Bailey House Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,8
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
114 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Brought back memories

4,0 su giugno 30, 2014

My family lived in Georgetown, OH when I was a child. Staying at the Bailey House brought back so many memories. We called the owner before arriving and they said to just walk in, the door would be unlocked. Very friendly atmosphere and breakfast was great. I would stay again


Land of Grant

5 su giugno 03, 2014

This home is the pride of the Purdy. Perfectly situated for "all things Grant" tour. House is comfortable and beautiful. Bed quite comfortable. Amenities were perfect. Enjoyed our 2 night stay.


Excellent

4,0 su febbraio 24, 2014

Small country town but lots of historic things to do


Great Stay

5 su febbraio 17, 2014

We mailed a card in; but our 5 out of 5 review didn't show up! We got two adjoining rooms. Very comfortable. The breakfasts were great. The first day's breakfast included nice fresh fruit. I couldn't eat mine as I'm alergic to bananas. The next day - no bananas!!! The Purdy's were awsome hosts. We felt right at home and will be back. Lisa, Chuck and Robert


Great B&B Experience

4,8 su dicembre 20, 2013

We stayed 5 days to visit family in the area and it was a great experience. Definitely exceeded my expectations.


Bailey House Bed and Breakfast

4,0 su dicembre 20, 2013

Stand and Nancy were wonderful hosts.


Bailey House

5 su novembre 25, 2013

Everything was excellent.


Hospitality Abounds!

4,2 su novembre 05, 2013

If you are looking for a different venuse for a special occasion this is it. On October 12th my husband and I were married at the Bailey House. Stan and Nancy did everything they could to support us on our special day. My family stayed there and then as friends from Canada and the local area joined us, the celebration was exactly what we wanted. Accommodation for my maid of honour and my family, fabulous breakfasts (I am told), changing furniture placement to allow our guests to join us in the library and living room, extra decorations in the form of garlands, use of the screened in porch for fruit and cheese trays while pictures were taken on the property for the wedding party, work with the local caterer to accommodate our 30 plus gueses and of course use of their beautiful home and gardens made the day wonderful. Like others I am so impressed by the hospitality that Nancy and Stan provided to us. I would recommend the inn most highly not only for the hospitality but also for the tremendous knowledge of local history and especially of Grant and his importance in the local area.


Weekend Getaway at Bailey House

5 su ottobre 23, 2013

From the moment my husband and I walked through the backdoor into the kitchen, we felt at home. Nancy and her pomeranian puppy instantly made us feel welcome. She gave us the grand tour of this historical home with all the fascinating details. We were introduced to her husband Stan who we later joined in the family room for the OSU game. Our room was lovely and so refreshing with its antiques and high ceiling. Everything about our stay was perfect! We took both tours of the Grant boyhood home and his schoolhouse. We loved the details and wealth of knowledge our guide provided. The animatron of Ulysses as a boy was awesome! Technology in action! The breakfast was delicious, and having time to talk and share made us feel like we were in the home of old friends. Nancy and Stan are so involved in their community and bringing history to life through many planned events. We will definitely be returning in the Spring when their next Civil War expert comes to Georgetown. Many thanks to Nancy, Stan, and their lovely pets for making our weekend memorable and fun! Debbie and Rick


If in the area, stay Here!!!

5 su settembre 24, 2013

Wow, we loved the Bailey House because of Nancy and her spirit of friendliness and kindness and knowledge of the Grant history. Her breakfasts were delicious, the bed was wonderful and I would love to come back. It was like staying with a dear aunt!!!


Great Getaway

5 su settembre 17, 2013

We spent 2 comfortable nights recently at the lovely Bailey House. Stan and Nancy are great to be around and have a wealth of knowledge about Grant and the history of this area. They provided us with tasty breakfasts and tips of places to see and experience. We would definitely recommend their hospitality and would return again. Thanks for everything! Bruce & Helen


Wonderful!

5 su settembre 05, 2013

I love the Bailey House so much. Wonderful place to be at and has tons of history. Mrs Nancy is a wonderful lady/hostess.


Wonderful Hostess!

5 su agosto 30, 2013

Very close to our family reunion and lovely historical home.


Historical

5 su agosto 25, 2013

Interesting B&B - fascinating historical home.


Wonderful service

4,4 su agosto 23, 2013

Wonderful service throughout my stay. Nancy even provided a private tour of President Grant's boyhood home.


A Historic Gem

4,6 su agosto 21, 2013

This ante-bellum house has everything : spacious rooms, a gracious innkeeper, intriguing history, lovely grounds and more.


A wonderful experience

5 su agosto 21, 2013

Comfortable, hospitality abounds in this historic home. We were made to feel like family not guests. The food was great and our host took special care with my dietary (special) needs. It was a privilege to stay there.


Refreshed

5 su agosto 16, 2013

My wife booked me a couple nights at the Bailey House Bed and Breakfast. A short distance from north of Cincinnati. A short drive from historical points of interest along the Underground Railroad (Ripley and Red Creek, Ohio, and Washington and Maysville, Kentucky). Walking distance to Grant's childhood home and schoolhouse and the charming downtown of Georgetown. Breakfast, coffee, and engaging conversation with Nancy and Stan was a refreshing part of my visit. Very enjoyable, very affordable. We'll be back!


Who really is buried in Grants Tomb?

4,8 su agosto 12, 2013

Very friendly proprietor. Breakfast is fabulous especially apple french toast. Love proximity to Grants birth place and school house. True Ohio state Buckeyes fans.


Great Location in SE Ohio

5 su agosto 11, 2013

My (22 yr old) son and I stayed 3 nights while visiting family in nearby Felicity. Nancy set us up in a large room with a roll away cot, queen bed and private bath. Everything you would need in the Bathroom is provided (toiletries, hair dryer, etc). Breakfast was not only an enjoyable meal (excellent food), but a great conversation with the hosts. Nancy also provides a tour of nearby Ulysses S Grant boyhood home - she is a wealth of knowledge about the local area. Would highly recommend this B&B for the location and value.


Great 3-Night Stay at the Bailey House

5 su agosto 11, 2013

I stayed at the Bailey House in early August 2013. The house is full of history and a great place to stay when in southern Ohio. The rooms are very large and comfortable, with great bathroom facilities. Nancy and Stan are great hosts and have plenty of information about Georgetown and President Grants history in the area to share. Would definitely recommend!


Great Experience

5 su luglio 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bailey House mid April for her 50th birthday. We had a wonderful weekend made even better by our stay at the Bailey House. Our hosts were the best ! The room was clean and cozy with a very comfortable bed. We had a very good breakfast both mornings and Nancy gave us a personal tour of the Grant home just down the street from the Band B. Her knowledge of the history of the Grant family and home made our time there very interesting, we were very impressed with the time she spent with us touring the home even though we were the only guests that day. If you are a Civil war or history buff you will find this B and B and Nancy to be a very interesting experience. Nancy is very accommodating and makes you feel right at home. The price is more than reasonable for the unique and historical setting and clean and comfortable accommodations. I would highly recommend this B and B.


A Good Respite

4,0 su luglio 24, 2013

I stayed at the Bailey House one night. I think the pictures on this site do not do the Bailey House justice. It is a beautiful house and the décor in the room I stayed in was very comfortable and classy. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious (which was nice because I spent a lot of time in it). The owners are very nice and responsive, they took care of a minor issue right away. Breakfast was great and it was interesting to hear the history of the house and the area. My only note as far as something that would need to be taken into consideration is in regards to how the shared bath works out. I knew it was a shared bath when I made the reservation. The bath is between two rooms so that there was a door from my room to the hallway and also a door from my room to the bathroom. The bathroom also had a door to the other bedroom. The bathroom locks from the inside so that it can't be entered from the bedrooms while in use. The difficulty is that there is no way to lock the bathroom door while you are in the bedroom. Thus you can lock the door to the hallway but there is no way when going to bed to lock the other door. If you are staying with family or friends and you have both rooms this would probably not be a big deal for you but staying on your own with someone you don't know in the other room, that may or may not be an issue for you depending on your personal comfort zone. That being said, I had a really good time and am very glad I got the chance to stay at the Bailey House Bed and Breakfast.

Risposta del proprietario
I'm so glad to get this idea about having a lock on the inside of each bedroom. I hadn't thought of this need before. We now have installed locks on both the inside of the bedroom doors & on the outside of each room. Problem solved! Thanks for the need.


Charming hosts and home

4,6 su luglio 22, 2013

Bailey B&B is an excellent choice if your travels require an overnight stay in Brown County, Ohio. The hosts were friendly and accommodating. The room with the private bath had all the essentials and the bed a firm mattress - all of which made for a restful night of sleep. The floors creak a bit - but that comes with staying in a home of this era. Breakfast was satisfying with waffles, bacon, and fruit plus interesting conversation. Georgetown is centrally located in Brown County and the county seat, so whether you are there for business or pleasure, the Bailey B&B is a good home base. To top it off, the hosts agreed to give me a discount as a veteran, AARP and AAA member. Thanks :-)


Great Stay At This Historical Property

4,2 su giugno 24, 2013

Owner/Inn Keeper is very gracious and helpful. The owner/inn keeper's private tours of U.S. Grant's boyhood home and school were both very informative and delightful. Suggestions as to what to see and do in Georgetown, and nearby Ripley, Maysville and Point Pleasant were also most helpful. This is a great value, and we would happily return for another pleasant stay.


Lovely, relaxing, charming

5 su giugno 12, 2013

Bailey House B&B is my favorite of them all. I have been here many times to soak in the historic rooms, wonderful hospitality, charming ambiance.


Great stay, delightful hosts

5 su giugno 10, 2013

Ideal B&B!


Historic Complement

4,2 su giugno 01, 2013

The Bailey House is a superb complement to the great history in Georgetown. Our hosts were attentive and experts on Grant. The Bailey House is a veritable museum of antiques. We loved our stay.


Both House and Hosts Delightful

4,8 su aprile 30, 2013

Both the house and the community have lots of history which the Purdys are quite knowledgeable of. They will gladly share as much or as little of that as wanted while providing clean and comfortable accommodations and an excellent breakfast. For me, the Bailey House was a base for exploring Georgetown history but I could also see it as a nice quiet getaway.


Bailey House

5 su aprile 15, 2013

We had a quick week-end getaway at Bailey House in Georgetown, Ohio. The innkeepers were wonderful, Nancy gave us a tour of Grants childhood home, shared the story of her home and family and history of Georgetown. Her breakfast was incredible and our room delightful. We will tell are friends and hope to visit again.This was only the second bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at but will not be our last.


Being a Part of History

5 su gennaio 19, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Bailey's, which is steeped in history. The innkeepers have all the facts of the bygone era. Most enjoyable couple, great breakfasts; greater appreciation for Ohio History.


Outstanding Find in the Land of U.S. Grant

5 su gennaio 10, 2013

Hospitality at its best! Historic mansion in a unique area. Charming home and large, comfortable room. Great breakfast. Caring hosts. Do not pass up.


Great Place to Stay!

5 su ottobre 21, 2012

My husband and I normally stay with family when in this part of the country, but due to a wedding, we needed a place to stay. I found the Bailey House B&B on-line. I was surprised at the reasonable rates to start with. When we arrived, we were greeted at the backdoor, like friends. We received a wonderful tour and history of the house, then were shown to our room. It was spacious and filled with family antiques. The private bath was huge also. We had everything we needed. The breakfasts were wonderful and loved that Nancy and Stan sat with us and chatted, it really was like staying with a close friend. I highly recommend this place if you are in the area or just want a nice place to get away. We didn't have time to visit the local attractions, but there are many things to see. The fall foliage was lovely too! Hope to stay again sometime. New Friends in SC.


Wonderful Historic Home

4,8 su ottobre 13, 2012

It was our pleasure to spend two nights in the Bailey House. The atmosphere was so pleasant. Our needs were truly met, and we were very comfortable. The hospitality was super; it was very clean and we loved it. We will return.


A Return to the Graciousness of the Past....

5 su ottobre 08, 2012

Our two-day stay at Bailey House was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable we've ever spent at a B&B! Nancy and Stan were gracious & thoughtful hosts who made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. Their knowledge of Grant and the local history is extensive and they were never too busy during our visit to share a tale from the past. We thoroughly enjoyed all their stories about the history of their home and the friendship between the Bailey family and the Grant family. Nancy even took time to give us a tour of Grant's boyhood home and school which were closed to the public at the time due to renovations. Our accomodations were spacious and comfortable, and breakfasts both mornings were ample and delicious. Our stay was delightful and we are already looking forward to a return trip.


Would Recommend & Stay Again.

5 su ottobre 05, 2012

Very hospitable owners. Willing to share all information about their town and General Grant Room very clean & comfortable. I would definitely go back.


Like visiting family

5 su settembre 30, 2012

This is our favorite bed and breakfast so far. The Baily House is quiet, peaceful, warm and inviting. Room was large and private and the bed, very comfortable. Nancy has a way of making you feel like family - and she makes a wonderful Apple French Toast! After hotels' continental breakfasts, this is a real treat.


Wonderful!

5 su settembre 11, 2012

Wonderful -- so homey -- so welcoming. Best breakfast! Beautiful & so much history.


Lovely Place to Visit

5 su agosto 31, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere in a home with a gigantic history, then give the Bailey House a try. Nancy and her husband Stan are very cordial and friendly hosts. They will give you a history lesson that will match whatever time you have to listen. Here about the Civil War, President U. S. Grant, and see his boyhood home and school. Plan to have a super experience!


Read This Review!

4,8 su agosto 02, 2012

The Bailey Inn is a must for those who are interested in Civil War history, architecture, and just plain relaxing. Nancy is a serviceful, attentive hostess who is quick with a story, advice on area attractions and an excellent cook. I will not stay in any other accommodations when in the area. A five-star treat.


Living part of history

5 su luglio 11, 2012

Excellent hosts, great location, and an accessible part of an historic past! Perfect departure point for many visits to the early history of the area, and for America. Hosts are extremely knowledgeable of local events, both current as well as historic.


A home away from home!

5 su maggio 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I had never stayed at a bed & breakfast before but she wanted to try one so we found the Bailey House Bed & Breakfast online. We had to go to a wedding and a graduation in the area so we booked our trip with Nancy via email. When we arrived we were greeted by Nancy's daughter and showed around briefly, then to our room. They have the cutest little dog and a couple of cats which are lazy and very friendly. Our room was huge, very nice and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, much more so than just about any bed in any home-away-from-home that I've stayed at, the only comparable bed would probably be the beds at Hampton Inn (which will cost you about $159 a night I might add). We were the only ones staying the first night and were able to name our own breakfast time, we chose 9am. The next morning we woke up to the smell of bacon and went downstairs for a wonderful breakfast of fruit plate, apple-french toast and bacon with juice and tea (neither of us drink coffee). We spoke with Nancy for nearly two hours about the area and really enjoyed our time just sitting and talking. The next day we had another wonderful breakfast before departing. Our first experience with a bed & breakfast was a great one. I think we were very fortunate to have chosen such a beautiful historic house run by such a wonderful family. As a side note as a techno-addict I appreciated the fast, free wi-fi (fast enough to stream Netflix). Unfortunately with our wedding and graduation we did not have time for a proper tour of the grounds and the area but since my girlfriend has family in the area we most certainly plan to come back. This is a fantastic value for the money and far beats anything you will find in a hotel, in cleanliness, comfort and value. And what hotel that you stay at is going to have such a cute Pomeranian to eat breakfast with? :)


An excellent choice!

5 su aprile 29, 2012

The Bailey House was fantastic. It was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, and it was great. We didn't quite know what to expect, but Nancy and her family were very gracious and professional. Nancy was very knowledgeable about the area and provided us with lots of flyers for nearby attractions and restaurants. She even took us on tours of Ulysses S. Grant's boyhood home and the schoolhouse. We would definitely recommend staying at the Bailey House; it's way better than any hotel we've ever stayed at.


Just right

5 su aprile 26, 2012

Everything about the Bailey House is just right. It is lovely and historic, friendly and charming, breakfast is good and pleasant, and innkeeper Nancy knows all about Georgetown and President Ulysses S. Grant (who grew up there). Next year we hope to attend Grant Day events in April. HIghly recommended, and a great rate!


Gracious and knowledgeable hosts

4,6 su febbraio 16, 2012

We spent one night at the Bailey House. Our purpose was to visit the Grant sites. The sites are closed during the winter, but Nancy provided in-dpeth tours and had many stories about Grant as a youth. She went out of her way to answer our questions. Stan and Nancy were very gracious, and the animals, two cats and two dogs, friendly and well behaved. Great value also.


Quaint Sky

5 su febbraio 12, 2012

Everything was wonderful, a large beautiful room with all the amenities we needed. Everything was clean & neat and decorated very, very nice. The bed was very comfortable & warm during our December stay.


Great historic stay

4,4 su dicembre 01, 2011

I would easily recommend the Bailey House to anyone. The owners are very nice and the facility and service are also very nice. We stayed there for 5 nights and were very pleased with our stay. Better than any hotel/motel, plus we learned a lot about U. S. Grants years at Georgetown.


A Truly Delightful Stay!

5 su novembre 02, 2011

Outstanding night away at Bailey House, in Georgetown, Ohio ~ everything was so nice. This was our second stay. Nancy and Susie were so warm and friendly, as were the pets. So comfy, cozy were the accommodations, along with a delicious breakfast.We enjoyed the history and the town so much, along with a drive down to historic Ripley nearby. We will definitely return. Would love to bring my sisters for a visit too! Thank you.


Charming, beautiful and gracious

5 su settembre 04, 2011

We just got back from a stay at the Bailey House. We ran a bit late because we were busy in Ripley. We called to let Nancy know and she told us it was no problem. When we arrived later that evening, we were greeted by Nancy and given a tour of the house. Nancy is very knowledgable about the house and about the city of Georgetown. In addition, it's obvious she is passionate about preserving that history and sharing it with others. Our room was good sized and comfortable, with a nice soft bed and nice linens. Everything in the house was spotless! Our room had a shared bathroom and it worked out just fine. We were lucky enough to share a breakfast time with two of the other guests in the house. Breakfast was homemade and there was plenty of food, which was quite good. Breakfast conversation was lovely and Nancy does a great job of bringing her guests together over the meal. I was reluctant to leave the table when breakfast was over. There were a couple of adorable house cats, who were friendly and one cute small dog. We can't wait to go back and bring our daughter. Nancy gives personal tours of the Grant house, so we plan to schedule that the next time we come. It was a great value and we really enjoyed our stay.


"Met my expections" is a high rating

3,2 su agosto 21, 2011

I have high expectations for a B&B, especially in a historical location, and The Bailey House has met those expectations on both of our stays there. Nancy is a wonderful host and a font of historical knowlege about the area. The home is beautifully and tastefully decorated and our room was large and comfortable. The mattress was past it's prime and the antique headboard was quite squeaky but it didn't keep us from getting a good night's sleep. Breakfast was simple and simply delicious. The quiche was very good and the homemade biscuits and cherry preserves were worth the stay themselves! I would recommend The Bailey House to anyone who is planning to further pursue the history of U.S. Grant and southern Ohio's involvement in the Civil War and the Underground Railroad.

Risposta del proprietario
I am so glad to get this notification about our mattress not being as comfortable as it should. We don't sleep on these beds & I didn't think about this aspect of our rooms. I have now changed the mattresses in all the guests rooms because of this guest letting me know about the problem. Thank you so much. I learned a lesson! Nancy Purdy


Great Place to visit

5 su agosto 05, 2011

Relaxing treated like royalty and family food out of this world.


Rest & Relaxation

5 su agosto 02, 2011

I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere & the family was very hospitable. Nice experience & I plan to go again next year.


Great Find

4,6 su luglio 26, 2011

There are very few B&Bs in this part of Ohio so I was suprized to find one so moderately priced and yet so well run. The house has a lot of charm and the innkeepers are very attentive and go out of their way to meet your needs. The cost of breakfast was included in the room and it was a fine meal. We will definately return if we ever need lodging in the area.


The Bailey House

5 su luglio 03, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay immensely. We came to the Brown County area in search of my ancestors history in the surrounding environs. Nancy, Stan, and Susan could not have been more helpful in helping me exceed my expectations in my ancestral pursuits. Our room was quite comfortable and breakfasts were absolutely delicious.


The Bailey House

4,2 su maggio 31, 2011

We are seasoned traveler's and found the Bailey House delightful. It's more like staying with good friends or your favorite aunt. Our room was very spacious with lots of windows. The only negative thing was the bed and may need a new mattress. We're extremely fussy, so may be ok for others. Each morning breakfast was different and delicious. We also enjoyed our private tour of Grant's childhood home. Innkeeper Nancy did a truly wonderful job of making us feel welcome. Her friendliness and genuine hospitality made our stay special.

Risposta del proprietario
We have gotten new mattresses for all the beds now and the antique bed no longer squeaks! Thank you for bringing this problem to our attention. We appreciate your kind comments! Nancy


Wonderful Experience

4,0 su marzo 04, 2011

Overall, staying at the historic Bailey House exceeded my expectations. Nancy Purdy and her family made my stay very enjoyable. I felt like I was staying with family! I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


A step back in time

5 su dicembre 19, 2010

Our hosts could not have been more welcoming, sharing their very historic home with guests. And our private tour of U. S. Grant's boyhood home was a delightful surprise, as was their knowledge of the history of the area. Truly, a step back in time!


Grant's ghost

3,6 su ottobre 19, 2010

This was a welcoming host family. Delicious breakfast, friendly pets. Lots of historical tidbits associated with this house.


A stay in Georgetown, OH

5 su ottobre 03, 2010

Quite simply superb. The accommodations were great and the breakfast even better.


A Great & Historical place to stay

5 su settembre 11, 2010

As soon as we arrived, we knew this 1830's was going to be tops on our list. We found this B&B on a Ulysses S Grant website. It was just what we were looking for. With Grant's boyhood home and Schoolhouse just a short walk down the street and his birthplace just a few miles away, it was perfect for researching the General's early life. The Innkeepers made us feel like family. We plan to return in the near future.


Above and Beyond good service

5 su settembre 10, 2010

Hosts were excellent, offering suggestions to area location to complement our stay and providing a comfortable, relaxing atmosphere. Great 1st experience!


Enjoy history with modern comfort.

4,6 su settembre 09, 2010

This was a special visit. Nancy and Stan were a joy to visit with and done a beautiful job decorating in the true historic style of the house. There is a/c (works great) and nice bathrooms. Yummy food. Highly recommended.


Girls weekend away

5 su settembre 09, 2010

Wonderful host and hostess, great food fun conversations knowledge about the area would love to come back!


Historic Home With Hospitality

3,6 su luglio 21, 2010

230 year old grand home in small town, with beautiful period furniture. Stories of the house, by the owner, were interesting. A really pleasant stay.


Awesome1

5 su luglio 19, 2010

We had a wonderful time - everything was just perfect. Great experience for our first bed and breakfast!


Excellent Accommodations

5 su giugno 24, 2010

The owner was friendly, the house and grounds were immaculate, and the food was delicious.


Charm and Grace

5 su giugno 03, 2010

Historical, charming and lovely, the Bailey House's rooms are matched only by the garciousness of the owner. This is a lovely, gentle place to stay in picturesque Georgetown.


Histroic B&B

5 su aprile 19, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Bailey House B&B. It was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B to anybody. I learned a lot of local history from the chat with the innkeeper Nancy. I look forward to going back one day and spending more time exploring the town.


Superb

5 su novembre 06, 2009

Wonderful stay with Nancy and Stan. Very historic old home with lots of original furnishings. The play room upstairs was a delight!


Peace & Comfort

5 su ottobre 26, 2009

Planning our third visit...my mother is in a nearby nursing home. The comfort and surroundings that Nancy & Stan provide are a balm to the spirit in a stressful situation. Besides, the breakfasts are fabulous!


The Bailey House Extraordinaire

5 su ottobre 14, 2009

Lovely home, delightful historical trip through time. Charming, friendly couple, the owners.


An historic stay

4,0 su ottobre 08, 2009

I very much enjoyed my time at the Bailey House. The proprietor, Nancy, is a life long resident of Georgetown and grew up in the house. Her recount of the history of the house and its connection to President Grant who also grew up in Georgetown was fascinating. Plus, she accommodated my vegetarian diet deliciously. Many thanks!


Overnight in Historical Georgetown

5 su settembre 23, 2009

This incredible B&B absollutely reeks of history in the 1800's. The proprietors are cordial, caring and very proud of Bailey House.


Antebellum home, small town experience & history

5 su agosto 26, 2009

Staying at baily house is to experience thoughtful hosts who accommodate your every need. They provide you with the rich history of this area of Ohio which was the heart of the underground railroad. Georgetown, Ohio is also the childhood home of Ulysses S Grant. Bailey House has it all -- history, elegance, small town charm and engaging hosts.


Feels like family

4,8 su agosto 10, 2009

I just love this place. My second stay there and already I feel like a member of the family. Wonderful accomodations and awesome food. I can't wait to bring the rest of my family of a reunion getaway sometime. Thanks for a great stay!


It's the best!

4,8 su agosto 05, 2009

Bailey House Bed and Breakfast in Georgetown feels just like home! It's beautifully situated. My big 4-poster bed was so comfortable, and it was lovely & cool on steamy summer nights. Nancy & Stan were prefect hosts, great conversationalists, and thoroughly answered every question. I couldn't have asked for more! Stay here if you can!


Bailey House Bed and Breakfast

5 su agosto 04, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay -- the Purdys were fabulous hosts. We plan to return someday!


New Best Friends

4,6 su luglio 10, 2009

Nancy and Stan were wonderful hosts. They treated me like an old friend who was there for a visit. While I only stayed there one night, I feel like I made two good friends. I can't wait to go back with my wife and visit.


Best part of the trip!

4,0 su giugno 28, 2009

Wish we could have spent more time at the Bailey House. We stayed for only two nights and the time seemed to slip by too quickly. The accomodations were top notch. All our needs were met and we wanted nothing. Nancy, the Innkeeper, was an absolute delight, her knowledge of the area was superb. The history of the house and the surrounding area (President Ulysses Grant) could keep you busy for days. Our group consisted of 4 adults and a 6 year old boy. We always knew where to find little Parker when it was time to go someplace, he was in the 3rd floor playroom marveling at the train rolling across America. Nancy's Apple French Toast for breakfast is to die for. When I am visiting the area again I know where I will stay- The Bailey House!


Exceptional Place

5 su giugno 24, 2009

What makes this home special is the inn keepers, the history of the house and surrounding area. I had a relaxing stay and great conversation with the owners about all of the above. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a quiet, peaceful place to relax. I also enjoyed the cute little Pom who thinks she's the boss! (she is). Laurie


History Haven

5 su giugno 19, 2009

So much history in the house and town. the hosts were wonderful, friendly, and hold a treasure trove of grand history and of Georgetown. I love the big old house that's been in the family for generations. Their Pomeranian won my heart!


Excellent

5 su giugno 18, 2009

Awesome B&B. Great food and hospitality!!! We really enjoyed our stay!


a special 56th anniverary

5 su giugno 11, 2009

This elegant B&B was one of the best that we have stayed. Not only was the room, food, and hospitality excellent, the history of the area made the stay in this home alive by the owners.


A stupendous experience!!!!

5 su giugno 03, 2009

What a wonderful experience! With the most gracious innkeepers and the enlightening lessons in history, the charming rooms and scrumptious breakfast, we could not have asked for more...first rate all the way!!


EXCELLENT! Would stay there again...

5 su maggio 11, 2009

We felt more like family and not paying overnight guests...


Second Time is Even Better

5 su maggio 06, 2009

After seeing a new place for the first time, memory can elaborate on pleasing impressions, until a return visit is a disappointment. Reality doesn't live up to fond recollections. Bailey House is NOT such a place. Returning for the second time, after a year, I found it just a little better than I remembered. The rooms more spacious, the breakfast more substantial, the french toast with apples outdid the strawberries on waffles. My only disappointment is that I had to drive on to a new destination in the morning. It would be a wonderful place to stay for three or five days, exploring the surrounding countryside and returning each evening to the lights and shadows of the wooden staircase, the chandeliers, the woodwork steeped in two centuries of history. I hope Bailey House won't become too popular -- I would prefer to always find a vacancy when I want to make a reservation.


Great House, Great Hosts!

4,2 su maggio 05, 2009

Our second stay at Georgetown's Bailey House was again fantastic. The owners were accommodating of our schedule and enjoyable to be with.


Lovely place to stay

5 su aprile 03, 2009

Was in town for a tractor pull and in stead of staying in a motel my husband and I thought we would stay at a B&B, and we were very happy that we did. Nancy was a wonderful host with a lovely home. We were able to visit some interesting places during our stay. I have already made our plans to stay here again for our next trip to Georgetown,


Bailey House

4,8 su gennaio 13, 2009

We enjoyed every moment at the Bailey house. The history and knowledge of the owners was great. Beautiful home, lovely people to talk to and relax with.


Home away from home

5 su gennaio 13, 2009

The Bailey House has almost become our second home in southern Ohio. We like staying there because of the hospitality and it's historic uniqueness!


we will recommend to others!!

5 su dicembre 01, 2008

Staying at the Bailey House was a wonderful experience. The owners were so pleasant. House was beautiful, clean, and comfortable.


Bailey House

5 su dicembre 01, 2008

wonderful and gracious hospitality.


outstanding

5 su ottobre 30, 2008

outstanding


Recommendation to visit

5 su ottobre 15, 2008

Very lovely home with period furniture. Hostess congenial, excellent breakfast.


A+ Time Travel

5 su settembre 05, 2008

We loved Bailey House B&B not only because of its historic ambiance but because its owners were so genuinely welcoming & friendly. Nancy, a retired teacher and Stan, a practicing lawyer are so knowledgeable about local history and very involved in their community. Our upstairs room was huge and had five floor-to-ceiling windows. I felt as if I had stepped back in time and that maybe not much had been changed (except the bathrooms) because the house had been in the family so long. It's located a half block from Pres. Grant's boyhood home which is tied to the history of the Bailey House. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the attractive dining room. I agree with other reviewers that this B&B felt like home but also with a pleasant hint of what life was like in another era.


"Wonderful..."

4,0 su agosto 05, 2008

Wonderful, enjoyed our stay very much!


"Grant's country's finest"

4,6 su agosto 05, 2008

The Bailey House and it's owner are authentic U.S. Grant, Ohio countryside. The home is well loved and maintained. I will go back.


Wonderful place to stay!

5 su agosto 01, 2008

This lovely home is steeped in history and guests will enjoy the warm hospitality of hosts knowledgable of local Civil War history, clean spacious rooms an dgreat breakfasts.


"Great place, people and food."

5 su luglio 31, 2008

What a great historical place to stay! Great place, people and food. Very convenient to historical places. Walking distance


Historic Getaway

4,2 su luglio 23, 2008

A most pleasant and gracious stay at the Bailey House in Georgetown, OH. Large, spacious rooms and lovely grounds.


Bailey House

5 su luglio 18, 2008

Great Place, we loved the history & Charmed of this all. We will be back sometime soon in future.


Bailey House

5 su luglio 16, 2008

Excellent B&B. Very clean. Wonderful breakfast. Super friendly host. Would definitely stay here again. Went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. Great!!


Bailey House

3,8 su luglio 16, 2008

Nancy & family extremely friendly & helpful. Welcome the opportunity to come back.


Beautiful Experience

5 su luglio 15, 2008

This quaint getaway in Georgetown was a wonderful experience. All the comforts of home.


A Wonderful Find

5 su giugno 19, 2008

Absolutely fabulous! The house is historical & homey. The owners are friendly and social. We travel a lot & this is the best B&B we have every stayed at. Great food.


Bailey House

5 su giugno 18, 2008

Clean, friendly, comfortable, historic, personable. A refreshing place to stay.


A pleasant and comfortable stay

4,4 su giugno 02, 2008

We chose the Bailey House for a quiet weekend getaway not too far from our home in southeastern Kentucky. The innkeeper was very gracious and provided us with a tour of the historic house as well as a delicious breakfast each morning. More comfortable and relaxing than most higher-end hotels, the Bailey House is an incredible value for the nightly rate, with the added benefit of its peaceful hisotoric location. Highly recommended.


Right Time and Place

4,0 su giugno 02, 2008

Why don't more people stay in B&B's? A wonderful visit; we felt like guests, not just visitors. We'll be back!


Elegant and Lovely B & B

4,6 su maggio 02, 2008

The room was large and lovely. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The signature dish, Apple French Toast, melts in your mouth. The Innkeeper was delightful--full of local information and entertaining and gracious. The grounds were so pretty with many Red Bud Trees and Dogwood Trees in bloom. The Innkeeper, Nancy, has a wonderful touch in gardening and decorating.


A Hidden Treasure

4,4 su aprile 26, 2008

Taking several turns through a quiet small town residential area, mostly built during the mid 20th century, the weary traveler comes upon an imposing 1830s 3-story house set on a hill. The presence of a small yapping dog and a quiet cat are tolerable even to a visitor who doesn't care for house pets, and no doubt would enhance the experience for those who do. The rooms are large, clean, exquisitely furnished in period furniture. The kitchen and bathrooms are, thankfully, NOT in keeping with 1830s standards, but are clean, gleaming and modern. A spacious living room allows for a relaxed evening. I was just looking for a convenient stopping point between South Carolina and Wisconsin, but it turns out Bailey House is located near fine historical sites, in a beautiful corner of rural Ohio, and would be well worth a visit for its own sake. Nancy will give a private tour of Hiram Ulysses Grant's childhood home across the street, there is a well-preserved small-town business district a block away, and several Underground Railroad sites not far down Rte 68. All in all, a very enjoyable experience, at a very reasonable rate.


Home away from home.

4,8 su aprile 09, 2008

Nancy and Stan have opened their home and hearts to us. We have stayed with them for several years and have begun to feel like family. Staying at the Bailey House is like a trip back in time with all the modern conveniences. It is a great place for a night or a week.


Our second home

4,8 su gennaio 11, 2008

My wife and I have stayed with the Purdy's 2 times now and each time has been wonderful. The Bailey House is convenient to anything in the Greater Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky area. Nancy and Stan make us feel like a part of their own family. The historic home is very comfortable,well maintained,and situated in a "small town America" community. There are historical sites to visit in town, as well as in surrounding communities. If you enjoy walking in the footsteps of history, we highly recommend the Bailey House. To the Purdy family, Debbie and I thank you. See you again soon.


Georgetown at Fair time!

4,0 su ottobre 19, 2007

We went to Georgetown to visit dear friends and stayed at the Bailey House. It was perfect for us. We could walk to visit friends and to go the fair. Nancy does a wonderful job of making you feel welcome. Her breakfasts were fresh and unique. I would recommend this Inn to anyone.


Outstanding

5 su giugno 20, 2007

My husband & I were very lucky to have been able to stay with Nancy and her husband at this wonderful place during one of the worst times in our lives. We were in a motocycle accident and they were so wonderful to take us in as we had no transportation or any place to stay and they provided us with a place that is just like being at home. Nancy made us feel right at home from the moment we walked into the door and from the time that we left. The atmosphere and the hominess of the house is wonderful. We enjoyed meals that were home cooked, and the house is decorated just like you would at your own home and since it is the home in which she had grown up, it is decorated with treasures from her family. I just wanted to thank her from the bottom of our hearts for the wonderful and delightful time that we had staying there during such a awful time in our lives. We are hoping to be able to see her and the home again during much better circumstances. If you are looking for a place just like home, with home cooked food, and a wonderful ambiance, stop in and see Nancy and her husband and you will not be disappointed. You will enjoy every moment of your stay. I would recommend this to anyone. Thanks again Nancy


Bailey House Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $65 - $70
  • Recensioni (114) 4,8
  • Camere 3
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-9373783087

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina