Springfield House B&B Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
160 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

An outstanding stay but web site isn't letting me click on the 5th dot

4,0 su novembre 20, 2014

Great stay in Boalsburg at the Springfield House B & B and we will definitely be back. The made to order breakfast was excellent, Bill & Cheryl were great hosts. We didn't have time this trip to explore more of the area but will be back.


A Peaceful and Hospitable Get Away

5 su novembre 01, 2014

We were heading to Penn State to watch our daughter play soccer (she attends U of Md.) and I decided we needed a little break from our hectic lifestyle. After reading about the Springfield House I knew this was the place to revitalize my soul! The town was quaint, the inn was beautiful, the breakfast delicious and the innkeepers so kind and welcoming! We can't wait to go back!


Fabulous B & B

5 su ottobre 05, 2014

We had a great weekend at the Springfield House B & B. our hosts Cheryl & Bill were amazingly friendly and kind. Our room was spotless and the room was magnificently furnished. We would recommend this place to stay as you are in a quiet town yet closet State College.


Penn State Move In Weekend

5 su agosto 24, 2014

This was fabulous. The owners/operators were very kind and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful. The price for this room was much less than regular hotels in the area and was in the wonderful community of Boalsburg!!!


Can't wait to return!

5 su agosto 04, 2014

The room was clean, bright and so very comfortable. The breakfast was exceptionable! We wished we could have stayed longer. Larry and Sandy


Great alternative for a stay in State College area

4,4 su agosto 01, 2014

A family member discovered this B&B a few years ago. We all make trips to State College to see family, and didn't realize how convenient Boalsburg would be to the town. It's so much nicer than staying in a generic hotel. We highly recommend this B&B; the hosts are super!


A Lovely Stay...

5 su luglio 15, 2014

I have pretty significant health needs that Bill and Cheryl went above and beyond to accomodate. I felt well cared for in their home.


Lovely place to stay

4,6 su giugno 24, 2014

Our visit was very short after a grueling drive in driving rain. Bill and Cheryl were very gracious about our late arrival. Breakfast was delicious and filling. I wish we had had longer to enjoy their B & B!


Great B&B find in Happy Valley

4,6 su giugno 09, 2014

The Springfield House is comfortable, clean, cozy, relaxing and conveniently located. We plan to stay there again on a future visit to the State College area. Boalsburg is a neat little village location too.


Wonderful Weekend!!

5 su giugno 04, 2014

We had never stayed in a B&B before and didn't know what to expect. We had an absolutely wonderful weekend at the Springfield House! The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The owners very extremely friendly and gracious hosts...making us feel at home the minute we arrived. They are very knowledgeable on the area and gave us information on places to go and things to do. Breakfasts were delicious as well!! We definitely recommend this B&B and will stay there again and again!


Springfield House, Boalsburg

4,6 su maggio 19, 2014

A delightful house in a delightful little town. So much nicer than a big hotel in State College. I'd recommend it to anybody.


A terrific weekend

4,8 su maggio 08, 2014

We haven't stayed in a lot of B&Bs but if it doesn't get any better than Springfield House we'll be very happy. Our room was very spacious and nicely furnished and Bill the inn keeper was very welcoming and quietly efficient. He also makes a mean breakfast! We had a good time and Boalsburg is a great place to visit for a relaxing weekend in Happy Valley.


Great Place for Visiting Parents PSU

5 su aprile 06, 2014

Only several miles from PSU. A little more than hotels close to campus but well worth it. Clean, Quiet, Nice Owners. The town is great to just spend some time browsing.


Excellent B&B

5 su febbraio 10, 2014

We had a lovely time at this B&B. The location is great with shops and restaurants within walking distance and the hosts were so nice and accomodating. Breakfast was delicious and drinks and snacks were plentiful. We will stay here again.


wonderful stay!

4,4 su febbraio 10, 2014

Wonderful home, beautiful room, very good breakfast, very friendly inn keepers! Would definitely return.


Lovely B&B

3,8 su dicembre 30, 2013

We stay at the Springfield House whenever a room is available while we are visiting our daughter in Boalsburg. Bill and Cheryl are gracious hosts, and the inn itself is lovely. There are nice touches such as bathrobes for guests, and the bed is very comfortable. We have always stayed in the Oak Hall Suite and like it very much. I would call this inn well appointed but not luxurious. Breakfast includes a nice variety of choices and the cooking is good. One real plus is its location on the main street of Boalsburg, a very short walk to a good restaurant, two churches, and shops. I'd recommend this inn to anyone staying in the area.


Graduation Weekend at Penn State

5 su dicembre 23, 2013

Wonderful little BnB just minutes from State College - took us ten minutes to drive over to the BJC for my daughters graduation. Very comfortable, immaculately clean and Bill is an excellent breakfast chef! Tastefully decorated for the Christmas Holiday. Boalsburg is an amazing little town with great shops. Duffys Tavern across the street and Kellys Seafood around the corner. Will definitely be staying there on future visits to State College.


Stay at Springfield House

5 su ottobre 26, 2013

Wonderful stay as expected.


Wonderful place to stay

4,8 su agosto 25, 2013

Lovely quiet place to stay away from hustle and bustle of State College. Highly recommend!


Perfect getaway

5 su agosto 05, 2013

I loved the Springfield House B&B and would highly recommend it for those looking for a peaceful vacation. You can spend quiet time relaxing and or take a short drive to find as much entertainment as you wish. Thank you Speakmans for a high quality B & B.


Wow, Wow, and Wow

5 su luglio 24, 2013

Wow, Wow and Wow…I have fallen in love with Pennsylvania, Boalsburg, and Springfield House. There is nothing that you need to worry about when you spend your time here. Everything is clean and comfortable. Beds were excellent, never woke up with sore backs. Breakfast was cooked to your own specifications. Felt free to come and go as you pleased. They even provided snacks and a few drink options for a small fee which was excellent considering our visit was during one of their hottest spells. I will be recommending this to everyone and plan on returning in the future.


A Great Place to Stay!

5 su luglio 08, 2013

We came for a sports tournament and wanted to make it into a nice weekend get-a-way as well. We rented 2 connecting rooms to accommodate our daughter and it was the perfect set-up for us. The Inn is VERY inviting, comfortable, CLEAN and quaint. If we have another need to come to the area we will definitely stay again. The inn keepers maintained a perfect balance of attentiveness and letting you just have your time. It is a nice place just to stay at and relax. Boalsburg is a little hide-a-way place that you may easily miss, but you'll want to go back once you've visited.


wonderful accomodations! beautiful town.

5 su maggio 28, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Cheryl and Bill were friendly and always willing to share information and stories. Our stay included early volleyball at Penn State so we did not have time to enjoy the breaksfasts, but if needed they were willing to accomodate our schedules. Historic town was beautiful; The inn has a great front porch with rockers to enjoy their mainstreet. Chocolates at their attached store had a large selection; very tasty! We enjoyed a wonderfully prepared dinners at Duffy's Tavern, across the street. Great visit.


Hidden Treasure

5 su maggio 04, 2013

We found this B&B to be a hidden treasure tucked away off the main road in Boalsburg. Bill, Cheryl and Phyllis were most accommodating. The amenities at this house were wonderful and the breakfasts delicious. We are looking forward to another visit when the weather is warmer so we can enjoy sitting out on their beautiful wrap around porch. Definitely try this B&B.


Birthday surprise

5 su maggio 03, 2013

I took my husband here for a surprise get-a-way for his birthday. We had a wonderful time and loved everything about the Springfield House. I would definitely recommend it!!!


Hospitality at its best!

5 su aprile 17, 2013

We had a one night stay, and Cheryl was simply amazing and accommodating. We had planned a mid-day mountain bike ride, and Cheryl offered us a late check out so that we could come back and get cleaned up. She also helped us print out maps and gave us great recommendations for local restaurants. Breakfast was amazing, and the room was spacious and clean. We will definitely be returning!


Loved It.

5 su febbraio 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay a Springfield House. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bed was simply divine. Breakfast is served at a reasonable hour and is custom. I had french toast both and bacon both days, which was wonderful, but also loved having a choice. The town of Boalsburg is quaint and picturesque. With several diverse options for shopping. If we go up to the State college area again we will definitely be repeat customers. Thomasina Ruth


Quaint & Beautiful Bed & Breakfast

4,2 su febbraio 18, 2013

I recently stayed here for a weekend workshop and it was a wonderful experience. The room was comfortable and clean and the house was very warm and inviting. I would definitely stay here again.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su gennaio 20, 2013

We stayed one night for a weekend getaway. The Springfield House was a beautifully appointed house. We stayed in the Shingleton Suite which has a newly renovated bathroom, is spacious, warm and comfortable. We enjoyed the comforts of home in the room and in the whole house. The next morning a generous hot made to order breakfast was served to us by a very pleasant, friendly Cheryl.


A great stay

3,8 su ottobre 25, 2012

We stayed at the Springfield House to celebrate our anniversary. The Springfield Suite was very nice, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was made to order each day and Cheryl was friendly and asked about our stay and offered suggestions for places to visit and things to do. We loved the wrap around porch and the swing and enjoyed walking around town. It was very relaxing and dinner sitting outside at Duffy's Inn each evening was an added bonus.


Honeymoon

4,8 su ottobre 19, 2012

We had such a pleasant stay. Cheryl even had champagne, flowers, and chocolate waiting for us. Had a lovely time and Boalsburg was quiet and relaxing! Would definitely go back.


Very nice, beautiful location, quaint and perfect town, great sevice

4,4 su ottobre 14, 2012

We recently stayed for our anniversary weekend and had a wonderful time. The management is excellent, they took great care of us and the house was wonderful. Our room, which was decorated in a southwestern Indian style was perhaps a bit dated, yet the room was absolutely great and quite large with a good sized bathroom. Lots of hot, hot water (I always like that). Great breakfasts, great service, nice amenities. We would definitely stay there again. By the way Boalsburg is quite a nice little town and only five minutes from State College. Excellent overall!


A quiet respite near State College

3,2 su ottobre 14, 2012

Spent 1 night at the B&B in Boalsburg, which is a few miles from the hustle of State College. It was perfect; charming and quiet. The breakfast was extremely generous. The home is lovely and the owner affable. Would highly recommend.


Almost better than home

4,8 su ottobre 03, 2012

Boalsburg is one of the few proper towns left in the US, with friendly people, lovely houses and no chains. And Springfield House is one of my favorite B&Bs.


Springfield House B&B

5 su settembre 20, 2012

This was second stay at the Springfield House. The first time I forgot my iPhone charger and they were kind enough to loan me one. This was my second time and everything was great again. Breakfast was excellent, Phyillis makes a good omelet!!


Perfect getaway!

5 su settembre 10, 2012

What a great place to get away with the husband for an evening. Beautiful home with all the comfort you would want and non of the hassle. Would recomend to anyone looking for a romantic getaway or just while visiting the area. The owners were very welcoming and the food was delicious! Will stay here again!


Quaint, charming B& B in Boalsburg

4,6 su settembre 01, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was quaint and everything I expected and more. The town of Boalsburg is charming. Springfield House is situated right in the heart of it. The facilities and were very nice. The staff was extremely helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay very nice. I would highly recommend them!


Gem of Boalsburg

4,8 su agosto 14, 2012

My wife and I were up in the area for our Daughter's Wedding. We were quite stressed from day to day but when back at the Inn, our stress level dropped to nothing and the soothing experience of the Inn took over. From the room to the service to the food, we were pampered beyond any expectations. Pam and Phyliss are both wonderful hosts. We will return!


Way station 8/3/12

5 su agosto 09, 2012

Spent the night at Springfield House on the way from New York to Ohio. Spacious, clean, comfortable room, excellent breakfast. Enjoyed walking around Boalsburg. Will definitely overnight here again.


Excellent

5 su luglio 31, 2012

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and we would highly recommend Springfield House B&B. We were very happy with everything. The rooms were very nice and clean, and the staff was very friendly. The breakfasts were excellent!


"Fantastic B&B"

5 su luglio 09, 2012

Great hosts - B&B conveniently located near State College.


Wonderful stay at Springfield House B&B

4,4 su luglio 02, 2012

Springfield House is beautiful, peaceful, and quiet; the back yard in particular is lovely. The innkeeper was incredibly friendly and welcoming. There is a very wide selection of recent DVDs to watch. Wonderful experience!


A lovely home and neighborhood!

5 su giugno 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. You couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We've already planned our second trip to the Springfield House!


Outstanding B&B!

5 su giugno 23, 2012

The Springfield House was recommended to us by David Gritzner, the Executive Director of the State College Community Theatre. We were not disappointed! This is a beautiful fully-restored/updated B&B in a very convenient area near State College, PA. Everything was neat as a pin, and our room very spacious (the Shingletown Suite). Especially appreciated was the gift box of chocolate from the adjacent chocolate shop. Yum! We totally enjoyed the breakfast by Miss Pam -- she was just delightful, and is one of the reasons we will be sure to return. You will enjoy your stay!


Great place to relax!

5 su giugno 10, 2012

The Springfield House B&B is a beautiful house with great rooms, delicious food and wonderful inn keepers! Would recommend this place to all!


Review of night's stay

2,8 su giugno 04, 2012

The stay was pleasant. I liked that the innkeepers gave us our privacy. The description of the Tussey included a microwave, but there wasn't one in the room.There was a refrigerator, but it was very small. we stayed in the carriage house-very quiet and private. would not suggest it if you aren't able to do stairs. Verey pretty at night with all the lights.


happy volley

4,4 su maggio 29, 2012

My wife and I didn't have a room for our daughters volleyball tournament so I searched the internet and behold I found the Springfield House. We loved the place for the time we arrived till the time we left. If you are looking for a great place to stay give it a shot you won't be disappointed.


Very comfortable B&B; Charming little town.

4,6 su maggio 21, 2012

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were your everyday eggs, pancakes or french toast; nothing fancy or gourmet. A chocolate and wine store are attached to the B&B which was a pleasant surprise.


Comfort & Warmth, "seconds" to campus!

4,6 su maggio 14, 2012

We love staying here! The rooms are large and very clean. Full fresh breakfast is to your order. Quiet and peaceful, yet minutes back to the hubbub of campus life! And don't miss their candy store - MMMMmmmm!! Lovely Innkeepers!


Beautiful Clean B&B

5 su aprile 18, 2012

This wonderful bed and breakfast is located 4 miles outside of Penn State University. It is located on a quaint street with adorable shops. Our room was extremely clean and nicely decorated. Delicious made to order breakfast was included with our stay. This B&B is not to be missed!!!!!


Relaxing Respite!!

5 su aprile 02, 2012

We recently spent a night at Springfield House while visiting our son at PSU, we had an enjoyable visit and had the benefit of staying in first class comfort and accomadations- wish we had thought of this sooner


A Valentine's getaway

5 su febbraio 13, 2012

We spent Valentine's Day weekend at the Sprinfield House B&B. Bill & Cheryl were great hosts and the home was perfect. The Springfield House is located within walking distance of the Duffy's Boalsburg Tavern and a number of quaint little botique shops. A good time, a relaxing time.


Always the best place to stay!

4,0 su gennaio 06, 2012

We have stayed here at the Springfield House with Cheryl and Bill for several years now and always enjoy our stay...everything is easy to enjoy...the rooms, breakfast, the gardens and the location. Definitely put Springfield House on your must try list!


We will be back!

5 su novembre 02, 2011

A great alternative to the dreary State College hotel chains. Our room was spacious, beautifully furnished and quiet. Breakfast was terrific. Only a few miles from town, but you feel like you are in another world (in a good way!).


AWESOME

4,0 su ottobre 23, 2011

Better than any major hotel chain I have ever stayed in. Staff was exceptional and went above and beyond.


"GREAT" Bed and Breakfast!

5 su ottobre 01, 2011

The Springfield House B&B had such charm, in fact the whole town of Boalsburg, just a few miles from Penn State University, was quaint and a "feel good" place. Our room was called the Springfield Suite and we loved it. It was nicely decorated and we had our own fireplace and bathroom! Looking forward to going back and I highly recommend it!


good enough to do it again!

4,2 su settembre 27, 2011

Easy, efficient reservation and check-in. Convenient to my business needs in State College. Feeling of truely being a welcome guest. Breakfast as I requested. As a bonus - the bed linens and bath towels were of the quality I enjoy and were laundered with something that was wonderful.


Visited 2nd time -- for first time ever!!

4,6 su settembre 25, 2011

For the 29 years of our marriage, we have stayed in lots of B&Bs up and down the East Coast as well as vacation homes on the Outer Banks. Although we've loved lots of them, we have never, ever stayed in the same place twice -- that's part of the adventure. On the way home today from our 2nd visit to the Springfield House, we realized this is the first time we've had a repeat visit and we plan to do so again. The location is perfect, the area quiet and easy to take walks, the porch a great place to sit, Bill and Cheryl are friendly, yet let you alone as you freely do your own thing, the food is simply delicious comfort food and the rooms are comfortable and charming and all with their own baths for complete privacy. Wonderful, wonderful place.


Return Visits As Nice As the Last

4,2 su settembre 08, 2011

With our third annual visit to the B&B we have experienced the same gracious customer service with hometown touches just as great as the last. We always feel at home here and look forward to our next visit. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We have stayed in a different room each year and each have been nice.


Fabulous B&B

4,2 su agosto 21, 2011

A really delightful B&B, superb breakfast, set in a beautiful serene village. Would definitely stay again.


Wonderful B & B Setting

5 su agosto 18, 2011

We stayed here with another family & it was great. The hospitality was over the top. Nice back yard garden to sit & have a glass of wine during the evening. Large wrap-aroung porch to with rockers & swing to enjoy a cup of coffee with a good book. Would definetely stay here again. Quaint little town with a lot of history. William & Janet


girl's roadbiking weekend

5 su agosto 15, 2011

Our stay was great. The owners were on vacation at the time we were there but would have loved to have met them. However, Pam was there. With her dry sense of humor she made the trip. Her stories and wit had us laughing the whole weekend. We want to come back in the fall. Hopefully we will get to see Pam again.


First Timer

4,2 su agosto 08, 2011

Stopped for one night on a road trip. Wonderful old house, excellent breakfast, and great little town to explore.


Great B&B

4,6 su luglio 25, 2011

Well located in a wonderful "old world" style village, and close to several great restaurants. The house was beautiful, and very clean and well kept. We were only able to stay for one night, but would certainly have considered a longer stay if time had allowed.


Wonderful Experience

4,4 su luglio 06, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Springfield House. Our room was large, nicely furnished, and had cable TV, DVD player, and free Internet access. The adjointing bath was also spacious with a hot tub and shower. The bedding was crisp and comfortable. A wide variety of food is available for breakfast. Overall this is is one of the best B&B we have stayed in.


Mcdill wedding party

4,8 su luglio 01, 2011

Everything was set for reservations, and loved the Oak suite. So nice to be able with others in the wedding, and loved both breakfasts. Easy departure.


Best B&B yet for us!

5 su maggio 24, 2011

With no reservations at all, this has been the finest B&B stay we've had. Beautiful historic home (with all the modern upgrades) in the middle of a lovely historic district. The service, food & facilities were Top Shelf. We'll stay there again, without fail!


5 Stars

5 su maggio 23, 2011

Thank You for a wonderful weekend there. It was like a home away from home. The atmosphere there was warm and inviting. The breakfasts were great and very hearty. The room was extremely clean, comfortably, and cozy. It is very reasonably priced. We definately want to return to the Springfield House to stay. I would definately recommend it to all of my family and friends or anyone else who would ask me. It deserves 2 "Thumbs Up"


Thanks for such a memorable weekend!

5 su maggio 23, 2011

We recently spent our 25th wedding anniversary at the Springfield House and were delighted by the quiet charm, great rooms and tasty food at this inn. We can’t wait to return! The rooms were very clean, with comfy beds and were beautifully designed with pretty antiques to admire. When we arrived, it was so nice to see special touches in the room like fluffy white robes and delicious handmade truffles, to name a few. You won’t be disappointed! The delicious breakfast was very hearty and made to order. Also available were fresh fruits, yogurts, and a very tasty nut bread. Fresh coffee was available all day along with sodas and snacks. We would very highly recommended this inn and we will be back as soon as we can!


Chris & Risa LOVE the SPRINGFIELD HOUSE

5 su aprile 21, 2011

We just got back from a weekend at Penn State College from visiting our son and as always we stayed at The Springfield House in Bolsberg, Pa. We cannot say enough good things about this Bed and Breakfast. Cheryll and Bill always make us feel like family. The room we always get, The Tussey Moutain Suite, is my FAVORITE of any place we stay, and we do go to many places. The breakfast is always cooked fresh and we love talking with the two Innkeepers. I reccommend The Springfield House to everyone!!!!!! Thank You Cheryll and Bill for the GREAT times Chris and Risa from N.J.


Amazing place to stay

5 su aprile 04, 2011

The Springfield House is, as always, a delight to stay at. The innkeepers were very understanding and hospitable especially when our young daughter got sick and we had to leave and return another time. It is very comfortable and the made to order breakfast was excellent. We will be back!!!


Springfield House B&B

4,2 su febbraio 10, 2011

The rooms are very spacious and well decorated. The entire house was spotless and clean. The food was fresh and very tasty. They had a good variety to choose from.


A Wonderful Stay

5 su gennaio 17, 2011

The room was beautiful and the service was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.


Our favorite!

5 su gennaio 04, 2011

We were so fortunate to find this lovely B&B after learning that all the hotels get booked up quickly for PSU football games. We found that we much preferred staying here and always returned whenever we came to visit our son. Boalsburg is a delightful town with excellent restaurants nearby. The highlight, though, is this beautiful home with comfortable beds and the finest hospitality you could ask for anywhere. The Innkeepers make it an absolute pleasure to be there. And we LOVED the breakfast and complimentary chocolates. Thanks for everything Cheryl and Bill---you're the BEST!!


Springfield House Over Thanksgiving Weekend

4,4 su novembre 27, 2010

What a wonderful surprise. Springfield House combined the best of a B&B (quaint, friendly, unique) with the conveniences of a hotel (large bathrooms with comfortable showers, plenty of electrical outlets, TV and DVR in rooms). The owners were friendly but not intrusive. On top of everything else, we had to cancel one night's lodging at the last minute and they graciously credited our card rather than charge us a night. We would return in a heartbeat.


Springfield House - Boalsburg, PA

4,0 su novembre 20, 2010

Wonder ful home that was SPOTLESS in condition. Bill and Cheryl were wonderful hosts and the breakfast was relaxing and delicious. This was our first time at a B&B and we look forward to visiting them again.


Springfield House B&B

5 su novembre 16, 2010

We were very, very pleased with our stay at the Springfield House B&B and would recommend it to any of our friends ! In fact, we hope to stay there again!


Beautiful (and spotless) B&B!

4,6 su novembre 16, 2010

My husband and I have been to the Springfield House twice and we will most definitely return. We have been to many B&B's around PA and this one was certainly the cleanest. The room was beautiful and the town is right out of a Norman Rockwell photo! There were a lot of special touches - fluffy bathrobes, fireplace, DVD library, drinks and snacks available 24 hrs, and handmade truffles on the bed. We visited the accompanying chocolate and wine shoppe multiple times. Fantastic Dining within walking distance. Truly a terrific time.


Great Stay

4,8 su novembre 09, 2010

Amazing stay. The house was beautiful. I would highly recommended staying here. I stayed in the Springfield suit which was great and the bath really is a nice feature. Very close to PSU as well.


Great Visit!

5 su ottobre 18, 2010

Very clean and beautiful B&B. Was our first visit and we will definitely go back. Great small town and very quiet. DVD library and beverage/snack service a plus. Loved the rocking chairs on the porch. Really enjoyed getting to know Bill & Cheryl (Innkeepers). Highly recommend!!!!


Wonderful

5 su ottobre 18, 2010

A beautiful home in a charming town. Hosts made you feel right at home. Will be staying here on future trips to PSU!


Breathtaking

5 su settembre 28, 2010

My visit could not have been better! I have been too many B&B and this one topped everyone I have ever been too. What a fantastic experience!


GREAT place - We've already been back 3 times!

5 su settembre 07, 2010

Springfield House is an awesome B&B near Penn State's University Park campus. We found it when all the hotels near the university were booked, and now it's our first choice. The innkeepers, Bill and Cheryl, are extremely nice and personable. Breakfast is very nice, and you can sit with other guests, which is always nice. There's also a few good restaurants in the neighborhood to grab a quick bite at night. We'll definitely go back.


A Delightful B&B

5 su agosto 01, 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay at Springfield House followed by a delicious and bountiful breakfast. The house is beautifully maintained and obviously loved and well-care-for. Bill and Cheryl have gone to great lengths to maintain the historical details of the home while recently updating it. We had every comfort of home yet a very private place to stay. We will return, hopefully for a longer stay next time.


Central Pennsylvania charmer

4,8 su luglio 25, 2010

A wonderful surprise for the moderate price. Lovely setting in a small town atmosphere and a short walk to an outstanding restaurant. Choice of breakfast fare was a nice touch.


Very charming!!!!!

4,0 su luglio 24, 2010

07/22/2010 My husband and I visited this Bed & Breakfast on a little get away on my 65th Birthday. We have stayed at many Bed & Breakfasts over the years and I must say this was truly one of the best. It is very clean and very neat and Cheryl was very pleasant and served a wonderful breakfast.. We were sorry we didn't get a chance to meet her husband Bill during our stay but Cheryl took very good care of us. Their home is in a very very ideal spot for relaxing and enjoying a small town with many nice little shops. Thanks again, Mike and Nancy, Greenville, Pa.


A+ Experience!!

5 su luglio 18, 2010

Our stay at The Springfield House was absolutely wonderful. We just got back from our overnight stay for our 15th anniversary and could not have been pleased with the accommodations, complementary DVD library, personalized service, and delicious breakfast. Bill and Cheryl have a fabulous place. It is obvious that they take great pride in what they do. We plan on going back!


A great stop near Penn State

5 su luglio 04, 2010

We spent a lovely evening and morning at the Springfield House in Boalsburg, PA, after a brief stop at Penn State. We are from Madison, WI and love to visit other Big Ten campuses. The Springfield is absolutely gorgeous, inside and out, with very luxurious accomodations. The town is a small, historic gem and you are right in the center of it. Breakfast was terrific with many choices and made to order. We regret we did not have more time to stay and look forward to returning in the future. Roger and Mary Rowin, Middleton, WI


Can't wait to return!

5 su giugno 20, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a one night stay at the Springfield House and can't wait to return! The room was cozy and quiet and we woke up to a rooster crowing! It was difficult to decide what to have for breakfast with so many delicious options offered, but our choices were fantastic. Visit was way too short, next time will be longer. A most enjoyable stay.


April get-away

4,4 su maggio 30, 2010

Wonderful room with fireplace and jacuzzi. Attentive hosts and a perfect get-away weekend. Will definitely return.


Right in the middle of town

4,6 su aprile 18, 2010

Our room was gorgeous, the bed was very comfortable, and the to-order breakfast very good. We also purchased wine and chocolates which were very enjoyable


A charming B&B amidst a charming village!

4,6 su aprile 14, 2010

My friend (a Penn State alum) and I took an impromptu trip to the State College area from Chicago and spent 2 nights at Springfield House. We stayed in the Tussey Mountain Suite in the carriage house above the chocolate shop. Bill & Cheryl were friendly and very accommodating. Interested in the history of the town, Bill was a font of information and answered all my questions. Duffy's Tavern is very convenient (we ate there twice during our stay) and the full breakfast each morning was a heavenly treat for someone like me who usually skips breakfast. The Boalsburg Chocolate Company (obviously another passion for the innkeepers) is a must stop for delectable handmade chocolates before heading home. I hope I have the opportunity to return for another stay sometime in the future!


Business trip & birthday getaway

5 su aprile 13, 2010

Our second trip to the Springfield House. Again a wonderful ... but too short a stay. Inn keepers had the special items in our room to celebrate my wife's birthday. Cheryl called in our reservation at Kelly's. The morning breakfast was great as before. Looking forward to return with our next trip to State College. Nice to have links to the merchants in town. Hard to stay at another B&B when you have experienced a stay at the Springfield House. Thanks for a wonderfull trip.


Anniversary celebration at Springfield House

5 su marzo 28, 2010

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with a quiet and relaxing stay at Springfield House. The wrap-around porch and room accommodations were great. The first floor of the house and the outside surroundings are beautifully decorated and open to the guests to use at their leisure. The breakfast choices were numerous and all of our selections were delicious! We enjoyed conversations with Bill and found the experience at Springfield House to be most enjoyable. We look forward to staying there again.


A wonderful stay for our anniversary!

5 su marzo 21, 2010

We just returned from a very relaxing, memorable stay at this fine B&B. It was a return visit after our initial pleasant stay a few years ago. This B&B is consistently a very positive experience--cozy, comfortable, classy, peaceful--set in such a quaint village...and the Speakman's always make you feel so welcome and special. The breakfast is superb--a wonderful way to begin the day. Thank you again--we will be back!


Fabulous Inn

5 su febbraio 28, 2010

Inn is lovely and the breakfast is outstanding. It's our second year in a row to stay here and we plan to make it an annual event.


Wonderful time at PSU

4,8 su febbraio 24, 2010

wonderful experience! romantic and serene surroundings so close to PSU. Breakfast was delicious and the innkeepers were really nice and helpful


a romantic night away for valentines day

3,8 su febbraio 16, 2010

My husband and I decided that for a recent trip home to Pa, to see family, we should do something a little different and try a B&B. I looked online at many B&B's in the centre county area, searching for a good deal, and beautiful setting. We decided on the springfield house in Boalsburg. The room we stayed in was the Springfield suite. The room itself was great. A huge bed with very comfortable bedding. A jacuzzi tub and very big bathroom. A t.v and dvd player and a electric log fireplace. The inn keepers were very friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was parking. The Inn is located on the Main street. they offer a few parking spaces behind the Inn and if that is full there is parking on the street. although our car got stuck in the snow trying to get through the alley behind the B&B, luckily we found parking on the street. Its only 10 mins or so away from downtown state college. The B&B also provides guest a tv room downstairs, where you can read the paper or watch a movie, or play the wii. you are also ale to take a movie upstairs to your room if you like. We very much liked our stay, and plan on staying there again.


Great Weekend - Great Location

3,6 su gennaio 26, 2010

We absolutely love the location in Boalsburg - so close to downtown State College but with a wonderful small town atmosphere. It was great to walk to Duffy's Tavern for dinner on Friday night after driving up. We stayed in the Springfield Suite which has a jacuzzi tub and fireplace (note that the fireplace does not give off heat - it is just for show - which is the one bummer). The bed is great and the room is nice and big. Breakfast is your basic eggs or pancakes cooked to order. Don't expect fancy souffle and the like. Great strong coffee and fresh fruit which in January was a nice treat. We went to the School of Massage for a 1 hr massage for $35 - great value and the students are certified. Would definitely come back and would recommend the establishment.


Great B&B in Happy Valley

4,8 su gennaio 11, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the B&B to ring in the New Year. The proprietors were friendly and the accommodations were great. The bed was so warm and comfy! Breakfast was delicious, and there was plenty of in-house entertainment (Wii, dvds) if you don't want to go out. We will definitely stay again! -Mouse & Dave


Best in Quality and Value

4,8 su gennaio 03, 2010

I was absolutely amazed at how at-home I felt at Springfield House. The owners were so friendly from the moment we walked through the front door. The rooms were beautiful and clean. They offered an assortment of beverages and food around the clock. Breakfast was far beyond my expectations; they took our own specific breakfast orders, and made sure everything was made to our preference. I'm planning on recommending this B&B to all of my family and friends.


Great stay

4,4 su dicembre 31, 2009

The stay was great and the remodeled interior of the house was nice. The atmosphere felt homey without feeling like your privacy was invaded. Thanks for the great weekend.


Repeat BB Guests

4,4 su dicembre 22, 2009

We have stayed at Springfield House several weekends over the past 4 years and always had a outstanding stay. From the wine & chocolate on Friday thru Sunday breakfast Bill and Cheryl are great hosts. We feel like part of their family. K & T Export PA


Perfect little getaway.

4,4 su dicembre 19, 2009

The room was fantastic; my wife really loved the bathroom and soaker tub. Very cozy and the service was excellent. Located in a great little quiet area, not to far from State College. We hope to return soon!


Great place!

4,0 su dicembre 06, 2009

My wife and I took advantage of a weekend get-away before the birth of our first child. We had a great time and really enjoyed getting to know the place and the innkeepers, Bill and Cheryl. I would definitely recommend this B&B to others.


Highly recommend

5 su ottobre 23, 2009

The room was roomy, bright and cheerful. The common area rooms were warm and elegantly furnished. Meals were prepared fresh to order from a more than ample selection. We've stayed in many B&Bs and this was among the best, a great experience. Bill Speakerman is a fantastic owner/host and cook.


Charming and Cozy B&B

5 su ottobre 13, 2009

We were greeted warmly when we arrived by Cheryl and Bill. They gave us the tour. After we settled in, we parked ourselves in the beautiful and comfy library, in front of the fireplace to read and relax. We enjoyed meeting the other guests, and breakfast was a delight. The only suggestion we have is to place 3-way bulbs in the lamps next to the bed for easier reading.


our stay for Parent's weekend

4,0 su ottobre 05, 2009

we loved the house, our room and expecially the breakfast and chocolate!!!


Great Place

5 su settembre 08, 2009

Super nice owners, great breakfast, clean, friendly, can't recommend highly enough.


Outstanding

5 su agosto 26, 2009

Wonderful! I wouldn't change a thing!


A Boalsburg Gem!

5 su agosto 17, 2009

What a wonderful overnight stay we had at Springfield House! We had been driving for several hours and what a treat to find local wine and outstanding chocolates available at 5PM on weekends, which we enjoyed in the garden. The room was lovely, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. A perfect blend of modern comforts in an old beautiful home. A short walk across the street to a relalxing meal in Duffy's Tavern (a historic 1800's building) and a stroll along this historic neighborhood topped off the evening. Our breakfast was quite delicious, plentiful with many options. Bill and Cheryl Speakman - Thank you for a wonderful stop over!


The extras were so special

5 su agosto 10, 2009

We were so welcomed and treated like special friends. We had privacy or company when we wanted. our favorite parts were the special touches: the glider on the porch, chocolates on our pillows, new robes and towels, Belgian waffles, and the fountain and flowers in the back yard.


Our Stay at Boalsburg, PA

5 su luglio 10, 2009

We loved it. Fabulous town, fabulous house, fabulous Inn Keepers. Lots of extra surprises. Beautiful backyard gardens. You won't be disappointed


First Time at a B&B

4,0 su luglio 10, 2009

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast, and the experience exceeded our expectations. The innkeepers were very gracious and welcoming. The house was very clean and quiet. Extremely great value!!! We highly recommend the Springfield House, and look forward to our next stay.


Outstanding B&B

4,6 su giugno 22, 2009

This was my first time at a B&B. Both a working trip and pleasure trip, this B&B was perfect. I will definitely return.


Perfect 1st anniverary

4,4 su giugno 11, 2009

We felt welcomed into their home from the moment we arrived. The hosts made sure that we never had to lift a finger. We can't wait to get back there for another visit!


First B&B Experience was Fantastic

5 su maggio 08, 2009

Rooms were comfortable and provided all amenities a hotel & suites have. The Innkeepers provided the down home personal touches to breakfast and conversation you cannot find in faster moving hotel facilities. We look forward to returning to the Springfield House B&B.


Very Nice

5 su aprile 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Springfield House recently. We enjoyed our experience at the inn--the food, the owners, and the bedroom were lovely. We particularly enjoyed the modern bathroom which was private. Breakfast was made to order and was wonderful. The homemade cinnamon buns were outstanding. The atmosphere at the inn was quiet and peaceful. We also enjoyed the surrounding area of Boalsburg with its local tavern (Duffy's-yes, we recommend), gift shops, and chocolate shop. We would highly recommend this inn and location if traveling to the State College, PA area.


The inn never to be out of

5 su aprile 07, 2009

Every aspect of this colonial structure from its ambiance, graciousness, and special skills of the owners is exceptional. The area is most enjoyable. The hosts are wonderful! God is in the details.


best b&b in boalsburg

5 su aprile 03, 2009

air conditioner difficult to use


What a nice surprise

5 su marzo 25, 2009

I enjoyed all of the extras like excellent TV's with many DVD's available. The place smelled great and could not have been cleaner. The 24 hour available snacks and coffee were a big plus.


Our 1st stay here

5 su marzo 04, 2009

Room & breakfast were excellent, very convenient location, and Cheryl & Bill were most gracious hosts. Looking forward to our next visit (and we will make time for a visit to the chocolate factory).


Good times

5 su marzo 03, 2009

This B&B is the best! Excellent breakfast and accommodations. The owners are warm and welcoming and most gracious.


Wonderful stay!

5 su marzo 03, 2009

Springfield House was everything I envisioned a B&B to be! I had the absolute BEST weekend!


my stay

4,6 su febbraio 22, 2009

The breakfast was wonderful, and the house was beautiful too!


The B and B

5 su febbraio 08, 2009

When you walk in, you are greeted with warmth and hospitality. The B&B is wonderful and the town is charming. I would recommend it to everyone!


excellent value with warmth and charm

4,2 su dicembre 28, 2008

traditional b & b charm and comfort with unobtrusive innkeepers. Excellent location on the quiet main street of Boalsburg, which also included well-known Duffy's Tavern & Restaurant, and charming shops along the 3-4 blocks long "downtown'. Yet it is a very easy and convenient 3 mile drive to downtown State College or to the football stadium. This place allowed enough privacy and ability to go and come as you please to make even the most "b&b phobic" person be able to relax and enjoy.


A Great Stay

4,8 su novembre 28, 2008

Would recommend this B&B to anyone stopping in the Boalsburg, PA area. A very charming and spacious 18th century home is the foundation of this family enterprise. An exceptional value.


Wonderful inn

4,6 su novembre 21, 2008

rooms were lovely, very comfortable- innkeepers were awesome, very personable. Breakfast was delicious!


Charming & Delightful

4,0 su novembre 15, 2008

Welll appointed rooms and gracious hosts made our stay enjoyable. The quiet town was a nice break from our visit to very nearby State College.


Modern Amenities in Beautiful Old Charm

5 su novembre 10, 2008

A beautiful old house, magnificently maintained with all sorts of modern amenities -- our stay was complete in every way and Bill and Cheryl were fabulous hosts -- charming, warm and accommodating. The food was individually prepared, portions and choices were plentiful and a perfect way to start the day. We loved our visit!!! N & M Fink, E-town PA


1st time at Springfield House

5 su ottobre 28, 2008

Hosts were wonderful. Room(The Springfield Suite) was soooo comfortable.Breakfast cooked to order was a nice treat. Having the Winery and Chocolate outlet next door was very nice. Hope to be back in November and next August.


Short stay near Penn State

4,0 su ottobre 14, 2008

Toward the end of our two-week tour of the East Coast we stayed at the Springfield House. Although I'd attended Penn State in the 80's, I'd never been to Boalsburg. The main street was quaint, if rather abbreviated, and the PSU campus is a short drive away. The common rooms in the house were pretty and had interesting knick-knacks. We were amazed at the size of our bed, TV and bedroom. The furniture was very high quality, the bathroom had a good shower. We were pleased to be able to leave our windows open. The breakfast was good, if typical, and the cook was friendly. The only negative aspect of the stay was the greeting on our arrival, which was rather cold.


Second Visit

4,0 su ottobre 05, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Springfield House over a weekend in April of 2007 and enjoyed our stay greatly. We decided to spend a night in the State College area recently, so again chose the Springfield House bed and breakfast. As before, our stay was a pleasure. Bill and Cheryl are very nice hosts, and the house is beautiful and well kept throughout. Bill makes a delicious made-to-order breakfast. The location is very convenient to Penn State, and the DVDs for in-room viewing and the available honor system snacks and sodas are nice touches to the stay. If we are staying in the State College area in the future, the Springfield House will definitely be tops on our list.


A great place to stay

5 su ottobre 03, 2008

Probably the nicest B and B we've stayed in. We would definitely return.


First time at this B&B

4,6 su settembre 28, 2008

This was our first visit to The Springfield House B&B - it far surpassed any other B&Bs we've stayed in. The innkeepers were friendly, informative, helpful. Rooms were large and had very nice appointments. Breakfast was delicious and so nicely served. Highly recommend this B&B when visiting the Penn State area.


I love this place

5 su settembre 18, 2008

My son attends Penn State, and we have stayed here twice so far, and hope to stay many more times during his college years. It is clean, charming, relaxing, quaint, and most of all, comfortable. The front porch was lovely for relaxing with a glass of wine after dropping him off at his dorm and a hectic week of college preparations.


Great place to go!

4,8 su agosto 24, 2008

We loved our stay in the Oak Hall Room. Though the inn was full, it was so quiet it seemed as though we were the only ones there. Excellent breakfast - great hosts - loved Kelsy, too! Hope to stay there again. The Sheltons from Pittsburgh, PA


SPRINGFIELD B&B

5 su agosto 16, 2008

THE ROOMS WERE VERY CLEAN. THE INNKEEPERS WERE VERY HOSPITABLE. BEEN TO A LOT OF B&B'S BUT I WOULD SAY THIS ONE IS AT THE TOP OF THE LIST. WILL RETURN. LINDA S.


Main St. U.S.A.

4,4 su agosto 07, 2008

I loved sitting on the porch swing and watch the activities of Main St. U.S.A. A beautiful home with friendly people. Delicious homecooked breakfast.


Hidden jewel

5 su agosto 01, 2008

Cheryl and Bill made our weekend! We will be visiting Boalsburg again because of their awesome warmth and service!!


A Relaxing Getaway

5 su luglio 28, 2008

This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and I can assure you that it will not be our last visit to the Springfield House B&B. The house was beautifully charming, the location was perfect, and the hospitality extended by Bill and Cheryl was exceptional.


Outstanding Value

5 su luglio 23, 2008

This is a beautiful B&B with a wonderful front porch for relaxing. Our host couldn't have been more accommodating. We stayed in the Shingletown Suite. It was nicely furnished, immaculate and had a sunny bay window window. We had a wonderful breakfast and all for a price less than the price of a Holiday Inn Express. While there be sure to visit the Boalsburg Family home and the Columbus chapel.


I love SPRINGFIELD HOUSE!

5 su luglio 17, 2008

My husband and I have been coming twice a year for the past two years to visit my parents who are in a retirement home. We have a wonderful visit each and every time.


Good value!!

5 su luglio 10, 2008

Breakfast was especially outstanding. High quality & amazing variety for a b&b


Wonderful B&B

4,4 su luglio 03, 2008

A fabulous B&B in the most quaint town. The owners were generous and kind. The local town was Rockwell. We'll stop here again. A terrific value.


Wonderful Experience

5 su giugno 29, 2008

Bill and Cheryl are very kind and the service exquisite. Family and friends booked 4 rooms for our our son's wedding locally. We were all beyond happy with our stay at the Springfield House. And the Sunday morning breakfast was delicious.


a very nice find

3,8 su giugno 09, 2008

We had two rooms, and each was quite large and very comfortable. Cooked-to-order eggs at breakfast were done perfectly, but the toast made from store-bought bread was barely toasted. Having been a professional baker and having very high standards, I was disappointed in the warm cinnamon buns, but others seemed to thoroughly enjoy them. Fruit salad was good and plentiful. I would absolutely stay here again, but I wouldn't go back to Duffy's Tavern for dinner (across the street). Two bonuses: the inn's excellent DVD collection and Boalsburg Chocolates two steps away.


Gracious & Flexible

3,8 su giugno 04, 2008

We felt at home during a challenging two-day stay in the area while unexpectedly having to find a place for a young girl to live for the summer. Innkeepers Cheryl and Bill allowed us to do whatever we needed to do without imposing any rules and restrictions! The setting was very peaceful and gave us calm in the midst of the storm. I would highly recommend the Springfield House B&B.


wonderful time

4,6 su giugno 01, 2008

Our room was beautiful, the innkeepers made us feel welcome, breakfast was delicious, and the front porch was so relaxing!


Our 40th anniversary get away!!!

4,6 su maggio 14, 2008

Not only was The Springfield House located in the center of the historic village of Boalsburg, but inside the front door, guests were treated to a glimpse of the history of the owners. You really felt like you knew the people who were welcoming you into their home. We enjoyed the pictures on the walls and especially the charm of the decor! The wine and chocolate in the afternoon was a wonderful, unexpected treat!! And we appreciated having coffee(wonderful coffee!!!!), tea, and bottled water always available!! The snacks and the soda's that were available on the honor system were very convinent in the evening! My favorite "extra" were the plush terrycloth robes hanging in our room!!! We loved being spoiled!!! And the breakfasts were awesome!! We even took advantage of the DVD library downstairs and enjoyed a movie in our room. Thanks for a great stay!!!


Springfield House

4,2 su maggio 04, 2008

Great time at the B&B perfect distance from Penn State! Thank you!


The Perfect B&B!

5 su aprile 18, 2008

Romantic b&b in an adorable town just 5 miles from State College! Complete with their own chocolate factory (it is excellent chocolate!). A lovely couple with a beautiful house, furnished with unique antiques and a full DVD collection!


Awesome hospitality

4,8 su marzo 17, 2008

Very clean place! This was my first experience with a B&B and I would recommend this to anyone.


Warm and Charming B & B

5 su marzo 10, 2008

A beautifully refurbished home in a charming village, The Springfield House more than met our expectations. We three couples have been going to B&Bs in March (our own "March Madness") for the past several years. Each year it is one of the couples turn to choose the B&B and the locale; we have stayed at some very lovely B&Bs in Cooperstown NY, Wellsboro PA, the Seneca Lake NY region. This year was our turn. We chose The Springfield House B&B and Boalsburg. Our friends now say we have set a standard that will truly be hard to meet let alone surpass. They may even surprise us and return next March to The Springfield House...which none of would mind doing at all. For sure if we can get our reservations in on time we are hoping to return during the 2009 PSU football season with some other friends to again enjoy the warmth and hospitality of The Springfield House.


overnight close to home

4,0 su marzo 03, 2008

We needed an easy overnight stay that was close to our home. It was great. Very relaxing and lovely. Appreciated the wine and chocolates! The renovations were so modern with classic touches to make you feel like it was still in the 1800's.


Great stay

4,4 su febbraio 23, 2008

A wonderful visit for a winter weekend in central Pa.


Clean, luxurious, delicious

5 su febbraio 18, 2008

I had a great one-night stay at Springfield House in Feb 2008. Cleaner than a hotel. DVD library in lobby, with flat screen and DVD player in room. Working gas fireplace in room! Double showerhead. Chocolates (delicious chocolates) in room. Owners friendly. Breakfast extensive. Coffee and soda available 24 hours. Don't pass on the breakfast cinnamon buns. Rates comparable to average hotel.


Sept 2007

5 su novembre 05, 2007

We were very welcomed, even with a last minute call. The room was so wonderful with a Jacuzzi to rest my tired muscles from moving our son that day. What a great couple to talk to. A wealth of information about the area and the history. Boalsbug, is special place in our hearts and the history of the US. Resturants within walking distance for any taste. What a quiet and peaceful place to stay. Hope to visit again over Memorial Day. Not to be missed.


Great Value!

4,6 su ottobre 16, 2007

Our visit to the Springfield House far exceeded our expectations. It is newly redecorated, spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed while preserving it's 175 year old heritage. Great made to order breakfast, great shower, flat screen TV, DVDs. Wow.


Springfield House B&B

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $270
  • Recensioni (160) 4,7
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8887829672

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina