Hillard House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
137 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Worth a Return Visit!

5 su novembre 06, 2014

Loved the history and charm of Hillard House. Had a wonderful breakfast of Eggs Benedict with fresh homemade Pineapple Coconut muffins, so delicious. Wish we had had more time to stay and visit with the friendly innkeepers. Looking forward to returning soon!


Awesome stay and a Inn a Keepers

5 su novembre 04, 2014

Cecilia and Gordon were exceptional ! We had a late check out and they accommodated us no problem! Super friendly and felt like they were family! The place was decorated so nice and very, very clean!


Historic and Charming B&B

4,8 su ottobre 31, 2014

The Willilams welcomed us with open umbrellas and helped us with our luggage. The house has so much architectural detail still intact. The three-story house was built circa 1865 and is elegant. For those who find the steps challenging, there is an elevator. Our breakfast was picture perfect and delicious.


two thumbs up!

5 su ottobre 18, 2014

My stay here felt much more like being at home rather than in a hotel. The room was comfortable, cheery even on a rainy day and relaxing. Breakfast was tasty and was accompanied by interesting conversation with my hosts Gordon and Cecilia and fellow guests. It will be my first choice of lodging next time I need to stay in Wilkes-Barre.


Our excellent stay at Hillard House

5 su ottobre 07, 2014

Our stay was excellent,we were in town to see a show at the Kirby Center. The history of the house was very fascinating and we loved the tour of the house. We felt very much at home . The breakfast was outstanding! Thank you so much to our hosts! We will return Sandy and Frank.


Wonderful Getaway

4,2 su settembre 24, 2014

The Hillard House is breathtakingly gorgeous. I absolutely loved being inside this enchanting home. Our room was wonderful and made me feel like I was being swept away into the past. I especially loved the sink and the very high ceilings in the blue room! The breakfast we were served was so scrumptious! And we truly tasted the love that it was made with. The innkeepers were a true delight and really helped us get to know the area. All in all- a magnificent experience!!


Lovely Home

5 su settembre 04, 2014

My husband and I truly enjoyed our visit to this bed and breakfast. The hosts, Cecelia and Gordon were so very nice and hospitable. Our room was quite comfortable and had all the amenities you would imagine. Breakfast in the dining room was absolutely wonderful. The food was delicious and the presentation impeccable. Conversation was delightful. Hope to return for another stay soon where we have more time to relax on the adorable front porch.


A lovely, convenient place with delicious food!

4,4 su settembre 03, 2014

I would highly recommend the Hillard House. The hosts are most hospitable, the accommodations quite comfortable and convenient, and breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay there again.


A lovely stopping place in Wilkes-Barre

4,6 su agosto 26, 2014

If you are looking for a gracious place to spend the night (and meet interesting people), Hilliard House is worthy of your consideration. It is a lovely old home, which is beautifully maintained, in a lovely old neighborhood of Wilkes-Barre. The room - and bed - were very comfortable. Breakfast was both ample and delicious. This will be my "go to" place in Wilkes-Barre.


Thursday Night Stay

4,6 su agosto 25, 2014

Lovely, historic B & B. Inn Keepers were wonderful! Will definitely recommend to friends.

Risposta del proprietario
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were kind enough to post a review.Thank you in advance for the recommendations.


Fantastic stay! Can't wait to return!

5 su agosto 23, 2014

Gordon and Cecilia are wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay perfect in every way, even carrying our luggage to and from our car. It's a perfect location, one block from a scenic river walk and just two blocks from downtown where there is a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. The breakfast was delicious and the dining room so inviting, we stayed at the table for three full hours. It was like having Thanksgiving with family.

Risposta del proprietario
We are very happy when our guests have the time to relax and enjoy sitting around the dining room table-it is one of the biggest attraction of a stay at a bed and breakfast.Thank you for posting your terrific review.


Great bed and breakfast

4,8 su agosto 22, 2014

Our hosts were very welcoming

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your kind review.We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back.


nice stay

3,0 su agosto 14, 2014

beautifully decorated house, in nice neighborhood.

Risposta del proprietario
We appreciate that you took the time to post a review about Hillard House but we are very concerned about the rating you gave us.After 125 reviews on BedandBreakfast.com and being in the hospitality business since 2006,yours is the lowest rating we have ever received. You give no indication of any problems or issues you encountered during your stay-"beautifully decorated house, in nice neighborhood"- so we would greatly appreciate it if you could contact us privately(hillardhouse@verizon.net).Please let us know how we can improve our service,breakfast and/or facility to meet your standards.Thank you and we hope to have you stay with us again." Cecilia Williams


Hillard House

5 su agosto 11, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hillard House. Cecilia and Gordon were such wonderful hosts. Cecilia fixed us a wonderful breakfast, and Gordon shared with us the history of the house and Wilkes Barre! We will be back!


Wonderful Stay!

5 su agosto 05, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hillard House. The Duchess Suite is much more than a room; it's an apartment. Cecilia and Gordon are great hosts--personable and engaging. We're sorry that we could only stay for two nights.


An amazing stay, with amazing accommodations

5 su dicembre 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of having an overnight stay at Hillard. The entire experience was fantastic! From the moment I walked through the doors I felt welcomed and the entire stay was extremely inviting. The owners, Gordon and Cecile, are an absolute delight and two of the nicest and most inviting people you will ever meet. The room was amazing and comfortable, and the entire inn has a great feel to it. The breakfast was beyond five star and absolutely scrumptious. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!


A great place to stay!

5 su dicembre 06, 2013

We stayed at Hilliard house in November, we had a great stay. It is close to restaraunts, shopping, and movies. This was our first stay at a B&B and will definitely do it again. We will stay here again if we make it back to Wilkes-Barre.


Family history trip

5 su novembre 13, 2013

We found this B&B completely by accident, but found upon arriving that it is within comfortable walking distance of downtown and some sites we wanted to visit. The facility is elegant and the Rose Room, where we stayed, was extremely comfortable, with every amenity provided. The innkeepers live on-site but we were given complete privacy. The breakfast the next morning was amazing and well presented. The innkeepers were knowledgeable about the area and gave us some good background on local history. Highly recommended.


So happy we found Hillard House!

5 su novembre 12, 2013

My daughter and I were pampered by Cecilia and Gordon while visiting local schools. My daughter's first B&B expeerience, and now she is hooked. The pear crepe breakfast was amazing and I have no idea where they found sweet ripe fresh cantelope this time of year! Wonderful stay!


Great overnight stay!

5 su novembre 04, 2013

We had a great overnight stay in this lovely old home. We had a great time talking to the owners about the house and the area. It is with in walking distance of some very good places to eat. The breakfast was delicious and the other guests were very nice.


Already Planning Our Next Stay

5 su settembre 17, 2013

We stayed in the suite which was extremely spacious and comfortable, beyond our expectations. Hillard House is a beautifully decorated, comfortable, quiet and peaceful. Cecilia and Gordon are the perfect hosts and the breakfast was outstanding. Fortunately for us, we will be frequent visitors as our son is a freshman at the nearby college. After staying in a local hotel multiple times, we are ecstatic that we found this historical gem!


Great hosting!

4,0 su agosto 03, 2013

Although we were only in town for one night, we enjoyed the hospitality of the Hillard House. The location made walking to dinner enjoyable. Breakfast was superb. Having the elevator for luggage was a real bonus.


Wonderful overnight stay

5 su luglio 20, 2013

My daughter found this wonderful B&B for us to stay in while visiting the area. She knew how much I loved old homes! This was a beautiful place to stay with so many original features that we really felt we were stepping back in time! The rooms we stayed in were well kept and had an amazing updated ensuite. Gordon and Cecilia were very hospitable and I had a great conversation with Gordon discussing old homes. Cecilia's breakfast was delectible and I was so thrilled to get her recipe. When I go back I will be making reservations again with this fine B&B. Thank you Cecilia and Gordon for a wonderful stay!!


Comfortable Stay

4,2 su luglio 19, 2013

Gracious hosts and interesting guests!


Enjoyed our stay

5 su luglio 18, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Hillard House on 7/13/2013. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was superb. Enjoyed a walk around the Wilkes campus which was near. Would stay again if visited Wilkes-Barre.


Warm and Welcoming!

5 su luglio 17, 2013

I want to thank Cecilia and Gordon for a wonderful stay at the Hillard House. My mother and I had last minute travel changes and only made the reservation a few days in advance. Instead of trying to find a hotel like I usually do I decided to try a bed and breakfast for the first time. The Hillard House was a great spot! I always grew up in older houses and really enjoyed reliving some of my childhood memories when entering this historic home. My daughter especially enjoyed the 1930's elevator! If you are looking for something personable and love a tasty breakfast please go to the Hillard House!! Thank you again and we will be back!! Amber Suders, VA


Terrific stopover

4,6 su luglio 11, 2013

Would stay again in a heartbeat, in fact, trying to figure out when/how to get back up there. :) Innkeepers very friendly and accomodating. The home in general is beautiful and the room was great. Gordon suggested a stop on our way home that turned out to be a wonderful afternoon diversion and break in the trip.


A Night in Wilkes-Barre

4,8 su giugno 13, 2013

We had a delightful time at the Hillard House. We just love old B&B's. We choose this B&B because it promised a delicious breakfast and Cecilia & Gordon provided a wonderful hot breakfast. I even asked for the recipe. Gordon provided excellent service at breakfast as well. They exceeded our expectations. We'll be back when we visit family in Wilkes-Barre.


Best Bed and Breakfast

5 su giugno 10, 2013

Cecilia and Gordon were the best innkeepers!!! Rooms were private and inviting. Decor was interesting and historic. Warm as soon as you walk in. Their hospitality knows no bounds. Knew the area and provided alot of suggestions for a fun weekend. Breakfast was AMAZING....hands down best breakfast i had in my life.....I wont spoil the surprise . Just do yourself a favor and go!!! James and Victoria


Outstanding friendly service!

5 su giugno 03, 2013

We traced to the area to visit family! They provided a FABULOUS breakfast and accommodated our specific food restrictions without a problem. The house is beautiful and the rooms private and comfortable. I would definately stay again and recommend to others!


Good Stop Over when traveling on I-81

4,6 su maggio 24, 2013

This was the first time that we had made a stop over in Wilkes-Barre when traveling I-81 although we had thought of it many times before. We love to stay in B&Bs when traveling. Cecilia and Gordon Williams are great hosts. They made us feel like family. We asked lots of questions about the area and they were very happy to share the local history. The Williams suggested a great Italian restaurant for dinner and then before our departure made us a delicious breakfast.


Hillard House vist May 2013

5 su maggio 08, 2013

Our stay at the Hillard House was delightful to say the least. I would recommend this B&B highly. We were in town to celebrate Orthodox Easter and plan to return next year with my brother and his family.


"lose the chains"

4,8 su maggio 04, 2013

Every time I choose a B and B over a hotel chain I am so glad...supporting small local business and the human beings, not corporations , behind them, feels like a good choice. Thanks, Cecelia and Donald for your attentive care and great meals and muffins to go!


An Excellent Inn in the Anthracite Country

4,2 su aprile 24, 2013

Gordon and Cecelia Williams are friendly, generous hosts, with an intriguing Civil War era house, well prepared breakfasts made from scratch, a convenient location on the edge of the Wilkes-Barre downtown, and excellent knowledge of the surrounding countryside. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. The prices for their rooms are reasonable. I believe that most travelers will enjoy and appreciate the inn.


Stay in Wilkes-Barre

5 su marzo 27, 2013

Top rate, very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again. If you love history this is the house for you.


Wonderful Hillard House stay!

4,0 su marzo 14, 2013

Great room and service. Was greeted right when we got there. Helped make our experience in Wilkes Barre a great one even though we got a phone call and thought we were going to have to leave we were able to stay anyway. They were very sympathetic for our experience. Helped give us info about Wilkes Barre. Invited us to come back and we certainly will.


enjoyed it!

5 su febbraio 23, 2013

Very hospitable and accommodating owners. Convenient and quiet location as well.


Who says you can't go home?

5 su novembre 23, 2012

The Hillard House is located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in my home town of Wilkes-Barre, PA -- the part that has retained its beauty over the years, and the part that makes me proud to say that I grew up in W-B! As my elderly parents have gotten older, it has become more difficult for them to accommodate my husband and me when we go to visit...I was delighted to learn about the existence of Hillard House, and even more delighted with the whole experience of staying there! Cecilia and Gordon make a wonderful team of hosts. I believe Gordon has never met a stranger, and he is a fabulous waiter and so much fun to talk to! Cecilia's breakfasts were a real treat -- and she was very kind to share her recipe for the most delicious pear brulee crepe I have ever tasted. She was also very kind to allow a friend of mine to deliver my favorite bottle of wine to our room as a Welcome Home surprise. We were tickled with the old-fashioned elevator that carried our belongings up to our room on the 3rd floor. Our room was cozy and well appointed and generously stocked! The soon-to-be 150-year-old-house is historic and lovely -- of course, there are some visible signs of its age, but these only add to its charm! I look forward to going home again to Hillard House, hopefully before too long...


Great B&B in Wilkes-Barre, PA

4,4 su ottobre 31, 2012

Beautiful home from 1868, outstanding period decor, awesome room, comfy bed, tasty breakfast and super owners!


Clean and Friendly

4,8 su ottobre 29, 2012

Arrived in the afternoon and were welcomed by our friendly innkeepers. The property is located along the river, with a new river walk and plenty of options for dining and night life. The property is old, but well-maintained with just the right amount of old vs. renovated. Bed was comfortable, everything was impeccably clean, and the area seems very safe. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!


Great Stay

4,6 su ottobre 20, 2012

The rooms are about as perfect as you can ask for. Clean, comfy, and feels like home! Only better because you don't have to make breakfast next morning! The house itself is beautiful and it's in a nice neighborhood not too far from all the fun downtown. My wife and I love the place and can't wait till we get a chance to go back!


Cecilia and Gordon are wonderful hosts

5 su ottobre 16, 2012

We stayed one night in the Rose Room at the Hillard House. Our room was perfect and the entire house was lovely. The location was perfect. Cecilia gave us at map with many highlights of downtown. We walked to dinner and then to a local pub for a few drinks. All in all we had a fantastic time and will stay again if in the area.


Loved this B&B

5 su ottobre 11, 2012

Stayed at Hillard House while my daughter had an overnight visit to Wilkes University. It was a wonderful, relaxing retreat for me. The bedroom, (gold room), was lovely----had a restful night's sleep. I did not make use of the other rooms, (music room & TV room), but they looked elegant and relaxing, as well. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful---and more food than I usually eat for 2 meals combined. I loved the pampering that I received during my stay. Cecilia was so kind, and willing to offer suggestions regarding dining in town, sightseeing, etc. If my daughter decides to attend Wilkes, I will definitely be booking more stays at Hillard House.


The next best feeling to being at home

5 su settembre 27, 2012

Thank you Cecelia and Gordon for being so attentive to our time schedule. We were so impressed with the accomodations in such a beautiful and historic home in such a beautiful part of Wilkes Barre. Your hospitality and the wonderful breakfast were icing on the cake. We are planning on coming back in a few months. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Thank you. Diane and Gary


Charming find in Wilkes Barre, PA

5 su settembre 23, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely weekend at the Hillard House. The accommodations were beautiful and comfortable. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful with local information and directions. The breakfast was delicious! We would recommend this Band B to anyone finding themselves needing overnight accommodations in the Wilkes Barre area.


Beautiful Location

5 su settembre 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our night's stay in this beautiful B&B on the Susquehanna River. Our hosts gave us a map and directions to a wonderful Italian restaurant within walking distance. We will definitely be back!


Beautiful B&B with welcoming hosts, beautiful rooms and an amazing breakfast!

4,8 su settembre 06, 2012

Cecelia and Gordy were eager to give us suggestions for where to go and gave us useful maps to help guide the way. Our room was beautiful and very quiet. The breakfast was superb and we are looking forward to coming back to enjoy their infamous gingerbread pancakes and jelly doughnut muffins.


Hospitality + Soaringly beautiful rooms

3,6 su agosto 23, 2012

Delightful luggage elevator, pianos in the parlor, and a swing on the front porch. I look forward to a return visit!


Extremely comfortable and aesthetically pleasing

4,8 su agosto 12, 2012

Lovely historic and convenient location. The house and hospitality were superb Breakfast was delicious.. Would stay again.


Cecelia and Gordon are very gracious hosts ,very accommodating

5 su agosto 10, 2012

My daughter and I have a restricted diet and our meals were DELICIOUS. Our room was very clean,pretty, comfortable and quiet. I'm looking forward to returning with my husband.


If you're going to be in PA, staying here in a must!

4,8 su agosto 08, 2012

The hosts, Cecilia and Gordon were fantastic. This is one of the most enjoyable, comfortable, yummy bed & breakfasts we've ever stayed in. Thanks for making our stay in PA so welcoming!


Fabulous Getaway, Delicious Breakfast

5 su agosto 02, 2012

Amazing muffins and fruit every morning, plus a different breakfast entree every day! Our favorite was the peach crepe brulee. My husband and I stayed for 4 nights while in town for a convention at the nearby Mohegan Sun Arena. The proximity to the arena and other area conveniences was great while keeping us off the "main drag" of traffic and shopping. The value for the size of the rooms (the blue room was large!) and the quality of the food was impressive, especially in comparison to other B&Bs we've stayed at in the New England area.


Beautiful B&B

5 su agosto 01, 2012

This was a great place to stay for my week long workshop at Wilkes. Walking distance from classes and less than a 10 min walk to the center of town. Cecilia is a wonderful cook and breakfast was incredible! Thanks for making me feel so welcome! ~Madelaine


Wonderful stay at Hillard House

5 su luglio 18, 2012

Cecelia and Gordon were amazing hosts. The Hillard House was a perfect choice for our stay in Wilkes Barre.


Hillard House, Wilkes Barre, Pa

5 su luglio 12, 2012

Beautiful home. Quiet street. Delicious food. Great people. Enjoyed my stay so much. Cannot wait to come back.


Histoical and welcoming B&B

4,6 su luglio 02, 2012

The building was beautiful and historical; it is walking distance to the downtown area and many restaurants. It was quite pleasant to be able to walk along the river and watch the fireflies. Gordon and Cecilia were very welcoming. The breakfasts were over the top in flavor and creativity.


Wonderful Hillard House

5 su giugno 28, 2012

This is our third summer staying at Hillard House. Cecilia and Gordon are wonderful hosts, welcoming us everytime as if we were family. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the house is very quiet. They are conveniently located so it's only a quick walk to the waterfront or local restaurants. We have had different breakfasts there each time: homemade muffins and fruit followed by either gingerbread pancakes and eggs benedict. Delicious.


Anticipating our next time to visit

4,4 su giugno 19, 2012

My husband and I planned to visit family in the Wilkes-Barre area shopped around for prices of rooms. For just a bit more than the chain hotels we got to be Jill and Steve not a room number. Regretfully we did not have an opportunity to sit around The Hillard House and enjoy it as much as we could have. We agreed that the next time we go to visit we go a day ahead just for ourselves to spend at The Hillard. The food was wonderful don’t expect to eat lunch. You could not ask for a better host and hostess. So very willing to please and accommodate. Our warmest THANKS!!!


A great value!

5 su maggio 31, 2012

Owners were very efficient, friendly, and accommodating.


An Amazing Time!

5 su maggio 25, 2012

We had an amazing stay at the Hillard house! We ended up booking the room on a whim because another "B&B" was all booked up. Let me say it was worth every penny and I'm SO glad we chose this over the other one. It's in a great little area and the owners are incredible hospitable! This is a great historic house in a great historic area with great owners! There is no other place to stay next time in in or near Wilkes-Barre!


Relaxing and comfortable

4,4 su aprile 27, 2012

Cecilia and Gordon made us feel welcome from the time we pulled in the driveway. The wine and cheese was a nice touch after a long drive. The restaurant suggestions for dinner were appreciated. Cecelia provided menus from several of the nearby restaurants. The room and canopied bed were comfortable. My wife's favorite, Eggs Benedict, was served and enjoyed by both of us. Gordon is very knowledgable of the Wilkes-Barre area and we found him to be very interesting. If we get back to the area we will definitely stay at the Hillard House again.


will cone back to stay

5 su aprile 13, 2012

Perfect place to stay. Clean, comfortable and personal. Made me feel like a welcome guest in a good friend's home. Close to park along river. Fantastic!


Hillard House

5 su aprile 03, 2012

Quaint and quiet. An easy walk to the F.M. Kirby Center and restaurants. Decor and ambiance exceptional. Congenial hosts. Wouldn't hesitate to return.


Excellent place to stay

4,6 su marzo 20, 2012

We stayed in the Blue Room and found it to be very comfortable the hosts Cecila and Gordon made us very welcome and gave us a great breakfast I would recommend this to anyone coming to the area to stay.


Words escape me

5 su febbraio 23, 2012

Cecilia and Gordon were the most excellent hosts for which a traveler could ask. More than once I forgot I was a paying guest and began to think of myself as family. The breakfast is superb. If you want standard bacon and eggs, try Denny's. If you want a four course gourmet feast, well prepared and presented, than the Hillard House is your forte. Both are extremely knowledgeable about the area, the house and its surrounding history. I'm looking forward to booking my next trip(s) there.


charming

4,0 su febbraio 22, 2012

Stood in the Blue room for a one night stay. The house was beautiful and old but in a good way. Host and hostess where very warm and welcoming. A 2min drive from hillard house is the square with lots of restaurants and shops. would stay again.


When in Scranton....

4,2 su febbraio 22, 2012

When in Scranton and looking for a great and comfortable place to stay and relax look at the Hilliard house. Wife and I enjoyed our stay and would stay again. Also the breakfast was fantastic.


A Great Find

4,4 su febbraio 12, 2012

My wife and I were very happy we found this B&B. Both Cecilia and Gordon were very hospitable and friendly. We particularly enjoyed being welcomed with cheese, crackers, fresh fruit, and wine after a long drive!


Wonderful accommodations near the arena

4,8 su novembre 28, 2011

Hillard House is the best value in Wilkes-Barre! My husband & I stayed at this wonderful B&B two weeks ago while attending the TSO concert at the arena. The house is beautiful and the hosts very attentive. We did not have time to go to dinner before the concert so Cecelia offered and set up a nice little snack of wine, crackers, cheese and fresh fruit in the parlor. What a lovely touch! The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast was scrumptious! Pear crepes, ham, fresh fruit and muffins were served in the morning. Gordon gave us a mini tour and highlighted the history of the house in response to our questions. I even took a ride down on the elevator which was quite old but in perfect working order. To sum it all up, Hillard House is the best value in Wilkes-Barre! We loved everything about our visit there...


Hillard House - Last week of October 2011

5 su novembre 12, 2011

I stayed at Hillard House for 2 days at the end of October this year. I was in Wilkes-Barre for a sad occasion, the funeral of a beloved uncle, so I decided to stay somewhere that would make the stay a little happier. The innkeepers, Cecilia and Gordon, are the quintessential B&B innkeepers. I arrived late the first night due to airline delays, and Gordon offered me wine with cheese, crackers and fruit. Heaven! It was much appreciated after a very long day of travel. Gordon was great with directions the next day and recommendations for dinner the next evening (Toscana in downtown). Cecilia's breakfasts were, again, just what you would expect at a top notch B&B. Baked fruit crepe the first morning and eggs benedict the next. I really enjoyed talking to them both - they are a very interesting couple and create a very relaxing and peaceful environment. Oh, and the B&B is stunning both outside and inside. About 150 years old, the house is three stories and victorian in style, old trees and vegetation on the outside with the most whimsical Halloween decorations throughout the house when I was there. I'm sure it's delightful at Christmas time. I highly recommend the Hillard House!


Beautiful Inn

4,6 su novembre 01, 2011

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Hillard House and we couldn't have been more pleased. The room was beautiful, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Cecilia and Gordon were wonderful hosts and Sunday's breakfast was YUMMY! Would definitely stay here again.


Wonderful place, great hosts!

4,4 su ottobre 30, 2011

This beautiful old home is located in an old neighborhood a few blocks from the college. There is a well-lighted walk along the canal to the square, we were able to get dinner at Cafe Toscana - and this place is absolutely the best! It was late (very close to closing) and we were the only diners but the service and food was amazing. We stayed in the Gold room and it was beautiful and well-appointed. Everything is very clean. The breakfast one of the best I've had in any B & B. Hosts were very kind, helped us with our bags though we arrived after 9:00 PM. Highly recommend the Hillard House!!


A great place to stay!

5 su ottobre 20, 2011

A charming house that has been beautifully maintained and restored. The innkeepers, Cecelia and Gordon, are warm and friendly, and were very attentive to our needs. Our breakfast was wonderful, too. We've stayed at a number of inns and Hillard House is definitely a favorite.


First stay at B&B

4,8 su settembre 07, 2011

This was our first time staying at a B&B. Hillard House is a lovely historic home and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room accommodations were nice and included a wonderfully comfortable bed (better than home!), private bath, and very welcomed air conditioning (it was a hot and humid weekend!). Gordon and Cecilia were very welcoming and the service and delicious food at breakfast was superb. We also enjoyed the company of fellow travelers at breakfast. Off street parking was also a bonus. We were able to take a walk along the nearby River Walk, around the area of the Wilkes University campus and down to Main Street Wilkes-Barre; this area has so many beautiful, historic buildings. We enjoyed our stay, plan to stay again on our next visit, and would recommend Hillard House to others visiting the area.


...wonderful home, wonderful hosts!

5 su agosto 18, 2011

...we have stayed at Hillard House twice, which is a first amongst our travels. Lovely, historic home and hosts that offer comfort, friendship, information and a totally comfortable room! Our 16 yr old grandgirl felt the same way! They went out of their way to accommodate us and gave us a historical perspective of the town that was THE BEST! Located in a lovely neighborhood!


Thanks for a great birthday

4,8 su agosto 07, 2011

Cecilia and Gordon were exceptionally sweet to us during our stay. We couldn't have asked for nicer people to help celebrate my girlfriends birthday. They adapted to our situation and very enjoyable to talk to. We will be going back many more times in the future.


Home Away From Home

5 su luglio 14, 2011

I stay at Bed and Breakfasts whenever I am traveling. The accommodations tend to be more comfortable than a hotel and the attention to small details to meet my needs has ALWAYS been superior to a hotel. Staying at the Hillard House in Wilkes-Barre is no exception. Cecelia and Gordon Williams have welcomed me into their home several times when I visited family in Wilkes-Barre. I’ve always stayed in the Gold Room, but have seen the others and find they are equally appointed. Breakfast? Well, if you’ve never had Gingerbread pancakes with whipped cream and the idea of them is intriguing, you must stay here. Breakfast is always something different – you will find fresh fruit salad and the hot muffins ranging from apricot almond to strawberry coconut or banana nut… Top it all with off street parking in a lovely neighborhood. Add a refrigerator stocked with water and soda. Free secure WiFi lets you stay connected if you want to link to the outside world. And if you wander in after a long day of being out and about, you are likely to find a tray with cheese, crackers and a carafe of wine being brought to you. Those are a few of the reasons I have stayed there more times than I can count over the past 4 years (along with the gingerbread pancakes!).


Stepping back in time

5 su luglio 11, 2011

We stayed 1 night in the Gold Room in October 2010. The hosts were very gracious and friendly. The host even drove us into town to a restaurant as he was worried that we would not make our reservation in time. We had been traveling all day from from Niagara Falls. The Inn is beautiful and our room was very comfortable. I cannot say enough about our wonderful and relaxing stay.


A Delightful Step Back in Time

3,0 su luglio 07, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and the hospitality of Cecilia and Gordon. We would return and recommend this delightful B&B.


Wonderful evening in Wilkes-Barre PA

4,0 su giugno 27, 2011

After 15 years of traveling with children, staying in no-name roadside hotels and/or suite-style (w/ "free hot breakfast") cookie cutter hotels closest to the swim meet of the month, my husband and I traveled without children to our oldest's college graduation. We'd never stopped overnight on our 15 hour trips previously, so we picked a city in PA which appeared to be half way, and searched for lodging online. The Hillard House was the PERFECT place to stay! Cecilia and Gordon are excellent hosts. Our room was comfortable and nicely appointed. We walked downtown to dinner, then toured the downtown area on foot. When we returned, we found a nice bottle of wine and a bedtime snack waiting in our room! Our breakfast the following morning was delicious and plentiful. If we have an occasion to pass thru Wilkes-Barre again, we will stay at the Hillard House again!


Lovely Historic Home

4,2 su giugno 24, 2011

We stayed in the Gold Room which was spacious, had a comfortable chaise lounge, and good WIFI connection. Cecilia and Gordon were personable hosts and we enjoyed meeting other guests during the "cheese and wine" hour. Cecilia is an excellent cook and the breakfast was truly memorable.


The Perfect Wedding

5 su giugno 06, 2011

I live in the Wilkes Barre area and did not "need" housing. However, my daughter was getting married and our home is rather small. I wanted the perfect place for pictures, one last "girls night", not have to deal with cleaning and preparing breaksfast wedding morning. I got all that and more. The Williams family eliminated all that stress. You could not ask for a more beautiful setting for wedding pictures. The home and grounds were beautiful, the breakfast superb, but the personal detail and assistance was unbelievable. Cecelia assisted me with unbagging and draping my daughters dress and train when I first got there and was assisting bridesmaids with wardrobe issues right up until the time we left. Thank you so much for helping to make the day perfect.


Charming B & B....with great food!

4,4 su aprile 10, 2011

The property could not have been more convenient to Wilkes University, which is why we were in town! Lovely B & B, very welcoming.....and delicious food!


Beautiful Rooms w/ comfortable beds, great breakfast!

3,8 su aprile 08, 2011

This was our second stay. The rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds in a grand old home. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, incredible pear muffins and banana pancakes with ham. Cecilia and Gordon are gracious hosts.


A wonderful retreat

5 su aprile 01, 2011

My husband and I found the Hillard House last year, returned this year, and plan to return each time we drive through PA. It is beautifully and tastefully furnished, the breakfasts are delicious, and Cecilia and Gordon Williams are the consummate hosts. We highly recommend this B&B.


Gracious hospitality at Hillard House

5 su aprile 01, 2011

My son and I stayed during a visit to a college campus. Gourmet breakfast, very nice room with all amenities. Hosts were incredibly helpful with advice on local restaurants. Made sure that all of the guests met each other. Great weekend. We will be visiting again.


Grand accomodations in great location

4,2 su gennaio 10, 2011

Our stay at Hilliard House was quite comfortable - Cecilia and Gordon were gracious hosts. The breakfasts were delicious, Cecilia and Gordon were very helpful in pointing out local activities and restaurants, and the wine and snacks in the room were a wonderful touch. We would definitely stay here on our next trip to Wilkes Barre.


Hillard House is delightful!

5 su dicembre 27, 2010

No sooner than I had walked in, did Cecilia (one of the proprietors) make me feel as though I was coming home. From there, the room, the appointments and all of the little touches truly made it comfy and warm. I stayed in the Blue Room on the 3rd Floor. I recommend it. It was quiet, spacious and clean. The 12-foot high ceilings throughout added to the splendor of the old Victorian charm. For being an old house, it didn't have that "old house smell" to it, which was appreciated. It smelled fresh, lived-in and cared-for. But, once you meet the Innkeepers, you'll know why they care. Truly a gem in Wilkes-Barre, the Hillard House is.


First weekend in December, Rose Room

4,2 su dicembre 13, 2010

My recent stay at Hillard House was delightful and restful. My purpose for being in PA was stressful, but my stress was alleviated and my spirits elevated by the lovely home, with charming Christmas decorations and antiques in every nook and cranny, and most of all, by the kindness and hospitality of Cecilia and Gordon. I had the best night's sleep I've had in quite a while in the darling Rose Room, was sent on my way with a hearty breakfast, and enjoyed fellowship and good conversation. Cecilia was also willing to accomodate my food sensitivities. Thank you, Gordon and Cecilia--I hope to stay again!


Wonderful weekend escape

5 su dicembre 10, 2010

We spent one night here when we came to Wilkes-Barre to visit friends. The home is lovely, the room was comfortable, and the innkeepers took care of everything. It was a much needed retreat! We will definitely return!


A Wonderful Stay

5 su novembre 02, 2010

After our wedding my new wife and myself stayed at the Hillard House for our first night together. The William's stayed up late to greet us and make sure we were taken care of when we got in. They were very kind and warm to us. They even gave us a bottle of wine and a cheese/cracker plate for free to enjoy before going to bed. The breakfast the next morning was fantastic and both the Williams were very talkative, telling interesting storys, but still allowing us time to eat. We had a great stay there and can't wait to go back!!


Hillard House

4,0 su ottobre 22, 2010

Nice area near campus & river. Great hosts.


Great value and kind hosts

4,0 su ottobre 20, 2010

We planned a somewhat last minute trip to view the fall foliage in NY and PA and found Hillard House had an open room. The lower level and bedroom were nicely furnished. Cecelia and Gordon are very kind and hospitable hosts. We would stay there again if in the area.


great choice!

4,8 su agosto 31, 2010

We were made to feel at home from the moment we got there. There were wine and crackers waiting in the palor. Our room was even nicer than the photos. It was very clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was great, I have special dietary needs and they went out of their way to ensure that my needs were met. The hosts were very knowlegable about the area and gave us very helpful information about places to go and things to see around town. Wilkes-Barre was a stop over and not our destination, but I would now consider going there again just to spend a weekend getaway at the Hillard House!


A gem of an inn, in a charming town!

4,6 su agosto 27, 2010

My husband and I chose to celebrate our anniversary by taking a meandering drive and just enjoying the freedom of stopping where we wanted. When we got to the Scranton area, we decided to stay overnight and discovered the Hillard House in Wilkes Barre, a place neither ofmus had ever visited. Fortunately, rooms were available and 20 min. Later we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in a gorgeous neighborhood, in front of an absolutely lovely home. Gordon and Cecilia couldn't have been nicer or friendlier, and we felt as if we we I. The company of friends. Gordon encouraged us to take a walk and explore the city, especially the park along the dike. It was a terrific way to unwind after driving. After a delicious breakfast, we explored the city on foot again, and found it charming. When we finally checked out, I felt as if we were leaving friends. I heartily recommend Hillard House.


Rose Room June 2010

4,6 su agosto 21, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. The inn keepers, Cecelia and Gordon were friendly, from the time I called to when we arrived. We arrived early Cecelia met us, knew our names and invited in, even though we were early. She welcomed us, explained the history of the house, showed us the common rooms, when breakfast would be served, history of the area and places to visit. The Rose room was very clean, neat and all the amenities were in place. The bed slept very well, it was quiet in the house. They offer wine and cheese in the afternoon. We went out on the porch and Cecelia said since you have not had lunch I can serve you the wine and cheese early if you would like-very accommodating and alert to their guests needs. Later Gorden came out and visited as well. Cecelia gave us some dining recommendations and other places to visit like the Casio with a coupon. The breakfast was very nice, there were 2 other couples and we had a great visit. Cecelia did the cooking and Gordon did the serving - great job. My only issue was I had a piece of hair in my breakfast (Ugh!!). The only negative comment I had was-the outside could use some attention. I could see in the front porch area it was cluttered and getting over grown in the plant growth area. We would stay again!


An Absolute Gem

5 su agosto 08, 2010

The bed was great. The room was a delight. The house and its story were a treat. The food was very good, and they catered to our dietary restrictions effortlessly. Their hospitality was gracious and suited the surroundings. Easily the best B&B we've ever visited.


Excellent inn at a reasonable price!

4,4 su luglio 26, 2010

Cecelia and Gordon are excellent hosts and make you feel right at home. Very helpful with local dining and attraction ideas and suggestions. Our breakfast was perfect!


Gem in Wilkes-Barre

5 su luglio 23, 2010

Outstanding service and very comfortable room. Breakfast is incredible and delicious. Great service, with helpful recommendations to restaurants in the area.


Pleasant surprise

4,6 su luglio 05, 2010

I have to admit I was a little concerned when we drove into the driveway and saw that the front yard landscaping needed some attention and then saw a small pile of junk laying in the backyard. The hosts came out to greet us and help us carry our stuff inside. The inside was nice and our room was lovely, clean and had it's own little refrigerator with sodas and water. We enjoyed the wine and cheese offered shortly after we arrived and we really enjoyed talking to the hosts and learning all about the history of Wilkes-Barre and mining. We were able to walk to a restaurant for dinner which was nice, as well as walking along the waterfront. Breakfast was delicious too. I have recommended this B&B to my sister and we will stay there again.


cornell meeting

5 su giugno 06, 2010

We took over all 3 rooms of the inn for a weekend and had a fabulus stay! Cecilia and Gordon treated us like family, offered many amenities not usually found (wind and cheese on the porch, lots of help finding restaurants and other sites), fantastic breakfasts, beautiful rooms. We look forward to coming back!


Wilkes Barre's Best

4,8 su maggio 26, 2010

For years we have sought a nice place in Wilkes Barre to stay when visiting family and friends. We have finally found it - Hillard House is a well-maintained home with exceptional Innkeepers. It has all the best qualities of a B & B and none of the occasional negatives. We will be back.


last minute luxury :)

4,0 su maggio 18, 2010

I was in Wilkes-Barre on business, both Cecilia and Gordon are very hospitable, and made me feel at home. Upon arrival I was given a tour of the home and the (Rose) room, where I stayed, was clean and spacious, very nice. Being new and unfamiliar to the area, Cecilia provided me with a map of downtown Wilkes-Barre restaurants and points of interest. In the early evening I was given a complimentary bottle of wine with cheese crackers and fruit. Breakfast was GREAT! A baked soufflé with egg, bread, cheese, and apple combination that was so tasty. I will definitely return, I also may have convinced co-workers in the area to check it out too.


Weekend Trip

4,0 su marzo 22, 2010

Hillard House provides an excellent hub for exploring Wilkes-Barre, especially on foot. The owners made us feel welcome to the small town, while also providing a first-hand history, and guidance to W-B's hidden treasures. The stunning architecture and small town feel make Wilkes-Barre an exciting place to visit, and the Hillard House makes it a comfortable place to be.


Wonderful Gem, short walk to Wilkes U and town.

4,8 su gennaio 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hillard House (January 13-16, 2010). It's a very beautiful home with a lovely spiral staircase and a decorative but functioning old elevator as well. The rooms are full of interesting artwork, gorgeous furniture, books, photographs and other curiosities. There are 3 bedrooms: Gold, Rose and Blue. Its location is within a very short walk of Wilkes University and the downtown of Willkes-Barre. I never used my car during our stay. My husband took the walking tour of the historic downtown and took many beautiful pictures of old mansions and other intricately decorated buildings. As for the Innkeepers, they were very helpful and friendly. Cecelia is a wonderful cook; gingerbread pancakes with baked apples and cream, eggs benedict, and bread pudding with cranberries. There were also always some baked goodies and fruit to accompany the main breakfast dish. We were always pleasantly stuffed. In the evenings we were offered wine and snacks, and even a pot of tea and cookies. Our room (the Gold room) contained a large comfortable bed with 4 posts and very comfortable blankets. Decor was gold and blue, TV, writing table, vanity with drawers, a small room between bed and bath with a fridge - stocked with complimentary sodas and water, coffee maker (with coffee and tea), luxurious bathrobes and an area to hang our clothing. The bathroom was large, and while it did not have a tub, the shower was wonderful. The bathroom was very clean, with a large sink vanity area, two large mirrors, and many complimentary supplies. If you're visiting the Wilkes-Barre area and considering a hotel, please take a look at this B&B instead. You will not be disappointed. It's price is equal to 'nice' hotels in less convenient areas of Wilkes-Barre and provides an experience that cannot be found in an everyday hotel.


Gracious Hosts and Beautiful Rooms

5 su novembre 17, 2009

Our hosts were warmly welcoming, putting our bags on the baggage lift to the third floor and offering us cheese and wine and conversation about the area and its history. Gordon has a great collection of history books in the living room that guests are welcome to read. The breakfasts were to die for, especially the gingerbread pancakes with poached pears. The rooms were old fashioned, very tastefully furnished, and not overly fussy. Both of us will certainly return.


A Relaxing Fall Get Away Spot

4,6 su ottobre 11, 2009

Cecilia & Gordon were very congenial hosts. The evening wine and cheese snack was an especially nice touch and the gingerbread pancakes superb!


Far, far exceeded expectations!

5 su agosto 15, 2009

What a wonderful experience we had staying at Hillard House! The rooms are well appointed, quaint with modern conveniences at the same time. The innkeepers are absolutely delightful, know hospitality and shared the history of the area with expertise! The wine and cheese on the porch, and the two breakfasts made us feel pampered and special. Growing up in the area, I can tell you their location is perfect! Don't miss this gem!


Charming B&B in Wilkes-Barre

5 su luglio 31, 2009

We were very impressed with the charm of the place and hospitality of the Innkeepers, Cecilia and Gordon Williams, who made us feel right at home. We are looking forward to coming back in Sept. All the best, Linda and Damon DeBusk


Superlative in every way

5 su luglio 07, 2009

We recently came to Wilkes-Barre from San Francisco for a family reunion and stayed several days at Hillard House. All I can say is, if you're within 100 miles of W-B, make a beeline for Hillard House. Cecilia and Gordon Williams have knocked themselves out to make sure that their guests feel at home. One night we returned late, and they had created a "bistro"-type table out on the porch, with candles, wine, and snacks. Unbelievably excellent!


2nd time at a B&B

4,4 su giugno 15, 2009

My boyfriend and I were in town on business and this B&B was the perfect place for us. The Hillard House was a great place that we can't stop talking about! It has all of the perks of a hotel in a more comfortable setting. Very convenient location within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. And the food was really the best part- great presentation and even better taste!


Great Choice, Great Value, Beautiful City

5 su maggio 18, 2009

My wife and I travelled to W-B to attend a concert and I chose this B&B based upon the reviews on B&B.com. I was especially amped to sample the culinary treats served up by this establishment, and rightfully so. Breakfast service was elegant, gingerbread pancakes were delicious. Cecelia was always available with advice and tips for exploring this beautiful city.


Hillard House

4,2 su maggio 17, 2009

The location was perfect, our hosts couldn't have been any nicer, and the Happy Hour comaraderie with our fellow guests made our stay so much more enjoyable than it would have been at one of the borrrring cookie cutter hotels nearby.


Great Hosts, Great Location

4,6 su aprile 12, 2009

Innkeeper very helpful with directions and suggestions. All amenities excellent with welcoming tea, wi-fi in room, walking distance to campus and downtown.


Victorian England

4,0 su aprile 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. We felt like we were in a Victorian Manor. During breakfast, music was played that reminded us of Victorian England. The innkeepers, Gordon and Cecilia, were gracious and extremely accommodating. When we arrived back the first, Cecilia asked us if we would like tea. We told her we were having wine and she brought us an ice bucket and 2 beautiful crystal goblets. The second night, the ice and glasses were waiting in our room for us. It was a wonderful experience.


Great location and perfect stay for musicians

3,8 su aprile 08, 2009

Cecilia and Gordon Williams' Hillard House is a perfect place to stay while in the lovely town of Wilkes-Barre, PA. The two beautifully furnished rooms have ample space and all of the comforts from home including a mini-fridge stocked with water and sodas. Nice touch with the folding curtain to hide the television. The best part about the house is the spacious salon equipped with two grand pianos. My boyfriend and I are musicians and it was just fantastic to be able to use the space for practice. What I loved about the service was that Cecilia was not too overbearing and that she didn't want to engage too much with us. At some B&B's I find the hosts a little too intrusive, not so at the Hillard House. During our two day stay we were served delicious homemade Gingerbread Pancakes and a sumptuous bread pudding with poached apples. Overall, an A for location, service, breakfast, and ambience.


A perfect gem

5 su marzo 27, 2009

We expected 'satisfactory', but Hillard House was exceptional. Elegant, immaculate, gracious yet unobtrusive. Cecelia and Gordon are the perfect hosts. It's like coming home -- only finding that everything is done perfectly for you, not by you. Great breakfast, thoughtful recommendations for local dining, directions. Tea or wine, with cheese, crackers and fruit were a gracious offering, along with extra bottled water -- no extra charges. Breakfast was memorable. Like a perfect boutique hotel -- just smaller.


Great atmosphere and great service.

5 su marzo 25, 2009

The house is wonderfully preserved with original components throughout the house. The original wood flooring is just amazing. The historical aspect of this house is worth the stay alone. My wife and I stayed in the Rose room for one night. The room was huge and comfortable. The room also had a bathroom , a TV, and a small refrigertor already stocked with soda and water. Cecilia is a wonderful and charming hostess. She turned the bed down for us and suggested places to eat in the area. Cafe Toscana has the best food that I have ever eaten. The breakfast the next morning was very good. If you are going to be in the area I suggest staying here then in a hotel. It is not really that much more expensive then a decent hotel. The ambiance and service alone are worth the extra couple of dollars. My wife and I plan to come back for a weekend.


Hillard House Hopsitality

5 su novembre 05, 2008

Everything about our stay was excellent. We stayed in the Rose Room. The details in the room were quite impressive from the writing desk to the antique crocheted canopy on the bed, which by the way was luxurious and cozy! Cecilia and Gordon went out of their way to make us comfortable. They were very friendly and fed us a wonderful breakfast. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat. The price was also very reasonable.


pleasant & relaxing stay

4,6 su ottobre 13, 2008

We stayed in the gold room and enjoyed it very much. The owners were very kind and down to earth. They welcomed us with wine, fruit & cheese on the front porch when we arrived. This was a really nice touch. We had a fabulous dinner at a sushi restaurant nearby (within walking distance).


What A Wonderful Place!

4,6 su settembre 22, 2008

My husband and I were in Wilkes-Barre to visit our son who is attending college there. Everything was better than we could have expected, from the graciousness and friendliness of Cecelia and Gordon to the lovely room and the scrumptious breakfasts. The hosts really went out of their way to make us feel at home, which we did. Even our son was impressed by the inn, which is saying something for a college student. We definitely know where our home away from home will be in Wilkes-Barre.


Fantastic B&B!

5 su agosto 12, 2008

My fiancée and I spent a wonderful weekend at Hillard House and would absolutely recommend it to anyone. Cecilia and Gordon were wonderful hosts and went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. When we had some car trouble they immediately offered to arrange for a mechanic to come to the house and fix it for us so they we wouldn't miss out on the activities we had planned for that day. The food was excellent and the house and room were beautfiul, clean and very comfortable. The price was very reasonable and we would love to go back again.


Pleasantly Surprised

3,8 su luglio 27, 2008

Hillard House is very welcoming. The Innkeepers were friendly and provided wonderful service.


Gold room worth it's name

4,0 su giugno 22, 2008

My room was awsome. I brought by family to see the room on two occasions and both times not only were they given a gracious tour of the home but were offered refreshments as well. Mr. Williams was a friendly host who shared a lot of history about the home. Cecilia anticipated my needs better than any host I know. The home was very neat, clean and had charm. In fact it's cleanliness, service and value out does any hotel or motel stay in the area. I think I found a home away from home at the Hillard House.


A Luxurious Gem in Wilkes Barre!

5 su giugno 11, 2008

Having just been married one night prior to check-in but not going on our honeymoon for another 3 weeks, my new wife booked a brief one-night local getaway for us at the nearby Hillard House. My expectations were not high to say the least, but they were surpassed in every way. We arrived late in the afternoon, exhausted from the wedding, and were warmly greeted by Cecelia and Gordon, who sent our luggage up to our room via an old-fashioned elevator. The house itself is amazingly well-kept for its age and you feel as though you are in a museum. Our room was very spacious with a large canopy bed, antique furniture, and a refrigerator stocked with soda and water. We were offered a plate of delicious fruit and cheese with wine prior to leaving for dinner. The following morning, we were served the fantastic gingerbread pancaked with a poached apple and sausage. Gordon even made us Mimosas. Everything about our stay at Hillard House was absolutely perfect and we can't wait to go back!


Delightful B&B

4,8 su maggio 12, 2008

We have always measured our B&B stays by a Cape May B&B that we frequented for 12 years before it went private. The Hillard House meets our tremendously high standards, comparable to the Cape May B&B. We were greeted by warm, friendly Innkeepers, a tastefully decorated and cozy Inn and room and a delicious breakfast and very pleasant afternoon tea.


Bridal Shower Review

5 su aprile 05, 2008

I just attended a bridal shower at the Hillard House. It was wonderful! The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. The other guest also raved about the exquisite interior (dining room, parlor and living room), fantastic food (salmon, chicken, and pumpkin ravoli), and service. The intimate setting was perfect for a bridal shower. I would recomend hosting a shower or party at the Hillard House to anyone!


Hillard House

4,0 su aprile 05, 2008

Our stay was delightful in all regards...


Wonderful B&B

5 su marzo 25, 2008

We have visited Wilkes-Barre many times to stay with friends. This was our first trip to the Hillard House, as we were in town for a memorial service. Cecelia and Gordon (the innkeepers) could not be more gracious. The house is beautiful, I felt like I was in Paris. My favorite though was the wonderful breakfast - Gingerbread Pancakes. The best pancakes I've ever had. The whole experience was delightful.


So Much Better Than a Hotel

5 su dicembre 27, 2007

I found Hillard House completely by accident and I was extremely impressed with the quality of the house and the service. The family that runs the house are great and made us feel very welcome. If you're going to Wilkes-Barre, stay at Hillard House and you'll be glad you did.


Comfortable and Classy

4,6 su ottobre 01, 2007

We felt like we were staying at the house of good friends. The host, Cecilia, is gracious and inviting. The sheets were super soft, the room very comfortable, and the ammenities were top drawer. But the highlight of the stay is the breakfast. The gingerbread pancakes can only be described as heavenly. The only drawback to the inn is our room had a very small bathroom. However, overall, I would highly recommend Hillard House.


A pleasant surprise

5 su agosto 26, 2007

I had to be in Wilkes Barre on business for 5 nights. I had been travelling throughout the state and had stayed at another B & B that was unsatisfactory, primarily because the owner wasn't willing to get up and cook breakfast so that I could leave when I needed to, in the mornings. So I was a bit hesitant to stay here, not sure what sort of attitude I'd find. What a delightful surprise when I was welcomed by Cecilia and Gordon (as well as other family members). My room was delightful, with its own refrigerator (stocked with soda and water), coffee maker, alarm clock, hair dryer, plenty of fluffy towels, and delightful decor. The bathroom was small, but the shower was wonderful and sink was outside, so there was plenty of room. Classical music played throughout the downstairs (which was wonderful for breakfast) and I was treated like a Queen during breakfast! Gordon and I chatted and I was given the local newspaper to read with breakfast. Each of the 5 mornings I was there, I had a different hot breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit, freshly baked sweet breads, and enough food to feed 4 of us! If I ever need to stay in Wilkes Barre again, I will call on the Williams again so that, hopefully, I'll be able to stay at Hillard House! I've already told my husband what a great time I had in Wilkes Barre. And the house's location is close to everything!


Our stay in Wilkes Barre

4,8 su agosto 15, 2007

This is an exceptional B&B, only 2 guest rooms, delightful hosts, beautiful classical music playing, spectacular civil war era home, fully modernized. The Williams's made our stay in coal country a delight.


Charming old house with modern conveniences

5 su agosto 05, 2007

We spent one night at Hilliard House when picking up our daughter from a summer program at the Performing Arts Institute in nearby Kingston. Our stay was outstanding in every respect. The house, including our room, is furnished with interesting antiques. Nonetheless, our well-appointed room had a quiet but very effective window air conditioner, a small fridge, a coffee maker, and a TV. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but included an excellent shower with plenty of pressure and hot water. And the towels were large and fluffy. Add to that an ample breakfast of gingerbread pancakes, baked apple, and fresh fruit and consider that the price was extremely fair and Cecelia and Gordon Williams are friendly and welcoming hosts. One really can't ask for more.


Gracious home

4,8 su agosto 01, 2007

Gracious hospitality and outstanding gourmet breakfast. Highly recommended.


Working Away From Home

5 su maggio 20, 2007

The Hillard House WAS Home! Wonderful, friendly service! Salmon for Breakfast? WOW! Pleasent evening conversation and a glass of cheer. You could not find a nicer place to stay. Thank You so much, Dan.


An absolute gem!

5 su aprile 24, 2007

We found this beautiful B&B by searching on your website for "Wilkes-Barre, PA bed and breakfast". It seems to be the only B&B in town. And what a gem! The house is lovingly decorated in the style of the time the house was built (1865) with very careful attention to detail (and a fascinating history). There is a warm, comfortable feeling the minute you walk in. And Cecilia Williams is the most gracious and accommodating of innkeepers making you feel right at home and anticipating your every desire. The breakfast she makes for you is not one of the "croissant and coffee" continental types, but a excellently made full meal. The gingerbread pancakes are a must. And although we just were there in April (and it was still a bit cool) I can't imagine a better place to have breakfast in the warmer weather than on the veranda. We would go back in a flash. Pass the word ... this is a hidden treasure.


Hillard House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $120 - $165
  • Recensioni (137) 4,7
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5708236591

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina