WhistleWood Horse Farm Bed & Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
107 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

None Better

5 su gennaio 10, 2014

If there are better B & B's than Whistlewood, we haven't stayed in them. The bucolic setting, the wonderfully appointed rooms (ask for the Wyoming Room), the complete and delectable breakfasts and the eight-minute drive to the many terrific restaurants in Rhinebeck all made for a most memorable five-night stay in October 2013. And topping it all off is the warm welcome by Maggie, our friendly and accommodating hostess with a wealth of knowledge about the Hudson Valley. All in all, a great stay.


Refreshingly rejuvinating

4,8 su ottobre 06, 2013

Driving up to Whistlewood Farm you start to feel relaxed as you wind your way up the driveway. You see horses, mules, chickens and the expanse of open space. You are in the country. Complete with a barn and enough rustic antiques to make you feel you have taken a step back in time to a more slow paced friendly time. Maggie usually greets you and makes you feel immediately welcome (more on her later). The place reeks of a welcoming warmth and you won't want to leave. I have stayed numerous times. Some rooms are modest and others spacious. Nothing fancy - just comfortable and nicely decorated. For those that like flowers the place is landscaped beautifully. For those that like antiques and knick-knacks there are plenty. For those that like pastries on the table and fruit available all day long there is that too. Breakfast is tasty and changes every day. I am partial to the yeast waffles and pancakes. I don't think you can go wrong here. Close to town, but you will need a car or cab to get around. But if you do go wrong Maggie will bail you out. Or at least she will try. In my case I forgot something in my room when I left and ever so the hostess she checked my room after I left saw what I had left and called me. Li was at the train station so she got in her car and brought it to me. Hard to. Bat that kind of service. I hesitate to write this because it isn't going to make it any easier for me to make a reservation but she deserves an excellent review for the labor of love she has created. Thank you Maggie.


Charm and Character

4,8 su agosto 23, 2013

I just visited Whistle Wood for the 6th time. My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. The farm is beautiful. If you love the smell of wild flowers and the charm and character of a well groomed farm then you will enjoy Whistle Wood. Wake up to horses outside your window and chickens scattered around the stable. Hostess Maggie thoroughly enjoys cooking breakfast for a houseful. The eggs from those chickens are delicious! Maggie bakes all day and you can expect a table of pies, cakes, and muffins all day long. Perfect place to stay if you are visiting the FDR Library and would like a romantic place. My wife had never visited a Bed and Breakfast until this past weekend and now she would like to visit again. You will enjoy the peace and quiet and relaxation. sal & antonietta


Loved Whistle Wood!

4,8 su agosto 11, 2013

My husband and I and our friends stayed at Whistle Wood B & B recently and really enjoyed our stay. The B & B is very charming and we were welcomed as soon as we arrived with iced tea and pastries. Maggie's breakfast is unbelievable! Eggs made to order, French toast, wonderful homemade pastries, you name it! The best breakfast we've ever had at a B & B. We will definitely return to this beautiful property.


Top of the Line!

5 su agosto 11, 2013

We travel a lot/stay mostly on Eastern Coast but my brother & his wife needed a "pet friendly" place and chose Whistle wood for that reason. Well, the room was such a distraction from our busy, everyday lives. I forgot my agenda/forgot my focus/left my troubles behind and RELAXED/enjoyed the smells/sights of horses and fields of flowers/grass/trees. Top of the line in relation to a true "get-away"...the food/the guests/the comfort is what a get-away is about. Maggie catered to our every unspoken need. Thanks, Ann Butler


Peaceful and Warm

5 su luglio 19, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quick get away from our hectic pace in NYC. We fell in love with Whistle Wood. The grounds were exquisite, our room comfortable and cozy, and Maggie and her staff made us feel comfortable and welcomed. We enjoyed the treats that were available all the time, especially the most amazing peach pie! Breakfast was wonderful and we certainly left with plans to return. Carol and Bryan


Beautiful getaway

4,4 su aprile 25, 2013

Came for long weekend last year with my friend and her family (husband and 2 young girls. The property is beautiful and well kept. The rooms a very very comfortable. You can see how much time, effort and money go into the gem of a B&B. The young girls loved the horses and chickens. We all wish we could have stayed longer. Looking forward to visiting again this year.


Great place to stay in Rhinebeck area.

5 su aprile 07, 2013

Beautiful and peaceful setting, very comfortable inn. Delicious and varied breakfast, and the pleasure of seeing farm animals -- horses, donkeys, cows. Maggie was very warm and welcoming and provided helpful advice about the area, places to visit and good restaurants. Great place!


Our place to stay in Rhinebeck

5 su febbraio 14, 2013

We feel so blessed to have discovered Whistlewood a few years ago, and have returned over an over again, for relaxation and fun. At Whistlewood, every season brings something new and exciting. Maggie and team do a great job of making guests feel comfortable and cared for, while the animals take care of the entertainment. It's simple wonderful!


FABULOUS!!!

5 su febbraio 08, 2013

From the moment you pull up the driveway and see the beautiful horses, chickens & roosters you immediately take a deep breath and feel great! My husband and I stayed in the Carriage House and we were alone the entire weekend. It was lovely, a warm fireplace, comfy bed, and hot tub. It was the perfect recipe for rest & relaxation. The rustic decor, and comfy couches made us feel at home. Maggie the Inn Keeper is an angel. Her home baked goods are available your entire stay, her warmth and hospitality are impeccable. We are excited to plan our next stay!!!


Back for More

5 su gennaio 23, 2013

We Love It HERE! Off the beaten path but so very close to whatever you like to do. Sweet little shops or curious antiques are just a five minute drive. We spent our honeymoon at Whistle Wood and returned for our anniversary. There is no one who can match the welcoming, warm and comforting environment of this rustic but sophisticated Bed and Breakfast. Every window has a pleasant picture of the emmaculate farm. The rooms are accomodating like a fine hotel but better. Linens.... sleep in such comfort. Eye catching colors and soft flow of decor in every room. The staff are lovely down to earth people who take very good care of each detail to ensure no guest is overlooked. The food is farm fresh and home made. I am always overwhelmed by the phenominal breakfast. Best ever! No expense spared here. We"ve never been at a place that made you feel at home but treated you like royalty. Way to go, Maggie! We'll be booking again soon..... T n T Herrington.


WARM AND COMFORTABLE

5 su settembre 19, 2012

We had the most relaxing weekend at the B&B. The grounds were beautiful. The room was so comfortable and unique. Maggie is a wonderful host. The breakfast was delicious and healthy. Pies and Muffins were plentiful all day long. The area is close to many sites of interest. We will definitely be back.


A Little Piece of Heaven

4,8 su settembre 10, 2012

We arrived in early September when the coneflowers were still in bloom. The first views past the horse barn were like a fairy tale. The 24x7 hospitality buffet was overflowing with fresh homemade pies, tortes, and muffins. Breakfast is gourmet fresh food; herbs and produce from the garden, free range fresh eggs from the hens. If your idea of relaxation is a stroll and a quiet chat with a horse at their box stall window, or bird watching from the veranda, bookmark this page and book your stay here


Wonderful B&B

5 su settembre 08, 2012

My wife and I decided to go to a B&B to celebrare our fifth wedding anniversary. As we had never been to a B&B, we were not sure what to expect. Then, we had an unexpected problem at home and nearly had to cancel our stay, but thanks to Maggie's kindness and understanding, we were able to postpone our trip for a day and arrived late afternoon on Sep't. 6'th. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Tracie, who showed us our room in the Carriage House and explained the ammenities available there as well at the main house. There is no cable tv in the carriage House, but there are plenty of dvd's available both there and in the main house too and it was not any kind of a problem for us. There are tasty deserts and snacks available at all times in the main house. For breakfast, Tracie made such delights an corn fritters, buttermilk pancakes and the best eggs that I have had since I was a kid. They get their eggs from their own naturally fed chickens and they are fabulous. Tracie makes the jams and jellies and they also are terrific. After breakfast, Tracie gave us a couple of melons filled with scrap fruit to give to the chickens as well as some apple slices for the horses. That was fun. There are trails around the farm and it was a very fun and relaxing place to celebrate our anniversary. There were two things that we were sorry for. Maggie had to be away for a few days and we were sorry for not having the chance to meet her. That being said, Tracie was warm, friendly and made us feel both comfortable and appreciated. She could not have been better. The other thing that we were sorry for was that after two fantastic nights, we had to leave. We highly recommend a stay at the Whistlewood Farm B&B.


absolutely wonderful!

5 su agosto 19, 2012

WhistleWood is very relaxing and refreshing. We planned on staying 1 night, and added a second when we were not ready to leave! Maggie and the rest of the staff are welcoming and accommodating. There were always freshly baked pies available. And of course the friendly horses to feed and pet! The location is perfect- easily accessible, yet a country retreat. It is just a short distance to attractions such as zip lining and the Culinary Institute. We certainly will return in the future.


Wonderful Stay!

5 su agosto 09, 2012

We came to Whistlewood for a quick trip to get away from the City and I'm so glad we did! The grounds are beautiful and so are the rooms! The breakfast was delightful and it is so close to town. Even my dogs had a great time! We will be back!


A Stay in the Country

4,4 su luglio 07, 2012

We were able to land a room here on short notice, and it was delightful. This is a working farm, so that adds to the interest of the stay. Pretty gardens with plenty of hummingbirds and several comfortable outdoor seating areas. The grounds are extensive, so you can chat up the other guests or stay to yourself. Breakfast was wonderful, with fresh ingredients like fruit and eggs right off the farm. We especially liked the pancakes, which were little and light (cornmeal is the secret ingredient), with real, local maple syrup. Great variety of items were offered for breakfast but dishes are not over the top, as in some B&B's; just good food, simply prepared, from the freshest ingredients. That was the best part of our stay at WhistleWood Horse Farm B & B.


Wonderful stay at beautiful Whistle Wood B&B

5 su luglio 01, 2012

We just returned from a delightful stay at the Inn. 6/29 and 6/30. Our Hostness, Maggie, is not only charming and a great cook, but could not do enough to make our stay memorable. This is our second time at the inn and on our next trip back to Rhinebeck, we would only go here. Book well in advance because the inn fills up quickly. Carol and Harvey Schafler


Wonderful escape

5 su giugno 19, 2012

I spent a weekend here for a little "girl time" with my daughter. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Maggie is a fabulous hostess. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean. Breakfast was wonderful, more than we could eat! Maggie was full of suggestions on things to do in the area as well as great restaurants for lunch and dinner. Will be coming back with my husband in August for a long weekend! Terrific, you won't be disappointed!


Perfect Retreat!!!!!!!

5 su maggio 04, 2012

Just an outstanding experience in every way. Maggie[ our host] has the indeliable ability to make a guest feel comfortable in every way. Keep up the good work.


Great B & B.

4,8 su aprile 28, 2012

My daughter, granddaughter and I had the BEST time staying at Whistlewood Farms. our room was big and slept the three of us, so we could be together. The horses and chickens made for a great time for my granddaughter. Maggie and staff were terrific, and made our stay so memorable. We will be back!!


Best Bed and Breakfast ever

5 su aprile 02, 2012

My boyfriend and I were up in the area for Orvis's shooting school (also a recommend). I spent a long time researching a place to stay and came across this beautiful farm... It was everything and more.. We were greeted by the owner and homemade muffins, pies, cookies and coffee/tea. With horses, chickens and nature around you really feel like you are away from it all. The decorated lodge was so beautiful- it made you feel both at home and escaped in the woods with a loved one... Pampered by the amazing treats and the made to order breakfast with eggs from her very own chickens, this bed and breakfast is all heart and all soul. I will go back again and again.... It's a must.


A relaxing and beautiful environment

5 su novembre 21, 2011

I have stayed at Whistle Wood Farm for the last three years in the fall when the trees are just turning color. I look forward to crispy apples and brisk cool weather. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious with fresh baked muffins, pan cakes and waffles and eggs daily collected from hens on the farm. There is always a pie and cake ready during the day for a snack. In the evenings, warm apple cider by a roaring fireplace makes a relaxing end tothe day. The room I have stayed in has a porch looking out over a field with horses - I love to sit outside and enjoy the view. I plan on continuing to visit Whistle Wood Farm every fall for a refreshing weekend. Thanks Maggie for keeping such a beautiful place.


October stay

4,0 su novembre 01, 2011

we had a lovely time at Whistlewood. Meeting all the other guests was especially warming.


Chip and Elaine riggi

5 su ottobre 14, 2011

There may B&B's as good as Whistlewood, but you won't find one any better. Maggies downhome, natural atomsphere and fantastic cooking (did I say pumpkin pie) are what you'd expect from down on the farm. Highly recommended, and the town of Rhinebeck is wonderful.


Lovely

4,8 su ottobre 13, 2011

I loved the fact that this B&B was right on Maggie's farm. The driveway in and out was right in between the paddocks where you saw the horses and donkey grazing, and the chickens pecking the ground. The B&B was in a great central location, only minutes from downtown Rhinebeck and minutes to the Aerodrome. Maggie was very helpful with planning your day. She is also a fantastic cook! The breakfasts were wonderful and the desert table was there for you 24 hours a day with many wonderful choices to satisfy your sweet tooth. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean! The sitting areas in the home were very inviting. Maggie was always eager to light the fireplace for you as well as the outside fire pit. She also provided the necessary ingredients for Smores!! This was my first experience at Whistlewood but not my last.


Lovely, relaxing stay

4,0 su agosto 19, 2011

We stayed at Whistlewood for a few days while we brought our son to Bard College. He stayed the first night as well. We all felt at home and had a wonderful relaxing stay. A lovely place to walk around, feed the horses, watch birds, de-stress. Very enjoyable.


A magical place.

5 su agosto 06, 2011

All I can say is that you most certainly won't be disappointed. Maggie's place is wonderful!!


great BB

4,6 su luglio 07, 2011

We looked for a relaxing stay in the Hudson valley and found the perfect spot, Whistlewood Farm in Rhinebeck. Bedding like in a 5 star Hotel and a friendly and personal service with lots of information for hiking, sightseeing and dining in the area. Maggie's outstanding breakfast (delicious muffins came right out of the oven) gave us the right foundation to enjoy the day at the river. If I would be a stressed New Yorker this would be my refuge and relaxation place.


peace and tranquility

4,0 su luglio 06, 2011

The farm is a little bit of heaven without all the work. Maggie is a wonderful hostess who prepares a great breakfast and makes all her guests feel like family. Even though the pictures of the farm are beautiful , they can not relay the peace and tranquility that you will find there. I can not more highly recommend a weekend at Whistle Wood Farms.


Relaxing Get Away

4,6 su giugno 15, 2011

The gounds were groom and many enjoyable spots for solitute, conversation, bird watching etc. The B & B was very clean & comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful. The Inn Keeper Maggie was a gracious, friendly, welcoming Host. This is certainly a place I would return to and recommend highly to friends.


Wonderful B&B

4,0 su maggio 30, 2011

Unique among B&B's. Lovely, extensive grounds far from the road, places to sit among the trees and lawns, walks to take, pretty rooms and pretty horses, excellent breakfasts and treats, warm hospitality. Will return! Evelyn and Junie (canine).


WhistleWood Bed and Breakfast is a Glorious Retreat

4,8 su marzo 27, 2011

WhistleWood Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful oasis which is situated near the historic village of Rhinebeck, New York. It is located on a working farm replete with horses, a mule, dogs, and chickens. The surrounding foliage is absoultely breathtaking with well maintained gardens and surrounding walking trails. Upon arriving at WhistleWood, the innkeeper Maggie as well as the manager Barbara were both warm and welcoming. They provided us with lists of restaurants in Rhinebeck as well descriptions of nearby attractions. They also showed us around the bed and breakfast, which is decorated with a lovely array of curios and antiques. The overall ambiance is relaxing, peaceful and charming. We stayed in the Wyoming Room which is decorated colorfully as well as tastefully. The room had access to an outdoor area with a table and chairs which had gorgeous views of the farm and the animals. It was spacious and comfortable and had a sitting area where we could get away and read. Maggie cooked delicious breakfasts every morning with a wide array of farm fresh eggs, waffles, pancakes, and breakfast pastries. In addition, she baked cakes, pies, cookies, and muffins which were absolutely scrumptious and which were available throughout the day. Maggie also provided a beautiful atmosphere in the evenings when she lit candles in the fireplace in the front room. Guests tended to congregate there if they so desired to further decompress. In sum, we would recommend the WhistleWood Bed and Breakfast because of the excellent service, beautiful accommodations, peaceful ambiance, and access to Rhinebeck as well as major historical sites. We hope to return reguarly to continue enjoying the natural surroundings and stellar hospitality.


Whistlewood Farm Review

4,8 su marzo 01, 2011

Our family of eight had a wonderful weekend at Whistlewood Farm. The rooms were lovely. The food was excellent, as good as a four-star restaurant. The setting was lovely. Maggie was very hospitable, helping us in any way she could. She was patient with the grandchildren and very welcoming to all of us. I loved the bird feeders outside the breakfast room. It was a pleasure to watch birds feeding while I was eating. The atmosphere was very relaxed. I also loved the fact that it was a horse farm. That was a double draw for the children. I will definitely stay there again when we come back to Rhinebeck.


paradise

4,0 su febbraio 16, 2011

just stayed at the whistle wood....OMG! how wonderful! soooo comfortable. very peaceful. the place is so clean and well kept we hated to leave the suite to go into town! the decor and atomosphere is warm and rustic....so cozy! beautifully done with taste! the owner is extremely friendly and accomodating. very helpful with local information. we could have stayed indefinetly, we hated to leave! but if we had stayed we would have gained 20 pounds from the fantastic food! all the comforts of home but with much better service :) so worth the money and we are already planned two more visits this summer! want to fall in love again.......dont wait! make your reservations unless we beat you to it! kim and joe orange county ny


Whistlewood is the Best!

5 su gennaio 13, 2011

Maggie, the Innkeeper, is friendly, personable and makes a great breakfast, especially eggs to order from her chickens on the farm. There are horses, chickens, tons of birds by all her feeders outside the dining room, as well as Jake, her Bernese Mountain Dog, who, upon request, is allowed out of her private quarters, for greetings. The Inn is very clean, well kept and the beds are quite comfortable. It had very eclectic ambiance...I wouldn't be surprised to learn that it had been featured in Architectural Digest. It snowed and Maggie plowed repeatedly to keep the driveway clear. Breakfasts were French toast, waffles, pancakes, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit and baked goods (by Maggie). Maggie baked a wonderful Apple Cranberry Pie while we were there, and the baked goods are available all day. We loved staying at the Whistlewood, and cannot imagine staying anywhere else when we come to visit Rhinebeck.


a business get-away

4,0 su gennaio 07, 2011

I had a wonderful overnight at the b&b, peacful,comfortable surroundings and a good breakfast and comfy bed.


A weekend getaway like no other

4,6 su dicembre 28, 2010

This is by far one of my favorite weekend getaways! As a repeat visitor, I highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for the perfect weekend getaway. The location is great, with close proximity to the center of Rhinebeck. The establishment itself is located on acres of plush farmland, where guests can enjoy leisure walks around the grounds, as well as great bird watching and picture opportunities. By far, the best aspect of Whistle Wood is the staff, the service and the made to order breakfasts with farm fresh ingredients. If you are looking for the perfect weekend getaway in the Hudson Valley, Whistle Wood Farm is the place to go!


The Perfect Getaway!

5 su dicembre 21, 2010

My family and I have just returned from a perfect weekend at Whistlewood Farm B&B. I had no idea from the pictures what an authentic, tranquil and warm experience we would have. It is ideal for families as well as couples . . . even the lone traveler. What a gracious hostess, fabulous food, the horses, the trails, the rooms . . . you can have as much or as little privacy as you'd like. We'll be back!


A slice of heaven

4,2 su dicembre 17, 2010

We spent 3 nights in the Tumbleweed room. It was very comfortable, good beds, very clean. Barbara and Maggie were gracious hosts, giving info on where to go and see and do. Breakfast was amazing!! The evenings by the fireplace and borrowing DVDs also relaxing. The property is lovely and serene. We plan to return in the spring, and will recommend it to friends.


Comfy, Cozy, Beautiful

5 su dicembre 12, 2010

Big beautifully decorated common spaces where you can lounge in front of the fireplace, watch movies, eat, talk, work. Delicious fresh-baked desserts all day long including pies and cakes, coffee and tea. Fresh breakfast every morning with pancakes and/or french toast, sausage/bacon, made-to-order eggs fresh from the henhouse. Big clean comfortable rooms with great beds. Great antiques all over the lodge. Even the plates and silver-ware are cool. Free movie DVD/VHS library and every room has its own DVD/VHS player if you don't want to watch out in one of the common areas. Free strong wireless signal throughout. Maggie is friendly and accommodating and available all the time.


Warm, Peaceful, Beautiful Place to Stay!

5 su dicembre 05, 2010

I always choose Whistlewood B&B when I'm in the Rhinebeck area. Have been coming here for 3 years and am never disappointed. The grounds are lovely and peaceful, the rooms are warm and cozy, and the breakfasts and 24-hour snack table is always plentiful. Maggie, the proprietress, even grows her own chickens! Maggie and Barbara are always friendly and welcoming and have great ideas for places to visit while we're here. Great value for the money. I honestly can't imagine going anywhere else given the choice. Try this B&B if you want a charming, peaceful place to stay, great food, and beautiful grounds to walk and enjoy!


Pastoral Setting

4,2 su agosto 20, 2010

We spent one night at Whistlewood Farm. The Farm is lovely and oh so peaceful. The room was clean and very comfortable. The host was very welcoming. After a good night sleep we enjoyed a great breakfast. I would highly recommend this B & B.


Hudson Valley relaxation

3,8 su agosto 20, 2010

My boyfriend and I chose this place based on reviews and photos. We stayed 2 nights in the Sweet Violet room and have already booked it again for a November break. Barbara and Maggie are wonderful hosts. Breakfast is delicious and filling and the lemon pound cake and other baked goods that are out at all times are great (including when I awoke at 4 am in need of a snack). We got to sit by the fire pit, walk through the woods (full of ribbon-decorated trees to help you follow the path), and watch the horses and Blueberry, the watch-cat. The fact that I could leave my bottle of wine, water bottles, and leftovers in the fridge made me very happy. The little welcome sign with our names on it on the door made my day. I don't recall being this relaxed in a very long time. There are an abundance of movies from which to choose, as well as games, and a selection of magazines all about the house and in our room as well. Breakfast is as social as you want: you can sit alone or at a large table, read a newspaper and sip coffee, or meet new friends. Barbara's recommendation of Terrapin for food a meal was spot-on. We ended up having lunch in the Bistro and returning for dinner in the dining room. Excellent menu and staff; great food!! Also enjoyed Maggie's advice to visit Hudson and Olana and enjoy some antiquing and sightseeing in towns along the way. No credit cards accepted, but that is standard policy at many B & B's. An accidental overcharge on our rate was immediately changed. We arrived a few hours early and were able to check in as our room was ready. Although we choose not to watch movies there is free Wi-fi of which we partook to do travel planning and the like. I look forward to our next trip, during which we can take in the fall foliage and enjoy an entirely different season at WhistleWood.


A gorgeous scenic getaway to recharge with beauty peace and hospitality.

4,0 su agosto 13, 2010

WhistleWood Horse Farm Bed & Breakfast is an incredibly scenic private spacious getaway, nestled away in the hills of Rhinebeck, NY on a beautiful farm surrounded by manicured green rolling pastures inhabited by majestic horses. The farmhouse and carriage house, which are located near woods with hiking trails, have been brilliantly turned into beautiful, comfortable bedrooms through which flow fresh breezes, gorgeous views, the sounds of birds and crickets, and the sweet smell of flowers, and a gentle whiney now and again. Breakfast is delicious and the hospitality superb. The perfect escape from the city to enjoy peace, beauty and relaxation!


Whistlewood Farm - Delightful Experience

4,6 su agosto 11, 2010

Just one night, but well worth the experience. A must stay if you are planning on visiting the Hudson, Rhinebeck, Hyde Park area.


Relaxing Experience

4,2 su giugno 06, 2010

Very nice stay! The carriage house is wonderful, great for privacy. Breakfast and afternooon snacks were excellent.


I love Whistlewood

5 su aprile 25, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Whistlewood several times and its always peaceful, clean, and pleasant. Even the horse stable smells clean. I have been to many other B&B's in the area, but this is the one I prefer the best. Also, the location perfect to explore the Hudson Valley. Thanks Maggie Love, The Zucconi Family


A gem when staying near Rhinebeck

4,0 su aprile 19, 2010

My wife and I came here for a weekend stay to celebrate a birthday and we could not have been more pleased with our experience. The proximity to Rhinebeck is excellent and one still feels tucked away in a quiet oasis. We stayed in the Northwind room, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and the highest quality – generous home baked goods and farm fresh eggs will be available. Maggie runs a very relaxed and welcoming B& B. The property is beautiful, tennis and fine dining nearby – a great find for us - we’ll be back!


Weekend stay

4,8 su febbraio 25, 2010

Very clean, great scenery, excellent breakfast each morning. Delightful relaxing stay. We were treated like part of the family a definite thumbs up and would love to go back again. Thanks for a great weekend Maggie. Vinny, Jen & Paulie


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

5 su gennaio 25, 2010

A beautiful drive up to the Inn through a Horse Farm, we were greeted with warmth from the moment we arrived. Tea, coffee, hot coco, fresh baked goods and fruit were available all day. The room was clean, charming and comfortable. One of the sitting rooms had a beautiful fireplace and was a great place to share a bottle of wine. Breakfast was made to order with farm fresh eggs, pancakes, sausage, breads and delicious home baked goods. Maggie was so warm and welcoming it made us feel like we were visiting an old friend. We look forward to returning to visit our new friend, Maggie on her farm.


A great place to celebrate an anniversary

4,0 su dicembre 14, 2009

We recently celebrated our 45th anniversary at the Whistlewood Farm and found it to be a relaxing and inviting B&B. We were made to feel like family and Maggie proved to be both a gracious host and superb chef. Have never had better pumpkin pancakes. It was nice to wake up to horses grazing outside your window. its location in the center of the Hudson Valley made day trips easy. We would not hesitate to return. Marie and Bud Reilly


Great find in Rhinebeck, definitely going back!

4,6 su dicembre 08, 2009

Whistlewood Farm was everything I wanted it to be. I chose this as my place to stay for the night after a dinner at the nearby Culinary Institute's Escoffier restaurant. It's owned / operated by Maggie, and she's done it for 35 years. That experience makes her seem almost prescient. It seemed as though Maggie anticipated everything we wanted. My fiancee loves to start her day with unsweetened yogurt and fresh fruit, which Maggie started to prepare without any prompting from us. She asked about our interest in buttermilk pancakes (do not pass on this!) and also set out breads for toast. I was thinking about how long it had been since I last had marmalade, and just as this thought crosses my mind, she pulls out various jams, jellies and... marmalade. There were baked cakes, banana bread, pies all laid out. My only regret was that I only had 1 night to spend there.


Friendly and Charming

4,6 su novembre 04, 2009

Tom, our dogs and I stayed there for two nights, just to have a brief mini vacation. I found Maggie, the owner and innkeeper, to be a genuinely nice person. One morning, as Maggie was making breakfast, some of the guests started to talk about death. After a while, Maggie interrupted them and told them to change the topic as it was making her depressed. She said it without any qualms and I found that so genuine and funny. Oh! She makes the best breakfasts. Her home-made pancakes are unforgettable. The place was very cozy and relaxing. We will definitely go back. - Alan Antonio, NJ, USA


A tranquil gem

5 su ottobre 12, 2009

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the WhistleWood B & B. We were in a different room each night, so we got to sample the variety of Maggie's offerings. Both rooms were lovely, comfortable, and quiet. A delicious spread of cakes, pies, and muffins is available all day, and the breakfast--served at 8:30--is fresh and tasty. We also enjoyed visiting the livestock--horses, cats, dogs, chickens and a donkey. All in all a great place to stay!


Relaxing weekend

4,2 su settembre 01, 2009

The property is very beautiful. From the main house to the cottage and even the barn. I felt very at home and loved being able to visit the horses. The price is the only thing holding me back from wanting to go again immediately.


A wonderful experience!

5 su agosto 17, 2009

We spent this past weekend at Whistle Wood since we were attending the Wagner weekend events at Bard College. This is without a doubt the best B & B we have ever stayed at. Maggie is a gracious and caring host, the property is amazing, the rooms are clean, brightand attractively appointed, the food outstanding (I probably gained 5 pounds from the delicious and generous breakfasts, not to mention the dessert table!). Whistle Wood is conveniently located but not on the highway, so it is peaceful and quiet. We highly reommend it!


a delightful getaway

5 su giugno 12, 2009

Whistlewood is a relaxing, warm and friendly B&B, with animals in abundance for those who love horses, dogs and cats; excellent breakfasts, interesting guests, comfortable rooms. Overall an exceptional value in a location that is near a lot of historical sites, but far enough away from everything to contribute to a relaxing time.


Whistlewood was Wonderful

5 su aprile 20, 2009

I recently stayed at the Whistlewood Farms for two nights and I must say it was the best B&B I have ever visited. I was looking for quiet and clean and thats just what I got. The room was comforable, the lodge was beautiful and the setting tranquil. Breakfest was delightful with plenty of selections to eat. Our host Maggie was very accomadating and helpful. As a result, my wife and I had a memorable experience and we will be back. Thanks a million Maggie and God Bless. Bill & Theresa Zucconi


Loved it

4,0 su febbraio 19, 2009

I was seeking some peace, quiet and a beautiful setting, and that is exactly what I found. I spent two lovely nights that help reboot me. Barbara and Maggie are wonderful. It was exactly what my soul needed.


A Great Place to Get Away

4,6 su novembre 29, 2008

Maggie is a very friendly hostess and goes the extra mile to make your stay pleasant. She recommended a lot of great places to visit and places to eat. Great time will go back again.


Economic Depression Relief

3,8 su novembre 20, 2008

This cozy, friendly and beautiful horsefarm was the perfect relief for my recent encounter with Economic Depression! Just "a stone's throw" from the hustle of New York City, it provided a welcome respite from the challenges faced by the recent economic downturn and a great opportunity to celebrate old friendships. The horses, the views, the rooms, the fireplace combined with the comeraderie instantly forged over coffee, silver-dollar pancakes and the tastiest bacon (that looked perfect and tasted like heaven - AMAZING), were all unforgettable. I cannot wait to go back and see what Maggie and Barbara cook up for me! Despite the economy and early-November weather, I ended my two days feeling like a new person - ready to face the world with renewed hope. Ce


A little bit of heaven

4,4 su novembre 01, 2008

This was our third visit. A beautiful, warm and welcoming atmosphere. Maggie and Barbara are attentive and gracious hosts. Breakfast is always plentiful and delicious.


Serenity In The Country

5 su ottobre 23, 2008

My daughter and I stayed at this wonderfully peaceful place during this summer. It was so very relaxing and quiet, just what we needed to get a break for the busy city. We highly reccommend this perfect place for a restful getaway.There are great places to visit and wonderful restaurants nearby, as well. We also enjoyed some horseback riding at the Western Stables, a short distance away.


Enjoyable

4,2 su ottobre 01, 2008

My wife and I come into town for a wedding and were pleasantly surprised with our accommodations. The grounds were beautiful and dogs a treat. Breakfast was great.


Carrming and enjoyable

4,6 su settembre 25, 2008

Our family stayed in four rooms. We were all delighted, particularly the children, who loved the horses and went out early every morning to watch them. Very friendly atmosphere with warm and friendly service


Rejuvenation for the Soul

5 su settembre 03, 2008

Whistlewood Farm is a delight for the senses. The ambiance is so welcoming. The decor is a visual treat. The rooms look like they came out of the pages of Architectural Digest; particularly the Northwind room in the Carriage House. I stayed awake listening to the chirping of the crickets and just admiring the beauty of the room. The grounds are peaceful and serene and are replete with horses and an adorable donkey with whom I fell in love. The service is unbelievable. Maggie and Barbara cater to their guests and aim to please- especially where meals are concerned. If you want a meal other than what they have cooked, they will make it for you!! Attention to detail is paid to everything down to the fragrant bath salts. The goal is to pamper and please...and it is accomplished. My husband and I spent a wonderful anniversary at Whistlewood Farm this past weekend and didn't want to leave this Garden of Eden. Obviously others feel the same way. There were a lot of repeat visitors. It seemed like one big happy family. Thanks Maggie and Barbara!!! ...Patricia and John Cinque


WhistleWood Horse Farm Bed & Breakfast

4,8 su agosto 29, 2008

Just what was required,


I never want to leave!

4,0 su agosto 26, 2008

I'm a nine year old girl who loves horses so much. I come to Whistlewood alot because Maggie and Barbara make every second of my stay wonderful.


Lovely spot, great service

3,6 su luglio 24, 2008

Our second stay. Barbara took great care of us. Relaxing, not a lot of features. Just a good getaway.


Serene and Elegant

4,4 su luglio 16, 2008

We were spoiled rotten in the luxurious accommodations at Whistlewood Farm. We enjoyed the quiet, beautiful surroundings and amazing gardens and horses. Breakfast was scrumptious.


"Best of Rhinebeck"

5 su luglio 16, 2008

Spacious charming house with lovely rooms, wide plank floors, furnished with beautiful antiques. The innkeepers are wonderful - feels like staying with old friends.


Wonderful Getaway

3,4 su luglio 08, 2008

This is a very casual & unpretentious spot to get away for a couple of days - you feel that you're on a rural horse farm far away from the city. Although you're close to home, the service is friendly & welcoming & we've been here many times & keep coming back!


WhistleWood Horse Farm Bed & Breakfast

5 su luglio 02, 2008

Very accommodating - had 4 mo. old w/ us. Very relaxing!


Meet Old Friends...

5 su luglio 02, 2008

How wonderful to stay in a beautiful B&B...with the added surprise and pleasure - "running into old friends"!! it was great! Thank you for sharing your home!


Kid Friendly!

3,4 su luglio 02, 2008

This lovely farm was the only kid-friendly place to stay in Rhinebeck. Our boys, 3&7, loved visiting the horses. Breakfast was delicious!


WhistleWood Horse Farm Bed & Breakfast

5 su luglio 02, 2008

Wow! This made our family trip to a family friend's wedding unique, relaxing and very difficult to beat! We spent most of our time on the porches. Breakfast was awesome!


better than be anywhere else!

4,0 su giugno 11, 2008

my visits to whistlewood are always the best, doesnt matter what time of year it is or what the weather is I cant think of any place else that I can walk out the door and feel so at peace. Of course it has nothering to do with me being a country girl at heart and the love for the horses and other animals are the farm.


Whistlewood Farm

4,0 su giugno 11, 2008

-


Whistelwood Farm

4,8 su giugno 10, 2008

Barbara and Maggie are absolutely amazing. Great hostess. I will definitely be back with a group of friends. Barbara is extremely attentative and knowledgeable.


Whistlewood Farm

5 su giugno 10, 2008

Extremely welcoming and homely. Fabulous food and amazing rooms. Glorious countryside.


Whistlewood Horse Farm B&B

5 su giugno 10, 2008

WF is an amazing discovery, home away from home. Barbara is the world's greatest innkeeper. I'll be back many, many times!


Delightful Home From Home

5 su giugno 10, 2008

A lovely inn, where everyone is made to feel at home, very friendly people- all in all a lovely, relaxing, fun vacation spot.


In the "Country."

4,8 su giugno 06, 2008

Whistle wood is a lovely B&B which just happens to be on a horse farm. The rooms are lovely without being fussy. The people were friendly and the breakfast is Superb!


wonderfully relaxing

4,6 su giugno 05, 2008

warm, relaxing,welcoming and beautiful.surrounded by pastures, trees,friendly people and animals.it's a welcome respite from city life


wonderful stay

4,8 su giugno 05, 2008

boy friendly without being to contrived. good pancakes and fruit salad. grand atmosphere, great fireplace, very nice people.


Rest and Relaxation

5 su giugno 03, 2008

The place does not only relax you, but does also rejuvenate you. Cozy at home welcoming place with wonderful staffs who make your breakfast with fest ingredients right in front of you.


Whistlewood Farm

3,8 su giugno 02, 2008

Whistlewood is a very relaxing, very comfortable, informal and child-friendly B&B. It is a true escape into the country, though convenient to cultural sites and other great activities in the Hudson Valley National Heritage area.


May 2008

3,8 su maggio 28, 2008

Very pleasant surroundings. Great for horse lovers. Room for children to run around. Space for contemplation.


Perfect Spot

4,4 su maggio 28, 2008

We love Whistlewood--it's our favorite B&B, bar none. Beautiful property, meticulously maintained. Friendly and low key. Perfect for animal lovers!


Reluctant praise for a B&B

4,4 su maggio 16, 2008

I must say, I usually avoid B&B's. I don't seek company during trips - business or pleasure - so I was a bit apprehensive. Turned out to be not bad at all, in fact a real pleasure. Barbara and Maggie were very nice and introduced me to very interesting people with like interests. The food was great; hospitality special. I may be a reluctant convert to B&Bs. I did think the "optional $2 gratuity" was a bit unnecessary. Just charge more for the room.


Beautiful!

5 su maggio 15, 2008

Such a lovely retreat! Quiet peaceful and charming. I felt completely at home and well take care of. Hope to back soon!


A Pastoral Retreat

4,8 su maggio 14, 2008

We stayed at Whistlewood with our 2 young kids in April 2008 and none of us wanted to leave. In fact, though we had made plans to sightsee, the place was so beautiful and inviting that we wound up hanging around the B & B all day, visiting with the horses, socializing with the wonderful people we met, and eating Barbara's amazing homemade desserts that are always left out on the table in case you want to have a slice. The breakfasts were homemade, hearty and delicious, with every bounty you can imagine from scrambled eggs and pancakes to toast and jellies, fruit salad, cereal, tea, coffee, and homemade baked goods. We sat there every morning for at least an hour to enjoy it. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean, the views pastoral and relaxing; we had plenty of room in the grass behind our room to play frisbee, and we loved spending time down by the stables with the horses, cats, and Maggie's friendly dogs. Though we don't have dogs ourselves, we loved the fact that Whistlewood allows people to bring their dogs with them. It made it feel all the more like a welcoming home away from home, where people and animals are welcome. We will definitely be back and have recommended Whistlewood to all our friends! This place is a treasure.


Afternoon Tea

4,6 su maggio 13, 2008

Everything to love about a B&B. Pastoral views complete with horses. Sumptuous breakfasts, well-appointed and very comfortable rooms. And a hostess who pampers you; particularly her tasty afternoon treats.


Country Getaway

4,2 su maggio 13, 2008

From the moment you arrived at the winding driveway, you are greeted by horses running in their paddocks. The lovely gardens, spacious rooms and generous breakfast made our trip most enjoyable.


I don't wanna go home!

5 su maggio 13, 2008

There is no better remedy for clearing my head from the hustle bustle of Manhattan. My partner and I have been coming here several times a year for the last decade and it's become a home away from home. We have befriended quite a few like us, lured by Whistlewood's welcoming and homey vibe, who make annual trips here. Why do we keep coming back? The charming innkeepers, the peaceful well-kept grounds, the privacy of the tastefully decorated rooms, the relaxing common areas, the all-day dessert table, the laid back atmosphere, the hearty breakfasts, the beautiful and friendly animals (who the innkeepers will keep in their own yard if you wish), and lastly, the unique alarm clock, Tigger the donkey, braying every morning for her breakfast. Oh, and I should mention all the superb restaurants, sights and events in the Rhinebeck area, whenever we can pull ourselves away from just hanging out on the premises. We love this place!


Animal lover's paradise

4,8 su maggio 01, 2008

This is a terrific place to relax & feel at home. the rooms are comfortable & charming without being B&B cutesy. The public areas are also very nice & welcoming. Barbara & Maggie are fun & interesting & do a great job. The dogs, cats, horses, & donkey all enjoy making new friends. I told Maggie that my only complaint was that I couldn't invite the dogs & cats into my room. Breakfast, while not "gourmet," is good & cooked to order. For the price, this place can't be beaten. I'm not a big fan of B&Bs but look forward to my next stay here.


A delicious country retreat

4,4 su aprile 21, 2008

A wonderful restful country farm house B&B. The atmosphere is a delightful mix of casual and attentive. Rooms are comfortable, interestingly decorated and air conditioned. Breakfasts are generous and delicious but not "over the top". In addition there is always a large table of fruit and assorted pastries available for snacking-a barely manageable temptation! Awaken to the sound of birds or perhaps a braying donkey. This is also a horse farm. Horses not available for guests to ride, but arrangements could be made to board your own horse.


Snowed eden

5 su aprile 17, 2008

with great food


Romantic Getaway

3,6 su aprile 11, 2008

We had a lovely time and our room was cozy and clean. It was a great romantic escape from the city and we enjoyed the cute little town of Rhinebeck. My advice would be to go in the Spring, Summer or Fall. It was cold and rainy our entire weekend in February.


VERY Special Place!

4,0 su aprile 07, 2008

What a special experience! Secluded property - home like feeling - very clean and very tasteful decor - great breakfast room with an even better breakfast. Barbara was a joy to talk to, bed was very comfortable. Very serene experience. Loved walking among the horses...


Loved it!

4,2 su febbraio 08, 2008

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic time here and would absolutley go back. Brenda was very sweet, the inn was charming and warm, and the town is adorable! Wine tasting near by and lots of scenic drives and walks to enjoy.


Whistlewood Farm.

5 su gennaio 14, 2008

A snowy eden with great food.


WhistleWood Horse Farm Bed & Breakfast

5 su ottobre 24, 2007

Beautiful grounds, comfortable, tasteful accommodations and friendly service.


WhistleWood Horse Farm Bed & Breakfast

4,0 su ottobre 24, 2007

The innkeepers really make you feel at home. The surroundings are fantastic and the room are gorgeous!


More than just a B&B

4,6 su luglio 30, 2007

WhistleWood is truly a superior experience. Combines the best of a B&B with a Horse Farm like experience. Maggie is a fantastic cook and a very gracious hostess. Rooms are beyond comparison. Privacy and tranquility abound. Would highly recommened to single traveler, couples, as well as families with children who are captivated by horses.


Whistle Wood is even better than the description

5 su maggio 25, 2007

Yes the description is accurate, but the experience of staying there is even better! The bedrooms are lovely and very comfortable and the common rooms are inviting and cozy. The grounds are relaxing and peaceful. Plus there's room for fun too. The horsey atmostphere is a delight. Maggie is a warm and generous host and her breakfasts can't be beat. I highly recommend WhistleWood - whether with kids or without. We'll be back again and again!


WhistleWood Horse Farm Bed & Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $175 - $310
  • Recensioni (107) 4,6
  • Camere 7

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8458766838

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina