The House on Harmar Hill Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,8
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
47 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Sweet Dreams

5 su novembre 23, 2013

My visit to Marietta, OH, was made extra special by my heart-warming stay at this B&B. What a wonderful experience I plan to enjoy many more times in the years to come. Judy makes the most delicious breakfasts you will ever eat and Doug is always handy for stories and helpful information about this historical area. The rooms are beautiful and soooo comfortable. I slept very well every night and especially enjoyed a nice soak in the clawfoot tub - ahhhhh! The home is breathtaking as is the view. This is by far the most comfortable B&B I have had the pleasure to enjoy. I can't wait to plan my next stay. Judy and Doug are the best hosts!!


There will never be another quite like this one!!! :)

5 su settembre 22, 2013

My husband and I were first timers to the whole bed and breakfast thing before staying here on Harmer Hill. I must say that we were quite spoiled right off the bat! The house was absolutely charming and Judy and Doug were so down to earth it seemed like we were old friends :) Judy made a fantastic breakfast and Doug provided the entertainment with stories from the past. We are so glad to have visited here and will always return if we are in the neck of the woods! Thanks again to such a wonderful couple :) Jon and Leanne


Like family

5 su luglio 17, 2013

We have stayed here several times, and each time it feels like coming home to family. Doug and Judy are the best!! It feels like Heaven every time we stay. It is so peaceful. Judy makes a breakfast you will never forget. Outstanding does not describe how wonderful they or the B&B really are. Gene and Becky


Awesome Visit

5 su luglio 11, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The House on Harmer Hill. The house and rooms are beautiful, clean, and roomy. Breakfast was fantastic, as is the view from the spacious porch. The hosts, Judy and Doug, were awesome and made us feel welcome in their home. We will definitely return.


Can't wait to come back!

5 su luglio 02, 2013

I've stayed her twice and have sent friends over. Judy and Doug have a most beautiful home full of exquisite artifacts from their world travels. Their friendliness and warmth make you feel like you are old friends, and the breakfast is 5 star plus!


Castle in the Sky

5 su maggio 05, 2013

What a wonderful gracious place Judy and Doug the hosts have. They go out of their way to provide a awesome place to get away from it all. Only was able to stay one night, but plan on going back for at least a two night stay The Boathouse is a wonderful place to eat. Great safe atmosphere if you are traveling along. The sumpticious breakfast is a feast. I finished my scones and pineapple on the road for my lunch. Like a retreat back to the early 20th century.


Fabulous Getaway

5 su novembre 13, 2012

We felt like we were treated as family! Doug and Judy are the greatest! They treated us to an evening getaway and a wonderful breakfast. Since it was Veterans day, they offered us a free night and refused to take our money. I would recommend this place to anybody. Its like stepping back into the early 20th century and Doug is knowledgeable about every aspect..


Can't wait for a return visit! Loved Everything!

5 su agosto 29, 2012

I thought we were going to re-connect with family in that area but it was so much more. Loved that area and my accomadations.


Heaven on Earth in Marietta, OH

5 su maggio 07, 2012

The location is marvelous - high on Harmar Hill overlooking the Ohio River and Marietta. The rooms are beautifully appointed and luxurious and the breakfasts are fantastic. If you like flowers, you'll love it here. The Rhododendrons were in bloom plus the beautiful Iris and the peonies were getting ready to add their color. It's very convenient to anywhere in Marietta with its wonderful restaurants, museums, etc. A truly relaxing, comfortable place to spend an enjoyable time.


Very Relaxing

5 su ottobre 23, 2011

My mom, sister and I stayed 2 nights and loved the house, the food and the hosts! Judy and Doug are caring and personable, and we plan on visiting again when we can get away.


The best ever!!!

4,0 su ottobre 18, 2011

My stay on October 12th was wonderful! Judy and Doug make you feel at home, dinner recommendations were fantastic, Doug even made our reservation for us that we chose. The house is magnificent, the breakfast was great, very nice people...Would do it again..


What a view!

4,0 su settembre 28, 2011

Not only what a view but what gracious hospitality! This wonderful Victorian is not only gorgeous but we could not find fault with a single thing. This is the way to go people. Judy and Doug take you back to a time when things moved slower, people were kinder and the small things were appreciated. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience. Hope to see you again soon.


Unbelievable B&B

5 su agosto 02, 2011

My husband and I stayed at House on Harmar Hill in January 2011. We were extremely impressed with our entire experience. Our room was beautiful. The house was magnificent. Judy and Doug are very welcoming. Breakfast was spectacular. We will visit again. I can see this becomming a regular get away for us.


Very Nice Getaway

5 su maggio 02, 2011

Thank you Judy and Doug for an enjoyable night. Comfortable, excellent food and good company. What a view! Fabulous porch.


What a treat...

5 su marzo 02, 2011

We recently came back to Marietta for a college get together--as Marietta grads we always had fond memories of Harmar--but staying at Judy and Doug's made Harmar all the more special to us! The porch is fantastic, the sitting rooms, the staircase, the decorations--everything just works; and within moments you feel like you've popped in to visit a dear friend. Can't wait to come back.


FANTASTIC WEEKEND RETREAT!

5 su febbraio 14, 2011

A relaxing get-away where history was made. The Queen Ann victorian home was a treasure with breath taking views of the Ohio River and Marietta's historic district. The rooms were immaculate and elegantly furnished. The breakfasts rival a four-star restaurant. Judy and Doug were gracious hosts and well informed on local history and attractions. Cannot wait to return!


Outstanding Place to Stay

4,0 su ottobre 08, 2010

My two friends and I have stayed at the House on Harmar Hill on three different visits to the region. Judy & Doug are like old friends to us and the food is beyond excellent. They are warm and gracious to us each time we have the privilege of staying there. We look forward to another visit there. Barb Long, Bristol, IN


Weekend Getaway!

5 su settembre 13, 2010

We recently had the opportunity to stay at The House on Harmar Hill. What a wonderful experience! The innkeepers, Judy & Doug Grize, greeted us upon arrival and were courteous and warm throughout our stay. We truly felt "at home" and plan to revisit many more times in the future. This is truly a "must see" if you are looking for a place to relax and reconnect!


Wonderful hosts

5 su agosto 18, 2010

My 15 year old granddaughter and I stayed at the House on Harmar Hill two weeks ago and she loved her first B & B experience. Now she wants to live in a Victorian home just like this one. Judy and Doug were such gracious hosts. And Judy took into consideration my granddaughter's dietary restrictions. We are both looking forward to our next visit to Marietta and staying here.


The best get-away ever!!!

5 su agosto 16, 2010

The House on Harmar Hill has become our favorite get-away!!! We have stayed numorous times throughout the past year. There is nothing like sitting on the porch at night looking down on the lights in Marietta, especially in Winter. Judy continues to suprise us with her one-of-a kind breakfast feasts, and Doug is volumes of history that is a pleasure to talk to. We've become very attached to the place and especially the folks that make it what it is!!! Stu and Chris


Great bed and breakfast experience.

5 su luglio 17, 2010

We stayed here during our visit to Marietta for the daylily tour and local garden tour. The house is just gorgeous with beautiful natural woodwork, large front porch that looks out over the rivers. Great views of Marietta while you sit in one of many rocking chairs on the front porch. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, egg dish with bacon and warm freshly made sticky buns were especially yummy. Judy is a wonderful hostess, we appreciated receiving a private tour of their living area on the third floor which was the ballroom when the house was built is a truly beautiful space. Our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. One of the many reasons we love staying at B & B's!


House on Harmar Hill-A great weekend getaway!

4,8 su giugno 30, 2010

Judy and Doug do an incredible job of making you feel welcome and comfortable at their B & B. The home is beautiful, rooms are spacious, breakfast is fantastic and a visit to the the rocking chairs on the scenic front porch is priceless. Lots to do within walking distance. Definitely a must see, must do, must stay stop when traveling to Marietta!


Enjoyable anniversary

4,4 su giugno 22, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed a delightful 45th anniversary at The House on Harmar Hill. Judy and Doug were exceptional hosts whose wealth of local knowledge helped us make the most of our tours of Marietta and find some great restaurants. Our room was comfortable and the two breakfasts prepared by Judy were mouth watering. The description of the facilities infers that three of the four guest rooms have private baths. That is not the case. There are two baths on the second floor to serve four rooms. The third bath is on the first floor. This was no problem for us since we were the only guests on Sunday & Monday nights, but it could get a little congested in the morning with all four bedrooms occupied. We look forward to a future stay at The House on Harmar Hill.


The House on the Hill - Beautiful

4,4 su aprile 29, 2010

I recently stayed at this bed and breakfast and Judy and Doug the hosts were exceptional. Their restoration efforts on the century house were fabulous and you can tell they truly love the place and sharing it with others. The porch view over Marietta was fabulous and the breakfast truly defines the 'breakfast' in bed and breakfast. Judy was an exceptional cook and the breakfast were home made, 3 courses and kept you full well past lunch time. The service and attention was outstanding and truly a great value. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Marietta.


Wonderful stay.

4,8 su marzo 13, 2010

We have stayed two times, and give the same review for both. (March in 2009, and February 2010.) This time it was a snowy wonderland. The view from the house is amazing. The hosts Judy and Doug made us very welcome, and gave us helpful local knowledge. There is a lot to do in and around Marietta. We wished we could have stayed two nights, and were able to do more reading there. And the breakfasts were 'top notch.'


What a B&B!

5 su novembre 02, 2009

What a house! What a porch! What a view! What great hospitality, at 300 Bellevue! We just returned from a two day stay at "The House" and enjoyed it immensely. Our next trip to the area will include The House on Harmar Hill.


My Second Stay Here

5 su ottobre 25, 2009

Nine members of my Family just returned to southeastern Ohio to share some of our history of growing up in the area to our children and grandchildren. What a pleasure it was to all be together and have the Inn to enjoy. The front porch, the Parlor, the formal dinning room all places for us to gather and plan our day or relax after dinner and share our pleasures of the day. I will return here every chance I get to visit the area.


Weekend in Marietta

4,0 su settembre 25, 2009

This was our first ever experience staying at a B&B and we are, sort of, apprehensive about tring another B&B because we are afraid no one can TOP this one! From the moment we arrived and saw a sign with our name on it we felt welcome. The door opened and there was Judy who I had spoken over the phone. She is truly an embodiment of warmth. Judy made us feel so very welcome, it was almost like we had met in some past lifetimes before! We would highly recommend this home if your visits take to you Marietta.


Fantabulous

5 su agosto 29, 2009

We had a family gathering to celebrate multiple birthdays and anniversaries. Judy and Doug were most gracious. Our stay could not have been any better. And, the breakfast was 5 star quality. We are looking to return. Great place, great hosts and fantabulous breakfast.


Feeling on top of the world!

5 su agosto 02, 2009

Doug and Judy are special people who make you feel like royalty. The food is fabulous and the house and its history are amazing. The porch is a delight and you can easily sit and rock the day away but don't because Marietta has much to offer with museums, shops and the river. We will return as long as they are sitting on top of the world!


Wonderful View

5 su luglio 28, 2009

I have had stayed at The House on Harmer hill several times since they moved in and the house is wonderful.The view is amazing and the room view is even better. You would be crazy not to stay here if you are passing by.


Girls Trip

4,8 su luglio 26, 2009

We just returned from 2 nights at the House on Harmar Hill. This was the 09 trip for 5 Friends who have made trips together for several years. We would highly recommend this B & B. Very friendly and helpful hosts, scrumptious breakfasts--especially the scones. The front porch was a great place to end the day talking and enjoying the view ove the city. Location is great in traveling to Parkersburg and of course Marietta.


We didn't want to leave!

5 su luglio 20, 2009

Simply put, we didn't want to leave! Everything was wonderful. The Victorian decor, the front porch view, the scrumptious breakfasts, the interesting conversations and the great host and hostess made this vacation memorable for us, and we hope to return soon. Thanks!


A Fantastic Getaway!

5 su luglio 16, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the House on Harmar Hill. Our hostess, Judy, was so charming and had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us when we came back from dinner at a local seafood place she had recommended that had the best crab cakes ever. Our breakfast at the inn the next morning was perfect. We loved sitting on the porch and enjoying the wonderful view. We highly recommend that anyone passing through stay a night or two,it is worth the stop.


After this, you'll never want to stay anywhere else

5 su luglio 09, 2009

A beautifully restored Victorian home on a hilltop with gorgeous scenic views. A delicious breakfast served by a wonderful hostess. Great conversation with the owners. It makes for a wonderful trip. The only drawback, you’ll never want to stay at any other B&B again, because the House on Harmar Hill, along with the fabulous and fun little city of Marietta, provides everything just right. I’m afraid a trip anywhere else will be a disappointment!


A mininum 2-night stay!

4,2 su gennaio 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed here 4-1/2 years ago for two nights and enjoyed it very much. Our hosts, Doug & Judy, were very gracious and amiable and made us feel right at home. They know how to be both friendly and helpful but still allow you the freedom to make your own plans. If you're there during the summer, I highly recommend sitting on the veranda in the afternoon, sipping a cool glass of lemonade. Not only is it a gorgeous view down onto Marietta and the Ohio and Muskegon Rivers from up top but, if you're fortunate, you might also be able to catch the lilting melody of a distant calliope being played on board a paddle wheel, as it heads out of Marietta along the Ohio. And, even if you're not an early riser - do NOT pass up breakfast in the morning. Judy outdid herself both mornings that we were there. I can't remember anything specific other than the fresh fruit. But what I DO remember is that it was ALL very delicious. If you're looking for a great (and inexpensive) place to get away from your TV, computer, and/or hectic schedule, this is the place for you. Unwind in a beautiful 100+ year old Victorian home, almost as if it (and the life around it) had been built yesterday.


Wonderful Visit

4,2 su novembre 12, 2008

We just completed our second stay this year at Harmar Hill. The breakfasts are amazing. Doug and Judy are terrific hosts. They are a wealth of historic knowledge about the area. We highly recommend this as a place to stay when visiting your student at Marietta College. The view is amazing!


Gorgeous Victorian House

5 su settembre 30, 2008

We've stayed at this lovely place twice now, and will probably stay several more times over our son's time at Marietta College. It's worth the visit just to be able to see this historical gem. In addition, Judy and Doug are gracious hosts and wonderful to chat with. Breakfasts are divine. An all around wonderful place to stay while in Marietta.


Impressive

4,6 su settembre 22, 2008

This was my first B&B experience and they sure made it a nice one. Breakfast was amazing. The place was spotless. The people very friendly.


Porch Conversations

5 su settembre 08, 2008

We so enjoyed relaxing on the porch and meeting the other guests and chatting with them. Lovely setting and beautiful Victorian home. Breakfast was "yummy"!


Delightful

5 su settembre 05, 2008

The home and furnishings are lovely. The front porch setting is a most relaxing spot to rest, converse, and enjoy the wonderful view of the town and river below. Judy, your innkeeper, is a delightful hostess, insuring that your visit is a most comfortable one. Judy prepares a breakfast each morning that is as visually wonderful as it is delicious. Marietta and the surrounding area have much to see and do. Wow...we really enjoyed our two nights at The House on Harmar Hill.


Marietta Gem

5 su agosto 13, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Harmar Hill Judy provided a breakfast that was memorable every morning! The food was wonderful. This location provides an expansive view from the lovely porch of the city of Marietta, The Ohio River and the Muskingham River. There is lots to do nearby and your literally walking distance from "Lookout Point." Judy told us of the history of the house and was a ready resource for places to go in and around town. I highly recommend this Inn.


Room with a view

4,0 su giugno 03, 2008

Our stay included beautiful architecture, antiques, panoramic view, gracious host and hostesses as well as a delectable presentation of breakfast. One night's stay is not enough!


A Wonderful Place for Our Special Day!

4,6 su aprile 28, 2008

We chose this B & B for a small wedding with family and friends. What a gorgeous place for any affair! The owners went out of their way to ensure that our day was one to remember, and the family and friends that stayed in their rooms were blown away by the warmth and hospitality from the Grize's and their staff. If you are looking for peace and serenity or a special place for a special day, Harmer is definitely it!!!


June 07

4,0 su novembre 17, 2007

My husband and I visited in June '07. The view of the confluence of the Muskingum and Ohio rivers from the porch was beautiful!! We were happily surprised by all the things to do in Marietta. The Grizes were so helpful and kind. We truly enjoyed our stay!


Wonderful place to stay

5 su maggio 28, 2007

This place is elegant. The host couple were wonderful company. They made certain in our total comfort and relaxation. If you need quiet, solitude, a beatiful place to stay and a relaxing atmosphere come visit the House on Harmer Hill. You'll come back again as we plan to


Great Place to Stay

5 su aprile 29, 2007

I've stayed at the Harmar Hill B&B twice now and loved it both times. The innkeepers were especially helpful during both stays and we loved Effy (their hostess cat). Every breakfast was spectacular. I highly recommend this for anyone who wants to stay in a historical home.


The House on Harmar Hill

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $75 - $95
  • Recensioni (47) 4,8
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7403745451
  • Numero di Fax 1-7403745078
  • Gratuito 1-8663745451
Inizio pagina