VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
118 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Delightful stay

5 su agosto 11, 2014

Carol was a gracious hostess. This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was delicious!

Risposta del proprietario
It is always great to hear that first-time B&B guests have enjoyed their stay. First impressions are priceless. Thank you for choosing VanCleef Homestead; and please do come back.


Great place to stay like home!

5 su agosto 07, 2014

The place is really really nice and clean. The pool in the backyard is big! The host, Carol, is so friendly and makes amazing breakfast! Definitely will come back and highly recommend.

Risposta del proprietario
Breakfast is a great meal to prepare, and it doesn't have to be fancy to be yummy! I am a "Mom cook", and guests enjoy a fresh and tasty meal to start their day. We only wish the weather would cooperate so that more guests could use the pool! Thank you for your kind remarks!


Lovely stay

5 su agosto 03, 2014

Warm reception by Carol, who really makes you feel at home. Very beautiful house. Excellent breakfast.

Risposta del proprietario
The B&B is not just a business to us; it is our home. We welcome all guests like we would welcome our friends, and we treat folks like we enjoy being treated! We could not ask for a better compliment - our guests feeling comfortable and like they are at home. Thank you - and please come again!


Beautiful House/Great Location

4,8 su luglio 28, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at the VanCleef. Carol was fun, interesting, and a lovely hostess. We would definitely stay again!

Risposta del proprietario
Happy, satisfied guests is what we are all about. We work hard to make everyone feel at home and try to leave an impression so they want to return. Thank you for your kind words!


VanCleff Homestead Bed and Breakfast

4,2 su luglio 12, 2014

Carol was very friendly and welcoming. The bedroom was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was great! A most enjoyable stay.

Risposta del proprietario
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to keep our rooms clean and fresh - like we want them when we get a chance to go away. Love people - love having great guests. Thank you for your kind review.


Great stay

3,8 su luglio 10, 2014

A very comfortable B&B with welcoming hosts. Lovely old home located on street of heritage houses. Walk into the village and see the Cayuga-Seneca canal. A charming experience!

Risposta del proprietario
Our B&B is located in a lovely, historical village, and a short walk takes you back in history. Our home is one of the first homes built in Seneca Falls, and we are surrounded by many beautifully restored homes. The Seneca-Cayuga Canal is, with its two locks is a site to see. I am so glad you took in some of the sites! There is more to see!


Weekend stay

3,2 su giugno 18, 2014

The property/rooms were nice. The price may have been a little high considering there was no TV or wifi. The advertised pool was not open (it was too chilly during our stay anyway but it was mid June). We were only at the facility to sleep and left shortly after breakfast (which was good) so it suited our needs.

Risposta del proprietario
Reviews are a great tool for us to check on how we are doing. We do offer WIFI free of charge to our guests, and the password is provided in the welcome letter in each room. No TV in guest rooms has been an 18-year tradition of this B&B as a way of helping our guests relax and "unplug" from their daily worries and stresses, and to revive the lost art of face-to-face conversation. Our pool is typically available from early June to Labor Day, weather permitting, but our spring, and especially the past few weeks, have been anything but typical. We actually had the heat on for our guests over the weekend (mid-June)and guests were wearing jackets. We can only hope the cool days and nights are behind us so that the pool can be a part of the total experience at our B&B.


Repeat Guests: Another Happy Experience

5 su giugno 12, 2014

My sister and I shared the Cayuga Room, as we had 5 years ago, for 2 nights. Everything was in lovely order. The Parker house Grille & Pub, just a few blocks away, offered an extensive menu for our dinner. Carol prepared superb breakfasts with fresh local ingredients. We wouldn't hesitate to lodge here again.

Risposta del proprietario
It is always a pleasure to have repeat guests, and it is a compliment as well. Some of our guests become frequent visitors, and in turn, have become good friends. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!


Weekend getaway

4,0 su giugno 07, 2014

The couple who runs the bed and breakfast were very kind and informative. They offered suggestions on restaurants as well as places to go. The breakfast was delicious !!! Decor was a bit outdated and would need need updating soon. Lovely place and service overall.

Risposta del proprietario
Feedback from our guests is always helpful and appreciated! Prospective guests appreciate your honesty because they want to know what to expect. We work hard to maintain our 5,000 square foot home and property, and repairs and maintenance are endless and sometimes very expensive. Unfortunately, where our priorities must go aren't always visible to the guests. We strive to keep our B&B clean, tidy, and comfortable, and we are making improvements all the time. We hope you will return to see what we have done and the improvements made since your last visit!


Our weekend away

4,4 su novembre 27, 2013

Owners were so very welcoming, room was clean, bed comfy, and breakfast great. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend away it would be hard to find somewhere better ( they even swept the snow off of our car!)


A Beautiful Place to Rest, Recharge, and Explore!

4,8 su novembre 06, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at VanCleef Homestead Bed & Breakfast in Seneca Falls, NY. From the moment I stepped through the doors on a cool November afternoon, Carol, the innkeeper was there to make me feel right at home. My room on the first floor had a comfy bed and a large claw foot tub--both of which I enjoyed! The inn had a great room with a piano, books and games. Breakfast was exceptional--if you get a chance to try Carol's baked french toast, jump at it. I was lucky enough to have Carol join me for coffee and conversation and I learned about the town and so much more from her. It was really enjoyable. The location was also terrific. It was a five minute drive to the Women's Right's Historical Site and the restaurants and shops nearby. On a pretty day, it would be a nice walk. It was also just a short drive from the Seneca wine trail. I can't say enough good things about this experience. Should I find myself in Seneca Falls again, I will be staying here!


A great get away!!!

4,0 su ottobre 29, 2013

This is a great location for seeing the area. We found Carol attentive to our needs. She runs a warm, relaxing environment..We'd definitely stay here again.


Great Weekend Getaway

4,8 su ottobre 16, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent weekend celebrating our 20th anniversary. We stayed in the main floor room with attached private bath. The room was very clean and comfortable. Carol was very attentive to our needs and went above and beyond to ensure a memorable weekend. Breakfast each morning was delicious and plentiful. Would definitely recommend VanCleef Homestead to others. We hope to return next fall.


A comfortable stay in a historic home.

3,8 su ottobre 11, 2013

We felt very welcome on our trip north so asked to stay another night on our return journey.


Excellent and charming B&B

4,2 su settembre 25, 2013

Carol is a very good host and cooked a great breakfast. She also gave us very useful tips for exploring the Finger Lakes Area. Our room was very nice and comfortable and had a large bathroom.

Risposta del proprietario
We sincerely enjoy sharing our home in this lovely little town, and it is always a pleasure to make suggestions to our guests on what to do and see in this beautiful area of the Finger Lakes. Thank you to all who appreciate what we have to offer!


Lovely Home, Gracious Owner

4,6 su settembre 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my recent stay here. Especially appreciated the ability to book for one weekend night only. Food was fantastic, beds were incredibly comfortable. All around it was a really enjoyable stay.

Risposta del proprietario
It is our goal to make every guest feel welcomed and comfortable, no matter how long they stay! Thank you to our guests who take the time to share their experience with prospective travelers!


Van Cleef Homestead stay

4,2 su settembre 23, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this B&B. Superior comfort and cleanliness, convenient location and a great breakfast. Thank you, Carol!


Charming B and B

4,6 su settembre 22, 2013

Loved our room at this B and B...claw foot tub, fireplace, charming decor. The only thing missing was a television....none in room.. The living room was lovely with comfy furniture but no tv there either. Everything else was great.


Great B&B

4,6 su settembre 05, 2013

Very clean and comfortable rooms, very clean bathroom, great breakfast and very friendly owners. Thanks Carol!


Warm, Friendly, and very inviting!

5 su settembre 02, 2013

We spent only one night, but definitely will return for a longer stay. Our hosts were very accommodating and we enjoyed some wonderful conversation and great food! All the little added touches made us feel very welcome!


Great Stay

4,6 su settembre 02, 2013

Would have liked a TV or radio in the room, but other than that it was great.


Centrally Located

4,0 su settembre 01, 2013

The home is quite spacious. Our room was tastefully decorated as was the remainder of the home. It is located in the heart of town so one could walk about town if you are inclined. The owner was present to greet us and was accomodating and friendly. Our breakfast was tasty and quite pleasantly presented. If we were in the area again we would stay again. We plan on telling our friends who spend the summer on Cayuga Lake that they should feel free to suggest this B&B to any of one who comes to visit them.


It was like being in your on home.

5 su agosto 28, 2013

Carol made our stay very pleasant. This was the first time being at a Bed and Breakfast and I loved the experience and will use more Bed and Breakfasts in the future.

Risposta del proprietario
So very pleased your first B&B experience was a good one! It is our goal to sway motel/hotel guests to B&Bs to enjoy the special, personal touches that set us above other accommodations. Thank you for your comments.


Warm and welcoming

4,0 su agosto 27, 2013

Beautiful and comfortable rooms, friendly hostess.


VanCleef Experience

4,6 su agosto 22, 2013

Very nice B & B. Very congenial owner/host. I highly recommend it and hope I am the area again to stay there.


Pleasant B&B

5 su agosto 02, 2013

Only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy this very pleasant B&B. The house and rooms are ideal and offer privacy as well as community if wanted. We felt welcome and will stay again.


A wonderful stay in Seneca Falls

4,8 su agosto 02, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the VanCleef Homestead and it was wonderful. The accommodations were excellent and Carol took care of every detail. From wonderful breakfasts to suggestions for dining, she does an outstanding job to make your stay most enjoyable and comfortable.


Friendly and clean lodging

3,8 su luglio 27, 2013

VanCleef Homestead was a very comfortable and clean B&B, with a great location. Able to walk to downtown Seneca Falls in about 10 minutes, in a safe and attractive neighborhood. Breakfast was tasty and hearty (waffles and fruit salad one day, egg strata, fresh melon and biscuits the next). Good tips from the owner on places to see in the area. Large room on the first floor. There was no TV in the room, but this was not a problem for us.


VanCleef Homestead B&B

5 su luglio 10, 2013

I don't usually rate all categories outstanding but the thing about this stay is that the innkeepers were so friendly and helpful and willing to go above and beyond that if anything was the slightest bit lacking of if I was missing something they supplied it immediately. The rooms were filled with small touches that made all the difference and it felt like I was staying in a home not an inn which is how I like my B&B stays. Loved my stay here!


A True Home from Home

3,8 su luglio 06, 2013

A very welcoming and accommodating host in a true American small town environment. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.


comfortable and welcoming

4,8 su luglio 03, 2013

We were soaked and dirty from a very wet bike ride along the Erie Canal but Carol made us feel so comfortable and really at home. The bed and shower were terrific and the hearty breakfast really hit the spot.


Carol is a gracious host

5 su giugno 25, 2013

We stayed in the corner room with a private bath. Comfy bed and great food. Would go back here in a heartbeat.


A girls weekend at VanCleefs bed and breakfast

5 su giugno 16, 2013

The 4 of us had a great stay at VanCleef 's. We were visiting the area for a quilt show and to do some wine tastings. Perfect location and great hostess (Carol) was. The rooms were beautiful and the beds so comfortable we all slept great. Carol gave us directions and good ideas for dinner. We enjoyed and evening of cards in the dining room and visiting with Carol and her mom. Definetely we will revisit.


Welcoming and Wonderful!

5 su maggio 29, 2013

We were not sure of our arrival time in town and when we drove in that evening and called around, Carol welcomed us. From the moment we walked in Carol took care of us and made us quite at home. We loved our downstairs suite; very warm, quiet, cozy. Claw foot tub was very relaxing. Carol checked with us to ensure we had the breakfast we needed before we headed out by bicycle. Breakfast was complete and had special touches and delicious. Carol also has beverage treats always available; small refrigerator available too. The homestead is easy to find and in a lovely part of town; comfortable porch and yard. Parking is convenient in the extra large driveway. Carol is very knowledgeable about the history of the house and area and excited to help guests. Carol is very genuine in her desire to provide a wonderful guest experience. Carol also helped us so that we could bicycle for three days and return to the Van Cleef. We felt like we returned home even to the note on the door saying 'welcome home' and our same room. Thank you Carol!! We wish you the very best :-)


beautiful home!

5 su aprile 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! The house was immaculate, our hostess was wonderful and the food was outstanding! Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast!


A Wonderful Weekend Getaway

4,8 su aprile 10, 2013

The hospitality at the Van Cleef Homstead was amazing, from delicious cookies and coffee on our arrival to the fantastic breakfast the next morning. Our stay was delightful and we would gladly stay again.


Quaint and full of character

5 su marzo 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and it was lovely! Carol greeted us as we arrived and gave us a quick tour of the house. There were cookies waiting for us in the dining room, and we were invited to play our own CDs in the living room should we want to. Our room was clean, comfortable, and (perhaps most importantly) warm. There was also a small selection of DVDs, books, and magazines in the room, which was a bonus! In the morning, Carol prepared blueberry pancakes (after asking us if that was to our liking) along with an array of other breakfast treats. It was all delicious. Carol was also well-versed in the town's history and current going-ons, which was helpful to our tourist-y inclinations! All in all, we loved it, and we look forward to staying there again should we find ourselves in the area!


Wonderful Stay

5 su marzo 10, 2013

This was our second time staying at the VanCleef Homestead and we had yet again a wonderful experience! The breakfast was delicious and Carol made us feel like we were at home. We're looking forward to staying here again!


VanCleef Homestead December 2012

5 su dicembre 12, 2012

i stayed at the VanCleef Homestead in Seneca Falls during the It's A Wonderful Life Festival/Weekend. the VanCleef Homestead was absolutely wonderful. warm and cozy, clean, decorated beautifully, comfortable and spacious rooms, AMAZING breakfasts, and lots of little touches and details that made our stay extra special--bathrobes in each room, up-to-date magazines to read, night lights in all the right places, and a comfortable sitting room with a fireplace and nice, soft Christmas music. i really enjoyed meeting Carol, the innkeeper, too. she loves Seneca Falls, and she has lots of recommendations for where to eat, and where to shop in and around town.

Risposta del proprietario
We enjoy making everyone's experience at our inn a memorable one, and we always appreciate knowing that they enjoyed their stay. The "It's A Wonderful Life" celebration in December is a must-do for anyone who loves the movie. It is always a pleasure hosting folks who enjoy the little touches and comforts of home. Thank you!


Beautiful

5 su dicembre 04, 2012

Great area, great surroundings, had jelp with any matter or question. Facility was clean quiet and breakfast was delicious. Thanks for a great time. Don't change the breakfast sausage, eggs or blueberry pankakes reciepes!


Warm and cozy

4,6 su novembre 21, 2012

Wonderful breakfast and cozy rooms.


Would definitely return!

4,4 su ottobre 25, 2012

This place makes you feel like home! The room was very spacious, and the owners made us feel very welcome! Thanks for an awesome stay


Great anniversary trip. Will be back for sure

4,8 su ottobre 22, 2012

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast for our 3 year anniversary and had one of the best experiences we have ever had on vacation. We went with another couple that was celebrating their 4 year anniversary and had never been to a B&B. The owner Carol is one of the nicest people I have ever met. Even before arriving she had given us several recommendations on places to eat and wineries to visit and they all turned out great. I asked if she could put roses in the room for my wife which she went above and beyond and did which was a nice surprise for her. She greeted us when we arrived, gave us a tour and some history and showed us to our room. She asked what time we wanted breakfast and if we had any special requests, dietary or other. Overall she is dedicated to what she does and has a passion for making people's vacations very special. The rooms were clean and ice cold water was available in the room at all times which was a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a rock. The only suggestion I could make would be to boost the Internet signal a little. It is hard to get service in the upstairs room and with no tv it would be nice to have Internet, however you got good signal on the porch, which we sat on every night talking. The food at breakfast was some of the best I have ever had at a bed and breakfast. Fresh fruit and juices, several courses of food like eggs baked in a cast iron skillet and a corn dish and French toast that were to die for. She made herself available to us at all times, many times being up at 1 AM in her kitchen getting ready for the next day. I read some recent reviews on here that were very critical of the service here. I cannot speak for another persons experience, however I do not think they were very accurate or honest. This place was great to stay at and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay while in the area.

Risposta del proprietario
This is our 6th year operating our B&B, and we have seen more and more young couples enjoy the pleasures of a B&B. Most comment that they now realize what they have been missing by staying at hotels and motels. We strive to offer good service, comfort, quality food, and the little extras that make our B&B a special place to stay. It is very rewarding to have guests who appreciate what we do. It is always great fun to help them celebrate a special occasion by arranging for flowers, candy, cakes, etc. and to be a part of their special times. Thank you to our valued guests! Your positive comments are very much appreciated.


Had a wonderful time!

4,4 su ottobre 17, 2012

Carol is the perfect host, both mornings she had a great breakfast prepared-nothing was missing! On the night of our arrival we completed a special request form for any diet preference or restrictions, which was great. Carol gave us suggestions on place to go and see, very willing to help! Our room was very large, plenty of room to accommodate 3 people. The king bed and roll away bed were very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again....no complaints at all!

Risposta del proprietario
It is a pleasure having such pleasant guests who enjoy what the Finger Lakes has to offer - just as much as we do. It is easy to be enthusiastic about such a beautiful part of New York. Thank you for your lovely comments.


Great Weekend

4,0 su ottobre 08, 2012

We had a great stay VanCleef Homestead B & B. The room was spacious, comfortable king size bed and a nice private bath. The breakfast were delicious-served with fresh fruit and a side variety of breakfast entrees.


Nobody home.

2,6 su ottobre 08, 2012

We were met by a pleasant elderly lady, the mother of one of the innkeepers. The owners were not at home. After getting us some ice from the kitchen she disappeared for the evening. We use B & B's more for the social and local aspect than any other. We were extremely disappointed to have no one to discuss the best places to eat, things to see, etc. Our room had one chair, no bedside table(s) for a clock and bed lamps were wall sconces too high to reach from bed, that do not work. The bathroom sink is a pedestal. No shelve is available to place one's toiletries and rather than fix the flushing mechanism, there is a sign about how to flush the toilet. We didn't rate the breakfast because when we were up and ready at 8:15, there was no sign of life in the house, no coffee to be seen or smelled, so we left. All in all, a motel stay would have been more enjoyable. The dining rating was done so as to complete the requirements of the review program, we know nothing of the food.

Risposta del proprietario
Constructive guest comments and factual statements are appreciated. An innkeeper’s job is 24/7, and we have real-life personal circumstances occur we must handle. We can’t cancel someone out just because we aren’t available to personally handle check-in or to answer their questions about restaurants. I was not able to discuss breakfast procedures with these particular guests, but they were provided a welcome letter which includes info about breakfast, and they are asked to fill out a beverage preference form. Many communicate their desires on the form they leave on the DR table. Morning coffee is available 30 minutes before breakfast unless otherwise requested. I was preparing breakfast when I heard the guests drive out. I phoned them immediately, but they refused to return for breakfast. Upon receiving comments about the room, I checked all lights and found them in working order. The sconces mentioned by the reviewer work but are not adequate for reading. A long-armed reading light is next to the bed offering very good illumination. With no space for a bed-side stand, some guests move the small table located 2 feet away, to bedside for c-pap machines and other personal items. The large bath has a pedestal sink, a 3-tier shelf on the wall to its left, and small table for toiletries. Our plumber checked the flushing mechanism and found the float slightly hung up. The mechanism design allows for the toilet to run if pushed more than one-half turn to engage the flush; therefore, the posted sign. One rocking chair is located bedrooms, but another can be added if requested. Most guests enjoy the comfort of the living room with its cozy chairs and couch. We strive to provide the service, comfort, and accommodations enjoyed by travelers, and their concerns and comments are acted upon immediately. It is unfortunate that we failed to meet this guest's expectations, but he received a significant room discount to cover breakfast expense.


Family Chill at a Nice B&B

4,8 su settembre 11, 2012

We had a wonderful two night stopover on our way east. We enjoyed the town inlcuding the women's rights museum and the river walk as well as the area attractions including wineries and fine dining. The B &B was very clean and the rooms were excellent. Carol was a gracious host and we enjoyed the two breakfasts. If going there right now there is a bit of road construction in the town, but don't be scared off by it as it doesn't affect the stay and is temporary anyway.

Risposta del proprietario
Those last-minute get-aways, if only for a couple days, are relaxing and offer a sense of renewed refreshment! Seneca Falls has much to offer the traveler, and it is fun to point out places of interest in and around my hometown. Folks are appreciative of the tips I can offer about things to do and see, and I am thankful to have a part in their experience. Thank you for your kind comments.


Sensational Seneca Falls B&B !

4,2 su settembre 09, 2012

Ours days began relaxing on the porch, coffees in hands planning which wineries to visit. So many wineries, so little time. Our hostess Carol invited us around her beautifully set table for a delicious breakfast. She offered great suggestion to fill our days. We would certainly return to VanCleff.

Risposta del proprietario
There is nothing I enjoy more than seeing my guests enjoy their morning coffee on our porch as the day begins. I would love to trade places - but someone has to fix breakfast! Repeat customers are the best compliment I could ask for - so, do come back!


Forget the sidewalk reconstruction, just go there!

4,8 su settembre 02, 2012

It is close to the many wineries in the Finger Lakes area and the natural areas that surround the region. The feel was quite personal, like you were staying with friends who wanted to share the good things about the region. The breakfast was elegant and we wished we had booked another night.

Risposta del proprietario
I appreciate everyone's patience with the sidewalk and road construction. Once off the street, the guests were treated to the best we have to offer-a pleasant, comfortable stay, with tasty food. Thank you for your lovely review!


Beautiful home, wonderful owner, relaxing visit!

5 su agosto 26, 2012

Such a lovely bed and breakfast. Rooms were so pretty and decor was lovely. Carol was so nice and welcoming and a fantastic cook! I came with my husband and 2 young boys (4 & 2 years old) and she was sweet enough to have some toys ready for them to play with when we arrived. We enjoyed playing cards on the comfy couches in the living room and chatting over yummy evening snacks she prepared in the dining room. The area had lots of shops and we enjoyed taking walks and trying out a restaurant she recommended for dinner that ended up being perfect. You won't regret booking here - wonderful experience!

Risposta del proprietario
I have blessed with such wonderful guests this season who appreciate just kicking back and enjoying each other's company. We provide few modern distractions - except internet for those who must stay "connected". The children enjoy card games, toys, the pool, and the devoted attention of their parents and grandparents - who are sometimes too busy in everyday life to give 100%. It is rewarding to be a part of that experience.


vancleef homestead

5 su agosto 20, 2012

we enjoyed our stay very much....Carol was very helpful when we were planning all the things we wanted to see and do. VanCleef Homestead is a very warm and inviting place to stay.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for telling everyone of your experience at our B&B and for sharing your kind comments.


Great Bed and Breakfast!

5 su agosto 19, 2012

We loved staying at the Van Cleef Homestead! Carol was a great hostess and breakfast chef. The atmosphere was very welcoming, and our room was spotless and beautiful.

Risposta del proprietario
We take great pride in our establishment and like to provide an environment to be enjoyed by travelers who recognize and appreciate the efforts of the innkeepers! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!


Cycling the Finger Lakes

4,4 su luglio 17, 2012

My wife and I spent a few days bicycle touring the Finger Lakes erlier this month and stayed with Carol on this trip. The room, service and house are lovely.

Risposta del proprietario
The Finger Lakes region has wonderful places to cycle. After a long ride, we have a pool, comfy livingroom and refreshments to offer, and all of those things are appreciated by weary cyclists. Thank you for your kind remarks.


Awesome area to visit

5 su luglio 09, 2012

The hostess was most professional, and we enjoyed our visit. The scenery in that area was worth the trip by motorcycle. Thanks, Carol


Lovely place to stay in Seneca Falls

3,4 su giugno 25, 2012

We were on a bike tour of the finger lakes and we rode into Seneca Falls tired and sweaty, but we were welcomed warmly. Our room was airy and light filled. The owner was very gracious. We loved the location... just a short walk from the few restaurants in Seneca Falls. The breakfast was good but not anything very unique-- well-made scrambled eggs and toast, with fruit and juice. Overall, a very good experience.

Risposta del proprietario
When having just 2 or 3 guests, it is typical to discuss what they prefer to eat for breakfast and providing dishes suitable to their likes. Sometimes it is a simple, but tasty breakfast, but most of the time, we serve family style and provide ample casseroles to share. I have learned that simple is best when serving several individuals including those with dietary preferences - vegetarian, lactose or low fat diets, etc.


Historic Cayuga Street Residence

5 su giugno 14, 2012

I grew up almost across the street from the VanCleef Residence and it felt like going home. I was only able to stay one night but the location was perfect fro reaqauinting myself with the town; the room was cozy and bed comfortable. The hostess was amazingly friendly and accomodating. She made me a yummy breakfast to start off my day on the road. I would head back there for a longer stay in the future. Can't go wrong with this choice of places to stay.

Risposta del proprietario
It is always a treat to host someone who grew up in the area, on this street, or even in this house. They have such great stories to share, and it helps me understand more about the history that made Seneca Falls what it is today. I have had folks share pictures of their grandparents, siblings, childhood pets - all very much appreciated by the innkeeper. Please come "home" again!


VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast Review

4,8 su giugno 12, 2012

I had a very nice stay at the VanCleef Bed and Breakfast. Very nice bedroom with a comfortable bed. Nicely decorated throughout and the owner was very accommodating. Very good breakfast served family style in the beautiful dining room.


review

4,6 su giugno 01, 2012

A most wonderful place to stay and the Innkeeper was most delightful


Wonderful B & B

4,6 su maggio 28, 2012

We loved staying at this B & B . Lovely rooms and wonderful Breakfast . Now that my daughter has graduated we won't be back soon but I would recommend this place to anyone.


A great place for a romantic getaway!

4,6 su febbraio 20, 2012

This was our fourth Valentine getaway at our favorite bed and breakfast. The hospitality, atmosphere, delicious breakfast, comfy bed, and overall experience are what keep us coming back. The innkeeper,Carol, treats us like family, and she always makes us feel very special. There are always flowers and chocolates in the room, home-made cookies and beverages waiting for us in the dining room. We can't wait to go back - want to do a summer getaway so we can treat our daughter to a dip in the pool. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast for young couples, singles, families.


Great Place To Stay!!

4,4 su dicembre 07, 2011

We were very comfortable staying at the VanCleef. The host, Carol, provided a clean, well decorated comfortable place to stay and a delicious breakfast in the morning. Very accommodating and flixible.


Finger Lakes visit

4,0 su novembre 07, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the VanCleef homestead, wish it was longer. Carol even had a birthday cake for our daughter when we arrived.

Risposta del proprietario
The"fun" part of the innkeeper job is surprising folks with treats for special events. It is a pleasure to be able to provide them a place to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, and graduations. Thank you for choosing VanCleef Homestead!


Meagen, PA

4,8 su ottobre 29, 2011

Great place to stay! Has a calm, comfortable, and intimate atmosphere. I would go back! Didn't eat there so I can't give a rating on the food, but the coffee was great.


VanCleef B&B

5 su ottobre 22, 2011

Stayed in the Mynderse Room at the VanCleef Homestead B&b. The room was larger than expected, and the King bed was very comfortable. The innkeeper served wonderful breakfasts, especially liked the French toast casserole.


Van Cleefe

4,6 su ottobre 15, 2011

House was clean and comfortable, food was great. A fabulous place to stay.


Columbus Day Weekend

4,6 su ottobre 14, 2011

Our stay at Van Cleef Homestead B & B was great. The rooms were comfortable with nice extras that were unexpected (chocolates and ice water in the room). The breakfast which was served family style was delicious and more food than we expected. The dining room was available to guests 24/7 with water for hot and cold beverages and snacks and there was a small refrigerator available for guest use. The location was convenient to the Cayuga Lake Wine Trail. A great value for the price. We would definitely stay again.


Awesome Weekend!

5 su ottobre 10, 2011

The Van Cleef was an excellent way for my wife and I to enter the world of the B & B! Carol and Brent were excellent hosts! I really loved the baked oatmeal! We will be back one day!


Simply one of the very best

4,6 su ottobre 04, 2011

Such an elegant home to share. Carol is the warmest and most generous in making our stay a great memory. Breakfasts were abundant and wonderfully prepared and served. Tea & cookies available in the evenings and the immaculately prepared bedroom were always a delight. We have this B&B at the top of our list.


Great find in Seneca Falls, NY

4,8 su settembre 27, 2011

We stayed one night at Van Cleef. We kept remarking on how clean the b&b was. Carol and Brent couldn't have been nicer and Carol makes a great breakfast. We had a wonderful stay!


VanCleef B&B - Great!

5 su settembre 21, 2011

We love the friendliness of Carol and Brent. This is our 2nd stay at VanCleef B&B and we were not disappointed.


Fantastic B&B - and they welcome children!

4,8 su settembre 09, 2011

We recently stayed at the VanCleef Homestead for two nights and would highly recommend this B&B. The owner Carol was absolutely lovely and we had a brilliant stay. The B&B was immaculate with warm and inviting decor, the breakfast was all homemade and delicious and... they welcome children! We have a 4 year old son and we appreciated how welcoming Carol was to all of us. It's a shame more B&B's aren't like this one!


Nice little B&B.

4,2 su settembre 01, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid-August. The house is clean and well kept. Breakfast was delicious and the inn-keeper was very friendly. Highly recommended.


VanCleef Homestead at Seneca Falls - review

3,0 su agosto 30, 2011

Very nice historic home, beautifully decorated and clean. Very warm and kind attention.


Best place to stay in the Finger Lakes

5 su agosto 29, 2011

Staying at the VanCleef Homestead is truly a home away from home. The Innkeepers are very gracious and hospitable. I would highly recommend it to anyone needing a getaway in a charming setting.


Great people, great stay!

5 su agosto 23, 2011

We had a short stay but great experience at the VanCleef. Breakfast was fantastic. Owners were very attentive to our needs. We hope to stay here again in the future!


Short and wonderful stay

5 su agosto 22, 2011

In our trip to Canada we decided to enter in the estates just looking for outlets and as results of it we booked a room at the VanCleef Homestead B&B. I have to say that we just were expecting a clean place but we found much more that this, the house is really very nice and the attentions we received from Carol was really fantastic. Unfortunately we arrived late at night and we departure early in the morning, so we just stay she few hour but our feelings were that it would be worth to stay at least one or two day to explore the area and enjoy the nice house we've sleeping. All the house is very well conserved and all the fornitures and decoration are old style, as decades ago, really enjoyable. I would definitively recommend to stay in this wonderful house and pass at least a couple of day, one for shopping and a second one to explore the finger lakes region. Hopefully in the future we'll have the option to come back to that are and we'll try to stay on the same place. Regards from Barcelona! Thank!!!


Wonderful experience

4,0 su agosto 16, 2011

Carol was very warm and a wonderful host, explaining the history of the home, and a great source of information for fun things to do the next day! Would definitely stay there again :)


Van Cleef B&B

5 su agosto 06, 2011

We spent two nights at the Van Cleef and would definitely go back. Very intimate, quiet and peaceful and it has a swimming pool which is beautifully maintained. Had the best French Toast ever our first morning. Convenient to the historic sites in Seneca Falls. Delightful!


Senior cyclist

5 su luglio 20, 2011

Relaxing with pleasant conversation and out of the ordinary service to ease the way for a bicycle tourist.


wedding weekend

5 su luglio 14, 2011

We had a great time. The Bed and Breakfast exceeded my expectations. We had access to cold drinks from the frig. in the dining room as well as cold water with 'glass' glasses to drink from in our room. The fresh flowers were a nice touch. The breakfasts were delicious. Our hostess was very accomodating regarding breakfast 'time'.


A Friendly Inn

3,4 su luglio 11, 2011

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Van Cleef Homestead. The house has been nicely restored, and the rooms are cozy. The innkeeper was friendly and informative.


July 4th Vacation

4,2 su luglio 07, 2011

This was the first time we stayed at a B&B and it was very fun. The room was big, and the bed was comfortable. It was a new experience to share breakfast with different families each day, and we really enjoyed it - the food was great too. The Finger Lakes area offers so much to do! We want to return with friends.


Excellent!! Wonderful place to stay!!

5 su giugno 29, 2011

Wonderful place to stay! Close to everything the Seneca Falls has to offer. Very clean and comfortable! Highly recommend!! Breakfast was very tasty!! Carol is amazing!!


Cozy & Clean B&B w/ a warm & friendly host!

4,2 su giugno 27, 2011

This was our first stay at a B&B and it was a great experience! The owner was very friendly and makes a delicious breakfast. The room was very clean and comfy. Nice pool available to use although the weather wasn't warm enough during our stay.


Nice rooms and good service

4,4 su giugno 21, 2011

Everything was great. We stayed in the VanCleef room. Clean comfortable room, nice decor, VERY spacious bathroom. Free drinks and plenty of spare glasses for your bottle of wine or whatever. I liked the fact that there was a thermos carafe of cool water in the room - more eco-friendly than bottles - but bottles were available in the fridge if you wanted. Breakfast was yummy and plentiful. Since we were the only ones there, we peeked in all the other rooms, and all looked very nice. I thought the web-site pic made the Mynderse room look more modern, a bit cheesy, and not as authentic, but that was not the case in person. The hostess (Carol) was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for local restaurants and attractions.


Pleasant enough, but not outstanding

3,2 su giugno 15, 2011

We had a reasonably good visit. Unlike some B&B proprietors the woman of the house here made it clear that she was "in charge" and informed us about details like when breakfast would be. She also gave us, unfortunately, a recommendation for dinner at a very marginal restaurant out by the lake. On the other hand, the house was pleasant enough and the location near downtown Seneca Falls (which was a bit of walk) was good for folks traveling by car.


A wonderful stay!

5 su maggio 30, 2011

We loved the house, our room was very spacious, and the bed was really comfortable. Carol is a great host. We had some must-sees on our agenda, and she helped us discover more; and then helped us find our way there. We will definitely be back if we ever get to this area again! Carol & Norm -- Seattle, WA


A lovely host and a great breakfast

4,4 su maggio 16, 2011

I really had a pleasant stay at this B&B. It is close to the main street of Seneca Falls and easily accessed. I'd definitely return.


Warm and Beautiful Inn

5 su maggio 15, 2011

My 2 adult daughters and I stayed in the 2 adjoining rooms. It was a perfect set up for us. The detached bathroom was no problem and the robes provided were a nice touch. The food was delicious! My daughter has a gluten allergy and the variety of food that Carol provided was incredible. The inn is very nice and the Innkeepers are very friendly and make every effort to make you feel comfortable. Before we left home, we emailed Carol and she provided us with excellent advice about where to visit. Also, at breakfast she provided us with fun and interesting stories about Seneca Falls. I would highly recommend a stay at the VanCleef Homestead! We had such a wonderful time!


Wonderful place

4,8 su marzo 28, 2011

My wife and I have stayed with Carol at the VanCleef Homstead three times now. We tried another B&B after our second stay at VanCleef because we wanted to be closer to Ithaca on that trip and we won't stay anywhere else again.


Cozy and lovely

4,8 su febbraio 04, 2011

We only had one night there, but we had a lovely stay here. It made a perfect stopover on our roadtrip between niagara falls and boston. Carol looked after us with cookies, tea and a lovely breakfast. It was warm and cozy. The bed was very comfortable and I also took a relaxing bath in the cute bath tub! Recommended!


Wonderfully Relaxing

5 su gennaio 26, 2011

We were looking for a get-away after Christmas, and this B&B was perfect. It was quiet, private, and so relaxing. The room was cozy and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. The innkeeper had cookies and hot beverages ready for us on arrival, and recommended a wonderful restaurant in the village. The welcoming fire in the living room fireplace was a great treat. We will certainly be back, and have recommended to friends.


VanCleef Homestead B & B

5 su dicembre 28, 2010

Quaint with beautiful rooms and ambiance. Christmas time there is amazing. Great breakfast Wonderful innkeepers.


Visitors from England

3,0 su novembre 22, 2010

A very nice place to stay and one which we would recommend.


Speedy trip

4,6 su novembre 20, 2010

Arrived late - left early, missed the wonderful area. But GPS led us there, the hospitality and breakfast were superb, and the value was tops.


VanCleef Experience - Wonderful Time!

4,6 su novembre 12, 2010

Warm and friendly atomsphere. Lovely rooms. Wonderful hostess in Carol! We recommend VanCleef and will go back again. Sadie & Vince Crovo


outstanding stay

5 su novembre 11, 2010

warm and hospitable stay for our sibling gathering. excellent hearty breakfasts. accessible for me using a walker, with first floor bedroom. attention to dietary needs. good recommendations for places to eat. open to chatting and answering questions, but didn't "hover". we're planning to return.


A warm haven for a family gathering

4,8 su novembre 10, 2010

My sisters and I spent a weekend at Van Cleef Homestead in early November, and it was a wonderful place for our annual time together as siblings. We took over the whole place, and the first floor room was ideal for our one sister with mobility issues. Carol and Brent were magnificent hosts, and pointed us in the direction of good restaurants and other interesting places to see. The rooms and beds were very comfortable, and the breakfasts delicious. The location in Seneca falls is ideal for seeing the Finger Lakes region, which happens to be the area where many of our ancestors came from. We've already reserved a weekend next May, when the area promises to be green and beautiful.


Great Place to stay!!

5 su novembre 10, 2010

Carol and Brent were awesome. Great place to stay- comfortable in every way. We held a family reunion at VanCleef and it was fantastic!! We will be going back soon!


Wonderful stay at Van Cleef Homestead!

4,6 su ottobre 27, 2010

The room was very large and pleasant. The hospitality and food were wonderful! This was my boyfriends first (reluctant) stay at a Bed and Breakfast and the positive experience means he won't rule out future bed and breakfast stays. That makes me very happy! I would definitely recommend Van Cleef Homestead!


Hospitality at its best

5 su ottobre 26, 2010

Upon arriving at the homestead, Carol greeted us immediately and welcomed us into the home. The home was very warm and inviting. The room we stayed in was wonderfully decorated and cozy. The breakfasts were incredible. We would wake up in anticipation of what we were going to be served for breakfast. Carol is a wonderful cook and so very welcoming. She was very informative and helpful in every way. We felt like it was our home away from home. Will absolutely stay here again.


VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast

4,2 su ottobre 22, 2010

Charming home, very friendly hosts. Great food - relaxing atmosphere. We will be back!


What a great place to stay

5 su ottobre 22, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially during the fall season and enjoyed hearing about the history of the VanCleef property. Before leaving, we walked around the neighborhood & found very unique architecture in many historic homes. This location was an easy drive to many of the local wineries.


First Class all the way

5 su ottobre 21, 2010

From the minute we walked in the door Carol, the innkeeper made us feel at home. Our room was clean and comfortable and very nicely decorated. our bathroom was large enough to host a party in. An excellent breakfast was served family style and we enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests. Especially nice after a day of touring the area was to sit in front of the fireplace in the living room. Carol was a good source of information about the area and was fun to just sit and talk with. We know where we will stay on ourt next trip to Seneca Falls.


Exceptional B&B

5 su ottobre 09, 2010

We had a delightful visit with the hostess. Our room was elegant and comfortable and the full breakfast was delicious both mornings we were there. Also, the advise where to eat locally was very helpful. We would definitely stay there again.


Van Cleef Experience

5 su ottobre 02, 2010

The inn is lovely, homey and exceptionally clean. It is centrally located so that all attractions are within walking distance. Carol, the inn keeper is friendly, knowledgable about the area and welcomes you as if you were already a friend. Everything about the inn is comfortable and we would stay there again and have no hesitation about recommending it to others. Best bed so far on our trip!


canal cruisers

5 su settembre 30, 2010

a five star b&b in all respects! if you are any where near seneca falls this is the place to stay. claire&dave 9/26/10


Lovely reprieve

4,8 su settembre 14, 2010

I stayed at the VanCleef back in March 2010 while working in Seneca Falls. It was wonderful. Carol was warm and friendly and the breakfasts were delicious. It's a quiet, comfortable place to stay.


Carol was great

5 su agosto 29, 2010

What a beautiful home, expectional service and very relaxing. We loved our stay and hope to stay once again. Thank you,


A great B&B

4,8 su agosto 17, 2010

Carol was a great hostess, she runs a lovely B&B with a great breakfast. The rooms were very nice, the pool was a great touch after a long day of bike riding.


Great Value for a Family

5 su maggio 06, 2010

I was looking for a suite of two rooms to accomodate our small family, and VanCleef offered exactly what we needed for a very reasonable rate. The inn is a beautiful walk away from Van Cleef Lake and the heart of the village. We were pleasantly surprised by how comfortable it was, from the very thick carpets to the warm water dispenser. Carol's delicious breakfast provided us with the energy we needed for our trip. Great value and definitely recommended!


Enjoyed it

5 su aprile 05, 2010

Stayed a week on a business trip, and was very pleased. Carol, our host, was most accomodating and makes a great breakfast. Was actually my first stay at a B&B and was happy with everything. Nice and quiet too. Will likely go back.


Wonderful home and innkeepers

5 su agosto 26, 2009

When I planned my vacation, for accomodations I looked for a very clean, comfortable and welcoming place (especially because I travelled with my 2 little kids). VanCleef Homestead excedeed my expectations - we stayed in the Swaby suite - everything was perfect. Carol is wonderful and her breakfast is delicious. I highly recommend this place!!! Thanks Carol!

Risposta del proprietario
We welcome the opportunity to host families with children and to give them the comforts of home. It isn't easy traveling with children. Our rooms are far enough apart that our other guests don't even realize children are on the premises. We have also been blessed with very well-behaved, courteous children (and parents!). Thank you for your kind review!


Wonderful value!!!

5 su agosto 19, 2009

We couldn't have asked for anything more. Our hostess was exceptional, as was the entire experience. This location will certainly rate a return visit.

Risposta del proprietario
It is a pleasure hosting guests who appreciate good service, a nice (historic) environment, and good old-fashioned hospitality. Thank you for your comments.


Home away from Home

5 su agosto 08, 2009

This bed and breakfast does an outstanding job of making guests feel comfortable. We needed a room with a walk-in shower and Carol accomodated our every need-which also included a rollaway bed. The innkeepers respect your privacy while at the same time open their home to you. I would give it high praise and recommend it to anyone that is new to staying at a bed and breakfast and to anyone that has been wanting to see what it would be like to stay at a B&B as well as to the more experienced traveler. The accomodations are clean and the Innkeepers are professional and committed to customer service. Well done Carol and Brent-we will be back for sure!

Risposta del proprietario
Guest comfort is our number 1 priority. We treat all our guests as though they are friends we have known for years who have come for a visit. Thank you for your kind remarks.


Delightful stay near the Finger Lakes!

5 su giugno 28, 2009

We definitely would return! We found the Van Cleef Homestead while searching online for a B&B for Memorial Day weekend. The Van Cleef offered a really reasonable rate compared to other places we considered. The B&B is set in a quiet residential neighborhood, and is a great location for exploring the Finger Lakes area. Our room (the Mynderse) was spacious, and brighter than it looked on the B&B website. The best was the innkeeper, Carol -- she couldn’t have been nicer. She truly went above and beyond in answering our questions and offering suggestions about nearby places and activities. And breakfast was always a treat!

Risposta del proprietario
Your kind review of our B&B is very much appreciated. It is easy to be a good hostess to such wonderful guests! Thank you, and please come again. The biggest compliment is a return guest!


Wonderful

5 su giugno 04, 2009

Friendly, welcoming and accommodating hosts. Pristine and very comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. What more can I say. Highly recommended.

Risposta del proprietario
We take great pride in running a high class operation. It is a lot of work, but the rewards are the exceptional people we get to meet. Thank you.


Home away from home!

5 su giugno 02, 2009

Everything was perfect - our room, the delicious breakfast, and the friendly and helpful innkeepers. Our weekend at VanCleef Homestead was just what we were looking for - a get-away from phones, TV, and the hassles of every day life.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your kind comments. The biggest reward in running a B&B is the number of wonderful people we meet. Please do come again!


VanCleef Homestead Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $125 - $175
  • Recensioni (118) 4,6
  • Camere 3
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 011-3155682275

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina