Island House of Wanchese Recensioni

Globalmente
4,3

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,3
  • Valore4,3
  • Pulizia4,3
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
41 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

OBX getaway

3,8 su settembre 02, 2014

Decent place to stay. If you're looking for a place on or close to the beach, this isn't the place.


Lovely experience

4,2 su luglio 09, 2014

Loved the area, easy to get around, accommodations very nice, breakfast wonderful, inn keeper very personable


First Outer Banks Trip

4,6 su luglio 05, 2014

This was our first trip to the Outer Banks and we were not disappointed with the Island of Wanchese B & B. The breakfasts were delicious, the rooms were clean, and everyone was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return!


Beautiful B&B; great location and value!

4,8 su luglio 04, 2014

My wife and I just returned from staying four nights at the Island House and we really enjoyed it! The house is lovely and well decorated and the gardens are stunning and well kept. Breakfasts were great, and Jeanne and her staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable (plus we enjoyed chatting with them at breakfast!). Jeanne upgraded our room at no extra charge when we arrived, and she provided beach chairs and accessories and several good recommendations for restaurants in the area. The location was perfect for us as we wanted a spot that was very close to the Outer Banks but not situated in a highly commercialized area. The rates were very reasonable, so overall this was an excellent value. We hope to return on a future trip, and we definitely recommend this B&B for others who are travelling to the area! - Dave & Patty


Very Nice Old Fashioned House.

3,8 su giugno 30, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. It was very quiet. The house is very old with antiques throughout. It felt like being in the past. Jeanne was very nice, and she makes really excellent breakfast. She'll sit with you drinking coffee and chat. She suggested to us a beach we could visit that didn't have a lot of people, and the beach was great. I would certainly stay here again.


Manteo Weekend

3,8 su maggio 14, 2014

Great stay this weekend for home and garden tour. House is prettier in person and great garden gazebo to sit in. House is lovely and owner was nice to talk to at breakfast.


Great location.Quiet location with beautiful gardens.

4,0 su ottobre 27, 2013

Location is on Roanoak Island which is a short drive to the beaches. The Island offers a non commercial vacation spot with an active fishing village on one end and a upscale town at the other. Beaches and restaurants are only a short drive. Located for close access to the National seashore south,or happening places north


A wonderful getaway

5 su settembre 13, 2013

The Island House was a wonderful choice for a weekend getaway. The hostess, Jeanne, was fantastic, the food was delicious and the room was fabulous! I would highly recommend booking it.


Comfortable & Pleasant

3,6 su settembre 05, 2013

A bit far from the husttle and buzzle of the Outerbanks. The area is quiet, pleasant, and a perfect location to relax if not a bit boring. Overall we liked it.


Adequate, Victorian, lovely gardens

2,0 su agosto 15, 2013

Breakfast was very ordinary, bathroom overly accessorized and dirty underneath all the baskets. Beautiful setting and gardens.


We had a good time. Perfect

4,6 su giugno 30, 2013

We just wanted a place to stay that was handy and comfortable. Loved it. Good time and the folks there are very nice.


Beautiful B&B

4,0 su giugno 28, 2013

Everything was wonderful. Jeanne was a very nice and pleasant host. She also had good suggestions of where to go and where to dine. This was our first time at a B&B and this was a very good experience. The breakfast was always very delicious and it was nice to sit and talk with Jeanne. One suggestion we have is to maybe put a Keurig in the "snack area". This way guests could have a cup of coffee anythime. The coffee with breakfast was great, but it would have been nice to have coffee available before breakfast (also in the afternoon/evening). Overall this was a great experience for my husband and I and would definitely stay at a B&B again.


Island house Roanoke, NC

3,2 su giugno 15, 2013

We had a delightful and relaxing stay at the Island House B&B. Jeanne the owner was a sweet lady and very knowledgable About the Outer Banks. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms Were comfortable and nicely decorated. The house was nicely decorated with Memorabilia and collectables. Outside grounds had nice gardens and a gazebo for relaxing in. Everything you need and could want was there. Will recommend it.


Great place to stay away from the crowds

4,4 su giugno 09, 2013

Quiet, secluded, far from the crowds yet only a five minute drive to the beaches. Great value, good food and will definitely come back.


Nice little B&B

4,2 su maggio 21, 2013

We had a good experience. Our room was nice and comfortable, and spotless, cleaner than I expected after reading other reviews. The food was good, there was a nice spread - meat, potatoes, grits, fruit, yogurt, etc. Jeanne is very sweet and nice to talk to.


Quiet,comfortable B&B with interesting surroundings.

4,4 su ottobre 04, 2012

Breakfasts are great and plentiful.Nice garden area with screened structure.Very good area resturants any many things to do.


Fantastic time!

4,6 su ottobre 03, 2012

My husband and I went for my birthday and we had a lovely time. Jeanne was very sweet and a great cook! She even upgraded our room when we got there. The beds were Number Comfort Select beds which made us feel like we were in a luxurious hotel, and we got to wake up to the smell of bacon and pancakes. The house is cozy and comfortable, and it wasn't to far from anything near Nags Head. My only complaint was the shower in our room (Zoe's I think) was uncomfortable because it was so small, but I looked at the shower in the adjacent room and it was much better. Next time!


Fall Get-Away to OBX

4,8 su settembre 24, 2012

Jeanne was a great hostess! The gardens and house are beautiful! Jeanne and Roy have collected many interesting finds and antiques over the years. The room we stayed in was very nice and quaint. We decided to try a B&B this time, since we are often unhappy with the beds at the local hotels. We were pleased that the bed was so comfortable. The only reason I did not rate the cleanliness Five Stars, was little things I noticed - mainly spider webs in the outside sitting area and one in our room. Also, she has lots of albums, books, etc - so, I noticed some of them could use a cleaning. However, it is a huge house and takes a lot of upkeep. Our bathroom was spotless. We were there several days and they changed our sheets! So, overall the house was very clean! We love going to the OBX in what is considered the "off season." However, there was lots going on to see and do! We will definetly go back to the Island House of Wanchese!


A Jewel in Wanchese

5 su agosto 15, 2012

A lovely, charming B & B. Quiet and welcoming. Delicious breakfast.


Enjoyable

4,2 su agosto 12, 2012

The owner breeds Westies and she brought them out for us to see. They were adorable! In general, this B&B is a lower cost way to stay near (but not on) the beach. You can drive straight to Coquina Beach and avoid the commercialism of Nags Head. Plus, enjoy the sites on Roanoke Island itself.


First B & B experience

5 su luglio 28, 2012

My daughter and I wanted to do something different in our travel and we are so glad we did. Staying at the Island House was a wonderful experience at our first Bed & Breakfast. Jeanne is a wonderful Hostess and exceptional cook. Our first breakfast was the best blueberry pancakes I have ever eaten. We stayed 3 nights here and loved it. Each morning Jeanne prepared a lovely, Delicious breakfast. The home was quiet and welcoming. The breakfasts were so good that I wish I could have stayed another day to taste the next mornings because each day it was something different. I just can't say enough on how much we enjoyed our stay. We slept so good each night. Explored Manteo and Nags Head. Ate at the Fishermans Wharf at the end of Wanchese, one of the restaurants Jeannie recommended. Outstanding. At the end of the day, going home to the Island House was just that....like going home. Because of our wonderful experience here has opened up our wanting to stay at B&B now. Thank you Jeannie for opening your home to us.


A lovely, quiet retreat

3,0 su luglio 19, 2012

The Island House of Wanchese is easy to find although it is off the main thoroughfares. The hostess, Jeanne, is gracious, helpful and serves a delicious breakfast. The area is very quiet yet only a few minutes from Manteo where one can find excellent restaurants, charming shops and a Festival center which includes a theatre, museum and gardens. From here it is easy to explore the the Outer Banks. We will happily return to this welcoming B & B.


Very pleased

4,8 su luglio 17, 2012

We stayed in the Willie Suite and it was roomier than anticipated. The queen size bed was very comfortable and easy to fall asleep. Breakfast was delicious both mornings and the grits were amazing. One very nice thing is it was only 5 mins from Nags Head so the beach was easy and accessible.


Island House of Wanchese

5 su giugno 26, 2012

We were warmly greeted by Jeanne when we arrived and she provided valuable information on sights to see and places to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wanchese is convenient to many local sights but away from the main tourist haunts. Nice quiet, convient place to stay.


Fascinating B&B

4,0 su giugno 22, 2012

When travelling in the US we always try and book into a B&B. We enjoy the unpredictability and owner specific touches. We have never been let down. The Island House of Wanchese was no exception. The room was well appointed and the breakfast first rate. The lady of the house is quite a character. Yes, she does breed dogs (small ones), but they are not allowed in the guest areas. Indeed, one would hardly know they were there. After we had booked, I read some comments on Trip Advisor which might have put us off. I am glad we ignored them. The Island House is a great B&B slightly off the beaten track of Nags Head and well worth the visit.


A wonderful honeymoon.

4,6 su giugno 13, 2012

We had a wonderful time and the Innkeeper and her dogs were so cute. We'll recommend it to everyone.


Love the Island House of Wanchese

5 su maggio 29, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Island House of Wanchese and we had not been there in 9 years. It is a great little getaway spot and we look forward to our next visit.


Outer banks

3,0 su ottobre 06, 2011

Nice place, out of the way. Noisy street in the mornings due to commuters.


Great Stay

4,8 su settembre 04, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting the outerbanks. It is one of the more inexpensive B&B places to stay but does not lack in quality. It is only about 10 minutes from the beach but a way from all the hustle and bustle of the main strip.


Wonderful!!!!

5 su agosto 29, 2011

Wonderful Hostess, Wonderful Room, Wonderful Breakfast!! We could not ask for a better place to stay. The hostess was wonderful and treated us like family. She even worried about us getting home safely because of hurricane Irene. We will stay there again!


Island House Wancheses NC

5 su agosto 25, 2011

Very nice room, beautiful home, Jeanne very considerate. Would stay here again.


A Quiet Retreat in the Mist of Busy Island Life.

4,0 su agosto 22, 2011

A one night stay was too short..we will come back again. Convient to all the activities..and a quiet retreat at the end of a busy day. Breakfast was great and our hostess was helpful with information of places to see and eat.


Wonderful hostess, great food!

4,0 su agosto 13, 2011

I was surprised by my husband with an overnight at the Outer Banks. Jeanne is a wonderful hostess who has a beautiful B+B that she and her husband lovingly restored. It cost about half of what other B+B in the area cost. We were provided with a wonderful homemade breakfast. We would definitely stay there in the future.


Beautiful, quiet island stay.

4,4 su luglio 13, 2011

Very accessible to Manteo and Nagshead. Beautifully furnished, lovely gardens and every need anticipated. The owners have developed a first rate B & B with loving care.


Very Elegant Home

4,0 su giugno 20, 2011

Elegant Victorian home and very friendly hostess. Not far from downtown Manteo. Spacious living room. Great home base for Roanoke area.


Great B&B in the OBX

4,8 su giugno 16, 2011

It was a great place to relax, meet new people, and have a great vacation in the Outer Banks!


So relaxing!

4,6 su marzo 23, 2011

We were the only guests for the weekend so Jeanne upgraded our room. The Inn is beautifully decorated with antiques with an amazing collection of Coca-Cola memorbilia. Jeanne is a gracious hostess and an excellent cook! We cannot wait to go back to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere. Our love to Lexi, Zena, Gracie, and Daisy!!


wonderful getaway in very charming inn with lots of character

4,4 su novembre 17, 2010

My husband stayed and stayed at the Island House for a weekend when I was running this year's OBX marathon (the inn is 5 miles from the finish line). We had a wonderful time in Wanchese and enjoyed all the details of the inn. The common area is full of things that give the inn its character. Our room (Willie's Suite) was great: a lot of space, a separate seating area, a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The whole inn was very clean. Jeanne was extremely helpful with tips and suggestions for dining, exploring the Outer Banks etc.. She even got up at 5am in order to prepare some light breakfast for the runners who stayed in the inn. We very much likes the location of the inn. It is very peaceful and quiet, lots of trees and flowers, a beautiful church right across the street. There are some really good dining options in Manteo (5miles away). would definitely go back!


Okay in Wanchese

3,6 su novembre 08, 2010

It was cold and damp. But the hostess was incredibly friendly and she made an outstanding breakfast.


Wonderful Weekdays in Wanchese

5 su ottobre 17, 2010

My husband and I spent 2 weekday nights at the Island House of Wanchese. It was a wonderful house to rest in from our daily trips to the outstanding sights of the Outer Banks. Our hostess was wonderful-great advice, fantastic breakfast, and charming conversationalist. The house is lovely with its antique furnishings. We highly recommend that you spend your nights and mornings there whenever you visit the Outer Banks of NC.


Very nice stay!

5 su gennaio 15, 2007

Jeanne and Roy were wonderful hosts and treated us like members of their extended family. Our room was great (my wife fell in love with the pink accents and the antique furniture), and the common rooms were filled with all sorts of intersting antiques. All in all, a very nice place to stay. Thanks!


Island House of Wanchese

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $120 - $190
  • Recensioni (41) 4,3
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2524735619
  • Gratuito 1-8882557561

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina