessary. Pickett made delicious and healty breakfasts with lots of fresh ingredients, and the converation around the breakfast table was consistently enjoyable. The grounds were lovely, and we had an opportunity to hike some of the trails which wind their way through the property. The trails were wide and well-maintained -- no machetes needed! South Boston and Halifax were pleasant surprises for such small towns. There were a number of interesting places to visit (don't miss the Prizery in South Boston or the sculpture gardens). There were also several outstanding restaurants which would hold their own in any major metro. Finally, the dogs. Pickett's dogs, Bonnie and Niko, are total sweethearts -- friendly, playful and well-behaved. Our dog Jefferson had a blast romping with them in the yard. I think Bonnie and Niko had fun also. If you like dogs at all, those two will get away with you. One very minor quibble was that the mattress on the bed sagged in the middle, so that I felt like I was sleeping uphill. Not terrible, but not as comfortable as I would have preferred. Still, that is a minor flaw in what was an otherwise outstanding experience. We will definitely come back another time.

Vedi più recensioni


Great weekend getaway! a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4,8 Recensione postata il maggio 08, 2013

I had an awesome experience staying at Charles Bass B&B. I went for a weekend getaway for simple rest and relaxation and this was the place to go! John Fulton was the perfect host making sure that I was comfortable. I will definitely return for another r&r weekend! Larry Cline

Vedi più recensioni


Wonderful B&B a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il dicembre 19, 2012

We had a most enjoyable stay at Charles Bass House B&B. We felt very welcomed from the moment we arrived! Our room, which was a suite was so lovely , decorated so nicely. Our breakfast was so delicious, homemade blueberry pancakes along with other breakfast foods. We would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in that area.

Vedi più recensioni


Wonderful a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4,8 Recensione postata il ottobre 15, 2012

My mother and I enjoyed our stay very much - it helped to have a vivid imagination!

Vedi più recensioni


Peace and Quiet a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4,2 Recensione postata il settembre 10, 2012

We had a stressful time at home and wanted to get away to a peaceful place to recharge. Oak Grove fit the bill. Nice rooms in a 100+ year old house decorated with ancient photos of the relatives. Great breakfast with the owners and other guests which took forever because we found so much to talk about. Sitting on the front porch, drinking wine and reading our mystery paperbacks. Priceless.

Vedi più recensioni


Great Bed and Breakfast a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il luglio 24, 2012

Our stay at the Charles Bass House was enjoyable in every way possible. The house was lovely, the bed comfortable, the bath spotless , the drinks upon arrival fantastic, the orange/cinnamon french toast and fresh fruit breakfast yummy, and the hot tub relaxing! We will definately return again and again! All this for $100.00?????????????? Crazy Talk! lol

Vedi più recensioni


Great b and b a Charles Bass House Bed & Breakfast (South Boston, Virginia)

4,2 Recensione postata il luglio 14, 2012

Beautiful room and sitting room in a first floor suite. Lovely furnishings and accessories. Nice bath attached. Enjoyed the hot tub and the breakfast muffins.

Vedi più recensioni


birthday treat a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4,4 Recensione postata il giugno 20, 2012

We went for a weekend stay in Virginia and stayed at the Oak Grove Plantation B&B. This B&B is wonderful and we enjoyed the peace and quietness. Our hostess explained about the history of the plantation. Thank you for a wonderful weekend

Vedi più recensioni


What a find! a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4,6 Recensione postata il giugno 14, 2012

For those who appreciate history and a touch of luxury, Oak Grove is a wonderful place to stay in this area. My room was spacious, well appointed, and the bed could not have been more comfortable. Pickett is a lovely and welcoming host and makes delicious breakfasts! I only wish I had had more time to roam the beautiful grounds, but I will make sure I do next time.

Vedi più recensioni


Visit with Girlfriend a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

5 Recensione postata il ottobre 24, 2011

My best friend and I stayed at Oak Grove the last weekend in September and it was great and the Innkeeper was a fine hostest. The food was good and the companionship was even better. Would recommend this for anyone who would want to get away from the day to day activities and relax.

Vedi più recensioni


One of the best a Oak Grove Plantation (South Boston, Virginia)

4,0 Recensione postata il giugno 28, 2011

It was more than we expected.Hostess was gracious and very helpful.Rooms were clean.Breakfast delicious!Loved the soft bathrobe provided.Hope to go back!!1

Vedi più recensioni


Inizio pagina
}