Elmira's Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
117 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Vineyard Suite Review

3,8 su gennaio 01, 2014

The owners Butch & Marilyn provided wonderful added value by telling us about Elmira's history. They also gave us great dinning and sight seeing suggestions.


Elmira's Painted Lady is a treasure!

5 su settembre 24, 2013

Butch & Marilyn are wonderful hosts! The inn is beautiful and kept very clean ! Marilyn provided a wonderful breakfast, keeping in mind my gluten free restrictions which I so appreciated. Lovely visit!


delightful experience.

5 su settembre 23, 2013

my stay was only 1 night and I would have liked to stay longer. I will in the future do just that. the room was just delightful. it was warm and inviting. I was treated to a wonderful breakfast that was delicious and met my dietary needs. I was sorry to have to leave but will be delighted to return.


Beautiful home and fantastic breakfast!

4,6 su settembre 18, 2013

We stayed in the Clemens Room and it was absolutely beautiful! The bed and breakfast is within a half an hour to a dozen wineries. The breakfast was delicious and filling! Would definitely recommend this for your trip to the Finger Lakes!


great BB but not a great location

4,6 su settembre 18, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend trip. The place was immaculate and very comfortable. Really enjoyed the room and the charming home. Our hosts were incredibly gracious and hospitality. Breakfast was wonderful and served in the beautiful dining room on fine china. Only negative is Elmira is not a great town and is a jaunt from wine country(40 minutes or so). Would stay again however because service made up for the lack of location. Recommend for couples getaway m


great hosts, great room, great breakfast

3,8 su settembre 16, 2013

we had a wonderful stay. The hosts were welcoming and helpful, providing us with many options of things to do & see in the area. The house and rooms are beautiful.


Quintessential Victorian B&B

4,8 su settembre 09, 2013

It's hard not to fall in love with this amazing Bed and Breakfast - and it's obviously a labor of love for the owners as well, with an amazing attention to detail in both the décor and service. The town of Elmira (famed as the birthplace of Mark Twain, as well as Tommy Hilfiger) has probably seen better days, but this is a great place to stay if you're in the area. Pictures really don't do this place justice - you need to slowly wander around to be able to appreciate everything. Everywhere you look there something else to admire: paintings, statues, dolls, architectural details, and more. The B&B is as authentic as possible while still being comfortable - the only things that looked out of place were modern comforts - an A/C, flat panel TV, and jetted whirlpool tub. The highlight of our stay was breakfast, which was simply over the top amazing. It was prepared fresh by our host, Shane (from what I can tell not the regular host but he was definitely friendly and helpful and an awesome chef). Our meal started with elegant tea service (in fine china) as well as orange juice (in crystal glasses), as well as two types of home made bread (both of which were really good and still warm). This was already more food that I've gotten with many hotel breakfasts but was just the beginning here. The first course was a yogurt, granola, and fruit parfait with fresh blackberries and raspberries. The second course was a gigantic vegetable omelet (too big to finish), with sides of hash browns and bacon (really good, thick cut and smoked bacon). For dessert Shane brought out blueberry and peach cobbler. Put simply it was one of the best (and by far the largest) breakfast I've ever had anywhere. Although we came in the usually busy summer season, we were the only guests on the Sunday night we stayed - it's a shame to think that such an amazing place might go empty on some nights. Highly recommended.


recommend

4,4 su agosto 21, 2013

Outstanding B&B highly recommend, terrific innkeeper, will stay there again.


A Lovely Experience

4,4 su agosto 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our stay at the Painted Lady Bed & Breakfast. The house is beautiful and the rooms were large and comfortable. The food was delicious; although, I would have liked a higher protein option (I.e, eggs, breakfast meats) instead of the French toast that was served. The owners helped a lot with suggestions of restaurants, sights, etc. We had a very good experience and would return, if travel takes us back to the area.


Elmira's Painted Lady

4,8 su agosto 11, 2013

Very comfortable bed, awesome personal greetings and service. Like a home away from home.


Elmira's Painted Lady

5 su agosto 04, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted by host, Butch. He gave us a quick review of Elmira and helped us to our room. The breakfast started with juice, French toast and ended with key lime pie. A very memorable stay We will return


Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast

5 su luglio 26, 2013

This was the best Bed and Breakfast we stayed in on this vacation. Room was great and so were the hosts.


Beautiful home and wonderful service

5 su luglio 24, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Painted Lady. It is a gorgeous house with plenty of space both in the room and the common areas, including a billiards room. I was staying one night on business, but sincerely wished I could have stayed longer and enjoyed the amenities and the surrounding area. The neighborhood is very nice as well with other attractive Victorian homes.


Charming

4,2 su luglio 15, 2013

Quaint place, historic home in mint condition. Friendly owners.


Painted Lady is a Gem

5 su luglio 06, 2013

Beautiful B&B, with warm and gracious hosts, Butch and Marilyn Monroe. We really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend this place to anyone looking to spend a day in Watkins Glen State Park and the Seneca Lake wineries. It is only 45 minutes away from there.


Highly Recommended B&B!

5 su luglio 01, 2013

Butch and Marilyn were excellent hosts and made us feel right at home. They were very helpful in recommending an excellent restaurant for dinner and activities for the evening. We lucked out as there happened to be fireworks just down the street that evening to celebrate the 4th. The room was very spacious & spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was so amazing, you would think you were eating at 5 star restaurant! I would highly recommend this place to anybody traveling in the Finger Lakes region, and we will definitely be going back again!


5 Star Treasure

5 su giugno 03, 2013

The B & B is beautiful and the owners went above and beyond to meet my travel needs. The energy is elegant yet you feel the comforts of home. A treasure in Elmira.


Beautiful weekend gift

5 su maggio 15, 2013

Butch and Marilyn were two of the most charming hosts I have ever had the pleasure to meet. Tbey were attentive to every detail and breakfast each morning was incredible. We were gifted this weekend in their home near the Finger Lakes and couldn't have asked for anything more than they offered.


Love This House

4,8 su maggio 04, 2013

Shane made my husband and I a wonderful breakfast. This home is a wonderful home from an era long past. This is a must for people whom love old Victorians/painted lady homes they are sadly disappearing. Pam Werner Akron,Ohio


Elmiras Painted Lady

4,8 su aprile 24, 2013

A carefully restored victorian home. Comfortable common rooms. Very genial host ready to talk about the home and the history of the region. Everything you need in your room. Shower head could be better. The quality and extent of breakfast was unexpected and wonderful!


Just Perfect

5 su aprile 17, 2013

I can not think of one thing to warn or complain about. The room and it's furnishings were absolutey beautiful, spacious, spotless. The owners were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast delicious and abundant. The only thing, literally, that came to mind while I was there was that I'd wished there were a couple of glasses made of glass in the room instead of plastic glasses, something so insignificant, that I would never let it effect a perfect rating for this B&B. Deborah


Relaxing getaway.

4,6 su aprile 16, 2013

Bucth and Marilyn, We had a really good time talking to both of you. You both did a great job on the house. We told our friends.


A wothwhile stop.

4,2 su aprile 15, 2013

We compared prices with the local chain hotels, and this was only a little more expensive for one night during off season, and within walking distance of our destination. So we took a chance. Everything was very nice. Clean, friendly, easy to do business with. Breakfast was good.... I tend to be a silent coffee with bagel and newspaper breakfaster, but I enjoyed the chit chat and out of the ordinary pretty good breakfast.


Review of the Painted Lady, Elmira NY

4,8 su marzo 20, 2013

First time in a B&B, the room was lovely and very clean. The owners were fabulous hosts. My only complaint was my room was in the front of the house and I could hear traffic all the time. Other than that the place was wonderful. Perhaps one of the other rooms in the back of the house was much quieter.


overnight

4,2 su marzo 16, 2013

Slept in first floor room. Very professionally managed.


Wonderful Getaway!

5 su febbraio 22, 2013

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and it exceeded our expectations. The Bed and Breakfast owner was helpful and the breakfast was wonderful!! We felt like we had plenty of privacy and had a wonderful stay. We will definitely go back!


Best Bed & Breakfast Ever!

5 su febbraio 07, 2013

Superb and beautiful home that elevates Bed and Breakfast to a whole new level. The owner is a gracious host and presents a phenomenal breakfast. If you're not a breakfast person, you will be after staying here. The owner is extremely knowledgeable about the area and wonderful to be around. Our room "Becky's Sanctuary" was beautiful, cozy and clean. I am looking forward to visiting Elmira's Painted Lady again.


Great experience

5 su gennaio 31, 2013

My husband seemed a little nervous about staying at a bed and breakfast (it was our first time) but he instantly fell in love with the house and Butch was so welcoming when we arrived. We immediately felt at home. Our room was gorgeous and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Loved the billiard room. It was a lovely stay and we hope to revisit someday.


Love the Painted Lady!

5 su novembre 26, 2012

Awesome Innkeepers! Food is excellent and so is the service. The rooms are out of this world beautiful - great experience.


Great night away!

5 su novembre 20, 2012

The room was great and the owners were very accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was outstanding. I will definitely go back!


A Lovely Lady--would stay again

5 su novembre 14, 2012

Just a one-night stay but enjoyed it thoroughly. Beautiful accommodations and friendly hosts.


Excellent place I recommend!

4,8 su ottobre 24, 2012

The rooms were very clean. The owner and his wife were so accommodating. Everything is homemade and they do not leave you hungry at breakfast! They had wonderful suggestions of places to visit and can give a thorough history of the house. I hope to return again someday.


Great place

4,8 su ottobre 22, 2012

This was my first stay in a bed and breakfast and it was amazing. The food was delightful, the room was cozy and Butch & Marilyn made our stay worthwhile.


Painted Lady, Elmira NY

5 su ottobre 14, 2012

This was our fourth time staying here and was absolutely amazing. Marilyn and Butch go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect. The food is just amazing, and they ensure special dietary needs are met. The rooms are gorgeous and clean and comfortable. This is well worth the price and is just a terrific place.


The Best Held Secret to Comfort in Elmira

5 su ottobre 10, 2012

If you're looking for a cozy place with a delicious three course breakfast, you have arrived at the right place. Butch and Marilyn warmly welcomed my husband and I as we visited our daughter at Elmira College. Surprisly quiet, even though on a main street, the Painted Lady offers warm conversation in a wonderfully relaxed environment. Can't wait until our next stay.


Warm & Welcoming B & B

5 su settembre 05, 2012

A wonderfully, warm and cozy inn. We have stayed here three times in the past year and have never been disappointed. Butch and Marilyn are wonderful hosts. Our room has always been lovely and comfortable and impeccable. Butch is full of ideas and suggestions for dining and recreation as well as sight seeing in the area. We can't wait to return!


Just passing thru

3,8 su agosto 29, 2012

We were passing thru on our way home from Canada and stayed one night. The room was exceptional, the tv and ac worked fine as well as the bath. Minor shortcomings include a refrigerator that wasn't cold, no convenient room dressing mirror near an outlet and no comfortable chair to watch a bit of tv at night. The owners were very nice, Butch tends to hover somewhat by trying to be helpful. Breakfast was great. Free parking in rear, but entrance in front over a bumpy sidewalk.


Luxurious relaxation!

5 su agosto 28, 2012

A wonderful, relaxing stay in the middle of an extended travel vacation. The owners were truly friendly and a pleasure to be with. It was like visiting with family! The home was absolutely immaculate...you could eat off the floor. And the breakfast was superb. No cold cereal and a toaster here....the omelet was prepared by a chef, and everything was served to us in the dining room. A relaxing chat with the owners over after-breakfast coffee set the tone for the rest of our day. If we ever travel to this area of New York, we know where we will stay.


Home away from home!

4,8 su agosto 20, 2012

The Painted Lady was a great B&B! By the end of our stay we felt like we were just visiting with friends. Our room was cute and cosy, and the three course breakfast served personally each morning was delicious! Ask Butch to set you up with the winery tours...and feel free to ask both he and Marilyn about the local history and things to do...you won't be disappointed! I would definitely visit again!


A nice place o tay

3,2 su luglio 15, 2012

A quant B & B. Nearby restaurant. Quiet street and congenial host.


The Painted Lady

5 su luglio 14, 2012

What a beautiful home! The owners, Marilyn and Butch, are the nicest folks and made me feel 'at home'. Why spend your nights at local hotels when you can stay at the Painted Lady for less? Less, because you get a nice breakfast each morning! The green apple sorbet was delicious and the croissant french toast with blueberry sauce... need I say more? I give it 'six stars', Michael Kelly


Amazing B&B and great owners.

5 su luglio 05, 2012

Stayed in Becky's Sanctuary. It was great. Arrived late and Butch took time to get me some tea and a bit of food since I wasn't able to stay for breakfast. Very kind of him. Would stay there again. Highly recommended.


T & T

3,8 su maggio 27, 2012

First time in Elmira and happy we shose to stay at the Painted Lady. Beautiful, historic home in the center of the hot spots. The rooms, service, and delicious breakfast puts the Painted Lady on our top 10 list!


Great Host, Wonderful Home

4,4 su maggio 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Painted Lady. Butch and Marilyn made us feel very welcomed in their home and I enjoyed learning the history of the house and the area from Butch. Breakfast was delicious, their home was beautiful and the garden gorgeous especially the large Japanese Maples.


Lovely Bed and Breakfast

4,2 su maggio 08, 2012

This B&B has a beautiful billiard room with a stunning pool table! The Mark Twain room is spacious, well appointed, with excellent WiFi at a fair price. Fantastic Victorian! Really enjoyed my stay.


Wonderful B&B

4,6 su maggio 01, 2012

Beautiful old home and lovely rooms. The breakfast was delicious. Butch and Marilyn go out of your way to make you feel welcome and at home!


Great place to Stay

5 su aprile 22, 2012

Wonderful place, clean, quiet, great hosts, delicious breakfast


What more could you want?

5 su aprile 17, 2012

This beautiful Victorian home is not only comfortable and clean, but its hosts are just the right amount of friendly & helpful! I don't usually sleep that well in hotels and I slept like a baby at Elmira's Painted Lady. I can't say enough good things about this B&B. We will definitely be back.


Elegance in Elmira

5 su marzo 17, 2012

Amazing stay in an elegant Victorian style home. The room was truly a sanctuary and the entire home was beautifully decorated. The breakfast was 'out of this world' and we throughly enjoyed our conversations with the inn keeper. It was a good place to stop over on our trip up to Niagara Falls, ON.


Our Magical Anniversary Getaway

4,8 su marzo 15, 2012

This place was charming, and worth every nickel. There is no place more welcoming, relaxing and accomodating. And there are no inkeepers more anxious to please than the Monroes. Please consider staying at the Painted Lady if your travels bring you anywhere near Elmira - you'll be very glad you did.


Very comfortable, very friendly host

4,0 su marzo 15, 2012

Very comfortable bed. Friendly host was very accommodating, very helpful. Huge bedroom/ sitting room, small bathroom included a jacuzzi tub. A short drive to Corning. Many restaurants within walking distance.


A delightful Getaway

5 su febbraio 24, 2012

The owner was most informative about the building itself. The rooms were comfortable. Loved having the Billiard table.


Couldn't have asked for more!

5 su febbraio 15, 2012

My fiance and I stayed in Olivia's Rose Garden. This was our first stay at a B&B and we weren't sure what to expect. We were completely blown away! Room was beautiful, the jetted bath tub was awesome and the breakfast was to die for. Three course gourmet breakfast! Butch had tons of information on things to do in the area as well as wine tasting vouchers to the local wineries. I'm recommending The Painted Lady to all of my friends!


Beautiful, excellent place to spend an evening!

5 su febbraio 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as a gift from our daughter for Christmas. The owners (and their lovely cat!) were so friendly, the house was gorgeous and I felt right at home as soon as I walked in the door. The rooms were so much larger than expected and very beautiful. The only thing I could think to improve is that it would have been nice to have a snack or maybe some coffee or tea in our room in the evening. That was such a small matter though, compared to the great time we had staying here! Breakfast was very good, it happened to be a dish I didn't care for, but it was masterfully cooked and skillfully prepared, it just happened to not be my personal favorite. The evening was lovely and I am looking forward to staying here again!!


Stay at the PaintedLady

4,8 su gennaio 10, 2012

Staying at the Painted Lady with Butch and Marilyn as hosts is a treat not to bve missed.


Elmira's best B&B

4,0 su dicembre 03, 2011

what a great place to stay!Butch is very knowledgeable about Elmira.Very quiet room.We will be back!


Wonderful stay

4,0 su novembre 22, 2011

If you want to feel like family and enjoy a restful, pleasant experience, The Painted Lady is for you! Really enjoyed every aspect and would highly recommend!


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

5 su novembre 21, 2011

Highly Recommend! Very nice rooms, great service, and the price isn't to bad.


Great Weekend Stay if you want to get pampered

3,8 su novembre 16, 2011

We went to Elmira for a quick long weekend getaway. Butch and Marilyn are fanstastic Hosts!! Butch shared lots of interesting history of the town and area. Breakfast was fanstastic and even served dessert afterwards-nice touch. Great recommenations on where to eat, winerys to see and shopping.


We had a wonderful time.

4,6 su ottobre 30, 2011

The Painted Lady was a lovely bed and breakfast in Elmira, NY. Butch and Marilyn were wonderful hosts. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was to die for. The whole experience exceeded my expectations. You won't be disappointed!!


Wonderful B&B

4,2 su ottobre 20, 2011

We enjoyed a restful stay of 3 nights. Butch and Marilyn are extremely warm and helpful. We would definitely choose this B&B again if in the area. It is only 14 min from Corning to see the museums as well as close enough to the Finger Lakes and wineries.


Perfect Elmira Home away from Home

4,4 su ottobre 16, 2011

Although one of the pricier places to stay in town, it was absolutely worth the money. The whole entire place is spotless and very well furnished. Breakfast is a real treat, as well. Perhaps the biggest plus is the extremely knowledgeable and helpful innkeepers. If you're visiting the area for wine-tasting, these two know their wines and are happy to help you select wineries to visit! The innkeepers were also able to provide several coupons for free tasting, which were most welcome! Would definitely stay again.


Kandy and John

4,6 su ottobre 02, 2011

Wonderful hosts......wonderful company at an absolutely excellent breakfast!!!


You must experience The Painted Lady B&B!

5 su settembre 27, 2011

I was in town to present a Victorian Fashions program with my traveling museum and stayed at this beautiful inn. Everything was picture perfect, I snapped so many photos for my blog! The innkeepers made us feel so welcome and Marilyn's breakfast was superb!! I am Gluten sensitive and she assured me that it was not a problem. I had a muffin & toast with my full breakfast, all Gluten free. What a treat! We left feeling as if we had known them for years, we will certainly be back! We also enjoyed the many Victorian buildings in the historic district where the inn is located. What a magical weekend!! Sincerely author/historian Victoriana Lady Lisa


Excellent

5 su settembre 27, 2011

Loved Painted Lady - Butch & Marilyn are wonderful hosts.


Our best stay during our 21 day trip through the New England area.

5 su settembre 08, 2011

The house was an artfully decorated masterpiece. I enjoyed looking at the house and grounds as much as I enjoyed my stay.


unexpected joy

5 su settembre 04, 2011

the painted lady was a jewel. what a surprise it was to walk into this beautiful b&b. butch and marilyn were the most gracious hosts you could ever want. the room itself was absolutely lovely, and the breakfast was to die for. my girlfriend and myself fell in love, and hope to visit again real soon!!!


The Painted Lady, Elmira, NY

4,8 su agosto 24, 2011

This is the best b&b we have ever stayed at. Butch and Marilyn are outstanding hosts and we felt comfortable and right at home. We kept cutting short our visiting time with relatives so we could hang out on the fantastic porch. We will definitely be returning. BTW...breakfast is so good...appetizer, entree, and desert...wonderful!


Painted Lady Stay to see Corning Glass Museum

4,6 su agosto 15, 2011

We stayed 2 nights to spend a day at the Corning Glass Museum enroute to Chautauqua. Accommodations and food were wonderful, as were Butch and Marilyn, the proprietors.


EPL was a great oasis.

3,8 su agosto 10, 2011

Wonderful room, great conversation and an outstanding breakfast. Driveway to parking was difficult to locate.


Great value, great location, great hosts

4,0 su luglio 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was perfectly located for everything we wanted to do. The two restaurants our hosts recommended, Charlie's and Hilltop Inn, were lovely (Hilltop has a great view). Lovely and accommodating hosts. Nice to have a beer or a glass of wine on the porch in the early evening and watch the world go by.


What a gem!

5 su luglio 21, 2011

The Painted Lady is a beautiful historic B&B in the small town of Elmira. The architectural detail inside the house is absolutely gorgeous. The history of the building is preserved, but it still has all the modern amenities of an upscale hotel with jacuzzi tubs and flatscreen tvs. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the owners were charming and extremely helpful with any questions about the local area. After breakfast my husband and I spent a little time playing pool in their lovely billiards room- what fun! We had a delightful time.


Painted Lady Paradise

4,4 su luglio 20, 2011

Butch and Marilyn Monroe provide a warm and welcoming environment to all of their guests. Our weekend stay was fabulous, food was wonderful, and the conversation was very friendly. We were well advised about dinner locations and our reservations were handled by Butch with professional care. The billard table was the best I've played on in a long time. This is our second time back and I promise not the last.


Fanstastic Stay at the Painted Lady

5 su luglio 19, 2011

My fiancee and I absolutely loved our stay at the Painted Lady. We made a trip to New York to get away for the weekend and chose to stay at this bed and breakfast and it was the best choice we have made when it comes to overnight stays. I reccommed the Painted Lady to anyone.


wow

5 su luglio 07, 2011

we had the pleasure of staying at painted lady in march. i only wish we could afford it more often. this was a special so it turned out to be very reasonable. as we were visiting because of family illness it may our stay also very comfortable and relax. the innkeepers were comforting and considerate as to whey we were there and did everything to help us with anything we needed. definitely plan on going back next year. thank you butch and marilyn sorry this took so long to write. sharon and gary dates saratoga new york


Outstanding B&B

4,0 su giugno 28, 2011

We recently stayed at the Painted Lady and our experience was wonderful. Butch and Marilyn were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. They made excellent recommendations for dinner and sightseeing. Each breakfast was outstanding. My husband especially enjoyed playing pool in the billard room and we loved staying in the Vineyard suite.


Sweet Elmira's Painted Lady Wears Her Heart on Her Sleeve

4,4 su maggio 16, 2011

We were welcomed to Elmira's Painted Lady with open arms and treated like royalty. Butch literally escorted us into town via telephone with directions after we called to say we were lost and running late! The Monroes attend to every detail, and the place is immaculate. At the same time, they are happy to sit down with you over breakfast coffee and enjoy a chat. Their easy-going natures were and will be greatly appreciated by those of us who are rather time-challenged! Many, many thank yous! Jennifer Williams Accokeek, MD


Great Stay

4,6 su maggio 08, 2011

While in the area for business I got to stay at the Painted Lady. My host was very accommodating and referred me to a great restaurant for dinner. There were other guest's staying but I never heard anyone all night. The room was very nice and clean and the bed comfortable. I would highly recommend!!


Great B&B and hosts

5 su maggio 04, 2011

Great location, quiet, knowledgable and friendly hosts. Wonderful breakfast.


A Wonderful Stay

4,8 su aprile 26, 2011

We were delighted by our experience at Elmira's Painted Lady. The furnishings and overall quality of the accommodations were outstanding and the breakfast can only be called gourmet. Both Marilyn and Butch were very warm and welcoming and we all shared great conversation, along with another couple, over breakfast. This B&B should be on your list if you are looking to stay in the Central New York region, it would be an especially good value when the off-season rates apply. (We paid full price because Good Friday is excluded.) If you aren't familiar with Elmira you will want to to a detailed mapping of the last 3 miles to your destination, the directions on the website are technically correct but it is very confusing, especially from the west, due to the construction and realignment of exit 56 on Route 17/I-86. Once you are on Water Street itself you are all set and you can look forward to your first look at this beautiful Painted Lady.


The best B&B in New York!

5 su aprile 13, 2011

The owners of the b&b had excellent hospitality! The food was amazing and the rooms were spotless! I'm a clean-freak, and this place passed the test! We will definitely stay there again!


A wonderful stay with wonderful people!

5 su marzo 26, 2011

The b&b has offstreet, private drive parking, with a friendly, husky cat that runs up to guide visitors from the rear to the front entrance of the house! The house has framed, Persian silk adorning some of its walls, and intricate classical detail in every corner and nook. The billiard and dining rooms are fantastically comfortable and cozy, not to mention the wonderful daylight that peers through the morning, afternoon, and sunset portions of the sectioned stain glass at the front of the house. Rooms and bathrooms were great, and very roomy. The b&b owners know much of the area, and make for great breakfast company/chefs!


Lovely stay!

4,4 su marzo 02, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Marilyn and Butch were wonderful hosts and we felt like family. We will definitely be back!


A Beauty in the Neighborhood

4,4 su marzo 01, 2011

This is a beautiful historic home with all the comforts of home without any of the work. It was a restful retreat for us and will recommend it to family when they visit Elmira. Thank you.


A historic gem just across the river from me

5 su febbraio 25, 2011

I have always wanted to stay in a Victorian bed and breakfast then I discovered there was one in my own town. I booked the Olivia Garden Room for an overnight birthday stay. My guest and I were impressed from the moment we arrived with the beauty of the home and the greeting we received at the front gate. Both Butch and Marilyn were very welcoming and warm hosts and shared plenty of stories of the history of the house and renovations. I was extremely pleased with all the decorative touches and the room was beyond my expectations. So inviting and immaculately clean as was the enormous step down bathroom with a wonderful whirlpool tub. We used the billiards room and chatted in the parlor. The multil course breakfast in the morning was impressive as was the table set out with china. Greatly enjoyed all the stories shared by the other guests and hosts about local history. Such a pleasant experience and I can't wait to have another occasion to book a room.


Definetly a must see!

4,6 su febbraio 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Painted Lady for night just to get away from our kids and see a show. It was just what we needed- the room was really beautiful and cozy. The jetted tub was a nice touch. The owners are really sweet and helpful people- they even got us really good seats for the show we went to see that was sold out. We highly recommend staying at The Painted Lady.


Worth a stay

3,8 su febbraio 16, 2011

The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was exceptional. Pool table was a great addition.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 su gennaio 27, 2011

Butch and Marilyn went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The Painted Lady is a fabulous place to stay, the rooms are pristine, the breakfast is 5 star, you can't ask for a better ovenight stay! I highly recommend it as a world class bed and breakfast


Lee & Amy Fessler's

5 su gennaio 27, 2011

Owner even gave us a ride down to the arena for wine on ice. Even offered to pick us up if needed. They were very nice people. We will make a return visit.


Perfect stay!

5 su gennaio 23, 2011

We stayed one night during a college visit - absolutely perfect. Beautiful inn, pristine, incredibly clean, hospitality plus! Very cozy and comfortable - warm - would definitely go back.


If you love Mark Twain....

4,6 su gennaio 12, 2011

Chuck and Susan, Medina, OH Beautiful Victorian home and lovingly restored. Marilyn shared lots of history about the house and having grown up in Elmira, was very knowledgable about all things "Mark Twain." Elimira is a wonderful place to spend a weekend or a few days. Playing billards in the billard's room takes you back to more gentile times!!


A Beautiful B&B

4,2 su gennaio 04, 2011

The Painted Lady is a beautiful Bed & Breakfast and the innkeepers are extremely gracious and helpful. We had a lovely one-night stay, and would certainly return.


Outstanding experience

4,4 su novembre 01, 2010

The Painted Lady is a beautiful house with beautiful rooms. A "must-stay" for geat food, deeply comfortable rooms, and warm friendship from the innkeepers. It is the only place I would stay in when visiting Elmira.


Exceptional B&B in Elmira, NY

4,6 su ottobre 22, 2010

The gracious and accomodating host of this B&B made our 4 night stay extremely enjoyable. The daily conversations with other guests during the delicious and varied daily breakfast was a real treat. The large rooms with comfortable furnishings and traditional decor added to the relaxing, quiet atmosphere of the Painted Lady's Victorian era style. If you are looking for an alternative atmosphere from the typical 4 star hotel experience I recommend a stay at the Painted Lady.


Truly a unique experience!

3,8 su ottobre 05, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed in Mark Twain's retreat during a part of our honeymoon. The room was lovely. Butch and Marilyn provided a tour of the house and each room is welcoming & comfortable. The breakfast was fantasic and the innkeepers were wonderful!


great experience

4,0 su settembre 29, 2010

Our first Bed and Breakfast stay was a great experience. Butch andMarilyn were great hosts and very informative. the breakfast was outstanding and area was great. Our hosts recomended a hill top restaurant for dinner which had a spectacular at sunset . This made our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast great and hope to have many more.


Excellent

5 su settembre 23, 2010

The public rooms on the first floor of this B&B are amazing. The pictures don't do it justice, you have to experience this place in person. It's worth it to stay here just to spend some time in (1) the front room with it's 19th century Persian silk-screen panelled walls & Mudejar style ceiling and (2) in the all-wood billiard room next door, perfectly preserved... majestically carved Moorish walls and ceiling, with an incredibly beautfiul stained glass window between the two rooms. The host was extremely helpful and hospitable. I had to go to Elmira to attend a funeral and I was not in the best of moods, yet he was always tolerant and considerate. I arrived alone without any transportation and he picked me up in person at the station and then took me back the next day to the station. You can't ask for better service than that.


Elegant and friendly

5 su settembre 03, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a really lovely evening in Butch and Marilyn's home. The room was very elegant- a perfect place to relax. We walked through the neighborhood and enjoyed a romantic dinner only two blocks away on the Monroe's recommendation. Breakfast was beautifully presented and also delicious. We highly recommend Elmira's Painted Lady.


Elegant and classy

5 su agosto 29, 2010

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast, invited by friends who had stayed at Elmira's and wished to return. My husband and I were very impressed by the beauty of this painted lady and the hospitality of its innkeepers. Butch and Marilyn were more than welcoming and made our stay a memorable experience. We were impressed by all of the rooms and the Victorian decor of the house, the gourmet breakfasts, and having the opportunity to learn the history of the area. We also plan to return and bring friends to enjoy a tour of New York wine country.


Very Warm B & B

5 su agosto 21, 2010

Excellent experience at this historic house. The innkeeper was very informative and has knowledge about the tour in Elmira. What a pleasant stay!


50th Birthday Gift

5 su agosto 18, 2010

My husband and I just got back from a two day stay at Elmira's Painted Lady. The trip was a gift for my 50th birthday. We wanted to visit some wineries near the Seneca Lake so we kind of picked the Painted Lady for the location. What a find! We were so pleased with the accomodations and the service was fantastic. Butch and Marilyn are the nicest people and make you feel right at home from the moment you walk in. We stayed in the Mark Twain Suite and it was beautiful. The room lacked nothing. The bed was extremely comfortable and we really enjoyed the jacuzzi tub. Butch gave us some great tips for our day at the wineries and Marilyn's breakfast was outstanding. We were full for most of the day. After having the bacon and brie omelet the first day, I couldn't wait to eat breakfast again the next morning. We had a wonderful trip, very relaxing, enjoyable and met two very nice people.


Sheer Excellence

5 su agosto 12, 2010

Everything about our stay was flawless. The house itself is the epitome of Victorian elegance and our hosts were gracious and very charming. The room was perfectly decorated and the breakfast was to die for. We will definitely be back for a longer stay!


wonderful stay

5 su luglio 10, 2010

For our first visit ever to a bed and breakfast, we had a great time. The twain room was very nice , as was the rest of the house. My wife and I stayed for one night on our way home from toronto. It was our anniversity so I got one of the package deals that came with roses in the room , wine glasses, a picture of us framed, and dinner for two. I scored big points on this one (hint hint fellow husbands). Butch and Marilyn were super great host. We got a chance to see most of the other rooms in the house and there is not a bad choice in any of them. Very , Very nice. But my favorite was breakfast....Really good! Best french toast I ever had , and the coffee was too. I will return for a three day weekend soon to go on the wine tours and sailing on the lake. And to score more points...I love scoring points..


Wonderful B&B

5 su giugno 28, 2010

This was a first for my husband and I to stay in a B&B, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. House is beautiful/interesting/very well maintained; innkeepers were very friendly/accomodating/hospitable; room was lovely/modern bath/very clean; food and service was excellent (just ate breakfast); location was great/easy to find. Would highly recommend this B&B.


OUTSTANDING!!!!!

5 su maggio 21, 2010

I booked the Mark Twain Suite for a photo session and then stayed the night with my husband for an early anniversary getaway! The service was fantastic! The room was so comfy and beautiful! The breakfast was AMAZING!!!!! Butch and Marilyn chatted with us after breakfast and we had a great time with them! I would recommend this B & B to anyone and everyone!!! Danielle & Jared Barden


A sneak preview of paradise

5 su marzo 22, 2010

As frequent guests at various B&Bs on the East Coast, my wife and I now consider the Painted Lady as our favorite -- the Victorian is simply elegant --the furnishings and stained glass windows are exquisite-- although the "museum like ambiance" may initially overwhelm you, fear not for the innkeepers are the most "down to earth" people you'll meet anywhere-- both Marilyn and Butch are warm and welcoming--they are a perfect team when it comes to the highlight of your stay, namely, the Breakfast --the food was just wonderful--the breakfast is so scrumptious and plentiful that it will hold you over until dinner--we can't wait for a return visit as it was simply a perfect getaway!! Harvey and Phyllis


A Last-Minute Overnight

5 su marzo 04, 2010

We were thoroughly impressed with the Painted Lady! We took a last minute overnight stay on a weeknight, and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of B & B. Butch and Marilyn were wonderful hosts and made us feel comfortable and "at home". Our room, Olivia's Rose Garden, was clean, superbly decorated, and very accomodating to all our needs. The whole experience was relaxing and enjoyable. We especially enjoyed all of Butch's stories, their outstanding service, and a wonderful homemade breakfast! We'll be back! 3/1/10 Holland, NY


weekend stay

5 su gennaio 19, 2010

My daughter and I stayed in Becky's Sanctuary from Jan 16th- 18th. She was checking out Elmira Collage. This B&B is beautiful , the owners are just wonderful people with great ideas for things to do in the area. Breakfast was just amazing. Looking forward to going back.


Birthday getaway

5 su novembre 15, 2009

My husband and I celebrated my birthday with a stay at this absolute beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We couldn't have made a better decision. The house is just amazing, the home owners make you feel really welcome and at home, the rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean, the bed was cozy and very comfortable, and the breakfast was just delicious! We would definitely recommend the Painted Lady to even the most sophisticated and demanding traveler!


Best of the best

4,8 su settembre 15, 2009

My wife and I spent the night at your B&B and were totally happy with all aspects of the stay. Your B&B is second to none. Thank you for everything.


Anniversary Trip

4,8 su agosto 26, 2009

My wife and I stopped as part of our 15th anniversry trip to the finger lakes. The house is beautiful from the outside and inside the rooms and history of the house are fantastic. The breakfast was a great way to finish our stay. Looking forward to going back.


Weekend Away

4,6 su luglio 12, 2009

We decided to take a weekend away and visit upstate NY, where I grew up, and attend races at Watkins Glen as well. We arrived late but Butch and Marilyn were very understanding. The room was beautiful. Better than in the pictures! They were very acomidating for the entire 3 days we spent there. We picked the time for breakfast depending on what we were doing that day. Breakfast was an amazing 3 course adventure. Their home is beautifully restored in the historic area of Elmira. Icing on the cake was that Butch was a racing fan as well! A word to the wise don't get 2 car guys together if you expect to get away soon! We will definitely stay again when we return in the fall and whole heartedly reccomend it to anyone if the area!!!!! Steve and Stephanie


A Perfect Sisters Get-Away

5 su giugno 13, 2009

My two sisters and I stayed in the Suite during our annual sisters get-away and it was perfect. We enjoyed the separate sitting area and the extra space the Suite provided. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfasts are wonderful. Marilyn is the best cook and Butch is a masterful sous-chef. We felt completely at home and Marilyn and Butch were extremely helpful with both dining and sightseeing suggestions.


a real find

4,6 su giugno 11, 2009

A beautiful heritage home, charming personable hosts, excellent gourmet breakfast, very welcoming and comfortable.


Small town elegance

5 su aprile 15, 2009

Elmira's Painted Lady is an opportunity to stay in an elegant home and imagine Mark Twain staying down the hall. Beautiful woodwork and stained glass, comfortable, wonderful food, and great hosts.


Becky's Sanctuary

4,8 su febbraio 05, 2009

The house is beautiful! It is also very homey and comfortable. The bedding and sheets were so soft; I didn't want to get out of bed!! We enjoyed playing pool after returning from the theater one night and we got to have a sneak taste of tomorrow's breakfast- three different homemade breads- delicious!! The next morning we came down to a full 4 course homemade breakfast!! We definitely would like to come back and visit soon!


Historical Elegance at Painted Lady

4,8 su gennaio 21, 2009

Staying at Elmira's Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast was like taking an historical journey to the 19th century while enjoying all of the modern amenities the 21st century has to offer. The allure of the beautifully appointed Victorian decor was only surpassed by the charm of innkeepers Marilyn and Butch Monroe. Our room was very spacious, but offered an aura of romance with fireplace and jacuzzi. Breakfast was superb offering such fare as a brie and bacon omelette, fresh fruit, freshly baked quickbreads and my personal favorite, warm, carmelized apples. The Painted Lady is not only a nice place to stay while visiting the Southern Tier, it is a Southern Tier destination in itself.


Elmira's Painted Lady Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $165 - $230
  • Recensioni (117) 4,7
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6078463500
Inizio pagina