Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,3
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,4

Valore della struttura
141 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful place run by wonderful people

4,8 su ottobre 15, 2014

We're a German couple couple who were on a road trip with spontaneous travel destinations when we came across the town of New Bern in our travel guide. They recommended the Meadows Inn in the book, we checked the website and their availability and were able to reserve the Josephine room for the one night we wanted to stay. The house is really beautiful and the room breathtaking! I have to say that although it already looks nice on the photographs, they don't do it justice. It's very cosy and just about the perfect location to stay as a couple. Moreover, Betty and John were absolutely wonderful hosts. Since we were not fully determined as of where to go next, they helped us with tons of information, maps and other good advice. Sincerely highly recommended!


Fabulous hosts and excellent stay!

4,4 su settembre 08, 2014

My husband and I were greeted by the host. She made sure to give us the best recommendations for places to dine and entertainment. We never would have found the fabulous things to do in New Bern without her advice. Very comfortable bed, delicious food and would highly recommend this Inn to all looking to visit New Bern. Cons: The rooms were air conditioned, but the main house seemed to be on a higher temp, a little too warm out of the room.


Great weekend getta away!!

4,2 su settembre 03, 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay, this was our second visit and the innkeeper was very helpful and warm. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable, not hard like some we've experience, really had a great stay in a beautiful town, was in walking distance of several great restaurants, and historic sites....


Fantastic Breakfast!

4,2 su agosto 09, 2014

Private and quiet. Within walking distance of Downtown New Bern and the water! Gourmet breakfast, very sweet people. Will stay there again!


Family Reunion

4,4 su luglio 26, 2014

I grew up in NC and returned home to attend a family reunion. My siblings and I were looking for a place where we could spend quality time with each and and our families and have the closeness to enjoy each other without the restrictions found in a hotel setting. We rented the entire house and although John and Betty were gracious, something tells me that they when above and beyond the norm. Meadows Inn provided us with that and more. The house was immaculately clean and the rooms were in order and suited our purpose. Breakfast was great but I think we were all looking for the down home south breakfast that we were accustom to when going home to NC. Not a fault of John and Betty, as Betty did ask our preference before we arrived but assumption got in my way. If you are looking for a family gathering, this is the best place to achieve your desires.


Business Travel

5 su giugno 30, 2014

I stayed at this B&B for the 1st time on Thursday, June 26, 2014 while on business travels. John & Betty are amazing & provide great hospitality! The location is convenient to the historic downtown area. You are in very close walking distance (1 - 2 blocks) from a variety of restaurants, shops, & entertainment options! Also, you are the same distance from the water! A great escape even for the business traveler. I would strongly encourage anyone to stay here & enjoy rediscovering New Bern & what this beautiful B&B has to offer!


Delightful find

4,6 su giugno 25, 2014

On a last-minute whim decided to visit New Bern, NC over a weekend. Were very fortunate to find availability at the Meadows Inn B&B. Convenient to downtown historic district and restaurants. John and Betty were most accommodating! The Inn is beautiful, comfortable, quiet (even when full), and the breakfasts were delicious! We will certainly book with them on our next visit!


We had a wonderful stay & we will go back

5 su maggio 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay & have already told our friends about Meadows Inn.


Outstanding stay in New Bern.

5 su aprile 29, 2014

We were a group of 4 couples who travel somewhere every year. John and Betty were excellent hosts, looking out for our every need/want. I highly recommend Meadows Bed & Breakfast.


Historic Inn in the heart of New Bern.

4,8 su marzo 03, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Meadows Inn. Its a very historic Inn centrally located in the historic area of New Bern. So walking around the town is very convenient. The Inn has great rooms and lots of space. And the Inn keepers are very personable and accommodating.


Wonderful Valentine's Day weekend

5 su febbraio 25, 2014

My first experience in a B & B and I will do it again soon.


anniversary

4,8 su gennaio 16, 2014

we have stayed at other b&bs in the area and this is one of thee nicest!!! the room was beautiful, hospitality outstanding, and breakfast was deliscious!! I would highly recommend.


Ball Weekend

4,2 su novembre 01, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much, had wonderful hosts and plan on returning next year!


Nice Stay!

4,0 su ottobre 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night during Mums Fest last weekend. The inn keepers were very nice. Check in was quick and efficient. We were pleased with our room and very much enjoyed our stay.


A friendly place

3,8 su ottobre 11, 2013

We were pleased with our stay at the Meadows. The Innkeepers were very friendly an helpful during our short stay. The room was very comfortable and we are happy to recommend this as a great B&B.


Allen & Millicent Love The Meadows Inn

5 su settembre 30, 2013

A wonderful place to stay for rest and revitalization. This our favorite weekend getaway.


Excellent B&B Experience

5 su settembre 05, 2013

This was our first B&B Experience in New Bern. We were looking for a weekend getaway near the coast but not on the beach. Meadows Inn B&B is a fantastic, well kept historic home in down town New Bern within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and the harbor area. There was ample off-street parking. The inn keepers were very hospitable and helpful with suggestions and directions for restaurants and local attractions. We met several of the other guests and they were all friendly. It was truly a warm and comfortable home. Each morning we were served a gourmet breakfast with tea, coffee and juice at our convenience. Everywhere we went in New Burn we were welcomed by the locals. I highly recommend this B&B and the down-town area of New Bern to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend getaway.


New Bern NC, Who Knew

4,0 su agosto 11, 2013

This delightful, historic town in Eastern NC has good restaurants, a river walk and many available historic tours.


Nice but unremarkable stay

3,4 su agosto 10, 2013

We stayed at the Meadows Inn B&B for one night in mid-July as a stopover point on our way to the Crystal Coast. The second floor queen room we stayed in (the Oriental room) was attractive and comfortable, and the house is spacious throughout. The inn is also in a fabulous location, within walking distance of the historic downtown area and the waterfront. Another thing we appreciated was that the owners allow one-night stays on weekends, which most B&Bs do not, and a late check-in. Compared to other B&Bs, however, the breakfast was a bit disappointing in regards to portion size and creativity of food options. Breakfast dining times (8:30 or 9:00) were also close together and didn't encourage lingering or talking with others. Not nearly as many amenities were provided either (see tips below). Overall, it was a good stay but nothing remarkable compared to other B&Bs. Tips for this inn: bring your own alarm clock, make sure to bring your own toiletries (nice shampoo and soap provided but nothing more), and be sure to snag a mug from downstairs because no drinking glasses or cups are provided in room, even in the bathroom. Note: Same review posted on TripAdvisor.com for this property.

Risposta del proprietario
Response to “Nice but unremarkable stay” We like to take away something positive from any review of the Meadows Inn. After 13 years of meeting and greeting guests we apparently have become complacent in our check in procedure, as this review pointed out the miscommunication of the breakfast time. Our breakfast time is a set time for a hot entrée to come out of the oven, along with a fresh fruit cup & pastry. Thank you for calling attention to the lack of glasses in the room. That had been overlooked and we have provided glasses in the Oriental room. Alarm clocks are provided in the check in area for those guests traveling without the smart phone alarms. No need to snag a mug from the downstairs, as there are glasses next to the Culligan water cooler in the beverage station off of the check in area. We have been pleased with the Gilchrist & Soames toiletries we provide and find that most guests travel with their own personal preferences beyond soap & shampoo.


A relaxing and pleasant stay at Meadows Inn

4,8 su agosto 04, 2013

The Meadows Inn is a lovely home with period furnishings and modern comforts. Hospitality was present in the special touches furnished by our hosts. A guest refrigerator and coffee maker provided comforts of home and the carefully prepared breakfast was delicious. The Inn is conveniently located and we could walk to the New Bern downtown and to restaurants and to the waterfront. We enjoyed pleasant conversations with our hosts and the cozy back porch was just right for morning coffee and tea. We plan to return to the Meadows Inn soon..


Great Place to Stay in New Bern

5 su luglio 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here following our wedding reception. It's a great location -- not far from downtown or the water -- and the accommodations are fantastic. The owners were helpful from the start, and the room was perfect. There are hotels in the area, but with a place like this being no more expensive than a hotel (and in some cases, less expensive), why not stay here and enjoy the privacy and history? We were in a rush to get on the road the next day, so we didn't get to enjoy the food, but I rated it as outstanding because when we came downstairs, one of the owners was waiting to prepare our meal. You can't go wrong staying here.


Very Nice

3,4 su luglio 15, 2013

Our foom, hosts and other guests were very nice. We had a very pleasant stay.


Great Stay!

4,6 su luglio 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at another hotel in New Bern and had a horrible experience. I found the Meadows Inn at 1:00 am online and made a reservation. We arrived at the Meadows Inn the next day. Betty and John were wonderful. They were very welcoming. We stayed in the Monet room and it exceeded our expectations. I felt at home. The next morning, we had a homemade breakfast. I have dietary restrictions and they accommodated them with no problem. We will be back!


Anniversary Weekend

4,2 su giugno 27, 2013

John and Betty were great, always there to answer any questions and make suggestions. Breakfast each morning was delicious and the cookies, soft drinks and tea were a nice treat. We had a wonderful time and hope to visit again soon.


Friendly, Quiet, and Peaceful

4,2 su giugno 26, 2013

We had a great experience - location was perfect for Downtown New Bern shopping and dining. Innkeepers were friendly and very helpful!


Will stay there again if we are in the area

5 su giugno 12, 2013

Great B&B, we will stay there again if we are in the area. Rooms are spacious, clean and give a more at home feel than at a hotel. The owners were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was great. The only negative was that the wifi did not work in our room, had to go down to the common area to get service.


wonderful stay, beautiful. rooms.

4,4 su maggio 26, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay. Of note: awsome bakery 2 blocks from the place, opens at 6:30 on Sunday mornings. We are early risers, no starbucks within 30 minutes drive. Pack your own coffee, or hike it to the bakery, if you are up early like us. Owners were knowledgeable of local dining and recreation. Lovely couple.


Wonderful stay at the Meadows Inn :)

5 su maggio 24, 2013

The Meadows Inn is located in the perfect area in town. Easy walking to the water or to downtown with cute shops and delicious restaurants and coffee shops! The Inn itself is beautiful and charming and so are its owners. We were welcomed with cheese and crackers and wine and shown around the inn. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was like our own little apartment. Breakfast was amazing! You could stay here just for that reason alone but there are so many other reasons that make The Meadows in the perfect place to call home for however long you stay!


Friendly and well located

3,8 su maggio 20, 2013

The inn keepers were very accommodating: providing extra pillows when asked, helping to orient us to the town and picking up on our interests. The location of the inn couldn't be better. We were able to walk to all the sites and restaurants -even the farmer's market. We will definitely stay here again.


Very sweet with kind keepers

5 su maggio 20, 2013

Our wedding night stay was lovely. We stayed in the Josephine room, which was nicely decorated and spacious for a B and B. The bed was soft and the linens were especially nice. Breakfast was a delicious variety plate- cheese soufflé, fresh fruit, energy muffin, and breakfast style meatballs. It was not extra plush but it was all just right and quaint. The owner was kind and we had great conversation. Would highly recommend for a great experience in downtown New Bern.


Will return

4,0 su maggio 05, 2013

Wonderful night's sleep followed by a great breakfast.


Wonderful home cooked breakfast and cookies tastes and more than enough to eat

5 su maggio 01, 2013

We highly recommend this B&B. Personable ,knowledgable and friendly owners! Glenda & Brooke Green


Wonderful stay

4,6 su aprile 23, 2013

John & Betty were wonderful hosts. The building itself is beautiful, a nice historical building, and the rooms were well maintained and large. Breakfast was delicious, and I really appreciate the 24-availability of beverages such as tea. The fresh baked cookies at check-in were an added delight.


quiet and clean

4,6 su aprile 23, 2013

We stayed in the Monet room. It is very large with a king size bed. The air conditioning works very well. We both slept very well and didn't realize there were other guests until we went down for breakfast. Breakfast was very good. I loved the special attention given by both John and Betty. There was always coffee,water, and ice tea on hand. I would stay here again and recommend it highly.


Great stay

5 su aprile 14, 2013

Betty and John made our stay in New Bern fantastic. The accomadations were charming and warm just like our hosts. Thanks for a great time.


Will Return!

5 su marzo 30, 2013

Set up a weekend for us, my husband was coming home foe his Army leave and they had everything set, vow renewal, dinner, etc. Very friendly, nice room, softest sheets ever, and comfy room with books. One of the best things? No phone in room! Quiet area too.


Stay 3/15/13 to 3/17/13

4,4 su marzo 20, 2013

While the room was a little smaller than I expected, the hospitality of the innkeepers and the quality of the food exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend this B & B, and will stay there again.


Great B&B with a good location

5 su dicembre 03, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during my Marine Corps Ball. It is within walking distance to the New Bern Convention center and we always try to stay away from the chain hotels when possible. The B&B was clean and comfortable and the innkeeper was courteous and accommodating. The only odd thing we found were a few pictures/framed posters that were hung that were not period specific and seemed a little out of place. The rooms were large and my wife fell in love with the sheets. The morning breakfast was right on time and delicious. All in all I would stay here again.


Meadows Inn B&B

5 su novembre 19, 2012

The atmosphere of Meadows in was very wonderful. It felt like I was at home. The rooms were excellent and everything complimented itself. The B&B was full of it's own unique history, ranging from it's own town's history, to world wide history. The breakfast we were served was delicious and the inn keeper was very friendly, and made great conversation. I would recommend Meadows Inn to anybody coming to the area and looking for a B&B to stay at.


John and Donnas stay during hurricane Sandy

5 su novembre 03, 2012

Our stay was very pleasant with John and Betty. The weather was dreary due to hurricane Sandy but our colorful fresh fruit bowl every morning was sunshine to our day. Everyone else either cancelled there reservations or left early due to weather. We opted to stay and did not regret a moment. Love New Bern and hope to be back in December to see all the decorations.


Lovely home, walking distance to old town

3,8 su ottobre 31, 2012

My friend and I stayed for one night en route to Beaufort. The reservation and check-in were well done, with a very pleasant greeting from Victoria. We received good advice for where to have dinner and where to walk to see the sights. The room was spacious and welcoming, with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was a delicious cheese and vegetable egg pie, with home-made muffin, zucchini bread and cheesy grits (a corn porridge).


Excellent hospitality

4,4 su ottobre 05, 2012

We stayed at Meadows Inn B&B in New Bern in September 2012 and would recommend it. Betty and John are great hosts and give a warm welcome and looked after us well. Room was comfortable and well-appointed, and breakfasts were very good. Betty and John were very helpful with advice on places to eat and to visit, and with onward directions for our travel. Do not be put off by the outside appearance of the guest house, which belies its warm welcome.


Meadows Inn

4,0 su ottobre 04, 2012

Hosts are friendly and engaging. Food is delicious; they really make an effort in this area. Unfortunately, upon checking in on my second visit, there was a large, live roach in my bathtub. When I informed Mr. Foy, he removed it for me.


Delightful B&B in New Bern, NC

5 su ottobre 03, 2012

John and Betty were so nice and helpful and are wonderful cooks as well. This was our first B&B experience but it will not be our last. Our room with bath was clean and well decorated, the remainder of the home was so quaint and open for guests, and we met some really nice people during our stay. It was a great location where we could walk to everything. Much nicer than a hotel!


Meadows Inn B&B

5 su settembre 25, 2012

John and Betty were great! The inn is very relaxing and the breakfasts were incredible! They were very accomodating of my special dietary needs. I would definitely stay there again.


Belated Anniversary

5 su settembre 15, 2012

Not having time for celebration on the date of our anniversary, we decided to get a B&B while visiting relatives later. What a lovely B&B the Meadows Inn is. Our room was very comfortable, the location great and our hosts delightful. Breakfast was just delicious.


Home away from Home

5 su agosto 22, 2012

We have stayed at this B & B twice now and each time are amazed at the hospitality shown us during our stay. Food is wonderful and presented in such a sweet and professional way. Our Innkeepers are the best you can find anywhere. Always concerned about our welfare and enjoyment in their City. New Bern is a beautifully landscaped town with the small town feel and big hearted people. Thoroughly enjoyed both times there and would go back - no question.


Great place to stay when visiting historic downtown New Bern

5 su agosto 19, 2012

The innkeepers John and Betty were delightful. We were their only guests that weekend so we missed out on sharing the experience with others but it was nice to receive all the attention. The breakfast was excellent. The room was very large. Our only observation would be that since houses that age are not very energy efficient or designed for A/C each room has its own unit which worked well. However the weekend we were there it was terribly hot and humid and the unit was just barely able to keep up. We longed for a ceiling fan instead of the beautiful chandelier. But that just would not be appropriate for such a lovely room. Anyway, just an obsevation noted due to the extreme conditions and should not deter you from considering Meadows Inn. We would definately stay there again.


Wonderful hospitality, wonderful food!

4,4 su luglio 15, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Meadows Inn B&B and would definitely go back. I don't think our children will want to go to a traditional hotel from now on!


Nice but not very hospitable

3,6 su luglio 05, 2012

The accomodations were lovely as well as the carriage ride. The restaurant was EXCELLENT especially the service,they were so nice! But the innkeeper was not the most outgoing in the world as we only saw her twice: when we checked in and out


Great Place to stay in New Bern

4,6 su giugno 27, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay right in the heart of old New Bern.


New Bern B&B

3,2 su giugno 20, 2012

Very convenient for Downtown New Bern, close to the waterfront and key routes for the local sightseeing. Lovely hospitality - tea and cookies always available!


Nice place to stay in downtown New Bern

3,2 su giugno 20, 2012

Stayed at Meadows Inn to take my 11 year old daughter to camp the following day. The owners were very nice and the old home was very clean and welcoming. They served wine and cheese at the five o'clock hour, and had water, tea and Pepsi (of course!) on hand. We stayed in the Oriental room which was nice - mattress a little hard, but not awful. The only thing that wasn't optimal was that there was no coffee until about 7:30 on Sunday morning, but I suppose most people sleep late. The owners were friendly and helpful about all things New Bern. We enjoyed being there. It's an older home with nice furnishings, but nothing over-fancy - a good value for the price I think.


Weekend Getaway!

3,4 su giugno 12, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at Meadows Inn. I had only planned to stay one night but ended up staying for two. The owners John and Betty were very and loving and made me feel right at home. The thing I loved the most about staying at Meadows Inn was that it was close to everything. I rode my bike everywhere I went,attended a movie in the park and also was able to attend one of the local churches on Sunday. I must say that I've never visited a town more friendly than New Bern! I traveled alone for the first time and to my surprise I felt safe and cared for. Thanks for making my weekend getaway a success!


A great stay

4,8 su maggio 19, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 nights at Meadows quite a bit. We have stayed at many B&Bs. This was in the upper 20%, but was less expensive than many others. Thus it is tops for value. The breakfast was quite good, but not outstanding. We loved the Josephine room. It is larger than the pictures hint at. Our hosts were quite amiable and informative and had excellent local information. We would definitely recommend it to friends.


Great place to stay!

5 su maggio 16, 2012

The Meadows Inn B & B is a wonderful place to stay. The owner's are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are lovely and comfortable. The breakfast food is OUTSTANDING too. Finally, the Inn is in a perfect location! It's very near the water, a house or two from Front St., so the breeze from the river wafts up to the house. A deli is next door and the busy center of the historical district, Middle St., is a couple of blocks straight up. When you park your car in the back of the Inn, it will remain there, as it should. New Bern is for walking and the Meadows Inn is perfectly set along the trail!


Home away from home

5 su maggio 07, 2012

Casual, comfortable, clean, excellent owners, quiet, walking distance to downtown restaurants & shopping.


Charming inn - great hosts!

3,6 su maggio 06, 2012

A lovely old home with very friendly, welcoming hosts. Breakfasts were perfect in presentation and taste. Would certainly make a return visit.


Charming place

5 su aprile 11, 2012

Great location, walk to everything. Very short distance to the water. Owners were very gracious and friendly.


Wonderful Experience

4,2 su marzo 08, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniversary in New Bern at the Meadows Inn. Our inn-keepers made the experience a memorable one. I would highly recommend.


Our Anniversary Weekend

5 su febbraio 22, 2012

We received a B&B Gift Certificate from our Daughter for Christmas and decided to use it for a weekend away for our Anniversary. This was the first time we have ever stayed in a B&B and really did not know what to expect. John & Betty welcomed us into their home and we had a great weekend. I picked the Meadows Inn because it had a downstairs bedroom and since I have stayed there I am not interested in staying anywhere else should be return to New Bern, which I hope to do. The town & homes are beautiful.


Always stay here when we visit New Bern

5 su febbraio 20, 2012

We visit New Bern several times each year and always stay at Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast. Would recommend it to anyone!


Romantic Getaway at Meadows Inn

5 su febbraio 17, 2012

My husband and I decided to have a special night to celebrate our 15 years together. We had a romantic ride in a horse and carriage, a wonderful dinner at a restaurant where our hosts had already booked us a table and came back to dessert waiting for us at our room! We had an awesome time in New Bern and loved our stay at the Meadows Inn. We will be staying again with the rest of our family next time!


B&B Enthusiasts

4,6 su dicembre 26, 2011

Great Hosts; Great Historic House; Great Location for a revisit to Tryon Palace after 20 years


Good place to stay, the only place I'll stay in New Bern

5 su novembre 29, 2011

John and Betty are always courteous and professional. The house and rooms are clean and welcoming. This is THE ONLY place that I will stay in New Bern.


Frequent B&B Stayer

3,2 su ottobre 19, 2011

Chose The Meadows in for location. You could walk to just about anywhere in downtown New Bern. Inn Keepers were very friendly. Would stay there again.


Wonderful Experience

5 su settembre 10, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic three days and nights in New Bern where we stayed at Meadows Inn Bed and Breakfast. Meadows Inn is one of the best B&B's that we have experienced. It is exceptionally clean--the health department rated the kitchen 100%. The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. The host and hostess were very helpful and have included all of the amenities that one could expect. I especially enjoyed having access to hot water and tea anytime that I wanted and a refrigerator for things we wanted to keep cold. Breakfast was always delicious and healthy. We have stayed in many bed and breakfast inns both in the United States and abroad. Few of them equal, and none exceed Meadows Inn. Whether you want to explore the delightful area of North Carolina or just kick back an relax, Meadows Inn is the perfect place to stay. Thank you, Betty and John.


A very nice and comfortable place to stay.

5 su luglio 22, 2011

Food was delicious, room was comfortable, and John and Betty were excellent hosts. Kathy Olsen


Meadows Inn is lovely!

4,2 su luglio 19, 2011

The oldest B&B in New Bern, this place is full of charm and history. John and Betty are nice as they could be, and extremely helpful without being overbearing in the slightest. Super yummy breakfast!


Meadows Inn

4,6 su luglio 18, 2011

Meadows Inn was very quaint. I plan to stay there again if in the New Bern area.


A New Bern 4th!!!

4,0 su luglio 11, 2011

Decided to stay in New Bern for a July 4th family reunion... Thoroughly enjoyed Tryon Palace and Historic New Bern.


Meadows Inn

3,2 su luglio 03, 2011

Granny's Attic suited our needs very well as I was traveling with my father and two children and needed space. This area had it's own air conditioning we could control so our area was very comfortable. However, the rest of the house was very warm, even the dining area. It must be said that we were visiting in June and the weather was unusually hot. The innkeepers were extremely friendly and hospitable.


Enjoyable and relaxing visit

4,6 su giugno 20, 2011

We really enjoyed being close to the water, the restaurants and Tryon Palace. Having coffee on the front porch was wonderful and John and Betty were perfect hosts. I highly recommend it for a relaxing visit.


Meadow's Inn is THE place to stay!

5 su giugno 12, 2011

The owners are wonderful hosts and eager to help guests find their way around New Bern. Meadows Inn is charming and comfortable. I can't imagine staying at a hotel when such a place is an option. By all means stay here!


Comfortable and well-run B&B in great location

4,4 su maggio 20, 2011

Meadows Inn is a home away from home in New Bern. John and Betty are friendly and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. The Inn is lovely, and we particularly appreciated the refrigerator space for our wine, etc. The Meadows Inn is walking distance from everything, and a good choice for your visit to this pretty town.


New Bern

5 su maggio 10, 2011

I spent a wonderful night at the Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast - The house was cozy and warm and very clean. I felt at home and Betty the owner was so accommodating and nice I never wanted to leave. Looking forward to my next stay.


Friendly and helpful

3,8 su aprile 25, 2011

The hosts offered umbrellas, shopping and restaurant tips and genuinely wanted to make our stay pleasant. All day tea and cold drinks is a nice touch. Room was pleasant and clean, with flat screen TV discreetly on top of armoir but easy to view from bed. We enjoyed our stay.


Pleasant stay

4,0 su aprile 06, 2011

We stayed in "Grandma's Attic" which is the 3rd floor. You have the whole floor to yourself. It was very quiet and pleasant and the innkeepers are very knowledgeable about the restaurants and interesting things to do. They recommended the Harvey House Restaurant and had a menu that we could look at for the early bird specials. It was beautiful at the restuarant but I felt a little underdressed in the jeans I had on so dress pants would be recommended if you go. The only thing about our experience at Meadows Inn that I didn't rate as exceeded my expectation was the breakfast as it had pancakes and a muffin (double carb) with bacon and a fruit-I would have preferred some eggs or something else other than the double carb-but the food was delicious none the less.


Wonderful stay

3,8 su marzo 30, 2011

Betty and John take real pride in their establishment and the satisfaction of their guests. A beautiful antebellum B&B on a quiet street close to all historical sites.


Nice hosts, delicious breakfast, charming town for walking

3,8 su marzo 15, 2011

John and Betty are lovely hosts and the location of the inn is perfect for a visit to New Bern. Whether you're attending an event at the convention center or just sightseeing, shopping or dining, this is an ideal starting-off spot. Enjoyed dining at Morgan's and loved the breakfast at Meadows Inn.


meadows inn review

5 su marzo 09, 2011

great room, very clean historic & quiet atmosphere, wonderful breakfast every morning, very polite & helpful staff


Title

2,8 su marzo 06, 2011

A little pricey, but a nice place to stay. Could not ask for nicer hosts.


New Bern Meadows Inn

4,6 su marzo 01, 2011

New Bern is a wonderful town to stay in. Meadows Inn was all I thought it would be. It was so nice to have dessert be in the room when we got back from our night out. I paid for the making memories package. It was my husband's 50th birthday and Valentine's Day Weekend. Will be back. Sheila Sanford, NC


Valentine Weekend 2011

4,0 su febbraio 17, 2011

My wife and I enjoyrd s very comfortable stay at the Meadows. The Ireland room is cozy and very quiet. The owners are gracious hosts, they made us feel welcome. Breakfast was good.


New Year

4,4 su gennaio 10, 2011

We loved our stay at The Meadows. The owners went that extra step to make sure we enjoyed our stay. They told us about the surrounding areas and different things we could do within walking distance. The Inn was quite charming in a historical way. We look forward to going again.


Elopement

5 su dicembre 06, 2010

The Meadows Inn was charming with all the historic features intact. My husband and I eloped and were married at the Meadows Inn, the owners went above and beyond with all the arrangements. We were very happy with the B&B experience.


Meadows Inn

4,0 su novembre 28, 2010

What a wonderful time at the Meadows! Though the inn was full, I did not hear the other guests. The breakfast was delicious, well-balanced & convenient. The owners are very hospitable. Great location & terrific stay.


A charming site in a charming city

4,2 su novembre 21, 2010

We stayed one night at the Inn while we were in town for the 235th Marine Corps Birthday Ball at the the New Bern Convention Center. The location was situated perfectly in the historic downtown area and was within walking distance of many different eateries and shops, as well as the Saturday Farmer's Market. The innkeepers were very hospitable but gave us our privacy as well. The included breakfast was simple yet tasty. My husband and I will definitely return when we are in town again.


Great Weekend Getaway

4,4 su novembre 14, 2010

Our party of six had a fantastic time at Meadows Inn. John and Betty were helpful, friendly and accommodating. They hosted a Murder Mystery weekend for our group that went off flawlessly. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast satisfying and filling. Thanks Betty and John!


First time stay at a Bed & Breakfast - Very Relaxing

4,2 su novembre 03, 2010

Meadows Inn was mine and my girlfriend's first experience at a Bed and Breakfast. We absolutely loved it! John and Betty were VERY hospitable, very personable and very helpful to us finding whatever we needed in town. The breakfast served in the morning was REALLY good with nice conversation with the other guests that were staying there. The rooms were very charming and comfortable! The location was perfect and close to all of the shops, restaurants and historical sites in New Bern. We would recommend the Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast to anyone who wants to get away for a quiet weekend and tour the 2nd oldest city in North Carolina. Very educational trip! We were hesitant on New Bern, but not anymore.......it's definately a place to see!


A Birthday Treat

4,0 su ottobre 24, 2010

It was a lovely overnight for a birthday - and we live in New Bern. If you are a tea fan, they have a very nice selection of loose and bagged tea available 24/7. John and Betty Foye, the proprietors, are terrific.


A wonderful stay, thank you!

5 su ottobre 03, 2010

I stayed in this B&B for three nights and I felt like at home. John and Betty, innkeepers, are wonderful people. My room was beautiful, quiet and very clean. What can I say about breakfast? Delicious entrees, very good service. The location is perfect. If you wish to visit New Bern or travel for business, this is the right place to stay.


300th Anniversary Weekend Stay

4,0 su settembre 21, 2010

The hospitality and warmth of John and Betty Foy made this a perfect Friday night's get-away. Their ability to accommodate a late arrival and provide accurate information regarding travel simplified the entire process. If you're looking for a great place to stay in a special town then The Meadows is just the place for you.


Very Highly Recommended

5 su settembre 20, 2010

I have stayed in this wonderful Inn several times in the last 6 years. I have always found it to be a wonderful experience. Wonderful mansion in excellent condition located downtown withing strolling distance of all of the shops and restaurants. The innkeepers are warm, skilled, and attentive. Fantastic food as well - I very highly recommend it!


Great Get Away stay

4,4 su agosto 23, 2010

The rooms were excellent. The location PERFECT for seeing the sights, walking to shops and excellent dining. It is also a short walk to the the Riverwalk. Breakfast was wonderful and different on each of our 3 mornings. The Innkeepers were friendly and inviting. Most relaxing long weekend visit and will reccomend to friends. Thank you.


Fun stayover

4,6 su luglio 18, 2010

What a fabulous fine in New Bern. We stayed overnight on our drive out to the Outer Banks. Not only was the B&B close to the water but it was close to the town allowing for the perfect walking tour of New Bern. Our stay was hassle free, the room was quaint and clean, and the breakfast was superb (say yes to the muffins!). If you are looking for a wonderful B&B to stay at - we recommend the Meadows Inn. The Hosts are as charming as the house!


A great place to stay

4,8 su giugno 13, 2010

The innkeepers were extremely friendly and provided a comfortable stay for us. We were the only ones staying at the inn the night that we stayed and we felt very cared for. We also booked the package to have dinner and a carriage ride with dessert waiting for us on our return. The carriage called to say they would be late and the innkeepers made sure that we were aware of the change. They also changed our dinner reservations to match the new pick-up time of the carriage. The restaurant was wonderful and the dessert after dinner was delicious. We would definitely recommend Meadows Inn!


Saturday night stay

3,8 su giugno 04, 2010

The innkeepers were nice and gave us tips on where to eat. The room was very clean and elegant. The inn is located just a block or so from the quaint downtown and the riverfront.


Musty and Stuffy

2,8 su aprile 30, 2010

The inn keepers are nice, but I would guess they don't live in Meadows Inn but open it when guests arrive. As a result, the house smells musty and stuffy. In fact, we could not spend the night there because of the bad smell and our allergic reactions to it. Although the two if us didn't use any of the facilities, they charged us anyway. I can't say how the breakfast was.

Risposta del proprietario
After 10 years of Innkeeping we have determined to take something positive from this negative review. We have initiated addressing not only food allergies, but environmental allergies with the reservation process, instead of with the check in. Having decided that, the issue at hand could have been handled with a very different outcome, had we been allowed to do so the day of April 10. A note was left on the check in desk by these guests, where a cell # is always posted where we can be reached. On April 10, we were in the neighborhood enjoying the Spring Historic Homes tour, that we assumed our guests were doing the same after we accommodated an early check in. A complimentary return stay was offered via email.


New Bern Firs Night Celebration Respite

4,4 su gennaio 03, 2010

I live in New Bern and have relatives that frequent the B&B's on Pollock St (as do I on occasion) but I hadn't had any first (or second) hand experience with the Meadows Inn before new years eve 2009. The nice folks over at the Howard House were full so they recommended the Meadows and I'm really glad they did. We checked in and walked the short block over to the Stanley Hall Cafe for a wonderful dinner with several of our friends and took in the entertainment offered for New Bern's First Night celebration on their 300th anniversary this year. The room was great and so was breakfast. One of the best things was that the inn has a gathering room on the first floor that we used twice that night to meet with friends briefly between events, it was great! Betsy and John were really nice and very knowledgeable too. My wife wants to make another weekend of it down town again some time and the Meadows will likely be the place. Oh, they have ice available too for those of you toting a martini set....


Superb

5 su novembre 25, 2009

Hosted luncheon and afternoon meeting at Inn. Meeting rom was very nicely decorated, excellent lunch and dessert, superb facility and staff.


Fantastic experience

5 su novembre 18, 2009

A friend and I happened upon the Meadow's Inn by chance after arriving in New Bern around 7pm. The Innkeeper, John, left what he was doing to let us into a room that was discounted with last minute prices. The Inn itself is a beautiful ante bellum house just one block away from the best restaurants, the home of Pepsi, the best shops and the river. The room we had contained two comfortable beds and, being on the top floor, had a quaint charm with sloping ceilings and floors. We were surprised by a delicious breakfast in the morning and enjoyed a good morning yarn with John, Betty and other guests over the meal. I don't see how you could go wrong with this B&B.


Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast

5 su settembre 23, 2009

Like staying at home. Very hospitable and friendly. Great breakfast. Will be back again.


Gourmet Breakfast

4,8 su settembre 21, 2009

We have stayed at many B and B's, Meadows Inn served the two most outstanding breakfasts in our memory. Our inn keepers were very knowledgeable about New Bern NC and coastal NC in general.


Visit to New Bern, NC B&B

4,4 su aprile 22, 2009

Wonderful stay in a lovely home in the historic distric. the Foy family made sure I was comfortable, wonderful breakfast! I highly recommend Meadows Inn.


very clean

4,2 su aprile 17, 2009

Close to tourist area. Innkeepers were very helpful.


Home at last!

4,2 su aprile 15, 2009

The lure of historic New Bern, NC has lured us for many weekend getaways. The Meadows Inn has simply lured us for many more! The homemade breakfasts are wonderful. the stuffed French toast is wonderful. It's a great retreat. Kind of like going home, but better!


Great winter retreat

4,6 su marzo 03, 2009

We stayed at the inn for a winter weekend getaway and had a delightful time. Winter in New Bern is very mild and all the historic sites and restaurants are within walking distance. The innkeepers were terrific, the food delicious, and the charming inn was a warm retreat.


Perfect Getaway

4,8 su dicembre 02, 2008

The innkeepers made us feel as welcome as family members (with the added privacy family doesn't allow). They truly made my husbands 40th birthday beyond expectations! The Josephine Suite was one of the most romantic rooms we have seen. Our friends and family stayed in "Grandma's Attic" and were equally impressed. I enjoyed myself so much that I suggested it to friends who went the following week. They were equally thrilled! Kudos to John and Betty for their wonderful hospitality and beautiful Inn!


peaceful, beautiful, fun, and clean!

4,8 su novembre 05, 2008

The Meadows Inn was such an escape. Very clean with excellent innkeepers who were so helpful and kind. It is a beautiful home one block from the water in walking distance from great restaurants and things to do. We highly recommend this beautiful inn by the sea!!


none

3,8 su novembre 04, 2008

Innkeepers were very helpful and informative. The inn was located near all attractions and many restaurants. We enjoyed our say and look forward to returning for a longer visit.


Nice

3,0 su ottobre 15, 2008

Great location - well organized, comfortable.


Meadows Inn...New Bern's "Gem"

5 su ottobre 10, 2008

Very comfortable & pleasant stay at the Meadows Inn. The innkeepers were lovely & welcoming. The inn itself took you back to another time & place in history. Extremely convenient location & in walking distance of other historic sites downtown & near the river.


Meadows Inn

3,6 su settembre 25, 2008

John & Betty were extremely helpful in getting us acquainted with New Bern. It was like we were visiting friends.


1ST TIME B&B VISITOR

4,0 su settembre 04, 2008

From the initial phone call to me to introduce the Innkeeper and ask if I had any questions, I was very impressed. Everything was more than I expected. From check-in, directions, secure parking, service, restaurant suggestions and much more the entire weekend was just what was needed. Great location in walking distance of everything. We enjoyed the introduction of new folks at breakfast and discussing what everyone was doing and where they were from. A very pleasant experience and without any hesitations would recommend the B&B to anyone.


Special B&B

4,4 su agosto 09, 2008

You really never know until you go with a reservation made on line so we're happy to share that Meadows Inn in New Bern can be relied upon to be everything it says it will be. Each room is different and special (some roomier than others so ask if that makes a difference to you). The Inn Keepers are friendly, hospitable and helpful and yet realize you are there to enjoy special time with family or friends and give you that free reign to feel at home and come and go with ease. Breakfast is freshly made each day. If there is something in particular you don't care for they ask about dietary restrictions on check in - mention it then since it is not buffet style. Cold beverages and ice are available throughout the day. Its in the center of the historic area and we walked to shops and food and the riverwalk. The Inn folk were helpful about places to see and offer suggestions. We could have used another day at least but we thoroughly enjoyed our time.


Ten stars for Meadow's Inn

5 su luglio 25, 2008

We have been making a yearly trip to this inn for over 20 years. the present innkeepers are so very good at making you feel welcome and well cared for. Their breakfasts are varied and delicious. The made fresh cookes are always welcome! Ten stars!!!


Holiday Weekend

4,2 su luglio 25, 2008

We spent 4th of July in New Bern with a great fireworks show over the Neuse River. Meadows Inn was convenient, very accomodating and homey. asual breakfast was filling and delicious. Amenities were plentiful. A very relaxing trip.


First Day of Summer

4,4 su luglio 21, 2008

We had a wonderful time. The food was great. There was plenty of room. We enjoyed the back porch as much as the room.


Relaxing night

5 su luglio 05, 2008

Beautiful room, comfortable bed, quiet night of rest along with lovely innkeepers. I could ask for no more.


Meadows Inn

3,8 su luglio 02, 2008

Lovely home - lots of great antiques. The music room was just as pictured


Inner banks cycling adventure

5 su giugno 20, 2008

Our group of 4 were greeted and hosted warmly by John and Betty Foy, the innkeepers. Everything was 5 star! They helped us with our special cycling needs and even prepared muffins for the road! Hats off to John and Betty.


Great facility and service!

5 su giugno 19, 2008

We stayed for a total of three nights during a cycling vacation - the place is very nicely appointed and the owner/operators very friendly. The food was great!


The Gem of New Bern

5 su giugno 18, 2008

The most gracious innkeepers, rooms were clean and well appointed, and New Bern is a lovely, FREINDLY, and walkable city.


Great Weekend Stay

3,4 su giugno 16, 2008

We had a very nice experience at Meadows Inn. Conveniently located, clean and comfortable accomodations, a great weekend stay! We stayed in the Notre Dame room and would recommend to friends for a long weekend in New Bern.


girls getaway

3,4 su giugno 13, 2008

we stayed in granny's attic, it worked out perfect for the 4 of ous. great fun!


Very Accomodating!

4,4 su giugno 09, 2008

The owners were kind enough to find us a room. We were stranded after missing our flight do to bad weather. Nicely made breakfast. Great experience!


Loved the Inn, Foys & Location

4,4 su giugno 05, 2008

We had a delightful visit and enjoyed talking to the Foys and other guests. Great location for walking around town. Loved our room and the common area. We were made to feel very much at home. Highly recommend this inn!


Meadows Inn B&B

5 su giugno 03, 2008

Shall Return!


Simply the best

5 su aprile 23, 2008

A wonderful visit to a beautiful town. The Meadows Inn exceeded expectations and treated us as royalty.


Granny's Attic A Perfect Getaway

5 su aprile 22, 2008

We had the entire third floor to ourselves. We walked about 36 steps to get to the third floor. The Granny's Attic is great for a large family-type group (Parents and Kids or relatives) in that there are three seperate rooms within the same hallway and directly across from each other. All three rooms share one bathroom. The master bedroom has it's own entrance to the bathroom. The other rooms enter from the hallway. Betty actually irons her linens! What a comforting treat - Thanks Betty! John was very helpful with directions. We were traveling from the north and John called us on our way to save us some travel time. He shared with us information about the new I-795 which eliminated about 20-30 minutes of travel time. Although Meadows Inn claims to have no Internet access, I was able to connect to Internet access from a nearby B&B. Breakfast was delicious each morning. Our breakfast usually consisted of orange juice and coffee or tea, an egg-type serving (egg souffle, egg casserole, etc.), and muffin or home baked bread. They even cater to specific dietary needs. If you have a chance, please give The Meadows a try. You will not be disappointed. John & Betty really do make you feel like part of their family, from the family decorations to the socializing and overall southern hospitality.

Risposta del proprietario
We appreciate the gracious review but would like to correct the information regarding internet access. The Inn does have wireless internet access but the reception on the third floor is not as strong as the signal from the building next door. Thank you.


Lovely B & B

4,8 su aprile 08, 2008

Our stay at the Meadows Inn was absolutely delightful and extremely comfortable. John and Betty Foy are excellent hosts and made us feel completely at home. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in New Bern.


Meadows Inn

4,2 su febbraio 20, 2008

We visited New Bern for a winter getaway. John and Betty were very helpful and knowlegable about the historic sites nearby. Breakfasts were wonderful and right on time. Our stay was very pleasant.


The Inn was ours

5 su gennaio 24, 2008

We had the run of the house during our visit we entertained in the parlor. The meadows was like our own home.


WONDERFUL!!

5 su dicembre 09, 2007

We have stayed at Meadows Inn MANY times and it is because of John and Betty Foy! The atmosphere and food are wonderful!! Very relaxing and peaceful inn. Cannot say enough good about this inn and the inn keepers!!


Everything It Should be - and MORE!

5 su dicembre 03, 2007

If you are looking for a a Bed and Breakfast that epitomizes the charm and relaxation of New Bern, please consider the Meadows Inn! John and Betty Foy really understand how to take care of their guests from "behind the scenes." Everything that you could need is at your fingertips - from lovely teas, coffee, cocoas and freshly baked pastries - to freshly ironed sheets, down comforters, and extra fluffy towels. The morning coffeepot miraculously seems to refill itself and Betty's beautiful hot breakfasts with seasonal fresh fruit are out of this world! (She really needs to write a B&B cookbook!!) The Inn is on "Bed and Breakfast Row" - an easy walk past other beautiful Victorian mansions to either the waterfront or to the unique shops and restaurants in Downtown New Bern. (Be sure to check out Mitchell's Hardware!) It really isn't necessary to use your car at all during your stay! Because our stay was during the holiday season, horse-drawn carriages clip-clopped past, offering tours of the downtown area. We remarked several times that we felt as though we had stepped inside of a Dickens Christmas Village postcard. We couldn't have been more delighted with our romantic 2 night stay. This is going to be our new "tradition" for kicking off our holiday season - a special gift "to ourselves." Thank you John and Betty!


Wonderful Inn

4,8 su ottobre 23, 2007

This inn was very quiet. With its beautiful breakfast room to the four-poster bed in our room. The innkeepers are very pleasant and go beyond!


Pleasant Stay

4,4 su ottobre 22, 2007

Loved the innkeepers and had a very pleasant experience. Thanks for all the helpful information.


My Stay

5 su settembre 18, 2007

My second stay here was as delightful as the first. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in New Bern!


My favorite B&B

4,4 su settembre 14, 2007

What an enjoyable and relaxing stay! The room was serene and attractive. The hospitality and breakfast served was a delight.


What a wonderful experience

5 su luglio 04, 2007

The Meadows is the absolute best. John and Betty Foy are wonderful people. They make you stay so enjoyable and are very helpful with planning and accommodating events and visits from family. We were married there and the Foys made this a most memorable experience.


Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $92 - $156
  • Recensioni (141) 4,5
  • Camere 8
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2526341776
  • Gratuito 1-8775511776

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina