The Inn at Narrows Creek Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
67 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Bed great, but we had to skip Breakfast

4,2 su luglio 01, 2014

My wife and I were returning home to Canada with a travelling companion from a conference in Virginia, and Du Bois seemed like a good half-way point for an overnight stay. We discovered the Inn at Narrows Creek on the web and were intrigued by the photos and the description. Despite arriving in a thunderstorm, we were entranced by the place as we drove up the entrance road. Linda welcomed us with a personal tour of our two rooms (the Apple and the Angel) and gave us advice on where to dine. We found the rooms very appealing and the beds very comfortable. In our room, the doors to the clothing cupboard/room and the washroom were somewhat awkwardly placed when trying to open both. But we had very few items to store for our overnight stay. After dinner, and after the storm passed, my wife and I were able to wander the grounds and enjoy the quirky gardens, fountain, pond and gazebo. Because we had a long drive ahead on the second day, we rose early and headed off before the breakfast hour, so we did not get to sample breakfast, which is served in your room from 8:30 to 9:30. So be forewarned. If you are spending just one night and in a rush to reach a destination the next day, this set-up may not be for you. Better to plan on two nights, with an opportunity to savour the grounds and the facilities. If you do need to skip breakfast, please let Linda and Henry know - as a courtesy. Also, if you prefer a B&B that lets you chat with fellow guests and your hosts over breakfast, this set-up will also not be to your liking. We didn't get a chance to comment on what we thought of the set-up, since we scampered off too soon.


Third stay and always worth it!

5 su maggio 16, 2013

Have been on a very restrictive diet for the past 10 weeks which requires fruit mixed with a shake and an oatmeal or eggs with spinach and salsa. Linda was very happy to help me out and even mixed me a shake for later in the day. This place is a great secret when visiting the DuBois/St. Marys area. It cannot be beat and the service is second to none. They have a customer for life.


Beautiful and lovely

5 su marzo 19, 2013

My fiancee' and I really enjoyed staying here. The innkeeper was wonderful and served us delicious breakfasts both morning we were there. It was beautiful there and we can't wait to go back! We love the Sunflower Suite!


Lovely, charming Pennsylvania Inn!

4,8 su gennaio 15, 2013

We discovered the Inn at Narrows Creek during a cross country drive. We absolutely loved it! Loaded with charm, the log cabin we stayed in was beautifully appointed in a charming rustic motif, comfortable, and homey. We didn't want to leave! We loved the comfortable living room, with cozy gas fireplace, leather couch, dining table &chairs. The bathroom had a wonderful jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was delicious, french toast, fruit cup and baked bread, delivered to our room by the graciious and friendly Innkeeper, Linda. The service was excellent! We highly recommend this lovely B&B. Be sure to check out the store adjacent to the Inn with beautiful, charming country items for sale.


Great Place to Stay

5 su luglio 01, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, our breakfast was wonderful, and the grounds beautiful. We would certainly stay again!!!


Inn at Narrows Creek

4,2 su giugno 11, 2012

Spent one night at the inn. Our room was very clean and the innkeeper was very nice. The store was very nice to shop in and the prices were reasonable. The grounds surrounding the inn were very pretty.


Our Great Escape

5 su aprile 29, 2012

From the time we turned in the drive till the time we left, we enjoyed every minute of our stay, & wished we could stay longer. We arrived a little early, but was gteeted with grace & showen to our room. The room, as well as the Inn was so inviting. We were close to Antique & Craft stores (also 1 at the Inn), which we had wanted to do. Plenty of veriety of restraunts also in the area. The gardens at the Inn were not in bloom yet, but they still called for you to enter & enjoy a walk, or sit on the gazebo and listen to the creek and birds. The bed was very comfortable, We slept thru the night which is unusual! We were served a lovely breakfast in our room. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We plan to return! 2 women who ran away from their husbands and home for 1 night


Nice Stay

4,0 su aprile 15, 2012

We just finished breakfast and it was hot good. The Sunflower suite was cosy and nicely decorated with little extras like a house coat and a nice Jacuzy tub. Very convenient location. The double bed had nice linnes but tended to sink in the middle. I would also replace the shower head and fix the toilet sit. Minor issues though!


labor day stay

5 su settembre 06, 2011

we were in town for the weekend and stayed at the inn at narrows creek. wow, such a lovely establishment from beginning to end and all parts in between. well worth the stop.


Great find

5 su agosto 29, 2011

Wanted to find a .place to stay on ou.r journey that wasn't just a dirty hotel/motel for our family. I saw a good review about this inn and thought to give it a try. Glad we did. The hostess was very accommodating and lent us a crib for our baby. Our son was so excited to see the hidden bunk beds and actually slept thru the night while we slept in the separate bedroom. Something he doesn't normally do in unfamiliar places. The breakfast which was served to our room was homemade and delicious. Max the dog was very friendly and kept the kids entertained while we packed up the car. The grounds were beautiful and perfect to wander around. If your looking for a 5 star accommodation then this isn't it. But if you don't mind the quirky and country feel then this is it.


Best B&B Ever

5 su agosto 07, 2011

This charming country B&B was the best I've ever stayed in. A beautiful inn, gardens & country store only matched by its outstanding cleanliness, great food and friendly owner.


Highly Recommended

5 su agosto 07, 2011

Absolutely wonderful experience in every way! Can't wait to book another visit and stay longer.


Raindrops keep falling on my head

2,2 su maggio 20, 2011

Overly decorated in knick knacks lacking in taste. Narrow uncarpeted stairs. Overly heated small rooms. 1 window which was hard to open. 2 skylights - 1 over bed and 1 in bathroom which leaked during the night onto your head as you used the toilet. No discount was offered for our inconvenience. No dining room. The entertainment center consisted of a tiny TV. This was my first B & B experience and I am glad we tried another place to get what I expected.

Risposta del proprietario
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our well established Inn. I do remember the evening that we had a problem with the skylight in the Sunflower Suite. It had started in the winter time and we were unable to address the problem until late in April when it finally stopped raining. But I also remember your comment about just telling us that the skylight in the bathroom had leaked just a little. I apologized for any inconvenience and you had said that it wasn't a problem at all, just wanted us to be aware of the small drip. It has since been totally removed and the ceiling repaired. I also remember asking you if you wanted the fireplace lit since the weather was getting warmer. You said you did and I showed you how to adjust the heat or just turn it off. Our steps are anything but narrow, they measure 12 wide by 42 across and have a heavy hand railing. My husband is a contractor and built this Inn with all of his 20+ years of experience and expertise. It always amazes me how anyone cannot tell you any problems they might be experiencing while here face to face, but then completely change their opinion when they write it down. Just scrolling down through the many reviews on this site is proof enough of our very satisfied cliental that return year after year and thoroughly enjoy having breakfast served in their rooms as opposed to going to a dining room setting.


Trip to DuBois

4,6 su gennaio 01, 2011

We spent two nights in one of the four person cabins. It was very rustic and cozy - we enjoyed our stay while scoping out the area for our youngest son's wedding. And of course my wife really loved the country store gift shop.


Cozy Stay While Traveling

4,6 su dicembre 30, 2010

We're yearly visitors to The Inn and really enjoy the convenient location off of I80. If you're a fan of breakfast, you don't want to miss experiencing one of the Inn's specialties, such as breakfast casserole, baked oatmeal or fabulous french toast. Breakfast includes fresh chopped fruit, orange juice, and muffins...plenty for 2 people ready to hit the road. The landscaping is quite charming and the country store a must-see. A true find!


What a delight!

5 su dicembre 02, 2010

The Inn at Narrows Creek fit our needs perfectly on our trip through Pennsylvania. Unlike most B&B's, breakfast was served in our room, making for a relaxing and cozy morning. The proprietess was most accommodating, really made sure we were comfortable, and scurried about all morning in her "jammies" as she tended to the needs of her guests. My wife and I enjoyed the informality of the Inn. They also have a great little gift shop.


Inn at Narrows Creek

4,8 su novembre 26, 2010

Totally enjoyable country setting. The themed rooms are cozy, the gift store is great and breakfast is very good. Have been there a few times and will go back.


dubois

4,6 su novembre 12, 2010

Good value, responsive innkeeper, cute & comfortable


autum getaway

4,0 su ottobre 31, 2010

Great location, minutes from RT80. Room was nicely decorated, TV was a bit small for the room though. Breakfast was served in the room and very yummy!

Risposta del proprietario
Just wanted to update the fact that all of our six rooms now have flat screen tv's and dvd players.


A lovely autumn weekend

4,8 su ottobre 24, 2010

The Inn at Narrows Creek is enchanting - a truly lovely place. We hope to return for another visit next year.


Nice, country arts and crafts inn with relaxing garden

3,4 su ottobre 22, 2010

This inn has a nice feeling to it with lovely arts and crafts decor. Beautiful garden to relax in with seasonal touches and close to Dubois, PA. Great stop for a PA Wilds road trip. We stayed in the Angel room, decorated with angels and teddy bears--a romantic setting with fireplace. Bed was a little firm for our liking and there's no thermostatic control in your room. We found it a little hot and stuffy in mid-October. Some traffic noise, especially with the window open. Poor water pressure in the shower. Nice breakfast: savory bread and egg dish with cheese and bacon, warm coffee cake, fruit cup, and apple cider. Served on seasonally inspired plates. Guest can make their own hot beverages with supplies provided in the room (coffee, teac, hot chocolate, cider).

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks so much for your kind review. Just wanted to let you know that we have changed the shower head since you alerted us of the water pressure problem. Thanks again.


Elk Watching

4,4 su ottobre 14, 2010

We stayed at the Inn at Narrows Creek over the weekend of October 9th. In the area to watch the Elk. The Inn was very nicely appointed and quite comfortable. I read a comment about the small television but why on earth wold you worry about that. I was just fine to catch up with the news and scores. I wasn't there to watch TV anyways. As a professional chef I was quite pleased with the breakfast that was served to our room; great flavors and right sized portions. The gardens are lovely and you must allow time to explore them. On the constructive side, the shower head could be better but it was not a deal breaker. The cabin room was built to be authentic, right down to the sqeaky floor. That was the only thing that I bothered. As I walked I felt like I was disturbing others. But, this wasn't a deal breaker either. Some people commented about the traffic on the road but I never really noticed any noise. Dinner at Luigi's was fine. The atmosphere was better than the food but then I am very a vert critical diner. The Inn was very nice and I am sure we will visit there again the next time we stay in the area.


Value for the money

3,6 su ottobre 06, 2010

The owners were nice. The place was so nicely decorated. However, the bed was too hard and the shower was terrible. The breakfast was great. However, the walls were too thin, so we could hear people in the hallway and the other room. Not cool. The country store was nice. The Dubois area was ugly.


A real gem!

5 su ottobre 06, 2010

We were lucky to get a suite because of a cancellation. Everything was better than expected. A wonderful place to stay.


What a beautiful find!

5 su settembre 27, 2010

I am frequently in Dubois for business, and had tired of the hotels. I Googled for Bed and Breakfasts in Dubois... God was with me! The lodging is spectacular. Linda has perfected decorating that promotes comfort and serenity. I have not felt that peaceful for quite a while! I am hoping that she has rooms available for my future business ventures! In fact, me and my husband have reserved a room in November to celebrate my birthday! Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to stay with you!


What a great place!!

5 su settembre 22, 2010

We were only there one night, and can't wait to go back. Clean and cozy, the bed was comfortable. We will definitely stay again!!


A little bit of heaven

5 su settembre 17, 2010

I stayed one night at the Inn at Narrows Creek. I will return in the future. The setting is peaceful country. The service was excellent and the Shaffer's are attentive hosts. The room was well kept and decorated with numerous craftwork. The breakfast was very good. Check-in and check-out was a breeze.


The grounds and home are exceptional

5 su maggio 25, 2010

The area is lovely, and the B & B has everything you could ask for, including a fabulous store and gracious innkeeper.


Wonderful relaxing atmosphere

5 su aprile 27, 2010

We stayed here for two nights for our seventh anniversary. The Bed and Breakfast is very peaceful and quiet. The breakfast served i our room was excellent and we would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. Linda is a gracious hostess.


Lovely place

4,6 su gennaio 12, 2010

We love this inn and stop here every time we drive from NY to Chicago.


Fantastic Place

4,8 su dicembre 10, 2009

I had a wonderful stay at this charming B&B. The room was very quaint, the breakfasts were yummy and the grounds very nice to hang out.


Charming Hospitality

4,4 su dicembre 08, 2009

This is a lovely inn with vintage country decor and charm in every detail. Our hosts were gracious and food delivered piping hot to our room. We'll be back!


Marines Corp Reunion at Narrow Creek

5 su ottobre 21, 2009

Narrows Creek provided the warmth and restful atmosphere conducive to allowinf veterans to bond & reacquaint themselves with comrades from over 40 years ago.


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

5 su ottobre 21, 2009

We stayed here during a Vietnam Reunion and had a lovely time. The accommodations were great and the gift shop was fantastic. The breakfasts were also wonderful.


Weekend in the wild!

5 su ottobre 02, 2009

When we stepped into the lodge at the Inn at Narrows Creek we were transported back in time to a rustic cabin. We came to see the PA Elk and our suite fit perfectly into our back in time weekend in the PA wilds.


Comfort & warmth

5 su settembre 01, 2009

The narrows Creek Inn B&B was a loving, caring inn, Linda is a wonderful woman. I and my husband will return again and again -- God bless.


Absolutely fabulous

5 su agosto 19, 2009

What a great stay! The accommodations, the grounds and food were great! the company eggs, and baked oatmeal were off the hook! Can't wait to come back!


friendly, helpful, pleasant staff

3,4 su luglio 15, 2009

Communication with the inn to arrange a convenient check-in time was very good. they also did an excellent job to accommodate us with a vegan diet.


country gardens

5 su maggio 11, 2009

This B&B has become like our 'home away from home.' It is so relaxing and the grounds are beautifully landscaped! The breakfasts are delivered to our room and are always delicious!


experience Americana!

5 su marzo 27, 2009

This charming inn leaves no detail out, whether in it's decorations or accommodations. we loved it and we will be back!


Average Accommodations; Excellent Extras

4,0 su marzo 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Sunflower Suite. The staff was helpful and courteous. The extras to the room were great (fireplace, whirlpool tub, and wireless internet). Breakfast was excellent. The couch and the bed though seemed outdated and not in prime condition. Other than that is was a quaint getaway within a friendly community.


Valentine's Day

5 su febbraio 20, 2009

Neither my girlfriend nor I could set the night off some did in Monday night and came here on short notice. and the friendliness of the staff is what will bring us back.


Outstanding bed and breakfast

5 su ottobre 16, 2008

We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary at this very romantic and charming bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Sun Flower suite. The room was so nice with the gas fire place and the whirl pool. We also loved how everthing was so nicley decorated. Breakfasts were very good also. You could not have asked for a nicer host and hostess. Looking forward to a return visit.


The Inn at Narrows Creek

5 su settembre 08, 2008

Our recent visit to this B&B exceeded our expectations. Upon pulling in, I was amazed at how perfectly manicured and interesting the grounds were. I immediately knew that my first experience was going to be positive. Once we entered the house it just kept getting better. The decor was lovely, cozy and completely welcoming. I honestly cannot comment negatively on one thing regarding this particular B&B; except perhaps that we couldn't stay longer!


pa roadtrip stopover

4,0 su settembre 03, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay at the Narrows. Our room was immaculate and the grounds were a wonderful oasis off the highway. Breakfast was tasty and just enough to give us a jump on the day. We stayed in the Americana suite which was very nice but could have used a bit more lighting. Also the bed although comfortable, was noisy whenever you moved. All in all I would recommend a stay here.


Vacation

4,2 su agosto 05, 2008

The stay exceeded my expectations and was outstandingly clean.


A Place of Rest

5 su luglio 25, 2008

The place was lovely, quiet & peaceful. It was a great weekend getaway.


WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!

1,0 su luglio 16, 2008

Reservation was made over 2 months in advance. Refrigerator was turned off when we arrived, water everywhere from defrosting. Cobwebs throughout the cabin and retreat; Mildew/Mold on shower curtain. Fuse blows when using Hair Dryer and Coffee Pot at the same time. TV/VCR did not work properly. Cabin was very warm - air conditioning controls were on second floor - we asked to have it turned down, but it never was. Used hot tub one time because it made the room too warm. Left a day early. Waste of time and money - will never stay there again.

Risposta del proprietario
We're sorry you did not enjoy your second stay at The Inn at Narrows Creek. We strive to provide an outstanding experience to every guest, and we encourage guests to let us know when there is anything we can do to improve their stay. Thank you for bringing our attention to your trouble with the vcr and the small puddle by the refrigerator floor. Because you notified us so promptly, we were able to successfully resolve both issues soon after you arrived. The electric outlets and ground faults are all in perfect working order, and thank you for letting us know to check them during your stay. We are happy to answer any potention guests' questions about the weather they can expect to have during their visit. To prevent the cabin and lodge suites from becoming too warm, we suggest that guests keep the outside door closed. By keeping the cool air inside the room, the air conditioner works much more efficiently. I believe you may have mistaken the rustic tea-dyed shower curtain for mildew, which is certainly unfortunate. Our guest rooms and bathrooms are kept very clean. Again, we apologize that your expectations were not met during your second visit. And we're sorry that your wife was called back to work a day early. But being a repeat customer, we knew you understood our cancellation policy, especially on a holiday weekend when we had turned away numerous requestss for that Cabin Suite. We have had countless happy guests who return time after time over the ten years we have been operating, and we plan to have many more in the future.


Narrows Creek

4,6 su luglio 13, 2008

Loved the country charm and the clean, comfortable room. Although the bathroom was a bit on the tiny side, the room was perfect for our 1-night stay on our way to Ohio. Best part was being served a yummy breakfast in our room. It was nice to eat in my bathrobe before packing up and going on our way.


Narrows Creek

4,0 su maggio 31, 2008

We stayed in the "cabin" with a private entrance. Very charming and comfortable. Liked how breakfast was brought to us each morning.


Country Charm!

4,8 su aprile 16, 2008

Great service, clean rooms.


Excellent!

5 su gennaio 30, 2008

Hospitality and rooms were exceptional. Highly recommend the Inn. We can't wait to go back!


We Return Often!

5 su gennaio 24, 2008

We found the most relaxing country atmosphere, rooms, and innkeeper ever. We love visiting for a getaway weekend. Enjoy shopping in the country store on the grounds also. 5 star in our book.


Great R&R at a great B&B.

5 su gennaio 23, 2008

We came looking to relax and get away. We were not disappointed! The inn at Narrows Creek is a fabulous choice for a quaint getaway!


The Inn at Narrows Creek.

4,8 su novembre 20, 2007

The rooms were very quaint and rustic. They were decorated exactly as you would picture a rustic cabin to be. The country store was fabulous! I recommend it to all.


The Inn at Narrows Creek.

4,8 su novembre 20, 2007

A country home with a country store displaying unique primitive folk art, furniture, and americana. A beautiful country setting, quiet and excellent food for breakfast served in our bedroom by the owners wife.


Romantic, cozy, and charming.

5 su novembre 20, 2007

Gas fireplace and hottub made room romantic. Americana theme followed in all details even in breakfast plates and coffee mugs added charm to this cozy inn. Beautiful grounds, too.


Perfect getaway weekend

4,8 su novembre 05, 2007

We had the perfect getaway, stress-reliever weekend. Everything was perfect. Breakfast, the room, the shop, and the dogs!


Great B&B!

5 su novembre 02, 2007

Clean, beautifully decorated, grounds outstanding, breakfast delicious. What more can you ask for?! Elk viewing nearby—Wild! Host and Hostess are very knowledgeable and hospitable. Beautiful gift shop!


Inn at Narrows Creek.

5 su ottobre 18, 2007

Excllent b&b. Great food. Very attractive and comfortable rooms.


Loved the woods!

4,8 su ottobre 18, 2007

We had a wonderful stay delightful room, excellent breakfast, loved the woods


Charming

4,0 su ottobre 18, 2007

The room was very charming, with all furniture and decorations consistent with country theme. food was excellend. It would have been nice to have coffee cream or half and half with our coffee. Powdered creamer isn't acceptable.


Exquisite Bed and Breakfast

5 su ottobre 16, 2007

We rate teh Inn at Narrows Creek a 5 star bed and breakfast. This was our third time staying there. We love the country style decore. Rooms, grounds, and store. Linda, the innkeeper, couldn't be a better hostess. Highly recommend.


Narrowscreek is WONDERFUL!!!

4,8 su ottobre 16, 2007

We stayed at Narrowscreek for our 6 year anniversary. We stayed in the cabin. It was great! The room is very spacey. I loved the rustic, country decor. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. It was a perfect escape for a fall weekend. The grounds are beautiful. My favorite part is the country store attached to the B&B. I would highly recommend this B&B. I was concerned that there was not much to do in the surrounding area but we found fun.


The Narrows Creek.

4,8 su settembre 28, 2007

Wonderful b&b; great accomodations, good service, extremely comfortable and clean.


Breakfast!

5 su settembre 14, 2007

The breakfast served in our room was wonderful!!


Wonderful

5 su settembre 11, 2007

This Inn sure did set the gold standard for us on this trip. Everything was great and the grounds were superb ... the only thing that was "different" was that we had our breakfast served in our room since there was no common dining area. We always enjoy meeting other travellers for breakfast and sharing our adventures and this wasn't possible ... everything else was absolutely first class and what a B&B should be ..


The Inn at Narrows Creek

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $85 - $125
  • Recensioni (67) 4,6
  • Camere 6
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8143719394
  • Numero di Fax 1-8143757876
  • Cellulare 1-8145900990

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina