Aerie Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
116 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Shaw's Visit to New Bern

5 su aprile 11, 2014

The Aerie Bed and Breakfast was lovely. The owners, Michael and Marty Gunhus, were extremely friendly and knew so much about the history of New Bern. They provided excellent restaurant recommendations and made reservations for us, which allowed us to get the best tables. They also had the BEST breakfasts we have ever had at any bed and breakfast. They provided three outstanding choices, a cleverly worded menu and beautiful presentation. The pancakes are not to be missed!! Dave and Denise Shaw


Quiet southern elegance

5 su aprile 08, 2014

Charming, relaxing and very pampered with a gourmet breakfast and a delightful evening social time. The best location in town to walk to everything. The innkeepers anticipate your needs and have everything you could possible want! Looking forward to trying other rooms and taking their personalized tour of the town on our next visit.


High Recommend

5 su marzo 26, 2014

The Aerie Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to stay in New Bern. Marty and Michael Gunhus are excellent hosts. The Aerie is well-situated for touring and dining, the rooms are beautifully decorated, wine and cheese is served in the afternoon, breakfast is delicious. A tour in Michael's Model A Ford is definitely a must-do. These folks have absolutely thought of everything to make your stay memorable.


Absolutely Amazing

5 su febbraio 08, 2014

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at a B&B and it was absolutely amazing. The Aerie is definitely a keeper and we will be back.


Our Charles Dickens Christmas

5 su gennaio 01, 2014

It was like stepping back in time. The inn was beautifully decorated and each morning we had a spectacular made to order breakfast. Would recommend the Aerie B and B 100%. Tom and Marianne


Aerie Bed and Breakfast

5 su dicembre 18, 2013

Michael & Marty are wonderful Innkeepers. Our room was large and well appointed. The breakfast meals were excellent. We were looking to staying with them next spring.


Mind Blowing Excellence

4,6 su dicembre 11, 2013

What a comfortable aura from the moment of entry until checkout!


Fantastic!

5 su ottobre 30, 2013

These people really have it down to a science! The home is beautiful and their knowledge of how to run a BnB is top-notch. Their recommendations (dining, site-seeing, etc) are spot on. Our room was lovely...and the bed was more than wonderful! Location is great as well. Breakfasts were delicious and the experience is one you'll never forget. Would definitely recommend, and stay there again!


Wonderful B&B

4,8 su ottobre 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from two nights here. The location in New Bern can't be beat. The hosts, Michael and Marty, made us feel very welcome. Service is matchless and breakfast delicious. Hope to go back again...


Mother/Daughter retreat

5 su ottobre 29, 2013

My 23 year old daughter and I so enjoyed our stay at the Aerie. We loved it! This was only the second time I'd stayed in a B&B. If you've never done this, and are thinking about it...I want to encourage you to visit the Airie for a wonderful experience.


Wonderful

5 su ottobre 16, 2013

My wife and I went for our anniversary to our first b&b and it was great. Mike,Marty and Banjo were magnificent host. The food was great and they made us feel special. Go and see for yourself.


Amazing

4,6 su ottobre 15, 2013

This was my first time spending couple of days at the Aerie or in any bed and breakfast, and the experience was just amazing. Michael and Marty and all the other ladies were just wonderful and very nice. The bedroom was roomy and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and different every morning. Me and my husband will definitely will come back and will recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast to all of our friends and family.


PERFECT

4,4 su ottobre 15, 2013

If you want a wonderful stay in New Bern, Aerie ids the place..Located within walking distance of all historical spots and restaurants. All the rooms are wonderful, the breakfast was more than we could intake..Marty and Michael were perfect hosts.. If you want to stay in New Bern, this is the place!


Very nice all around

5 su ottobre 15, 2013

Enjoyed staying here very much. Great house and great location and excellent service. This is also a most GLBT friendly B&B.


Wonderful B & B!

5 su ottobre 02, 2013

Beautiful room, Michael and Marty were excellent innkeepers....suggested a wonderful place to eat dinner....absolutely delicious breakfast!!


Incredible Bed and Breakfast!!!!

5 su settembre 29, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Aerie Inn. Marty and Michael are amazing inn keepers. The place is beautiful. The hospitality is very welcoming, for the moment you step in the Inn, as they help you with maps and brochures of local sites to the amazing breakfasts that Marty creates! They also have a social hour in the evening to meet other guest and help us with the Dinner reservations at one of the great restaurants in the town of New Bern. Location is perfect, walking distance to everything from historical sites to shopping and dining. We enjoyed every moment of our stay in New Bern and the Aerie Inn. Anita from Texas


Very pleasant and restful experience.

4,2 su settembre 13, 2013

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the Aerie B&B in September and have recommended the inn to several other couples already. The owners were very friendly and congenial, and we were pleased that they took the time to visit with us during afternoon refreshments. The gourmet breakfasts were out-of-this-world delicious! It is worth the stay just to have the breakfast! We would definitely return to the Aerie if we go back to New Bern.


Very Nice

4,8 su settembre 11, 2013

Enjoyed our stay


Finest of B & B's

5 su settembre 08, 2013

The Aerie far exceeds any bed and breakfasts we have stayed in. The quality, value and commitment were superb. Cannot say enough about the hospitality or phenomenal breakfasts. True dedication was a given here. Highly highly recommend!


Will stay here again.

4,8 su settembre 07, 2013

Very friendly and engaging hosts. Loved the little 4 legged greeter. A nice touch was the greeting card in the room; it's a keeper. Restaurant recommendation was excellent. Definitely recommend the Aerie and would (will) stay there again.


Outstanding!

5 su settembre 04, 2013

We had reserved the Doubletree for a business trip - we only stayed one night because it was awful! Luckily, Marty had a room for us and totally saved our trip. I would recommended The Aerie to anyone visiting New Bern or the surrounding area.


Excelent stay at the Aerie B & B

4,8 su settembre 01, 2013

Our stay at the Aerie was wonderful. A beautiful restoration of a classic Victorian house created a special ambiance the was complimented by excellent accommodations, superb breakfasts and genuine hospitality from the owners.


What a wonderful experience!

5 su agosto 24, 2013

This was our first time to stay at a Bed and Breakfast and we did it because our daughter had given us a BedandBreakfast gift card as a gift last year. Now we know what all the excitement is about! Marty and Michael made us feel right at home from the very first moment, and it kept getting better as we stayed our two days. The house was lovely, the location was excellent, our room was very comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious.


1st Anniversary

4,8 su agosto 23, 2013

My husband and I recently visited the Aerie to celebrate our first anniversary. This B&B was absolutely beautiful and exceeded our expectations. The food was amazing and the service was unbeatable.


Amazing!

5 su agosto 19, 2013

The house was beautiful,our room was amazing, the breakfast was incredible and Michael and Marty were so warm and welcoming. My husband and I had a wondertime time.


Recommend the Aerie to friends and family

5 su agosto 13, 2013

Our stay was amazing! The Magnolia Room was the perfect choice for us, comfortable, clean, and so beautiful. Marty and Michael were so warm and friendly, inviting us into their lovely home as though we were family. The unexpected surprise was the delicious, freshly made 3 course breakfast served in the elegantly set dining room in the morning. Our stay was a Christmas gift from one of our daughters. We are native New Bernians; the Aerie is only 3 miles from our house; yet, while we were there, we felt as if we were on a relaxing vacation! Just yesterday, a friend in Wilmington said they are planning to visit New Bern for a week or so; I told her they have to stay at the Aerie, it's a destination in itself. The next time we need a break from the day-to-day, we'll make the short drive back to the 1890 charm of the Aerie and her gracious hosts, Marty and Michael. Thank you, Melissa! Rick and Anne Hopkins


A place you can call home

5 su agosto 09, 2013

There are only wonderful words that can be used to describe The Aerie. It surpassed all of my expectations and made my first visit to a B&B difficult to top. The Inn was beautiful inside and outside. Michael and Marty went above and beyond the call of duty for Innkeepers. I traveled from Iowa to NC; was treated like family. I couldnt wait to return as soon as I left. Michael and Marty do an outstanding job of making people feel special and welcome. I will forever cherish my stay with them and speak highly of the Aerie wherever I go.


Best B and B ever!

5 su agosto 05, 2013

Having stayed in many bed and breakfasts along the east coast, we had a certain expectation. Aerie is like no other place we have ever stayed. Every last detail was well thought out and exceeded any other experience we have ever had. Marty and Mike made us feel like family; hosting a meet and greet, social hour where we learned so much about the local history and places to visit. The breakfast in the morning would make any 5 star restaurant pale in comparison. We could not have been more well taken care of. The furnishings are beautiful and clean. Thank you very much for sharing your home with us!


Excellent B&B in lovely town

3,8 su agosto 04, 2013

Had briefly visited New Bern on business many years ago and thought it was a great town, but had not had opportunity to come back through until returning from a diving trip from Morehead City. Decided to stay at The Aerie based on positive reviews--it was all as described. Everything is nicely furnished, relaxed, and quiet. Service was friendly and attentive. A big plus is that The Aerie is within easy walking distance of many restaurants and attractions, and the town has a very special feel to it. One guest likened it to a combination of Asheville (for the arts) and Charleston (for the culture & history). Will definitely return with my wife when we can stay for an extended period to fully enjoy the Aerie and New Bern.


Nice getaway

3,0 su agosto 03, 2013

The hosts are very friendly and seek to make your stay as nice as possible. Internet is difficult to get from the King George room.


Great place to stay while celebrating Jane Austen

4,4 su luglio 27, 2013

Very comfortable; Owners took great care of us. They were accomodating of special needs - like putting 3 in a room for 2; arriving late; leaving a car parked there for a few hours after check out, etc. Great Breakfast too - Who needs lunch after a breakfast like that? Walking distance to most of the historic area. Would stay again.... if I didn't already live in the area :)


Elegant and Charming B&B

5 su luglio 25, 2013

My friend and I spent two nights at Aerie B & B. We couldn't have been more pleased with the friendly atmosphere and southern charm of this B&B. Our hosts were helpful and made us feel at home. The breakfasts in the dining room were delicious and served on china and silver. Parking was convenient, as was the WiFi. All and all a very enjoyable and relaxing experience. Carol B


Heaven on Earth

5 su luglio 24, 2013

From the gourmet breakfast to the comfort of our room, and everything in between...the Aerie is where you must stay if you ever find yourself in the beautiful, quiet and friendly town of New Bern. The amenities are too many to mention, but these inn keepers thought of everything. They pampered up like we were royalty. I wanted to stay there forever. What a letdown to come home to New Jersey.


Great place!

4,6 su luglio 23, 2013

Just stayed there. Really nice place, staff, rooms. Beds were exceptionally comfortable ,we could have slept all day in it. The breakfast was gourmet for sure. Compliments to the cook. Owners are very friendly and sociable. Very quiet place, feels like home away from home. We would stay there again for sure. Only downside is the carpet in our room could use a cleaning, but it would not keep me from staying there. It's a must stay place!¿¿


Wonderful place

4,8 su giugno 24, 2013

We enjoyed two wonderful evenings at this B & B. The people were very friendly and helpful. They served food and wine in the evenings, which allowed us to get to know some of the other guests and learn more about the area through their experiences. This inn has lots of little extras and I am sure you will enjoy a stay there.


Romantic Getaway

5 su giugno 01, 2013

Me & my husband are celebrating our 3 year anniversary as well as Valentine's Day. The Aerie is beautifully decorated, awesome location, friendly staff. This is a new tradition for us to come here every year. We loved it.


New Bern wonder

5 su maggio 18, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by New Bern and staying at The Aerie made it even more special. We really appreciated the upgraded rom and it was wonderful to have off-street, secure parking.


Couldn't have been better!

5 su maggio 18, 2013

The hosts were most gracious and assisted us in every way possible. The three breakfasts served during our stay were simply top gourmet!! The location in historic New Bern was perfect.


The Aerie Outstanding B & B

5 su maggio 08, 2013

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast. The Aerie's website was right on target for what you will see and experience. It lived up to our expectations and more. Michael & Marty and staff provided you with a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere. The breakfasts were scrumptious, the social hour was delightful and the assistance with dinner reservations are up and beyond the call of duty. We have returned home and shared with family and friends of our visit and The Aerie website. Great place!


Aerie stay for four days

5 su maggio 05, 2013

Marty and Michael are wonderfully gracious and charming people to meet. They are knowledgable about the historic town of NewBern and local dining, tours and shopping which is only a block from their door. Loved their beautiful room decorated in period style. The breakfast was gourmet omelets, cobblers, and flavored french toast and pancakes served in a lovely dining area. I felt so welcome and comfortable there. Can't wait to go back! Toni in Michigan


We're Still Talking About Our Stay at the Aerie

5 su maggio 02, 2013

We were meandering around North Carolina and met some folks in Wilmington who had stayed at the Aerie in New Bern a few nights previous. They loved it so we thought we'd give it a try. We are still talking about how much fun we had with Marty and Michael Gunhus as our hosts. Homey, clean and friendly and a delightful shower in the Hidden Room. Breakfast was served on their flower-lined brick patio--purple flowers everywhere. It started with a warm blueberry compote and then onto a choice of three entrees. Endless coffee. Cold juices. It was just delightful. My husband said he had the best night's sleep in a long time. We arrived as strangers and left as friends. We loved it! Janice & Tom, Charlotte, Vermont


Wonderful Stay

5 su maggio 02, 2013

The Aerie was beyond our expectations. Comfortable, Clean, Cozy "Basin Street" room., and a Delicious Breakfast to wake up to each day. The Welcome feeling started upon arrival, Michael and Marty are gracious hosts. Banjo kept us smiling every time he made an appearance. We left with nice memories, we celebrated our 45th with newly weds and NOT so newly weds. Lots of hugs, a promise to return! Planning next trip now, we decided that The Aerie is the best B&B !! Craig & Pat Andrews Westminster MD


Exquisite In Every Way

5 su maggio 02, 2013

There are so many superlatives to be said about the Aerie that it's hard to choose where to start. The hosts, Marty and Michael, are people at once warm and respectful of your privacy, full of helpful information and gracious in the manners of the Old South but real and genuine. If you lived in New Bern, you would seek them out as friends. The rooms are grand and thoughtfully appointed, comfortable and dreamy for you romantics, in a Somewhere In Time way. The daily wine and cheese "social" lets you meet some of the interesting people staying in the historic home with you. We were especially fond of a couple who also shared one of Marty's famous breakfasts with us; they were inspiring and inspired, as was the gourmet food! Every detail was done to perfection, presented with storybook elegance, and certain to make your visit a long-cherished memory. Be sure to give yourself a couple of days, at least, to absorb it all, and if at all possible, take along someone you love, or hope to fall in love with, because this is just the setting where such moments are likely.


Weekend getaway

4,0 su maggio 01, 2013

A delightful getaway at a lovely bed and breakfast. The hosts are wonderfully warm and genuinely interested in their guests. The room was cozy and the bed was so comfy. The home cooked breakfast was fabulous. Within walking distance to historical sights and downtown restaurants. Highly recommended!


loved the breakfast in the garden!

5 su maggio 01, 2013

what a charming place, and we have only the best things to say about everything. look forward to going back again. walking distance to everything in the town. the rooms are all different but each one is interesting and well-appointed, with gorgeous furnishings (check out the wonderful bed linens) and a peaceful, historic feel.... just what I'd hope for! Marty's flowers are beautiful and the setting was so nice for breakfast, with delicious food and a serene setting.


Fabulous!

5 su maggio 01, 2013

My husband and I visited for our anniversary. Beds were incredibly comfortable!! Breakfast was absolutely delightful!! Inn keepers were quite enjoyable to visit with during the afternoon wine & cheese and very helpful. Hope to return again.


Best in New Bern

4,8 su maggio 01, 2013

The Aerie is ideally located within walking distance of the quaint old town of New Bern. Great ambiance, outstanding breakfasts, and a host and hostess eager to please make for a great stay of a day or a week. We loved the Romantic Package, replete with carriage ride and an outstanding meal and one of New Bern's many fine dining establishments. The Aerie, and historic New Bern North Carolina are highly recommended.


Anniversary trip

4,8 su febbraio 21, 2013

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Aerie. Marty and Michael are extremely welcoming and accommodating. The breakfasts are extraordinary, and we certainly are planning to return to this charming property.


WHAT A GREAT BED AND BREAKFAST!!

5 su febbraio 12, 2013

This by far one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed in. The breakfasts and rooms were second to none. The in keepers Marty and Michael made us feel more than welcome. We will definitely be back. Mary Jean & Michael


Great Bed and Breakfast

5 su gennaio 15, 2013

The Aerie Bed and Breakfast is by far one of the best in New Bern. The owners and staff make you feel like you are right at home. The breakfast is to die for and the menu changes every morning. The rooms are very nice and well maintained.


Enjoyable.

4,6 su ottobre 14, 2012

Friendly, professional staff. Nice, big room with nice, big bed. Breakfast like none other I've had in B&Bs. Over-the-top good. Close to quaint historic downtown and Govenor's Palace. Cool little town with good food, good bars. Missed the happy hour - my bad.


Royalty

4,4 su ottobre 03, 2012

Once again treated with love and care by hosts. Room was clean & beautiful. Enjoyed late afternoon w/other guests.


Highly Recommend

4,8 su settembre 27, 2012

Much improved alternative to staying in a cookie-cutter hotel room and the price was very comparable to the local higher quality hotels (weeknights anyway). The owners and staff were great and made the stay away from home enjoyable. The breakfasts were amazing and, although I do not generally get excited about food, I found myself discussing breakfast with anyone and everyone that would listen. The inn is conveniently located to downtown restaurants and attractions and the owners provided local information, maps, etc. They also accommodated my earlier start to the business day and provided breakfast earlier. The room was great, the bed and linens were very comfortable, and the overall experience was one of visiting a friend or relative in their home and not staying at an impersonal hotel. Highly recommend.


"The Lap of Luxury"

5 su settembre 15, 2012

I can only describe our experience at The Aerie Bed & Breakfast, New Bern, NC as "Grand." The food and service well exceeds expectation. This is a high-quality B&B. The owners, Michael & Marty, are visible,attentive, and involved with thecare of the residents, making sure that everyone is well-taken care of, happy, and satisfied. This was our third year staying--we come for the MS150 Bike Tour each Sept., and it was just like going back home!! I highly recommend The Aerie B&B!


Anniversary stay

5 su settembre 11, 2012

We had our parents stay there for 3 days and nights, and it was absolutely the best ever..The Inn keepers, Michael and Marty were extremely thoughtful, helpful and very friendly. We hope to go back ourselves and stay....Everything was above and beyond! Thank you for all you do Michael and Marty!! It was the highlight of their Anniversary!!


Loved everything about it!

4,4 su settembre 03, 2012

Excellent location. Best breakfast ever! Warm, friendly,accomodating and interesting owners. Room. bed and bath were four star great. Highly recommend.


One of the best B&B we stayed in

4,8 su settembre 02, 2012

This is one of the best B&Bs to stay. The owners are so nice and will go out of their way to accommodate you; even stay up late for your arrival. They will make reservations for dinner and everything else. Marty serves a mean breakfast that will start your day just right. I can only recommend this B&B to anybody coming to New Bern or traveling through.


A Comfortable Night at the Aerie

5 su agosto 29, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Aerie B and B. The room was perfect for our one night there, and our breakfast was incredibly delicious. The wine and cheese before dinner was friendly and intimate and a great chance to meet other guests , as well as chat with the owners. The location is ideal for walking around the historic town and for getting to some excellent tourist spots and restaurants in the area.


Top Notch Bed and Breakfast

5 su agosto 20, 2012

We were so happy with the choice we made to stay at the Aerie Bed and Breakfast in August 2012. Marty and Mike were so welcoming and provided a lot of informatoon about the New Bern area as well as additional areas that we were interested in visiting. The room was outstanding, plush and comfortable. We will definitely stay at the Aerie again in the future.


Wonderful experience!

5 su luglio 27, 2012

This was our 1st B&B stay & marty made us feel right at home -- she's a superb hostess! The Hidden Room was "heavenly" -- the bed was like sleeping on a cloud!


Wonderful Getaway

4,8 su luglio 24, 2012

I picked this place for us to getaway for our wedding anniversary and it greatly exceeded my expectations -- we will be back!


How to best the best Bed & Breakfast!

5 su luglio 14, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at may B&B over the last ten years. Aerie B&B should be the EXAMPLE for any B&B!. Service is grand and aways willing to serve every need. Breakfast has three entres choices with preprinted menu. If you did not bring your glasses to breakfast, they will provide you a pair of reading glassed to read the menu! Food is excellent with a special touch of special display. (large portions too) The room is spotless with lost of extra thoughts went into the design and stocking of the room. If power fails in the area, a Flash light is in the dresser drawer. Plenty of light and even extra air condtion running in the room to keep you confortable. The owners are one of a kind. When ever you speak, you have their attention. It doesn't matter if it is a question, a problem or just general conversation, they will give your their undivided attention! They are very special! Carol Ann and myself love this B&B and look foreward to having another chance to visit again. If there was an award for the Best and Finest B&B in the county, Aerie should receive it!!!!!!!!!!!!


Good experience for the most part

3,4 su giugno 12, 2012

Enjoyed our visit to the Inn except for the fact that they never told us that they were doing renovation work directly underneath our room.


Always Wonderful!

4,6 su giugno 03, 2012

We do not leave far from Aerie B&B, but when we stay there, it is like being in another time and place! Marty and Mike are wonderful hosts, the breakfasts are fabulous, and the setting a wonderful mix of historic and modern. If you have not been to New Bern, put it on your Bucket List, park your car for a few days (you will not need it), and stay at the Aerie!!


Ideal Stay

5 su maggio 29, 2012

New Bern is a very charming town & the Aerie B&B adds greatly to the charm! The Aerie is at the top of our list of B&B's. Michael & Marty Gunhus are ideal hosts. They & their staff made us feel very welcome as did the family dog, Banjo! Additionally, they went out of their way to make certain that our visit to New Bern would be enjoyable.. Information on the area was plentiful & in addition to having menus for local restaurants, they made reservations for us. Our room was extremely comfortalbe & spacious.. Breakfast choices were plentiful & delicious & the presentation was top notch We hope to return to New Bern in the future & we will certainly stay at the Aeire.


Our room was gorgeous! The whole house was a feast for the eyes. So many lovely, appropriate things to see and use if we wanted. The very nicest place we have ever stayed, including Builtmore!

4,8 su maggio 12, 2012

Everything about the visit at Aerie B & B was top notch! Sweet, friendly people, lovely appointments in the house, and the breakfast was outstanding!!! Beautiful to look at and delicious to taste, especially the blueberry cobbler! I hope we get to come back soon. Mr. and Mrs, Marshall Amis, Jr.


A very special place! :)

4,8 su maggio 07, 2012

We received a two night stay at Aerie B&B as a 50th anniversary gift from our daughter. Aerie innkeepers, Micheal and Marty, made it possible for our daughter to include an all expense paid anniversay dinner, including a horse drawn carriage ride to the restaurant. We loved staying at Aerie for our very special anniversary. Everything was done so well - we were pampered and enjoyed every m inute of it. The breakfasts were outstanding; the food was the best ever and the presentation was beautiful.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us! We were delighted to work with your daughter in creating such a great memory for you both.


My 1st Trip to New Bern, NC

5 su maggio 03, 2012

I will rate Aerie B&B not a 10 but 110. Everything from the moment I walked in the door until I left was better than I can say. If it were closer to me I would be there again very soon. I felt at home, I loved the food, the other guest were great. If you go please do. Michael and Marty are the very best at everything. They have gone above and beyond to make there guest welcome and at home. Thank you over and over again, Paula Barela from Calif.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks Paula! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and wish too we were closer so you could return to stay with us more often!


Our 8th Stay at the Aerie/ by Alan and Karen Nealeans

5 su aprile 17, 2012

As the title states, we have stayed at the Aerie Inn on eight occaisons,staying in all but two of their rooms. My wife and I usually try to stay in B&Bs on our travels and the Aerie is now the Inn that all are compared to....Michael and Marty are the perfect innkeepers, making your stay more of a visit with old friends rather than just a nice place to stay. Their home is beautiful ,very comfortable, and of course always spotless. New Bern is a wonderful town to visit,with many historical attractions and great restaurants, but the Aerie Inn is a destination in and of itself.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks Alan! We enjoy getting to know our repeat guests, and look forward to your stays!


Some Feeling!

4,0 su febbraio 27, 2012

The innkeepers were just so friendly and wonderful couple. Made you feel right at home form the time I walked through the door! Our first B&B, we will be returning.


Aerie Bed & Breakfast - King George III Suite

5 su febbraio 12, 2012

My husband and I spent Friday and Saturday night in early February 2012 at the Aerie Bed & Breakfast in the King George III Suite in the new Aerie Guest House & Conference Center. The room was lovely! The pictures do not do it justice. Michael & Marty Gunhus the inn-keepers were delightful, friendly, and helpful with dinner reservations. The Aerie offered a unique breakfast each morning. We were given our choice among three entrees each morning . . . each was delicious and beautifully presented. Not to mention the choice of juices, coffee, and hot drinks. We have stayed at the Aerie B&B before and will stay again. It is a luxurious treat that we truly enjoyed.


What A Lovely Surprise!

5 su febbraio 05, 2012

We stayed at the Aerie for 4 nights and will return! Marty & Michael are delightful and very informative. Happy Hour was a fun way to meet others and exchange tales of the day. Breakfast was to die for!! Our room was lovely, spacious, and comfortable...2 comfy chairs to read in, a desk for writing and a bed with an outstanding mattress, topped with a feather bed and truly luxurious linens. This B&B was much more than we anticipated and made for a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Withhout hesitation, we strongly recommend The Aerie.


Don't miss staying at this B&B!!!!!

4,4 su gennaio 22, 2012

This B&B is the best one we have ever stayed at and we have stayed at 7 in NC. The service and friendly owners made our stay very relaxing. We also loved the fact that we did not need our car once we got there. We were able to walk to whatever we wanted to do. Great resturants in the area!!!


Amazing!

5 su gennaio 18, 2012

I frequently travel to New Bern, on business, and had such a pleasurable stay that I plan to go back to the Aerie the next time I am in town! Marty and Mike were fantastic! The decor is amazing, the breakfast was to die for and every detail was thought of! Definitely recommend this B&B!


Headed back for a 5th time!

5 su ottobre 22, 2011

Having first discovered the Aerie by accident, it proved to be perfect from day one. We've been back 3 times since and are visiting for the 5th time this coming weekend to stay in one of our favorite rooms! Michael and Marty are fabulous innkeepers - more so, friends. They make everyone feel so welcome and, with their newest family addition - Banjo, a very handsome pup - the Aerie is my home away from home. You'll fall in love with the atmosphere, the Gunhus's and the quaint town of New Bern. Truly a gem and worth a special trip!


Title to a song - "What a Wonderful Weekend"

5 su settembre 26, 2011

My wife and I spent our anniversary here at the Aerie, and I must say it was a wonderful weekend. Michael and Marty are fabulous hosts. The Inn was spectacular, all the furnishings were gorgeous, and the breakfast meals that Marty prepared were to die for. Michael provided lively conversation and it was a blast to dine with the other guests and we could even wear our robes to breakfast!! The social hour wine and cheese was filled with laughter as the other guests got to know each other. The city of New Bern is a great historical place to visit, even on a rainy weekend. Our hats go out to M&M for providing such a memorable weekend.


The Best B&B We Have Ever Experienced

5 su settembre 05, 2011

We spent two nights at the Aerie in New Bern just prior to Labor Day, and found the experience exceptional!! From the beautiful furnishings and decor to the enjoyable social hour to the incredible breakfasts, everything exceeded our expectations. The gardens were lovely; everything exuded a feeling of serenity that we needed at that point -- we were going to check on Hurricane Irene's damage to our sailboat in Oriental. Marty and Michael are wonderful hosts -- you can tell they love what they do and are dedicated to it. I fear our time at the Aerie has spoiled us for any other B&B, and we have stayed in many in N.C. and metropolitan areas such as St. Louis, MO. But none of our previous experiences came close to our extraordinary visit to the Aerie. I may have to persuade my husband NOT to stay on our sailboat occasionally!


Review Aerie Bed and Breakfast

4,4 su giugno 05, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Bed and Breakfast. It was the perfect getawawy.Marty and Mike were the best host. The package that we selected was wonderful. The host had every detail addressed. Then the breakfast was outstanding.I must visit again because it was just that great.


No need to stay anywhere else!!

5 su ottobre 07, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Aerie this past weekend and we were blown away by the service and attention we received from the Innkeepers, Marty and Michael. They have a wealth of knowledge for New Bern and North Carolina in general. We loved the fact that they take the time every night to get to know their guests during their evening wine and cheese hour. They truly care about you and your experience while staying with them and in New Bern. The town itself is a 300 year old historical site with plenty to do and Marty and Michael can tell you all about it. The absolute best part about staying here was the delicious gourmet breakfast meals they serve. Each meal has a catchy theme to it honoring famous duos. The rooms were above and beyond our expectations. The bed was so comfortable, our 20 minute nap turned into 3 hours! We will definitely stay with Marty and Michael again. There is no reason for us to look elsewhere while in New Bern. The romance package included a horse drawn carriage ride through the town where the driver pointed out more of the town's interesting history. It also included dinner at the Chelsea where we ate another fabulous meal. We can't say enough about this place. You HAVE to experience it for yourself.


Outstanding Stay

5 su settembre 06, 2010

This is absolutely the best B&B in which we have ever stayed. The decor is outstanding, the service is exceptional and the food is to die for. After eating one of their breakfasts you won't need to eat again until dinner. The Inn is within walking distance of the majority of any of the sights you want to see. Marty and Michael are the perfect hosts and are very helpful and very accommodating to any and all needs of their guests. I know we will be recommending them to anyone we know who wishes to stay in the New Bern area. Dennis McCool and Kat Bradley


A Great Experience !!

4,2 su agosto 23, 2010

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Aerie Bed & Breakfast in New Bern, NC. From the initial booking to the fond farewell it was a wonderful experience. Marty and Michael are very welcoming and willing, actually eager, to offer advice on restaurants and attractions. They provide menus and information and will even make dinner reservations for you. The Inn is well-kept and decorated beautifully with antiques which add to the charm of the house itself. The location is perfect for a visit to this historic town. After your car is parked at the inn, there is no need to use it until your departure. Breakfast each morning consisted of a starter, choice from three entrees, juice, coffee, and anything one could desire. The food was delicious and very well presented in all instances. Don't plan to have lunch !! Wine and snacks are served each afternoon in the parlor. This was a great time to chat with other guests and with our gracious hosts. We will return to the Aerie Bed & Breakfast as soon as we can think of an excuse to return to New Bern.


Truly Outstanding!

5 su luglio 22, 2010

I've stayed in several B & Bs both in the United States and abroad, and The Aerie is clearly at the top of my list.


Loved every minute!!

5 su luglio 09, 2010

What can I say? If you are considering a Bed and Breakfast this is definitely the place to go. My husband and I just got back from celebrating our 8th anniversary at the Aerie and I cannot say enough good things about this inn. The hosts are truly wonderful people, the food is not only delicious but beautifully presented, the beds are absolutely glorious (I think I could have stayed in ours for days), the town is so laid back and the history of the town is absolutely fascinating. I cannot wait to visit again and the sooner the better.


AWESOME!!!!

5 su luglio 06, 2010

Words cannot express the wonderful weekend we just shared with Aerie B&B. The Inn is absolutely beautiful, very cozy & expresses a very warm welcome to guests. Lynne is a jewel, she was wonderful, made all reservations for us, catered to our every need & more. My husband had surgery a week before we went & she expressed sincere concern for him the entire time we were there. She booked us a carriage ride & dinner & we didn't know the carriage was picking us up at the Inn - what a great surprise - we felt so special. This was my husband's first stay at a B&B and he hasn't stopped talking about it. We are definitely going back to stay & look forward to seeing Lynne again and hopefully meet Michael & Marty the next time. I will definitely recommend Aerie, everyone should be able to experience the greatness we did....... Lynn & Cathy Simmons, Whiteville NC


Mother/Daughter getaway

5 su giugno 19, 2010

My daughter and I LOVED this B&B. The innskeepers were so friendly and accommodating. They made reservations for us each night at restaurants, they served wine and lemonade, and really made our special trip very memorable. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in New Bern, NC.


Sets the Standard

5 su aprile 15, 2010

One of the most delightful places we've stayed in a very long time. From the hello to goodbye, the attention to detail was evident. From spotless clean to well-appointed, the bed chamber was comfortable and inviting. From the wine social to breakfast, the quality and presentation were wonderful. Mike and Marty are delightful innkeepers, and they made our short visit to New Bern a beautiful experience. A repeat visit is in order!


Plan on coming back!

5 su gennaio 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed durring his two week R&R. I couldn't of been more pleased. We enjoyed touring New Bern and getting to meet the locals. The hot breakfest was mouthwatering. The room was beautiful. We didn't want to leave. We are now planning another weekend getaway and The Aerie was the first place that I thought of!! I can't wait to get back!


Aerie B&B

5 su gennaio 11, 2010

It was breathtaking, all decorated for holidays. Food spectacular presentation. Wine/cheese to meet the other guests. Couldn't ask for more.


Wonderful

5 su novembre 11, 2009

Great B & B. Everything was top notch, and could hardly wait for breakfast each morning. Personable hosts, absolutely mouth watering breakfasts, charming rooms, and very clean. Highly recommended.


A Great B&B

5 su novembre 06, 2009

WE loved the Aerie and the town of New Bern. Great food,hospitality and conversation. Bert & mary Ann


Flawless,Unsurpassed,Stupendous

5 su ottobre 27, 2009

Always, there is at least something to improve on right? Wrong. Marty & Michael have truly thought of everything you could possibly dream of and brought it to fruition. If you want to experience a truly flawless, stupendous retreat then go to New Bern, meet these beautiful people Michael & Marty and stay in the Aerie Inn. I just left there with my husband and have already arranged my next stay so my mother too can experience heaven on earth. Cindy & John Mandernach Las Vegas, NV


The Best Experience Ever!!

5 su ottobre 20, 2009

My Husband and I were finally able to take our first honeymoon to this bed and breakfast. It truly was the most romantic getaway that wasn't to far away from home. I can't thank them enough for making us feel so welcomed and also for the cleanliness of the room. It felt so great to be away for the day and come home to a place so clean and welcoming. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Jeremy and Tina E from Pikeville, NC


Romantic Get-Away

5 su agosto 12, 2009

My husband and I just spend a wonderful mini vacation at the best Bed and Breakfast we have visited - The Aerie B&B. The owners and staff were so friendly and made us feel at home right from the start. The room was breathtakingly beautiful, roses awaiting, champagne cooled. The breakfast was delicious to eat and to look at, wonderful linens, towels, refrigerated beverages, hot drinks available at any time... We highly recommend this establishment to anyone trying to get away, ans we would go back there any time. Ulla and Alan Dittmar


The Best!!!

5 su luglio 31, 2009

The Aerie has quite simply become our home away from home. Actually it's better than home because of Marty's breakfasts! Michael and Marty are the consumate hosts. They make you feel right at home in their home. Rick and Carolyn P.


Outstanding B&B

4,0 su giugno 17, 2009

My husband and I were absolutely blown away at the exquisite decor of this wonderful home. It was our first bed and breakfast experience and we immediately fell in love with what the Aerie had to offer. Marty and Michael are exceptional hosts. They were readily available to help in any way. We felt like royalty. Marty's breakfast menu is to die for and Michael is so charming! We cannot wait to visit the Aerie again.


WISH I COULDHAVE STAYED LONGER

5 su giugno 11, 2009

MY HUSBAND AND I WERE DOING A B ANA B TRIP FROM MARYLAND TO THE ISLE OF PALMS FOR A WEDDING IT WAS ALSO OUR 35 YEAR ANNIVERSITY..WE STAY ONLY ONE NIGHT BUT WE WERE SORRY WE DID NOT STAY LONGER MARTY AND MICHAEL WERE GREAT HOST..AND THERE HELP WAS TOP NOTCH,,,BREAKFAST WAS ENJOYABLE AND DINNER WERE MICHAEL SET UP FOR US AT CHELSE WAS SUPER WE HAD SO MUCH FUN WITH THERE STAFF AND HAD A GREAT DINNER. OUR ROOM SO SO CUTE..AND VERY CLEAN ..AND THE SHOWER..LETS JUST SAY YOU HAVE TO EXPERIENCE ..TO UNDERSTAND HOW WONDERFUL IT WAS..MARTY AND MICHAEL THANK YOU FOR A GREAT NITE..AND HOPE YOU ENJOYED THE TONYS..AND YOUR SON WON.. BE BACK SOME DAY..WE TO FELL IN LOVE WITH NEW BERN.THANKS AGAIN PAT AND ROY STEVENS


Such elegant rooms

5 su maggio 22, 2009

I have never stayed in a B&B before, but The Aerie makes me never want to stay in a regular hotel ever again. Such elegant rooms! It is obvious that Michael & Marty have considered and included every ammenity imaginable for the best experience possible. Such wonderful, eloquent and relaxing atmosphere! And who can forget the fabulous food?! My favorite is the Romeo & Juilette French Toast...it really is "to die for". Thanks, Michael,Marty & staff! I look forward to seeing you all again real soon! D.J. Martinez, GA


Lovely room, lovely inn, lovely hosts---

5 su aprile 18, 2009

The inn was so comfortable and convenient for som many of the New Bern activities. The breakfast and snacks were perfect for reading us for adventures. New bern has such interesting history.


We couldn't have had a better second anniversary!

5 su aprile 11, 2009

WOW! You guys have an awesome place! We received first class service and had a lovely time. We both wish we could have stayed longer. The breakfast was to die for---you truly have a great talent. Thanks so much for having us. We couldn't have had a better second anniversary! Chaise & Amanda


THE BEST

5 su aprile 07, 2009

I have never stayed at a B&B. I have traveled all over the world and stayed in only the best hotels, however the Aerie B&B is truly a five star establishment. The innkeepers made our stay warm, welcoming, and wonderful experience, one I shall do again when in New Bern. In fact it is the only place I will stay in New Bern. And should they be booked for the time I am requesting, I will make changes to my travel. The specialized breakfast menu is part of the experience. The food is a culinary delight. I just wanted to say thank you for a truly wonderful experience. The fact that is was my birthday made it even more special. I just want to thank the Innkeepers, Michael and Marty. PS. The person that cleaned our room was great, please tell her thank you. I am sorry, I did not get her name.


It was the most wonderful experience!

5 su marzo 29, 2009

We have never enjoyed staying somewhere as much as we did staying in The Magnolia Suite. Michael and Marty are such wonderful hosts! They are so attentive to your needs. The room was fabulous and the breakfast was delicious! It was the most wonderful experience!! Curtis & Brooke


Delightful company

5 su gennaio 08, 2009

We have so enjoyed oour stay here with you. You both have been delightful company. thank you so much for your gererosity while helping us with things we had forgotten. We so enjoyed the romantic package and how nicely it was set-up. Thank you for finding us a night of dancing and for so willingly moving our dinner reservations. We will not hesitate to visit The Aerie again. Victor & Melanie


Perfection

5 su novembre 20, 2008

We were fortunate to secure a reservation for Labor day weekend 2008. Just how fortunate we were came to light during our three night stay. The Aerie Bed and Breakfast is faultless - owners, staff, accommodations, dining and, above all, one feels not only welcome but wanted. Thank you Marty, Michael and Lynne!


Outstanding

5 su novembre 05, 2008

The Magnolia Suite was absolutely beautiful and comfortable! The morning breakfast was delicious, creative and in a lovely dining room. The service was warm and friendly. We highly recommend The Aerie B&B to others and we'll be back! +


Best experience ever!!

5 su novembre 02, 2008

My now Fiance` and I had our very first B&B experience at the Aerie Bed and Breakfast on the 13th and 14th of October 2008 and we have to say that it was amazing! The staff was very pleasant for the very start and Marty and Michael are excellent hosts! We stayed in the Hidden room which was fantastic! My fiance` was simply amazed by the beauty of not only the room itself but of the inn as well. The breakfast in the morning was delicious!! Marty and Michael were very helpful in making our stay magical! They took pictures for us when we went on our carriage ride through New Bern and made us feel very welcome the whole time! I would suggest the Aerie Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking for a wonderful time in New Bern, NC!


What a lovely home!

5 su ottobre 27, 2008

What wonderful hospitality! We felt so welcomed and we were treated to the very best of everything---from absolutely delectable food to the most comfortable & restful accomodations. The room was awesome and a peaceful haven for total relaxation. Thank you for making our stay in New Bern a very enjoyable, memorable experience. god Bless and we are looking forward to returning.


Wonderful

4,8 su ottobre 14, 2008

Very relaxing and comfortable. Marty is a great cook! Convenient location; we parked car and walked everywhere!


Best B&B in New Bern, NC.

5 su settembre 22, 2008

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Aerie during a surprise get-away birthday weekend I had planned. Never having been there before I went online and was able to find out all I needed to know, although I did call to get all the particulars on their special "Romantic Package". It was then that I spoke directly to Michael Gunhus, one of the owners, and got some well informed advice. He was able to suggest an appropriate schedule with such events that included a tour of the historic Tryon Palace(1 block away), Spa Service(which was extra but AWESOME), Horse and Carriage Ride(very romantic) to a wonderful dining experience at the Harvey Mansion and receiving fresh flowers with a unique etched glass keepsake that will always remind us of what a truly magical weekend we had. The breakfasts featured a different menu each day. All were beautiful, tasty and satisfying. For me, the best part of the whole weekend was coming back to the Inn after a great night out in downtown New Bern and sitting in the upper front porch enjoying our evening tea together. I would highly recommend the Aerie Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking for a unique place to stay where the accomadations are top notch and the service is even better. Enjoy!


LOVED IT!!!!

5 su agosto 25, 2008

The Aerie B&B was one of the nicest and friendliest B&B's I've ever stayed at. It was decorated beautifully yet very comfortable. The innkeepers, Michael and Marty, will bend over backwards to meet all your needs and treat you like family..even after you've checked out! I can't say enough wonderful things about this place and the innkeepers!! Would definitely stay here again soon!


wow !!

5 su agosto 12, 2008

Beautiful! Friendly! Wonderful hosts--never felt like a "guest" --mor like a visitor--welcomed as if it was perfectly natural for me to be here.


Elegant Stay!

5 su agosto 01, 2008

Our two-night stay at the Aerie Inn was an exceptionally good experience. Marty and Michael's hospitality was welcoming, warm, and personable. They were so knowledgeable about interesting things to do and see in the area and were willing to make dinner reservations for any of their guests. Our room was spacious and very comfortable and accommodating. The breakfasts were FANTASTIC -- creatively named, beautifully served, and delicious! We enjoyed meeting the other guests during the late afternoon social hour and comparing notes on our experiences in the area as well as other travels. We would stay at Aerie Inn again in a heartbeat! It gets an A++ in our book!


The Definitive B&B

5 su luglio 30, 2008

Marty and Mike are master innkeepers. The details they attend to are incredible. Best breakfast ever eaten at a B&B. Best social hour ever at a B&B. Very warm hosts. Super location, easy parking. Felt like family!


OUTSTANDING

5 su ottobre 22, 2007

WHEN I WAS MET BY THE OWNERS, MICHAEL AND MARTY GUNHUS, I INSTANTLEY FELT LIKE ROYALTY. THE AERIE B&B REALLY ALLOWS YOU TO STEP BACK IN TIME. THE HOSPITALITY IS 110%. THE LOCATION TO ALL THE HISTORY IN DOWNTOWN NEW BERN IS VERY CONVENIENT, YOU CAN PARK YOUR CAR AT THE B&B AND WALK TO ALL THE ATTRATIONS IN MINUTES. I WILL RECOMMEND THE AERIE B&B TO EVERYONE.


A Memorable Vacation

5 su agosto 08, 2007

The Aerie is a first-class establishment where guests are treated like family. Michael and Martie go out of their way to show warm hospitality. They serve a bountiful breakfast each morning with three entrees to select from. Movies and books are available for your leisure time. Each evening from 5:30 - 6:30 pm they host a social hour in the parlor with drinks and snacks. This provides an opportunity for all the guests to become acquainted and for us to get to know Michael and Martie. Thanks for a wonderful week!!


Everything was wonderful!!!

5 su marzo 31, 2007

Michael and Marty are wonderful hosts! We have been to several B&B's and their home and hsopitality are rated tops with us. The breakfast selections really start your day right. The evening gathering is so great to meet new people and hear about different places from all of the guests. We highly recommend a realxing stay with Michael and Marty.


Great Experience!

5 su marzo 08, 2007

We stayed at the inn for two nights while on a business trip. From the time we arrived until the morning we left, it was fantastic. The breakfast is gourmet and delicious! The social hour with snacks and wine was wonderful, and rooms are lovely. Every detail has been attended to. I'd recommend this inn for a pleasant stay in the New Bern area. In fact, we are booking our next trip already!


Aerie Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $129 - $229
  • Recensioni (116) 4,8
  • Camere 9
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2526365553
  • Numero di Fax 1-2525142157
  • Gratuito 1-8008495553

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina