New York Renaissance Home and Guesthouse Recensioni

Globalmente
4,2

Più info

  • Camera4,1
  • Servizi4,1
  • Valore4,3
  • Pulizia4,1
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
42 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful experience

5 su ottobre 15, 2013

I stayed only a single night, but felt right at home the moment I set foot into this lovely, historic home full of eclectic antiques. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. I loved the creak of the old wooden floors and stairways. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and breakfast was delicious. A different way to enjoy NYC in a historic neighborhood convenient to the subway.


A NYC Oasis

5 su aprile 04, 2013

This was our first trip to NYC and our daughter made reservations for us--sight unseen! I have to say, it was a beautiful place--clean, full of antiques, history and the food was fabulous. Felecia, the owner and host, is a wonderful woman, who makes you feel right at home. She is attentive to the needs of her guests, helpful and kind.She and her staff made us feel right at home!


For the price, it's just amazing!

5 su marzo 07, 2013

THIS is the way to stay in NYC! You feel like you've gone back in time, but in the nicest possible way. A reminder of how elegant Harlem once was and before long will be again. The owner and hostess, Felicia, has a graciousness that fits the ambiance perfectly. Loved the whole experience.


A Truly Wonderful Experience

4,6 su dicembre 24, 2012

We only spent 1 night, but we wished we had spent more. From the second we walked in the door, the staff was friendly and helpful. You really can't go wrong!


One of the best I've ever stayed in

5 su dicembre 04, 2012

The New York Renaissance Home and Guesthouse is one of the best in which I and my family have ever stayed ... anywhere.The genteel proprietress is restoring a beautiful 100+ year old house in Hamilton Heights, a house on the Historic Register. The wonderful woodwork, which had all been painted over, is being professionally stripped and varnished. The parquet floors have been largely restored. The art collection on the walls is worthy of this beautiful house. The breakfast is awesome! The service is unbeatable. We enjoyed our 2 week stay.


On the edge

4,4 su novembre 18, 2012

We have just had a week at this Guesthouse and must say it was lovely. On the edge of the Bronx, Harlem and Manhatten. 10 Mins on the subway to Times Square on the express train. we stayed in the Emory Suite and it is great for a family but not quite enough privacy for 2 couples as we were. the breakfasts were fabulous I particularly enjoyed the blueberry pancakes and my husband loved the omelettes. Lovely pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt and great coffee. I would have liked breakfast a little earlier than 9.00 am. The furnishings are exquisite and the linens and towels were of the highest quality, giving the feeling of real luxury. The only downside was the heating which was unreliable and the heating pipes were noisy, however this may have been because it was only just turned on after summer. I would certainly stay here again and we particularly enjoyed the company of Wellington the cutest dog you have ever seen.


The perfect place for a quiet and comfortable stay

4,4 su novembre 03, 2012

We spent a night at Felicia's Renaissance B&B and it exceeded our expectations. Located in a historical district, near a beautiful park, it has the best of both worlds: a quiet neighborhood while being only minutes away from hectic Times Square. Breakfasts are huge and delicious, the best we've ever had! Felicia is great, she attended to our every need, told us about places to visit and arranged airport transportation for us. The place is awesome. Beautifully decorated, clean and with everything you may need for an unforgettable stay. Highly recommended. Thank you, Felicia and staff. We enjoyed every minute. Personally, I'll always remember your beautiful Emory suite's zen patio, the perfect place for meditators! We'll be back soon! Cecilia, Victor and Ana

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you Victor, Ana and cecilia for your encouragement.We are truly humble by your comments and will continue to do the best we can for our clients.To our world travelers, Please always let us know I we can make your vacation enjoyable and memorable. Once again thank you for your business and we salute all our World travelers.


Worst Customer Service Ever

1,4 su settembre 20, 2012

In all my years of travel, I've never received such poor customer service. When we arrived, we were not welcomed by the owner Felicia. She didn't introduce herself, wish us a good stay or show us around. When I gave her my name, she seemed suspicious and demanded my husband and I give her our IDs and credit card so she could photocopy them. I was surprised at how upset she seemed with us, since we had done nothing to anger her. Our room was advertised as having a queen bed, but it was a full. We were exhausted and hoped to sleep in, but that didn't happen. Early morning, the phone rang repeatedly for several minutes until I was forced to answer it. It was Felicia, asking us if we were coming to breakfast. I told her we were tired and had hoped to sleep in, and she said "That's all I wanted to know," and hung up on us with no apology. Later that day my husband asked if she could please not call to wake us up the next day. She said it was our responsibility to inform her if we wouldn't be at breakfast. I said she never told us about this at check in and had we known, we would have definitely said something. She repeated it was our responsibility and refused to apologize. The next morning, we were woken by loud music outside our bedroom in the dining room. I got up and opened my door. Felicia was waiting outside and all the other guests were at the breakfast table. In front of them all, she yelled at me, "Female products? Those go in the white trash can - not in the toilet!" I was stunned and had to explain in front of everyone that I wasn't having my period. She said she didn't care and just wanted to tell me that and walked away. My husband and I wanted to have a word with Felicia before we left, but another employee informed us that she had left very quickly, suggesting that she didn't want to interact with us on our way out. We voiced our complaints with her and she was quite nice, but this was definitely the worst experience I've ever had at a hotel.

Risposta del proprietario
As an innkeeper,we try very hard to meet our clients concerns to the best of our ability. But it is also important to let us know by communicating at the time they are having a problem so we can correct it. As a professional psychotherapist, I can only say , you can't please everyone. Thank you to our world travelers who allow us to serve them and answer all their concerns.


Une très belle adresse

5 su agosto 24, 2012

Merveilleux séjour dans la Gold Room (chambre double alors que j'avais réservé la chambre simple). Chambre très bien équipée, petit déjeuner somptueux, personnel très gentil. Un excellent rapport qualité-prix.


Best B&B!

5 su agosto 22, 2012

This is a fantastic bed and breakfast. Lovely staff, we were in the Gold room which was bigger than we expected with a very comfortable bed. All facilities were clean and kept in good condition. The breakfast was incredible with homemade waffles, pancakes and fresh fruit. Only 10 minutes on subway to midtown Manhatten. We always felt safe in the area coming home late at night. Would definitely go back.


What a delightful experience!

5 su agosto 06, 2012

Felicia and her staff provided a wonderful and beautiful "home" for our stay in New York City. The upgrade to the Queen's Room was very much appreciated (be sure to call if you don't see what you want, since being the owner, Felicia can make things happen!) and I wasn't prepared for the fabulous bathroom that went with it. Your choice of a modern shower or claw foot tub with jet bubbles as you are surrounded by marble, statues and antique furniture. The breakfast options were numerous, delicious and beautifully presented by the adorable staff at 9am or you could serve yourself earlier if that suited your schedule. Also, the guests that come here are from all over the world so each morning is a unique cultural event. The home's location is great - easy access to two Metro lines and in a quiet neighborhood. Take Felicia's advise and go see the Hamilton Museum two blocks away - very interesting! I would definitely come back and since I was here to move my daughter to NYC, the possibility is quite good! Felicia does a great job of balancing being there for the guest without being intrusive - something that is not always accomplished at a bed and breakfast. My only regret is that it was just too hot to go out on the beautiful patio but maybe next time!


Wonderfull Stay

4,6 su luglio 19, 2012

Visited with my wife and daughters first week of July. We want to thank Felicia for the warm and great hospitality and her staff for the excellent breakfast. You can't judge a book by the cover but inside this guesthouse it was breathtaking to stay in those beautiful rooms. Thanks also for the service of finding tickets for a ballgame and airport-transportation. We would love to come again


Excellent service!

4,4 su luglio 10, 2012

Ms Stallworth was an excellent inn keeper. She was very kind and accomodating to us. We are from small town midwest and not accustomed to city driving and life. She made us feel at home and was very knowledgable about finding the subway and places to eat and sites to see. Thanks for making our honeymoon memorable!


wonderfull stay in Harlem

4,2 su giugno 11, 2012

We had a lovely stay. Breakfast was the best I ever had, and I have travelled a lot. Downtown takes about 25 minutes by subway, but it is worth it. Nice old house with wonderfull furnishing. Quiet at night, good neighbourhood.


Best Deal in NYC

4,8 su maggio 19, 2012

This quaint home in the historic Hamilton Heights area is an incredible deal, if you enjoy staying at a bed and breakfast. The breakfasts are beyond anything I would have expected. They had hot dishes like salmon and turkey bacon. I had scrambled eggs made to order eat day. They do everything they can to help you. I saw Felecia spending time helping guests find their way around the city. I was delighted that I made the choice to stay at the NY Renaissance Guesthouse.


Nice

4,6 su maggio 12, 2012

advantages: great room (piano room), shared bath-room (no problem and cleaned) quiet hotel, 5 min to subway and then 15 min to timesquare and not to forget... the wonderful breakfast (fruits, bagels, muffins, croissants, jogurth, eggs, waffles and and and) disadvantages: breakfast a little bit late (start at 9 am) personal don´t speaks english, by spanish very good not for mobility impaired people, because no elevator


Excellent Anniversary Trip

4,0 su maggio 04, 2012

We stayed for two nights. It started off rocky when we first arrived. We were unable to get in touch with the innkeeper to get inside the home for approximately 30minutes. But, after we were able to get inside and get to our room the rest of the stay was great! We stayed in the piano room, on the second floor. It was decorated very nicely. The bed was very comfortable and the size of the room was good. We appreciated the coffee maker and snacks in the room. We did have to share the bathroom and it was not a problem for us. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff that was cooking in the morning was so nice!! Felicia the innkeeper gave us a great explanation of the history of the home and surrounding area. If you enjoy a true New York adventure and would like to feel what it is like to live here then this is the place for you. The house is not perfect but, it is over 100 years old and I think that adds to its charm. The area is quiet and I did not feel scared walking back from the subway after dark. There are only a few things that we found a little annoying but not anything for us to complain about. We did not ask anyone to fix these problems because they were not that important to us, but if you need internet access the signal is so weak that you can't get access. The only other problem was the TV. It only got one channel or we could not figure out how to work the remote. These were minor problems that did not affect our overall stay. I have already recommended this bed and breakfast to coworkers and will definitely come back and stay here again!!! This made our first New York and 10 year anniversary trip perfect!!


Great price but disappointing service

3,0 su aprile 19, 2012

The hotel is very convenient in terms of location - about a 7 min walk from 1 line. The room was small but tasteful and in room coffee and snacks were a bonus. No wi fi though. The bathroom was clean but one bathroom for 5 rooms is tough in the morning. I wasn't greeted or given a tour and there was no breakfast offered to me. Kind of disappointing - the price is good though just for a room in the city.

Risposta del proprietario
Hmmmmmmmmm! Where were you hiding. Breakfast is offered every day at 9:00am. The guest arrived very late in his reservation and left before 6:00am in the morning. All our guest are given the breakfast times. Sorry you missed it! I will send you a gift certificate for a discount towards a future stay. Please let us know when you are coming so that we can spoil you like we do our other guest . If you have any questions please ask!


5 Star Stay

5 su aprile 03, 2012

We are a family of 4 who stayed in ground floor Emory Suite. Perfect for us. Large Queen room and twin bedded room. Bathroom with shower. Tea & Coffee making & snacks. Fridge. Lovely decked garden area with table and seating. Excellent breakfast. Free good quality Wi Fi. Local to subaway making NYC easy to reach. A bit daunting on first trip but soon found our way. Our first time in New York we were a little apprehensive but everything turned out perfect. Thank You to Felicia and Team. Very helpful and friendly. Would not hesitate to recommend.


Birthday weekend 2012

4,0 su marzo 12, 2012

Came from out of state first time visiting Harlem, When me and my guest arrived it was a little sore on the eyes from the outside we weren't sure if we got taken, but once we meet Mani & Marty all was forgiving. LOVED the easy access to shops, subway and clubs. We stayed in the blue room, one of the things that i would like to see is a bathroom on each floor. The vistor on the second and third floor have to share the one bathroom located on the third floor. Breakfast is served from 9 -10 so you basically need to get up at 7 to ensure you make it eat, also check out time is 10 right after breakfast which i find a little rushed. Guest from the New England area

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review!


Great place, great room, great food, great great great!

4,4 su gennaio 26, 2012

Last week i traveled to NYC for the first time since 1981 and spent 2 days for work and weekend for pleasure. I wanted a great place with a NYC feel not too far from Columbia and found this great B&B. The pictures looked good and so i booked it but you never know until you get there...well get there i did and we had a GREAT time which was made all the better by great accomodations, great staff, support, and good food of course! Free wifi, nice TV and deluxe bedding. Nice layout, great antiques - it was all that i would hoped it would be and more. Special nod to staff for kindness - great conversations and would definitely stay there again. I felt very safe at this location as well and as bonus was very near Alexandar Hamilton Grange house which is a must see. Looking forward to return trip!


we'll be back!

4,4 su gennaio 05, 2012

Thanks to Felicia (and her assistant Mary) this bed & breakfast is like going back home for Christmas. The breakfast was amazing and the attentiveness of both Felicia and Mary was outstanding, my husband and I enjoyed every moment of our stay. We had the Golden room and we loved it. Also, it is very well connected to downtown by the express and normal subway, and the neighborhood is safe. We'll be back soon!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. Xmas i my favorite time of year,so we go all out to make that season feel like your vacation is "coming home" It is a big time of the year when families viit our guesthouse with their children,so we like to make the house Xmas wonderland


Great B&B deal in NYC!

4,2 su ottobre 25, 2011

This is a great value in NY and I highly recommend it. I particularly enjoyed the lovely and historic framed artwork and furnishings in the rooms and throughout the entire Bed and Breakfast. Everything was fine--including the shared bathroom. I researched online and asked my New Yorker friends and this is really the best deal for this price.


heaven in harlem

4,6 su ottobre 13, 2011

we went to the renaissance home last april. it was perfect. we got there very early in the morning, we wanted to leave ou luggage there, but they told us the room was free so we got our room at 10am. the lady said there was still breakfast so we grabbed a few things and stated our day. every morning we had an amazing breakfast and i had the best french toast ever! the room was beyonf any expectations. we had the golden room and it was splendid. it was so tastefullu decorated and the bed was very cumfy. when it was time to leave, we were not rushed and we left our luggage there until late at night cause our bus was leaving at midnight. we had the most amazing service during 3 days. and now everytime we go to new york, we will stay there.


Stay in Septrmber 2011

3,4 su ottobre 05, 2011

Had a pleasant stay for a couple of humid days in September. Staff were friendly and hospitable. Good breakfasts.


Nice place

3,0 su agosto 19, 2011

Everyone was very pleasant. Two bathrooms 1 full which you share the shower etc, the other just a toilet and sink in the dinning area. Would be better with a complete breakfast and people who speak english so they understand things that are going on. College neighborhood. Kitchen needs ice and room in the refridgerator for guests to store drinks and shacks that are not provided. Nice place to stay and not expensive at all.


Nice place to stay, priced accordingly

4,4 su agosto 17, 2011

The NY Renaissance Guesthouse is a nice gem tucked away in the Hamilton Heights area of Manhattan. Note: This is a 4 story tenement. All rooms are on the 2nd floor or higher, with NO elevator. If you have difficultly going up/down narrow wooden stairs, with luggage, I would highly advise you to find another B&B. It can be challenging, to say the least! I stayed here for two nights, in both the Blue and Gold Rooms. Both rooms are magnificently furnished with ceramics/wooden furniture...you will not be disappointed. I particularly enjoyed the Blue room, because it was previously a study/library, and there's a good collection of literature at the ready. Makes for a nice evening of reading, before bedtime. The complex has complementary wireless access, and although at times the signal is a bit spotty it does the job. The reason I rated the value as "average" is that the Breakfast starts at 9 AM each morning. As a somewhat early riser, I wanted to get going on exploring NYC, and was hoping to get a jump on the other tourists who might still be lounging around. If you stick around for the breakfast (delicious as it is), you probably won't be getting out the door until at least 10 AM. I would really love to see them move the breakfast up by 1 hour...of course this would be the bane of all everyone who stayed out really late the night before and were sleeping in. :-) One last thing: many guests are concerned with the surrounding neighborhood, especially at night. This B&B is located on a residential street, and most of the neighbors are Dominican, thus it's in a Spanish-speaking neighborhood. There were several nights I walked back to the B&B from the #1 line, 137th Street station (the closest to the hotel, on Broadway) around 10 or 11 PM. I did not encounter any issues, nobody hassled me or even spoke to me. For those of you concerned with safety, I would recommend a cab, as the closest MTA bus drops you on Amsterdam, which is still 2 long blocks away.


2 days in NY Renaissance Home and Guesthouse

3,2 su agosto 12, 2011

Me and my significant other spent 2 nights there. It started not very good, we arrived at 11 PM and innkeeper told us that we have to pay extra $50 for the late arrival. I understand, but there was no information about such fee when we booked the room. She said that they were trying to call us, but I had no missed calls on my cell. The room was fine, air conditioner, TV, big bed, but the bathroom and specifically shower definitely needs attention, it was just falling apart and was "fixed" with a black tape. The breakfast was great, and on Sunday we got a $5 per person coupon to get breakfast in Cafe One nearby. That cafe was really great, it was one of the best parts of the whole trip. The food was good and people there were really friendly. I definitely recommend visiting that place. Nobody warned us about 10 AM checkout time, so we had to hurry up. Overall, I'm satisfied with this place and you can stay there for a couple of nights during your visit to NY.


Great food!

4,6 su luglio 19, 2011

Everything was wonderful, except the shared bathroom. Excellent for a start up small b and b.


A great place to stay in a super friendly neighborhood.

4,2 su luglio 06, 2011

I loved my stay here, more character than any hotel by far. Room and bed were fabulous and staff great. The only caveat is that I did not feel safe walking back to the house alone at night from the 145th subway stop, so I took a taxi from downtown (which cut into the value a bit). On the other hand, I was welcomed by locals at a nearby cafe in the morning and met some great people.


A Hidden New York Treasure

4,4 su giugno 23, 2011

The one downside was walking up four flights fo stairs, but it was worth it. Interesting neighborhood, most accessible to subway, truly elegant historic home, great breakfast. Best bargain I've ever found in NYC. Otgher rooms are larger, on lower floors, more expensive.


Nice room but not enough staff

3,8 su giugno 07, 2011

We left on Saturday at 9:30am, no one served breakfast by that time or be at the front desk to help with the check out. Rooms are nice and clean.


To Bed and Breakfast or Not: Yes Indeed

4,0 su maggio 31, 2011

I was very pleased with my stay at this B&B; at first the location seemed so far out of the way but in reality you are less than 10 minutes from the 1,2, 3 or A, B, C, D subways; and the A and D express get you to Times Square in about 15 minutes; and they run after midnight which is a plus for me. The neighborhood is very nice, old brownstones, churches, etc; it is one block from the only home of Alexander Hamilton which is being restored. And it lived up to its name: breakfast which were always excellent. I don't usually take the time for breakfast but I did every day here plus I met such interesting people from all over the world who were staying here. And the room was comfortable, the shared bath was never a problem, but for people with leg problems you do have three flights of steps to the rooms. The owner and her assistant were also very helpful and saved me lots of problems with getting about. Highly recommended; and of course the price is right.


I have a lot to say...

2,4 su maggio 28, 2011

1. The shared bathroom curtain was broken (fixed in a few hours) so everyone had to wait. 2. There is a $10 non-refundable charge for the soap and such in the room (I didn't know that in advance) 3. The ceiling light was the only light working in the room. The guest electric outlet was broken. 4. The computer wireless signal is too weak to be useful. 5. TV is new and big, but I could not get it to work, and there are no instructions. 6. There is a plastic sheet under regular sheet, it’s uncomfortable and noisy. 7. The mat on floor is slippery; it's dangerous when getting out of the high beds. You can slip and injure yourself really bad if not super careful. 8. Staff is friendly, but not helpful. They're busy or on the phone so much that it's hard to get a hold of someone when calling the front desk. I called more than 10 times (for shower curtain, using TV, for desk lamp, for electric outlet, wireless...) and got answered only once. 9. Our room is on the 4th floor (top floor) and there is no elevator. It’s hard to carry heavy luggage all the way up thru the narrow walkway and stairway. 10. The room is decorated with lots of antiques, in some case I am not sure it's old or dirty. But make sure to watch out those fragile items if you have young kids. 11. From subway station (B and C) to the hotel, the walk includes a 10-minute uphill battle. Of course, go downhill is easier. 12. It’s in a neighborhood that I don't feel that comfortable to go out at night. 13. There was loud party music from outside after midnight. I turned up the A/C helped to block it. 14. The breakfast is nice, but it starts from 9:00 AM. 15. There is a sign in the room saying "Please Tip. All tips are deeply appreciated. This helps us service you better. Thank you." 16. The price for my room is the cheapest that I can find in New York on that day. I probably shouldn't complain too much.

Risposta del proprietario
The guest stayed at our Guesthouse 2 days. He never verbalized any complaints,socialized with our guest and ate our breakfast. We encourage our guest to inform us of any concerns that they may have so that we have the opportunity to correct it. We also happily would refund any monies to any guest who is unreasonably dissatified so that he can seek accomodations elsewhere.


If you like it different...

4,8 su maggio 23, 2011

This is one of the most special places I´ve ever been! The New Renaissance Guest House is so beautiful and the staff is very very friendly and cares about whatever you need. The rooms are unique, kind of victorian mixed with asian style, decorated in a fond and handsome way. I loved to stay there and will tell all my friends about it. If you find "normal" type of Hotels quiet boring: This is the right place to live different! I highly recommend it!


A charming and excellent value for money location for your stay in NYC

4,0 su aprile 16, 2011

We stayed in the Emory Suite, the private 3-bed (1 double, 2 twin) room on the ground floor of this charming architectural gem, situated in the quiet Hamilton Heights district of New York. For our first stay in the city, the New York Renaissance Home was the perfect accompaniment, providing comfort and facilities that would put many a hotel to shame. The daily breakfasts were the perfect start to the day and were also a nice opportunity to chat to some of the other guests staying in the house. The location is very close to 135th and 145th Subway Stations which provide a regular and direct service downtown into central Manhattan/Brooklyn or uptown into the Bronx. We would have no hesitation in staying here again should we make a return trip to NYC in the future. Thank you for making our first visit so enjoyable. Chris, Andy & Shane - London, England


Very good Guest House!

4,2 su aprile 14, 2011

A charming place with an original decoration. Breakfasts were diversified and tasty. The innkeeper is also really kind and helpful.


Fantastic Value.

4,4 su aprile 13, 2011

Situated in a quiet suburb of Harlem this Guesthouse is rated as 4 star and it lives up to its reputation. You are made very welcome from the moment you arrive by Felicia and her family. The rooms are very clean and full of character. A welcome pack awaits you in your room with snackes and water, maps of the subway and bus routes, which are very helpful and a free internet conection which also proves very usful to those who are unfamiliar with the city tourist atractions. Each room has a 42" HD TV, tea and coffee making facilities. Each morning a breakfast menu is put under your door listing the variaty of food available. The menu consists of muffins, coissants, yogarts, bagals, quiche, bacon, eggs made to order, fresh fruit, pancakes, waffles, french toast and cereals, wth coffee tea and a selection of fruit juices. Breakfast is served between 845 and 930. The family are polite and helpful at every oppertunity. This hotel is fantastic alternative to the city centre hotels and at a fraction of the price making it fantastic value for money. The Guesthouse is situated just north of Cental Park and subways are within close proximity, just within minutes of the city attractions. I would definately recommend this guesthouse and should I ever return to New York I wouldnt hesitate in booking my stay here again. There are only 4 rooms available in the guesthouse and its a shared bathroom but this did not prove to be a problem.


lovely bed and breakfast

4,4 su aprile 12, 2011

I stayed here for 2 days and the place is very nice, with a lot of homely touches. The area is also very nice and safe. The shared bathroom was clean. The room is very comfortable. The breakfast was great, and the innkeeper is a nice lady. The cook was also very sweet and helpful. The nearest subway, however, was a bit far for my taste. But all in all, my stay was very good. I recommend staying at this place.


Nice room, excellent service

4,6 su marzo 29, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in the New York Renaissance Guesthouse and it was a truly nice experience for us. It is close to the city, but it is a quiet enough, so you can have a pleasant sleep after a New York night out. :) We got an upgraded suit which was very large and comfortable with a big bed, a couch and a sofa in the room and a couch in the hall. We also had our own bathroom. The best part was the breakfast; every morning we got a different menu with delicious food choices. I am not a morning person and I usually don't have breakfast, but here it was impossible not to eat. Also the service is very nice (the lady of the house helped us with questions of the city and also with any additional requests like printing, baggage storing for our last day in NYC, etc..) and i think for this price it it a very good deal! I can only recommend this place to anyone.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your business!


Trade-offs

2,6 su gennaio 18, 2011

Stayed here for the new year. The room we had was at the top of the building; this meant a lot of stairs. Surprisingly for it being the top room, there was virtually no heat in the room at all for 2 of the 3 days. The door to the room did not function properly either- had to lock it just to keep it closed. There was no room keeping to speak of during our visit and the plastic on the mattress made for loud sleeping accommodations. The show takes a while to warm up due to it being an old house. On the good side, the breakfast was good and offered a decent amount of tasty selections. The artwork in the house is also "interesting", but in a good way. There is a decent sense of security in that the housekeeper has to let you in the building by buzzer. Overall, it was an "ok" stay. If you simply looking to lay your head and get a quick bite, this place should do you fine. If you want a little accommodation, this might be a little more Dark Ages than Renaissance.

Risposta del proprietario
Our Historical BNB attracts world travelers that have a knowledge, taste,and an appreciation for art and history.Our Art selections is from the 16th and 17th century and is showcased throughout the home and in each room. You must have a love for the past to enjoy our ambience and style. We do not advertise that we are a 21th century hotel. The repairs were made to door the first day after the holiday and the guest was informed that since it was the new year weekend, it would not be fixed till then.it was recommended that he keep his door locked.The heating system in our BNB is in excellent condition.


2nites stay in the New York Renaissance Home

4,2 su gennaio 06, 2011

We love the decoration of this place. The landlord was so kinda and she has good taste of Art. When you stay there, you would feel like its like home not somewhere cold hotel. The breakfast was the best one I ever had in my whole trip this time. The location of this place is little bit far from downtown NY. But the subway there really convinent. The only problem was the room we stay was too small. There was one single bed in side, and you dont have much room to put your stuff. And we booked three nites, but then we realised that we might couldnt not show up the first nite. We called the landlord ten days before we arrived there, but we couldnt get any money back for the first nite reservation. Maybe this problem is not only appear here but the whole system is like that. Generally speaking, its a nice place and nice people there. If one day I will back to New York again, I will choose this place again.

Risposta del proprietario
The Guest who booked the room was informed that it was for single occupancy only. Thank you for your comments.


New York Renaissance Home and Guesthouse

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $70 - $230
  • Recensioni (42) 4,2
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2124703696
Inizio pagina