Ivy Lodge Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,4
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
24 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Superb and completely delightful

5 su giugno 04, 2013

A perfect location, thrown back in time yet updated with comfort and convenience, and very pleasant place to stay. I would enjoy taking in all the elegance at a more leasurely pace next time, experiencing all that is offered throughout this property. Darlene is a gem as well...


Cozy Anniversary Weekend at the Ivy Lodge

5 su aprile 26, 2013

Our 2nd time staying at the Ivy Lodge. Beautiful, large, well-appointed room (Queen Ann Room) with a king size bed and fireplace. Perfect quiet location steps away from the cliff walk, yet close enough to walk to the action on Thames Street. Delicious full breakfast each morning, someone knows their way around a kitchen!! Thank you Darlene for all the recommendations and for making our stay in Newport the best yet! Ted and Krysti


Ivy Lodge was outstanding

4,8 su aprile 01, 2013

I surprised my wife with a weekend stay at the Ivy Lodge. It was a superior experience. The room was beautiful, the lodge itself was breath-taking and it was walking distance to the Walk and we could see many of the mansions along the way.


Great Place to Stay

4,0 su dicembre 13, 2011

Great play to stay. Darrell is a great host. The room was beautiful.


Fun honeymoon getaway

3,4 su aprile 04, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Ivy Lodge during the second half of our honeymoon. We had a great romantic time. Our room featured a gas fireplace, four-poster canopy bed and the house’s turret. The Ivy Lodge is a good walk or short cab ride to shopping and dining. It is comfortably located in the mansion district not far from Bellevue Avenue. Daryl and Darlene McKenzie are knowledgeable about the area and are easy to talk to. They are extremely accommodating and provide a satisfying breakfast each morning. Very fun experience and well worth the stay--cozy accommodations.


We'll Be Back!

5 su giugno 29, 2010

This is a lovely and very comfortable place and the Innkeepers, Darlene and Daryl McKenzie, couldn't be more obliging. We were able to park in their lot way ahead of check-in time, a great convenience as we wanted to walk around the neighborhood and along the Cliff Walk. We only had a one night visit but loved the architecturally facinating house, and the food was great! This is a superb location, within a walk to the mansions and Eaton's Beach, and not far from a number of restaurants and shops. After we had checked out, they told us we were welcome to come back later for lemonade. We will definitely come back for another visit, when we can have a longer stay.


Ivy Lodge

4,0 su aprile 06, 2010

Daryl and Darlene were very helpful with recommendations for our first trip to Newport. They welcomed us and helped us get great dinner reservations at their favorite restaurants, with great seats!


Most Wonderful B&B

5 su marzo 31, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Ivy Lodge many times since our first visit in 2004. It is by far, the most welcoming B&B I have ever stayed in. The owners are most friendly and eager to answer any questions and be helpful. When I arrive, I feel as though I am coming (to my other) home!!! The breakfast is wonderful, the rooms are spotless and the common areas feel as though they are your home. The rooms are beyond beautiful and the interior decoration of the Inn is impeccable. While family suites are available, many rooms are perfect for romance. :-) Diane Lucas


Daryl and Darlene helped made our special weekend perfect!

5 su febbraio 25, 2010

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and on top of that my fiancee and I were spending a weekend together after having gotten engaged earlier in the week and Ivy Lodge was the perfect place to spend our weekend in Newport. Even prior to arriving in Newport I spoke with Daryl and Darlene and they helped me with reservations and planning events to make sure we could eat where we wanted to eat and get in on the things we wanted to do for the weekend. Upon arriving to the beautiful property we were initially pleased that we were able to walk to the Newport Mansions which we were planning to tour. Darlene met us at the front door and it was like being welcomed into a family member's home. The architecture of Ivy Lodge is exquisite! We reserved the Turret Room, which if it is available and you want to make your stay even more romantic I highly recommend booking this room. We felt pampered every day we spent at Ivy Lodge. Daryl and Darlene make a homemade excellent breakfast each morning (we had pineapple pancakes and eggs benedict with a Grand Mariner hollandaise sauce, YUM!). The inn is very clean and beautifully kept. Also we learned about an important part of staying at a bed and breakfast ...... the other guests. Everyone that stayed was very nice and we actually spend our time touring the Mansions with another couple. The breakfast conversation was delightful. My fiancee and I have already booked our honeymoon stay with Ivy Lodge. If you are considering Newport for a week or weekend getaway consider staying with Daryl and Darlene at Ivy Lodge. You will not be disappointed!


Wonderful Weekend

5 su novembre 04, 2009

We stayed in the Magnolia Room, was very clean and had a great view of the street. The food every morning was exceptional, different foods than you would expect at a B&B, fresh fruit, breads, muffins, plenty to eat and great snacks for during the day. Make sure you take the time to enjoy the wrap around porch. Daryl and Darlene make you feel at home in their home. Take some time to ask for dinner places and sites to see....they will take the time to make reservations for you and she knows all the great shopping areas!


Anniversary Retreat

4,6 su ottobre 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in the La Chambre Juane Room - one word "wonderful". The Lodge is beautiful and masterfully maintained, the rooms are very tastefully appointed, the location is perfect, breakfast both mornings was off the charts and Darlene and Daryl are perfect hosts. What else can you ask for? We will definitely go back again, my wife wants to see this beautiful home decorated for Christmas. Matt & Mary Ellen


Highly Recommend!

5 su luglio 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Ivy Lodge for 2 nights (I wish we could have stayed longer). We have stayed at B&B's a number of times, including others in Newport, and Ivy is one of the best experiences that we have had. We stayed in the Trunk Room, which we found to be both clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and we found the Keepers and other guests to be very friendly.


best value in newport

5 su luglio 13, 2009

Darlene and Daryl McKenzie were the perfect hosts at the Ivy Lodge. They were knowledgable about the events and local activities, they were available for questions, and had the best breakfasts anywhere. When I left a few items behind, they kindly sent them to my house in Delaware. We will be looking forward to a return to the Ivy Lodge on our next visit to Newport, RI.


Quaint and Classy

4,8 su febbraio 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Ivy Lodge for our Valentines weekend getaway. Darlene and Daryl were fabulous and very accomadating. This was my first time at a bed and breakfast and would return in a heartbeat! We are looking forward to returning this summer.


Hospitality at its Best

5 su agosto 04, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ivy Lodge and in Newport. We are very appreciative of the hospitality, great food, and very comfortable and beautiful accommodations. We were particularly grateful for the kindness in allowing us to stay for a second evening in an obviously more expensive room for the same rate we paid for our first night. (We decided to stay another evening at the last minute. The room we had stayed in was already taken for that night, but Darlene very graciously helped us out!) We loved our stay and did not want to leave. If we get back to Newport, we will be calling Darly and Darlene. We have already recommended the Ivy Lodge to family and friends.


May 2008

4,8 su maggio 30, 2008

The service, value, cleanliness, and dining were outstanding and the room exceeded my expectations.


Not the best in Newport

2,6 su aprile 07, 2008

We were looking forward to staying at this well-reviewed b&b that looked beautiful online. When we got there, the innkeeper, Darlene, greeted us. When we got to our room, the "Magnolia Room", it looked as it did in the pictures but the ceiling was very low. If you like a rock hard mattress and are under 6-feet tall, this is your room. You also had to climb a very narrow flight of stairs to get to this room on the third floor. The alarm clock was set and woke us up at 7 am the first day and 8:15 the next. This was beyond annoying, as we wanted to sleep in. Unlike the many other b&bs we have stayed at in New England - including one in Newport - there were very few brochures or booklets as to what was going on in Newport. There was an outdated Mansion brochure. Some old menus in a basket on the floor and brochures were in a holder that you had to sit on the floor to get to. There were no Newport guides or dining books. The innkeeper Darlene said we could call her for reservations and information, but we generally like to look at what is out there ourselves first. She did make good restaurant recommendations and breakfast was good. Based on our experience, I would not stay here again.

Risposta del proprietario
After reading the review dated 4/7/08 we have much confusion and regret in learning of the dissatisfaction of one of our guests. We were given no indication at the time that there were issues with the stay, so unfortunately, we were not able to address their concerns; any time a guest tells us that an aspect of their stay could be improved, we immediately make every attempt to do so. We take criticism to heart and will always try to rectify any dissatisfaction a guest brings to our attention. The Magnolia room is located on the third floor; as this is an historic Victorian home (1887), there are stairs to climb. The Magnolia room has 7'1'' ceilings, an average height for a third floor room. The mattress in the room is fairly new, but to ensure guests’ comfort, we are purchasing a pillowtop surface to soften it. We do have a brochure rack in the living room, to help guests explore all that Newport has to offer. Guests can read these brochures at their leisure in the living room, or take them back to their rooms. We also provide a diverse selection of menus from local restaurants, and our staff is always happy to provide guidance and recommendations. These brochures and menus are updated seasonally, so that the most current information is available. All guests of the Ivy Lodge are encouraged to share their experiences with us, so we know what we are doing well and to give us ideas for improvement. Everyone on staff is completely committed to serving our guests’ needs, whatever they may be.


Perfect

4,8 su novembre 19, 2007

The house was beautiful. Daryl was very accomodating booking us last minute reservations at a local establisment for dinner. It was a perfect last minute getaway. One more thing, the pumpkin pancakes were outstanding!!! Tracie and Mike


Weekend getaway

4,6 su agosto 26, 2007

My husband and I just spent our 2nd wedding anniversary at the Ivy Lodge. We stayed in the Trunk room. It was a memorable weekend and I would definately recommend it. The location was very convienent with just a short walk to the cliff walk or around the mansion district. Very nice to do after the yummy breakfast! Thank you!!!


The Lovely and Gracious Ivy Lodge

4,8 su agosto 22, 2007

We spent six nights at the Ivy Lodge, and would highly recommend it. The innkeeper/owners Darrel and Darlene Mckenzie take great pride in it. Located in the Mansion District, it is near by all of Newport's famous "summer cottages" and within easy walking distance to much of the town. The inn is lovely and well furnished. It has a charming wrap around porch with a fountain. All the guests loved relaxing there. Darlene is a gifted chef who offered a choice of two beautifully served entrees every morning, never repeating one in six days. There was also fruit, juice and home made granola. Darrel & Darlene suggested restaurants and made reservations. They were very helpful.


Great Find

4,0 su agosto 22, 2007

Staying at the Ivy Lodge is a dream.


Tall Ships & Ivy Lodge make for a wonderful weekend

5 su luglio 15, 2007

The Ivy Lodge is not only beautifully decorated, clean and well located, it is also, very comfortable with a nice, homey feeling. The innkeepers, Darleen and Darryl, are friendly and helpful. They made reservations, described the best ways to get around, and gave honest suggestions on which sites they enjoyed. Their breakfast in particular deserves special mention with a new and creative savory or sweet dish every morning. We also booked massages through them and while the massages were excellent, visiting the rather cold and impersonal Viking Hotel where the spa was located made us appreciate the superiority of a B & B experience can be. Whether you are running from mansion to mansion or chose to relax on the wrap around porch, staying at the Ivy Lodge is the perfect place to stay when in Newport.


incredible ivy lodge

5 su giugno 18, 2007

My husband and I just spent four wonderful nights in Newport at the Ivy Lodge. The inn is charming with rich woods and period furniture. Entering the foyer made us feel like we'd entered a spectacular bygone era. The Victoria room was special with great attention to every detail of design. Breakfast started our day with fresh fruit, yogurt and the lodge's special granola. We then had a choice of a sweet or savory dish -- all yummy. One of our favorite spots at the end of the day was sitting on the comfortable porch with tea and home made chocolate chip cookies. Darlene was a perfect host who pleasantly answered our questions and made suggestions for sightseeing and dining. We have very high standards which we feel have been met by the Ivy Lodge. Set in the mansion district, it was a great base to see the homes, the reason for our trip. It was great to come home to the Ivy after a long day. We highly recommend it!


magnificent

5 su gennaio 06, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at this magnificent B&B over the summer.When you walk into the lobby you feel like you are among the rich and famous with the beautiful wood floors, ceiling and staircase. Darlene was able to accomadate 2 women by splitting up a king size bed into 2, which many Newport B&B's could not do! We both enjoyed the snacks, which were always available,and breakfast. The room was large and comfortable. It was so relaxing and quiet sitting out on the porch.We also enjoyed beiing near the Cliff Walk and mansions. I have stayed at a few B$B's in Newport and i am looking forward to going back to Ivy Lodge next year!


Ivy Lodge

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $129 - $499
  • Recensioni (24) 4,6
  • Camere 8
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 401-849-6865

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina