Wakefield Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
118 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Excellent Inn

4,2 su novembre 08, 2011

My husband, 6 month old son and I stayed at the Wakefield Inn for two nights. I have to say I had read the reviews prior to our arrival and was worried that we would be met with unwelcoming behavior and nothing was farther from the truth. Gretchen was very warm towards my son and was very accomodating in showing us around the beautiful common rooms and in helping us to our room. We were provided with a pack n play for our son (we had let them know ahead of time that he was coming with us) and were even permitted to switch to a larger unoccupied room to house all of his various items. Gretchen was very helpful in suggesting activities and even keeping an eye on our son while we dined. The rooms were beautiful with historical context and appropriate decor. Very comfortable. Yes, the bathrooms were tiny and there were not many channels on tv but we weren't there to enjoy cable tv. I was happy to have drinks available all night to us in the dining area and we were very warm. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The best sheets I have ever slept on. The food was delicious and I enjoyed eating with the other guests. I can say that the owner, Janelle may come across as brusque as first, but she is not truly that way once you talk to her. I think she is just a direct person and othes may find that oft putting. I found her to be very entertaining and funny. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the cooking classes she offered and liked her very much. I recommend the Wakefield Inn to any couple looking for a getaway!


Want Friendly & Awesome Experience..Wakefield Inn

4,0 su ottobre 25, 2011

Never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast before our trip to Wakefiield Inn...What an awesome experience....Janel & Gretchen didn't have to go above & beyond to make you feel welcome they make you feel that we are part of the family...The food was outstanding...now of course I have to go on diet..but worth it...Will definitely come back again & will recommend ot all our friends... Thank you so much for everything......Peg Myers & Bud Eirman


Perfect Anniversary Get-Away

4,6 su ottobre 23, 2011

Janel made us feel right at home and comfortable! We enjoyed the cozy dining room, great food, comfortable room and the best massages we ever had. Will definitely go back.


Best Kept Secret in NH

5 su settembre 22, 2011

What a treat this place was. My wife and I went up here for a few days after our wedding to relax and it turned out to be such a pleasant and clean place with reasonable prices. Janel & Gretchen make sure you are taken care of with the food and amenities. The cooking class with the Chef and Owner Janel was AMAZING and so much fun. The messages in our rooms were perfect and the breakfast in bed really was the cherry on top. It's 15 minutes to Wolfeboro and right off Rt. 16. Easy access to all eastern New Hampshire sites. It's also less then 30 mins to the Castle in the Clouds which is a much see.


Wakefield Inn

5 su settembre 16, 2011

Everything was top notch. We has a wonderful stay and look forward to going back. Janel's breakfasts and dinner was scrumptious! Cooking class was fun and very knowledgeable - hands on a plus! Janel and Gretchen have a real gem!


They've thought of everything

4,6 su settembre 16, 2011

The Wakefield Inn has thought of everything and it shows in every interaction. They’ve nurtured partnerships with a fantastic mug maker, a fine sheets company, and a local massage spa. They were helpful at every turn, and helped us pick a great time to visit and activities while we were there. I even forgot my book, and that was no problem as they have a pretty big library. All the food is fantastic! The only thing I wish I did better is make sure I could have spent more time in the area... Next time!!


Pleasant, but underwhelming stay

3,0 su settembre 15, 2011

This inn has tons of potential, but the innkeepers seem like they are tired and a little burnt out. Nothing was terribly wrong, but we did not feel like it was a special vacation like we normally do at B&B's. I would not recommend the Thompson room though. We are small people and could barely fit in that closet of a bathroom. We were not given a choice of rooms and were a little bit sad to have been placed in the smallest room of the inn when there were vacancies elsewhere. Other than that, it's a decent place, but probably will not return.


Great sister weekend!!

5 su agosto 30, 2011

"" My sister and I went to the Inn for a girls getaway weekend. We had a fantastic time! The food was amazing and I really enjoyed the cooking class. I made the soup we learned to make the night I got home. Yum! We stayed during hurricane Irene which turned into a fun little adventure. Without power Janel treated all the guests to an amazing 5 course dinner which we all enjoyed together by candle light. Overall, a very different and fun experience. I highly recommend the Wakefield Inn to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy some fabulous food.


Relaxing getaway

5 su agosto 29, 2011

We recently enjoyed two nights at the Wakefield Inn. It is a beautiful historic inn that brings you back in time while without sacrificing any creature comforts of the current era. Lovely rooms, comfy beds and wonderful food!


Everything a B&B should be

3,8 su agosto 19, 2011

A gem of a B&B In the middle of New Hampshire. Friendly staff with great service.


Business Meeting

5 su agosto 18, 2011

Excellent time had by all. We were able to have a business meeting with 8 of us while enjoying a gourmet breakfast. Does it get any better! This may become an annual event as it was so relaxing and comfortable at the inn.


pleasant overnight in the White Mountains

4,8 su agosto 11, 2011

I had an unexpected trip to attend a family reunion. The host gave me the Wakefield Inn as a place to stay. I was very lucky to get a late reservation. I loved the area, weather and the accomodations were superb. The room was very clean and more than I needed. I didn't have the evening meal but the menu was exceptional.


Quiet and Relaxing

3,8 su agosto 10, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay the weekend of August 5-7. Attended a wedding in Wolfeboro and had family in Wakefield so decided to try the inn. Would definately stay again and recommend to others. Staff was very welcoming, room was clean (bathroom was very small though not all the rooms had a small bathroom), and breakfast was excellent. Loved the gardens front and back. Our room was at the back of the inn so was very quiet. Just what we where looking for. Spent part of Saturday reading on the front porch. Definately a place to stay if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing weekend.


Wakefield Inn on August 8, 2011

4,6 su agosto 10, 2011

We had a fine stay, short thought it was. The reservation process was courteous and efficient, check in welcoming, and the Inn is charming. We'll return as soon as possible!


Relaxing getaway

4,2 su agosto 09, 2011

We spent two very relaxing days at the Wakefield Inn in August. The weather was perfect for lounging in the hammock or on an Adirondack chair on the porch. Janel made lovely, fresh breakfasts and we also got to know her and the food a little better with an evening cooking class.


Great cozy place!

4,2 su agosto 08, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding nearby this past weekend, and really enjoyed the place. They created a laid back environment, with ample cookies, tea, and fruit provided whenever you want. The food was definitely the highlight for us, and breakfast was amazing both mornings! Their backyard garden area/hammock were also really nice. Thanks for a great stay! -Beth and Eric


Unique and delightful

4,2 su agosto 08, 2011

We loved everything about the Wakefield Inn. It was quaint, unique, the staff was extremely friendly and the food was phenomenal. Best Bed and breakfast experience!


Outstanding Breakfasts

4,6 su agosto 07, 2011

The Inn was very spacious in scale and had some wonderful antique details, like the massive free standing masonary hearth in the dining room. The public sitting rooms were nicely appointed and "country comfortable" with fresh coffee and a cookie jar of delectable kitchen made cookies always available. Our room was very comfortable but the bathroom was a little cramped and lacked privacy. If we visit again I would take another room as there were other lovely rooms with spacious bathrooms. Breakfast was a surprise and a delight every morning! The chef/owner uses locally grown and farmed ingredients, as well as some from her own veggie garden, and prepares them to perfection. I would return again for the breakfasts alone. I enjoyed taking a final cup of coffee out to the front porch to sit on a rocker and read before starting out for the day. The staff were as cordial and attentive as any in my experience with B&B's and probably the best breakfast we've had any where. I would recommend the Wakefield Inn without reservation.


Great stay at the Wakefield Inn

4,6 su agosto 04, 2011

We stayed at the Wakefield Inn earlier this week and had a great experience. We purchased the Living Social coupon and everything was outstanding. Our room (Thompson Room) had a very small bathroom but was good otherwise. Thanks Janel and Gretchen!


Quiet Stay at The Wakefield Inn

3,6 su luglio 28, 2011

In room massages, brunch-like breakfasts, educational cooking class, and a nice family style dinner with other guests. Our room was quite small and didn't have a TV, but that coziness and quiet were exactly what we needed.


Delightful Inn

3,4 su luglio 27, 2011

We visited as part of a package deal. The Inn is lovely, full of history and antiques, nice staff. It is on a busy road so we used the A/C to drown out any traffic noise. It is within an easy drive of Lake Winnipesaukee and North Conway, so a good locTion. The food was very good!


Beautiful and relaxing

4,6 su luglio 22, 2011

In a quiet corner of New Hampshire, Wakefield Inn is the perfect place to get away. We made plans for activities nearby, but I wish we had spent more time relaxing, reading, and napping in the cozy outdoor and indoor spaces. The food was great, and both Janel and Gretchen were welcoming and hospitable. I would definitely recommend the Wakefield Inn!


wonderful place to stay

4,0 su luglio 19, 2011

We went to this inn as part of living social deal not knowing much about it. It turned out to be a great experience. The room was beautiful and the owner is chef who turns out wonderful interesting food at a very reasonable price.All of the staff were very nice.


WONDERFUL!!

5 su luglio 17, 2011

We received a voucher as an anniversary gift and had a great time!! The innkeepers were warm and friendly, the food was great, the cooking class outstanding!! We will definitely recommend to out friends!!


Nicest B & B we have stayed in

4,4 su luglio 04, 2011

The Wakefield Inn is a delightful place to stay. We were there for three nights and enjoyed the atmosphere and tranquil surroundings. The front bedrooms can pick up noise from the road which seems to be a shortcut for locals early in the a.m. The bathroom in the Frost Room was a bit confining but the owner told us gutting it was a high priority project. Breakfast prepared by owner and gourmet chef Janel was outstanding. Coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruit available 24 hours. Delightful views of the flower and herb gardens from the dining room. We are definitely going back.


Excellent time at the Wakefield Inn

5 su luglio 02, 2011

Wonderful bed, nicely decorated, Great food. Our hostess was fun and friendly. I would return to this B&B.


A lovely inn

4,2 su giugno 28, 2011

We completely enjoyed our stay at the Wakefield Inn in New Hampshire. The cooking lesson we had was fun and and the meal we helped to prepare was delicious. Janel is a great chef who uses only fresh ingredients, including fresh eggs from the chickens in the backyard coop! Our in room massages only added to the relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. I highly recommend a stay at the inn if your looking for a peaceful and welcoming place to stay.


Great B&B!

4,4 su giugno 27, 2011

The Wakefield Inn is perfect for a nice, relaxing weekend away. Our room (the Whittier room) was large and spacious with antiques hanging on the walls. Although the bath was adjacent to the room vs. en suite, it was still private and did not detract from our enjoyment of the room. Janel, the owner and chef, is wonderfully hospitable and very knowledgable of the surrounding area if you're looking for things to do during the day. The breakfasts and dinner we enjoyed were all delicious and made of local and organic ingredients whenever possible. The cozy public living areas made for a nice spot to relax outside of our room. Tea, water and a jar of homemade cookies was a nice addition to make you feel at home. Highly recommended for couples of all ages.


Perfection in New Hampshire at the Wakefield Inn!!!

5 su giugno 26, 2011

What was expected to be a romantic getaway with a few quirky additions (a cooking lesson, a massage, and generous gifts) turned into an unforgettable and delightful experience. It was without a doubt the best journey into exquisite dining, amazing hospitality, and total relaxation that we have ever enjoyed. Warm thanks to Janel, Gretchen & Marie from Lew & Eleanor


Wonderful Culinary Adventure

4,8 su giugno 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Wakefield Inn for three days in June. Our stay included a wonderful five course meal, a massage, and a cooking class. The entire adventure was extremely restful. All of the staff spent extra time making us feel comfortable, suggesting local attractions, and just talking about green living and local/sustainable food! The massage therapist spent extra time with us, and gave one of the best massages I've ever had! The cooking class was wonderful. We made a loaf of bread, a leek tart, a caramelized pear salad, and a flour-less chocolate cake. We've since made the tart twice, once for ourselves, and once for guests to rave reviews! Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Wakefield Inn!


Amazing food, great attention to detail!

5 su giugno 19, 2011

Our stay at the Wakefield Inn was fabulous. The David Copp room is very sweet, the sheets are out of this world, and we appreciated the organic cotton towels, natural soaps, and plush robes. But what makes the inn stand out is Janel's cooking - a real treat for 2 foodies like us. With a great assortment of loose-leaf teas and pre-warmed hand made mugs to start breakfast, and then fresh fruit, scones or muffins that melt in your mouth, then a breakfast entree that included ham from local pigs one morning. The food was fresh, often local, and always creative. We will spread the word about this gourmet getaway, and will certainly be back!


Felt like home!!

4,6 su giugno 18, 2011

We had a great time on our first visit. It will definitely wont' be out last. Thanks for a great experience!!


Wonderfully Yummy Retreat!

4,2 su giugno 08, 2011

I'd have to say the best part of the Wakefield Inn is the delicious breakfast that appears in front of you each morning. Eating homemade breakfast and watching the birds and chipmunks play in the garden is a very relaxing way to start the day! We had a hard time leaving the inn at all--every corner begs you to stop and stay a while, sipping your tea and reading a book. The bed was VERY comfortable and the room was adorable--just what you look for in a B&B! Great amount of storage space as well. Bathroom was a little tight, but totally ok, and also very sweetly decorated. I would recommend the Wakefield Inn hands down and can't wait to return!


Couldn't ask for anything better!

4,4 su giugno 08, 2011

My husband and I just returned for a 2 night getaway at the Wakefield Inn. It was perfect. The inn is beautiful especially the garden in the back which was buzzing the so much bird activity. Sitting in the dining room having an afternoon pot of tea and cookie from the fully stocked cookie jar and watching the birds, chipmunks, and chickens was a delight. Janel is the perfect host, always there when you need her but not overbearing. The food was incredible. I have never eaten so well! Gingerbread pancakes with pear and rhubard chutney. Yum! We also had a cooking class followed by dinner with wine. It was lovely. The class was great and when we came out of the kitchen a beautiful table had been set for us to all sit around and enjoy the meal and good company. I cannot recommend Wakefield Inn enough.


Wonderful stay at Wakefield Inn

4,4 su giugno 04, 2011

Our Innkeeper, Janel, was very good to us. She made us feel at home, and served the most delicious meals. The dining area overlooks a gorgeous garden. The living room has a cozy fire place. The historic rooms are a treat. Definitely recommend it to anyone.


Loved the Wakfield Inn!

4,6 su maggio 25, 2011

I'd never been to an Inn/B&B before the Wakefield Inn, but the Living Social Escape package was too good to pass up. It was for a 2 night stay including a gourmet breakfast each morning, a dinner with wine for two, in-room hour-long massages for 2, a 2 hour cooking class and lunch. It was the perfect romantic weekend for me and my new fiance. We had originally booked the Sisson Room on the first floor based on the photos/descriptions online, but there was a scheduling mix up. Gretchen and Janel wasted no time finding a solution, and we were moved to the Tibbets room on the 3rd floor for the same exact dates. This room is not advertised on the website, but it's a 2 bedroom suite with a private bath. You walk through the "master" bedroom with a very comfy bed to get to the 2nd bedroom that has a TV (the bathroom is just beyond that). Definitely still curious to see the other rooms, but I was very happy with the solution. We are total foodies (obsessed with Food Network, watch way too much TopChef, attempt ambitious recipes on a regular basis) and the culinary experience at the Wakefield Inn did not disappoint. The gourmet breakfast set before us both mornings were phenomenal, and the dinner for 2 was absolutely delicious. The 2 hour cooking class with Janel was easy going and very informative, and eating the fruits of our labor with our classmates was so fun! Overall, we had a great experience at the Wakefield Inn!


Great Stay!!

4,8 su maggio 24, 2011

We had a great weekend at the inn. Janel was a fantastic inn keeper and fabulous chef. The inn was quaint and cute with some modern touches such as an IPod dock. We learned so much in the cooking class and the food was wonderful. The inn had a laidback and fun feel to it. We loved eating and watching the birds in her garden. Janel would always chat with us even though I am sure she could be doing a million things, she took the time to talk with everyone and gave us some tips on where to go and eat. Definately make your way to the Wakefield Inn or stop for a night on your way to the White Mountains, it is worth it!


Relaxing, Luxurious Weekend Retreat

4,0 su maggio 24, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend with decadent meals, in-room massages, and a cooking class! It was a great way to unwind away from the stressors of everyday life but without having to go too far from home.


Wakefield Inn B&B

3,8 su maggio 22, 2011

Janelle, the owner, was fantastic. My fiance and I took her cooking class and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. She is a wealth of knowledge and we learn so much that we will remember and use in our own cooking. The gardens were lovely and eating breakfast in front of the huge window to the back yard/gardens was very relaxing. The many various birds were flying about, the chickens were roaming, and the flowers were blooming. Very relaxing - beautiful.


Great Getaway

5 su maggio 22, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The rooms were spotless, and the sheets were the nicest I have ever slept on. The food was phenomenal, and the cooking class was very enjoyable as well.


The Wakefield Inn is the quintessential New England Inn

5 su maggio 21, 2011

The innkeeper has restored this historical inn with an eye towards pleasing her guests. From the eclectic meals made with local ingredients to the special linens that graced the beds, the inn is a work in progress with one aim, your enjoyment.


Our go-to place for relaxation

5 su maggio 17, 2011

We had an excellent time and definitely plan to go back! The rooms are very roomy and comfortable, we were immediately relaxed. The history of the Inn is very interesting and we loved all the little rooms you could relax in, I felt like I'd been there my whole life! Janel is AWESOME, we could have talked food with her for days, and we learned alot during our cooking lesson. The package (with massage) we got was perfect, everything was high quality and added to the experience.


Exceptional Food

4,2 su maggio 17, 2011

We stayed at the Wakefield Inn because of a promotional deal and we had a great time. The most memorable part was the outstanding food.


cooking class & massage

4,4 su maggio 11, 2011

I loved my time in my cooking class and how can you not love a massage afterward! Wonderful Saturday. Thanks so much.


Awesome food, comfy stay

4,6 su maggio 09, 2011

Janel is a fabulous chef and welcoming host. Special touches like fine linens, warmed coffee and tea mugs and gourmet tea and yummy snacks for whenever the mood strikes made us feel spoiled. I would definitely go back.


Absolutely Wonderful!

5 su aprile 25, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and had a wonderful time from beginning to end. Our room was not only large, but the bed was about as cozy as possible. We had woken up a bit early the first morning and were able to watch the sunrise over a beautiful field across the street. The coffee was worth selling your first born for, and the breakfast was even better. You get to eat amazing dishes that are light and full of flavor in a charming dining room overlooking the little garden/outside patio area. We took a cooking class with Janel and had an amazing time! We learned some great cooking techniques as well as got some amazing recipes to bring home with us. We spent a few hours making our own dinner, which was then served to us with wine. Janel is a master in the kitchen...fun, informative, funny-we had a great time cooking and eating! All of our needs were beyond met during our stay here!! They really did go above and beyond on everything; they not only put out incredible coffee and tea selection starting at 6am, but they put all the mugs on a heating pad so that your coffee mug is pre-warmed! The only thing that was a little stressful was the parking. Perpendicular parking on a road that people seem to go about 40 mph on made leaving the B&B a bit dangerous.


Outstanding

5 su aprile 23, 2011

Our expectations were to enjoy a 2 day getaway from our busy world at a B&B. What we did not expect was such a pleasant, relaxing atmosphere inclusive of the superb cuisine. The inn's owner and chef was very interesting and engaging. Her expertise and ease in sharing her life's experiences, history of the inn and culinary skills was delightful. We would highly recommend a stay at Wakefield Inn in Wakefield NH and look forward to returning in the future.


Wonderful place!

4,8 su aprile 21, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at Wakefield Inn. It is an old New England house, but our room (the Frost Room) was plenty large enough with two comfy chairs. There are nice details, like his/her robes, an iPod stereo, and hair dryers in all the rooms, as well as free WiFi. The area is beautiful, and there is a goat farm nearby that sells goat cheese, yogurt, goat milk soap, and honey, and they let you see the baby goats - adorable! The food at the inn was really wonderful. Every breakfast we had was interesting and unique, and the owner uses local ingredients in the meals. The cooking class was fun and helpful. I cook a lot, and my boyfriend doesn't cook that much, and we both got a lot out of it. The food we made was excellent, and the wine with it was, too. We went in the off-season, and I wish we could make time to go in the summer, because it was so much fun and such a nice experience!


An Excellent Stay!

5 su aprile 12, 2011

We just returned to our busy life style from a pleasant and quiet 3 day stay at the Wakefield Inn. Janel (the Innkeeper) made us feel like friends coming for a visit. We had a lovely cooking class with her, a delightful dinner and delicious breakfasts. Both my husband and I cannot wait until we return. Rosanne


A great weekend at the Wakefield Inn

4,6 su aprile 12, 2011

To summarize, it was my best weekend ever! Firstly Jinelle, the innkeeper was amazing. Her cooking class, the peacefulness of the setting, amazing breakfasts and dinner. Perfect weekend.


A wonderful weekend

4,6 su aprile 12, 2011

Our weekend at the Wakefield Inn was wonderful. A fun cooking class, a great in-room massage, really good food (some of which we made ourselves), lively conversation and a terrifc host all add up to a truly relaxing, fun perfect weekend. All the rooms (bedroom and common areas) in the inn are warm and inviting, the atmosphere was extremely relaxing and conducive to engaging in conversation with fellow guests, the food was delicious and innovative. Without question a place to go back to again. We look forward to that


Great relaxing culinary weekend.

4,2 su aprile 04, 2011

My girlfriend and I booked a package through livingsocial.com for a 2 night stay at the Wakefield Inn, including breakfast both mornings, lunch, a 2 hour cooking class, couples massages, dinner, and champagne and hand-made mugs. The whole package was an extreme value considering the price and level of service and food quality. Janel was a very gracious host, and her cooking was top notch. I really enjoyed the cooking class (though at the time it was just the 3 of us, so it hardly felt like a class). Also, all of the food was delicious. I really like Janel's philosophies on local, sustainable farming and fresh ingredients - and it shows in her cuisine. During our breakfast Saturday morning we watched Janel dig up Parsnips from her garden which we then used in our lunch time cooking class! All in all it was a very enjoyable and refreshing weekend.


AMAZING

4,4 su marzo 28, 2011

Janel was an amazing host, from greeting us at the door to the amazing breakfasts and cooking class. The Wakefield Inn gives you the home away from home feel in the best way possible. I couldn't imagine a better weekend get-away and felt completely relaxed afterward (the massage helped!). Would definitely stay again and will tell everyone I know about this amazing place!! Thank you!!!


Comfortable, but not outstanding

3,2 su marzo 27, 2011

We had a very nice visit at the Wakefield Inn recently. Janel is a great host, her cooking (especially breakfast) is delicious, and the Inn is quiet and relaxing. It is an excellent place to curl up with a book and read. The Inn was well-appointed in general, but our room (the Thompson room) was below average in terms of cleanliness and space. It seems the bathroom was built into an existing closet which--although resourceful--was not necessarily what we were looking for on a weekend away from our studio apartment. I didn't get a chance to see any of the other rooms at the Inn, but based on the website it seems like the Thompson is the least comfortable room at the Inn. I think staying in one of the other rooms would be more comfortable, and is worth the extra $ per night. Otherwise, the Wakefield Inn is charming and well-run. Janel is lovely and provides service with a smile. She's also a great teacher--we very much enjoyed our cooking classes.


Wakefield Inn

5 su marzo 25, 2011

A few friends and I stayed at the Wakefield for a knitting getaway. It was heaven. Janel is incredibly accommodating and the rooms are beautiful and spotless. Janel is also a gourmet chef so the meals were out of this world. We are repeat visitors, that's for sure.


Fabulous

4,8 su marzo 25, 2011

The rooms are beautiful and immaculate. The food is incredible. The innkeeper Janet is warm and gracious. I have stayed here 3 times and always enjoy it.


3 day getaway

4,6 su marzo 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I went for a 2 night package and enjoyed a cooking class with Janel, in room massages, and some delicious meals. We were delighted by our accommodations, Janel's hospitality and the delicious food. We definitely had a relaxing time, which was great for only a short drive from Boston. I'd highly recommend.


A Happy Anniversary Weekend

4,4 su marzo 13, 2011

Janel is a wonderful hostess. As busy as she was as Innkeeper, chef and mother, she was able to find time to chat. Her cooking lesson was very informative and the food was delicious. She made our anniversary weekend just as we had hoped.


Great Stay

5 su marzo 03, 2011

Everything was perfect. Food was amazing. The room and service was top notch.


Janel has skills

4,2 su marzo 01, 2011

i felt like i knew Janel for years. place was great. Food there are no words. i'm coming back u cant count on that


Best weekend ever!

4,6 su febbraio 27, 2011

This was my first experience with a B&B. I am still in awe of how great this was! Janel was an exceptional hostess, and her cooking class was super fun! I can't wait to try out the recipes we learned at home! The whole place was comfortable and inviting. All the meals were fabulous. Our massages were very relaxing and well done. I feel like I could just keep going with the praise! The only minor gripe I have was the bed. (We were in the Frost Room. I don't know if other rooms have different bedding.) It was super creaky and the mattress was... 'Firm' isn't a strong enough word... It wasn't UNcomfortable, but something plusher would've made everything perfect. The sheets were the nicest I've EVER slept on, though! Go Comphy Co.! Overall, I can't say enough great things about the Wakefield Inn! I hope I get a chance to return someday! I'd love love love to make it a yearly thing!


Great!

4,0 su febbraio 25, 2011

Loved the Inn, Janel was great. Food was delicious, and we loved our cooking class!


A wonderful getaway

4,6 su febbraio 22, 2011

We were there with my husband for our anniversary. Just perfect: the Whittier room is the perfectly romantic, and we particularly enjoyed a relaxing bath++, everything was decorated with so much attention and care, not to speak about the tasty dinner and homemade breakfast. The owner of the place was particularly room pleasant and helpful. We will definitely come back and recommend to our friends.


Wakefield Inn

3,6 su febbraio 22, 2011

Janel was a wonderful host. Breakfast was delicious, the inn was homey. Its located on a main road so taking walks from the inn are not easy to do.


Amazing Weekend

4,8 su febbraio 17, 2011

I found the Wakefield Inn through Living Social Deals, and I have already recommended the inn to so many others. This was the most relaxing and enjoyable weekend I have had in awhile. The owner/chef Janelle was so friendly and accomodating, it was like she was family. Her food was impeccable, and rooms were so charming, cozy and clean. I would love to come back again to New Hampshire when the weather is warmer, and the Wakefield Inn is my first choice for where I would stay again. Thank you so much for an amazing weekened Janelle. I wouldn't have changed a thing


A Great Get-Away Location

5 su gennaio 24, 2011

We had such a great time at the Wakefield Inn. It was quiet and so comfortable. Service was outstanding. My husband and I were in need of a get away and this proved to be the perfect retreat. Highly recommended to couples or families.


Great stay!

4,0 su gennaio 02, 2011

Cozy inn with comfortable beds and friendly innkeeper/chef. Delightful dinner. Weekend package was a great value.


Quiet Retreat

5 su dicembre 26, 2010

Janel, the innkeeper, is wonderful! We stayed in the winter and when it snowed she shoveled around our car and dusted the snow off of it for us, all before we woke up. I highly recommend this place!


Almost Like Home

5 su dicembre 20, 2010

We had never stayed at a B & B before and were sceptical to say the least. What would it be like to stay in someone else's home? Well... take it from two avid hotel stayers... it was a wonderful surprise! We stayed in the Whittier suite with it's king size four-poster bed with crisp fresh linens, four large windows, cozy country decor and private bath complete with claw foot tub. Downstairs you can sit by a warm fire and enjoy freshly brewed coffee in the morning while you anticipate a yummy country breakfast. We were treated to freshly baked pear scones, fruit salad and gingerbread pancakes topped with ginger whipped cream as we sat in front of a large picture window and watched the blue jays breakfasting outside in the yard. The innkeeper was outgoing and friendly which made our visit that much more enjoyable. We highly recommend The Wakefield Inn because it's almost like being home... The Stuarts Gardner, MA


Lovely, Welcoming Country Inn

5 su novembre 28, 2010

My husband and I have enjoyed staying at this wonderful inn for several years now. The rooms are beautifully decorated with warm and cozy bedding and period furnishings. There is much attention to detail, making guests feel comfortable and relaxed . And Janel is a warm and welcoming Innkeeper, an amazing chef and a lovely person!


Culinary retreat

4,6 su novembre 16, 2010

i attended one of Janel's cooking weekends. i was really impressed with her willingness to share information and her desire to teach. I really learned alot and i am excited to try out the recipes that we learned. Janel and her family are very friendly and welcoming.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you!!! It was a pleasure teaching you. I enjoyed our dinner conversations and the whole group was so much fun. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!!


great stay

3,6 su ottobre 28, 2010

The Wakefield Inn is a lovely B&B, we really enjoyed our stay!


B&B

3,4 su ottobre 18, 2010

We had a pleasant stay at the Inn. It had a friendly atmosphere and the food was excellent.


Pleasantly surprised

4,2 su ottobre 13, 2010

This was our first experience with a B&B and we were pleasantly surprised! Beautiful inn with lovely grounds. Room was exceptionally clean. Janel is friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was great, excellent coffee!


Historical and Charming

4,2 su ottobre 13, 2010

We travel the World and always stay at B&B's. This was our second stay and we will certainly return again. A great location for touring both New Hampshire and Maine. The White mountains, New Hampshire lakes and Maine coast are within a 1 hour drive with great scenery along the way. Janel will get you started each day with a gourmet breakfast that can't be beat and information on all the attractions so you can see the best this area has to offer.


Labor Day

4,8 su settembre 06, 2010

Very warm and welcoming. A wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.


Lovely family weekend

3,8 su settembre 01, 2010

We all enjoyed our family wedding weekend stay here. It was very relaxing - the porch is wonderful - the food delicious.


The epitome of bed and breakfast

4,8 su settembre 01, 2010

Janel is amazing! She can cook, split wood, quilt, tend chickens and children and can speak intelligently about any subject you can bring up. Her staff and children all work very hard to please their guests. Our stay at the Wakefield Inn was a very pleasant surprise.


Pete's stay Aug. 18 & 19, 2010

3,8 su agosto 22, 2010

Janelle and Judith were especially helpful in guiding me on what's going on locally, directions (except for one mileage underestimate) and conversation about the area, etc. Janelle even called a golf course to arrange my playing. House dog Ace the rescued Weimaraner is my new friend. Overall a very pleasant and friendly experience.


Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere

4,2 su agosto 19, 2010

It was our first experience at a B&B so i would definitely stay another. The Innkeepers were extremely friendly and helpful and their dog Ace was great!!


Lovely and hospitable

5 su agosto 18, 2010

We were having a hard time finding lodging for a 4-day trip to Wolfeboro when we were delighted to get a reservation at the Wakefield Inn. But we were even more delighted when we stayed there. The rooms are comfortable and historically decorated, as is the whole inn; the grounds are beautifully landscaped, we were close to many attractions (Wolfeboro, canoeing, swimming on beautiful lakes, eating awesome lobster at Big Daddy's Barbecue in Acton, Maine), and Chef/Owner Janel Martin is a delightful, welcoming, and informative host. Her breakfast cuisine is outstanding - for example, her Eggs Benedict included homemade English muffins, poached eggs from her hens, fresh arugula and tasty tomatoes. It's easy to come and go from here and they have a library, upstairs reading room, TV and A/C in the rooms, and a DVD/large flatscreen TV to watch in the living room, available to guests. The prices were very reasonable. We'd definitely go back.


Wonderful B&B just outside tourist reach

4,0 su agosto 16, 2010

This was a great B&B with an owner who loves what she does. She was very friendly, always looking to help. The room was absolutely beautiful. The huge backyard is all landscaped and has well-kept gardens, and a fountain. My fiancee and I say out there for more than hour one night looking up at the stars to the sound of the fountain. We saw 14 meteors. The breakfasts were anything but typical, and were homemade and fresh. The owner was also very helpful in giving us a map of local bike routes for us to explore. And one of the biggest benefits is that it was near Wolfeboro and the Lake, but far enough away to avoid the traffic and tourists that come with downtown. Highly recommended.


A Wonderful Place to Saty

4,6 su agosto 13, 2010

My husband, daughter and I spent 3 neights at the Wakefield inn this month and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The very pretty inn is located on a street of historical buildings which is in itself very interesting. The charming innkeeper was trained as a chef - our 3 breakfasts, all different, were the best breakfasts we have ever been served at a B&B. The grounds of the inn were lovely and our room was quite comfortable. I highly recommend this inn to any traveler who enjoys old historic buildings and wonderful meals. Should we find ourselves in the lake district again, we will surely stay at the Wakefield Inn.


A peaceful getaway

3,8 su agosto 09, 2010

We have been going to the Wakefield Inn for a weekend getaway for seven years. Always clean and comfortable. Since Janel & James purchased the inn four years ago, we always look forward to seeing what new touches Janel has added over the winter. Beautiful period decorations in keeping with the house with some modern upgrades in baths, linens and comfy robes. The gardens and grounds are beautifully taken care of.


GREAT HOSTESS AND STAFF.

4,2 su agosto 09, 2010

TRANQUIL SETTINGS. GREAT FOOD.


Paradise in New Hampshire

5 su agosto 05, 2010

Great weekend. I loved the Wakefield Inn! The rooms were spacious, beautiful and comfortable. The food was amazing. I will dreaming about eating there until next summer. I can't wait to go back!!!!!


High Marks for Wakefield Inn

4,4 su luglio 31, 2010

The Wakefield Inn is a beautifully-appointed B&B in an historic hamlet. The room was comfortable and "period," notwithstanding that no modern conveniences were lacking. But its best quality is its management. The proprietress clearly takes pride in running a tight ship. She is charming, pays attention to detail, and is also a trained chef. I would definitely stay there again, and I would recommend it to other visitors to the area. (It is convenient to Wolfeboro and just up the road from Pierce Camp Birchmont as well.)


Life On The Road

3,4 su luglio 21, 2010

Janel, Judith, Olivia and Ace were very welcoming. The steep narrow stairway was difficult to navigate. The rubber on some of the steps themselves was loose in spots and made the stairway less safe. It would have been nice if this survey had been addressed to both my wife and me; as opposed to me alone. While the mattress was outstanding, the horse flys in our room were a nuisance and made it difficult to sleep. On a positive note, the gardens were beautiful and well kept, chef jenel's breakfast was outstanding, and Jenel and Judith went to great lengths to make us feel comfortable.


Outstanding

5 su luglio 21, 2010

Have stayed at the Wakefield Inn several times and have never had an unpleasant experience - rooms always perfect and the food delicious. Thank you.


Wakefield Inn

3,8 su luglio 19, 2010

We particularly enjoyed the fantastic breakfasts at the Wakefield Inn. Each day had a different fruit preparation, type of scones and delicious hot breakfast. The innkeeper, Janel, was very helpful with tips about places to visit in the area. We would highly recommend a stay here.


Great getaway in beautiful area

4,4 su luglio 15, 2010

The Wakefield Inn was lovely. The room we stayed in was charming, clean and comfortable. The food was delicious and a very good value. Try the NH wine on the wine list--it was delicious and a great surprise to find. Make time to relax in the gardens out back and get yourself up to linger over a tasty breakfast and watch all the birds outside the window. We will definitely be back.


Cozy and delicious

5 su luglio 12, 2010

After a long day on the road this Inn was a great find - a warm welcome, a superb 5 course dinner, a quiet room and a wonderful breakfast in a beautiful home. You could feel that the hosts and chef love what they're doing.


Birthday visit was a success!

5 su giugno 25, 2010

This was definantly a place I would revisit! I enjoyed myself thoroughly for the short duration I was there. If there were any possible way, I would add another hammock! :). The food was marvelous and the inn keepers and the environment was very friendly and home like.


Weekened Away

3,2 su aprile 11, 2010

We had a very nice stay at the Wakefield Inn. Our room was very spacious, nice, and had a historical feel, which we liked. Our bathroom was a little small but the Innkeeper warned us of this when we booked the room over the phone. Breakfast was very nice. The dining room had a large picture window overlooking the backyard and gardens with lots of birdwatching. Overall, we had a nice stay.


Lovely People--warm and friendly

3,6 su marzo 16, 2010

We had a nice stay--the outside was in need of some repair, but that did not matter, the people were so friendly and warm, we spent time just sitting and chatting. I would recomend the food and warm flavor of Wakefield Inn.


Weekend in a lovely place

4,0 su marzo 15, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised with the Inn and the lovely people that run it. Really loved Ace. Bruce Hoyt Billerica, MA


Group gatherings st the Wakefield Inn, NH

4,4 su marzo 08, 2010

The Wakefield Inn is a great place to stay for group gatherings. I am part of a knitting group that meets once a year and books the entire Inn. The rooms are beautiful, the beds are comfortable and Janel makes us all very welcome while accommodating special requests, especially where food issues are concerned. I highly recommend you try this Inn!


January Culinary Retreat

5 su gennaio 19, 2010

Attended the January Culinary Retreat Weekend...wonderful! My room was clean, cozy, quiet and the bed was VERY comfortable. Janel is an amazing chef and teacher...I learned so much and the food was FANTASTIC! Had so much fun meeting and cooking with the 6 other people attending. Janel and Jim are warm and welcoming hosts...truly a 5 star weekend!


A great place

5 su gennaio 08, 2010

The Wakefield Inn is just a great place to stay. The breakfast was outstanding and Janel is just a pleasure to be around


Enjoyed our stay as always

4,0 su dicembre 27, 2009

We enjoy our stay at the Inn. The rooms are comfortable, food delicious. Janel and James made us feel very welcome.


Excellent

5 su dicembre 15, 2009

I had a wonderful stay at the Wakefield Inn. Everything was great. The owner could not have been nicer. The place was very comfortable and clean. I would recommend this place to my own family.


Great Stay

4,6 su ottobre 30, 2009

A haven away from the busy pace of life. Our host made us very welcome and our room very comfortable. The snow was an added bonus but the warmth of the wood burning stove was comforting.


Fabulous time at a cozy inn

5 su ottobre 29, 2009

Our 2 night stay at the Wakefield Inn was pure pleasure. The fire was lit in the living room waiting for our late arrival. Both breakfasts were delicious, especially the baked pear. Even as we departed they helped us print our boarding passes so we wouldn't have to wait in long lines at the airport. I recommend this inn to anyone wanting a comfortable and relaxing stay in the country.


Fall Visit

5 su ottobre 18, 2009

Our stay at the Wakefield Inn was great. The Inn is very clean, is in a great location and the food was superb. The Inn keeper and staff are very friendly and accomodating! We would definitely stay here again!!


Wakefield Inn NH review

5 su ottobre 11, 2009

Wakefield Inn B&B was one of the very best B&B's we have stayed at and we have stayed at a lot of them. Janel, the owner, is fantastic and very friendly and a talented cook. Richard & Dolores in Lorain, OH


Come again-fortable

4,0 su ottobre 02, 2009

I didn't "check" any of the boxes since everything was "all of the above" and I never know what to expect when leaving my comfort zone. That said, our stay was quite comfortable, we were treated almost like family or at least old friends. I have been in other B & B's where the hospitality seemed to be amost manufactured. Point is, I kinda like to feel comfortable, free to move around, and not be doted upon. Should an other occasion require, I will look forward to returning. Breakfast was very good, cooked to order and more than adequate. The water was delicious and there was no tv in the room. Nice big, and here's that word again, comfortable bed. I would like to have seen a big dog but understand why there could be none. Woof-woof, Paul Malley


a wonderful place to spend the weekend

5 su settembre 27, 2009

Janel is a lovely welcoming innkeeper. She is a fabulous cook.


Wakefield Inn Overnite

5 su settembre 13, 2009

Staying at the Wakefield Inn was a lovely experience. The owner works hard to keep such great standards at the Inn. The historical home is beautifully appointed. The bed was most comfy. The gardens are lovely. The people very friendly and the food just marvelous. We will certainly return. I can only imagine how elegant it will be in the wintertime! Cyn and John G.


Delightful facility, delightful location!

4,0 su settembre 04, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by the size and comfort of our room. The beds were extremely comfortable, although the pillows were a little small and soft for our comfort. Eastham is just close enough and far enough away from all the hub-bub of Cape Cod tourists to make it a wonderful location to set off from. The desk personnel were more than helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.


A Wonderful Place...

4,8 su agosto 16, 2009

We were there with two kids, Janel made us feel very welcome. Wonderful breakfast.


Quaint B & B

4,6 su agosto 12, 2009

Wakefield Inn felt like a home away from home. The old colonial feel was welcoming and the breakfast was outstanding. Staff is very cordial and willing to help in any way. A must stay for anyone traveling through the area.


Relaxing home away from home

5 su agosto 03, 2009

We stayed at the Inn to celebrate our 11th anniversary. It was great to just relax and take it easy. We had dinner in Wolfeboro and enjoyed an incredibly delicious breakfast made by Janel, and brought out by her Aunt Judith. We thoroughly enjoyed our time talking with the family and we felt very comfortable and at home the entire time. I would recommend this inn and plan to visit again!


Nice stay at the Wakefield

4,4 su luglio 31, 2009

The rooms were large and comfortable. The Inn was true to it's historic heritage - I could feel the history all around me. The food was outstanding, and the service very friendly. Our children had fun playing in the garden. We would stay here again.


wonderful old inn

5 su luglio 26, 2009

Great place to stay when we were going to be in Wakefield for my Opera House. Loved the history of the Inn, beautiful gardens, and delicious breakfast!


Very enjoyable unplanned stay

4,6 su luglio 23, 2009

My wife and I decided to find an overnight place when we were exhausted from a day trip to Maine. We saw the vacant sign at the Wakefield Inn and decided to give it a try. We were tired and hungry and it was 7pm. We entered the Inn and located the staff busy in the dining room. They immediately had a very pleasant person see to registering us, showed us our room and advised us on all needed necessities including the menu if we would like dinner. Once settled we decided to partake in the dining room, which by the way was the second best decision of our day, first was staying at this charming and friendly Inn. My wife had the shrimp and I chose salmon. Both dinners were personally prepared for us the the owner, Janel. She even offered a suggestion for the perfect bottle of white wine when asked and it was great. But both meals from the hot home made bread to the desert, all included in the cost of the entree were supurb. We also enjoyed light conversaion with the owner and her assistant who made us feel very much at home. We will return, hopefully soon.


One of THE BEST B&B'S!

5 su luglio 05, 2009

EXCEPTION AND OUTSTANDING SERVICE AND HOSPITALITY.SLEPT IN LAST DAY OF STAY, MISSED BREAKFAST BUT WAS NOT SENT AWAY WITHOUT JUICE, COFFEE AND EXCEPTIONAL HOMEMADE MUFFINS!


An upstate NY opinion of Wakefield Inn.

4,8 su giugno 30, 2009

Everything at Wakefield Inn was wonderful very exceptional; best B & B we have stayed at over the past ten years. Our hostess was very pleasant, courteous, and an exceptional chef serving an outstanding breakfast. Would definately stay there again and would recommend the Wakefield Inn to my friends and family for the place to stay in that part of New Hampshire.


Fantastic Weekend Get Away

5 su giugno 21, 2009

Janel and James Martin aren't just your normal Inn keepers, they have extraordinary hospitality skills. We throughly enjoy the relaxed homey feeling that the Wakefield Inn gives you. Stay two nights an feel like I have been there many times before. Thanks again for a great stay. Brian and Kathy, Derry, NH


Wakefield Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $199
  • Recensioni (118) 4,5
  • Camere 6

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6035228272
  • Numero di Fax 1-6032186714
  • Gratuito 1-8002450841
Inizio pagina