A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate Recensioni

Globalmente
4,9

Più info

  • Camera4,9
  • Servizi5
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
50 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Very welcoming, beautiful, and great attention to detail

5 su marzo 25, 2014

The estate is indeed very elegant, and my girlfriend and I felt very welcomed and cared for. Rosemary is an excellent host, and made sure our stay was a great one. I would highly recommend the Ellwanger to anyone who desires a quiet retreat, whether you are visiting town, or are even a resident of Rochester. A hidden gem!


Peaceful retreat and wonderful service

4,6 su marzo 11, 2014

A peaceful place to retreat in the city of Rochester. Rosemary, the owner/innkeeper made us feel as though we were being welcomed into her own home. We felt welcomed, attended to, and enjoyed delicious home-made breakfasts. Definitely worth repeating! Helen and Steve Kingston, Ontario March 8-10,2014


A unique B&B in Rochester

4,8 su ottobre 30, 2013

The Ellwanger is truly a unique B&B. The owner's friendly hospitality, the intriguing decor and the superb breakfasts all add up to a home from home for the traveller. Unreservedly recommended, whether your visit to Rochester is for business or pleasure.


Grace and Comfort

5 su ottobre 24, 2013

My husband and I had the privilege of staying 5 nights at this exceptional estate last week, we came for a wedding, and the rehearsal dinner was hosted here in the coach house. We stayed in the Travelers Rest, found it to be impeccably clean, with a lovely modern bathroom and a wonderfully comfortable bed. Rosemary thought of everything a weary traveler might need, tweezers? wow! A black washcloth to help remove makeup? Genius...I have to do this at home! Plenty of outlets for all our electronics, but the robes...the best. Breakfast more than met our expectations, we enjoyed everything, regretting that her pear butter is not for sale(but she shared the recipe). I learned of a winter squash I have never before tried...Delicata..my new favorite(you can eat the skin!), and in her most gracious way, Rosemary sent us home with heirloom seeds. The home was filled with our dear friends, and the best part of this experience was our late night chats on the most comfortable furniture in the main part of the house. This location provides ready access to all the charms Rochester has to offer, and only a one hour drive to the Finger lakes wine country. This is a wonderful place to gather with your family and/or friends, we will most definitely return.


Gracious and Elegant

5 su luglio 17, 2013

Although I have titled my review of the Ellwanger Estate as "Gracious and Elegant" (which it no doubt is), one of the most important factors is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and innkeeper. This is what makes it seem as though you were visiting the country estate of a friend, should you be lucky enough to have friends with such lovely property. During my stay there, I lacked for nothing, had gourmet breakfasts, made full use of the generous living spaces and enjoyed the spectacular historical landmark gardens that are next to the house. Seeing deer and other wildlife were also quite a bonus when you consider that this B&B is near the center of town and close to many amenities.


Charming stay

5 su luglio 08, 2013

Beautiful place. Divine breakfast. Attention is paid to every small detail, ensuring a wonderful stay.


Wonderfully comfortable house, beautiful garden and outstanding hospitality.

5 su maggio 30, 2013

Have just returned home to the UK after a long weekend in Rochester - visiting my son and his wife, with my sister, and staying at the Ellwanger Estate. It was a lovely, peaceful and relaxing experience and I would certainly have no hesitation in going back, and recommending it to others. Rosemary is welcoming but unobtrusive, her rooms are spotlessly clean, the bedding and towels excellent quality, the toiletries in the bathroom the same. The mansion itself is comfortable and full of interesting pictures, books and history - my sister could even practice her piano while we were there. The breakfasts made freshly by Rosemary every morning were amazing - always cereal and granola, fresh fruit and delicious yoghurt and then multi-seed croissants (which I'd never had before), poached eggs, sweet corn and sweet red pepper frittata and my absolute favourite a french toast bread and butter pudding full of dried fruit and topped with poached peaches and New York syrup. All very fresh and delicious. One evening when we came home, Rosemary had home made New York cheesecake waiting for us in case we were hungry. Absolutely amazing. So, highly recommended from 2 pleased and impressed Brits.


A quiet respite

5 su ottobre 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at EE while in town to visit our recently graduated (U of R) daughter. Rosemary welcomed her for breakfast with us! We enjoyed Rosemary's wonderful cooking and willingness to walk us through the story of the renovations. I appreciated use of the piano and the hand weights available for guests. House and gardens are beautiful. Comfortable in all ways.


History, Nature, and Location in Perfect Harmony

5 su ottobre 18, 2012

Rosemary is a magnificent steward for the historic Ellwanger Estate. She is also the model of a gracious and professional innkeeper. And a wonderful chef as well, one who cheerfully, skillfully, and deliciously accommodated our vegetarian breakfast requirements. Our guest room, The Woodland Suite, is outstanding in every respect. And the public areas of the Ellwanger House are just as inviting and as beautifully maintained. The Ellwanger's location on Mt. Hope Avenue proved to be ideal for visiting the University of Rochester. The Estate also was the perfect point of departure for our bicycle adventures throughout Rochester's historic neighborhoods and along the marvelous Genesee River Trail. As welcoming as Rosemary was to us, she was just as accommodating to our bicycles. This was a matter of no small importance, since our two-wheelers were our sole means of transportation while in Rochester.


A lovely B&B

5 su agosto 17, 2012

Everything about this B&B is lovely, from the spacious living quarters, to the gardens, to the rooms. Rosemary is the consummate host and a superb cook. Breakfast is copious. The house is serene and a welcome retreat to the traveler.


A Grand Beauty

4,8 su agosto 14, 2012

The flowers and grounds draw you into this elegant old home, but the hospitality and fine food make you slow down and savor your stay: an elegant experience.


Ellwanger Estate

4,8 su luglio 21, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Ellwanger in July, 2012. The home is beautiful and Rosemary will fill you in with as much history as you would like to know. We stayed in the Victorian suite which lives up to it's name. The room and private bath were very clean and filled with amenities, if needed. It's very close to the Genessee Walking Trail, Mt. Hope Cemetary and Highland Park if those types of things interest you. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, yogert, artisan croissants, homemade pear butter (even if you're not a pear lover - don't knock it until you try it - it was wonderful), and a breakfast caserole, coffee and juice. This is absolutely a B&B I would stay in again!


Experience

4,8 su giugno 11, 2012

A native of Rochester now residing in Virginia, I truly enjoyed this past week-end at the beautiful Ellwanger Estate. Rosemary's warm and welcoming demeanor made my husband and me feel comfortable and at ease in this lovely manor, offering almost an at home experience! The breakfasts were homemade and absolutely delicious. Its location was perfect for us - not more 20 minutes away from the furthest parts of the city. The Ellwanger garden maintained by the Rochester historic society is a well kept secret and it is a genuine pleasure to be able to stroll around them. I loved it!


A bed & breakfast with a hospitable housekeeper

4,6 su giugno 02, 2012

We spend 4 days at Ellwanger and we feld ouselves spoiled bij Rosemary. The room and the house was spacious indeed en very clean. The house is in a nice, calm neighbourhood in walking distance from the Genesee rivertrail and the Mount Hope cemetery. Rosemary was very helpfull when we had questions about the neighbourhood etc. Breakfast was great and we really felt at home but with the comfort of a hotel. Thanks Rosemary! Frans and Marijke from Belgium


50th Anniversary Gift

4,4 su maggio 19, 2012

Value rated "Met me Expectations" only because our stay was a gift from our children.


A Restful Horticultural Retreat; Best Kept Secret Gem in Rochester.

5 su maggio 09, 2012

I had scheduled a couple of days of quiet between different travel and conference stops to visit my hometown and celebrate my sister's birthday. Everything was just perfect at the bed and breakfast from the beautifully designed and maintained spacious historical house interior, to the warm welcome by Rosemary, the owner and innkeeper extraordinaire, the comfort of a nice hot cup of tea (cool design Boden teakettle and mugs), yummie muffins/pastry and great toiletries for a luxurious bath. The Inn is very conveniently located within close walking distance of the Victorian Mt Hope Cemetery (the cemetery office is very helpful in locating the grave sites of ancestors -- and I found two headstones from ancestors buried there in the late 1800's). Susan B Anthony and Frederick Douglas gravesites are located in Mt Hope Cemetery. Also within walking distance is the Highland Park and Lamberton Conservatory. Frederick Law Olmsted designed the greenway/ park and only Boston ("Emerald Necklace"), Buffalo, Louisville and NYC have similar Olmsted designed linked parks/greenways. The breakfasts were delicious and very generous proportions, featuring fresh berries, flaky whole grain croissants, an egg casserole, fresh squeezed orange juice and creamy steel cut oatmeal. Rosemary even arranged for me to accompany a garden tour of Ellwanger's gardens given by the horticulturalist for the Landmark Society. It was very informative and I would recommend this experience if it is available. Best of all was that I was made to feel at home at the Inn--I didn't feel like I was intruding and my own privacy was respected yet the opportunity for conversation and sharing was there as well. Thanks for a wonderful visit.


Lovely weekend at the Ellwanger

5 su settembre 26, 2011

My friend and I appreciated the warm greeting by Rosemary Janofsky. Given a quick tour of the estate, then shown our room. Comfortable. Good mattresses. Good pillows. Claw Foot tub (hooray!) Many expensive toilletries set out for our use. A good recommendation for dinner, assistance with reservation and directions, and there we were, gazing out at the Genessee River, pinching ourselves, amazed at our good fortune. The weather cooperated, and for most of the weekend we had lovely breeze and blue sky. We enjoyed nearby activities including a stroll along the paths of the Mount Hope Cemetery. Sat on a bench by a duck pond, just listening to birds and chipmunks. Explored the South Wedge neighborhood. Then back to the Ellwanger for lazy afternoon tea outdoors with the house cat. Rosemary is an excellent cook, and both breakfasts were more than pleasing. Delicate vegetable frittata, steel cut oatmeal, pear butter from Ellwanger garden pears, fresh butter shaped by butter molds, croissants, and breads---my favorite, the cranberry orange nut bread. I crave it now, as I write. Hot strong coffee for those who need hot strong coffee with breakfast. She's a gem, that Rosemary Janofsky, just like the Estate she stewards. How wonderful that she had the desire to bring the Ellwanger Estate to life. I will return in the late Spring, when the peonies open and the garden walks are lined with flowers.


Wonderful and Romantic Retreat

5 su settembre 20, 2011

We recently moved to this beautiful area and fell in love with this gorgeous Estate! We stayed in "Travelers Rest" ~ A beautifully appointed, warm and welcoming retreat. We especially loved the Egyptian cotton sheets and rain shower. Breakfast was healthy, amazing and delicious and the table conversation with the other guests was lively and spirited. Rosemary is the consummate hostess and we look forward to returning again and again. Leslie and Charles Sellers


A Memorable Stay

4,8 su settembre 09, 2011

The Ellwanger B & B is a wonderfully appointed historic building. The bedroom was immaculate, quiet, large and most comfortable. The common rooms were warm and welcoming. Rosemary's breakfast was bountiful and delicious. It was delightful walking around the neighborhood - beautiful Highland Park and (believe it or not) one of the first and finest urban park cemeteries in the country (designed by Olmsted). I look forward to returning.


The most outstanding B&B you'll find in all of the Northeast

5 su agosto 30, 2011

Elegant comfort, attention to detail, outstanding breakfasts and great service.


NY Family Vacation

5 su luglio 16, 2011

This place is beautiful. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. The grounds are lovely and the porch is a fantastic place to gather for wine, cheese and good conversation!


A Gem in the Flower City

5 su maggio 31, 2011

We spent an absolutely wonderful weekend at the Ellwanger Estate. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and spoiled. The room was spacious, tastefully furnished, and immaculate. Every personal need was met. And there are no words to adequately describe breakfast--it was a feast for eyes and tummy! No wonder all the guests enjoyed each other's company and lingered.


Fantastic; really lovely.

5 su maggio 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one evening the beginning of May. Rosemary was fantastic. Very gracious and welcoming. The setting is lovely. The breakfast was elegant and yummy delicious. Highly recommend.


A great place for a getaway weekend!

5 su maggio 11, 2011

It's a wonderful place. The inkeeper was very nice and easygoing. The breakfast was super good. Highly recommend this B&B.


Exceptional!

5 su marzo 10, 2011

I myself, or often with a friend, visit B&B's quite frequently. The Ellwanger Estate has to be one of the very best. It is a beautiful estate filled with the most perfect furnishings and has such a welcoming feel to it. Rosemary is an exceptional host and the breakfast she serves is superb.


Excellent Ellwanger Estate

5 su novembre 09, 2010

Extremely friendly and accommodating. Quiet and serene atmosphere. Fantastic breakfast.


wonderful stay

4,8 su ottobre 20, 2010

We recently spent the night and were completely impressed. It is truly a mansion estate with amazing woodwork and rooms. The garden and grounds were wonderful. Rosemary was an excellent, unobtrusive host an she made a very tasty and elegant breakfast. I would highly recommend this B and B.


just wonderful

5 su ottobre 14, 2010

We had the pleasure of spending our honeymoon at this wonderful bed and breakfast. We were greeted by our host Rosemary and made to feel very welcome. The estate was just beautiful, very clean and had that warm home feeling. We were pleasantly surprised to find fresh flowers and candles in our room which was a nice romantic touch.We also had the pleasure of sharing a glass of wine with our host on a grand porch which was just so peaceful and charming. Then there is the bright and cheerful dinning room where we were served a wonderful homemade breakfast at a lovely set table. This wooded and spacious estate will make you forgot u are in the city.We highly recommend this B&B ! Ray & Carol


An all around winner

4,2 su ottobre 07, 2010

We happened upon the Ellwanger and it was a completely amazing experience. our hostess was accomodating and reccomended several local sites and restaurants. all were winners. we are not a fan of Rochester NY and will be returning each year to the Ellwanger. Rooms were great...breakfast was amazing. highly reccomend!


Birthday Surprise

5 su ottobre 06, 2010

This was a surprise Birthday gift to my husband .... Rosemary is ONE FANTASTIC HOSTESS our Woodland Suite was complete with a private shower and lovely sitting room. The bed was VERY comfortable, spacious and peaceful . After settling in, we enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine on the expansive wrap around porch (we insistd that Rosemary join us) - later after dining at Portobelo's which is a short distance from the Elwanger Estate we relaxed on the wonderful porch where we were also joined by Rosmary and another guest who was staying at the Estate . Breakfast was awesome - Especially the magnificent croisants and the home made pear jam. It was an experience we will remember for a long time. My husband still talks about his WONDERFUL surprise!


Wonderful hostess

4,8 su giugno 17, 2010

Rosemary is a wonderful hostess. She was very accommodating of our guests and family during our visit. Our room was perfect and well kept. Breakfasts were elegant and delicious.


Ellwanger Estate

5 su maggio 27, 2010

Can't say enough good things - great hosts, yummy breakfast, and a beautiful estate!


An amazing weekend

5 su marzo 29, 2010

We selected the Ellwanger Estate primarily based on its proximity to other locations in the Rochester area we were planning to visit, and were delighted to find that it was a winning choice in every way possible. The mansion has an enchanting charm about it, the accomodations and amenities were extremely comfortable and relaxing, and Rosemary has cooking and hospitality refined to an art. We heartily recommend the Ellwanger Estate for a weekend getaway... you might even meet us there on a return trip sometime.


Comfort and Elegance in Historic Setting

5 su gennaio 09, 2010

Our stay at the Ellwanger Estate was more than just a retreat; we held our small wedding and reception at the Estate as well. Our host was very attentive to our needs and to all of the details of our stay. Our guests were very well taken care of, the house was beautifully decorated and had a lovely warmth. The breakfasts, elegant settings, and special treats made our stay memorable and allowed for special moments with our family that stayed the weekend with us. The Estate itself is rich in history and it was a pleasure to experience the renovated beauty and enjoy the spacious living areas. We look forward to staying again in coming years. Mike & Charleen


Great Rochester B&B and Location

5 su gennaio 05, 2010

Wonderful place and host. Rosemary was great and the food was excellent.


A Delightful Refuge from the Thruway!

5 su gennaio 04, 2010

My son, daughter-in-law, and two young grandchildren and I stayed one night on the way to London, Ontario and it was the perfect break to a very long drive. The estate is magnificent and the warm welcome and abundant breakfast couldn't have been better. We will be back!


Ellwanger Estate Revier

5 su gennaio 01, 2010

The site is enchanting because of its rich history and the rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast is a feast with a variety of choices all made fresh that day. Especially nice is the large gathering room on the first floor with views of the surrounding gardens and trees. It is indeed an urban retreat.


Fall at Ellwanger Estate

4,8 su novembre 04, 2009

The stay my Girlfriend and I had at the Ellwanger was tremendous. The hospitality of Rosemary the innkeeper was quite gracious with her delicious breakfasts and meeting our request of taking us on a tour of the house. The traveler's rest room that we stayed in was excellent. Especially with it's green glass tiles in the bathroom and lovely shower. The downstairs is quite comfortable and I wish we would of had more time to spend enjoying those spacious living rooms and reading nooks. Being in the historic part of Rochester with all the mature trees was excellent with the fall foliage. Whether being indoors looking out from a reading nook or out on grounds of the estate it was relaxing. I would definitely recommend this to other family and friends desiring a nice stay in Rochester.


World class B&B -- a retreat within the city

4,8 su novembre 03, 2009

Gracious mansion within the city, nestled in a walled garden -- interesting archetecture, a variety of themed rooms. We were made to feel at home, pampered & well fed. the owner was delightfully warm, a terrific cook, and allowed us to use the entire mansion as a home away from home. The owner offers special rates on "friends" weekend, bridal weekends...


Amaxing hidden treasure

5 su novembre 03, 2009

This beautiful mansion is carefully and graciously maintained by innkeeper Rosemary. Spotless, welcoming, beautiful architecture, yummy home-made breakfast. Superb experience.


Quirky and friendly

4,8 su ottobre 20, 2009

The house is beautiful, spacious and has some really fun, quirky features. Breakfast was consistently delicious and Rosemary (the proprietor) was as friendly as can be. We will certainly be back.


Quirky Luxury

4,2 su ottobre 20, 2009

A wonderful stay in a beautifully redecorated inn near the U of R campus. Cool details like a pipe organ, formal gardens, and porch made the stay.


MUCH better than a bed of roses!

5 su settembre 15, 2009

This house is exquisite, but not formal. The bedrooms are lovely, the public rooms comfortable and beautiful, and the porch is divine, overlooking the historic garden. Rosemary is welcoming, and not hovering, and is a superb cook, judging by the breakfasts. One problem we often have with lodging, both B & Bs and hotels, is lighting, especially for reading. Rosemary has taken care of that, at least in the room we were in, and probably in all. Our stay could not have been more delightful.


Excellent stay

4,8 su agosto 31, 2009

We enjoyed our stay, it has been our second time. The house is beautiful and the inn keeper is very hospitable and has a wonderful breakfast.


Very Elegant

5 su agosto 19, 2009

Ellwanger Estate is an exceptionally nice bed and breakfast. My daughter and I found it to be exquisite. Rosemary, our host, was fabulous. She showed us just enough attention to make sure our stay was comfortable while at the same time allowing us our space to relax and enjoy this beautiful home. We felt as if it was our home away from home. Breakfast was a delight with a new menu each day. The gardens were a treat as well. It was nice to stay at a place with so much history behind it. The estate is minutes from down town Rochester, yet while there on the grounds we felt miles away. You would not have to twist our arms to get us to stay there again.


My best B&B experience!

5 su agosto 06, 2009

The Estate is so majestic and beautiful, yet still has such a plush and cozy energy! We enjoyed relaxing in the main sitting room, and then enjoyed a lovely twilight stroll through the garden along with a nice glass of wine. The Traveler's Rest was perfect for us. We loved the unique theme, decor and spaciousness, and slept so soundly. Breakfast exceeded our expectations and also took care of our special dietary needs. It was quite delicious. Rosemary was a delight , and went well beyond the extra mile throughout our stay. This was my best bed and breakfast experience to date by far! -Brenda Washington


Delightful and restful beyond our expectations

5 su luglio 25, 2009

A unique experience. Ellwanger combines spacious 19th century elegance with Rosemary’s 21st century hospitality. We were delighted to discover every room was decorated by a different interior designer; the Woodland Suite is imaginative and luxurious. The historical garden allowed us to experience the passion of a 19th century horticulturalist, and sitting there, it seemed we were far from the city. We have been to many B&Bs, and this is one we can heartily recommend.


Wonderful experience

5 su giugno 18, 2009

My friend and I stayed at the estate in June just at the height of the peonies blossoming in the beautiful garden. The rooms were wonderful, very clean and full of history and character. The bathrooms very up to date. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast that included freshly baked cheese scones and quiche. Great ambience and wonderful hospitality was given by Rosemary. I would highly recommend.


An excellent choice

5 su giugno 17, 2009

This home is simply stunning and the little details in the historical decor create an atmosphere of comfortable opulence. Rosemary's hospitality is exceptional, as is her full breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B.


Excellent accommodations at this historic home

5 su giugno 13, 2009

Rosemary went out of her way to accommodate my husband and myself in the middle of winter even though this inn is not ususally open in the winter time. We stayed in the Travelers room, which is decorated with objects from around the world. The bathroom connected to the Travelers room has a waterfall shower and green glass tile accents. We slept like a log in the comfortable bed and the homemade breakfast the next morning was wonderful. We will stay here again the next time we are in Rochester. Janet McClean


A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $185 - $225
  • Recensioni (50) 4,9
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5853141793

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina