Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo3,8

Valore della struttura
36 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Extra !

4,8 su gennaio 15, 2014

Nous avons séjourné chez Paul et Karen , durant 3 nuits avec nos 3 enfants . Nous avions l'appartement du 2ieme étage , très spacieux et lumineux . Le quartier est très agréable avec tous les commerces à proximité . Le centre ville d'Amsterdam est accessible à pied en traversant le Vondelpark, parc magnifique . Nous avons été accueilli par Paul , très chaleureux , qui a pris le temps de nous donner tous les bons plans et les bonnes adresses ! Le ménage est fait tous les jours et il est très agréable de découvrir une petite sucrerie sur les lits tous les soirs en rentrant ! Il y a du the , du café , des céréales et du lait à volonté . Une super adresse à recommander !


Beautiful family friendly area

4,0 su agosto 27, 2013

Our family of 4 enjoyed a few nights at the Canal House which is a few minutes walk from Paul & Karens main bed & breakfast residence. It was self contained with 1 bedroom and 2 single beds in the living area. It was clean and comfortable with a good internet service. It is on the ground level with views over the canal from the living room windows. It was an easy 30 minute walk through the park into the city. The park itself is a great place to spend an afternoon with extensive play equipment for the children and a coffee shop for the adults. Cereal and milk was left for us for breakfast, along with a plentiful supply of local Gin for a night cap.


A very nice B&B

4,6 su luglio 28, 2013

A very good place to stay! The room is nice and clean, and have good storage options for your clothes and things. In the hall outside the room is a little kitchen where you find milk, different kinds of cereals, coffe, tea and hot chocolate to make your own breakfast. There is also a fridge where you can keep drinks or food. The owner is welcoming and helpful. He gave us a lot of information about maps, the trams, parking the car with a low charge, and what to do in Amsterdam, etc. This is a B&B where we gladly would stay the next time we come to Amsterdam.


Lovely B&B

4,4 su luglio 15, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed there for 6 nights and we had a wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the clean and large apartament, chocolates and the special gin that everyday delighted us. The location of the apartment was magnificent, in a quite area next to the canal with beautiful views and near the centre.My daughter enjoyed Vondelpark at 5 minutes walk from the apartment and the good restaurants near it. Without a doubt, we will repeat this B&B when we return to the beautiful Amsterdam.


Awesome

4,6 su maggio 16, 2013

This place is not only beautifully located on a lovely canal, it is central to everything. Vondelpark is a lovely walk,and in May when we were there had lots of flowers, cyclists and joggers. The room was large, clean and well thought out, with three large windows overlooking the canal. Paul was extemely helpful and a fount of knowledge. If we ever go back to Amsterdam this is where we will stay. Thanks, Paul. Ross Davidson & Christine van Rossum.


Homelike B&B

3,6 su marzo 03, 2013

Nice & clean rooms , very comfortable and romantic. Paul & Karen are very friendly & cooperative.It was nice to spend time in this beautyful stay. Though two little deficites: 1. You need a 30 min walk to reach the center 2. the breakfast consisting of only cereals & milk is a bit short to be honest.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear guest and dear reader, thank you for your enthusiasm and your nice review. We would just like to respond to your comment about "deficiencies". Most guests love our location Although it is a good 20 mins walk through the beautiful Vondelpark to the city centre, its also a nice, quiet, leafy area on the canal with lots of restaurants within easy walking distance. Our breakfast is indeed simple. It was Rick Steves who has featured us in his guide book for many years, who advised us to offer this kind of simple breakfast so that we could keep our room rate at a reasonable level. There are at least 5 local places you can have a larger breakfast should you want to. Best regards Paul and Karen


Great place to stay in Amsterdam

4,4 su agosto 01, 2012

Wow, what great accommodations...everything in the description on this website and the B&B website is what you get. The innkeepers provided great info on getting around Amsterdam, amenities in the neighborhood and great restaurant recommendations. Between being next to the canal and nearby Vondelpark it was a perfect spot. the garden room was peaceful and large. I plan on staying there the next time I go to Amsterdam. It is by far one of the best places I have stayed.


A great place for a family of 4

4,4 su luglio 16, 2012

This was a great place to stay. They had house keeping everyday. Breakfast available was simple with coffee (both instant and filtered), tea (bags), hot-chocolate and a set of 5 cereals to choose from along with Milk that was provided and the supplies had been kept up every day. Paul was very helpful and provided basic information which proved helpful. Vondel park was just 1 block away and Restaurants are nearby. We liked the Indonesian Restaurant Blauw (I believe and recommended by Paul and Karen) and breakfast place Bean and Bagel. Laundry place nearby was also convenient. There was enough place to park our rental bikes. The notice board with suggestions of a day trip was also very helpful. Public transportation from the place was about 3 to 4 blocks away (5 min. walk). No shoes in the apartment was strange to begin with, but was not a problem. The stairways to the second floor was steep and my younger daughter had problems maneuvering them and I had difficulty taking my 2 big suitcases up and down (although it was only one time each way :-) & Paul helped with 1 of them on our arrival) --Family of 4 (2 adults + 2 kids) from Portland, Oregon, USA


wonderful

5 su giugno 26, 2012

We were in four in Canal House in June and we had a wonderful holiday.Paul is a great host and the house is very cool .perfect location for a typical dutch way of life. thx Paul , Roberto e Marcella. p.s. the cherry was unforgettable pp ss. sorry for my bad English


Clean and children friendly-ideal for families!

4,4 su giugno 12, 2012

My family and I are into our last night in Amsterdam, still staying here and really do 't feel like leaving! ;) this bed and breakfast is really a gem! The hosts, Paul is very welcoming and helpful in providing maps and tips to getting around when we arrived. The rooms are spotlessly clean and my kids are thrilled to get a treat everyday when we returned. They left kit Kat on their pillows!! Location is superb! A short tram ride to town center or a relaxing walk through a park. Would definately return if we come back to Amsterdam. Highly reccomended!!


"The Best"

4,4 su maggio 27, 2012

We were in the Netherlands and Belgium for a total of 22 nights and 5 nights were spent here and they were the very best. Everywhere else we stayed...some were said to be a 4 star hotel...was quite a disappointment. This place made such a nice start to our holiday. Thank you for everything.


Convenient, Quiet, Good Value!

4,2 su aprile 23, 2012

Three days prior to starting a week-long bike and barge trip, we booked into Paul and Karen's guest house just off the Vondelpark. It's very convenient to restaurants and coffee, close to a tram stop, but we walked through the park most of the time just to enjoy seeing all the cyclists going to work and school. Our garden-facing room was extremely quiet, and quite roomy. There is a 3 night minimum stay at this tine of year, but we wanted to spend that amount of time exploring the city anyway. Paul was very helpful in providing a good map and lots of info about trams, etc. We would definitely stay here on another visit to Amsterdam.


Return Visit

5 su ottobre 25, 2011

My husband and I are going back for the 4th time to Paul and Karens fantasitc B&B in November. It is both our birthdays in November and each year instead of buying presents for each other, we treat each other to a long weekend at this beautiful house. I will always come to Amsterdam and always go to this B&B. I cannot speak highly enough of the comfort, cleanliness, quietness and perfect location. You are a short tram ride to the city centre and there is so much right on the door step too. One word: PERFECTION.


fantastic place in amsterdam

5 su agosto 22, 2011

Perfect place, me and my family stayed in Amsterdam for three nights . Paul & Karen very kind. Simply ... wow!!!


great for the money

5 su agosto 13, 2011

thank you paul and karen for a wonderful 4 nights. this will be my home whenever i'm in amsterdam!


What am I missing?

3,0 su luglio 20, 2011

Everyone raves about this B&B, but while we enjoyed our stay, there are some drawbacks. First, breakfast -- it is NOT breakfast. It's cold cereal with milk -- no fruit, no pastries, just cold cereal. If you want tea or coffee, you have to make it yourself. That was the most disappointing part. The second are the rooms. Do not, on any condition, take the front ground floor room. It's OK size-wise, nice bathroom, but you can not open the blinds unless you want everyone walking by look in. It's below street level, so anyone walking by gets a bird's eye view of the room and bath! Also, the windows only open about 1/3 meter, so not much fresh air; and since the blinds are attached to the window, you can't have the window open with the blinds all the way to the sill. Overall, a nice B&B, but over-rated in our opinion -- and very expensive. We checked into 2 others while roaming the city and both were just as nice but about 20Euros less/day. Em&J

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Em&J Thank you for taking the time to write about our B&B. We are off course happy to read that you enjoyed your stay but would like to reply to your comments because we don’t think that they are altogether fair. Our breakfast is indeed very simple; do-it-yourself cereals and milk. we decided (together with an expert in the tourist industry) that it is better to keep our rate low by giving such a simple breakfast, as long as our guests know what to expect before they arrive. Generally people have always been happy with this. There are so many nice local places to go out for breakfast so there is plenty of choice plus all our guests have access to a fridge and this gives the lots of flexibility to make sandwiches or bring food in, should they want to. The type of breakfast we serve is mentioned very clearly on our website. Regarding the room, everybody is of course entitled to their own opinion but we do have guests who asks for that specific room because it is on the ground floor and so cute and welcoming. It is true that passersby can look in if you have the blinds and curtains open but it is not a busy street and it does have a view of the canal..... With kind regards Paul and Karen


Outstanding and extraordinary!

4,8 su giugno 07, 2011

We lived at this BnB for four nights in the spring 2011 and went home happy and sathisfied with a strong wish of coming back soon. Paul and Karen, who runs the place, are two great and lovely personalitys who do all their best to make their guests feel welcome. The sorroundings are fantastic, included the restaurants nearby. Situated by the wonderful Vondelpark it´s just a 20 minutes stroll to Leidseplein, the entertainment center and museums of Amsterdam. We will return to this great little BnB, not only for Amsterdam as a fantastic city. The main reason is the hospitality Paul and Karen gives. /Agneta and David from Sweden.


A perfect, tranquil haven in Amsterdam

4,6 su giugno 07, 2011

We stayed at Paul and Karen's lovely B&B for four nights on our recent trip to Amsterdam. We had a wonderful stay at the Canal house suite. The canal house was so charming that we fell in love with it the moment we stepped in. It overlooked a beautiful canal and the canal views from the window were just too splendid. Our kids were excited to see various boats cruising on and they even spotted a few geese and local heron wading through. It was indeed a perfect, tranquil setting for us to unwind after a busy day! The rooms were spic and span and there was a daily maid service too. It was great walking into a clean 'home' every evening, special thanks goes out to the efficient house keepers. The fridge was stocked with fresh milk every day and there were six types of cereals to choose from. Not to mention the different flavours of tea bags arranged and carefully kept for use. The hosts, Paul and Karen were very helpful and extremely friendly. Paul had already kept the map of Amsterdam and other tourist tips ready for us and was always available whenever we needed any help. They are doing a great job and we loved every bit of our stay at their beautiful B&B. Last but not least, the canal house suite was everything we had dreamed of or more! Many thanks! - Divya and Anil, Bangalore, India


Awesome stay

5 su dicembre 08, 2010

We stayed 30 days and the total time was pure enjoyment. Paul is great and the sercive could not have been better. Would recommend this to everyone. Allen was a joy when he was around. Went out of his way to be accommadating. Will try and stay there in one of their units every time we head to Amsterdam. Thanks Paul and Karen.


Sept. 2010 Tulips B&B

4,6 su novembre 01, 2010

Feels like you live in Amsterdam when you stay here. We stayed in the top floor suite so had kitchen, bedroom, and living room w/day bed. Spotless, excellent hosts. The neighborhood hs everything you could want from gourmet pub to groceries. 15 minute tram to the Leidseplein. Web pix are very accurate. My highest praise for Paul, Tulips, and the area.


Best place ever!

4,8 su ottobre 06, 2010

My friend and I stayed in the 3rd floor suite and it was absolutely incredible! While we never got to meet Karen, Paul was incredibly nice and helpful (he even wished me a happy birthday)! It is a short tram or walk through the vondelpark away from all that amsterdam has to offer. It was the best place we stayed our entire European trip and when I return to amsterdam, i will definitely have to go back there!


exellent!

4,4 su aprile 05, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in a room for 3 with an extra bed. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Everything was clean and neat. the bed was comfortable and turn down service was made everyday! it was easy to access to the city center, either by walk or tram. Environment around is quiet and beautiful as well! We spent a lot of time in the park nearby.


Amazing!

4,6 su gennaio 07, 2010

Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. Close to the city centre but kept in the quiet part of the town. And the hosts - great!


Amsterdam's BEST B&B

5 su settembre 23, 2009

We loved our stay at Tulips in April 2009 so much that it will always be our home away from home in Amsterdam. The rooms are delightful--airy, light, clean, and comfortable, beautifully situated on the Schinkel Canal. It's quiet because it's just outside the city center but it's convenient--the Vondelpark is a five-minute walk away, just across the canal, and you can get downtown on the excellent trams to museums, shops, the train station, etc., in 15 minutes. Karen and Paul are perfect hosts. They help you get your luggage up and down the stairs; they stock the rooms with cookies and breakfast cereals; they keep the whole place spotless; they can answer every question about how to get around and what to do; they never intrude but they are always available, friendly, and good-natured. We would never even consider staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.


Will definatley stay again

4,2 su agosto 23, 2009

We stayed in October 2007 and we loved it. We stayed in the apartment, it was bigger than we expected or needed really, but it would be great for families. We wanted to come back and stay in one of the rooms in 2008 but unfortunatley they were fully booked so we stayed in the centre, which was nice but we enjoyed the quiet location of this place. Hopefully we will be able to stay with Karen and Paul in 2010.


perfect "home base" Amsterdam

5 su gennaio 04, 2009

Innkeepers kKaren & Paul spoke English, were very warm & welcoming and helped w/many details. Could not ask for a better LOCATION, SWEETER ROOM OR iNNKEEPERS. a MUST PLACE TO STAY IN AMSTERDAM.


Charming B&B

4,0 su dicembre 11, 2008

I had a very pleasant stay. Thank you!


very comfortable and silent location

4,2 su novembre 14, 2008

We stayed for one weekend in November. Everything was as expected from the Internet-sites. The house and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Our room had windows to the backside, very silent. Breakfast is only cereals, but this is announced correctly. The location at the canal is romantic, the neighborhood friendly and wonderful to stay. Paul and Karen are great hosts! Many thanks for a great stay!


4 Aussie Ladies

4,2 su ottobre 01, 2008

We wondered how we would fit into a family room but the room and bathroom were large enough The location is marvellous and Paul very helpful even getting our cases up tje 2 flights of stairs We would highly recommend this spotless well organised B and B to others.


Should I share about such a fabulous place?!

4,0 su settembre 13, 2008

Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam is a delight. Paul and Karen very gracious and give just enough attention, but not too much. Location couldn't be better if you like to walk, just a beautiful long walk through the park to the city. Great neighborhood and interesting to explore as well. We had to change our plans, and Paul and Karen were willing to work with us. A perfect spot that I hope won't be book for the next time we come to Amsterdam!


Very clean

3,2 su settembre 11, 2008

Very clean and near the city centre. I recommend this place.


Private & Clean

3,8 su agosto 29, 2008

My room was spatious, quiet, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The atmosphere is quiet, and away from tourist areas, but still close enough to walk to tourist attractions. The innkeepers provide very useful maps and local area information, but are invisible once you have finished checking in. Guests are provided with a phone to call the innkeepers with questions if needed, which are answered promptly and accurately. Other guests are also invisible, so you get a lot of privacy. Breakfast is self-serve cold cereal. Guests can store a few items in the fridge of the kitchenette shared with one other room. I bought a few items at the nearby grocery and made myself lunch a few times, which helped keep my budget under control. My room was on the 3rd floor, and the steps were VERY steep. My only real complaint was the instant coffee.


Absolutely Splendid!

4,6 su agosto 20, 2008

We are husband/wife/13 year-old son from USA. We stayed for 4 nights. The room was very clean. Paul provided excellent information about transportation, dinning choices, and points of interest. The B&B is in a residential area which was a big plus for us. I read through the guest book and comments were consistently favorable. We reserved about 8 months ahead, and I'm glad we did!


Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

4,4 su luglio 08, 2008

Very clean, pretty room with a private garden. Bathroom was larger than expected. Close to many restaurants, 2 trams leading to city center, and Vondel Park. I definitely recommend it.


Cute, clean B&B

5 su giugno 16, 2008

This was a return trip for us to Amsterdam, and we certainly enjoyed the B&B experience. It is close to the tram, Vondlepark, many quaint resturants in the area, and away from the hustle and bustle of the "big city", yet close enough and easy enough to get to wherever you want in a short time. When you are in Europe, you need to experience it. Enjoy the tram, the train, the walk, just like the locals to where ever you need to go. The B&B is clean, quaint, and along one of Amsterdam's canals. Paul and Karen are very helpful, had maps and areas of interest for us, suggestions for local resturants, and were only a phone call away. They gave us specific directions to get to their place from the airport. (Which you need) We had a double room, with private bath, kitchen and living room for a reasonable price, and a pretty view of the garden and canal. Breakfast was cold cereal and milk, and great coffee (instant!!). But with all the Bakeries around the area, you could always have fresh pasteries in the am.We would highly recommend Paul and Karen's B&B.


Will definitely stay again!

4,2 su maggio 11, 2008

As backpackers, our room was at the top of our budget range (we had a double with private bath), but it was worth every cent! The house and room were absolutely beautiful. The owners kept everything in pristine condition. The building overlooks one of Amsterdam's beautiful canals, but is far enough away from the city center to avoid the noise. The B&B was also steps away from Vondelpark which is an absolute pleasure to walk through. Along with wonderful rooms, we were also provided with chocolates on our pillows and complementary blackcurrent gin in our room which was unexpectedly tasty. The owners were great help, too. They provided us with a city map (so save yourself the 2 Euros it costs to buy one), and also provided us with a list of local places for items/services we may have needed. They even left a phone for people to use to contact them directly with any questions they may have. They were always accessible, and very friendly. We did find a couple of downsides to the room. First, it is a good walk to the city center. Even though it is an enjoyable walk, we spent most of our days on our feet, so were not up to the walk home. They are not far from the tram stop, though, but that should be taken into account. Being away from the city center did have its advantages, since it was away from the hustle and bustle of the town. But when venturing out, you need to plan for most of the day away from the room. The other downside was the breakfast. It was just a basic breakfast of milk and cereal. This also had its advantages, though, since we were able to make breakfast for ourselves whenever we wanted, and we also had some room in the fridge if we bought any perishables. The cereal fit the bill of tiding us over until lunch, too, and that's all we wanted. Overall this B&B was wonderful. We loved the clean and stylish atmosphere and the quietness outside along with the beautiful scenery. It is definitely one to consider when planning your stay in Amsterdam.


Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte € 90 - € 135
  • Recensioni (36) 4,4
  • Camere 3

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 31-206792753

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina