The Turret House B&B Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,4
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
33 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Our late summer visit

5 su novembre 07, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Turret House in late August. The beds were comfy, the house is beautiful and the breakfasts were delicious. The house is very convenient to Ithaca and on a quiet street. We enjoyed our host, Nancy and we would highly recommend staying at this terrific B&B! Wendy and Tom Mullin


Above and beyond

4,4 su agosto 28, 2013

Beautiful house and the hostess Nancy went above and beyond to welcome us. Will definitely return.


Class Act

4,4 su agosto 28, 2013

Only a late cancellation enabled my daughter and I to stay in the suite at this charming old home In Dryden, New York, while moving my daughter into the law school dorm at Cornell. We loved the place, the company and the warm hospitality Nancy provided. We'll be back when we next visit our daughter.


Fair stay

3,2 su agosto 25, 2013

Our recent stay makes me wonder if the previous people who gave this 4-5 stars have ever stayed in a B/B before. Having stayed in many B/B, was very let down at this one. There are many others in the area for comparable price that put more effort into it. Okay the pros: extremely quiet at night, clean, Nancy very friendly and accommadating. The cons: you can hear your fellow guests next door, TVs in each room…can hear that too; beds are old, saggy, squeaky, HORRIBLE pillows…like rock; breakfast certainly not gourmet (food average ,nothing to write home about) and no butter or jelly or juice provided; and my number one complaint…it DOES NOT SAY anywhere that there is a SHARED BATHROOM. Okay, fine, but provide bathrobes so I don’t have to walk back to my room in my nightie. Also no bath mat on floor or rail to hold onto getting out of shower, being very slippery and dangerous. No personnel amenties such as lotion, shampoo/conditioner, only a large bottle of some green shampoo for community use. Same handtowel for everyone (I don’t know these people…I would like disposable towels). Décor is dated,(and I don’t mean 1890’s), it is kind of like faux Victorian meets That’ 70’s show.

Risposta del proprietario
Before taking this review seriously, please check out this person's other vicious reviews under eastcoastfoodie on Tripadvisor. She finds fault endlessly as if she is an arbiter of all that is good in food and B&Bs. She said my beds? were saggy and squeaky, when she only rented one bed. I have made a point of asking guests and they all say the bed is very comfortable. I treated her with kindness and courtesy, welcoming her to my beautiful home with lovely gardens, original artwork, wonderful chandeliers, fabulous hardwood floors, great wrap-around porch on a lovely street with access to main road just 1/2 block away. Some people, you cannot please!


Romantic and Cozy

5 su agosto 21, 2013

It is very different from the big bustling city and we needed a break from all that. My husband and I appreciated the unique charm of the house and the tranquility all around us. We will definitely be coming back.


A decent B&B

3,0 su agosto 13, 2013

Not at all a bad B&B. We had to share a bathroom, which we usually don't do, but it worked out and was clean. The house was quite clean and quiet. Dryden turned out to be a nicer town than I expected. The B&B was a good value compared to hotel rates nearby in Ithaca. Breakfast was on the smaller side, but quite tasty. Nancy was quite a good hostess. Parking is not a problem. The house was older but quite clean. There is no central AC but there are window air conditioners instead.


Great Value

5 su agosto 11, 2013

I stayed here for one night while passing through town and everything was excellent. The room was clean, comfortable, and the weekday rate was a great value. Breakfast was complete, but simple. Nothing gourmet but everything was very good and delicious. The location is convenient, only about a 15-20 minute drive Ithaca and other attractions. The town of Dryden has a small downtown with bars/restaurants within walking distance. There is plenty on street and off street parking available. Nancy, the innkeeper, was great. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


Lovely stay.

4,2 su giugno 26, 2013

Excellent; you will love the porch. Would stay here when returning to the area.


One fine stay

4,2 su giugno 18, 2013

I stayed at the Turret House from a Thursday through Sunday while I was on a business trip, and I enjoyed it a great deal. Nancy, the innkeeper, is incredibly friendly and sociable, and the room was quite comfortable. The food I was good (I ate everything put in front of me each morning without hesitation), and Dryden seemed like a quaint little town. The Inn itself is on a nice, quiet little street, and the wrap-around porch which faces it is quite charming. I was commuting to Ithaca each day, but the drive wasn't too bad at all. It's overall a great value and I will certainly stay at the Turret House if my travels take me to that part of the country again.


Exceptional quality

5 su maggio 13, 2013

Our visit to the Turrett house was an exceptional experience. Nancy, the host and owner, is the best! She makes great food for breakfast, is flexible and accomodating to your needs and schedule, and a great conversationalist! She will give you recommendations and advice concerning where to go, what to see and she will make your stay very enjoyable and memorable. We stayed for six days and never tired of the place. We stayed in the Golden suite which has its own private bath and sitting room with an extra tv. Internet is secure and free. My wife and I heartily recommend staying at the Turrett House on your next visit to the ithaca area. You won't regret it!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks so much for the great review. I'll try not to let it go to my head. I enjoyed having you visit. You were great guests. Looking forward to your next visit.


Turret House is Terrific!

4,2 su marzo 20, 2013

We have stayed at Turret House on several occasions and have enjoyed it very much.


Nice!

3,0 su settembre 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Turret House during a recent visit to Ithaca. The house in a quiet neighborhood is beautiful and the rooms well appointed. The bed in the Rose Retreat room was a bit on the small side for us two, though. Would recommend to book one of the other rooms when travelling as a couple used to king size beds. Very much enjoyed chatting with the host, Nancy.


Wonderful place to stay

4,0 su settembre 01, 2012

Very convenient to both SUNY Cortland and Ithaca. Nancy is a gracious host and made a wonderful breakfast for us. We felt very at home and plan on being back!


Top Tier

5 su agosto 29, 2012

Everything was excellent. I've been to several B&B's, and this one ranks in the top tier. The proprietor was attentive and laid back (perfect), and everything was lovely and clean.


Beautiful house in Dryden

4,4 su agosto 19, 2012

The Turret House in Dryden is a lovely Victorian that has been nicely restored. It is very close to Route 13 which leads right into Ithaca in about 15 minutes. The innkeeper (Nancy) is very friendly and personally prepares breakfasts. We stayed in the Golden Suite and found it very comfortable. We would stay there again.


Wonderful lodging option!

4,0 su agosto 13, 2012

The Turret House is a great option for lodging while in the Ithaca area. The Innkeeper, Nancy, is very warm and friendly, but she doesn't "go overboard." One of the reasons we are usually reluctant to stay in a B & B is because we feel overwhelmed by the Innkeeper. Nancy did not fit this opinion. She greeted us, showed us where our room was, and then left us on our own. Breakfast was very good - tomato and cheese frittata and an assortment of scones and muffins were the main offerings. Our room was the largest one in the Inn. It was very comfortable. There is a queen bed in the main bedroom and there is another full room with a daybed that also has a trundle bed underneath. It's great for a 4 person family. Our only "negative" was that the air conditioner in the daybed room wasn't functioning properly, so it was hot in that room. We reported this to Nancy in the morning and she immediately called for service. We had a fantastic stay at Turret House and will definitely consider this option again while in the Ithaca area!


Lovely spot for a stay

4,4 su agosto 08, 2012

We didn't have time to stay for breakfast since we had to be out early, but it looked fantastic. Lovely house and charming owner.


The Terrific Turret House

5 su luglio 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Turret House! The innkeeper made us feel at home and was friendly and personal. The room was clean and beautiful and the breakfasts delicious. We will definitely be back!


A Quaint B&B

3,8 su luglio 19, 2012

The accommodations were very clean and the caretaker was delightful to talk to. We enjoyed our overnight stay and found everything to our liking, except for lack of an adjoining bathroom to our room. ( a minor inconvenience)


Lovely and Relaxing Time, close to Ithaca

5 su luglio 05, 2012

I loved our stay here. There is a beautiful porch you can relax on in a quiet neighborhood, clean, nicely decorated rooms, comfortable beds, airconditioning, nice bathrooms, delicious homemade breakfast, french press coffee and you can eat together with the other guests and the owner. Very laid back, no weird rules and short drive to Ithaca and hiking, skiing, snowshoeing, etc. Charming town surrounded by farmland. Would definitely stay here again. Owner was charming, informed about the hikes in the area and warm. One slightly negaitve thing is breakfast is at 8:30am on the dot so if you are a late sleeper plan on getting breakfast elsewhere.


A pleasant stay at Nancy's place!

4,6 su giugno 25, 2012

Our, my wife and I, 3 night stay at The Turret House B & B was enjoyable and comfortable. Nancy Werany, the innkeeper, exceeded our expectations. She is the perfect host, always looking out for the comfort of her guests. The rooms are quaint and immaculate, a big PLUS for us. Nancy was up early every day preparing a delicious and filling breakfast, with fresh brewed coffee, tea, juice, fresh fruit and one of her special egg dishes or pancakes. Nancy's guests do not go away hungry! Nancy Werany is the most interesting, friendly and accommodating person we have met. We will definitely return to enjoy another stay at Nancy's Turret B & B. Overall, we rate our stay as OUTSTANDING!


Homey hospitality

4,2 su giugno 01, 2012

A great find. Stumbled upon this B&B after having difficulty finding lodging for our son's college graduation. The house and rooms are beautiful and Nancy is wonderful host who brews a delicious cup of morning coffee. You can't go wrong.


Our Great Weekend in Dryden, NY..thanks to Nancy and her Turret House

5 su maggio 29, 2012

Great place. Clean, quiet, and quite reasonable. Nancy, the proprietor could not have been nicer or more helpful. We now have a great place to go when we are up in the Finger Lakes region. I recommend it highly. Jimmy Dresch New Providence, NJ


Amazing Stay in Small Town NY State

5 su marzo 25, 2012

This place was an amazing glimpse into New York State small town life. The people who live there are friendly and Nancy the Innkeeper was interesting, nice & made great breakfast. I highly recommend staying here.


Very cozy b & b.

4,6 su febbraio 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here and we enjoyed it thoroughly. It was very clean and tidy. Nancy was a very amiable innkeeper and a great cook. Would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the Dryden or Ithaca area.


Outstanding

5 su novembre 20, 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at this location. I would most definitely encourage anyone looking to stay in the area to choose The Turret House! We will be returning!


A wonderful alternative to the Ithaca area hotels

4,6 su ottobre 30, 2011

We stayed at The Turret House rather than our usual hotel when visiting our daughter at Cornell, and were pleasantly surprised with Turret House. The Dusty Rose room was a good size, and I loved the decor in the room, which was attractive and soothing. I was especially taken by the window seat, where I promptly sat while my husband checked e-mail. The rest of the house was also decorated with birds, cats, and other nature-type of items, which we love. Everything was very clean. My husband is lactose intolerant, and she accommodated his special need at breakfast with tasty alternatives, allowing him to enjoy a fresh-made breakfast as well.


So glad to have found this

4,4 su ottobre 26, 2011

We were taking a last minute trip to visit a child at college and as we have discovered, finding a place to stay near Ithaca is a challenge. I found this on a website and took a chance. We don't usually stay in B&Bs but the description sounded good, the location was excellent and the price seemed reasonable. The Turret House is lovely and Nancy, the innkeeper is a delight. Breakfasts were wonderful and she was solicitous of dietary preferences/restrictions. I imagine we'll be back over the next few years, until our child graduates!


Great place to stay!

4,0 su ottobre 12, 2011

I stayed at the Turret House in October of 2011. It's a short drive from Ithaca where the hotels are very expensive. The Turret House was priced competitively and was significantly nicer than anything remotely close to the price in Ithaca. The innkeeper was very friendly and served an excellent breakfast. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.


Great b&b near Ithaca

4,2 su ottobre 10, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the turret house. The house is beautiful - an old house with character with modern amenities. The bathroom was beautiful! Very quiet location, great conversation around the breakfast table. Highly reccomended!


Value, charm and serenity in Dryden/ Ithaca New York.

4,4 su ottobre 03, 2011

Turret house was recommneded by local contacts and they were right to do so. Beautiful, spotless and very well appointed home away from home. Hostess was gracious, interesting and accomodating .I was able to use the dining room ( WIFI) to work on computer and have a light snack instead of going out so I could get ready for the next day.Breakfast was great.I would recoomend the Turret House to anyone looking for serenity, charm and value. I'm going back.


Great for Cornell/Itacha

5 su settembre 27, 2011

Nancy went out of her way to make us feel comfortable during our recent stay. Due to a family emergency we arrived quite late but she cheerfully made us feel welcomed and comfortable even at such a late hour when we all were simply exhausted. We woke early enough to walk through Dryden, a beautiful smaller upstate community. Breakfast was spectacular, and Nancy truly seemed to enjoy talking with all the guests. Her B&B is close to Cornell, Itacha and Cortland and this definitely attracts the college parents. Her house is immaculate and welcoming. I recommend it highly.


Wonderful Experience!

5 su settembre 19, 2011

From the moment you drive up to the Turret House you immeadiately realize you picked the perfect place! Not only is the house beautiful on the outside, its gorgeous on the inside. Nancy is not only friendly and gracious, she is a FANTASTIC cook! Your breakfast will be beautiful and tasty, and she caters to whatever you like. Not only would I stay here again and again...I recommend anyone traveling to Ithaca or anywhere near Dryden to stay here, its peaceful and relaxing and by far the best weekend I have had in a long time! Thank you Nancy!!!!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at The Turret House. Thank you also for your assistance with the air conditioners. Hope to see you again when you come to the Finger Lakes. How was your hike at TFalls on Sunday?


The Turret House B&B

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $85 - $185
  • Recensioni (33) 4,4
  • Camere 3
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 607-708-8034

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina