Sarah Kendall House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
154 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Divine

5 su marzo 11, 2014

A wonderful place to rest the body, mind, and soul. "A quiet mind is all you need. All else will happen rightly, once your mind is quiet. As the sun on rising makes the world active, so does self-awareness affect changes in the mind. In the light of calm and steady self-awareness, inner energies wake up and work miracles without any effort on your part."


First time in a B&B

4,6 su febbraio 27, 2014

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast and we could not be more pleased. The room we stayed in (Point Garden) had a lovely balcony off the bath that looked over the garden and the room had several time appropriate pieces. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Also, the tower is something not to miss! The views of the harbor are spectacular. The breakfast was outstanding. Great fresh bagels and muffins from Bryan's bagel shop and a delicious spread of fruits, eggs, hash browns and meat. Bryan was extremely knowledgable about Newport and it was a delight to converse with him and the guests during breakfast. We would return in a heartbeat!


Wonderful get away

5 su febbraio 03, 2014

My husband and I stayed her for our anniversary and it was just perfect. Very well maintained stunning building in a great location. Quiet side street but within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Newport harbor. The Inn was very clean and comfortable. Very enjoyable winter get away.


What a B&B should be!

5 su febbraio 01, 2014

We could tell it was going to be a great stay the second we arrived. Bryan, our host, cordially greeted us and within minutes we were introduced to other guests and started the tour of the house. The collection of antiques is amazing and Bryan had a story to go with each one. We stayed in 2 different rooms during our stay and each room had a decor that show cased unique furnishings. The inn looks across the street to the ocean. The most magnificent view was from the tower. Bryan warned us not to forget to bring our camera. There are common areas and nooks throughout the house where one can tuck away and read, play games or sip brandy. There was a bowl of fruit and cookies in the foyer during the entire stay. I never made it past the cookies without taking one! Breakfast was a royal spread which always included something hot from the kitchen along with other fixings which included fresh bagels and muffins from Bryan's Bagel shop that were on the table when we arrived at the dining room. Bryan is a native of Newport so he is able to share town history, recommend restaurants, and advise you on sights to see. In summary we had a great time. Check it out! A&B Smith


Great place

5 su gennaio 17, 2014

Awesome.


Wonderful

5 su ottobre 16, 2013

The accommodations just perfect and very comfortable. Breakfast absolutely delicious and plentiful. Brian and Fran very friendly, great host and very welcoming.


Outstanding! We will be back

5 su agosto 09, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sarah Kendall House early in July to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We had a lovely stay. The house is beautiful inside and out, clean and spacious, but most of all, Fran and Brian were very accommodating as they served such wonderful vegan breakfasts. We would definitely stay at this Bed and Breakfast again!


"I'll be back"

5 su agosto 05, 2013

The room , service and genuine caring goes into the Sarah Kendall House. Fran and Bryan are the consummate hosts. Bryan's stories are worth the stay. We are regulars and will remain so as long as they both are there.


Engagement Trip

5 su luglio 25, 2013

We had an absolutely amazing stay at the Sarah Kendall house. I booked this trip so that I could propose to my girlfriend and this place was the perfect setting for this memory. The house is great, the view from the look out tower (where I proposed) was beautiful, and then staff were warm, welcoming, and made us feel like family. We will definitely be going back and recommend that everyone stay here at least for a night!


Great experience

4,2 su luglio 17, 2013

From the minute we arrived we felt relaxed & at home... The gardens were beautiful & lush...the antiques & decor were gorgeous - it was quiet, peaceful & a quick walk into town for dinner & drinks...the breakfast at the Sarah Kendal house was delicious the inn keepers waited onus hand & foot & couldn't have been nicer! We will recommend this inn to our friends visiting Newport RI


Exceeding Expectations

4,0 su giugno 14, 2013

Beautiful room; excellent location; great meals. Innkeepers were social and had extensive knowledge of the area.


Best B&Bl Newport, RI

5 su giugno 11, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised to find this jewel of a B&B after years of visiting Newport.


great place

5 su gennaio 30, 2013

Very nice place. Terrific hosts. Delicious breakfast. Great price. Would definitly stay there again.


New Years Breakfast

4,4 su gennaio 07, 2013

After a very nice local dinner and cozy night sleep, this was a great way to start the day... and the new year.


Sarah Kendall House a great Newport B&B

5 su settembre 19, 2012

We were thrilled to find this B& B. It is a wonderful Victorian done to the 9's with gorgeous gardens and the best cat , "Roady" I have ever met. Raody stays outside of the B&B but greats you on the veranda porch as you lookout at Newport Harbor. It was our anniversary and we were treated as though we had advised them of this which we had not. Our room was lovely and spacious full of antiques, except for the amazing bed whichwas so comfortable and pillows also very good. The breeze was gentle and came in through our open windows. Breakfast was very good also with everything imagineable offered. We chose pecan and blueberry pancakes, bacon, juice, coffee and fresh cranberry muffins Yogourt and fruit and bagels were also set out. Our host Brian was a very nice fellow. We engaged him in a conversation and learned all about the history of his and his wife's B&B and some family history as well. Like a relative who had been awarded Congressional Medal of Honor in the Civil War. We cannot say enough about the Sarah Kendall House and it's new tower !


Amazing!

5 su settembre 06, 2012

Brian & Fran are amazing! A truly wonderful experience! Food, rooms, etc. -- all wonderful.


Well situated home near water and downtown

3,6 su agosto 05, 2012

We've stayed in B& B's up and down the east coast, some spectacular, some kitschy. We used B & B.com gift card to stay here and never heard from the innkeepers confirming our reservation - even after calling and leaving a message to please call us as we were traveling a great distance. Perhaps, B & B.com needs to release the same confirmation we received to innkeepers as well? The house is lovely, though it must be made clear that if staying in one of the three tower rooms, one has to climb three flights of stairs and go outdoors around to the front entrance for breakfast.. Take notice of the gardens, they are beautiful and during the summer months attract lots of monarch butterflies! Our room was small but suited our needs with exception of the older queen size mattress and mediocre linens. Also, no personal notebook about the inn or the area with suggestions, etc... just maps and local tourist booklets. Bryan was kind enough to send us to Anthony's in Middletown for exactly what we wanted - a local's place for seafood, not an overpriced meal on Thames. We walked all around Newport and down to the water/pier and before heading to an early dinner, we refreshed with sodas and water, peanuts and popcorn on the porch. We thoroughly enjoyed the sunset from the front porch later in the evening. Breakfast was served by a young assistant and was plentiful , with fresh fruit, bagels from the shoppe Bryan owns and pancakes made to order. Nothing fancy or gourmet but substantial nonetheless. Summer rates in Newport are high, would return in off season!


Sarah Kendall House B&B

5 su agosto 03, 2012

The best B&B we have stayed in. Bryan and Fran were excellent hosts. We had a full breakfast, with something different every day. The food was delicious and fresh baked goods. Afternoon snacks out on the porch. It was great.


Tranquil and Relaxing

4,4 su luglio 30, 2012

Very welcoming, hospitable, breakfast was very satisfying. House was very clean. Owner was very informative on restaurants and the area.


Charm of Yesterday

5 su luglio 27, 2012

Situated in the harbor area. Great location. Antiques surround you and create the ambiance. Innkeepers are social and accommodating. Very nice full breakfast.


Beautiful Victorian Getaway

4,4 su maggio 25, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay with Bryan at the Sarah Kendall House. The living and dinning rooms are just beautiful, full of wonderful antiques. Come hungry to breakfast -- great food and abundant. The room was great, very comfortable bed and nicely decorated. Location is very good -- close to downtown but in a quiet neighborhood. Bryan knows the area well and will direct you to whatever interests you in Newport.


Excellent Breakfast

4,4 su maggio 06, 2012

The breakfasts were superb. Better than any restaurant in Newport!


An awesome weekend retreat!

5 su marzo 02, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend away. The owner is very friendly and makes an awesome breakfast. He is very knowledgable about the history of the house and Newport and loves to share his stories. We would definitely go back again! It's in a great location - walking distance to plenty of great restaurants and shopping. Thank you Brian!


Sarah Kendall House

5 su febbraio 27, 2012

Absolutely lovely. Brian was enjoyable for conversation & it was a wonderful experience.


Chilled-out time in classy Newport.

4,4 su febbraio 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Sarah Kendall, and we were thrilled to be in the same room as before. Brian was as helpful as ever, and still produces the finest breakfast I've had in the USA


Wonderful Weekend!

5 su febbraio 02, 2012

This was the 4th time we stayed here; and love it so much, we wouldn't consider anywhere else. Breakfast is wonderful, ambiance the best and we always feel welcomed! Already planning next year;s weekend there.


Amazing anniversary

5 su febbraio 01, 2012

Wonderful stay, excellent breakfast, beautiful room with fireplace. Innkeepers very friendly, made us feel at home. Spent our anniversary here.


Fantastic!!!

5 su dicembre 20, 2011

We did not want to leave! The home is absolutely beautiful and Bryan could not have been more accomodating. We loved hearing the history of the area first hand. It was my husband's first time staying at a B&B and he really enjoyed himself. Our stay topped off our trip!


Wow!

5 su novembre 06, 2011

A fantastic B&B -- beautiful rooms, delicious breakfasts, many little extras. Hosts were charming and helpful.


Romantic Perfection!

4,8 su ottobre 06, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a last minute quick trip to Newport and stumbled across he Sarah Kendall House while looking for a place to stay. Boy were we pleased. While walking over town, we saw other highly rated bed and breakfasts, and were SO HAPPY we decided to stay at the Sarah Kendall House. Everything was absolutely perfect. The location was so perfect! Within walking distance to the downtown area, but nestled in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by other historic homes. The impecably clean house is gorgeously decorated inside and out, with a huge wrap-around porch over-looking the harbor, and beautiful gardens surrounding the house. The breakfast spread every morning was so huge, one didn't know what to eat first! Bryan was a wealth of knowledge about the area, and made himself available to answer our questions all weekend long. My husband especailly enjoyed the brandy and cookies that were left out for all of the guests to enjoy, while I particularly enjoyed the fresh apples left out. Bottom line... when we return to Newport, we will FOR SURE be staying at Sarah Kendall House again. We LOVED it!


One of the very best Bed and Breakfast

5 su settembre 20, 2011

We've stayed in many B&B's, especially in the New England area, and the Sarah Kendall House ranks among the best. We stayed here in June 2011 when our son graduated from the Navy OCS. They prepare the most amazing breakfast each morning - homemade bagles and pastries, eggs, sausage, hash browns, and fruit are among the many delicious selections of breakfast items. The house is beautifully furnished with antiques and captures an era of long ago. The location is conveniently within walking distance to many restuarants and shops. Be sure to ask Brian for recommendations for lunch or supper. A lush colorful garden surrounds the side yard and there's an old-fashion front porch on which to enjoy an early morning cup of coffee or a cool evening breeze. This B&B was truly a delightful place to stay. I highly recommend it. Diane H. Slidell, LA


Newport Get-A-Way

4,2 su agosto 25, 2011

Fran & Brian were great hosts, not only were they interesting to talk to, but also very informative about the area. They provided great dining and tourist information. Breakfast was outstanding, great presentation with many choices. Bagels & muffins from Brians bagel bakery were excellent. We spent time on the front porch reading and enjoying the view of the water. We will return next year.


Recommendation

4,4 su agosto 04, 2011

Brian Babcock runs a charming Victorian house with a welcoming attention to the needs of his guests. Ideally situated close to the needs of his guests. Ideally situated close to the water and town shops with a very good restaurant nearby.


Happy

5 su luglio 30, 2011

We are so happy we found the Sarah Kendall House while searching the Newport area online. The house was very clean, and the staff was super friendly and gave great recommendations on where to go, where to eat etc. The breakfast was delicious and lots of it. When we go back to Newport this is where we will stay!


Love Sarah Kendall

5 su luglio 15, 2011

Sarah Kendall House is great for adults looking for that special weekend away. The rooms, service and amenities are impeccable. And breakfast is always great with a main meal and other goodies to choose from on the table. (Real bagels!) If you want to visit Newport but stay in a quiet spot that is close to everything ... this is also a great location. It's not right in the fray but you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. Also, there are a couple of restaurants right in the area. I highly recommend Sarah Kendall House. -AB


A Most Pleasurable Experience

5 su luglio 12, 2011

Brian and Fran are long time industry professionals who take the comfort of their guests very seriously. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts in various parts of the world and staying at the Sarah Kendall House was a most pleasurable experience. The property offers manicured gardens, a comfortable porch, thoughtful common areas, and a stellar location with great views. The hosts provide fantastic homemade breakfast and useful advice, in addition to certain amenities often overlooked in a poor economy.


Our anniversary wkend

4,0 su luglio 08, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sarah Kendall B&B, we were very happy when we pulled up and noted this beautiful place, booking online is scary. We were greeted an shown around, the helper was very very nice, the place was clean, our room was small however we knew this going in, bed hard but I think every place we go has the same issues, it did have a view of the water thru 2 placse across the st. It had a detached bath which I knew about I would never do that again, hard in the middle of the night. The waLk to down town was not that far but at times I wished it was a bit closer like on the way home... would have been harder to do if we had our kids. The morning breakfasts were very good, a lot of food and the staff on top off the whole morning. There was coffee put out in am and soda in afternoon, we were not at the place to much, out sight seeing mostly. We loved RI and the B&B one day we might stay there again perhaps for another milestone anniversary. They have a sweet cat that greets u as u come and go. We were very happy with our stay at thsi B&B,


Wonderful weekend!

4,6 su maggio 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed there the Wed and Thu before Memorial Day weekend and had a wonderful visit. Bryan and Fran were very accomodating and made us feel so welcomed. The B&B was beautiful. We stayed in the Issac Kendall room, which was amazing. Big room, comfortable bed, and a huge bathroom! Everything was so clean. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Newport and wants a great "home base". It's walking distance to everything.


Wedding Weekend

4,2 su gennaio 23, 2011

My wife and I had our wedding there this past Friday evening and stayed in the master suite for the weekend. We held our ceremony in the living room area and everything went perfectly. Bryan, the owner was helpful in facilitating our ceremony and helping to clean up afterward. As we're late sleepers, we missed the usual breakfast that they serve, but we were able to enjoy a great continental style breakfast with coffee and juice. Overall a very enjoyable experience. We plan on returning for our anniversaries, and perhaps some time in the summertime.


wouldn't stay anywhere else in Newport

5 su dicembre 06, 2010

Lovely, inside and out. All the little extras were wonderful, like brandy in the living room, and plenty of spots to gather with our friends. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were graciously appointed. Our hosts took good care of us, were friendly and informative, and breakfast was better than we could have had in any restaurant. It was an easy walk to town. Great views of the water. We would go back in a heartbeat!


Great Place to Stay!!

5 su agosto 20, 2010

This was our fist time to Newport and also our first time staying at a B&B. The owners were great! Very warm and friendly atmosphere. They even helped us get reservations last minute on a holiday weekend. The house and gardens are beautiful and very relaxing. The food was outstanding and we were excited to get down to breakfast early each morning for items like fresh baked spinach and mushroom quiche, portuguese french toast, an array of fresh baked bagels, muffins and sliced fresh fruit. The presentation of food always felt like you were eating in a 5 star restaurant and tasted just as good. Oh and fresh baked macaroons and other goodies and beverages were always waiting for you on the porch in the afternoons. I have already recommended them to many people and will continue to do so. Teresa and Nick Delahanty


Location, Location, Location

5 su agosto 10, 2010

What a time we had, excellent host, excellent service, excellent location and excellent room!


best service around!

4,2 su luglio 25, 2010

Our room and the entire house was lovely. It was delightful to sit on the porch to relax and read a book with either morning coffee or an afternoon drink. The innkeepers were extremely attentive and provided excellent service on every front. Fran's breakfasts were delicious. I would definitely return to Sarah Kendall on a future trip to Newport.


Sarah Kendall House

5 su luglio 22, 2010

This is a beautiful B&B - fantastic location, food and charm. I highly recommend it. Bryan knows everything you need to know about Newport - and more!


A gem in Newport

5 su luglio 21, 2010

My wife booked a 2 day trip to Newport. Personally I'm not a big fan of B&B's., but this one blew me away. The owners were charming and completely helpful. The accomodations were superb and the B&B was centrally located. We are planning to come back next year. I can not say enough about this establishment. Dan Compton, Philadelphia


Exceptional

4,8 su giugno 30, 2010

The Sarah Kendall House was everything I was hoping for and more! My husband and I could not have chosen a better place to celebrate our 20th year anniversary. The hospitality was outstanding, the ambiance of the house was enchanting, and the location was perfect. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning.


Nice Break

3,6 su giugno 23, 2010

We stayed at the Sarah Kendall House Memorial Day Weekend and had a very enjoyable time. The food was delicious, the atmosphere warm and friendly. The home - spectacular!


Best place to stay in Newport!!

5 su giugno 17, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time staying at the Sarah Kendall house recently. The house and grounds are gorgeous;the location is perfect -so close to the water and within walking distance of everything. Our room was extremely comfortable and charming!! Charming is the perfect word to describe every detail of the Sarah Kendall house-the hosts,Bryan and Fran, the decor, the garden, the front porch, the delectable breakfasts! It is truly a joy to stay in such a charming B&B.


A wonderful experience

4,8 su maggio 03, 2010

Even with Fran and Brian (for part of the time) stuck in Europe because of the volcano our experience was wonderful. Sarah was excelent in their absence. The rooms were lovely, the breakfasts wonderful (who needs lunch after all that food), the conversation stimulating and the environment very relaxing. The experience was definately what we needed to help us relax and enjoy our time off. Thanks again. Marc and Jenny


great stay hidden gem!!!

5 su aprile 18, 2010

we loved our stay at the sarah kendall house, clean and elegant, loved everything about it!!!!!


Wonderful Stay!

5 su marzo 15, 2010

I had a wonderful time at the Sarah Kendall House. Accomodations were very clean and charming, the proprietors were very pleasant and served a great comp. breakfast. I would highly recommend Sarah Kendall House to anyone wishing to have a great time.


wonderful Valentines weekend

4,4 su febbraio 19, 2010

My husband and I wanted a quiet get a way for one nite and we found it at the Sarah Kendall House. Gorgeous Victorian, wonderfully appointed and maintained. The inn keepers, Fran and Brian were very welcoming and the breakfast ( and macaroons) were delicious. They gave us insider tips for dining which also was very good. Room was small with fireplace but was cozy and romantic. Lovely views of the water from the tower and in the summer would be even better I imagine. Would definately recommend this B and B and hope to return. thank you The Browns


Outstanding Experience With a View

4,8 su febbraio 11, 2010

My experience was outstanding, however it was only one day/night and no one else was there at the time. The view is spectacular and I am grateful the host encouraged me to check out the spiral tower that is part of the building. I stayed in the suite and it was cozy yet "royal". The host was smart to demo the key uses (3 places) since keys get a little sticky in older buildings (and they did), and I was comforted to know I could ring the bell and get host if/when needed. You park out front (not clearly indicated), but best to check with host depending on time of year, since Newport, RI has time-sensitive parking regulations.


A great Weekend

4,2 su gennaio 29, 2010

Our First time to a B&B in Newport. The entire home was so immaculate, that I, a germ phobe wasn't concerned about a thing. The Inn keepers know so much about the area and fascinated us with their knowledge. They were charming and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful, couldn't ask for better. The rooms are different sizes and since I booked through this site I didn't know which room I was getting. Ours was one of the smaller rooms but it was bright and well worth the money. The location was great, near the water and within walking distance to town. We would definitely return.


Weekend Get-A-Way

5 su gennaio 29, 2010

We were there in the off season, but felt like it could have been the height of the season for the hospitality and accommodations we received. A beautiful inn with gorgeous antiques that was extremely comfortable as well. Don't miss the view from the tower sitting room when you visit!!


Beautiful and welcoming home

5 su dicembre 31, 2009

This Bed and Breakfast typifies excellence in every way. The house is beautiful and has been thoughtfully restored and decorated with gorgeous antiques. Bryan and Fran were most welcoming and helpful hosts, making sure all of our needs were met. The breakfasts were outstanding, including delicious bagels and muffins each morning. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with them!


Above and Beyond...The Very Best!

5 su dicembre 22, 2009

If you are planning a trip to New Port, you will want to stay here! This B&B is beautiful, cozy, clean, private and comfortable. The tower suite is so cool! You have a fabulous view from the room, but climb the stairs to the tower and WOW you can see forever! Over looking the light house and the Pell Bridge, it is breathtaking. But more then the house itself, the hosts are truly a wonderful, generous and kind couple who made us feel at home. Bryan and Fran you are the best. Thank you for making our extended stay worry free. We happened to be hit with an 18 inch snow storm while we were in New Port and could not make it home to PA. They were kind enough to let us stay and extra night at no charge, simply because they wanted us to be safe. Where else would you find anyone else that kind and generous??? So again, book your stay at the Sarah Kendall House, the location is great, walking distance to lots of dining, shopping, and quaint neighboring houses. The total experience is second to none.


R&R

5 su dicembre 18, 2009

Total rest and relaxation! The Tower is perfect for reading and relaxing while overlooking views of Newport Marina and sunsets over the bay! A must stay!


Sarah Kendall House

4,0 su dicembre 16, 2009

Peaceful, relaxing, good food, good company. The owners were interesting. Perfect!


Marvelous Stay

4,6 su dicembre 16, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Sarah Kendall in Newport. The house is cozy and has beautiful antiques. It makes you travel in time, but with all modern accomodations to bring you comfort. Delicious breakfasts and the nice contact with Brian, the owner which is always friendly and helpful, and also very respectful of your time.


Great Weekend

4,6 su dicembre 10, 2009

Stayed here for the 2nd time. Loved everything about it. breakfasts are delicious, the rooms charming and the proprietors helpful. Will go back again next year.


Wonderful Stay at a Wonderful B&B

5 su dicembre 02, 2009

Since it was sunny and unseasonably warm November day, we decided to take a last minute jaunt to Newport. We threw some things in a bag and just took off - figuring that we would drive around the harbor and find a place to stay when we got to the town. The stunning Sarah Kendall House was one of the first B&B's that we happened upon ... and as soon as we approached the home, we immediately knew that we did not have to look further. The Inn, with its lovely colors and rocking chair porch, beckoned us to stop. From the street, we could see how meticulously the house had been restored and how nicely it is currently maintained. This charming Painted Lady sits directly across from the harbor in a quiet residential neighborhood, just a very short walk from the center of Newport's commercial district. The minute we entered, we felt the warmth of the Inn. The Sarah Kendall House is quite elegant, yet comfortable. The home is tastefully decorated and immaculate. Our room had a lovely gas fireplace and beautiful period antiques & collectibles. The bed was very comfortable. There was a flat screen TV and a small fridge in the closet - so convenient! The Innkeepers are delightful and interesting folks - so very gracious, friendly and helpful. They gave us wonderful recommendations for dinners and good suggestions for things to do in town. The breakfasts were terrific. We had delicious blueberry pancakes, the first day and creamy quiche, the second day ... along with fresh bagels, breads, cakes & muffins ... fresh fruit and juices ... and an endless pot of coffee. We HIGHLY suggest the Sarah Kendall House to anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing get-away in superbly restored and welcoming B&B.


Fabulous B&B

5 su novembre 06, 2009

We enjoyed a fantastic weekend overlooking the harbor filled with sailboats while sitting on the porch of our immaculate B&B with the most luscious breakfast we have ever had.


Absolutely the best!

5 su ottobre 16, 2009

This is one of the best B&Bs in which we have stayed and clearly the best in Newport. It is a guaranteed winner!


Our Stay at Sarah Kendall House

5 su ottobre 13, 2009

Our stay was very comfortable! The hosts were wonderful. They made us feel like family.The breakfasts were delicious. The house is beautiful. Our room was very comfortable, everything very clean. We were able to do alot of walking to see the sights. We would definitely recommend this B&B to others and we will be going back.


Fall at Sarah Kendall house

4,4 su ottobre 12, 2009

We stayed at the Sarah Kendall House over Columbus Day Weekend 2009. As regular visitors to Newport we know the area very well, but beyond just loving the house we found Bryan and Fran to be great hosts and they even gave us new insights into an area we have been visiting for the last 20 years. We highly recommend this inn and will definitely stay with them again.


Fabulous!

5 su ottobre 06, 2009

The inn is impeccably maintained and beautiful. Inn owners, Bryan & Frannie, are wonderful hosts. Their love of guests and home make your visit a joy.


Sarah Kendall House

5 su ottobre 05, 2009

Excellent. Friendly hosts -- knowledgeable of area!


Outstanding!

5 su settembre 30, 2009

This is by far the best newport has to offer! We loved staying at Sarah Kendall and enjoyed the hospitality of Bryan and Fran.


Breakfasts alone worth the trip

5 su settembre 02, 2009

Lovingly, meticuously restored Victorian beauty filled with antiques, many from the original owners. Gracious, friendly, attentive host and hostess. Breakfasts alone are worth the trip! Quiet neighborhood, easy walking distance to all town activities and restaurants. Watch sunsets from the front porch, sipping proffered beverages.


Fabulous Newport

5 su settembre 02, 2009

Everything was terrific. The room, food, hospitality, atmosphere, location, service, all was splendid.


ROMANTIC TIME WITH HUSBAND

4,0 su settembre 02, 2009

I could go on and on and never say enough wonderful things about the Home, The Staff, The owners and the food. It was all amazing, fabulous, generous and just perfect. I would go back there in a heart beat and will to others how perfect it is. The home is a little off of the beaten path which is fabulous, but in walking distance to downtown. We walked to the great restaurants, etc...The room and house was all decorated with gorgeous antiques. It was just a perfect stay. Even after 26 years of marriage this is the perfect place to go for a Romantic Getaway....We stayed for 2 nights 8/2009....Cantonment, FL......


Comfort and elegance

3,8 su settembre 02, 2009

From the minute we walked into this magnificent historical house and saw our gorgeous room with water views we were in heaven! Perfect!


Outstanding

5 su settembre 02, 2009

We had a great time. Thank you!


Home Away from Home

4,8 su settembre 01, 2009

First of all, the actual house is lovely. The front porch begs you to sit and chat, sip coffee or wine, read a book, take a nap, enjoy the quiet and the view. Then there are the hosts/owners--Fran and Bryan. Never a warmer, more hard working couple have you met. They love each other, love their work and their home. They will whip up a breakfast each morning you will never forget. The Sarah Kendall House was the springboard for a fantastic weekend getaway. I would return to Newport just to go there again!


This place is fabulous!

5 su agosto 24, 2009

The owners are firendly and welcoming. The house is meticulous! Awesome food. The only place we like!


Wonderful!!

5 su agosto 22, 2009

This was a mid week getaway for us and what a delight! The Inn is absolutely beautiful with breakfasts to die for!!! And the location is location is perfect! Fran and Bryan were so friendly and helpful with where to dine and what to see. There's no question we will visit the Sarah Kendall House again.


First B&B -- Loved it!

4,8 su agosto 14, 2009

Host and hostess were very warm and friendly. Room and bath had all amenities. Surroundings clean & beautiful. Breakfast wonderful.


Outstanding

4,8 su agosto 13, 2009

Breakfast meal included many choices of foods, all of which were delicious. Decor was in keeping for age of home. Convenient for walking to activities. Enjoyed view of bay. Hosts were congenial.


Couldn't Be Better!

5 su agosto 11, 2009

We had an amazing stay at Sarah Kendall House. Brian & Fran were warm, gracious and charming, the location is ideal, the room was delightful, and breakfast was a treat. All of this was provided at a fair and competitive price. We would happily recommend this to our friends, and we look forward to our return.


Peaceful, Perfect Getaway

5 su agosto 03, 2009

Sarah Kendall House is the place to stay! Outstanding accommodations -- wonderful innkeepers/owners. Enjoy the view from the highest point at the Kendall House!


Best Breakfast!

4,4 su luglio 29, 2009

BEST BREAKFAST! Beautiful home and garden. Friendly owners. Great location. My only complaint would be the small shower with a curtain that wasn't quite long enough and the water leaked all over the floor, (a problem easy to fix).


Beautiful accomodations, delicious breakfast!

5 su luglio 23, 2009

The Sarah Kendall House is everything we were looking for in a B&B. The location is picturesque as it stands feet away from the water and its block is so rich in history. We stayed in the Sarah Kendall room which has a wonderful Victorian feel and was very comfortable. They even offer a beach tote equipped with towels and sunblock for guests' convenience. It is a 5-10 minute walk into the downtown Newport area where you have shops and dining. Fran and Bryan are great hosts and are available to help with anything. They gave wonderful suggestions for sites and restaurants! Finally, the breakfast is delicious! Definitely one of the best! Thanks to Fran and Bryan for making our first trip to Newport such a memorable one.


fabulous stay

5 su luglio 16, 2009

From the beginning, the owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. The service and breakfast were superb. We had the best time!


Outstanding in Every Way

4,0 su luglio 06, 2009

Wonderful, charming, pristine establishment. Stayed over the July 4th holiday in their garden room and couldn't have been more satisfied with my stay. Beautifully decorated and infused with the scent of lavender, this Inn exceeded my expectations. Gracious Inn keepers truly take pride in their home and the attention to detail was greatly appreciated.The rooms were spacious and immaculate, the amenities sufficient. Treat yourself to the quintessential New England B&B experience and stay here.


Bayside B&B with a history

5 su giugno 19, 2009

If you want to relax by the water and be pampered the time you are in Newport, this is the place you want to stay. your day begins with a view of the gardens, coffee on the covered porch, and a gourmet breakfast. Walk across the street to the water. End the day with a night cap in front of the fireplace in the parlor.


The best B&B I've ever stayed in

4,8 su giugno 19, 2009

I've stayed with Brian and Franny numerous times and never have been disappointed. They treat me like family. Wonderful food and conversation. Great view, delicious breakfast- home made baked goods are terrific! The best!


Extraordinary In Every Way

5 su giugno 16, 2009

Visiting friends and celebrating my wife's birthday in Newport, we were fortunate to find lodgings at the Sarah Kendall House. The buildings are classic and meticulously maintained. The location is a few steps from the water and a convenient stroll to all of historic Newport. The rooms are furnished with unique antiques and decorated with superb taste. The grounds, maintained by Brian, are remarkable, planted with a cascade of flowers, some in bloom, others waiting to erupt. The breakfasts, created by Fran, could hold you for the day. In our three days, the hot meals consisted of flavorful quiche, french toast and blueberry pancakes, all accompanied by savory sausages or bacon. And those were surrounded each day by plentiful fruit salad, juice, berries, bagels (New York quality, baked fresh each day by the owners), mufffins, donuts and bold coffee. Late afternoon appetizers and brandy are also offered. Fran and Brian, the Innkeepers, seem never to stop working to make sure their accomodations are first-class and their guests always well-attended. Their buoyant spirits are clearly also embraced by the Staff of Sarah Kendall House. We'll be back.


wonderful weekend getaway

4,4 su giugno 09, 2009

What a wonderful place to retreat to. Lovely, well maintained inn and rooms, elaborate and delicious breakfast. Would stay again in a heartbeat!


wonderful Memorial Day weekend

5 su maggio 27, 2009

Sarah Kendall House is a beautiful, inviting, and cozy B and B. Fran and Bryan Babcock are amazing hosts, and provide an array of delicious breakfasts, afternoon cheese and crackers on the porch, and excellent advice on where to eat and shop, as well as history of the town. The views of the harbor are lovely, and the walk to town was leisurely and fun. We had a very peaceful, comfortable stay, and highly recommend Sarah Kendall House to anyone visiting Newport.


Sarah Kendall

5 su maggio 27, 2009

Beautiful house and location- will definitely travel back and stay here!


Sarah Kendall

5 su maggio 20, 2009

Our hosts, Fran and Bryan were extremely friendly and accommodating. The inn is very tastefully decorated and an extremely relaxing place to stay. Breakfast was delightful and delicious. Flower gardens were magnificent. Highly recommended!


wonderful stay

5 su maggio 19, 2009

Beautiful view of harbor, accessible to everything, mansions, shops, etc. Fran and Bryan made us feel very welcome. Also great breakfasts!


Unforgettable long weekend

5 su maggio 15, 2009

The location was very close to downtown Newport but the inn was so warm and inviting we almost did not want to leave. Both mornings we stayed there, we awakened by a delicious home cooked breakfast that made the experience even more memorable and the hosts and owners were amazing. If anyone is heading to Newport I would highly recommend staying here.


Charming decor, short walk to town

4,2 su maggio 06, 2009

We stayed for a weekend in late April and were very impressed by how beautifully furnished and well-kept the Sarah Kendall House was. Our room (importantly, the bathroom) was spotless and cosy. It was a small space, but the room, and really, all the rooms we were in that weekend hinted at luxury--the bed linens felt new and clean, the pillows soft and plump, and the overall decor was charming! The working fireplace lends great function and atmosphere. The room was quite warm on our second night, however, and we couldn't find any way to cool the temperature. (Opening the windows didn't really help since it was a warm day.). It takes about ten minutes to walk to the town center and during breakfast, Brian gave us tips for where to eat and what to see. Unlike some other B&Bs, this inn gave us a sense of privacy (accomodations are in a separate building from the main house and the house is situated in a quiet area with plenty of picturesque historic houses surrounding it) and we could be social at breakfast. The attention to detail and gorgeous decor sets it apart from many B&Bs we have stayed at. Not many places serve orange juice in crystal pitchers and goblets! Parking is not a problem, either on the street or in the back of the house. There is a friendly cat on the premises--we didn't mind it, but people with allergies might want to take note.


Towering views

5 su aprile 15, 2009

The owners were fabulous! Extremely generous folks with attention to detail from breakfast, to our rooms. The tower was a nice escape for reading and enjoying panoramic views, especially the water!


A wonderful experience!

4,8 su aprile 07, 2009

We came down for breakfast long after it was done being served and we were graciously met by Brian and Fran who gave us a delicious breakfast and warm conversation. They also generously allowed us to stay for a late checkout, overall best B&B experience I've ever had!


outstanding

5 su aprile 07, 2009

Outstanding in every way! Wonderful hosts!


first timer

5 su marzo 27, 2009

The most enjoyable stay ever! It is the best value, and warmest inn that we've ever stayed at!


Great time in Newport

4,6 su febbraio 25, 2009

Very charming and well maintained. I felt more like a houseguest instead of a visitor. Wouldnt hesitate in recommending a visit.


Sarah Kendal House

3,6 su febbraio 20, 2009

The owners - Brian and Fran - are great people. They make the stay worth while... :)


Setting the Standard

5 su febbraio 17, 2009

The Sarah Kendall House was my very first B&B experience. My boyfriend and I visited Newport for a romantic weekend getaway, and the Sarah Kerndall House accomodations and staff exceeded all expectations. Fran and Bryan are a hoot...extremely friendly and knowledgeable of what the town of Newport has to offer. The surroundings were exactly what I pictured and hoped a B&B would be. I loved every minute from the private fireplace in our room to the delicious breakfasts and treats. I am now a Bed & Breakfast fan and only hope that my future experiences meet the standard set by the Sarah Kendall House. -Vanessa & Kevin


Amazing!

3,8 su febbraio 12, 2009

Our room was quiet and private. Not only was breakfast fabulous, but the staff are more than helpful with insider tips and suggestions for a romantic getaway in Newport! We will be back again!


excellent

5 su febbraio 12, 2009

Excellent hospitality. Great rooms, superb food and drink. Great hosts. Cleanliness was excellent. This is just exquisite all around!


best of Newport

5 su dicembre 18, 2008

wonderful stay, unbelievable room-HUGE- service like no other. good advice as to eating and shopping and fine dinning.


Excellent!!

5 su dicembre 18, 2008

Friendly, courteous, incredibly hospitable, very accommodating. Highly recommended!


Great getaway

4,0 su dicembre 18, 2008

We loved our stay at the Sarah Kendall house. Brian and Fran were great hosts. The place is beautiful and clean. Food was great!


Sarah Kendall

5 su dicembre 09, 2008

This was the most beautiful and clean B&B I have ever been in!


Charming, clean, friendly

4,6 su dicembre 09, 2008

Antiques abound in this authentically decorated B&B. Delish breakfast and generous host, great location. Our first floor suite in small house spacious. Recommended.


The most beautiful place I've seen

5 su dicembre 09, 2008

This house is like a mini Newport Mansion. It is filled with antiques, marble, beautiful floors and molding- the works! The owners are wonderful, the breakfast is amazing, everything is pristine.


Great Weekend Getaway

4,6 su dicembre 07, 2008

Took a weekend trip to Newport. As it was first time there we were totally delighted that our stay was so wonderful. Bryan and Fran are friendly, knowledgeable hosts with a beautiful B&B. Our room was immaculate, large (surprisingly warm...as I thought an older home would be drafty!) and met all our needs. The gas fireplace in the room was a wonderful accent. We totally enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to visit Newport!


You Can’t Improve Upon Perfection

5 su novembre 09, 2008

Right on the Newport Harbor, boasting glorious views of the bay area, coupled with an irresistibly romantic charm, the Sarah Kendall House has it all! Quaint and cozy rooms overlook the beautifully tended gardens; fresh brewed coffee greets the early riser on a perfectly shaded front porch while fresh brewed iced tea quenches your thirst on a hot afternoon. The tempting variety of breakfasts were simply spectacular! Our pleasant and knowledgable hosts, Bryan and Fran, made our stay perfect. We will vacation here again, and this will be the first place we return to.


perfect!

5 su novembre 05, 2008

It was my first experience at a B&B and it won't be my last! We had a fabulous time, and a lot had to do with our accommodations! the rooms, the house, the food, the owners. they were all wonderful!


Wonderful over night

5 su ottobre 31, 2008

nice owners, great service, comfortable room


wonderful stay!

5 su ottobre 30, 2008

Sarah Kendall House was lovely. Cleanest B&B we have ever stayed at. hosts were warm and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Very romantic home with lots of fireplaces and beautiful antiques. would definitely return.


Recharging in Newport

4,8 su ottobre 25, 2008

Combine my favorite season in New Engalnd and a chance to recharge my batteries with a wonderful stay at the Sarah Kendall House and you've got the absolutely perfect mini-vacation getaway! The B&B exceeded any expectations and defines exactly what a B&B experience ought to be -- great room, terrific gourmet breakfast (kudos to Fran's homecooking), lively conversations and sharing of travel experiences with Bryan, Fran, and other guests. Without a doubt, I would return for a stay in a heartbeat. As cliche as it may sound, Fran and Bryan truly have opened their home to make any guest feel as if they were at a "home away from home." Don't miss out on an opportunity to stay here -- you'll look forward tothe next trip, I know I am .....


Definitely Returning

5 su ottobre 22, 2008

There was not one complaint with our whole group! The rooms were spotless, breakfast was outstanding, and Fran and Bryan were the perfect hosts! Can't wait to go back!


Sarah Kendall

4,0 su ottobre 02, 2008

Excellent location. Beautiful outlook and splendid building, huge room, very comfortable. Helpful host!


Excellent B&B

4,4 su settembre 22, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a weekend (Sept 19-21) in Newport, RI. We stayed at the Sarah Kendall House. We had an excellent time. The house is absolutely beautiful with it's antiques and furnishings. Fran and Bryan are excellent hosts. Bryan is a wealth of information about Newport and made many suggestions about restaurants and things to do. Fran makes the breakfasts which were delicious. They serve it in their magnificent dining room on beautiful china and crystal. You start out with fresh bagels and all sorts of delicious muffins and fruit salad, juice and coffee. On Sat we had sourdough french toast with a berry sauce and bacon. On Sunday there was also bagels, muffins, fruit and juice, coffee and also doughnuts. The entree was a choice of either ham and cheese quiche or spinach and mushroom quiche, both served with home fried potatoes. I had the spinach and mushroom and my husband had the ham and cheese. Both quiches were outstanding. We stayed in the Tower Suite located on the third floor. The suite consisted of a very large bedroom with a king size bed and beautiful antiques. We had a beautiful view of the harbor. We also had a lovely sitting room off of the bedroom. The bathroom was a little small but the size of the suite more than made up for it. The house was absolutely spotless. There is also a sitting room on the third floor that we sat in one night. Also there is a lovely tower sitting room on the 4th floor that gives 360 degree views. Another lovely thing about this property are the magnificent gardens. They are so beautiful. The area where the house is located in is a lovely quiet area. My husband and I took walks around there in the morning. I highly recommend this B&B, you certainly won't be sorry.


Not just for pleasure but you'll want to stay forever

4,8 su settembre 09, 2008

I stay here believe or not for business purposes while attending a conference in the nearby Hyatt last September 2007. Since the hotel was booked solid I was smart enough to look for a local B&B and came upon the Sarah Kendall House. I am so glad I stayed here. Each morning I ate a gourmet breakfast of fresh squeezed orange juice, great coffee along with homemade muffins and bagels. There's fruit, toast, butter and jam to also gorge on. And if you have room please have the amazing homemade breakfast that includes eggs cooked your way, bacon and some days pancakes. My mouth waters thinking about it. There is a resident cat. Help slept with me one night and he was in trouble for it. But great company. Brian and Fran are a cute couple. You will enjoy their company. Ask for the room with the patio. Nice place to sip tea.


Great experience

4,6 su settembre 01, 2008

We had a wonderful experience with Bryan and Fran...lovely home, great food and very helpful advice on where to go, what to do and great places to eat....especially Rhumbline. Would definitely go again!


A Memorable Vacation

5 su agosto 30, 2008

The Sarah Kendall House has it all! Great location (with parking), clean and comfortable, and a wonderful breakfast to start your day. We also enjoyed the company of the other guests and the special treats which were available all day. Brian was very hospitable and informative. This was our first trip to Newport, but we do plan to return and stay at the Sarah Kendall House. Thank you again Brian and Fran!


Sarah Kendall House

4,0 su agosto 28, 2008

Terrific stay-Brian was friendly, efficient and helpful....the rooms are terrific....very quaint and clean.


Perfect Getaway

5 su agosto 28, 2008

Magnificent house, host, location with beautiful view of water. We stayed in the tower suite which was spacious with lovely decor. Breakfast was delicious and abundant. Thanks Brian!


Wonderful B&B

4,6 su agosto 26, 2008

Very nice, beautiful home with period decorations. Beautiful landscaping, great front porch. Quiet street with great location. The owner very accommodating, wonderful breakfast.


Best B&B Location in Newport

3,8 su agosto 19, 2008

The inn keeper was very friendly and helpful. breakfast was delicious. This inn has a lot of character and the best location near the harbor.


Sarah Kendall House

5 su agosto 18, 2008

It was the greatest stay on our honeymoon trip. The house is so wonderful. Love at a glance


Outstanding Experience

5 su agosto 12, 2008

I do not know how our stay at the Sarah Kendall House could have been any better. The room was clean and well furnished. The common areas were very inviting. The location was the best. And the breakfasts were better than home. Overall, a perfect 10!!


An Excellent Experience

5 su agosto 03, 2008

This Inn features highly personalized service, beautiful rooms that are not only in great condition, but extremely clean as well, a wonderful, convenient location to everything, and an excellent breakfast experience. Whether sitting outside enjoying the morning paper with some fresh coffee, or relaxing before dinner with a bottle of wine (graciously provided to us at no charge) with the amazing views from the gorgeous tower room, our experience at this B&B was top notch. Would highly recommend it, and will certainly be back. As a hotelier by education and profession, I tend to be very picky about where I stay, but I truly have only good things to say about my time at this Inn. The hospitable owner is full of useful and interesting information - so make sure you take advantage of his in depth knowledge of Newport and all that it has to offer!!


A wonderful weekend retreat

4,8 su agosto 03, 2008

My husband and I visited Newport for a wedding, and had a lovely stay at Brian and Fran's bed & breakfast in late June. The inn is easily within walking distance (very important in Newport, as driving--and parking--is painful) of downtown Newport. The room was immaculate and comfortable, with many thoughtful touches. Breakfast was outstanding--full course meal-- and anything but "continental"! Both hosts were welcoming and willing to share tips about town. On our last day, we had to head off early as we had a long drive, and Brian and Fran took the time to serve us a full breakfast which we were certainly not expecting! In sum, a lovely getaway for us.


Welcome Home

5 su luglio 31, 2008

Warm, charming, friendly, and serene. This B&B puts a smile on my face with its fine quality of service and amazing owners who make you feel like a part of their home.


A mini mansion with by gone elega

5 su luglio 30, 2008

Hospitality outstanding, ambience elegant with impeccable taste. A most memorable visit. The only place to stay in Newport.


Outstanding accommodations, hospitality, and location!

5 su luglio 24, 2008

Don't miss this gem: a comfortable room with a fab view, delicious breakfasts, and innkeepers in tune to the needs and wishes of their guests, all within walking distance of downtown shops, restaurants and sites.


The Sarah Kendall Experience

5 su luglio 24, 2008

Easily the best B&B we've ever been to. The breakfast layout is plentiful & the staff really makes you feel at home.


Great long weekend

4,2 su luglio 23, 2008

Beautifuly Victorian, gracious and interesting hosts, bounteous breakfast; suite at 3d floor is a tough staircase climb for a senior; on the whole very satisfactory.


Newport Getaway

4,0 su luglio 21, 2008

Wonderful old Victorian, gracious hosts, Bryan & Fran Babcock, Comfortable room, great location overlooking the water. And a treat breakfast!!


Excellent Stay

4,8 su luglio 21, 2008

This was our first Bed & Breakfast stay. Based on our pleasant experience we will seek B&B's wherever we travel.


FANTASTIC

5 su luglio 16, 2008

The best B&B ever - nice setting, good people & owners & fantastic food! Beautiful Victorian home!


Beautiful House

4,4 su luglio 15, 2008

We felt welcomed & relaxed. Everything was clean & beautiful - Fran & Bryan were wonderful hosts.


Very nice B&B

4,8 su giugno 26, 2008

Our hosts, Bryan and Fran, were just wonderful. Very nice to talk with but not overbearing. Best breakfast in Newport. Excellent location within walking distance of most of Newport. Jim and Donna


B&B review

3,8 su giugno 19, 2008

Great service and Hospitality. Very clean and inviting atmosphere. Friendly hosts. Fun place to visit. Highly recommend.


A Great Time In Newport

5 su giugno 11, 2008

Fran and Bryan were great sources of information for local lore and great places to go. They were most hospitable; food was great; ambiance was great; location and view terrific.


Sarah Kendall House

5 su giugno 05, 2008

The room was very nice and decorated with antique furniture and working fire place. Hosts were wonderful, very informative of places, restaurants, etc. Nice breakfasts and would definitley visit again!


Perfection

4,8 su maggio 30, 2008

Fran and Brian Babcock have a B&B that is wonderful, very pleasing to the eye, mouth and nose. The amazing renovation with all the modern amenities. Gourmet breakfast, snacks, breath taking landscape and flowers.


Girl Friend's Getaway

5 su maggio 28, 2008

Our stay was wonderful! Our accommodations comfortable and nicely decorated. The host was friendly and helpful.


A Great Place to Stay

5 su maggio 13, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at this inn several times. We loved it and will go back again.


simply the best

5 su settembre 11, 2007

Stayed at the Sarah Kendall House on labor day weekend, what a great place to relax and recharge our batteries. The house is spotless and maintained unbelievably


Best of Newport

5 su agosto 27, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Sarah Kendall House. The house is kept up amazingly well. I loved the sounds of the birds, the rustling trees and the joyful glee of those jumping from the pier into the bay. My favorite time was sitting on the glorious front porch while gazing at the beautiful garden and enjoying homemade chocolate chip cookies! It is located in The Point, the most relaxing part of Newport in my opinion. After riding bikes to beaches, shopping on the busy strip, it is nice to ride into the quiet of The Point. We'd love to go back!


An Evening to Remember

5 su luglio 24, 2007

My partner and I checked into a most marvelous room on July 17th. From the moment we walked into the house, we felt welcome and part of their family. Fran took a few moments to sit and chat with us on the front porch (the wicker furniture is to die for!!) We had an incredible view of the harbor with floor to ceiling windows...not a detail was overlooked - bottled water in the refrigerator, chocolate on the nightstand, and the thoughtful beach bag. The room was absolutely immaculate. The bathroom was so clean and accomodating - the fluffiest of towels we have have only seen in a 5 star hotel at twice the price. The gardens are an experience unto themselves...take a moment to explore and enjoy, you will not regret it! The breakfast was fit for a king - the most wonderful blueberry pancakes - hot and fluffy. The public rooms were so welcoming and inviting...sherry in the late afternoon, cookies, coffee, nothing overlooked. Take a moment to get to know Fran and Bryan - you will not regret it nor will you regret a stay at Sarah Kendall House. Thank you Fran and Bryan, and the best to you.


A weekend to remember

4,8 su luglio 24, 2007

Being our first time in Newport, Fran and Bryan provided us with a great wealth of information on where to go and what to see. They provided us with a beach bag, towels, sunscreen, bathrobes,all the amenities you could think of. In addition, the breakfast experience was amazing. The tablesetting, and china, is beautiful and takes you back in time, the breakfast is outstanding, and there is pretty much anything you want available. The location is convenient, because you are right near the water, and about a block away from the action in town. I have to say, I can't wait for my next visit to Newport, and staying at the Sarah Kendall House. PS- they also have really nice flat screen TVs!


Stay at the Sarah Kendall House

5 su luglio 20, 2007

My husband and I had the most wonderful stay at the Sarah Kendall House. Two more perfect hosts could not be found anywhere! After a long auto trip, Fran and Bryan offered us hot tea or coffee with sweets. We then checked into our IMMACULATE room that had amenities like we have never seen before. A huge beach bag containing water, suntan lotion and towels is available to every guest. They offered us a wealth of information on the history of Newport and what sights and restaurants to patronize. I doubt if any innkeepers could do more to make their guests comfortable and happy. We are returning to the Sarah Kendall house on our next visit to Newport and would think of staying anywhere else. The innkeepers are wonderful and their house is beautiful. their gardens are not to be missed either! Sipping coffee on their front porch overlooking the gardens and Newport Harbour was a wonderful, peaceful experience!


Not the Best!

2,0 su luglio 17, 2007

We were very disappointed. We checked in at about 2:30 in the afternoon to get ready for a wedding. The air conditioning was not turned on so the room was sweltering and never cooled down while we were dressing. The drain in the tub was clogged, so you shower in 3 to 4 inches of water, and faucet never turned off completely, so you heard a constant drip. The toilet also ran. The final insult was the breakfast. I had come down and had coffee on the porch with the owners. Fran asked me if we were having breakfast and I told her yes. My husband had slept late, so we sat down at the table at 9:35, only to be told that breakfast was over at 9:30. They gave my husband a toasted bagel. I had seen mixed fresh fruit; when I asked they brought us small bowls of that. Never brought any coffee for my husband, and brought us some orange juice and some milk for the little boxes of cold cereal that were still on the table. Felt there were many ways that they could have handled this better, especially at the price they charged. Not very guest focused!

Risposta del proprietario
In responce to our review of JUly 17th. Our check-in time is 3:00P.M.. We kindly let these specific quests in earely. We usually turn the air-conditioning on in each room at 2:55 P.M. as utility bills can soar in the summer. The room the guest chose was a water view room with floor to ceiling windows wide open so there is always an ocean breeze. I doubt if anyone could sweat in a room that is mostly opened windows. We were upset to hear about the bath but the guest kept this complaint to herself or we would have attended to the problem immediatly. The female guest who complained had come downstairs to a full urn of coffee that is on own front porch from 6:30 A.M. to 11:00 A.M. along with several newspapers. She sat on the porch and drank coffee and chatted with several guests that had finished breakfas,after reminding the guest several times that breakfast was ending she informed me that her husband was sleeping late. The time was closer to 11:00 A.M. when they finally arrived, after offerihg the couple muffins,bananna bread,or bagels along with fruit we gave the guests exectly what they asked for. The coffee was on the porch.,which has great wicker furniture. The morning was beautiful and was perfect for having breakfast on the porch. I think there is misplaced anger as her husband was VERY LATE in comming down. Please refer to our web site and other literature that clearly states check-in time and breakfast time. We are extermely guest focesed when there are problems we can solve. We did bring a plumber in and the plumbing was fixed as the following guests came and told us of the problem.


The Perfect Getaway!

5 su giugno 01, 2007

I had stayed at the Sarah Kendall House years ago and loved it. When my husband had to go to Newport for a convention, we stayed there in the Tower Suite. Lots of stairs, but was it every worth it! Beautiful, private sanctuary with fireplace, comfy bed, just Heaven. The tower is like being in the top of a lighthouse, what views. Fran and Brian are the perfect hosts, Brian knows everything about where to go, eat, etc. in Newport and the surrounding area, and Fran's breakfasts are fabulous, there's no room for lunch after one of those! Of all the B&B's we've stayed at, this is the absolute best.


great stay

5 su maggio 30, 2007

great stay and great value for such an elegant inn


Sarah Kendall House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $125 - $350
  • Recensioni (154) 4,7
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-4018467976
  • Numero di Fax 1-4018492811
  • Gratuito 1-8007589578

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina