The Twilight Lodge Recensioni

Globalmente
4,0

Più info

  • Camera3,7
  • Servizi4,3
  • Valore4,0
  • Pulizia3,9
  • Cibo4,0

Valore della struttura
23 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Catskills getaway.

4,4 su settembre 08, 2013

Twilight lodge was undoubtably the most surprising bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at. At first glance it looks average. My wife and I got there late and check in was when ever we got there so that was nice. But when we saw out room we were taken back a little. Not quite what it looks like on the photos. But still comfortable and great value for your money. The next morning changed everything. The owner who is an old Hungarian woman greeted us for breakfast and we began to talk. She and her late husband had dreamed of living there and building their own little be and breakfast. The food was great and the service was like being at grandmas house for breakfast. Just wonderful. After breakfast my wife and I took a ride to the neighboring towns ( including Woodstock) and it was beautiful and every thing was so close to us. We were the central hub and everything was equidistant. Such a phenomenal place to stay. A must if you're passing through or planning on a weekend adventure.


Decent place

3,2 su giugno 25, 2013

I stayed in the cheapest room, without a private bath, which was a great value for the area. However, it doesn't have an air conditioner and on a warmish summer night, was really stuffy, so I asked to be moved to a slightly larger room with an air conditioner and the staff agreed. The rooms are clean and some are definitely pretty tiny, you can tell from the pictures. The bathroom was decent, very basic and has not been upgraded at all. There are some lovely touches - the bed linens are very nice and there was a nice basket of towels and toiletries on the bed - but there are also some things that haven't been, like bad paint jobs, old carpet, etc. It seems like breakfast depends on the mood of whomever is cooking that day, while some reviews talk about hot items, I received only cold - a very nice selection of fresh fruit, with nutella and a yogurt dip, plus breads and cereals. You might want to ask about hot items the night before if you really want them. The one young male staff member I interacted with was very pleasant and accommodating, although he didn't know the wifi instructions/password and it took some time for him to figure it all out for me. I don't know that I would pay the higher prices for the bigger rooms without at the very least a better breakfast.


Bad Night's Sleep and Overpriced

1,4 su maggio 31, 2013

We stayed at the Twilight Bed and Breakfast on 5/24/13 and were VERY disappointed. For $110 per night, it should have been way better. 1. GPS can't find it. Google maps, mapquest, and even some of the websites out there (like B&B.com) show the wrong place. We called and the person on the phone gave us bad directions, too. 2. Check-in was awful. We arrived just before 9:00 (we had been told someone would be there until 9:00 and we had even called 10 minutes prior to arriving to ensure someone would be there). There is a sign on the window that asks customers to hike down (in the dark) to the house behind the lodge. Once we got down there, the employee acted like we shouldn’t have come down. Weird. 3. The room was tiny! We stayed in the corner room. It had a queen-sized bed and there was hardly room to walk around the bed and truly not even room to put two carry-on sized suitcases on the floor. 4. SO NOISY! Yes, it’s a beautiful old building, but the windows are leaky and so thin that you can hear every car that speeds past on the highway right outside the lodge. Also, the walls indoors are so thin that you can hear every guest’s conversations (and TVs and snoring) through the walls. The floors bounce: the whole area shakes when people walk past in the hallway outside the rooms. 5. Ordinary breakfast. For the price and the crummy accommodations, we were at least hoping for a decent breakfast. Not so much: cold fruit, cold cereal, and cold pastries were the only foods offered (this on a Saturday morning) with coffee and juice. I had to call down to ask someone to bring us up hot water for the teabags they had sitting out.


Olde world charm in a glorious setting

4,6 su dicembre 16, 2012

We stayed the weekend of Sept 7 - 9, 2012. I needed a place where I could comfortably put a national performer & her husband during the weekend of sound checks & rehearsals &&& before her performance that Sunday at Bearsville Theater in Woodstock, NY. The Grateful Dead's Bob Weir's show meant we were rehearsing that Friday night til 1 am! Yet, Barbara & Greg were up to welcome us and help us settle in when we trundled in at 2am. Breakfast the next morning was hot, huge, yummy, and served in their beautiful dining room where we met other travelers & shared stories with folks equally happy to be there. A huge storm was coming to the mountain, yet we were cozy, feeling like we were in Europe, with working wifi, views to humble one, and a staff that made sure we had everything possible. The antiques shop you can get lost in for hours. The hostess Barbara & her daughter Barbara are worth the trip to the Catskills! Such graciousness! What a nice change from chain hotel numbed-out this is what you get I-just-work-here attitudes.Tannersville, trails, stunning waterfalls, Hunter Mountain, State Parks & campgrounds, are right there; Woodstock, Saugerties, & even Kingston are just down the mountain. If I skied, I'd stay here. If I were planning a wedding or anniversary - the banquet hall would add the olde world character to make a memorable event, the place could be packed with loved ones, others can stay close by, & you get a trip to Europe, just by driving up a mountain in the Catskills! Highly recommended! Kim B


Highly recommended to anyone!

4,2 su ottobre 15, 2012

We spent the weekend with my wife in this cosy twilight motel. It was a good experience! Clean, very nice staff, and the new WiFi system is very fast and accessible from anywhere in the motel! They have a new hair dryer in all bathrooms! Room has a flat screen TV! As a plus was that the rooms are equipped with a clock radio, charger is compatible with iPhone's! Highly recommend to everyone! We are spent a very nice weekend here! The breakfast was very tasty and hearty, you should try the pancakes, delicious! Special thanks to the two very nice and friendly staff, Mark & Gergo!


Beautiful B&B, Great Surroundings, Great Service

4,4 su ottobre 02, 2012

We stayed for two nights over labor day weekend. Barbara answered the phone right away when I called to make the reservation and was very accommodating.. She even upgraded us to better room. The room and common areas were very nicely decorated. The B&B is in a great location, very close to Kaaterskill Falls and Tannersville and many other hikes and cute towns. Barbara and her mom were very warm and welcoming and gave us a tour of the house and surrounding land. The breakfast was very yummy and definitely exceeded our expectations. There was a choice of an omelettes or waffels, with fresh fruit, fresh bread and yogurt provided as well. I would highly recommend staying here. An overall wonderful experience.


Excellent Location, Great Service

4,6 su ottobre 01, 2012

We received a free upgrade, which was nice. Geat service, very friendly hosts. Excellent location- closest inn to the Kaaterskills Falls and a short drive to Woodstock and Saugherties. We will return for ski season as it's only five minutes to Hunter Mountain.


Very misleading

1,4 su agosto 31, 2012

We booked a stay at The Twilight Lodge recently for a romantic getaway in the Catskill mountains for some leisure and hiking. Their Facebook page and images inspired confidence in our choice. However, we should have known that it could have been too good to be true. The lack of detail or website should have been a clue that the images showed were misleading. This place is not at all as advertized. It is like staying in a poorly managed dorm room without any charm. We have stayed at many B&B is varying price ranges and I truly believe we over paid for the one night. We had booked the weekend, but decided to leave early. There was no warmth or charm or anything you expect from a B&B. In the images the look nicely painted and decorated. However, what you don't see is the drop ceiling and fluorescent light panels and aged carpeting. The whole place smelled of mold and damp sheets. I would not recommend this place to anyone at this price point. As a quick stop over on your way elsewhere for half the price may be more like it.


One night in th wildness

3,4 su agosto 17, 2012

We arrived late around 7.00pm. Greg the innkeeper met us . A very efficient young man. He noticed we had a flat tire and we panicked as we are not USA citizens and very much lost.he immediately helped us with the knowledge of a Walmart in around 20 minutes away that was open late. Half hour later a new tire picked up and we were really relieved. Our room was comfortable. And breakfast next morning was yummy. Greg was a very friendly guy and very mature for his age and could really get the place up and going.


Truly Horrific

1,2 su agosto 07, 2012

Musty hall; rooms full of spiders; bathroom fan choked with dust. WiFi and hair dryer are advertised but not provided. Breakfast was late, was not what we ordered, was spartan by B&B standards, and our party of 4 was not served together but across a span of 30 minutes. Kitchen in 'suite' had no stove or coffeemaker. Innkeeper did not answer or return calls.


Fantastic Stay!

5 su luglio 07, 2012

Where do we begin? What an amazing stay, with such a spectacular host. Barbara greeted us and showed us such hospitality. We stayed for 1 night in this quaint town, close to water parks, hiking, and much more. We woke up to delicious waffles and omelets, orange juice, coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt. You name it! On the first floor of our lodging there is an antique store with such worldly finds. The stay at Twilight Lodge over exceeded our expectations and we just fell in love with the town to the point where we are even planning our wedding there in the Fall. Definitely worth a visit.


Charming

3,8 su luglio 03, 2012

Very nice place. If i headed back to hunter mountain i will think on staying here again. nice people. nice rooms.


relaxed stay in Haines Falls

3,6 su luglio 01, 2012

Georg, the attendant of the Twilight Lodge, took good care of us and provided us with the best breakfast we had on our trip in the States


great place to stay

5 su giugno 14, 2012

We stayed in this motel for 4 nights total and had a great time. Thank you Barbara for giving us an outstanding service. A special thank you for Gerry for his generous service and the great breakfast. Uri from Israel


Love This Place

4,6 su agosto 05, 2011

We made a last minute reservation and received fantastic service! Meg & Sean are not the only reason to come and stay at the Twilight Lodge-but they are a great addition to this lovely place. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfast is delicious, the location is great, and all that made for a perfect little getaway! So highly recommended!!!


A really nice weekend.

4,4 su novembre 22, 2010

Recently stayed there for three nights and had an great time. Meg and Sean are not only excellent cooks, they're also very friendly and extremely helpful. Sean drew us a map of the area and highlighted points of interest and restaurants in each of the neighboring towns. We went to dinner at a different place they pointed out each night and were never steered wrong. We were sad to have to head back to the city but are already looking forward to planning a return trip.


So Darn Awesome

5 su giugno 14, 2010

This place was a wonderful place to stay. The building is old, but the inkeepers are slowly updating it, and it's looking great. The rooms were all spotless, I would have eaten off the bathroom floor! The decor was so cool and cozy. The inkeepers even let me bother them at 11pm when I accidentally locked myself out of my room. The breakfast they made was spectacular, and they gave me tips on pretty much everything I asked about. I'm already planning my next trip there in September!


such a great getaway

4,6 su maggio 18, 2010

I visited Twilight Lodge from NYC. Its an easy drive up and well worth the trip. The Lodge is conveniently located just off the main road and the property opens up to an amazing green space where you can sit and listen to the sounds of the nearby waterfalls. Breakfast consisted of a tasty veggie frittata and granola made that morning by one of the innkeepers. The innkeepers are young, hip and friendly and the entire atmosphere is welcoming and warm. I will definitely be back!


Great Place!

5 su marzo 28, 2010

I recently spent a weekend here and had a wonderful time! Looked forward to coming back here after each day after skiing. Nice old house, cute rooms, great big rec room with ping-pong. And the inkeepers Meg and Sean are WONDERFUL! Very warm and fun -- Sean is quite the ping-pong player. Good fun! Great breakfast too. Overall, I am definitely coming back!!


Definitely Returning

5 su marzo 28, 2010

I had the pleasure of spending a weekend at the Twilight Lodge on Valentines Day. From the moment I arrived, the innkeepers, Meg and Sean, were warm and inviting. They showed us to our immaculate (and wonderfully decorated) rooms, offered some suggestions on attractions in the area and answered all our questions on the places long and hungarian history. They also pointed us in the direction of the 100ft waterfall that is located right in their backyard adjacent to the Twlight Park. I had a wonderful stay, enjoyed a delicious breakfast cooked by meg herself and cannot wait to return. Meg and Sean transcend the role of innkeepers and are more like two friends you've spent your weekend with. If you have the opportunity, do not pass up the chance to spend the night at the Twilight Lodge; it is warm welcoming, and has the rustic flair that makes upstate NY so inviting.


INKEEPERS OF THE YEAR!

3,6 su febbraio 21, 2010

Your two young hosts, Megan and Sean, will charm you from their first greeting and welcome till the last day of your stay. The breakfast is sumptuous, and prepared to a T. It's an old house, but Megan and Sean have made it warm and cozy and they make your stay warmly memorable.


Planning my next stay

4,2 su febbraio 21, 2010

I had a great stay at the Twilight lodge this weekend and Im trying to open my schedule up so I will stay again. The lodge is wonderful with very clean and up kept rooms, a nice reck room and a comfortable dinning room. The lodge is located in such a beatuiful area, within a four mintue walk you will have a beautiful view of a frozen waterfall. The innkeeps Meg and Sean were extremely nice and knew the area and helped me to find fun things to do other then skiing on the mountain.


Amazing time and service!

5 su febbraio 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I just spent an amazing weekend at the twilight lodge! The rooms were so cute and the innkeepers were so nice! They were so accomadating but also just awesome people to talk to. The mountain is so close and the rooms are totally affordable. The rec room had ping pong, my favoriet, as well as an amazing organ. It was the perfect stay, and I've already booked next time!


The Twilight Lodge

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $75 - $189
  • Recensioni (23) 4,0
  • Camere 7

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5185893910
  • Telefono 1-9178174721

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina