Glasswing Guest House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
17 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Holly made our experience outstanding

4,4 su luglio 13, 2013

We stayed in the upper suite, which is a great private retreat: large bedroom, beautiful bathroom, and a cozy leaving room with couch and TV. Holly made our stay the best. We felt at home, with the difference that every morning we had a great breakfast! Holly is an expert in cooking eggs, so if you stay here make sure not to miss the eggs benedict with hollandaise sauce and the coddled eggs. She also invited us to join a party to inaugurate her new deck: this was a very pleasant surprise, which we enjoyed a lot. We would definitely stay here again if we will have another chance to come back to Portland.


A wonderful experience!

5 su aprile 08, 2013

Holly is the perfect host: guinuinely friendly, a great cook and had maps of the city and recommendations on things to do or places to eat. She even went so far as to make me a cake when she found out is was my birthday and made the best Eggs Benedict for breakfast. The upstairs room is a special romantic hide-a-way including a claw footed tub, wine glasses, robes and bubble bath. The room also has a sitting area and TV plus the bed area. Think more of a suite than a room. You could stay 'in' all day if you wanted to do so. We hope to go back soon.


One of the nicest places to stay

5 su dicembre 09, 2012

I stayed with Holly back in May (and I have been meaning to write this ever since!) and it was just the nicest place to stay. Not only was the room high quality and the bed very comfortable, Holly is a great host! I ate breakfast with the other people staying one morning and the food was fantastic. This is definitely a place to stay!


Quiet Haven and a Last Minute Savior

4,4 su ottobre 23, 2012

We came to Portland to run the marathon and chose this location for its eclectic neighborhood, quiet environment and easy transportation downtown. The Glasswing was all those things. We stayed in Leona's Blue Room, which was cozy and peaceful. We'd never slept on a Tempurpedic mattress before, but after some initial surprise, we both slept like rocks. To make a long story short(ish), our cab never came to deliver us to the race at 6 am on Sunday morning. Holly, who was up, saw our panicked faces, grabbed her keys and shuttled us downtown and deposited us steps from the starting line, but not before handing us a bag of fresh muffins and fruit. We were completely shocked and grateful for her early rising habits and generosity, and she saved us from missing out on the race we'd trained three months for. Also, her garden is beautiful, her rice pudding divine and she lives about .5 miles from Hopworks Urban Brewery (try every IPA and the soft pretzels). Thank you again, Holly! Thank you a million times over.


Light filled Portland suite

5 su settembre 18, 2012

We spent 3 days at the Glasswing Guest House in September while exploring Portland's delights. Our first delight was the beautiful suite that Holly has so capably and artfully designed and updated for guests on the second floor of her home. Holly is a joy to be around and communicated quickly and efficiently with us in arranging our comings and goings. She was flexible with us on several details that fall outside of the normal arrangements. The bathroom is large and airy with a tub and powerful handheld shower that is enjoyable to use. The bed was comfortable, slightly on the softer side. Holly makes wonderful breakfasts for her guests. We would love to return to stay with Holly again and recommend her place to anyone.


An absolute GEM in an eclectic urban neighborhood

5 su agosto 01, 2012

I stayed here to be near the Bullseye glass factory for a workshop. It was walking distance in a cool neighborhood area. The somewhat self contained upstairs space (sans kitchen) made me like I was at home. Great space! Holly was a super Host! Poor women cooked up a gastronomic storm with a broken wrist. And every breakfast was not only magazine photo worthy, it was DELICIOUS! And Fresh,m fresh, fresh, some from her own gardens. Myself and the other guests DID take photos. I passed on the info to all the other out of town workshop guests that had the misfortune of staying at boring old hotels. The character and charm of Glasswing and it's lovely hostess will not soon be forgotten. I have pledged that I will stay there anytime I come up to Portland if she's got room. She also walked me out to show me where to get a great late evening meal when I arrived after 8:00 p.m. Offered me packed lunches...I can't say enough! Thanks Holly!!!


The Best bed and breakfast in Portland

5 su luglio 24, 2012

The Glasswing experience can't be beat, especially if you love good food, art and comfort. Holly is the perfect hostess with lots of helpful tips for restaurants, hiking, shopping, etc. The full breakfast is amazing; full of several gourmet selections artfully prepared and presented. I can't recommend this B&B enough and love to stay here when I am in Portland. The neighborhood location is fabulous as well. The upstairs suite is a dream with many comfortable features ( see photos). Holly's aesthetics and generous spirit permeates her home and garden. HB


Relaxing stay at Glasswing

4,4 su luglio 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in the upstairs bedroom with the private bath. The house is in an ideal location, just 2 blocks from a bus to downtown Portland. It is a charming home in a nice neighborhood. The tempurpedic bed is comfortable, albeit a bit snug as it is a full size and not a queen. The upstairs room is very large and roomy, and had A/C. The tub is beautiful, but not the most convenient for taking a shower, as you basically have to hold the shower head as there are no mounts on the wall. There is free wifi and the cable tv works well. However, the futon mattress is quite uncomfortable to sit on and I definitely wouldn't recommend anyone actually sleep on it. Breakfasts were beautiful and delicious- quiches, peach cobbler, fresh muffins, and beautifully arranged fruit. Holly was late one day with breakfast, but was very generous in giving us a discount for it. She is extremely helpful in giving tips/info on places to visit, and even printed out transit directions for us. Her dog, Harley, is a sweet pet who is very quiet and unobtrusive. I would stay there again.


A charming B&B

4,2 su giugno 20, 2012

Holly is a great host and made my husband and I feel very welcome. Her house is comfortable, clean and welcoming. The breakfast was wholesome and delicious, including home-cooked bread and lovely bowls of fruit. She made us feel very much at home. We look forward to staying at Glasswing Guest House next time we come to Portland.


Charming and Idyllic!!

4,0 su febbraio 12, 2012

I just stayed at the Glasswing House this past weekend, and cannot recommend it enough. Holly is a warm and welcoming hostess, who will go beyond the call of duty to be helpful. Her lovely home is beautifully decorated and very comfortable, plus accented with her glass art and with the unique art of her family. The bedroom suite is the entire second floor, and is spacious and peaceful, with lots of special touches to make your stay there a pleasure. Breakfasts were delightful and generous!! I look forward to my next stay at the Glasswing House!!


Wonderful experience

4,6 su gennaio 02, 2012

My partner and I stayed with Holly on our first visit to Portland, so see some friends from the East Coast, as one of our friends lives in her neighborhood. It was the perfect location. We spent 2 nights and slept amazingly well. The place has a ton of character, and Holly offers a lot of passive services. I really liked that because we never had to feel like we were bothering her. Maps and instructions were always at arms reach and kitchen items for our use were tucked away on their own station. I really have no complaints at all. I hope to have an excuse to stay at the Glasswing again.


Staying with a friend

4,6 su novembre 07, 2011

I have stayed in many B&Bs. The Glasswing experience is exceptional. Holly, the owner, made me feel like I was staying with a friend rather than in a guesthouse. I highly recommend the Glasswing gueshouse for the wonderful breakfast and the warm hospitality.


Awesome B&B Stay in Portland

5 su novembre 04, 2011

My husband and I booked Glasswing for October 28-November 2 for a visit with his brother and family. I had selected it mainly because it was close to our family, and it looked really comfortable in the pictures. It far exceeded my expectations! I have stayed in many B&B's in many cities and Glasswing is at the top of my list. We will definitely return when we travel to Portland again. Holly is an amazing host and cook! It was very interesting chatting with her over breakfast and she had great recommendations, particularily pointing us to the Chinese garden on a rainy day. Our room was very comfortable, and well appointed (she thinks of everything!) The water was hot, and the breakfasts were delicious. They were so filling, we could keep going until almost 3 in the afternoon without lunch! My husband recently has had to watch his salt, and Holly prepared wonderful breakfasts with no or as little salt as possible. The location (we did have a car) was super close to everything, real easy to get around Portland but public transportation would have worked just as well. The neighborhood is quiet and it was nice to explore some of the shopping areas, ie Clinton, nearby. And as we are animal people, to have the super sweet, mellow, and calm dog around to say hi in the morning helped us not to miss our dogs too much (but for those of you reading this who are not dog lovers, he totally stays out of your way.) All in all, it was a great trip, made so much better by having a great place to stay (and to retreat to from the family chaos!) I highly recommend Glasswing, and will be doing so to all those I know traveling to the Portland area. Thanks Holly!


Loved Portland, and Loved this beautiful guest house!

4,4 su ottobre 30, 2011

My wife and i spent four nights at Holly's beautiful home. The guest suite is spacious and very nicely decorated. My wife really appreciated the big claw-foot tub, and we both loved Holly's extensive art collection. We didn't do the breakfast option to save some money, so can't comment on that; but Holly did make us some wonderful gluten-free muffins on our last day (very much appreciated, since my wife is gluten-intolerant). We will definitely be visiting Portland again, and our first choice will be to stay at the Glasswing Guest House!


Personal Service

4,6 su settembre 21, 2011

My first reaction upon arrival was WOW what a great room! Sitting area, bedroom area and a large bath area. Basically you are on the entire top floor of the house. Because it is the only room, you have personal attention from Holly. I felt like I was at a friend's house visiting for the weekend. And like other reviewers suggested, I dare you to find better food at a B&B! The fruit every morning was spectacular and the main dish never dissapointed! Look forward to staying again!


Eat and Sleep well in Portland

4,4 su luglio 16, 2011

I had a great time staying with Holly a few months back when visiting Portland. Nice room with oodles of space (you essentially have the entire top floor of the house) but the food is what i really remember. So yummy!


Lovely!

4,6 su luglio 15, 2011

The room was gorgeous, the bed was a dream, and the breakfast was fantastic. Glasswing is cozy and beautiful. I hope to stay there again on future trips to Portland.


Glasswing Guest House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $80 - $125
  • Recensioni (17) 4,6
  • Camere 2

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 971-344-0798

Più info

Inizio pagina