The Mercersburg Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,4
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
128 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wedding guest

3,6 su agosto 20, 2014

Felt like we were nickel and dimed - $10 charge to make up fold out couch when there was already a cot in the room.....................nice but pricey for the middle of nowhere.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the dining and the cleanliness of our rooms. We are sorry you were concerned with our charges. They are all stated on our web site and our confirmation. Our rates are for double occupancy for a queen or king bed. The extra bed charge may seem insignificant but we use high count Egyptian cotton sheets, pillow cases and down pillows which require extra care and laundering service. As a wedding guest we understand that your hosts chose the lodging and this may have not been the type of location you would choose. Perhaps, if you were here on just a leisurely trip you could have enjoyed the surrounding mountains and our historic village as most of our guests do.


Mercersburg Gem

3,8 su agosto 13, 2014

The Mercersburg Inn is a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting the Mercersburg, PA area. It is a beautiful historic home located right in town. Some of the rooms are very expensive, but the less extravagant rooms are lovely as well. They serve a wonderful breakfast every morning which is included in your room rate. Byron's Restaurant is also open in the evening on weekends for dinner. We had a delicious dinner there the first night of our stay.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great visit and also enjoyed our breakfasts and dinner. Hope to see you again!


Great Getaway Inn

5 su luglio 07, 2014

This inn is great! The inn is a grand structure in a treed lot. It has a very nice wood trimmed interior, and is furnished with wonderful antiques. The balcony room was roomy and well appointed. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Dinner was very good as well.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for your kind review. We are always happy when our guests enjoy this beautiful place. Please visit us again!


Relaxing and enjoyable stay at The Mercersburg Inn

4,8 su giugno 30, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 38th Anniversary at the Mercersburg Inn while returning home to North Carolina from visiting family in PA/OH areas. Lisa and Jim were gracious and welcoming hosts. We toured the inn and found it to be gorgeous and elegant. We chose to stay in the Carriage House/North room as it had television in the room. However, with the beautiful grounds and spacious game room, we really would not have needed the television. Jim's breakfasts were absolutely wonderful - so delicious with generous portions. The beautiful breakfast room with lovely setting and spacious windows was a great way to start our day. In addition, we enjoyed playing games of pool in the game room - something that we had not done in years - though "rusty" for sure, we thoroughly enjoyed it! We had a wonderful time at the Mercersburg Inn. Thanks to Jim and Lisa for their hospitality!

Risposta del proprietario
It was a pleasure to have you here on your anniversary. Thank you for the review. Hope to see you for your 39th!!


A fantastic find

5 su giugno 17, 2014

It was a quick trip ( one night )but what a lovely property!! Felt like a step back in time. Beautiful property with pristine up keep and amazing hospitality. Can't wait to come back

Risposta del proprietario
We can't wait to have you back. We are glad you enjoyed our summer gardens and the serenity of our inn. Thanks for the review.


Perfect Day in Mercrsburg

3,8 su giugno 03, 2014

Wonderful Hotel with Great Atmosphere and outstanding rooms

Risposta del proprietario
Well, you make our hard work all worth it! Thanks for enjoying our place and hope to see you again.


Good Time

5 su maggio 05, 2014

Hot/cold water tweaky at times

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are unaware of any hot/cold water issues but would sure like to know which room you were in so we can remedy any problems. If you read this please send us an email. This would be greatly appreciated. Hope to see you again.


Best B&B we've ever stayed in.

5 su aprile 23, 2014

Mercersburg Inn is a lovely place. The architecture is amazing and the staff is fantastic. We felt like we were living in history. We were disappointed that we had to leave the Inn to visit with relatives in the area. Breakfast was a feast for the eyes and the stomach. We'll stay here again when in the area.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear that the staff is doing a wonderful job. Come see us again soon!


Great get-away

4,2 su aprile 21, 2014

Great place- food was not quite what I expected, yet was very good. Should offer espresso for breakfast included in the cost- after paying $200+ a night a $5 charge for espresso is a bit odd.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your room, our service and our attention to cleanliness of the Inn. If you read this we would like to know a little bit about your expectation of our food since it is usually one that is consistently highly rated. Hope to see you again!


Amazing Wedding Weekend

5 su aprile 11, 2014

My wife and I had our wedding at the Mercersburg Inn on April 5. We rented out the majority of the inn and adjoining property for family and friends. Lisa and Jim, the owners, were incredibly helpful throughout the whole planning process, and the execution of the entire event was 100% perfect and flawless. They food, both brunch and dinner, is also delicious, and the rooms and service are impeccable. We will without a doubt return to the inn for another visit sometime, and hopefully soon!

Risposta del proprietario
What an amazing wonderful group of people (including the bride and the groom). It was our pleasure to have you all here for your wedding and reception. We hope to see you soon and at least for your first wedding anniversary. Thanks for the review.


Our stay at the Mercersburg Inn

4,6 su aprile 04, 2014

The Inn was much bigger than we expected. Our room was tastefully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The Inn was exceptionally clean. We decided to eat dinner at the Inn and were so pleased we did. Our meals were wonderful! The chef did an amazing job preparing our choices exactly as we indicated. We would recommend this Inn to others and we plan to return soon.

Risposta del proprietario
At 20,000 square feet we do have lots of common room areas. We are glad you enjoyed the Inn and our breakfasts and dinners. Thanks for taking the time to review us and hope to see you soon.


excellent B and B

4,8 su marzo 05, 2014

Probably the best B and B we have ever stayed in. Loved it and can't wait to go back

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the great review! We can't wait to get you back here. Come see us soon!


Excellent B&B

5 su febbraio 26, 2014

I would come back to this B&B anytime, not just for a vacation but just to stay for a weekend getaway. This was my very first time visiting an B&B and I feel like I am hooked. They treated us so nice and the food was always SO fresh and served with a smile. There is no reason why I would not give The Mercersburg Inn 100% ratings.

Risposta del proprietario
We are glad you decided to try a B&B. It is quite different from some of the depictions in the media. I will pass your compliments on to the chef and staff. Come see us again.


So elegant we felt like the Granthams!

4,8 su febbraio 26, 2014

A grand and delightful setting; our accomodations were complete from all sides, to include the superlative room and thoughtful details to the common rooms that were replete with history and were altogether quite inviting. Dining (both breakfast and dinner) were without question first rate and our guests were gracious and friendly throughout. We were inspired to use the National Registry index for future stays!

Risposta del proprietario
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, We are proud of our membership in Select Registry Inns of North America and encourage visitors to these Inn. We hope to see you again.


Nice place, would stay again!

3,8 su febbraio 26, 2014

The house is beautiful. When you enter the rooms, you really feel like you are traveling back in time. The only thing that I felt could have improve was the service. The staff was okay. They did what was expected but were not welcoming.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your step back in time. We have taken up the issue you presented with our front desk staff. They are usually highly rated and assure you that this will not be an issue if you visit us again. Hope to see you again.


A charming and romantic hotel !

3,6 su febbraio 20, 2014

We loved it!! We spent the night in the Lavender room. There was some natural noise because it's an old house but not very loud. The bathroom was comfortable. Our dinner on Valentine's Day was delicious, a very warm and romantic atmosphere. In the morning, it was very nice to watch the snow fall from the window in the living room where breakfast is served, consisting of three very rich and fresh dishes. The owners were always very friendly and provided us a map with directions to the whitetail ski resort. We plan to return soon !!

Risposta del proprietario
Valentine's Day and Evening at the Inn is always a romantic occasion. Glad you enjoyed your staff and your day on the slopes. Hope to see you again!


Beautiful House, Friendly Owners/Staff

5 su febbraio 09, 2014

We stayed for one night for a mid-week trip to Whitetail fairly late in the ski season. We were traveling with a small child so we had booked a room in the carriage house away from the other guests. It turned out there weren't many guests that particular night and there was going to be a big ice storm, so the owners (of their own volition and out of concern for the comfort/safety of our young daughter) upgraded us to a room in the main house. The room was fantastic and comfortable. The house was beautiful. Breakfast was very tasty. The entire experience was made even better by the helpful, friendly interactions we had with the staff and with the owners (in person, via email, and via phone)! I highly recommend The Mercersburg Inn.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the review and for staying with us. Hope to see you during next ski season.


Lovely getaway!

4,6 su gennaio 26, 2014

Clean, cozy rooms. Great location -- we woke up early and hit the slopes at Whitetail!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for your review. Ski season is busy at the Inn because of our great discounts on tickets and we are glad you were able to take advantage of them. See you next ski season.


Ski getaway

4,4 su gennaio 08, 2014

Charming B&B with wonderful staff and superb food.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for your review. I have passed your compliments on to the staff and chef. We hope to see you again for the 2014-2015 ski season at Whitetail.


Beautiful !!!!! Stay here!!!!

5 su dicembre 24, 2013

Everything from the room accommodations to the dining was beyond amazing. We absolutely fell in love with this inn and can't wait to plan our next visit. I highly recommend this lovely inn---I also feel like I can't place enough emphasis on how amazing the food is here.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the great review. We strive hard and appreciate it when someone lets us know we are doing a good job. Come see us again!


A holiday weekend in SE Penna.

4,6 su dicembre 04, 2013

Very lovely and stately B&B with outstanding dinners.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for your great review. Chef Dan has been with us for 9 years and keeps getting better! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us an look forward to your next visit.


Outstanding!

5 su novembre 13, 2013

Friendly, efficient staff and hosts!

Risposta del proprietario
Your great review is very appreciated. Hope to see you again.


Wonderful Inn, very comfortable room.

4,6 su ottobre 21, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary at The Mercersburg Inn. Our stay there was wonderful. The house itself is beautiful, and all of the guest rooms are unique and well appointed (we peeked into the ones that were open). Breakfasts were outstanding, and our dinner on Friday night in the dining room was perfect. I can only use positive adjectives to describe this Inn, we hope to return one day. The only area I cannot give an "Outstanding" rating to is Value, only because the price of the weekend is higher than we would normally spend on ourselves. No complaints though, it's obvious the costs are high because the money goes back into running an exceptional Inn.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for enjoying our Inn! We hope you visit us again. You can check our last minute specials on our web site and join our mailing list for special deals.


Great getaway/fabulous meals

4,8 su ottobre 20, 2013

Beautiful property in nice small towm. The staff made us both feel so special.

Risposta del proprietario
We are glad in addition to enjoying the Inn you did have some time to visit the village which is a shirt walk from us. Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again.


Mercersburg Inn

3,6 su ottobre 14, 2013

Nice room, staff was very friendly and helpful.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for visiting us. Come see us again, maybe for a wine weekend or cooking class.


Perfect peaceful getaway.Outstanding food!

4,4 su settembre 18, 2013

Beautiful room. Quite place (no TVs! )....Great food....perfect!

Risposta del proprietario
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Check our website for the various food events throughout the year. Thanks for the review.


Recent Stays

4,8 su agosto 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second visit at Mercersburg Inn. We were so pleased with our first stay that we made reservations to return before we checked out. We are now scheduled for our third visit in October. The owners and staff great you by name when you arrive and are so courteous throughout the stay at the Inn. The Inn's decor reflects the details and care given by the owners. We both highly recommend staying at this Inn for a relaxing and positive experience.

Risposta del proprietario
It was our pleasure to have you here and look forward to your visit for the fall foliage.


Beautiful Georgian Bed & Breakfast

4,2 su agosto 15, 2013

We had a great stay at the Mercersburg Inn. We stayed in the room right above the front entrance. It was quite spacious and comfortable. The view from the balcony was beautiful. We walked around the house and grounds and everything was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good although we didn't get a chance to partake in dinner w/ the chef on vacation during our stay. We definitely would make a return visit.

Risposta del proprietario
We are glad you enjoyed our home. Chef Dan needed a well deserved vacation and he is now back in the kitchen awaiting your next visit.


Simply the Best!

4,6 su agosto 07, 2013

Needed a weekend away and saw an excellent "Hot Deal" for the weekend, so I booked 2 nights. Was a wonderful experience from the moment Missy the ass't innkeeper met me at the front door until we hugged goodbye on Monday morning (I ended up staying an extra night) ! I stayed in the "Garden View" room which had top of the line bedding, towels, toiletries, etc. I slept like a baby! And breakfast every morning? Out of this world, from the French Bread Custard to the Goat Cheese Tart, the homemade granola (mama mia!), to the apricot plum cake and the stuffed banana cake......mangia! They have a top rated dining room for dinner but the chef was on vacation. The town is extremely small and there is only one nice sit down restaurant, Flannery's in town besides fast food, which I ate at Sat night. The Inn has a great side veranda with cushioned comfy wicker chairs and ottoman. Good enough for some relaxing on Sun afternoon! Renee the night clerk was a real sweetheart and made sure I wanted for nothing while she was there. I can not wait to return with my husband for a relaxing weekend away! We have stayed at B&B's and Inns from Maine to NC and this ranked up there near the top. Kudos to owners Jim and Lisa!!!

Risposta del proprietario
We just love when our guests love our rooms and our food. Also we appreciate mentioning the great job that Missy does at the Inn. See you soon with your husband.


Another nice stay at the Mercersburg Inn

3,4 su luglio 30, 2013

This was my 4 or 5th stay at the Inn. Obviously I have always enjoyed my visits or I would not have continued to come back. In the past, I have booked one of the bigger more costly rooms and have always been pleased, however, this time I booked one of the smaller, less expensive rooms, which helps explains my scoring, that is, the room met my expectations. We had dinner and it was excellent and expected.

Risposta del proprietario
we thank you for be a frequent visitor to the inn. This is one of the best compliments we can receive. And like you, our repeat guests like to stay in different rooms since they are all different. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward o your next visit.


Quaint B & B

3,8 su luglio 27, 2013

The Mercersburg Inn is in an historic house full of period details and furnishings. However, if you visit during the summer be prepared for the fact that the entire house is not air-conditioned so when you leave your room it is like walking outside. The third floor has central air, which didn't work very well during the time we were there because of the unusually hot weather. Because of this we asked to change to a room on the second floor where the rooms have individual AC units. The second floor room was larger, as well, and much more comfortable. The bathrooms in both rooms we stayed in were very small, especially the showers which were so cramped as to be uncomfortable. The rooms also do not have televisions or radios. The only television in the house is in the basement "game room". The exceptional aspect of the Mercersburg Inn is the food. Dinner is offered four nights a week and the on-site chef is outstanding. Breakfasts are prepared by the Innkeeper/Owner and were delicious without fail. If we make another visit to the Mercersburg Inn, it will be in the fall or winter.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for taking the time to review us. The week of your stay was a 95+ degree heat wave. We did have a problem with one of our central air units which affected 4 rooms and the hallway (which has been resolved) on the top floor so we were happy to move you to a room that has an individually controlled unit. All guest rooms and common areas, bar, great room and dining rooms are air conditioned. Since this mansion was a built as a private residence, as are most B&B's, not all bedrooms had bathrooms. So depending on the size of the room, the bathrooms added are of various sizes. We have a few with standard shower stalls, most with a standard size bathroom and have several antique bathrooms almost the size of a studio apartment. When you are ready to visit us again give s a call and we can help find you a room with a bath that fits your requirements. We have over the years polled our guests on the absence of TV in the room and it seems that they enjoy the quiet of the inn at night and we have held off installing TVs. We do have complimentary WIFI through out the Inn and since so many people travel with web devices they can stay connected with the world and entertainment if they wish.


Exceptional & Relaxing

4,6 su luglio 10, 2013

Just the weekend we needed after a crazy busy first half of the year. Peaceful town and room and a very comfortable bed. We had a wonderful weekend. The breakfast were fabulous.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for visiting with us and remember us when things get crazy again and you need a relaxing weekend.


Excellent!

5 su luglio 03, 2013

Everything was excellent. The owners truly wanted our stay to be nice in every way. If you stay, you must have dinner on site as the food is exceptional. Unfortunately we had to leave early before breakfast was served so we did not experience the breakfast food but can not imagine it would be anything but wonderful.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope on your next visit you don't have to miss our breakfast.


Weekend Birthday Getaway

4,2 su giugno 23, 2013

A nice drive to a lovely location. The Inn was all I expected it to be. We had a wonderful time.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for celebrating your birthday here.


Mercersburg Inn

4,0 su giugno 16, 2013

The Mercersburg Inn is one of the most peaceful, unique places I have ever stayed. The overall accommodations -- from the Inn's architecture, its grounds, its furnishings and decorations, and its well-appointed rooms --- made for a wonderful weekend in Mercersburg. I had debated staying there and am so glad I decided to.

Risposta del proprietario
Now that you know us we hope to see you again soon!


Mercersburg Inn

4,6 su giugno 12, 2013

Very well restored and immaculate. Attention to detail throughout. Only improvement needed is an ice machine on each floor.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for visiting.


Mercersburg Inn

3,2 su giugno 04, 2013

Picturesque older (circa 1908) home in quiet setting. Spur of the moment trip so didn't plan to do much in the area. Which was good since there didn't seem to be much to do, but maybe more if planned well. Lots of history in the area. The accommodations were very comfortable. You may want to stay in the guesthouse rooms if you like TV.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the review. We hope to see you again. If we failed to mentioned our "things-to-do" brochures in the vestibule, our apologies. Besides historical places there is golf, swimming at the state park beach, antiquing, nearby outlet mall, minor league baseball, hiking or join us for a French cooking class, wine weekend, etc.


Mercersburg Weekend

5 su maggio 22, 2013

We visit the Mercersburg Inn regularly for their cooking class weekends. Each room we've stayed in has been unique, welcoming, and thoughtfully appointed. I particularly want to highlight the restaurant, which serves food far exceeding expectations.

Risposta del proprietario
The cooking class weekends are fun for us also since we get to participate and interact more with our guests. There are 3 classes left in 2013 and we hope you can join us for one of them. Thanks for the review.


Mercersburg Inn

4,0 su aprile 29, 2013

My wife and I were the only people at the Mercersburg Inn on a Wednesday. They upgraded us to Tid's room room. We were just passing through for an evening and wanted something different than the usual Hampton or Fairfield. We ate dinner at Flannery's Tavern in Mercersburg since the Inn's restaurant is only open Thurs-Sun. Breakfast at the Inn was excellent. We were able to see all the rooms. They were all excellent so I would not worry about choosing. Most had small bathrooms but they were clean and functional. Rooms in the back had less road noise. Wifi worked great. If there was an event like a wine tasting, this place would be excellent. A little pricey but a great weekend getaway spot.

Risposta del proprietario
We do offer wine tasting and dinner pairings 4 times a year, so hopefully you can join us for one of them. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we await your next visit.


Mercersburg Inn is a jewel!

5 su marzo 15, 2013

We have stayed at this lovely inn for years and the experience is always fantastic. Jim and Lisa are great inn keepers and they always ensure our stay is memorable. The rooms have lots of charm, the restaurant is excellent and the service impeccable. Jim makes a gourmet breakfast in the mornings (fruit salad, coffee cake, quiche, bacon, sausages, granola cereal, hot chocolate, you name it). The game room downstairs (pool, air hockey, chess, TV) is a great bonus and the perfect spot to chill after a day on the Whitetail slopes or the golf course. If you are in the area, there is no better place to stay. Highly recommend it!

Risposta del proprietario
We are always thankful for the reviews we get. Reviews from repeat guests are always the most encouraging. See you on your next visit.


Great Value at Mercersburg Inn

4,8 su marzo 04, 2013

Innkeepers Jim and Lisa do a great job of making guests feel comfortable and welcome. They provide a wonderful historuc country inn experience combined with good food at very affordable prices.

Risposta del proprietario
"Comfortable and welcome" in a review is one of the ultimate compliments we can get because that is what we are always striving for. Thanks for the review and hope to see you soom for another visit.


A honeymoon start

5 su febbraio 23, 2013

We spent the first night of our honeymoon here in the Romantic Retreat room, and it was great. The room was beautiful, the staff was accomodating, and the food was fabulous!

Risposta del proprietario
Yes, the Romantic Retreat was named correctly. We hope you can join us for your first anniversary. Thanks!


Reliving a Bygone Time

3,4 su febbraio 20, 2013

This is a gorgeous mansion that is nicely kept by its owners. I was very favorably impressed by the quality of furniture and linen. It is decorated with very nice taste and respect for the period. It is a perfect place to relax and/or go to the Whitetail slopes. The one thing that needs improvement in some rooms are the shower stalls, which are totally out of place in such a beautiful house. Owners are very hospitable. We were there in winter and there was practically no activities in the town of Mercersburg. The surrounding farmland is very attractive and certainly must be beautiful in spring and fall.

Risposta del proprietario
Hope you can enjoy our spring and summer when our flower gardens are in bloom. Some sammer rooms have shower stalls which was a necessity when the house was converted from a private residence. Few rooms had bathrooms at that time. We do have larger bathrooms and a few original antique baths that are almost the size of some of the rooms. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you in warmer weather.


Great Weekend Getaway

5 su febbraio 20, 2013

We planned our stay with another couple so that they could all go skiing and i could go shopping. Worked out great for everyone. The Mercerberg in was so cozy after a long day. The rooms were clean and very inviting. We all enjoyed breakfast as well.


February 16th

4,4 su febbraio 20, 2013

The Nanny's room was quite lovely. It was down it's own little hallway and had a nice big balcony off the hall. All the staff we dealt with were very nice and the game room was a fun time. The only downfall was that when the bathroom door was open you could hear the folks in the garden room (next room over).

Risposta del proprietario
Thank your for your review. Yes that big covered balcony is a great place to sit, relax and view our flower garden. Hope to see you again.


Wonderful first time B&B Experience!

3,8 su febbraio 07, 2013

The rooms were beautiful and this was a wonderful experience! The staff were all very friendly and made me feel well taken care of. This was my first time staying at a B&B and I definitely want to do it again!

Risposta del proprietario
We are glad we were your first and we hope to see you again. Thanks you for your review.


Mercersburg Inn

5 su gennaio 23, 2013

Great, cute little place to stay. It's quiet with a friendly and helpful staff close to the local ski resort and close enough to walk into the town of mercersburg. Delicious dinner and of course, breakfast. Would definitely recommend this inn!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the recommendation. If you were skiing we hope you were able to take advantage f our big discounts on ski tickets. Hope to see you again.


1st experiance

4,8 su gennaio 23, 2013

This was my first experiance with any B&B. The reservation process was easy, the owners and staff were lovely to deal with. I would go there again, without any concern. House was as represented. Food was quite filling and satisfying.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for trying a B&B and we hope you visit others and ours again.


Mercersburg Inn

4,6 su gennaio 09, 2013

Overall, nice inn--really enjoyed the decor of the living room and common areas. Our room was nice as well. Breakfast the next morning was a nice touch and definitely well done


A wonderful Romantic evening.

4,6 su gennaio 03, 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary evening at the Inn and had a wonderful time. The dining was superb and the cozy, romantic atmosphere of the Inn was great as always.


Outstanding B&B

5 su gennaio 03, 2013

I rarely fill out surveys... but this establishment deserves my support. It was a fantastic value and the level of cleanliness and service was something that I have not experienced in a long time. Highly recommended.

Risposta del proprietario
We greatly appreciate your time in doing this. The housekeepers know that cleanliness is our top goal. They know that the house and rooms have to be clean as if "Lisa's mother was coming to visit tomorrow". She says you ladies will understand that one. Thanks.


Romantic Getaway

3,2 su dicembre 18, 2012

Great bed and breakfast getaway. A bit on the pricey side, which is why I didn't rate it higher. The price raised my expectations. Everything was just fine with our stay. Retaurant was good and food quality commensurate with the price.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for your review. I know we are probably more expensive than other lodging establishment but hopefully, based on our reviews, we provide a more valuable experience. Hope to see you again.


girls weekend

4,8 su dicembre 16, 2012

My best friend of 40 years and I have a 'girls weekend' once a year. (we were girls once!) After many different locations, we have stayed here 4 or 5 years in a row. We don't even question where we will go anymore. The rooms are lovely, the food great, Lisa and Jim and the wait staff are all skilled and is friendly without being cloying. We take a pilgrimage trip to Green Castle coffee rosters each year and always purchase at the local farmers markets. The town is also a lovely place to walk and talk. We highly recommend the Mercersburg Inn.

Risposta del proprietario
It has always been a pleasure to have you and your best friend here. It has been 6 years and we hope to see you for your 7th. Thanks for taking time to post this review.


Mercersburg Inn

4,6 su novembre 28, 2012

Breakfast & dinners were both excellent. Beautiful room. Very relaxing & peaceful stay.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for your review. Please think of us and visit again when you are in need of another relaxing weekend.


Excellent choice

4,8 su novembre 26, 2012

The Inn was well maintained, clean and elegant. The staff and owners made you feel at home. The dining and breakfast experience were superb. This was an excellent choice for our one night stopover. We will probably return on a similar occasion.

Risposta del proprietario
We are here when you need us. Thanks.


Two couples, two great nights

4,6 su novembre 16, 2012

We have been making two to three 2-night B&B trips for the past dozen years with our friends and our visit this past week at the mansion certainly ranks on top among our stays. Hosts Lisa and Jim welcomed us and continually saw to our needs during our visit, which included a tour of the beautiful inn, along with many historic and interesting facts of the Inn and the area. We definitely enjoyed the first-rate breakfasts and the service provided. Unfortunately we were there on off nights for Byron's Dining Room. Our visit was between seasons but just enjoying the period furnishings of the Inn one can imagine the summer and/or winter gardens and decorations, especially with large rooms and the double stairway. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. We all four agree to make another stop at the Inn in the future.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for your review. Hopefully next time you can visit Thursday-Sunday when the restaurant is open.


A Perfect Wedding Site

5 su novembre 06, 2012

I found the Mercersburg Inn online and knew from the photos that it was the perfect location to have our wedding. A few months before we made a trip out to try dinner in Byron’s Dining room and were amazed by the sautéed shrimp and the lamb. The attention to detail in the decoration of the mansion and presentation of dinner confirmed that we had made the right choice. Jim and Lisa were amazing; from organizing a small wedding for us to hosting our closest friends and family for the reception. The whole stay we felt so welcomed, like staying with old friends. We enjoyed a three course breakfast the day after our wedding which was just as impressive as the dinner we had the night before. We stayed in the romantic retreat and the room was stunning. The plush king size bed was so comfortable and from the fireplace through to the bathroom, the claw foot Jacuzzi tub to the appointments of lush bathrobes that my husband is still talking about, it was an truly amazing experience. I cannot wait for our anniversary to indulge again in staying at Mercersburg Inn. Thank you, Candice and Andy Wyant

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the review and for choosing us to celebrate this important event in your life. We hope to see you on your first and future anniversaries.


Great place! Great food!

4,0 su novembre 06, 2012

We stayed one night in the Carriage House. It was clean, cozy, and perfect. We had a delicious dinner and wonderful breakfast the next morning. I would stay again, maybe in one of the main rooms. It is really beautiful.

Risposta del proprietario
It was always great to know that guests would return and those that do usually stay in one of other other rooms since they are all different. Come back and try out the main house. Thanks for the review.


Nice Anniversary Stay

4,0 su ottobre 18, 2012

We stayed in the Dressing Room. It has a private balcony overlooking the main street in Mercersburg. Very nice to sit out there and watch the traffic go by. Bruce, the bartender and our server at dinner was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. The dinner fare and breakfast was outstanding. Jim and Lisa were there when we needed them and were not there when we didn't. Perfect hosts.

Risposta del proprietario
You have uncovered the secret to inn keeping that we are always striving to perfect. A B&B is a more personal environment so that sometimes makes people hesitant to try one. We enjoy conversing with our guests. It is the most fun thing we can do. If we can achieve the right mix of interaction, make people feel comfortable with out being over-bearing then we have succeeded. Thanks for your review.


Fourth visit -- fourh memorable stay!

5 su ottobre 11, 2012

Our 4th stay at with Jim and Lisa the owners of The Mercersburg Inn. We had another wonderful time in their stately mansion. Don't miss out on dinner at the inn!

Risposta del proprietario
We appreciate your review especially since your have stayed with us 4 times. We await your 5th visit. Thanks!


Like being treated as royalty!

5 su ottobre 02, 2012

Hosts Jim and Lisa made us feel as welcome as family. I don't think the Byron family itself, whose mansion this was, could have been treated any better back in their day. The downstairs is beautifully decorated with antiques and period furnishings - Lisa has wonderful taste. The living rooms are pleasant and comfortable - light and airy. The bedroom was equally well-appointed, the bed comfortable. With the door to the balcony ajar, the night sounds of crickets chirping lulled us quickly to sleep. The morning breakfast on the sun porch was delicious - French Toast Custard deliciously prepared by Jim himself, with an equally luscious almond coffee cake and fresh fruit. It's worth a trip to Mercersburg just to spend a night at the Inn!

Risposta del proprietario
we await your return and will have plenty of our homemade almond cake waiting for you!


A Nice Stay

4,4 su agosto 29, 2012

This was my first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast. The Inn was wonderful and gorgeous! The only thing is that the bar was left unattended & it took awhile to get drinks, also each time we got a drink someone different served us and charged us differently?

Risposta del proprietario
We always like to hear that someone has decided to try a B&B. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. As in most B&Bs, since we are smaller the hotels, the staff does a variety of jobs. We don't have a full time bartender because we do not do a large bar business. Hopefully we were told that you could ask anyone working at the Inn for anything that you need. I can't address the bar pricing issue since I don't know the specifics of your visit but I would encourage you in the future to bring it to the attention of the owner or front desk at checkout time. Believe me, it is very helpful for us to know if there is a problem when it happens so we can correct it. Thanks again for staying with us.


A Wonderful Birthday stay

4,8 su agosto 27, 2012

We enjoyed the spacious Prospect View Room which included the private outdoor balcony. I took my dessert from a scruptious dinner to enjoy on the balcony. The innkeepers were personable and made sure we had everything that we needed. We went to scout this place as a possible elopement site, and we were not disappointed! Can see a fall wedding in our future!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you for that fall elopement.


Dining was exquisite

5 su agosto 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Only drawback was their not allowing us to bring our own wine into the room. They should relax that rule....call the LCB. Their chef was magnificient.....we went back for seconds !! The spinach quiche for breakfast was in a class by itself ! We will return.....

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the review and especially on the quiche (I am also the breakfast chef). The Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board does not allow wine, liquor or beer to be brought into a establishment that has a PA liquor license. If we allow it or encourage it we could lose our license. That said, we don't search our guest's luggage so ..... Thanks for taking the time to write the review and we hope to see you again.


An escape to a gorgeous Inn

5 su agosto 15, 2012

I have been to this Inn since 1961 !!! It has gone through several owners but it has NEVER been as beautiful as it is now. The owners have gone out of their way to preserve the historical significance of the times past in such a fashionable way. The dining is beyond belief. And the owners and staff make every guest feel very special.. I usually travel there for unrelated business. Now I am looking for an excuse t go for a week of leisure!! Witcher M

Risposta del proprietario
Well you made us blush with this review. Try joining us for a cooking or wine weekend. Thanks!


One night at the Inn

4,8 su luglio 26, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed the stay. The place was exceptional and the Innkeepers very friendly and hospitable. The meals were quite delicious and we enjoyed the company and conversation of our fellow guests. We will surely be traveling to Mercersburg for another visit.

Risposta del proprietario
It is always nice to know that our guests got to meet some other nice people at the Inn. We look forward to your next visit.


Stay at Mercersburg Inn

5 su luglio 15, 2012

Our stay only lasted one evening, but it was wonderful. Staff even took the time to return my shoe via mail which I had carelessly left behind. We will definitely return!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Anytime a guest leaves something in their room we contact them to arrange sending it to them if they wish. Some of the things we have returned: $750 cash found under a mattress, a $6000 watch, diamond stud earrings. But we mostly return phone and computer chargers. This is the type of service B&Bs are know for.


Great B&B Wine Tasting Weekend

5 su giugno 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a Wine Tasting Weekend and the entire experience was wonderful. It was our first time at the Inn and we booked the last available room, so we were hesitant at what our accommodations might be like. We were very pleasantly surprised. We did have one of the smaller rooms, but it was perfect for the weekend, cozy and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. John Peters did a wonderful job explaining the wines at the tasting and with the dinner pairings. The dinner by Chef Nowalk was spectacular, perfectly paired with the wine. We were also very impressed with the level of accommodating service. The hostess at check-in was very friendly and personable, and always asked if we needed anything when we saw her. Although we were aware that the wine dinner had a set menu, we were able to make arrangements in advance to accommodate a special dietary need which was most appreciated. At breakfast the next morning, even though I did not request a special dietary option, one was offered to me, which was above and beyond. We look forward to returning soon.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the review. We hope to see you again at the Inn. We will pass your compliments onto chef Dan and our "wine guy" John Peters.


Mercersburg Inn June 2012

4,0 su giugno 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the inn for 2 nights. We were given a free upgrade to the master room. It was lovely, the balcony outside was a special treat, the bathroom was spacious, and clean. Everyone there was very gracious and helpful. Breakfasts were beautifully presented and excellent. Free Wifi helped make up for the lack of tv (we were able to check the weather). Our stay here was very nice, and relaxing. The surrounding area is very pretty and we had plenty of hiking at our disposal.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Feedback for us is so important. We are still "kicking around" the TV issue. We have 2 rooms in the Carriage House that do have TVs. We are working with the cable provider to see if we can get a "neat" installation in the main house and TVs that can be limited as far as volume for those who like the quiet of the Inn.


A Step Back in Time

4,6 su giugno 03, 2012

The value was already a good buy but when they include a luscious hot breakfast you can't beat this inn. The only downside to our stay was the fact that we had a third floor room and had to tote our bags up two flights of stairs (there was no offer of assistance with this task).


Mercersburg In Visit in May 2012

3,0 su maggio 25, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Mercersburg Inn. Innkeepers Jim and Lisa are very warm and welcoming, as is their house and dining room staff. We will definitely return again.

Risposta del proprietario
Hope to see you again soon. Thanks!


A lovely place for a getaway

4,6 su maggio 23, 2012

We have been going to the Mercersburg Inn for years and it just keeps getting better. The buildings and rooms are exquisite and the gardens delightful . Beds are very comfortable. Breakfast starts at 8 , a bit late for my husband but OK by me . It is served in a bright sunroom and you can start with granola and coffee and then a quiche was offered along with fresh baked banana bread and assorted juices. First rate breakfast, first rate Inn.

Risposta del proprietario
Looking forward to your next visit!


Charming inn, excellent dining

5 su maggio 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn and had a great time. Our room was fantastic, and very well kept. We had a nice walk through the Inn to take a look at the other rooms (those that were unoccupied), and were impressed with all. Dinner in Byron's Dining Room was superb - the beef filets were excellent. Breakfast on Saturday was great as well - fresh fruit, blueberry muffin, and a goat cheese tart served alongside asparagus and (I believe) chicken sausage. The staff and innkeepers were friendly and accommodating. I would love to stay again for an entire weekend.

Risposta del proprietario
And we would love to have you here again! Thanks!


Spectacular B & B

4,4 su maggio 02, 2012

Sadly, only one night at a remarkable place. The Inn was well furnished with some fascinating antiques, rooms were great, quiet and dark and the food was truly excellent - both dinner and breakfast. The garden was also very pleasing and all the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. This was, by far, the best value accommodation we stayed at during a 12 day visit to USA.

Risposta del proprietario
It is a big compliment to know that out of 12 days in the USA you enjoyed us the most. Thanks!


Weekend getaway

4,6 su aprile 12, 2012

We had the room with the veranda above the front door. Some R&R with wireless internet, some iTunes, and a nice view rounded out the late afternoon. Dinner was very nice. We walked into town Saturday evening to chat up some locals at the pub. A pleasant stay in a beautiful old place. After breakfast we toured the grounds to witness spring making its push. Then we were off. Exactly what we were looking for, we'll be back.

Risposta del proprietario
"exactly what we were looking for" is exactly what we love to hear. Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to your next visit.


Wonderful!

5 su aprile 02, 2012

The staff was super nice. Our room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. This is the best bed and breakfast we ever stayed at! Would recommend to anyone. We will return many more times!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for reviewing us. I like the delicious breakfast part the best since I am the breakfast cook! Looking forward to your next visit.


Nice Place To Stay!

3,6 su marzo 07, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay. The staff were really nice and the food was tasty. Dinner is expensive but it was really good. Our first night we stayed in room 18 in the Carriage House. There was a clicking noise (almost like a knocking) coming from the heating system that happened every 15 minutes or so. It is loud enough to wake you up every time you hear it. We ended up sleeping our first night on the couch in the common room!!! We switched to the main house our second night and it was great. If you are a light sleeper, stay away from room 18.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for taking time to review us. We wish you would have made us aware of the problem with the room when you were here and given us a chance to correct it. We are glad you enjoyed the main house and be assured that any problem with the Carriage House room will be solved today.


Outstanding Experience All Around.

5 su marzo 05, 2012

My partner and I decided to add the B&B to a planned 3 day ski weekend. The Mercersburg turned out to be a Great choice for us. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Then we had dinner and that was just fantastic. Breakfast was also amazing both days. And while the value of the Mercersburg Inn was already great, we ended up buying our ski tickets from them and saved another $20 off the price of our tickets. All that and we enjoyed spending some time checking out the town. Overall a great experience.

Risposta del proprietario
We are glad you enjoyed the Inn. Our friends at whitetail did a great job getting snow on the ground given the warm weather. We pass on our discounted Whitetail tickets at cost every year, so we hope to see you next season if not before. Thanks for the review.


Nice!

3,8 su marzo 03, 2012

Very pleasant stay. We enjoyed the game room in the basement. Excellent breakfast. Rooms are a bit pricey, but the ski package offered off-set the price. An afternoon tea would have been nice.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for visiting us this winter. At one point in time we did do afternoon tea during the winter but usually the skiers are on the slopes all day so there was no one to serve tea to. But you can always get a cup of hot tea, just ask and of the staff. Thanks for the review.


Just not Great.

2,2 su febbraio 27, 2012

It said we could control the heat in our room above the carriage house and it wouldn't go above 63F. The carpet was too big for the room and so was wavey and very stained. I was on an anniversary weekend so we got the room with the Jacuzzi thinking there would be room for two. My husband couldn't even lay down in the tub alone, it was so small and he's 5.10 and 150lbs. It was a tub with 2 jets, normal size. The doors didn't fit on the closet, and they were too big, and so wouldn't close. The TV looked like i twas from 1980 and only had like 10 channels on it. There were no decorations in the room, felt like I was in a hospital. We will not be returning! We stayed at a Hyatt a few weeks later and agreed that we may not ever go back to a bed and breakfast because of our stay at Mercersburg Inn.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do have staff at the front desk from 7am until 10pm and my wife and I do live on premise and are available at all timesto solve any problems. Each room has a guest book with instructions on how to contact the staff and innkeepers. We did not hear any of this directly from you and would have been able to solve most problems. We would certainly would have been able to solve any heating issues or move you to a more comfortable room. We do not advertise that we have hot tubs. We have 3 rooms with jacuzzi baths. The folding mirror doors do close, you just have to push them in. The carpets are deep pile and footsteps can cause shading which you perceived as stains or waves. They are regularly machine cleaned with shampoo cleaners. The TV is about 6 years old, it is not a flat screen TV so you may have percived it as older. We did discover that our cable provider did reduce the number of channels and we have remedied that situation. We do not over decorate with mass produced art work as say a Hyatt would. All of our furniture and decorations are unique throughout the Inn. I suggest that any place that you stay, if you have any problems, inform the staff. We know you want to enjoy your time when away from home and we certainly want you to enjoy our accommodations.


An Absolute Find!

5 su febbraio 23, 2012

Exquisite attention to detail shines thru at every turn. Housekeeping is first rate, breakfast is divine, and do make reservations for dinner. Enjoy!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks! I am glad you enjoyed your staff here. Lisa always likes the housekeeping kudos. We all say that her standards are "it has to be as clean as if Lisa's mother is coming to visit"!


Lovely Inn

4,0 su febbraio 20, 2012

Superior and above guest rooms are very spacious and charming, as well as immaculate. The inn is beautiful and the staff friendly. The owner cooks a nice breakfast but the dinner we had there was overpriced and over rated.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the compliment on the breakfast, it is my favorite meal and I enjoy cooking in the morning. I am sorry to hear that you think the dinner was over-priced and over-rated. Either Lisa, Melissa or I talk with almost every guest about their dinner which has always been positive. Our chef's training concentrated on a French style of cooking and perhaps is not everyone's "cup of tea". But please visit us again. We can always make a reservation for you at one of the other fine restaurants in the village. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.


Couldn't be better

5 su febbraio 16, 2012

Check in was smooth, the room was extremely clean and better than our expectations. The dining service was excellent and the menu, French in origin, offered exquisite tastes not expected in rural Pennsylvania. The bed and breakfast was a joy to stay at and I would certainly recommend the Inn to others, and will remember it for future stays in the area.

Risposta del proprietario
Well, not much to say about this review except THANKS! We hope you visit us again soon.


Love it!

4,6 su febbraio 11, 2012

I stayed at Mercerburg with my 10 year old during a ski trip. The Inn was not our destination but it was definately the highlight. The house is enchanting and beautifully maintained. The hosts are honest, gracious, welcoming and let you see the other rooms so you feel at home. I intend to go back jsut to stay there.

Risposta del proprietario
It seems we did our job, when an innkeeper hears some say they "feel at home" that is one of the best compliments we can get. Thanks for reviewing us.


Best place to stay for Whitetail

4,0 su febbraio 01, 2012

A great place to stay if you're skiing at Whitetail. This is a very quaint inn run by a family. The rooms are spacious and nice, and the food is very good. It is about 10-15 minutes drive from Whitetail Resort which makes it the perfect place to stay for a skiing weekend.

Risposta del proprietario
Please don;t wait for the next ski season to visit us again. Take a look at our monthly newsletter for all the events that the Inn offers. Thanks for staying with us.


Mercersburg Inn

4,4 su gennaio 11, 2012

A great place to stay, a quite weekend on the near by mountain. The food was amazing.

Risposta del proprietario
Yes, those mountain are beautiful. We hope you had the opportunity to enjoy them up close. There is a beautiful lake with a sandy beach in those mountains. Come visit us in the summer for a dip the clear mountain water. Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope we see you again.


Perfection at the Mercersburg Inn

5 su novembre 10, 2011

A pair of innkeepers ourselves, we had the Inn to ourselves on a quiet Sunday night. The inn is spectacular, meticulously clean, well appointed and warm( not easy to acheive in a house this size!) We had dinner in the restaurant which was outstanding. My only regret was that I couldn't find room for dessert. The service was wonderful as well. Melissa and Nicole who took care of us upon arrival and in the restaurant were warm and friendly. The Innkeepers were delightful. We enjoyed swapping stories and found that little inns and big inns are not so different sometimes! Breakfast was another culinary treasure. We hated to leave and promise we'll be back with friends and for longer next time. Great job to Lisa, Jim and their incredible staff.

Risposta del proprietario
Innkeepers learn something new or how to make something more enjoyable every day. But swapping stories, methods and ideas is the best. We all learn from each other. I was great to speak during breakfast. Thanks for the review.


What a pleasant stay!

3,8 su novembre 02, 2011

Just spent a Saturday night at the Mercersburg Inn with my husband and three children. We had two rooms, both with queen beds and one with a roll out bed. The rooms and baths were very clean. The linens were beautiful and spotless. It is a large inn, which was relaxing for us because we didn't feel like we had to tip toe around, especially with the children. And the game room in the basement was fun for all -- pool, air hockey, tv. That was a nice surprise!

Risposta del proprietario
Our guests felling at home is the biggest compliment we can get. Thanks for staying with us.


Fall weekend

3,6 su ottobre 26, 2011

Included breakfasts were OK. We had dinner in the dining room and it was superb!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. We are very proud that Chef Nowalk has made us the "place to go" for elegant, fine dining. Most guests (see other reviews) think our breakfasts are fabulous but perhaps we had an "off day". Come visit us again and we promise you will not be disappointed.


What a wonderful place!

4,8 su ottobre 05, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mercersburg Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We made our reservations at the last minute and stayed in one of the "standard" rooms. What a beautiful room! If this is "standard" I can only imagine what the Luxury rooms are like! It was a beautiful room with down pillows and comforter. Soooo comfortable! The Inn is very interesting, rich in history, beautifully kept and the Innkeepers, Jim and Lisa, are so pleasant and accommodating. The food is worth the trip alone! I absolutely LOVE the dual staircase. Reminds me of the Titantic. Great job Jim and Lisa, we can't wait to return! Sterling and Judy

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for visiting us and taking the time to post your review. We are so glad that or guests enjoy our house in all its grandeur.


Like being back home

4,8 su settembre 28, 2011

I stayed for the French Cooking Weekend. I loved my room and each breakfast was different and oh so good. I had a wonderful time that I am looking forward to going back soon. The hospitality of the staff and inn keepers were the best. I felt right at home.

Risposta del proprietario
One of our best weekends is when Francois Dionot, founder of L'academie de Cuisine visits and the hands-on cooking class is in session. Thanks for joining us (and cooking us lunch). We hope to see again.


Wonderful stay!

4,0 su settembre 26, 2011

While on a business trip to the Academy, I spent the night at this wonderful Inn and will definitely stay here again! The dinner and breakfast were out of this world. Wonderful!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you visit the Mercersburg Academy.


a very nice and friendly house

4,0 su settembre 12, 2011

A loveley place to stay, the rooms and all the furniture is prepared with loving care. friendly and helpful Innkeepers and staff

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your staff and we look forward to your next visit.


Superb Experience in Mercersburg INN

5 su agosto 31, 2011

Great night at the Mercersburg INN. Unforgettable. Great flood too. Shrimp and Salmon with Californian Wines. It remided us of the Captain Von Trapp's house on the Sound of Music. Great rooms and the owners go out of their way to make the stay better than already is. Great experience. We are sure coming back as soon as possible. Do not hesitate. It is worth the price.


More Than Just a Bed & Breakfast!

5 su agosto 28, 2011

We usually check in to a motel in nearby Chambersburg when visiting my home town of Mercersburg PA but this time we decided to splurge. It was a unique experience to stay in the beautiful mansion that I could only wonder about from the outside when growing up. Turns out that mansion is just as beautiful and well preserved on the inside. Lisa and Jim have done an outstanding job upgrading and maintaining the premises, and they are outstanding hosts who can filll you in on local and historical attractions in the Mercersburg area. The place is beautifully decorated and everything was clean. Breakfast was outstanding. We plan on staying there again.

Risposta del proprietario
It is always a special pleasure for us when guests who were raised in Mercersburg and moved come back and stay at the Inn. They are always a source of information about the village, things not written anywhere. We hope to see you again on your next family visit.


Another great stay...

5 su agosto 24, 2011

We had another great stay at one of our favorite inns. The innkeeper, the room, the common areas and the breakfast are all second to none. The dinning room was closed for the weekend but the innkeeper recommended two restaurants up Main Street and we ate at the James Buchanan Inn and it turned out to be a great recommendation. All and all, a great place to stay.

Risposta del proprietario
We are pleased that you are a returning guest. Our chef was on a well deserved vacation for 2 weeks, so we are sorry that we could not accommodate you for dinner. I am sure our friends at the James Buchanan restaurant took good care of you. Hope to see you again!


Wonderful Cooking Class Weekend

4,0 su agosto 05, 2011

The Mercersburg Inn: In a simple phrase, a wonderful house, outstanding owners and staff and food that is over the top. The Mercersburg Inn is a treat to enjoy and we were at home thanks to the great hospitality shown to us by Lisa and Jim McCoy. Gracious hosts that they are, they and the staff were ever-attending to details to make our stay a pure pleasure. Each day we started with an amazing breakfast and then participated in a wonderful cooking school program with which they have a very productive relationship. Thanks Jim and Lisa. We will be repeat offenders.

Risposta del proprietario
I think the best compliment an innkeeper can hear from a guest is that they felt "at home". Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again at one of our French cooking classes, or maybe next time if you don't want to "work" for your food, perhaps a wine and food weekend.


wonderful experience

4,0 su luglio 11, 2011

Our room was clean, quaint, and comfortable. The outside porch was an added treat

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We agree that the ouside porch from spring until autumn is a peaceful place to relax, nap, have a cocktail, or read a book. We hope that you plan on returning.


Outstanding Country Inn

4,6 su luglio 05, 2011

This is an outstanding country inn; certainly not cheap, but worth it. Rooms comfortable and spacious; very comfortable sitting room and lounge with a great porch for sitting outside in nice weather. Food and atmospere terrific. Somewhat remote location, but much history within 30--60 minutes drive. Only drawback is two long flights of stairs to reach 3rd floor guest rooms.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. We are sorry we could not accommodate you on the second floor. Next time you visit let us know and we will try to reserve a room one flight up instead of two.


Found a treasure by chance!

5 su giugno 27, 2011

My husband and I happened to find a lovely bed and breakfast by sheer coincidence. We were warmly welcomed by Lisa, who kindly upgraded our room saw to all our needs. This place is three stories of elegant old world style. I was surprised at how comfortable the bed was. I got the best sleep I've had in a long time. The food was amazing and I can only hope to return for more! Don't miss out on this jewel.

Risposta del proprietario
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It seems that even during very warm days our porch always has a nice breeze and it is a great place to spend an afternoon. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.


Mercersburg Inn Mercersburg PA

3,4 su giugno 20, 2011

Hello, thank you for this opportunity to give comments--Two months before our scheduled stay-reservation we found it necessary to cancel. For this "privilege" Mercersburg Inn made a charge against our credit card of $30.00. This is the first B&B of the 70 + we have stayed in that has such a "policy". We have many choices of Select Registry B&B and will make other choices in the future. Thank you.

Risposta del proprietario
At the time a reservation is made, our guests are informed of our cancellation policy. A confirmation is also sent to the guest stating our policy. When we take a deposit for a reservation on a credit card, we pay a fee of up to 4%. When a reservation is cancelled we again pay up to 4% of the refund. For our extravagant rooms and multiple room reservations these fees can greatly exceed the $30 cancel fee. Select Registry Inns, like all other Inn's do have a cancellation fees some higher than ours. When a guest calls to cancel we do attempt to reschedule the reservation and in this case there is no cancellation fee.


one of a kind Inn...

4,8 su giugno 20, 2011

There are not many larger B&Bs that are this well maintained. Rooms are just right, no scrimping on the little things, and no wasted frills just for show. This grand house gives you a peak at what grand living was like at the turn of the century, and it can leave you impressed. Highly recommended. Didn't have a chance to try the dinner service, but breakfast was more than grand. Had to skip lunch that day.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Inn. We look forward to your next visit and hope you will try our restaurant.


Great B&B

4,4 su maggio 04, 2011

It's very friendly experience like at home. It was very comfortable stay for me. Thanks.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for your comments. It is always great to know people fee at home here.


Hometown Honeymoon

5 su maggio 04, 2011

We spend our wedding night at the Mercesburg Inn and loved it! What a privledge to have such a romantic getaway literally blocks from our home!

Risposta del proprietario
Congratulations again on you marriage. And even though we are in the neighborhood, we hope to see you at least for your first anniversary. In the meantime, drop by and visit when you can.


My Favorite Restaurant!

5 su aprile 23, 2011

Nothing bad can be said about the Mercerburg Inn. I have been going there for 2 years now for dinner, and just stayed last night for my anniversary. First of all, Chef Dan is the best, better than the chefs at Gordon Ramsey at the London in NYC and Le Cirque in Las Vegas--best food I have ever had, every time I go. Second, Jim and Lisa are the best!!! I have never experienced bettter customer service! The rooms are beautiful, just perfect. Nothing bad to say about the Mercersburg Inn-- we love you!!! Thank you, Jim and Lisa, for adding class and elegance to our small town. I look forward to visiting you for many years!

Risposta del proprietario
It is especially satisfying when a neighbor who has enjoyed our great dining decides to also try our hospitality by spending a night at the Inn. Thank you for the review and we hope to continue to see you in the restaurant. (This review made Chef Dan blush.)


Highly Recommend

4,2 su aprile 18, 2011

Room was beautiful!!!! Bathroom was a little small, especially the shower. Overall it was a wonderful experience. We arrived after midnight. Innkeepers made all arrangements for such a late night check-in simple and easy. Breakfast was excellent. Will definitely stay here again.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking your time to review us and we are happy that you would visit us again. All of our guest rooms are unique. The smaller one have smaller baths and the larger ones have larger baths. Some of them with extremely large unique baths that were the bedrooms of the original owners who built the house. On your next visit, try us on a weekend when we are not busy and if available we will upgrade you to a larger room.


Re-visit stay

4,2 su aprile 08, 2011

This was our second stay at the Mercersburg Inn. The Inn is delightful! Warm welcome from the hosts. The cuisine is marvelous. It had us salivating after our last visit and we were not disappointed!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. This is what we strive for. To provide an atmosphere that guests want to return to. Chef Dan has been with us for almost 6 years and he keeps getting better. Chef Francois Dionot, the owner of L'Academie cuisine, who has been teaching cooking classes at the Inn for over 11 year and dines here on Fridays before the class has told us that Chef Dan is the finest chef the Inn has ever had. we look forward to your next visit.


Memorable Weekend Away

4,6 su marzo 06, 2011

The Inn is a historic treasure exquisitely crafted, beautifully restored and maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful, Inn keepers personable. The breakfasts were amazing. Too bad we didn't get to eat in the restaurant due to an illness with the chef - We'll have to go back!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that you were not able to try Chef Dan's talents. That was only the second time in 6 years that Dan has missed a day at the restaurant. Please try us again.


Romantic Week-end

3,2 su febbraio 24, 2011

This was our second time staying at the Inn. It is a beautiful old mansion with lots of character. The service was good, with one exception. The dinning room which is fantastic was closed due to the chef being ill; we did not find out until we came down for our reservation which was agravating because we were looking forward to a wonderful meal and had little notice to make other arrangements. We really like the Inn so we will be back.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to review us. This was only the second time in 6 years that Chef Dan was too ill to open the restaurant. His absence was a last minute decision. We did assist in making reservations for our guests in other restaurants in Mercersburg. We look forward to your next visit so that you can enjoy Dan's talents.


Jan 28th weekend at the Inn

4,4 su febbraio 13, 2011

stayed for the innkeeping seminar and it and the inn were both fantastic! Innkeepers Lisa and Jim are gracious hosts. The inn is magnificent and spotlessly clean. The food was fabulous. We highly recommend the Mercersburg Inn! Tom and Rosalind, Raritan, NJ

Risposta del proprietario
It was a pleasure having you at the Inn. We wish you good luck and good times if you decide to persue the innkeeper profession.


What a treat!

5 su febbraio 07, 2011

My husband surprised me with a cooking class weekend at the Inn while he and our son did some snowboarding. I have never cared for B&Bs I've visited in the past, so I was delighted to find a beautifully furnished, private, comfy guest room; wonderful dining; a beautiful setting; and a fun and delicious cooking class to boot! I could not have asked for more!

Risposta del proprietario
It was a pleasure having you and your family over the cooking class weekend. We hope you will join us again.


Great experience overall.

4,0 su febbraio 06, 2011

Great atmosphere. Splendid rooms. Nice host. Dining environment excellent, however, the food could be more refined and not served like the waitress is in a rush to get home.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay but apologize for any appearance of rushing through dinner. We rarely use a table more than once n evening so that ou guests can linger as long as they want. Rather than wanting to rush home it was more likely that we had a last minute surge in dinner guests and Mary was serving quickly so that no one was left waiting for their meal. If this was not the case, if the dining room was not that active on the evening in question, please email me. Thank you.


The Mercersberg Inn

4,0 su gennaio 27, 2011

Beautiful and clean rooms. 5 star dinner at reasonable price.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.


it was a good time

3,6 su gennaio 25, 2011

We didn't really know what to expect, but it was a cute, kinda creepy house. The people were friendly and the breakfast was pretty good. Thanks for the good time

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for reviewing us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back and stay with us again. We have been called majestic, extraordinay, grand, but we don't understand the "creepy". It is a 22,000 sq ft mansion with lots of hallways and lots of wood paneling but no ghosts to report. I guess like beauty, "creepy" is in the eye of the beholder.


Couldn't ask for more!

4,0 su gennaio 23, 2011

A great treat. Relaxing, fine accomodations, great food! What more could you ask for.

Risposta del proprietario
Looking forward to you next visit.


Great lodging option near Whitetail!

4,2 su gennaio 19, 2011

Great owners and staff - these guys know their stuff.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank You!


Execellent Stay

5 su gennaio 17, 2011

Me and my fiance stayed here over the Christmas holidays and went skiing at whitetail. The innkeepers were very friendly. The best part of the stay was the gourmet meal. I think this was the best meal I ever had. From the romantic and intimate setting to the food. The filet of beef just melted in my mouth. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. We already are planning to make a return visit in the next few months.

Risposta del proprietario
Hope to see you soon at the Inn again.


Mercersburg Inn

3,8 su dicembre 29, 2010

Wonderful Christmas time visit. We stayed in the carriage house for privacy and knowing our granddaughter would join us one evening. Breakfasts were well presented and excellent.

Risposta del proprietario
We want to thank our guest for taking the time to evaluate their visit with us. We did contact the guest because all of our reviews on the web rate us the very high on cleanliness. She explained that she had asked that no housekeeping be performed in the room except for fresh towels. Our assistant innkeeper (her second day at this job) misinterpreted the request and instructed the housekeepers not to enter the room. Our guest assured us that the lower rating for cleanliness was not an indication that the room was not clean.


Fantastic Weekend Getaway!

4,6 su dicembre 08, 2010

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Mercersburg Inn. The Innkeepers Lisa and Jim were terrific hosts. The home is beautiful, service is excellent, and the food was terrific. We will most certainly return!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for taking the time to post this review.


Wonderful stay!

5 su novembre 17, 2010

Lisa and Jim McCoy from the Mercersberg Inn offer a truely exceptional stay here. They really pay attention to details and make their guest feel welcomed, at ease and really enjoy the company of their guest. My fiance and I are having are wedding ceremony and reception here and we know we made the right choice. Stayed the night of our "tasting" and again, can't say enough about the place and Lisa and Jim (innkeepers) We plan on coming back after our wedding for many years to come. Thanks! Wonderful

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for posting this review. It has been such a plesant experience working with both of you on your wedding plans. We can hardly wait for it to happen.


A perfect end to a perfect evening

4,4 su novembre 13, 2010

The Inn is a very charming place. The owers are very friendly and accessable. The food is outstanding.We had a large family gathering to celebrate a birthday. The food and service were impectable. My husband and I decided to spend the night after the dinner. The breakfast was delicious. It was a delightful experience. A real treasure in rural PA.

Risposta del proprietario
We look forward to your next birthday at the Inn. Than you for taking the time to post this review.


Great B&B

4,4 su ottobre 27, 2010

Outstanding food and wonderful history. Very relaxed and peaceful.

Risposta del proprietario
We are pleased you were able to relax and unwind during your visit. We hope to see you again.


Pure perfection

5 su ottobre 18, 2010

We spent out anniversary weekend here and had a great time. The Inn is absolutely beautiful, and the staff pampered us with attention to every detail. I have to give extra credit to the hostess (I'm pretty sure her name was Jen) who truly made sure our stay was perfect. The rooms are large, decorated to perfection and came with some nice extra touches like down comforters and water bottles in each room. We've been going to bed and breakfast sites for over 20 years and I would put this place right near the top for overall enjoyment and experience.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for posting a review. Yours remoinds us of why we like to do what we do.


Amazing!

4,0 su ottobre 11, 2010

This was our first trip to a B&B. We didn't know what to expect. We were blown away. Amazing doesn't even describe it. This mansion is absolutely perfect. We checked out a few of the guest rooms and they are ALL to die for! Very private, very very nice. We can't wait to go back. The town is cute too!

Risposta del proprietario
One of the things we like to tell potential guests who are first time B&B visitors is that we are large enough to maintain your privacy but small enough to retain that friendly, feel at home atmosphere. Thanks for the review.


Quilting Weekend

5 su ottobre 10, 2010

The Mercersburg Inn is our favorite destination. You'll not find cleaner or more comfortable accommodations. Byron's room (#1) has a spacious bedroom with a fireplace, private porch from which you see the lighted cathedral steeples at night, a luxurious, canopied bed with plump pillows and chaise. The quaint, turn of the century bathroom has a sparking tub, shower, and fluffy towels as well as cozy robes. You'll want to try the salmon for dinner, but only if the sole is not available. Be sure to try their home made granola on the sidebar in the breakfast room while you're waiting for your entree. Men - make a reservation now. Your wife will be charmed!

Risposta del proprietario
The housekeeping staff knows that cleanliness is Lisa's top priority. They know they have to keep everything as if Lisa's mom was visiting. And women know what that means. Thank you for the great review.


an outstanding bed and breakfast

5 su settembre 21, 2010

If you want to experience a truely outstanding bed and breakfast, this is it! It seems as if the inkeepers are workaholics by the way their beautiful home is kept and run. The attention to only the best that they and their staff gave us, the perfect details they surrounded us with, makes me absolutely believe that this is the finest bed and breakfast we have even stayed at.

Risposta del proprietario
I am glad you had a great visit with us and await your return so we can do it all over again. Thanks!


Absolutely Romantic Retreat

4,0 su settembre 16, 2008

I had always dreaned of going to this plantation style home as a young girl. At 28, when I got married,my husband and I stayed there for a night. I was not disappointed. We went back for our 10 yr anniv. and 2 or 3 times a year since. We have been married 12 wonderful years. We will keep going back!! Everyone should have a "romantic retreat" once in a while.

Risposta del proprietario
The best thing an innkeeper can hear is that we have done our job well enough to have people return to us over the years. Thank you for the lovely review and allowing us to share some memories with you.


spectacular

5 su giugno 20, 2007

This bed and breakfast was truely the most enjoyable inn I have ever stayed at. My husband and I travel all over and we have stayed at various inns through out the states. This Inn was the most sophisicated and luxurious mansion I ever saw. The rooms were so intriguing and the cleanliness and upkeep of the house was wonderful. The food is to die for!! It is a great place for events and dinners or a weekend getaway. THe owners, Jim and Lisa are blessed people. They are outgoing and caring towards their home and their guests that come visit. I will recommend this place to everyone and I cant wait for the oppoprtunity to go back and visit!

Risposta del proprietario
The biggest compliment anyone can give to Lisa is about the extreme cleanliness of the Inn. The housekeepers know that they have to keep the house as if "Lisa's Mom is coming tomorrow". I guess all the women really understand that. I want to thank you for taking the time to write this note, it is so rewarding for us to hear that we are doing a god job. Our favorite part of being an innkeeper is meeting the guests and spending some time with them. We look forward to your return visit. We enjo


The Mercersburg Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $140 - $325
  • Recensioni (128) 4,5
  • Camere 17
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7173285231
  • Numero di Fax 1-7173283403
  • Gratuito 1-866MBURG01

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina