Gambier House Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,3
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
207 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A charming and well-kept inn with a great manager

5 su dicembre 02, 2014

We stayed during Thanksgiving and were greeted by the wonderful owner/manager Betsy Heer who looked after our every needs. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The converted large house is charming with respect to a hotel experience. From the great morning coffee and homemade pumpkin scones (on Thanksgiving) our every comfort was looked after. Overall, a great experience.


Revisit the college

5 su novembre 29, 2014

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed a visit of my old college. Staying in the Gambier House was icing on the cake.


Very Nice Stay at the Gambier House

4,8 su novembre 19, 2014

My son and I had a great stay here while visiting Kenyon College. The owner was very accommodating, and the house lovely and perfectly located fright across the street from the school. An unexpected surprise was the benefit of sitting around the breakfast table with others in various stages of the admissions process-including an admissions director from another school. Delicious food and valuable conversation. This is the kind of experience you just can't get at a hotel.


Prime Location for Visiting Kenyon

4,4 su novembre 11, 2014

For parents and prospective students, this location offers a good sense of living on campus, with access to all campus buildings and ancillary services as typically experienced by the Kenyon community. The breakfasts, assuming there are other other parents and prospective students resident at the same time, provide a useful roundtable discussion and comparison of the college application visit and process, and the food is creative and excellent.


Kenyon Visit

3,8 su novembre 05, 2014

The house is cute. It could use a bit of upgrading, though I believe it is trying to be a period B&B. Also, it was a bit chilly in the room. The innkeeper was very nice and made a great breakfast both days I was there! And the shower in the "Old Library" was divine. It would be nice if it had a full length mirror in the room. Thank you.


Great Place for a Kenyon Visit

3,6 su ottobre 28, 2014

Location, location, location. If you are visiting Kenyon, this is the place to stay. Hard to beat for convenience and comfort. Only drawback is that TMobile doesn't work in Gambier but that isn't anything the B&B can do other than let you know in advance.


Cute and Convenient

4,2 su ottobre 22, 2014

I really appreciated the access to the kitchen fridge and microwave and dishware. Made it very convenient to accommodate my food allergies. Also super convenient to campus. Makes for a perfect stay while your child is visiting Kenyon College.


Great location

3,6 su ottobre 20, 2014

In the middle of the Village, Gambier House gives the filling of being part of the college community/ A charming house with an open kitchen and wonderful common areas. You feel like you are at a home without the burden of being under the constant scrutiny of ahostess, who lives off-site.


Sweet and charming

4,8 su ottobre 17, 2014

Cozy room with extra blankets if needed and plenty of hot water for the shower. Delicious breakfast and a gracious host.


Visiting my son

5 su ottobre 06, 2014

I had one night lay over in Gambier to visit my son at Kenyon. The stay at the Gamier House could not have been better. My son got his first good nights sleep in 4 weeks! One cautionary tale about Gambier. I pulled into a parking spot for less than 2 minutes, did not see that it was 'sticker only', and got a 100$ fine. The person giving out the fine must have been lying in wait, I literally dropped a box off at the door of the dorm and then returned to my car. No sympathy from the community office of gambier. I would however, highly recommend the Gambier House!


Great place to lay your head and relax

5 su settembre 24, 2014

Clean and comfortable room, easy access to surrounding countryside and Kenyon, and wonderful food and hospitable hostess. Non-sleeping rooms are comfortable and like home.


Recent Stay in September.

3,8 su settembre 22, 2014

We had another excellent stay at the Gambier House. Everything is just perfect in every respect! We will continue to stay every time we come to Gambier.


Great Place to Stay while visiting Kenyon College

4,6 su settembre 19, 2014

I came here with my daughter to visit Kenyon College. Gambier House is a beautifully furnished gem of a B&B conveniently located by the campus. Betsy was a very welcoming hostess, and her breakfast (french toast & fresh peaches) was superb. Also, the rates were very reasonable. Definite recommend.


Sweet home away from home

5 su settembre 13, 2014

We arrived very late and were given easy directions and access to our charming room. Betsy provided lovely breakfasts each morning. If my daughter chooses Kenyon College we will stay here again in the near future!


excellent bed and breakfast in lovely college town

4,6 su settembre 09, 2014

We were dropping off our son at Kenyon College and tried out the GAmbier House for our overnight. We were welcomed warmly and were comfortable and at home our whole stay. We will definitely return


Love at first stop!

4,6 su settembre 04, 2014

Stayed here for the first time - my daughter is starting her second year at Kenyon. The House was exactly as I pictured it. Everything is in walking distance and the backyard is so great! My room was charming and comfortable. The shower is a little small but it works great. I couldn't stay for breakfast but the frittata that was being prepared looked divine. Will definitely stay here every time I'm in Gambier!


Perfect B&B Experience

5 su agosto 30, 2014

I love the Gambier House. It is perfect when dropping off kids going to Kenyon College. Like the college, it is scenic, laid-back and comfortable. The front porch is a great spot to chill and enjoy the moment. Breakfast is delicious!


Convenient and cute

3,4 su agosto 22, 2014

Very cute place. Right on campus. My family of 4 stayed here comfortably.


always a pleasurable stay

5 su agosto 18, 2014

Betsy, as always, served a lovely, substantial, and delicious breakfast.the rooms are always clean. love that she has self-serve beverages and cookies available for guests in the evenings.


College Tour

5 su agosto 18, 2014

We stayed at the Gambier House when my son was touring Kenyon College. Everything about the stay was outstanding.


great last minute weekend

5 su agosto 12, 2014

My wife and I decided to go on a minute weekend away and were luckily able to book the carriage house. Great value for such a big space. Pancakes the next morning were delicious.


Nice!

4,4 su agosto 06, 2014

Nicely done, as usual. Thanks, Betsy! :) /Craig Wiester, Minneapolis


Perfect solution for a stay of several days in Gambier

4,0 su luglio 05, 2014

I'm a bit uneasy with the star rating system, since my expectations were that staying at the Gambier House would be a real treat, and in that sense, my expectations were met. However, were I to simply rate our stay as "met my expectations," the three stars would seem to imply a merely average place, whereas this B&B, like most, is a much better choice in my book than staying at a hotel or other impersonal spot. We thoroughly enjoyed out stay, and as a foodie, I loved the breakfasts, each a treat for a person who always starts his day with a morning meal. Mostly, we were out and about in Gambier, so didn't spend much downtime at the inn, but when we did, public spaces were just fine (though I'd have enjoyed a bigger screen TV for watching World Cup matches). Our room (Green) was fine, the beds comfortable, though having two doubles in a fairly small space meant not having room for an extra chair or couch, which would have been nice. I'd opt for one queen bed rather than two doubles given a choice. Nonetheless, everything was topnotch; we'll stay again when we return to Gambier.


Check this place out.

5 su giugno 29, 2014

What a lovely and welcoming place to stay. Delicious breakfasts, If you are going to be in the area this is definately the place to sta.


Quaint location

3,6 su giugno 23, 2014

Perfect place to stay in this idealic location especially when visiting Kenyon College. Loved my walk along the Kokosing Trail. Saw my first cardinal and caught my first firefly.


Great breakfasts

4,6 su giugno 18, 2014

The breakfasts were delicious. Egg souffle, fresh blueberry muffins, and waffles were amazing. I am very fussy about my coffee, and this was fresh and strong. A great start to the day.


Herweyer's Stay at Gambier House

5 su aprile 30, 2014

Great stay! Thanks to Betsy for a wonderful weekend. Felt right at home.


Excellent place to stay to visit Kenyon

4,4 su aprile 28, 2014

Beautiful, well-appointed, historic home. Comfortable guest rooms and friendly innkeeper. Best place to stay to visit Kenyon College, if you can get a room! Directly across the street from the college, with convenient free parking area behind the inn.


Cute, Friendly and Convenient

4,0 su aprile 25, 2014

Lovely location and a most pleasant stay in Gambier.


Perfect in every conceivable way.

5 su aprile 20, 2014

To stay on campus during a visit to Kenyon, enjoy a beautifully appointed room, and start the day with a substantial breakfast, this place cannot be beat. The hostess is a real hostess. The house itself is charming. Could not have been happier.


Most pleasant

4,0 su aprile 18, 2014

Very agreeable stay. Thank you.


A lovely spot to stay

3,8 su aprile 18, 2014

We recently stayed at Gambier house while looking at Kenyon. Betsy, the owner, was lovely and welcoming. She was very informative about the school and we felt right at home. The breakfast was delicious and there were also snacks and drinks available at all times. We would definitely stay there again!


Great stay

4,8 su aprile 17, 2014

Couldn't be more convenient for college visits. Quiet, private, comfortable.


The Best of Gambier

5 su aprile 16, 2014

3rd "Dad's Weekend at the Frat". Always stay here. Betsy a great host.


April Stay with Accepted Student - Carriage House

3,8 su aprile 15, 2014

Great stay in the rear carriage house room and loft. Betsy was great.


Small Town Hospitality

3,8 su aprile 10, 2014

The Gambier House B&B is convenient to everywhere in Gambier and provides a comfortable, homey atmosphere. The breakfasts are way beyond ordinary and worth a stay on that criteria alone. Take a bike and get your exercise nearby on the trail that runs by the beautiful Kokosing River.


March visit

4,6 su aprile 02, 2014

Great as usual. Dining score is meaningless as we did not eat there. Had to choose a number to complete this survey


Cozy and inviting

5 su marzo 16, 2014

Friendly innkeeper, charming room and common areas, fabulous breakfast. We would definitely come again.


A Great Stay!

4,6 su marzo 05, 2014

The innkeeper is very friendly and explained all of the lovely amenities at the inn. We thoroughly enjoyed the public rooms for an evening of re-connecting with family. The breakfast prepared for us was pretty, delicious, and just enough gourmet to be fun but not enough to put off a pickier eater in the family. The price was reasonable as well. We will definitely return when we are in the area.


Vegans

4,4 su marzo 03, 2014

Great place. Breakfast was excellent and vegan too!


Gambier House

3,6 su febbraio 12, 2014

Great B&B in Gambier Ohio


Gambier House Bed and Breakfast a great place

4,0 su febbraio 05, 2014

We had a lovely time staying at the Gambier House B&B. I would highly recommend it.


Pleasent Stay after Long Drive

3,8 su gennaio 15, 2014

After a Seven and one half hour drive bringing my 20-year-old daughter back to Kenyon College, I was looking forward to relaxing with my feet up on a coffee table,a good book to read and a cold beer before hitting the hay in a comfortable bed. The Gambier House Bed and Breakfast met these needs admirably, without the "staying at your Rich Grandmothers house/hands off" feeling that often comes with B & B stays. The 1st floor areas of the house (living room, dining room, Kitchen) were all tastefully furnished with an emphasis on comfort. During the tour the very kind proprietor made sure to show me the generous allotment of home made cookies, as well as sodas, fruits, juices, coffees and teas available on the house. My bedroom was of good size, much of which was filled by the queen-sized bed covered with bedspreads, comforter, pillows and decorative throw pillows. I was shown the very large private bathroom, which included a marble bath, toilet / bidet , two small make-up desks with mirrors and the softest, fluffiest towels I have ever seen.We returned to the kitchen to settle my tab. I then drove my daughter to her campus house ( Gambier is surrounded by Kenyon College! ) and stopped at the well-stocked grocer on campus for Belgian beer before returning to my room. My evening was pleasant, and I The only complaints were minor: the promised wifi continually disconnected. and the bed squeaked and groaned loudly whenever I climbed in or out of it. While this was not a problem for me alone, had my significant other and I been in the bed together with the romantic atmosphere, the loud squeaking and moaning of this bed might have made for a sleepless night for our neighbors, as well as a few snickers and side-long glances in the morning! All in all, the Gambier House made for a beautiful and comfortable stay on the Kenyon College campus.


Only The Best

5 su dicembre 22, 2013

They only gave me the best service, and they didn't do anything less than that. They were timely, helped me with everything and the location was spot on. Loved it!


Pleasant surprise

3,6 su dicembre 01, 2013

We loved our stay. The hospitality was warm and friendly without being overbearing. Plan to be back.


Betsy Rules

4,4 su novembre 25, 2013

The only reason to go to Gambier, Ohio is to visit Kenyon College and the only place to stay is The Gambier House. Yes, you could stay at the Kenyon Inn or in Mount Vernon (8 miles away) but why bother when the Gambier House, run by hotelier extraordinaire, Betsy is directly across the street from the main part of the campus. Comfortable, roomy, pleasant facilities and excellent breakfasts w/free parking--what more could you ask for. We have stayed here in excess of a dozen times--Betsy rules.


Perfect stay for Kenyon Parents

4,4 su novembre 24, 2013

This is by far the best place for Kenyon Parents to stay when visiting. Nothing in Mt. Vernon compares.


Best breakfast in Ohio

4,8 su novembre 17, 2013

Gambier House was the perfect place to stay for my visit to Kenyon College. It was convenient to everything in town. The owner, Betsy, was very knowledgeable and accommodating. She is also a fantastic cook, having run a bakery in NYC. Breakfast was the most delicious I have had. The room and the public areas of the inn are welcoming and comfortable. It truly felt like home, only better.


A wonderful breakfast and great host in gambier

3,4 su novembre 07, 2013

Betsy is a very helpful host, as always the people staying there are always nice and friendly and the breakfast is to dream about.


Convenient to Kenyon College

4,4 su novembre 07, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Within 200 yards of Kenyon college. Comfortable bed, good shower, enough room to spread out. Public rooms are comfortable and pleasant. Parking right outside. Breakfasts are fresh cooked, graciously served, and delicious. Cookies and coffee, space in freezer and fridge. Some outside noise at night. Relaxed and enjoyable. Much preferred to hotels in the area. Old house with charm.


Inviting Bed and Breakfast

4,4 su novembre 06, 2013

The Gambier House is cozy and most convenient for Kenyon families. Betsy's breakfast was to die for!


Convenience, comfort, charm

4,2 su novembre 04, 2013

Right in the middle of the Kenyon campus! That made our college visit easy, as well as the offer to park all day in the lot even though we'd checked out already. Delicious food, comfy rooms and pleasant common areas were just what we needed, and Betsy is a charming yet unobtrusive host. We would definitely come back.


Gambier House

5 su ottobre 28, 2013

This was my first stay at Gambier House. It was lovely! My room was cozy and comfortable, the Innkeeper was great. All in all a terrific stay. Thank you!


Gambier House, Gambier, Ohio

4,8 su ottobre 27, 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast in the village of Gambier, Ohio. Very relaxing and peaceful. Gracious innkeeper. Delicious food. Will definitely stay here again.


BEST PLACE TO STAY WHEN VISITING KENYON

4,8 su ottobre 21, 2013

Our son is a Kenyon senior, and during the past 4 years we have stayed several times at the college inn, at a nice chain motel in Mt. Vernon, and at an upscale hotel near the Columbus airport. But Gambier House is by far the best and most enjoyable place we've stayed. The location is perfect, the breakfasts are delicious and filling (and vary each morning), and the house is extremely comfortable. There are two large sitting rooms with comfortable couches and chairs for reading, a front porch with rockers, and a lovely enclosed garden in the rear. The innkeeper could not be more helpful or knowledgeable about things to do in central Ohio (if you want to get away from campus for, say, biking or sightseeing). There's free kitchen access, with a section of the refrigerator dedicated to guests for beer, yogurt, etc. The house dates back to the 19th century (in keeping with Gambier and Kenyon), so the floors creak and some ceilings are lower than in a modern structure, but for us, at least, that's part of the charm of Gambier, where the Amish still sell baskets, preserves, and needlework on Middle Path each Saturday. All in all, a significant enhancement of the Kenyon experience.


Magical weekend in Gambier

5 su ottobre 16, 2013

A small group of my alumna friends decided to gather in Gambier for a spontaneous reunion and the carriage house at the Gambier House appealed to us because of the small kitchen and living space. We had a surprise extra guest and Betsy was so understanding about her joining us. We only were able to eat one of our two breakfasts, but the waffles were delicious and Betsy provided an alternative fruit for me since I'm allergic to apple (really, I know!). We've all stayed at the Kenyon Inn, but the Gambier House provided to intimate and relaxed feel that we wanted for our visit. Thanks Betsy!!


beautiful on campus B&B

4,2 su ottobre 09, 2013

An excellent choice for visitors to Kenyon College or Knox County and the Amish country. Clean lovely rooms, charming property, excellent friendly service. location just across from entrance to the College. Quiet, except for lovely church bells!


Loved our stay at the Gambier House

4,6 su ottobre 09, 2013

Katherine Appy


The Gambier House is fantastic!!

4,8 su ottobre 08, 2013

Any visit to Kenyon College, we always stay at The Gambier House. It's a true gem in that area. The breakfasts are AWESOME!


Charming B&B

4,0 su settembre 30, 2013

Stayed in the Old Library. Good-sized room, nice-sized shower, and obviously convenient to everything on campus. Very accommodating and friendly inn-keeper. Breakfast was wonderful, too.


Lovely!

4,0 su settembre 30, 2013

All the comforts of home. Clean, cozy,and a delicious breakfast too!


Be sure to meet the dog

4,6 su settembre 27, 2013

"Dining" should be N/A because there isn't any, but the site won't allow that. Breakfast was excellent.


Gambier House

4,8 su settembre 13, 2013

The Inn is so charming and well kept, we felt right at home with tea and homemade cookies available in the kitchen. Our breakfast was delicious, fresh and took advantage of local ingredients. The innkeeper was the perfect mix of professional and friendly. We will definitely return.


Aug 28 - Aug 31: Green Room

4,0 su settembre 09, 2013

We totally enjoyed our 3-day stay. The room was very comfortable, and true to its heritage (no modern amenities). The hostess was excellent; very friendly. The breakfasts were gourmet quality. It was fun to meet other guests at each breakfast. The location was just off campus and town center - everywhere was within a short walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.


Friendly and relaxing

5 su settembre 08, 2013

Immaculately clean. Delicious breakfast. Friendly atmosphere. Accommodating after hours arrival. Excellent communication.


The Gambier House

4,8 su settembre 05, 2013

My family has stayed at the Gambier House on two occasions to attend a family reunions in the area. Both times were great. The breakfasts were great and served in relaxing atmosphere. Betsy is a great hostess and is very friendly. She is a joy to know.


Great choice when visiting Kenyon College

4,4 su settembre 01, 2013

I stayed at the Gambier House in late August. I had the Victorian Room, which was very pretty and comfortable. Gambier is a very small, safe town and I arrived to find a note on the door welcoming me inside and letting me know where to find my room key. Betsy's breakfast the next morning was superb, and I enjoyed the conversation with her and with fellow guests. Her dog, Hotspur, is very nice, enjoying affection but not forcing himself on anyone.


Great stay at the Gambier House!

4,8 su agosto 30, 2013

I recently stayed with my son and daughter on a visit to Kenyon and was very impressed with this B&B. We stayed in the Green Room which was comfortable for three. The owner was very accommodating with our late arrival and served us a wonderful breakfast in the morning.


The only Bed and Breakfast in Gambier Ohio.

3,8 su agosto 25, 2013

Worth it just for the breakfast.Really amazing .So convenient for Kenyon as it is actually on the campus and the other option to stay is never available and more expensive.This is also barely available and even runs a lottery once you have stayed there so you have a chance of paying to stay there again!!


Gambier House B&B

5 su agosto 22, 2013

Outstanding in all ways!


Friendly, cozy, elegant

5 su agosto 18, 2013

Loved the 2 dogs. The breakfast eggs were truly yummy.


Great time at Gambier House

3,4 su agosto 15, 2013

Beds really comfortable. Food great. Host friendly and helpful.


Enjoyable stay at the Gambier House

4,6 su agosto 14, 2013

The house was wonderful and the inn keeper was delightful. We really enjoyed our stay.


A convenient, friendly place to stay

4,8 su agosto 10, 2013

We stayed at the Gambier House for three days in August, 2013, while we were on a college tour of the "Ohio Six Colleges." The location is perfect (just across the street from Kenyon College), and the service was excellent. The breakfasts were wonderful, and took into account the fact that my child's a vegetarian (even though we are omnivores). The only negative is that the lighting is pretty dim inside; this may have something to do with it being an older house, with older circuitry, but I found this a little disconcering.


Lovely, Fantastic Breakfast

5 su luglio 15, 2013

Very comfortable, clean accommodations and one of the best breakfasts ever, homemade and lovely.


Was perfect for the occasion

4,8 su luglio 10, 2013

I was in town for a wedding, and it was absolutely perfect. The inn keeper was a bit quirky, but extremely helpful and nice. When I was trying to get information on where a local bar was from the front at the Kenyon Inn (I was visiting friends), they couldn't help me out. The Innkeeper at the Gambier House knew exactly what I was talking about and exactly how to get there. The rooms were classy, the service was excellent, the food was delicious, and the dogs were lovely. Kind of expensive though.


1st bed and breakfast experience

4,0 su luglio 08, 2013

We came to Gambier for a college tour and stayed at Gambier House. We were treated very well and the breakfast(s) were wonderful!!...very healthy and fresh.


Cosy stay

4,6 su luglio 06, 2013

This is an old house, so is a great place for those who like quirky spaces and a nice shady spot on campus. Delicious cookies always in the cookie jar. Very very clean.


Kenyon College Visit

4,8 su luglio 01, 2013

my daughter and I stayed in the Victorian Room the night before visiting Kenyon College. The bed is small for two people, but it was comfortable. The toiletries provided were very nice including glycerine soap. My daughter found a small trap door in the floor and their was a note inside. That was fun and she left a note for the next adventurous guest. Breakfast was delicious, and the location was right on campus so very convenient.


Cozy and Clean in Gambier

4,4 su giugno 29, 2013

I was looking for a one-night pit stop for a workshop I was attending at Kenyon College. Gambier is a quaint and vibrant small town with good food, a coffee shop, and bookstore, everything I need to feel completely content. Plus, the campus is more than lovely. The Gambier House is a block from the cluster of eateries and books. The hostess provides a generous breakfast of locally grown healthy and delicious food. The house is delightful, clean, cozy.. I stayed in The Master Bedroom which has a large soaking tub, complete with a brass swam spigot, and a vintage vanity. I hope to return one day and have a longer stay at Gambier House.


From Peter and Gila Acker

5 su giugno 24, 2013

Absolutely outstanding experience staying at the Gambier House. Room was charming and comfortable. Breakfasts were amazing. Best of all was the innkeeper who made us feel right at home!


Weekend at Kenyon

4,0 su giugno 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Great location, helpful staff and delicious breakfast! Would definitely stay again!


Wonderful B & B

5 su maggio 18, 2013

fun rooms, quaint house, fantastic breakfasts If you need a B & B in Gambier, OH this is the one!


A Gem in Gambier!

5 su maggio 12, 2013

Finally had a chance to stay at Gambier House when picking up my son this May and it was the nicest place I've stayed our dozen or so trips to Ohio. I will definitely stay there again.


Gambier Weekend

4,6 su maggio 08, 2013

We met family members for the weekend and stayed at the Gambier House and it was perfect. We were able to get three rooms and our daughter joined us for breakfast both days were were there. The service was terrific, and the comfortable atmosphere made it easy for us to spend time visiting and relaxing. The rooms are nicely done and spacious, although as in any older home they have their quirks.


Very charming!

5 su maggio 02, 2013

It was very convenient to the campus of Kenyon College. I can't wait to stay here again. The inn keeper makes a nice breakfast and is very helpful with directions.


Lovely B&B

4,2 su aprile 19, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter while visiting Kenyon College. Wonderful breakfast and great location. Really enjoyed the whole experience. The owner was helpful and we had a memorable breakfast and enjoyed he conversation with our fellow guests.


Terrific place!

5 su aprile 10, 2013

Lovely house, gracious host, fantastic location close to campus. Very comfortable place to stay.


Great Stop

4,4 su aprile 08, 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon for a college visit and found Gambier House a welcome respite from a long and tiring road trip.


Our favorite place in Gambier!!

4,6 su aprile 06, 2013

A beautiful B&B, friendly and personable innkeeper, delicious gourmet breakfasts, and lovely town. What more could you ask for?


always enjoy it

5 su aprile 04, 2013

comfortable, clean rooms and inn; delicious, filling breakfast; awesome, friendly host I think I've stayed here 3 times so far and always enjoy it!


Beyond Expectations

4,2 su marzo 22, 2013

I had never stayed at a B & B so I had preconceived ideas but I was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was exceptional. Rooms were very comfortable and spacious. Each having a different theme. We stayed in the Master bedroom. Staff was very nice as were the fellow visitors.


Best choice for visiting Kenyon

5 su marzo 03, 2013

Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent and homemade cookies (and fruit) for snacks. The innkeeper is very pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. If you are visiting Kenyon, you can't stay any closer to admissions.


Shhh! A hidden gem...

5 su marzo 03, 2013

Clean, well kept, great food: what more could you ask for? Between my wife and I, we have stayed here 3 times and will continue to every time we're in Gambier or surrounding area after my daughter graduates from Kenyon. We have stayed in many B&Bs and this is at the top of the list. Keep up the good work, Betsy!


Family weekend in Gambier

5 su febbraio 27, 2013

We gathered to see our son in his senior music recital at Kenyon. The Gambier house made our weekend with wonder rooms and beds, spectacular breakfasts and a wonderful host who made sure that our kides were up in time for breakfast.


Gambier House - Feb 2013

5 su febbraio 20, 2013

Lovely room in a lovely house, helpful maps and information when we checked in, delightful breakfasts that so kindly covered a gluten-free diet - hope we can come back again!!


Gambier House B & B

3,8 su febbraio 20, 2013

Very quaint and cozy. Location is ideal to Kenyon College. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast both mornings was outstanding!! Would stay again.....


Lovely, historic B&B.

5 su febbraio 03, 2013

Conveniently located to visit Kenyon College. Friendly, accommodating owner. Very flexible for allowing for a late arrival. Very clean and comfortable.


Home away from home

4,6 su febbraio 01, 2013

Wonderful stay, beautiful home and warm and welcoming innkeeper. Loved being able to hang out in the parlor- really felt like home. Only downside was that the internet access was sketchy unless you were in the living room area. Hard to get it from in the bedroom. Other than that our stay was fantastic!


Very quaint

4,4 su gennaio 23, 2013

Walking into this B&B reminded me so much of my grandparent's home from childhood. I loved it. The only complaint I have is that in my particular room it was very cold. Initially, I found a window cracked and vents closed but even after resolving both issues I still found it quite chilly throughout the night and by morning. Other than that, Betsy was quite accommodating and I would return if my son chooses Kenyon College.


Loved our stay here!

5 su gennaio 16, 2013

Charming furnishings, clean shower, old-fashioned bedding with eiderdowns which reminded me of my grandmother's home. Comfortable beds also...


An excellent choice

4,0 su dicembre 27, 2012

I have no complaints whatsoever about this place, and we enjoyed our stay.


Quick stay near Kenyon College

5 su dicembre 12, 2012

This is a wonderful B&B virtual on Kenyon's campus. We have stayed a couple of times, and would do it again. The house is early to mid 19th century, warmly decorated, and quite cozy and comfy. The innkeeper doesn't live in the house, so isn't "all in your business" but she lives right next to the house, and is very attentive! Breakfast is "to die for"!!!! We have only stayed in the Master and the Old Library, which had very nice private bathrooms, with very nice soaps and shampoos, and really, really nice towels! I understand the other rooms have private baths as well. No TV in bedrooms, but there is one in the common family room. Not sure if this is typical, but my husband was pretty pleased. I don't have a lot of B&B experience, but I would certainly recommend Gambier House, and would stay again!


Carriage house

3,6 su dicembre 09, 2012

We stayed in the Carriage House. Was very pleasant and comfortable. Downstairs is nice size sitting area, bathroom and kitchen. So, would be great if you want to bring a couple of guests in for some food or drinks at your room. Quirky set up with bedroom upstairs and bathroom downstairs. There was a 2nd bed in the loft area at the top of the stairs, but I don't think there was a door between that and the main bedroom. The bathroom seemed a little old, but everything worked fine and was clean. Very welcoming when we arrived. Breakfast of fresh fruit, bacon and waffles was very nice. The common sitting areas seemed very nice, although we di not have time to use them. The price was a little high for primarily just spending the night there, but if we wanted a kid of "home base" while visiting Gambier, it would be very good.


Charming and will definitely return here!

3,8 su novembre 29, 2012

Had a lovely 1 night stay to visit my daughter at Kenyon. Breakfast was truly delicious, consisting of baked oatmeal with fruit and chicken sausage, freshly baked pastries, juice and tea. Had a wonderful time with the other breakfast guests, chatting about life and our kids at Kenyon. Very comfortable place and I plan to definitely return.


Comfortable, Cosy, Gourmet

4,6 su novembre 15, 2012

It has become our home away from home in daughter's college town


Charming

4,8 su novembre 07, 2012

This place is a pleasant respite and the innkeeper is a wonderful cook/baker!


A Very Pleasant Weekend Stay

5 su ottobre 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Green Room at Gambier House on a recent October weekend. It was beautiful fall weather with nothing really big happening on campus. Several other rooms were occupied, but I believe the house was not entirely sold out. Our stay was very pleasant and quite satisfactory in every way. Our room was very comfortable, just as pictured on the web site. The weather was cool enough to leave the windows open during the day and enjoy the heat from the space heater at night. One thing that is perhaps not obvious from the web descriptions it that this house is very close to downtown Gambier and the Kenyon College campus. Both weekend nights, there was the noise of young people walking by until midnight or later that was clearly audible through the closed windows. As a Kenyon, alum, it was just like good old times, but some might find issue with it.


My Stay at Gambier House

4,2 su ottobre 19, 2012

Lovely home. Inn keeper very gracious. Beautuful time of the year to visit. Outstanding breakfast!


Delightful Inn on Most Beautiful Campus

4,2 su ottobre 18, 2012

Gracious, hospitable and charming innkeeper. Fantastic college campus (Kenyon). Inn perfectly located in center of things.


Pleasant and lovely!

4,6 su ottobre 15, 2012

During a recent visit to see Kenyon College with our high schooler, we stayed at this lovely B&B. Other than the beds being a "hotel-sized" queen-sized bed (smaller than our queen bed at home), we had no complaints. The room was graciously appointed and everything about our stay was wonderful. We would glad stay here again, if our child decides to come to Kenyon!


Overnight at Gambier House

3,4 su ottobre 15, 2012

Gambier House was lovely, charming, and very convenient for our overnight stay during a college visit. The friendly hosts served a delicious breakfast, and we enjoyed visiting with other guests. Our only complaint was that the ground floor room was quite chilly, and there was no obvious way to adjust the temperature. As a consequence, we had to sleep in our jackets.


Wonderful visit

4,0 su ottobre 04, 2012

I recommend The Gambier House to anyone visiting Kenyon College.


Breakfast worth getting up for

4,4 su ottobre 01, 2012

The Gambier House is a charming B&B on the campus of Kenyon College. The rooms are adequate, but the public spaces offer many more opportunities for enjoyment. On a beautiful early fall evening, we enjoyed the back patio and courtyard for a dinner we picked up at a carry-out along with a bottle of wine. The breakfast the next morning was elegant and excellent. It was an egg soufle of some type, served with excellent fresh fruits and coffee cakes. It was served on fine china in the main dining room, which created a full experience. Overall, this was good value for the money, mainly because the location was excellent for visiting Kenyon College and we really felt we were getting something of value in the breakfast.


Lovely, classic B&B

4,2 su settembre 27, 2012

The Drawer Room was perfect for one (the double bed was a bit small, in my opinion, for two unless you like to snuggle). The bathroom was beautiful, hidden behind a false door of drawers. Not the perfect choice if you want a lot of light, but great if you prefer a dark room to sleep in. Breakfast was delicious and I really appreciated their flexibility in start time. Very clean and comfortable, lots of antiques and creaky old floors. Completely enjoyed my experience.


Prepare to be spoiled!

5 su settembre 27, 2012

The town is charming.The rooms are beautiful and immaculate. The gourmet breakfasts are delicious and satisfying. Can't wait to return next year for a longer stay!


Visiting Kenyon

3,4 su settembre 20, 2012

We stayed here one night while my daughter was visiting Kenyon. The prices in the area are all high. I have a feeling there are too few rooms available. The house is old and comfortable. The wifi worked well. The bathroom was small but livable. The beds were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. It was really nice that we were able to keep our car in the lot even after check-out. Overall, it was a good experience and I will likely stay there again if our daughter is accepted.


Thanks for a great visit!

5 su settembre 19, 2012

Everything about our stay was wonderful. The room was great, breakfasts were delicious and it just was an all-around great weekend. Thanks.


Fantastic breakfast!

4,4 su settembre 05, 2012

The Gambier House has fantastic staff, excellent breakfast and cookies, and a wonderful atmosphere. The beds are a little stiff for my taste, and the house is beginning to show its age. Everything is clean and tidy.


Fine Lodging for Kenyon College Visitors

5 su settembre 01, 2012

This lovely inn was perfect in every way. We stayed in the master bedroom, which had a queen bed and very large bathroom. The room and rest of the home were beautifully decorated. The innkeepers were very friendly and offered a delicious and healthy breakfast each morning. The off-street parking was an added bonus. Everything on the college campus is an easy walk from the inn, which is centrally located in Gambier.


Wonderful introduction to Gambier and Kenyon

4,0 su settembre 01, 2012

Betsy was a wonderul host and we felt quite at home. Our room, including the bathroom, was very nice, and the rest of house (dining room, living room, family room) was very comfortable. We had all-hours access to the kitchen, with its refrigerator, coffee/tea and cookies, which was appreciated! Breakfast was a delight. Did not have a chance to enjoy the terrace in the back. We look forward to our return! Kevin and Julie Granville


Outstanding B and B

5 su agosto 31, 2012

We could not have been happier with our stay, the continental breakfast was delicious and there was a great variety to choose from. We had problems with our son's laptop and did not have time to fix it at home, Kim helped us by asking around for local computer repair shoprs. She went the extra mile. We would definitely come back again, the rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable.


Gorgeous Historic Property

3,8 su agosto 28, 2012

Set in the beautiful town of Gambier, just off the Kenyon College campus--one of the most beautiful in America, the Gambier House B&B offers quiet and clean accommodations in historic surroundings, in and out!


Gambier House was Great !!

3,8 su agosto 25, 2012

Betsy was wonderful and could not have been more nice. She was warm and friendly and made us feel like we were visiting a friends home.The food was homemade and delicious for our breakfast. Everything in our room was spotless and provided warmth & comfort. A great experience !! I'd stay here again.


A great B&B experience

5 su agosto 16, 2012

We only stayed one night. However, they were very accomodating with our dietery requests and the food, presentation, and service were superb. The room was very clean and comfortable with all the amenities needed and the home touch. If my child decides to attend Kenyon, I would make sure to reserve a room there way ahead of time. Thank you!


Our stay during Pelotonia

4,6 su agosto 14, 2012

Everything was at/above expectations! I would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in this area; especially visiting Kenyon College. Check-in and check-out were super easy, there was plenty of parking, and the food was great! I would choose a different room next time as there were minor inconveniences in the one we stayed in (Victorian Room - floors inhibited easy opening/closing of doors, weird bathroom setup), but it didn't detract from the experience. Thanks for a great stay!


We heart Betsy (and Hotspur)

4,8 su agosto 06, 2012

Friendly atmosphere, tempered with Betsy's flexibility (thanks again) , made our stay memorable. The French Toast alone will keep us coming back


A charming old home with comfy furniture and high speed internet!

4,4 su agosto 01, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. A quiet retreat within walking distance of everything on campus. Great service and food.


Carriage House Stay

2,8 su luglio 11, 2012

We stayed in the carriage house suite for two nights. We chose this room because it was the only one with a TV, and we wanted to have that feature "just in case". The room itself was fine - nothing spectacular, but certainly acceptable. The TV had a very small screen (19", I'm guessing), which turned out to be less of a "plus" than I had anticipated. With the low prices for TVs today, I would suggest the innkeeper put in a somewhat larger set - it would be a small investment which would undoubtedly have a favorable impact on those who rent this room.


Wonderful experience!

4,6 su luglio 05, 2012

The room was lovely, the innkeeper was wonderful, and the food was fantastic!


Recommended

3,6 su luglio 01, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay. Breakfast was all that was promised. We would recommend the Gambier House whenever you have the opportunity to visit Keyon College.


Lovely place to stay

5 su luglio 01, 2012

We were in Gambier to do a college visit to Kenyon. The location was perfect - a two minute walk (if that) to Admissions. The room was comfortable and quiet - and breakfast the next morning was terrific! - individual cheese souffles, fresh fruit salad, homemade blueberry muffins, homemade jam -- Parking was available in the back of the house, and Betsy said it was OK to leave the car there until we were done with out tour of Kenyon. Even the other guests were fun to talk to!


A Real Gem

5 su giugno 22, 2012

The location, accommodations, and innkeeper will not disappoint you. You'll find a reason to return!


Charming, comfortable & superb breakfast

3,4 su giugno 20, 2012

The pros: friendly, clean, comfortable (beds), quiet & quaint, excellent breakfast, walking distance to everything Gambier has to offer The cons: meager provisions for early risers, tiny bathroom, clogged sink


Gambier House

4,8 su giugno 11, 2012

Great place to stay. Food was excellent as was overall service. Friendly owner and interesting house also make it one I would go back to.


A Nice Return to Gambier House

4,0 su maggio 21, 2012

Had a nice visit with family and a wonderful stay at Gambier House.


Wonderful B&B

4,8 su maggio 16, 2012

We stayed in the carriage house which was our own little cottage with windows that open and a kitchen with supplies. Our breakfast was a gourmet feast which was not only delicious, but beautifully presented. The innkeeper was fun and friendly and very accommodating. I highly recommend this place!


My Excellent Weekend

5 su aprile 30, 2012

I stayed to attend the Dad's weekend at my son's Kenyon fraternity. I arricved Friday about 5PM and left Sunday at 11AM. The Gambier House is right there on campus which meant I had easy back and forth access to the events and to the bed, for napping (Can't keep up with the Frat Boys.


Five star B&B.

5 su aprile 26, 2012

We've stayed at the Gambier House at least seven times since 2005. Every visit has been a pleasure. It's a very comfortable place, breakfasts are delicious and the innkeeper is marvelous.


Wise Choice

5 su aprile 26, 2012

I recently stayed at Gambier House while my daughter attended a Kenyon College accepted students weekend. What a wise choice that turned out to be. Not only was the B&B comfortable, charming and in very close proximity to the college, but being able to converse with the other guests, most of whom had a connection to the college, was very helpful to me. However, I would have enjoyed my stay at this B&B no matter where it was located. The breakfasts were outstanding. The rooms were scrupulously clean and very comfortable. The fact that it offered wireless internet was way beyond my expectations!


Best place to stay in Gambier!

4,8 su aprile 25, 2012

Feels more like a stay at a family member's house than your typical bed and breakfast experience. Betsy was very sweet and welcoming, taking the time to explain everything around the house before we checked in. A great taste of midwestern hospitality!


Great place

5 su aprile 10, 2012

Our room was lovely and breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay there again.


Perfect for Kenyon Parent or anyone

4,0 su febbraio 24, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room and bathroom were spacious for one person and very clean, quiet, and charming. The innkeeper graciously lowered the cost of my room because of my significant dietary concerns that limit my ability to eat most breakfast foods. The location was perfect for my visit with my daughter, a Kenyon student, and was a walk from restaurants. Also, the price was right.


Needs upkeep but great location

3,0 su febbraio 23, 2012

This is an old establishment that needs some work. Wallpaper is taped up and paint is peeling. Location is great if you are visiting Kenyon . Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was early but good.


Gracious hospitality in lovely surroundings

4,0 su febbraio 08, 2012

My first stay at the Gambier House and I wish I had stayed here sooner! Lovely, comfortably-appointed rooms with a fabulous breakfast. From arrival to departure, my expectations were exceeded. Enjoy your stay!


Great stay in the Carriage Suite

4,6 su gennaio 29, 2012

We stayed in the suite that included a small, but fully equipped kitchen, cable TV, WiFi reception, and considerable privacy (being separated from the main building by an enclosed, plant-filled breezeway). The bedroom is upstairs with an extra bed on the upstairs landing. The inn is utterly charming as in the proprietress. The common areas are comfortable and sehr gemütlich!


You should visit downtown Gambier!

5 su dicembre 20, 2011

I have stayed at Gambier House several times over the three years our daughter has been a student at Kenyon College. Innkeeper Betsy makes a great breakfast, whether the best whole wheat blueberry pancakes you ever ate or a frittata loaded with fresh vegetables. I am looking forward to returning in the fall!


Gambier B&B

4,6 su dicembre 14, 2011

The innkeeper was very accommodating. The house was quiet and spacious and extremely convenient to campus. Our room was lovely although the bed groaned (loudly) when getting in and out--I guess all antiques have their idiosycracies. We would definitely stay there again.


A Perfect B & B

4,2 su dicembre 03, 2011

Gambier House is a great combination of comfortable, down-to-earth, and elegant! I loved each of the rooms I stayed in on two visits (Drawer and Victorian). Betsy is a great innkeeper. I recommend it highly!


It's almost like coming home!

4,2 su dicembre 01, 2011

Very clean, convenient and cozy. Great for Kenyon visitors.


Gambier House stay

4,6 su novembre 29, 2011

I feel like I am in my own home only I don't have to clean or cook. It is so cozy and inviting.


Outstanding!

5 su novembre 17, 2011

What a wonderful place! In addition, Betsy was friendly, helpful, and a great cook!


Great experience!

4,8 su novembre 17, 2011

Staying at Gambier House was like being a guest in someone's home. The room was so comfortable and clean! We totally looked forward to breakfast each morning because it was fabulous, and always different! Our host was friendly and a wealth of information on what to do in the area, her recommendations were spot on! Everything was a real treat.


Gambier House

4,8 su novembre 06, 2011

We love this place! Betsy is a great innkeeper and she is a baker extraordinaire! She is also full of information about the area and her recommendations were excellent.


Nice stay

4,0 su novembre 03, 2011

I stayed in the carriage house. It was nice and clean. I had a fabulous breakfast and wonderful late night chocolate chip cookies.


Best B&B!

4,0 su ottobre 26, 2011

The Gambier House was cozy and clean, friendly and picturesque. Add in the terrific gourmet breakfast made by charming owner, Betsy, and you get the total B&B experience: a home away from home, minus the domestic chores! And it's affordable! With an on-campus stay like this at your fingertips, why go anywhere else?


I would visit again!

5 su ottobre 19, 2011

The Drawer Room was more spacious than the picture depicts. The breakfasts were very delicious especially the oatmeal. The Gambier House was very cozy, comfortable, and quiet.


stayed in the Old Library room

3,8 su ottobre 06, 2011

The innkeeper, Betsy, goes out of her way to make you comfortable. She provided excellent service. The common areas are inviting. I would stay there again in the future.


I'd definitely go back again!!!

4,4 su settembre 25, 2011

The perfect place if you want to enjoy the town of Gambier, ride the Kokosing bike trail, and have a great place to stay with a wonderful breakfast!!!


Charming Gambier

5 su settembre 07, 2011

We were very comfortable and were very impressed with how accommodating everything was. It made our visit to Kenyon College so much the better. Thank you!


Gambier House: First Choice Visiting Kenyon

4,8 su settembre 05, 2011

I've stayed at the Gambier House on three occasions, and my daughter is only beginning her sophomore at Kenyon. This comfortable, homelike bed and breakfast is right against the heart of Kenyon's beautiful, small campus. The breakfasts are delightful, the hostess is extremely helpful and kind, and her breakfasts are first class.


Another good stay at Gambier House

3,8 su settembre 05, 2011

Rooms are a little quirky, but food and hospitality are very good.


Best place to stay in Kenyon College and Knox County area

4,6 su settembre 05, 2011

The location is perfect for visiting Kenyon College, or spending a weekend on the Kokosing Gap Trail and exploring Amish country. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable, and the breakfast is fabulous and ample. The innkeeper was a professional baker, so the menu changes daily and a weekend visit offers lots of variety. There are many amenities to make your stay very welcoming, including suggestions of activities in the surrounding area if you can drag yourself away from the rocking chairs on the front porch.


Perfect for visiting Kenyon College

5 su agosto 30, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Gambier House at least 10 times over the past four years. Every single time the stay was perfect. The rooms, the location, the breakfast...everything is a 10!


a lovely B&B

4,8 su agosto 27, 2011

the room was comfortable and the common areas were spacious. Every room was nicely decorated. The breakfasts were great! The ideal place to stay during a visit to Kenyon.


Very nice, cozy, convenient

4,4 su agosto 25, 2011

Warm welcome and much help with advice about local resources from our hostess. Our room (Victorian) and bed were very comfortable, breakfast was terrific, and the location perfect, with Kenyon right at our door. The price was reasonable for all the pluses. I don't like the rating system of this site, though, where 3 stars means "met my expectations"--I had high expectations for Gambier House, and they were met, but 3 stars seems like such a lukewarm endorsement.


Why Gambier House Rules

5 su agosto 22, 2011

If you are visiting Kenyon College or are passing through the area around Gambier this is the place to stay--ideally located directly across the street from Kenyon (2 min walk) in a wonderful old Victorian run by Betsy Herr. Betsy is a great innkeeper, with rooms that are pristine, full of Victorian character and including a great breakfast and off-street parking. This is our "go to" residence when we visit Kenyon.


Kenyon College Visit

5 su agosto 17, 2011

We so enjoyed the stay at the Gambier House. Betsy was so knowledgeable of the area and made the stay extra special. We look forward to another visit. Mt. Vernon and Kenyon College offered a perfect spot for this bed and breakfast.


Superb breakfast in sleepy college town

3,8 su giugno 22, 2011

The room was large and quaint, the bathroom was a little cramped. The service was courteous and helpful - but only available for limited hours. The service at breakfast was fast and attentive. The bedrooms and common area were neat and clean. The breakfast was superb - tasty, freshly made waffles, eggs, fruit, muffins, etc. They were the best meals we had all weekend.


Recent visit

4,4 su giugno 14, 2011

Betsy did a tremendous job and I enjoyed my stay thoroughly!


Lovely village retreat

4,6 su giugno 04, 2011

The Gambier House is ideally located in the village of Gambier. If you like to walk everywhere, browse a variety of reading materials, and enjoy the history of the area, get ready for a relaxing stay. Betsy welcomes her guests with freshly baked cookies and anything you might need to settle in. Oh, did I mention the best breakfast in Ohio!


College Visit in Gambier Ohio

5 su maggio 05, 2011

My family of three stayed in the Library Room at The Gambier House in April during a visit to Kenyon Clollege. The B&B is right in the middle of the small town and wonderfully convenient to the college. Our room was very comfortable, fantastic bed and sheets, and the breakfasts were beyond delicious. It was so nice to relax in the common rooms after our long drive from Vermont and since it was rainy we didn't walk around as much as expected. The innkeeper was attentive to our needs, but gave us our space as well. She always had cookies fresh from the oven ready for us all, and loaned us an umbrella for our tour. We met some very interesting people at breakfasts, even another prospective student from Vermont! All in all a FANTASTIC place to stay! We loved it. One tiny minus...if it's rainy the raindrops play the drums on the bulkhead outside the Library window and kept us awake one night. Didn't have the heart to tell the innkeeper, but I'm sure she would've made it right if we had told her.


Excellent hospitality in peaceful tranquility

5 su maggio 01, 2011

We arrived late, so there were post it notes everywhere telling us how to get to our room and to ask us what we wanted for breakfast. The Green Room is very large, the 2 queen beds comfortable and cozy. The breakfast was plentiful and excellent. What a wonderful place to stay when you are visiting Kenyon College...it is right next to the campus.


Allens from Nashville

4,6 su aprile 29, 2011

We love the Gambier Inn - great location, accomodations, and very friendly atmosphere.


Peacefull and restfull

5 su aprile 27, 2011

A wonderful experience since the first time (this was our 3rd visit), I love the house and its surroundings, the nature and the atsmosphere around it. the service was excellent, and the breakfast was all homemade and very delicious, of a different variety each morning. Thank you I loved it and will come again. The grandparents Ensing"s


Wonderful resource

5 su aprile 27, 2011

The Gambier House Bed and Breakfast is a place I have stayed many times. The proprietor, Betsy, is always welcoming, helpful and makes a wonderful breakfast, even for those of us with dietary problems. It is charming, comfortable, and could not be more conveniently located when visiting Kenyon College or the surrounding area.


By far the best B & B in the towns around Gambier, Ohio.

4,4 su aprile 25, 2011

Our two children both attended Kenyon College in Gambier so we've stayed at the Gambier House many times. Without exception every stay has been great. Innkeeper Elizabeth Heer is most welcoming and accommodating. Her breakfasts are delicious. The rooms are all beautiful and very comfortable. A highlight of our last visit was the game of Scrabble we played in one of the common living rooms. We feel very much at home staying there.


Inn near Kenyon College

3,6 su aprile 21, 2011

Ideal location for Kenyon College; other guests were friendly and either visiting students/family or on college trips with parents. Innkeeper (Betsy) was wonderful and helpful. Each breakfast was different and tasty. Library and rooms were well stocked with books and magazines. Bed and chairs were comfortable. Only minor point of inconvenience was showering in the narrow, freestanding tub.


The Best Breakfast Ever

4,6 su aprile 14, 2011

Such a wonderful bed and breakfast with the most amazing breakfast ever! My guests and I could not remember the last time we ate so well before noon. From this point forward, I will only stay here when I am in Gambier! It was truly cozy enough to be a wonderful home away from home.


Excellent in every way

5 su aprile 10, 2011

For us, Gambier House exceeded our expectations. The rooms were great - well-apportioned, quiet, and clean. What made our two-day visit special was the service and attention to detail. One example - on our way in, we got lost (GPS didn't cut it that far off the beaten path), and our host literaly talked us in, staying on the phone a good 15 minutes. I'd heartily recommend Gambier House.


Great location!

4,6 su aprile 06, 2011

Gambier House is a lovely place, warm and inviting. The breakfasts were a little carb-heavy... but maybe that's just me being picky since I prefer lighter fare to start the day. (I did eat everything in front of me and it tasted great.)


Great place to stay

4,6 su marzo 10, 2011

Gambier House is a lovely place to stay. Betsy is a warm welcoming innkeeper. Can't wait to visit again


Wonderful Place to Stay

4,0 su febbraio 23, 2011

Whether an alum returning to the Hill, a prospective student, parent, or visitor, staying at the Gambier House is far and away your best bet for a visit to Kenyon. It is convenient, clean, reliable, and relaxing.


Enjoy this B & B

3,6 su febbraio 22, 2011

Have stayed here before and always enjoy our stay. Would like to see a mirror in the upstairs bedroom in the Carriage Room.


Had a great time!

4,4 su febbraio 18, 2011

I placed a reservation as a surprise anniversary gift for our wedding anniversary. The innkeeper did a great job helping me keep it a secret and made us feel very welcome. The room was even better than I remembered from a previous visit, and we loved having the option of watching videos and playing games in the family room. The decor is elegant, yet homey and inviting. I hope to go back for our anniversary next year!


The perfect way to visit Kenyon College

4,2 su febbraio 12, 2011

A charming, well-kept B&B, practically in the middle of campus. Breakfast is superb, and the host goes an extra mile to be helpful. In case you forgot reading material there is a library that is better than the airport bookstore!


Wonderful stay and host

3,8 su gennaio 27, 2011

Gambier House is the best place to stay in Gambier/Mt. Vernon. Betsy (the innkeeper) was a wonderful host, who provided great breakfasts and excellent restaurant advice.


Great reason to visit Gambier!

4,6 su gennaio 17, 2011

Charming and impeccably cared for, Betsy, the innkeeper, has created a wonderfully welcoming and cozy ambiance. From the moment you walk through the door to be greeted by the smell of her freshly baked cookies, to waking to the aroma of her outstanding freshly brewed coffee and her fabulous breakfast, Gambier House is the best!


Great place in the Mt. Vernon area

4,4 su dicembre 27, 2010

this is a lovely alternative to the standard, and lesser, choices in Mt. Vernon, which are either borderline, or acceptable with no character. Gambier is a lovely town, the campus is beautiful and quiet. the room in the Drawer Room was just fine for me on my own, and the breakfast food was fabulous. This will be my standard choice next time I visit my mother in Mt. Vernon.


Nice

3,6 su dicembre 21, 2010

We booked the Master Bedroom as it had the tub and fireplace. We were sad to learn (when we got there) that the tub was not a Jacuzzi tub, and the fireplace in the room did not work. We did have a warm, cozy real fire in the game room. It was a nice evening away.

Risposta del proprietario
When the reservation was made no one specifically asked about the using the fireplace, which, at this time, is not functional. We are working to remedy the situation. This room has a lovely bathtub but we do not have, or advertise, any jacuzzis at The Gambier House.


Wonderful place to stay in Gambier

4,8 su dicembre 12, 2010

This is a great place to stay in Gambier, especially if you want to be close to Kenyon College. Betsy, the owner, is a wonderful cook and provides more than you can eat at breakfast. The rooms are confortable and clean. The only drawback was that the house seemed colder downstairs in the living areas than what was comfortable.


Very Satisfied

5 su dicembre 07, 2010

This was an excellent choice; I couldn't have felt more at home during my two night stay. Betsy was very personable and a gracious hostess. Although my home is only a two hour drive away, I will definitely consider staying over during my future visits to Kenyon College.


Great night in Gambier, Ohio.

4,4 su novembre 17, 2010

My wife and I had a most pleasant stay at the Gambier House. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was propmt and delicious. We will stay again.


A touch of Ohio gentility

4,8 su ottobre 24, 2010

This is the second time I have visited the Gambier House. Several of my relatitives have stayed there over the years. Attraction rather than promotion. The rooms have a most warm and comfortable feel to them. Not ornate and overstuffed with things, as is the case with many B&B's. The rooms to me are spacious enough. I stayed in the Victorian Room, just right for a parent and child, who might be visiting the tree-lined, old New England-looking Kenyon College, famous for its Kenyon Review. I visited in the fall and the maples were in their full colors. The breakfast was pure organic and healthy, clear down to the free range chicken eggs poached in pastry shells, one day, and whipped in a cake slice size piece of a french toast dish like something I have never tasted before, covered with locally tapped pure maple syrup. The inkeeper is highly organized and helpful. I found myself sitting with my coffee each morning in either of two common areas that were furnished like the old elegant Ohio houses that I am s familiar with. It is a minute's walk to the heart of the Kenyon campus and coffee shops and a fabulous bookstore. There are some famous writers who frequent this area regularly. There is no hustle and bustle in this tiny, elegantly simple village. The inkeeper lets her beautiful, well-behaved English Setter lay around during breakfast. He doesn't bother you. Though he is the only dog allowed, he adds a country touch to the wooden floored cherry dining room. That, and the homemade ginger cookies to snack on made my visit memorable. It is by far the best in the area, and I have stayed in 4 of them.


Wonderful

4,6 su ottobre 24, 2010

Stayed in Library room--spacious wih nice updated bathroom and Queen and twin bed so easy for three people. The breakfast was outstanding with homemade goodies and congenial company. Common rooms pleasant and welcoming. Would stay again any time of year.


Charming stay on a lovely campus

5 su ottobre 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights in the Master Bedroom at the Gambier House while visiting our daughter at Kenyon College. We were welcomed by our hostess and immediately made to feel at home. Our room was lovely, and included a gas fireplace and a full bathroom complete with a large tub and a bidette. Guests also have access to two spacious sitting rooms, the kitchen refrigerator, and a cookie jar that is always filled with home made treats. Breakfasts were served between 8:30 and 10:00 each morning and included a choice of hot chocolate, tea or coffee, that we had specified the night before. Each meal also included a fruit dish and orange juice. Saturday breakfast consisted of a warm, spiced apple compote followed by Belgian waffles and crisp bacon. Sunday brought a fresh fruit cup with a touch of mint, followed by an exceptional mushroom and red pepper fritata served with wheat toast and an avocado-cilantro salsa. Needless to say, I was too full to sample the nut bread! The Gambier House has been a home away from home for us as we have visited our daughter at college. She is a senior this year, and we will miss the good food, warm hospitality and small town comfort of this B&B after she graduates.


Gambier House--Wonderful!!

5 su ottobre 17, 2010

I stay here often when visiting my daughter at Kenyon. It's the best b&b I've ever been to: fantastic breakfasts, charming rooms and even more charming innkeeper. A home away from home--and for dog lovers, a lovely English Setter.


The only game in town

3,0 su ottobre 15, 2010

Simple, straight-forward, comfortable, clean. Location, location if you need to be in Gambier.


loved it!

4,6 su ottobre 14, 2010

The whole stay was an adventure to our 17 year old son. He loved the quaint historic home (and hearing the chapel bells in our room), and as it was essentially on campus, the location really contributed to the overall impression/quality of our stay. Breakfast was superb! Way, Way beyond a cold croissant and tea.


We love staying at the Gambier House B & B

4,0 su ottobre 13, 2010

When we visit our daughter at Kenyon we love staying at the Gambier House. It is nice to be able to walk to her dorm, to the coffee shop and to all of campus.


Alumna comes back to campus

5 su ottobre 07, 2010

I was on campus for the Kenyon College Off-Campus Studies fair the three nights I stayed at The Gambier House. As an alum, it was such a gift to be able to stay on campus in such a wonderful environment. Quiet and cozy, I slept like a log and the breakfasts were absolutely fabulous. I would return here in a heartbeat-and will!


Visiting Kenyon College B&B

4,4 su settembre 13, 2010

I did not realize there was a specific time when breakfast was served and was out walking and meeting my daughter. I felt bad that I was late.


Great stay

5 su settembre 05, 2010

We had a very nice stay -- comfortable room and a great breakfast.


We've already booked our second stay

5 su aprile 27, 2010

We stayed at the Gambier House last June while my husband attended barbershop singing seminars at Kenyon College. When some of the other men realized that he was staying with his wife at a lovely B&B instead of suffering in a dorm room, the last rooms filled quickly and are all filled for that same weekend this year! We stayed in the beautiful master bedroom last year, but have opted for the carriage house suite this year. Great breakfasts, lovely rooms, adorable English Setter, and Betsy, the perfect hostess. She does everything you need, but is unobtrusive yet friendly. We'll be coming back every year.


" Winter Wonderland "

4,8 su febbraio 12, 2010

Conveniently located in this delightful college town, within walking distance of everything you could possibly want to see or do. Betsy made us feel welcome and breakfast was beyond special. If we pass this way again or even close, we would make this a must stop on our list.


Maximum Satisfaction!!

5 su ottobre 08, 2009

We were Very impressed with the orderliness, great breakfast, detailed restoration, Very comfortable bed, nicely appointed and decorated, owner good to talk to. Have stayed at many and this is highly recommended!! Pat and Bryce


Very relaxing get-a-way

4,2 su maggio 26, 2009

Our only negative was the bed and mattress. It was a little too soft for us, and more so than you would find in a hotel. But, this one thing aside, we had a wonderful time. Betsy, the owner was delightful and interesting to chat with. You could not meet a more friendlier and helpful host. We will certainly return if we have an opportunity to do so.


Gambier House Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $110 - $165
  • Recensioni (207) 4,5
  • Camere 5

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7404272668
Inizio pagina