The Doubleday Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,9

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,9
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
47 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Battlefield Retreat

4,6 su ottobre 07, 2012

When they say this is on the battlefield they mean it! This B&B is the perfect spot to enjoy your stay in Gettysburg. It's easy access to the auto tour some of the most beautiful monument, fields, and views. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and beautiful views from every window. The owners are friendly and offer honest tidbits of where to eat, and things to do. Sitting in the backyard enjoying the views of the battlefield, mountains and wildlife was the favorite part of my stay. I could have sat there all day. They do lots of little "extras" that take it above & beyond just a B&B such as ghost story books in each room, the latest auto tour guide to enjoy while you stay, a historian q&a one night. It's just great and they have a repeat customer when we return!


Doubleday Inn

4,8 su luglio 20, 2011

The atmosphere of the Doubleday Inn was amazing. It is located on the battlefield in a quiet relaxing atmosphere. My husband and I are very active individuals and thought this may be something we would not enjoy at first. Much to our surprise we were only about a mile or 2 from the center of town. The B&B gave us a great location to get away and relax for a short period of time during the day before going on our evening ghost tours! Christine and Todd were amazing hosts! They both went above and beyond with giving maps of directions for everywhere we went, providing us with background information and even helping us locate a local health facility for my husband who became sick during our stay. The B&B was very clean, comfortable and well kept. Each day after breakfast Todd & Christine would put out tea, coffee, water and fresh baked cookies that they prepared themselves. Everything was wonderful and inviting. We can't wait to go back!


sister trip

5 su maggio 18, 2011

My sister & I had a wonderful stay. the room had a wonderful view. Breakfast was great. It was so relaxing. at the edge of town away from traffic but close enouph to get where you needed to. It was wonderful to see the mounments from our room. We plan to go back next year. You must stay here if you are going to gettysburg.


Great place, perfect location

4,2 su gennaio 11, 2011

We really enjoyed this visit. Christine and Todd were very helpful with directions, suggestions, etc... And the breakfasts were very good. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit. We thank them again for suggesting for us to eat at the Cashtown Inn.


Location on the Battlefield

4,8 su agosto 19, 2010

The room was as described and met my expectations. Christine and Todd were gratious and helpful innkeepers. They had great advice on dining choices. The location is on the battlefield where the first day's battle occurred. I would stay at Doubleday Inn again and would refer it, especiallyto those who want the location on the battlefield.


Another great stay at the Doubleday Inn

5 su agosto 10, 2010

The Doubleday Inn has great inkeepers(Todd and Christine) along with an excellent location on the battlefield.


Beautiful and COMFORTABLE

5 su gennaio 17, 2010

We travel to Gettysburg 2-3 times per year and have stayed at numerous b&b's. We finally booked early enough to get in at the Doubleday Inn and we can see now why there is such competition to stay there. Most of the larger Inns have unfortunately become so stuffy and over-the-top Victorian that they are no longer comfortable. The Doubleday Inn focuses exclusively on the history of Gettysburg, which is the whole reason we come in the first place. The Inn sits right ON the battlefield, it's just amazing. Trust me, if you don't stay here you will drive past it on the battlefield tour and drool with envy when you see the location. The house itself is elegant and clean (as you would expect any b&b to be) but also so COMFORTABLE, and it's clear that Todd and Christine have designed the whole layout to be user friendly, which we've not found in other places (usually you feel like you're not supposed to sit on or touch anything because it's so fussy). This is a b&b that finally my husband feels comfortable coming back to, he loves their location, their rooms with free WiFi, and their simple country breakfasts. He is a fussy eater and it's nice that here he never has to worry about finding something he can't pronounce on his plate, nor do they fool around with multiple courses...who has all day to be sitting at the breakfast table when they're in Gettysburg??? The breakfast comes out fully plated and steaming hot, you can enjoy the food, their awesome coffee and great conversations while looking out the window over the battlefield...pretty hard to beat. We truly feel like we are coming "home" when we stay at the Doubleday Inn.


Wonderful place

5 su gennaio 13, 2010

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend here this past December with 16 inches of snow falling...simply amazing to see the Gettysburg Battlefield and all the monuments covered. Even if everything else had been horrible the location would have more than made up for it! But of course absolutely everything was perfect: clean cozy room, really comfortable bed, delicious breakfast each morning and perfect hosts Christine and Todd. They are naturals at the hospitality business and really make you feel like you've come "home". We will definitely be returning. Don't disappoint yourself, book your next stay in Gettysburg at the Doubleday Inn.


Truly the only B&B right on the battlefield!

5 su dicembre 11, 2009

I stayed in the Colonel Devin Room – bright morning sun and battlefield views, huge private bathroom. Amiable hosts, great breakfasts and no better location than Double Day Inn. It is the ONLY B&B right on the battlefield. I recommend this inn for those who want to sit outside and ponder this history changing place from long ago – you can walk or bike along the battlefield from this B&B (first day battle). The innkeepers are more than happy to store your bikes when needed. They are very helpful and can provide some insight to the area you won’t find in the travel brochures! I would be happy to visit this inn in the future!


One of the BEST B&B's Ever

4,0 su novembre 02, 2009

Well....if you plan to visit Gettysburg, then the DoubleDay Inn is the definite place to stay! Have been to several B&B's and this one, by far, is the best. Rooms were clean and the breakfast was yummy! Best view of the battlefield, by far. Christine and Todd were very friendly and made you feel at home. And Molly, their golden retriever, was always available for hugs and kisses too. We will definitely be back. Carl and Lisa Leisinger, Ewing, NJ


Loved it!

5 su settembre 13, 2009

We just returned from our vacation, which included 3 nights at the Doubleday Inn. My sister and brother-in-law also stayed, so we had a marvelous weekend with loved ones in a fabulous setting. The B&B is situated directly across the road from the battlefields. You can see them from your bedroom windows. Makes you feel such a part of history. Todd and Christine were wonderful hosts, the B&B was spotless, warm, and comfortable. The breakfasts were super. In fact, I have already been online trying to find a recipe that would duplicate the caramel french toast - melted in our mouths (haven't been successful yet in finding one).


Loved it!

5 su settembre 01, 2009

We had a wonderful weekend at the Doubleday Inn, with wonderful hosts Christine, Todd and of course Molly! The house is gorgeous, located right on the battlefield and immaculate inside and out. Loved the civil war memorabilia located everywhere. All the info we needed to explore the town was right at our fingertips. Breakfasts were very good and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Homemade sugar cookies were to die for! Also liked have a guest fridge available so we could stash our sodas and snacks. Can not wait to return!


Awesome!

5 su agosto 21, 2009

Friendly, relaxed and beautiful b&b in Gettysburg. What we liked best was the location right on the battlefield, it is just so quiet and peaceful and we really felt rejuvenated. Todd & Christine are super friendly and just really down to earth, felt like we were staying with friends. Breakfast was served hot and delicious. Our room was so comfortable with lots of little touches like decorative tissue boxes and pretty soaps that made me feel pampered. Overall a wonderful stay. We will be back to this one for sure!


Everything we were looking for in historic Gettysburg

5 su luglio 28, 2009

Beautiful home in the most amazing location, directly on the Gettysburg Battlefield. We stayed in the Robert E. Lee Room on the ground floor (I use a cane and was really happy to find a b&b with first floor rooms) which was spacious and decorated in a warm country style. Loved the quiet central A/C and it was kept COLD...like we like it! Fluffy towels and really nice soaps/shampoos available, as well as hairdryer which is a plus. Breakfast was very filling, loved the blueberry muffins. Simple country food, also like we like it! Friendly, helpful innkeepers who are there if you need them but not hovering around if you don't. They are really down to earth, some places we've stayed in Gettysburg you would think they are expecting the Queen of England to drop in at any moment...makes it very hard to relax. We felt very comfortable and "at home" at the Doubleday. All the info you would ever need to explore Gettysburg is available here, we loved just exploring at our own pace. We will be back!


WOW!

5 su giugno 16, 2009

The Doubleday Inn states it is the only b&b on the Gettysburg Battlefield...holy cow they are not exaggerating!!! We were stunned upon driving up to the Inn to realize that the house actually sits ON the National Military Park. You are literally surrounded by the beautiful open fields, rock walls and monuments that cover this historic place. We could not have been happier with our choice. The Inn's location was so peaceful and quiet. It was great to leave the crowds and noise of the downtown area behind each day and come back to our own oasis. Christine and Todd were great hosts, very welcoming and with more knowledge on the town, how to explore, and the history of the battle than anyone else we spoke with our entire 3 days in Gettysburg. Having the CD Auto Tour available for borrowing was so nice, we were able to take our time and really explore the fields. Breakfasts were awesome and filling, the afternoon cookies delicious, and the WiFi that worked even in the backyard was a great touch! Now that I am back at work I keep picturing the next time I can sit in the backyard at the Doubleday and enjoy the flowers, throw the ball for Molly, and gaze at the historic grounds. We will definitely be back! This is truly the best possible place to stay in Gettysburg, keep up the good work!


Wonderful visit!!

5 su maggio 25, 2009

We had an amazing time at the Doubleday Inn!!! The innkeepers were wonderful and felt very at home there!!! I also LOVED their dog!!! Being on the battlefield was amazing and we truly felt like we were at home!!


Best B&B

5 su maggio 12, 2009

The interaction of Todd & Christine with us each morning gave our visit a great personal touch. They knew the area well and shared their information with us so we could plan our day to get the most from our visit to Gettysburg. The breakfast was AMAZING and I was grateful for the recipe they were willing to share with us. They thought of everything and it showed in the charming details! My husband & I thought we had spent a week with old friends. We will always stay here when visiting Gettysburg in the future. Robert & Donna Blankenship, McKinney,TX


Our very favorite Gettysburg b&b

5 su maggio 01, 2009

All of the many B&B's we've visited in Gettysburg have had a beautiful home and very nice innkeepers. The Doubleday Inn is of course no exception, and it just seems to have that little something extra that makes it a keeper for us, and one we come back to over and over. The location cannot be beat (first-timers keep in mind that EVERYTHING in Gettysburg has the word "battlefield" in the name as a marketing gimmick, but this is the only place that is actually ON the battlefield itself). It is amazing to go for a quiet morning walk, having all of the National Park to yourself. It is SO quiet here...we were able to sleep with the windows open and hear the crickets and tree frogs. You feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, yet you are literally a 2 minute ride into downtown and all the "tourist" things you want to visit. The breakfasts are hearty and delicious, as are the afternoon cookies and hot chocolate. Everything about this house is designed for the history lover, from the authentic maps and period furniture, to the incredible historical knowledge of Todd & Christine, the innkeepers. There are extra little touches everywhere, like extra pillows and blankets in the room, a comprehensive list of things to do and places to eat in town also listed in the room, and just any info on the Gettysburg area that you could think to ask for. It's obvious that these owners want you to get the most out of your stay. We felt welcomed like old friends from our first visit. If you want that extra feeling of being cared for and at "home", choose the Doubleday Inn for your next stay in Gettysburg. Allen & Debra Clark Chadds Ford, PA


Our best B&B experience!

5 su aprile 25, 2009

We have tried all of Gettysburg's numerous B&B's and this rates as our all-time favorite! The BEST location you can imagine, no where else can you actually stay ON the battlefield. Beautiful rooms, great decor, delicious breakfasts, afternoon tea and cookies, and a historian discussion on Saturday nights. Fabulous innkeepers Todd & Christine will get you settled in and treat you like old friends. The Doubleday is simply the BEST, you need look no further than this!


THIS IS THE ONE!!!

5 su marzo 10, 2009

We live in Baltimore and Gettysburg is our favorite get-away because it is inexpensive and close to home for a weekend trip. We have stayed at 10 different B&B's in the area over the years and finally got to try the Doubleday Inn this past weekend. They book up quickly and no wonder...this place is pure Gettysburg perfection and we cannot wait to return! Simply put, the location cannot be beat. There is no other place where you can stay on the actual battlefield itself...we walked every morning at 8 am and had the entire field to ourselves. We really lucked out and had a rare March warm-up, and actually got to sleep with the windows open...amazingly quiet and dark sleeping right on the field! You definitely cannot do this anywhere in town, Gettysburg is unbelievably busy with traffic even in the off-season. This experience was just priceless to us, who desperately needed to get away from our busy workaday lives. Christine & Todd are wonderful hosts, they have a knack for warm conversation and making everyone feel at ease. This contributed to the nicest group of fellow inn-goers we've ever experienced in Gettysburg...everyone had similar interests and our conversations at breakfast were so much fun. The food portions were generous and so tasty. Afternoon treats and tea were a nice touch. We stayed in the Bell Jefferson room which had a huge row of windows looking right out over the battlefield...the sunsets were gorgeous. We loved the soft fluffy towels and the lovely lavendar soaps. We have already booked a return trip for August, when we can enjoy all the outdoor space that the Inn has...the views are beautiful in every direction. Plan early and treat yourself to a stay at this truly special and historical Inn!


Best of Gettysburg in every way

5 su febbraio 24, 2009

Having stayed at two other Gettysburg b&b's, I can guarantee that the Doubleday Inn is the ONLY one we will return to again! It is incredible, located right on the battlefield which is the whole reason we come to Gettysburg in the first place. What I like best is the complete lack of "fussiness" here...the house is beautiful and elegant, but in a comfortable way that made my hubby and I feel relaxed. Todd & Christine really make you feel like old friends come to visit...they just have a knack for putting you at ease. Breakfasts were delicious and very filling and we really liked the option to eat later (other places forced you to eat at 8:30...too early for us). We stayed in the Robert E. Lee room which was huge and had the most beautiful view of the battlefield. Finally, this b&b is such an incredible value...it was LESS than the other two we tried, and with this location that is hard to believe! We also felt that Doubleday's breakfast was much more generous which only added to the value for us, we never even needed to eat lunch. In these tough economic times it is so nice to have an affordable place to get away from it all. We have already booked to come back in May!


Memories to last a lifetime...

5 su febbraio 10, 2009

We got engaged at the Doubleday Inn last weekend! I was so nervous, but Christine was a wonderful help. She had champagne, roses, chocolate covered strawberries and balloons in our room, waiting when we came back from dinner on Saturday evening. I proposed at the Peace Light Memorial which is on the same road as the inn. We had a beautiful full moon and the battlefield all around us, all to ourselves. We took a long romantic walk and then came back to the Inn to find all of our goodies waiting to help us celebrate. The Doubleday Inn has a very special place in our hearts, we will be returning for our honeymoon! Shawn Gilletti and the future Mrs. Rebecca Gilletti!


This place IS the Gettysburg Battlefield!

5 su febbraio 04, 2009

We began our very first Gettysburg trip at another inn that had "battlefield" in the name...it was NOT on the battlefield, or even close to it for that matter. Luckily we did the cd driving tour that the park visitor center sells and lo and behold we ended up driving right past the Doubleday Inn, just past stop #3 on the official park tour...ON the battlefield! THIS was what we were looking for. It was a Sunday and they had rooms available so we jumped on it...what an amazing place and one we hope to return to soon. Christine gave us a friendly greeting and gave us our choice of rooms and our choice of breakfast the next morning as we were the only guests (request the Caramel French Toast...it is to die for). We chose the Bell Jefferson on the ground floor which has huge windows that looked right out over the battlefield. Todd built us a fire in the living room that night. Very peaceful sitting there, reading and talking. We chose to have a late breakfast at 9 am and spent more than an hour talking Gettysburg history, these guys really know their facts. Ask to see the bullets found in their front yard, amazing. I had to drag my hubby out of there, he would have kept them going all day. This is definitely the place we will call "home" on our next visit to Gettysburg...with their location they could easily charge double the price for their rooms but they are actually LESS expensive than the other area inns...you can tell these people love Gettysburg history and want to share it with others. You are doing a great job!


Warm and wonderful Inn

5 su dicembre 24, 2008

We just completed a special holiday weekend at the Doubleday Inn and had a truly wonderful experience. Todd and Christine, you have created a warm oasis for visitors in your very special home on the Gettysburg Battlefield. For folks like us needing a "time out" from the real world, there could be no better cure than sitting in your parlor, sipping a cup of hot chocolate by the fire, and chatting with the two of you about the history and happenings in Gettysburg. You both have the gift of hospitality, making us feel like old friends from the moment we arrived. Your enthusiasm and warmth are unmatched! The Inn is historic, beautiful, thoughtfully appointed, comfortable and clean. Every room has a Battlefield view, and we even got to see some snow during our visit! Breakfasts are huge and delicious, and we loved the company of the other guests. Wonderful coffee! We have found our new "home" in Gettysburg, and are already planning to return in the summer to the Doubleday Inn, the very finest b&b in town!


Absolute BEST in Gettysburg!

4,0 su dicembre 21, 2008

We spent a total of 5 nights in Gettysburg, in 3 different b&b's. Doubleday Inn was far and away our favorite. The difference is the hosts, Todd & Christine actually live on the property and their high standards are evident everywhere, from the thoughtfully appointed guest rooms to the delicious and HUGE breakfasts. You simply feel like you are "home" from the moment you arrive at this Inn...it's difficult to describe but I would say it is elegant without every being fussy. Though this was our first visit here we felt welcomed like family. The orientation materials they have available for exploring all of Gettysburg were excellent...much more than we received at any other place. We're glad we came here last, as we got to finish on a high note! Choose the Doubleday Inn for your trip to Gettysburg...if you stay anywhere else you'll be disappointed! Jake Herndon Kalamazoo, MI


Truly special experience

5 su novembre 11, 2008

I surprised my hubby with a Civil War vacation for his 40th birthday, with Todd & Christine at the Doubleday Inn providing guidance and help every step of the way! They helped me not only plan our 10 day stay in Gettysburg, with tips on everything from touring the field to restaurants and shops, but they are also experts on the surrounding areas, including Harper's Ferry, Antietam, Monocacy, Frederick and Lancaster. Their website is WONDERFUL, you just can't go wrong with their recommendations...everything they suggested exceeded our expectations in terms of quality and value, and we felt like "insiders" instead of tourists. Thank you both SO much for the interest you took in our vacations, you have really made this the trip of a lifetime for both of us. You both have the God-given gift of true hospitality. We would never consider staying ANYWHERE in Gettysburg than at the Doubleday Inn, right on the Battlefield!


Wonderful and welcoming B&B

5 su settembre 01, 2008

There aren't enough superlatives to describe our first visit to Gettysburg...it exceeded our expectations in every way, beginning and ending with our choice of the Doubleday Inn. I don't think there could be a better place to stay for first-time visitors, Christine & Todd have simply thought of everything to make sure you get the maximum out of your time here. The Inn is beautiful yet still comfortable, close to town yet far enough away to enjoy the quiet, and located RIGHT on the battlefield...perfection! Food was delicious, the Bell Jefferson room had a very comfortable bed and an amazing view of the field. Icing on the cake was the historian on Saturday night, he answered all of our questions, and was like a walking, talking encyclopedia. We left with a profound new appreciation of the sacrifices that were made in this most important battle of the Civil War, and with a new enthusiasm to learn as much as we can in order to honor that sacrifice. I can promise we WILL return to Gettysburg as soon as possible, and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere other than the Doubleday Inn when we do. Mark & Ellen Long, Chicago IL


The ONLY place to stay in Gettysburg!

5 su agosto 21, 2008

Just returned from the BEST getaway weekend to Gettysburg we've ever had! Living in Baltimore, we get to Gettysburg several times a year and have stayed at all the major hotels and b&b's over the past 10 years. We have been wanting to stay at the Doubleday but they book up so quickly we've never been able to make it happen before. We got MAJORLY lucky when they had a cancellation this weekend and we pounced on it! What can I say, it was more than worth the wait. The location is like no other, you just can't describe the feeling of actually staying ON the battlefield. The real difference is Todd & Christine, they are super people who clearly love Gettysburg and it shows. They are not interested in shuffling you into the "tourist trap" like other b&b's we've visited, they are all about the history and helping you learn all that you might want to, and they focus on only the "quality" attractions, as unfortunately Gettysburg has quite a few things that are far from worth the cost of admission. You can just tell that they have been tourists here themselves, by the way they try to help you get the most out of your time and money. The building itself is charming, decorated in a beautiful country motif with so many Civil War accents, you could spend days just reading all the neat things on the walls! Spotlessly clean, and the in-room amenities were very high quality which I always find impressive. Breakfasts were awesome, fully plated so you don't have to deal with a buffet, and nice big portions to boot. Coffee was excellent and I am a Starbucks snob! We can't wait to come back to this wonderful Inn, we have learned our lesson and will book EARLY from here on in to ensure we get to stay at this very best of the Gettysburg lodging establishments!


The Best B & B in Gettysburg!

5 su agosto 18, 2008

We loved our stay at The Doubleday Inn and will recommend it to our friends & family!! Christine & Todd were wonderful hosts and the breakfasts were delicious! The rooms are immaculate and our bed was very comfortable! It was great staying right on the battlefield!


Beyond our expectations in every way.

4,8 su luglio 13, 2008

We have been visiting PA for years, and have stayed in numerous Gettysburg B&B's. This year we planned early and finally got a chance to try the Doubleday Inn. Our vacation was incredible, and our expectations were truly exceeded in every way. The Inn is simple, elegant, comfortable and "homey". The rooms are immaculate and beautifully decorated to reflect the surrounding battlefield. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious, as were the afternoon baked treats and selection of fine English teas. We stayed for 7 days and had the pleasure of listening to the historian on both Wednesday and Saturday, what a treat! To us, the true difference that makes this B&B stand out above all others would be the innkeepers. Todd & Christine, you do an outstanding job of making visitors to your home feel welcome and well-cared-for. It is clear that you love what you do. Your knowledge of the Battle of Gettysburg as well as the best way to see all of the field and the town makes you both an invaluable resource to Gettysburg enthusiasts. We feel we have found wonderful new friends, which makes this special vacation destination even more so for us now. Many thanks for your wonderful hospitality! Ellen & Patrick Cooper Los Angeles, CA


The real deal!

4,0 su giugno 23, 2008

We were so very pleased with our recent 5 night stay at the Doubleday Inn that we have booked again for October. This was our first time to Gettysburg and we couldn't have chosen a more perfect spot to call "home", everything from the location to the innkeepers make this Inn an A+. Absolutely everything at this Inn was even better than it looks online and via reviews on this site (which helped us to choose to stay here in the first place). The rooms are immaculately clean and so beautiful, with thoughtful touches everywhere to make you feel pampered. We especially appreciated the quiet central air conditioning as the area was having an early heat wave during our visit. The location of the Inn is a dream come true for Civil War buffs like my husband and myself, the house is actually ON the battlefield. It was truly a spiritual experience for us to not only get to tour Gettysburg but to actually "live" on the battlefield for a few days, it was simply priceless. We had many early morning and late night walks along Iverson's Pits and to the Peace Light Memorial, about 1/4 mile from the Inn. Todd & Christine are what really make the place so special, they are warm and inviting people as well as serious students of history and can help with anything you might want to learn or explore in Gettysburg and even down to Antietam and Harper's Ferry, which are an easy day trip from the Inn. Breakfasts were HUGE and so good, everything homemade and very tasty. Plus the conversation was wonderful, with guests from as far as Australia and Scotland visiting while we happened to be there...a truly warm and charming atmosphere to start the day. We can't wait to return to Gettysburg this fall and to spend time on the battlefield once again. Thank you so much to Todd & Christine for a vacation of a lifetime!


Simply a cut above other Gettysburg B&B's

4,0 su maggio 31, 2008

We just attended our daughter's graduation at Gettysburg College. We had tried for 4 years to get a reservation at the Doubleday Inn but to no avail...they book up FAST! Finally we were able to reserve with our entire family and it was well worth the wait. Having stayed at 2 other B&B's in downtown for various college weekends, we were certainly satisfied but can now see for ourselves why the Doubleday Inn is so very popular. It is simply a cut above, with a beautiful and QUIET location (this is not the case downtown), a huge yard with beautiful gardens in full bloom and nothing but open fields in every direction. It was truly a vacation for our souls. Even with all the flurry of activity going on surrounding graduation we were able to relax and unwind because Todd & Christine had taken care of all of our reservations and travel needs months ahead. This gave us precious time to visit with out daughter and the rest of our extended family who came to town for the occassion. My husband really appreciated the guest computer as he was able to get up early the morning of our departure and print out boarding passes for the group without having to disturb anyone else. We simply felt treated like royalty during our three day stay, the food was delicious and plentiful (we had some last minute special requests which were accommodated most graciously by Christine) the rooms perfectly clean and so thoughtfully appointed, it is obvious that a lot of time and love went into the design of this Inn. It really felt like "home" from the moment we arrived. Gettysburg will always be a special destination for us and we hope to return to this outstanding B&B very soon, just the two of us.


Peaceful and beautiful

5 su maggio 03, 2008

I booked this weekend for my wife for her 35th birthday. Had an absolutely wonderful time. Beautiful house, gardens in full bloom, awesome breakfasts and super innkeepers Todd and Christine. Attentive without ever being intrusive, their service was simply outstanding, gave us great recommendations for everything from restaurants to ghost tours. Stay here if you want to be well taken care of and enjoy all the best of Gettysburg. Overall the most relaxing escape from NYC that we've had in a very long time. We will be back!


Grand Prize Winners!

5 su aprile 25, 2008

We were the Grand Prize winners for the Doubleday's customer appreciation weekend and loved every minute of it. From the graciousness and generosity of our hosts, Christine and Todd, to their guest historian who shared Gettysburg history with the guests Saturday night. A stay at the Doubleday is a must for anyone wanting to experience the battlefield in a way no other B & B can offer.


Absolutly Awesome!!!

5 su aprile 16, 2008

Our stay at the Doubleday was amazing! Being right on the battlefield was a spiritual experience. The house is so comfortable and the breakfast was excellent with great company. Todd and Christine are marvalous hosts and gave us a Civil War history lesson like no other. We can't wait to get back there again. R&C San Clemente,Ca


Delightful!

4,8 su marzo 06, 2008

Our first trip to Gettysburg and it could NOT have been more lovely! What a great choice we made in staying here. The Doubleday Inn is in the perfect location (the only lodgings on the battlefield, we loved feeling surrounded by so much history), their website has all the info you need to plan a visit that includes all the town has to offer, the house is so charming and immaculate, and the breakfasts are out of this world! Everything a B&B lover could want. Plus Todd & Christine are just so sweet, they truly go above and beyond to make sure your visit is comfortable. We felt like we had found long-lost family, they just have the knack for hospitality. Todd made dinner reservations for us at the Dobbin House and the Cashtown Inn (both excellent), and set up a tour with a licensed battlefield guide which was available even though we were visiting in winter. We have stayed at B&B's all over the US, and this one just has a certain magic charm to it, we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Do not miss this outstanding B&B on your next trip to Gettysburg!


Outstanding B&B

5 su febbraio 21, 2008

We travel 50% of the year, both domestically and internationally, and this is simply one of the finest B&B's we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The Doubleday Inn features a beautiful vintage home with well-appointed, quiet guest rooms that are beyond clean, and warm caring innkeepers who have literally thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. This made for a truly relaxing stay without the usual "travel headaches". This was a superb vacation and Gettysburg is a destination we will visit each time our travels bring us to the east coast. We can't wait to return for another stay with Todd & Christine.


The BEST!

5 su gennaio 11, 2008

Staying at the Doubleday Inn was amazing. My husband and I got to relax and have fun. We went in the off season and it was not at all crowded and was truly special. Our inn keepers Christine and Todd were very knowledgeable and friendly! I can't wait to go back!


Truly a home away from home!

4,0 su novembre 26, 2007

We live in Lancaster County, PA and make 4-5 trips per year to Gettysburg. I believe we have stayed in almost every B&B in the area, and my overwhelming impression is that Gettysburg has more than its fair share of wonderful inns! Each place has its own specific charms, wonderful innkeepers, and delicious breakfasts. However, I believe that here in The Doubleday Inn we have truly found our new "home away from home" for all of our history-hunting trips! Firstly, the location is unbelievable...on the site of the July 1st fighting, with incredible vistas in every direction. We happened to be visiting over full moon this fall, and you can't imagine how haunting the glow of it was over the fields of battle and the Peace Light Memorial...truly touching. I think the true difference is the innkeepers Todd & Christine. Their knowledge of the Battle and the town is truly impressive, as is their genuine warmth and enthusiasm for ensuring that you get to see and do all that might interest you during your stay. So much attention to detail has been put into every room of this beautiful home. Everything is warm, welcoming, and comfortable. I don't think I've ever had a better night's sleep while on vacation. It's obvious that unlike so many B&B properties, this is not just an "investment" for the Thomas', but their true passion. We learned so many new and interesting things, and can't wait to come back again!


Charming B&B, Great Innkeepers

5 su ottobre 19, 2007

I'd never been to a B&B before but this is the yardstick by which any future stays will be measured. The rooms were beautifully done, in keeping with the ambience of the battlefield and the time. Todd and Christine were warm and welcoming, and our room had a lovely, newly done bath, with a claw-footed tub. I couldn't resist trying it out. There was plenty of hot water, clean, fluffy towels and enough lighting to put on make-up - something that's not always available! A very comfortable bed with lots of fresh pillows, crisp linens and a lovely quilt under which we snuggled after a wonderful day. The innkeepers helped us plan out our visit, including a great restaurant for dinner and a Ghost Tour of the old Seminary Grounds, led by a lovely woman dressed in period costume. When we got back to the B&B, the local historian was there, as he is from 9-11pm several nights a week, and he was gracious enough to extend his stay and answer a few of our questions. Breakfast the next morning was served by Todd, and it was delicious. We sat in the common living area - which was beautifully and comfortably designed - and visited with friends until it was check-out time and time to get back on the road. I would definitely stay there again and again. Our room was right on the battlefield, the sky was bright with stars at night, and there were no televisions in the room, which made it even nicer for me. Quiet, beautiful and restful. Guests were asked to be aware of noise after 11pm, and they were. When we finally crawled into bed, we left the blinds open and watched the stars. What a great stay.


Home Away from Home

5 su ottobre 19, 2007

The Doubleday Inn is the only place we will stay when in Gettysburg ! It never fails to meet up to expectations. I swear it actually gets better every time we go. The rooms are immaculate and beautiful, and breakfast is out of this world. On this particular trip, Christine and Todd went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect (but it always is!) and they even helped with our itinerary and reservations for all our excursions. All we had to do was enjoy ourselves and we did! I can't say enough about them. For the best experience at a B&B in PA, stay at the Gettysburg Inn!


Location, location, location!

5 su agosto 08, 2007

If you're coming to Gettysburg for the history there simply is no other location to stay than the Doubleday Inn. It sits directly on the site of the fighting that occurred on July 1, 1863. We were awestruck by the row of monuments that greeted us as we pulled up to the Inn. We spent our first afternoon doing a walking tour of the First Day with a very informative guide book provided by the Innkeepers. Todd & Christine are great, very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. They both know a ton about the town and the Battlefield, and will make sure you get to see all the great attractions, as well as giving great directions and tips for parking, driving, dining, etc. They provide great materials for getting yourself oriented, from maps and books to the Auto Tour on CD which you can borrow during your stay. They have thought of everything you need to see all the sights. They also made dinner reservations for us at two great restaurants, the Cashtown Inn and the Blue Parrot Bistro. These personal touches made our visit truly stress free. Saturday evening the Inn featured a talk with a licensed battlefield guide, this was outstanding. A great addition to an already comfortable and educational stay. Our room had a Battlefield view and most comfortable queen size bed. Everything was exceptionally clean and well-kept. My wife fell in love with the plush bathroom towels and I loved the great selection of Civil War books that were available in the room. Overall this was an outstanding B&B stay, we will definitely return to stay at the Doubleday Inn frequently.


Charming & wonderful!

5 su maggio 24, 2007

This is the nicest B&B we've ever had the pleasure of visiting! Hard to describe how beautiful the setting is, nestled right on the Gettysburg Battlefield with spectacular views in every direction. Their gardens are exceptional, it was so restful to spend the afternoons reading under the shade of the walnut trees (or taking a nap in the hammock as my hubby did!). The Inn is minutes to all the local restaurants & shops, very convenient. Todd & Christine go out of their way to make sure you get to see everything you might like. They were so kind, just genuinely caring people who made us feel right at home. How wonderful it was to leave the bustle of downtown at the end of the day and retire to this serene and quiet setting, where every need was taken care of before you even gave it a thought! We cannot wait to return to the Doubleday Inn.


Well worth the wait!!

5 su maggio 16, 2007

Finally got to stay at the Doubleday after serveral attempts, they book up fast! I can honestly say it was well worth the wait. We typically stay in downtown Gettysburg but have increasingly found it to be far too loud and congested for our tastes. Our idea of relaxation does not include motorcycles and 18-wheelers driving past our heads all night! We needed some peace and quiet. The Doubleday's location is simply ideal. We were able to begin each day with a quiet walk or bike ride right on the battlefield, had it all to ourselves. We just loved the quiet starts and of course the wonderful breakfasts (great coffee). We ate every bite, my wife loved the fresh scones with Devon cream. Also enjoyed picking Todd's brain for tidbits about the battle, he knows his stuff and was able to give us some out of the way places to explore on the field. The Inn was beyond comfortable in every way, and so clean...you can tell it is a well-loved and well-maintained building. We hated to leave on Sunday morning. We will definitely be back to stay on the battlefield.


Can't wait to return...

5 su aprile 17, 2007

Had one extra day on our Washington, DC trip and decided to head north to Gettysburg. Wish we'd had a week to stay here and truly explore this interesting town! The Doubleday was perfect for our family of four, it was warm, comfortable and homey. Our 11 and 13 year old daughters fell in love with Molly, the resident Golden Retriever. Hosts Todd & Christine were very friendly and accommodating, able to easily handle our vegetarian breakfast request (awesome egg and veggie casserole!). If you're not afraid of ghosts book the attic room, we thought we had an "otherworldly" visitor in the middle of the night, the kids couldn't stop talking about it! We only skimmed the surface of studying the battlefield, we will plan a return trip next fall to explore in-depth. We will definitely return here, the location is perfect and we felt it was a great value for the price, especially for four people.


Fantastic!

5 su marzo 22, 2007

Booked at the Doubleday Inn based on the recommendation of a friend at Gettysburg College. Directly on the Battlefield, the inn is quiet and relaxing with amazing views of the whole town. Christine & Todd were awesome, they know tons about the battle and the town itself, and they really care that your stay with them be all that you want it to be. Breakfasts were delicious and a really fun atmosphere, family style around the dining room table. Sort of felt like staying at Grandma's house when you were a kid, it was very enjoyable. I highly recommend staying at this B&B!


Simply Wonderful

5 su febbraio 24, 2007

We found this B&B because they accept BedandBreakfast.com gift certificates. We had just the best time in this very charming Inn. Located directly on the Gettysburg Battlefield, close to town but away from all the traffic and noise of the "tourist trap" area. You feel like you get to own a piece of history for the weekend. Innkeepers were friendly and attentive without being intrusive. They got us oriented with maps and the CD driving tour of the Battlefield, and had a fire blazing in the living room when we returned at the end of the day. Breakfast was excellent, very filling and very well presented. We can't wait to return to this gem!


The Doubleday Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $145 - $190
  • Recensioni (47) 4,9
  • Camere 9

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7173349119
Inizio pagina