Architects Inn -- George Champlin Mason House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
40 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful stay at a beautiful inn, minutes away from downtown!

4,8 su aprile 14, 2014

My fiance and I had a wonderful weekend away at the Architects Inn. The inn itself is beautiful, quiet, and very clean. Our room had a fireplace which made for a romantic feel. Brian and Nick were very gracious hosts. We loved that in less than a 10 minute walk we could quickly get to the restaurants and bars on Broadway. It really is in a fabulous location! We definitely highly recommend this b&b and hope to visit again in the near future!


Newport Winterfest

3,4 su febbraio 24, 2014

The Inn was gorgeous. The room was charming. The decor was lovely.We loved the fireplace near the bed! It made for a very romantic evening. The location was great. It was close to restaurants and other attractions. The Inn keeper's recommendations of restaurants and nightlife was knowledgable and very helpful. The minor problems with towels and water were addressed within minutes. I was surprised that breakfast was not included in the room rate. Even so, I recommend this historic Newport Inn.


Above and beyond my expectations

4,6 su ottobre 23, 2013

After a 5 and a half hour drive in traffic from New York, we were in a sour mood. This mood was immediately erased by the quaintness and beauty of the architect inn. Nick and Brian were extremely welcoming hosts and it was a pleasure to share our meals with them and the other guests of the Inn. Not only were they fantastic proprietors, they batted 1000 when it came to recommendations for things to do. I highly recommend asking for the redwood room. The room was extremely cozy and the bed was very comfortable. We have every intention of returning to the inn.


Such a wonderful stay and overall great experience!

5 su settembre 21, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Architects Inn and we will be returning! This place has it all! Perfect location, great hospitality, and beautiful, cozy rooms! The breakfasts were plentiful, original and perfectly prepared; you will not be disappointed! Nick and Brian are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to ensure you're stay is comfortable and fulfilling. They are very aware of what Newport has to offer and will point out the best places for you to spend your vacation. Overall, staying at the Architects Inn made our vacation absolutely perfect and I recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Newport area!


Incredible stay in a Victorian mansion

5 su settembre 13, 2013

Our jaws were on the floor from the moment we stepped in to the Architect's Inn, and we're still in awe a week later. Everything about our stay was fantastic. Our room was decorated with antiques that added to the aesthetic while still being functional. We got to experience Victorian style with an extremely comfortable bed and great hot water pressure! Nick & Brian were fantastic hosts, full of great suggestions for things to do around Newport (all of which was a short walk away). Breakfast each morning was delicious and the other couples we met were a delight to talk with. We had such a great time and can't wait to go back to the Architect's Inn!


Wonderful inn in Newport

5 su agosto 21, 2013

After having read the positive reviews on tripadvisor, we made a reservation for two nights at Architect's Inn. We can confirm that it is as good as the reviews say. In fact, we extended our stay for two additional nights since we enjoyed it so much. The room was nicely decorated and very clean and Nick and Brian are super-friendly. Next time we are going to Newport we know where to stay. Highly recommended!


Beautiful Gilded Age Experience

5 su agosto 19, 2013

Having just returned from Newport, we had the pleasure of staying at this Bed and Breakfast. It was a perfect choice, as we could not have wanted for anything more.Everything was perfect.The Inn Keepers are two charmimg and friendly guys.The mansion is wonderful...the Gilded Age of Newport will surround you as you enter the home.It was nicely air conditioned, and filled with beautiful antiques. The rooms are comfortable and quite at night.The neighborhood is close to town...walking distance...but quite at night for a restful sleep.Free ample parking on their site.charming side porch and a spectacular breakfast every morning made it a wonderful trip.


Perfect B&B in Newport! Outstanding Experience

5 su agosto 17, 2013

This beautiful mansion is a short walk to town, but far enough away to have a peaceful and quite night's sleep,plently of parking,great Victorian rooms that transport you back to Newport's Gilded Age, when you walk thru the front doors. The place is perfectly air conditioned in the summer, and I have ,also,stayed there in the colder months ,with the fireplaces, there are many of them, including most guestrooms, going. The guestrooms, on floor 2, are large ,regal,and comfortable.Guestrooms on floor 3 are smaller, but cheaper in price.The side porch is relaxing and tranquil.to the senses. Have stayed there many times, and have never had a bad experience.The morning breakfast is simply STUNNING, never had food served so beautifully, something different every morning and tastes great.This morning meal, alone, is worth the trip to Newport and to this INN.The innkeepers are two charming and wonderful guys, who will help you with your trip planning...full of advice as to how to enhance your stay in town.Simply a wonderful experience, time and time again, no matter what month you travel to Newport.


Dedicated Inn Keeper's

5 su luglio 25, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay at the Architect's Inn. What a find! It is conveniently located in the center of the historical district within a few minutes walk of Thames street and the waterfront. The Inn is historically delightful with elegant woodwork and inlaid floors yet modern enough to have central air. Nick and Brian have done a wonderful job decorating the Inn with antiques except for our bed which was as comfortable as our own at home. We're truly looking forward to our next stay!


Best B&B in Newport!

5 su luglio 13, 2013

The inn is like a home away from home and staying there feels like being a part of the gilded age.(But with free wifi and all modern amenities.)The decor is amazing with great attention to detail and the innkeepers are both friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good and even here are the details never forgotten. I would recommend staying here to anyone who want their stay in Newport to be something very special.


Newport Mansion - Ideal Location!

5 su giugno 29, 2013

Our family (two adults, two children) recently stayed at the Architects Inn. We had such a lovely time that I had to post a review of our stay. First of all, I was happy that we were able to get accommodations together in one suite - other bed and breakfasts required two separate rooms. The Perry Suite, where we stayed, was spacious, and my teenaged daughter had her own area to sleep and relax in the sitting room of the suite complete with a fridge and a television. The breakfasts each morning were divine - most (if not all) of the fruits were organically and locally grown. There was a nice variety too, such as strawberry pancakes and sausages with fresh fruit one morning or rosemary thyme biscuits with bacon and eggs another. We had a choice of two dining times - one for early risers and another for those that enjoyed sleeping in a little bit. The innkeepers also provided afternoon snacks each day such as homemade chocolate chip cookies or brownies with servings of tea, spring water, or sherry. The inn is located within walking distance of shops, restaurants, the infamous Cliff Walk, and the Newport mansions! We didn't need to use our rental car at all. If you are looking for a nice, quiet atmosphere with laid back innkeepers, hearty breakfasts, and a historical setting, you should try the Architects Inn. You won't be disappointed! Oh, almost forgot, one member of our family is vegetarian. The innkeepers had no trouble accommodating her diet at breakfast! In fact, they asked us before we arrived if we had any special dietary concerns. Both innkeepers, Nick and Bryan, were very gracious and helpful. The innkeepers themselves will make you want to come back for a return stay!


something really special

4,6 su giugno 29, 2013

After a tedious and long flight from Munich to Boston, a 2 hour drive from Boston to Newport, and a short search I found the Architects Inn finally. It is not far from the center of Newport but located in a really quiet neighbourhood. The location is simply great, it is only 10 min walk to the nearest beach and the same time to the waterfront. Architects Inn is ran by Nick and Brian who care not only for the house and the garden but were absolutely helpful to make my stay as relaxing and pleasant as possible. The rooms are clean and beautifully equipped with old wooden furniture and historic painting on the walls. The breakfast cooked by Brian is simply great. Each day a new surprise and all this arranged with lots of love and taste. I spent many hours on the spacious porch to prepare conference talks in the morning and to relax in the evening. I really recommend the Bed&Breakfast and hope to come back a future day.


Charming

4,0 su giugno 06, 2012

Located in beautiful quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance to Newport attractions. Home decorated to perfection with interesting antiques throughout the house. Would stay there again.


Awesome weekend getaway!

5 su maggio 16, 2012

We had a great time. Nick and Brian did an amazing job. The murder mystery was just soooo funny. We are already planning our next trip to Newport. Great location. Great food and worth supporting a hard working small businessmen.


Die besten

5 su maggio 16, 2012

My wife and I went to a murder mystery weekend after we discovered it on Priceline. It was a great weekend. They made me a gluten free birthday cake and gluten free lasagna for the main feast. It was fabulous just like our hosts. When we come back to American, this will be the only place we will be staying. Danke!


Exemplaire!

5 su maggio 16, 2012

Ce fut le meilleur hôtel de tous les hôtels où nous sommes allés pendant nos vacances. Nous avons été très impressionnés par cette belle auberge. Nous ne pouvait resté une nuit car nous n'avons pas l'intention. La prochaine fois que nous voulons faire un voyage ensemble juste à Newport.


Romantic stay without kids- ha ha

5 su maggio 16, 2012

The bed was comfortable, the food terrific, and our innkeeper Nick was not only a fountain of information but a delightful irreverant host. Lots of fun! The second night we was unexpectedly spent with our son who was supposed to be away at camp but who broke his wrist in a snowboarding fall. We made the best of it.


Great Weekend Retreat

5 su febbraio 21, 2012

We had a great weekend & Nick & Brian were awesome! Their breakfast is out of this world and they are friendly and helpful hosts. We can't wait to go back; we can't imagine being at a better place than the Architects Inn.


Murder Mystery ! What a Beast!

5 su febbraio 09, 2012

I had a wonderful time- Just like being a kid again. I was smiling and laughing the entire weekend. It was a absolute hoot!


Romance, Intrigue, & Fun

5 su febbraio 09, 2012

My finance and I had a fantastic stay at the Architect's Inn. This was our first experience at a Bed & Breakfast and we were really blown away. It was so much fun to be surrounded by so much history. The innkeepers are very friendly & hospitable, not to mention great chefs. They also provided great local recommendations to personalize our trip. Make sure you read the guidebook too for great information and a good laugh. We thoroughly enjoyed our entire weekend.


Fabulous, just fabulous

5 su febbraio 03, 2012

As if the Architect's Inn wasn't fabulous enough in all its elegance and grandeur-lovely decor and beautiful historic period rooms....the homemade muffins and breakfast were prepared with such love by an absolutely amazing innkeeper who was so kind and paid such fine attention to making our stay memorable and special. The location is fantastic, the place is fantastic, we enjoyed this birthday getaway and put it at the top of our list of favorite getaway, weekend trips. Love this place and will definitely be returning again and again.


Great time in Newport

5 su dicembre 22, 2011

We are completely charmed by the mansion and our fabulous hosts. We had a great time.


My First Murder Mystery

5 su novembre 26, 2011

Very quiet and enjoyable Inn. Delicious breakfast and good cookies too! I was the MURDERESS!! lol I had such a blast. Awesome time. Just what the doctor ordered.


Murder Mystery Getaway

5 su novembre 26, 2011

Perfect getaway! Nick and Brian provided everything I needed with generosity and hospitality. I left home in my room and enjoyed the beauty and warmth of the house. Would love to go back.


Excellent Inn in Newport

5 su novembre 26, 2011

The Perry Suite was peaceful and secluded. Great for a quiet getaway after the holidays. We would go back. Perhaps this will be our new post-Thanksgiving tradition....


Short Getaway

5 su novembre 11, 2011

Amazing first B&B experience. The inn is very inviting and comfortable and the service is incomparable. At no time have we felt rushed throughout our 1 night stay. The innkeepers are well versed/knowledgeable of the area and provide valuable insight for the first time Newport travellers. Architect's Inn is a real escape from day to day life, and a real authentic presence is maintained in the house. We'd love to revisit Architect's Inn in the future.


Beautiful, fun, & relaxing

5 su novembre 14, 2010

Had a great time at the murder mystery weekend. Would love to come back soon!


A Perfect Newport Experience

5 su ottobre 11, 2010

Stayed at this inn during a weekend in late september with a group.We booked four rooms.They ranged from their 2 room "Perry Suite" to a bedroom with shared bath.All of us, regardless of the bedroom chosen,loved this place.The home, or mansion is very nicely decorated for the fall season, and I'm sure it will be beautiful at Christmastime.All rooms have working fireplaces,and it must be a great warm experience to reside there during the cold months,as all the fireplaces,I'm told,are lit.The rooms are formal and victorian,,,very "Newport" in their feel.The price for rooms are average for Newport, which can be a pricey town to stay in.But this place is quite and serene,but also close enough to walk to town center,for shopping and dinner.It will be a cold walk in the dead of winter.Otherwise fine. The morning breakfast is wonderful.All the reviews mention this, as it is a treat, not to be missed.The owners are so friendly and informative,,,they know this town, extremely well and will guide you with their knowledge of what to do and see,while there.We even got free passes to The Breakers from them.An additional "nice touch". All in all, the whole group loved this place and want to return again.


Wonderful B&B in a wonderful town

4,0 su settembre 13, 2010

Staying at the Architects Inn was fantastic! Nick and Brian run an amazing place, Brian makes exceptional food, and it was all in all the best B&B experience we've had. I would strongly recommend it to anybody!


Charming Inn with Charming Hosts in a Grand Town

5 su luglio 26, 2010

My other half and I have stayed at this Inn last week and I can't think of a more wonderful place to stay while in Newport.This beautiful mansion,in a neighborhood of quiet beautiful homes was the perfect choice.It is very close to all the attractions,a short walk to the popular cliffwalk,less than 10 mins,a 15 min walk to many nice places to eat,also a quick walk to the town and shopping center.Parking is a problem in Newport, so just park your car in their shaded parking area and walk everywhere.The house was very grand and formal,the right feeling for Newport,yet the hosts are two the nicest guys you could ever meet.The rooms are so comfortable and spacious.The decore is stunning, perfect feeling of being transported back in time to the elegant Victorian Era. I loved it! The outside grounds are also very nice,I enjoyed sitting on the side veranda with a complimentary mint lemonade drink and homemade cookies and brownies,listening to a water fountain spraying into a pond in the backyard.We stayed 3 nights and my regret is that I didnt book the entire week there,as there is alot to do and see in this historic town.The morning breakfast served at the huge diningroom table in the gorgeous diningroom,took my breath away, it was a most delicious meal,not some quick muffins and juice, but a sit down meal with all the trimmings,german pancakes filled with apples, frenchtoast filled with creamcheese and topped with berries, muffins...all homemade and soo tastey. Brian,who does the cooking,should receive an award for such good cooking,don't miss these meals, as they greatly added to the experience.Nick who also runs the place knows alot about the town and will be happy to give out any information on making your trip more enjoyable.I cant wait to return and am planning a return trip this fall.


A Perfect Place in a Grand Town

4,8 su luglio 22, 2010

Having just completed a 3 night stay at this Inn, I can truthfully give it a 5 star rating. It was simply the most perfect place to stay in Newport.Once inside the home, you quickly get the feeling that you are in Newport, a town of elegance and beauty.The house feels very much like a typical Newport mansion,with large grand rooms filled with period furniture and artwork.The guestrooms are large and nicely appointed.The location is also great,as we walked to everything,dinner,the mansions,the stores,the cliffwalk, all just a 15 min walk away.The 2 hosts are the nicest people you could ask for,both sweet,informative,caring.The best thing about this place was the EXCELLENT breakfast served tableside daily.Full breakfasts that would be the envy of Martha Stewart.We had stuffed french toast with creamcheese,topped with blueberries and a berry compote, eggs encased in bacon,german pancakes stuffed with apples, homemade muffins,fruit,coffee,and juice.The most tasteful meals you will ever experience.I wish I could have stayed longer,as 4 days in Newport is not enough time to see the town.I am already planning a return trip this fall.Can't wait to see Nick and Brian again.


ok experience, decent location

2,6 su aprile 25, 2010

I stayed here as the price was good and the reviews were very positive. Due to the fact the room was a good deal, I wasn't expecting a lot and got what I expected...a no-frills B&B experience. There was no breakfast what-so-ever, which was disappointing as the name 'Bed and Breakfast' implies that you at least receive a continental breakfast. This wasn't made clear on the site when booking the room. The only other downside to the experience was the distance from the Newport main st. It was certainly walkable, but if you plan on going back to your room often there are definitely more convenient options. All in all, it wasn't bad, but there are better B&B's out there, and better places to stay in Newport in general. The townhouse suites in the Newport Bay club are worth the extra cash for the excellent location and luxurious accommodations in my opinion.

Risposta del proprietario
Aahhh where to begin...Let's just say that sometimes in my business, we don't get the most sophisticated individuals. Aside from the expense these guests left me and the fact their rate was so low I didn't even come close to breaking even for these particular guests, they neglected to say how I upgraded them to a room three levels above what they paid for. The room had a fireplace, extremely comfortable queen bed, and in a very very spacious room with gorgeous period antiques from the 19th Century. Breakfast was not included as this is what they originally booked with the super low discounted price they received. Of course, I would have done breakfast for them! That's what we do best! So I don't understand how we are critically reviewed for a decision they made for themselves based on their frugal nature. Regarding location...we are in a rarely, quiet neighborhood of mansions in the center of town! I'm not sure what that means for these guests but apparently they prefer to stay at a hotel that is on the busiest street in town with traffic sounds 20 hours/day, upstairs from a nightclub, across from two of the busiest bars in Newport, and it's a hotel that doesn't even have a kitchen to cook in...Fresh Homemade Breakfast? I don't think so! Apparently being steps away from a nightclub took priority over a clean, comfortable quiet night's rest. Not exactly our clientele here at the Architect's Inn, home of Newport's first mansion architect. (Btw, that location is three city blocks away or less than 10 minute walk.)


Great pick

3,8 su febbraio 20, 2010

This inn was an outstanding value. We got a standard room which basically means you get whatever room is available. It was a full inn, so we got a small room in the attic however, it was more than adequate for two people. Plus it had a wonderful claw foot bathtub. It was in a good location. Plus the innkeepers were very knowledgeable about the area. I would take their opinions on restaurants especially given the many tourist traps in Newport.


wonderful and relaxing

4,2 su giugno 13, 2008

helpful, knowledgeable, clean, nicely decorated


New Inkeepers kept it PERFECT

4,8 su maggio 18, 2008

Nick and Brian took ownership just over a year ago and have kept the splendid charm of this great b&b. We stayed two times with the previous owners. Nick and Brian had a reputation to live up to. They did. We WILL be back.


The BEST Bed and Breakfast EVER!

5 su maggio 12, 2008

My husband and I were so impressed with this cute and quaint bed and breakfast. It definitely exceeded all of our expectations! Nick was so wonderful and gracious of a host. The rooms really are breathtaking and make you feel right at home instantly. It is in the perfect location to walk to the cliff walk and also to the mansions and downtown area. Beautiful Beautiful Place to stay! We both highly reccommend it to anyone looking for a great weekend getaway.


A True Gem in Newport

5 su aprile 29, 2008

Before I tell you about our wonderful stay, I have to emphasize how hard it is for us to travel. We both have food allergies so many place can not accommodate us. Not only did Nick and Brian accommodate us with our allergies but the food was out of this world and they sent us to restaurants that had food we could eat. They were so helpful. The moment we stepped into our room, my husband and I didn't want to leave. We must had stayed in our room for the rest of the evening just enjoying the atmosphere and the whirlpool tub. Nick had recommended a few mansons and restaurants so when we finally left, we felt right at home and comfortable knowing where we were going and what we were going to do. We ended up doing a few mansions and a boat tour and some gift shops in downtown. I tell ya, I spent a lot of money that weekend but did we have a good time and memories to share. I can't recommend this place more. We will be back.


Perfect

5 su aprile 27, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here this weekend. She was pregnant and I wanted to give her a last weekend away before the baby was born. We had such a good time. They gave us a large room as a free upgrade. They made us a special brekafast because my girlfriend can't eat certain things. We felt like we were staying with family. I truley enjoyed the stay and hope to go back again with my boyfriend when the weather cools down.


This Inn is TOPS!

5 su aprile 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed here last summer. We are about to go again this summer for the Folk Festival which reminded me I wanted to write this review. We had an amazing time. First of all, this was a total surprise because this was booked for us by our American Express customer service so we knew it was going to be top of the line but we didn't know anything about it otherwise. As soon as we walked up to the big grand doors of the house and were welcomed into this gorgeous home, we fell in love. I think my husband got jealous because I was spending more time talking with the owners at first then I was with him. LOL Nick and Brian were just so wonderful and we clicked immediately. They had so many good ideas and suggestions that you would think we actually spent time planning this trip (which we so didn't). Brian showed us the other guest rooms and I just couldn't believe that we could afford this place. I felt like we stepped back in time to Victorian days. I can't even describe the rooms but the pictures online do not do them justice. I can go on and on about this "bed and bath" . We will be going back in august this year for another unforgettable vacation, I am sure.


Architects Inn

5 su novembre 06, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at the Architects Inn. Mick was a very gracious host who prepared delicious breakfasts and dispensed useful recommendations. It was a great experience! I highly recommend this inn.


Architects Inn -- George Champlin Mason House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $49 - $499
  • Recensioni (40) 4,8
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-4018452547
  • Gratuito 1-8774662547

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina