The Great Valley House of Valley Forge Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,3
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
22 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A memorable week.

5 su luglio 24, 2012

We stayed at Great Valley House for a week in July, How wonderful it was, from the accommodations to the delightful breakfasts in the historic kitchen. What a wonderful retreat into history, plus the use of the swimming pool with an occasional deer wandering nearby.. Susan and Nick Bereda


THE REAL DEAL!

5 su aprile 18, 2011

B & B's can be soooooo twee - all those Martha Stewart bins of potpourri, tacky faux colonialisms...fakedom in general. but here we have the real deal - a splendidly maintained and restored home that dates from 1690, real antiques, and a gracious and knowledgeable host. if you want real American colonial history, this is the place. can't recommend The Great Valley House and Pattye Benson enough. Top Marks!


Homeschooling Family Looking for History

5 su aprile 16, 2011

My husband and I took our 2 children (ages 11 and 13) to Valley Forge for a 3-day getaway. We homeschool our children and have found that it is really helpful to visit areas as we study them - we were studying the Revolutionary War and I thought it would be perfect to stay nearby Valley Forge National Historica Park and was delighted to find this 300-yr. old inn closeby. The owner of the Great Valley House is president of the local historical society and had one story after another to entice our 2 boys. Her special stories about the house and the area during the 1700's really made the history come to life for our boys. We visited several months ago, and they are still talking about the trip. I want to publically thank Pattye for her patience with our endless questions and for her taking so much time with us. She created special memories for this family from Wisconsin!


Don't look in the corners

2,6 su marzo 02, 2011

This is a great old, old house, but that doesn't give the right to have dust bunnies on a third of the floors, or windows that haven't been cleaned in years. The food was good and interesting that it fit the primitive surroundings of a very old kitchen with original equipped fireplace. Pattye was very knowledgeable about the history of the house, but did not seem interested in her guests or their questions. Maybe a good place for a corporate overnight, but not for the interested history buff as most of the house was off limits. What a shame in the backyard of Valley Forge.


College Trip Visiting at Villanova University

5 su febbraio 22, 2011

My wife and I with our 17yr. old son were on a week-long college visit trip. We were in Valley Forge area to visit Villanova University and stayed at the Great Valley House. We arrived later than expected in the midst of a snow storm. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and instantly had a feeling of being comfortable and at home. The owner was warm and welcoming and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. Breakfast in the 'old kitchen' was a very special treat. With snow continuing to fall outside, we sat in front of a fire in the big walk-in fireplace, and struggled to leave for college visits. If our son is lucky and gets accepted at Villanova U, we know we will have a 'home away from home' for the next 4 years. Susan & John Russell PS: When we left after breakfast, Jeff (the innkeeper's husband) had thoughtfully cleared the snow from our car!


Cool house, but needs some attention

3,0 su febbraio 08, 2011

We stayed at the Great Valley House on a recent business trip to Philadelphia. We really enjoyed the building and general vibe of the old house. The innkeeper is very freindly and a history buff which made for interesting conversation. What we weren't expecting was horrible beds that felt as though they may have been original to the house and the linens/bedding felt cheap and uncomfortable. The only other complaint was the place is in desperate need of a good scrubbing.


Thank you for the stay

5 su gennaio 24, 2010

I stayed at the Great Valley House during the Christmas holidays. I was visiting family in the area and did not want to stay in a hotel. I felt like I was returning home the moment I was greeted at the door. It is obvious that Pattye has been an innkeeper for a long time - she has an wonderful way of making you feel right at home and she treats you has a long lost relative rather than a stranger she is meeting for the first time. I plan on returning often to visit family, because now I have the perfect plact to stay!


A Great Get Away!!!!

4,0 su novembre 03, 2009

My daughter and I recently spent a weekend touring the sights in the Valley Forge, PA area. To say the highlight of the trip for me was our stay at The Great Valley House of Valley Forge is an understatement. Having never before stayed at a bed and breakfast I was a little apprehensive. Pattye Benson, the owner and hostess of the bed and breakfast, quickly put my apprehension to rest! Her love of the house as well as her knowledge of its history are endless. The food and accommodations far exceeded our expectations. We're already thinking ahead to a time when we can return.


Great Fall Getaway

4,8 su novembre 17, 2008

Valley Forge in the Fall has to be just about the perfect place to visit. Wow, what a great weekend getaway from the craziness of Manhattan. We loved our stay at the Great Valley House - it made the weekend even more special. I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone who wants to experience 'history' first hand.


Autumn Getaway

5 su novembre 12, 2008

My husband and I just had a wonderful weekend getaway at the Great Valley House. The old kitchen where we had breakfast -- was absolutely amazing! We had breakfast in front of a large walk in fireplace with a blazing fire going. The food was great and the conversation with the owner and other guests was wonderful! Can't wait to come back and experience each of the seasons at this place.


Colonial Delight!

5 su agosto 02, 2008

We recently stayed at the Great Valley House of Valley Forge. My husband found this bed & breakfast because he loves history! And history this house house -- it dates back to the 17th century. We didn't know such a place excited in the US. From the moment we opened the door we were treated like family and felt like we were returning home. The owner and innkeeper is a delight. She explained the history of the house in such a way that it kept the adults entranced as well as our 7-yr. old. Such a gift - and she has been at this for over 20 yrs. You feel her passion for the house every where you look. For any of you travelers - on vacation, business (wireless internet in the guest rooms), honeymooners, etc. it doesn't matter - this place has it all.


Antique House

4,2 su novembre 08, 2007

Dear Pattye (et al), Just a quick note to thank and tell you one more time what a wonderful stay you afforded us and for the great breakfasts, accommodations, hospitality, history lessons and directions given. We really had a (short) but wonderful time and will spread the word about you and your B&B to all who may be thinking of wanting to have a similar experience in Western PA. Thanks again, Sincerely Larry & Yvonne Oct, 2007 Napa, CA


Charming and comfortable

3,8 su ottobre 16, 2007

We stayed at the Great Valley House for three nights, and found it to be charming and very comfortable. Pattye (the innkeeper) is a character, and our experience as her guests was very good. This is not a reproduction house, but is an old (old) house. We did not expect the same modern amenities as a chain hotel -- we were looking for a unique and historic place to stay. The charm and comfort of the room, and the delicious breakfasts, far outweighed the 3 minute wait for hot water. Our room was clean and comfortable, and I would definitely stay there again.


A Perfect Getaway

5 su ottobre 13, 2007

My husband and I needed time off from our busy lives in Manhattan and found the Great Valley House. Wow - what a treat. It was just what the doctor ordered! A step back in time. Don't stay here if you really want a Holiday Inn experience. This wonderful 300-yr. old bed & breakfast with its history, stone walls, antiques and great breakfasts is about as far from a hotel experience as you can get. I think we have found the perfect place to 'get away from it all'! And we hope to return many, many times. Thank you Pattye for making us feel so welcome and so special. Visiting with you was like visiting with an old friend.


Very Convenient

3,4 su ottobre 10, 2007

The locatn was very convenient to Philadelphia and other atractions in the area. The stay was nice. Pattye is a nice host.


Coming Back As Soon As I Can

4,6 su settembre 09, 2007

Even in the dark I had no problem finding the Great Valley House. ( I love good directions)Pattye greeted me with a smile and from that moment until I pulled out of the driveway 2 days later I felt like I could stay indefinately. I felt so at home, my room was nice and cool on a very hot humid night. The strength of 27" thick stone walls, the gorgeous wood, the vintage dresses, the hand made quilts (Pattye is an amazing artist), the easy internet hookup, a kettle for tea in the alcove--I was completely content. I was thrilled to have found this place instead of staying at the hotel during the conference I was attending. 3 long days of classes I was hoping for a place I could relax. Breakfast each morning was delicious and kept my blood sugar stable til much later (not an easy feat). Pattye kept me company during breakfasts and I enjoyed her stories immensely. My second night I felt like I was home, or better, I really just enjoyed being in my room. No elevator noise, no voices in the hallways, no toilets flushing, showers running, no canned hotel air: Just peace and the beauty of the home and it's decor and it's 300 year old strength and pride-a true getaway. I found a reason to come back 5 weeks later :). Thank you Pattye for your hospitality, friendly conversation, and really interesting B&B, and thanks to you and Jeff,both, for the help with my very heavy suitcase! The Great Valley House is a rare treat as far as a safe, comfortable, relaxing, place to stay whether business or pleasure or just a retreat you've got my recommendation 100%. See you soon!


Great Valley became my second home

5 su luglio 20, 2007

I had the good fortune to find the Great Valley House b&b while working for a nearby company. Over the course of a year I stayed with Pattye many times (about one week a month) and it felt like home from my very first visit. Pattye's creative cooking, gracious hospitality and passion for her home and its history made my stays in Malvern a real pleasure. I have stayed in many b&b's while traveling on business, but this one is truly special! Thanks, Pattye!


First-Timer

5 su maggio 10, 2007

This was the first B&B I stayed at and I was pleasantly surprised. I was on a training seminar for business and as soon as I got back, I recommended the Great Valley House to our training coordiinator for anyone who had to travel to the area. Pattye even turned on the A/C on my second afternoon while I was away so the room was nice and cool when I got back! I will be back in touch when I travel this way again!


Perfect Getaway

5 su marzo 04, 2007

My husband and I had such a relaxing and comfortable stay here. I don't know what we enjoyed more -- our cozy, romantic bedroom or the huge walk in fire place that's in the dining room where we had a lovely breakfast. The house itself has so much history and the Innkeeper was very informative. We visited in the winter so unfortunately we were not able to take in the grounds and swimming pool, however, we are looking forward to going back in the summer. Besides the fact that this B&B is so charming with treats for the eyes in every room it also is close to Valley Forge National Park, many fabulous restaurants and plenty of shopping.


A Great Stay!

5 su gennaio 26, 2007

21st Century Convenience in 17th Century Charm greeted me at The Great Valley House, and the Innkeeper’s hospitality, scrumptious breakfasts served with fascinating history, and three gorgeous guest rooms made for a delightful visit. The Great Valley House is a destination unto itself – whether traveling for business or pleasure, a stay at The Great Valley House will not only satisfy, but also inspire. Many thanks to Pattye and her family for sharing their home and its history!


Wonderful Stay - November 2006

5 su gennaio 12, 2007

We stayed at the Great Valley House in November 2006. The breakfasts were amazing - and the perfect setting with a fire going in the walk-in fireplace. We will be back!


Hotel No More

5 su gennaio 12, 2007

Pattye, I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed my stay this week at your lovely home. I regret having to leave earlier than planned, but duty called. I can assure you, I plan on making reservations the next time I'm in the area for business or pleasure. Plus, I will highly recommend your home to my friends and colleagues.


The Great Valley House of Valley Forge

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $94 - $129
  • Recensioni (22) 4,6
  • Camere 3
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6106446759

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina