Port City Guest House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
168 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A great place to stay

4,8 su settembre 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this B & B for three nights recently and were delighted with our choice. We were the only guests at the time and our host, Sophie, couldn't have been more hospitable. Her house is beautiful and full of antique furniture, her breakfasts were superb and set us up for the day and the location of the house is an easy 30 minute walk to the downtown area and river, or a six dollar, plus tip, taxi ride. Sophie gave us a lift one night, rather than call a taxi for us, and told us to telephone when we wanted picking up. She also did very enticing afternoon tea and gave us chips and fruit for our onward journey. Most unusual in a B & B facility, and most welcome, was a laundry room for guest's use. Thank you Sophie for a very enjoyable stay. Barbara and Dave, Ireland


A wonderful experience!

4,8 su settembre 26, 2014

Good breakfast, a nice stroll to downtown and Sophie is a jewel!


weekend getaway

5 su settembre 21, 2014

Had a great time! Can't wait to come back! We would highly recommend this B&B!


Friendiest B&B in Wilmington!

5 su settembre 12, 2014

Great place to stay. The owner "Sophie" makes you feel right at home. The house is large, with two parlors and a dining room to hang out in besides your room. Located in a beautiful, historic neighborhood that makes for great walking if you like looking at old houses. Our son is a freshman at UNCW and we always stay at Port City Guesthouse. UNCW is a 10 min. drive. The water front is a 20 min. walk from B&B. B. Bethke APEX, NC


Gracious host and lovely b&b

5 su settembre 12, 2014

We needed a weekend away from kids and Sophie made it perfect.


Weekend Getaway

5 su settembre 08, 2014

We loved this place, Sophie and Chase too! The bedroom were clean, nicely furnished and homey. The living room and dining room were gorgeously furnished. Not only did the upstairs have a frig for guests but a washer and dryer too! Then there was the food... whatever you wanted for breakfast you got... and then some! Sophie is a fabulous cook and makes sure your wants and needs are filled, just like your stomach! We never ate lunch because we were always full from breakfast! The ambiance, conversation and other guests made us feel like we were "home!" Sophie, we will be back! Missed you the moment we walked out the door. This was the best!


Best B&B Ever

5 su settembre 08, 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about the Port City Guest House and Miss Sophie, the innkeeper. I made my reservation at this place due to it's location and character, but I will be returning because of Miss Sophie. The rooms were perfectly sized so you had enough room for everything. We brought our dog along and there was plenty of room for her in her crate. While only 1 bedroom has an en suite bathroom, the two other bathrooms that the guests shared were convenient and well-sized. The food she prepared was fantastic! I've never had waffles as good as the ones she made us the first morning. The next morning, she personally asked what we would like to have and had no problem making it for us. That was the first time I've ever had my pick of a breakfast menu at a B&B rather than the innkeeper selecting the menu. She would even have afternoon refreshments laid out in the eating are when we came back before dinner with water, tea, and wine. For anyone that is planning on traveling with their dog, this is the place to go. Wilmington is a very dog friendly location where many stores, restaurants and even bars will allow you to bring your dog in, but nobody is as dog friendly as the Port City Guest House. Miss Sophie even offered to take our dog outside if we were going to be gone for more than 4 hours. If you are looking for a place to stay in Wilmington, regardless of whether you want to stay downtown or not, the Port City Guest House is the place to go. It's only a short walk into the main downtown area and even then, Miss Sophie offered one of the guests a ride rather than see them pay for a cab. I know that the next time I'm in Wilmington, I'll be staying here again.


Sophie is the perfect Hostess!

5 su agosto 25, 2014

Amazing home, food and hospitality! We will be returning for years to come.


Sophie Rocks

5 su giugno 26, 2014

Had the opportunity to spend four days at Port City with my daughter on a mother/daughter getaway. It was one of the BEST vacations we have ever had. Sophie made sure that my daughter's first experience at a B & B would be awesome. She made us feel like we were staying in her home and fed us the most delicious, incredible and filling breakfasts. We can't wait to go back!


Port City Guest House Repeat Customer

5 su giugno 19, 2014

I would recommend anyone to stay at the Port City Guest House. The house is charming as is it's host. We will be back.


Like going home!!

5 su giugno 01, 2014

Me and my Wife took a few days off the celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. This was our 1st Bed & Breakfast and oh how we made a wonderful choice! Sophie is a treasure and so much like a mother who just wants to make sure everything is perfect for you. And the cooking? Down home great breakfast from a healthy fruit selection to the best sausage gravy and cheese biscuits you'll ever eat. The only time I've gone somewhere for a few days and hated leaving. Thanks for the great conversation and hospitality Sophie!! Tell Chase we miss him!!! Forest & Joni Alford Smithfield NC


Our First B&B Experience

5 su aprile 21, 2014

We are just leaving The Port City Guesthouse, and words cannot express how wonderful an experience it was. Sophie is nothing shy of amazing, and an incredible cook! Her spirit is beautiful which only adds to the home. If you are looking to try something different from your mainstream hotels, this is it! We enjoyed our mini honeymoon and will definitely will be back to visit. Loved it!


Don't accept the Carriage House without a thorough look at bed and mattress

2,8 su aprile 20, 2014

We stayed April 12, 2014. We had reserved the Green room and our friends reserved another. We were offered a "upgrade" to the Carriage Room, while our friends were moved to the Green Room. They were happy with the room overall however the Carriage Room was sub-standard. Tha mattress was set up sort of on a home made temporary frame, and the mattress sunk in the middle with no box spring. The air conditioner was broken. All that led us to loose a nights sleep and leave the following morning. As far as I could tell the other rooms looked ok and the hostess was very gracious and refunded the unused night without hesitation. The food and snacks were above average. Breakfast was very good. Some homemade goodies were mixd in, like jelly and fresh oj. I understand the Green Room had the only in room private bath. I wouldn't do it any other way. Unfortunately however, I can't recommend. :-(


Pet Friendly Home away from Home

5 su marzo 23, 2014

This place was great. Sophie is super nice and a great cook. My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights and we were greeted with an array of much needed snacks and wine upon arrival, after which we chatted with Sophie for a while about the town. She was extremely welcoming and made us feel like we lived in there while we stayed. She even offered to pick us up from downtown Wilmington if we didn't want to walk back and walk our dog for us if we were gone for too long. Breakfast was delicious both mornings, ready for us when we got up. I would definitely stay here again if back in the Wilmington area.


Amazing B&B experience

4,6 su marzo 23, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Port City Guest House. Sophie was great, and definitely knows how to feed you! Afternoon wine and snack was a great touch. It is also pet friendly, so we were able to bring our small dog with us!


LOVED OUR STAY

4,8 su dicembre 11, 2013

This was the perfect getaway for our anniversary! Sophie was so sweet! The food was AMAZING! And she even served snacks and wine! It was perfect and the location had a lot of options for activity! Over all it was a great experience and we hope to go back!


Wonderful food, beautiful house

5 su ottobre 17, 2013

We had a delightful visit, Sophie is very entertaining and gracious.


Perfect!

5 su ottobre 08, 2013

My wife and I went on a short trip to the Carolina's, staying at different B&B's and this one, by far, was the best! Sophie was a joy, and she LOVES to feed you! The rate was very reasonable, the bed was comfortable, the food was too much. I say food, because there was much more than just a breakfast. Afternoon wine and snacks that never end. You don't even need to leave the house! Thank you for the hospitality Sophie!


Home away from home--only better!

5 su settembre 09, 2013

Sophie is a wonderful innkeeper and knew just how to make us feel special and welcome. She was exceptionally accommodating and engaging. Breakfast was elaborate and delicious! The afternoon snacks/wine were a nice touch. The rooms were beautiful and there's so much history in the house. We were pleased that the Port City Guest House was walkable from downtown Wilmington and just a few miles from Wrightsville Beach. We will DEFINITELY stay at Port City Guest House on our next trip to Wilmington, and encourage everyone to do so!


Such a great B&B!

4,8 su agosto 20, 2013

Sophie, the owner, makes this experience wonderful! I traveled alone and she made me feel so comfortable and safe. She had amazing tips for things to do in Wilmington!


A Pleasant Experience

4,8 su agosto 15, 2013

Port City Guest House is a very comfortable and people-oriented B&B, thanks to our hostess Sophie who knows how to bring her guests together. The rooms were spacious, immaculate, and very nicely decorated, and Sophie goes out of her way to make sure her guests have everything they need and are well fed each morning. For dog lovers like ourselves, her sweet dog Chase was an added benefit. We recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing, reasonably priced place to stay while in Wilmington.


Road Trip to NC

1,0 su agosto 12, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's and this one by far is the worst one ever! I would never recommend this place! First of all we were given a price of $119 per night and when we got there Sophie charged us $139 per night. When I confronted her she said that was a mistake on her website yet she did not honor what the website quoted. We stayed two nights and our bed was never made up in between. Dirty towels never replaced with clean ones. We ran out of toilet paper and soap. Good luck in trying to find the place she has no signs whatsoever. Makes me wonder why?? Parking.....no signs as to where to park one has to drive around the block a number of times to figure out it is in a back alley!

Risposta del proprietario
Port City Guest House had an increase in rates a few months ago (the only increase we have had in 12 years of doing business). As I tried to explain, there was an existing online problem getting all the links to our site in sync with the new price increase. We worked very hard with Bed and Breakfast.com and the other booking engine sites such as Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity to correct this problem. I apologized profusely to the guest but my hands were tied. Because Port City is a guest house and not a hotel, we never enter a room once someone has taken possession of the room but we do try very hard to make sure there are ample towels and toiletries available to our guests. In fact, the large roll-top desk in the hall is stocked to the brim with extra supplies, hair dryers, sunblock, aloe, combs, shave cream, paper products, brushes and the like. If anything was amiss, again--we again sincerely apologize. As to the parking, we are located in the mansion district of historic downtown which has it's one-way streets but I was never under the impression that it was difficult to find. There is ample paved parking in back of the home in addition to multiple spots on the streets surrounding the home. I cannot say how sorry I am about this guest's experience, but it is almost impossible to please everyone and I hope this guest will not become disenchanted with the B&B experience.


Great Service, Food, & Company!

4,6 su luglio 23, 2013

This was my first time at a bed & breakfast and my expectations were definitely surpassed! Sophie was great. She is very sweet, sociable, and an amazing cook! The bedrooms & bathrooms were very clean and cozy. Like I said, the food was fantastic and you never left hungry. I plan on staying at the Port City Guest House the next time I visit Wilmington.


Just what I was looking for!

5 su luglio 19, 2013

Great B&B! Very quaint with decorations and furnishings from the old south throughout the whole house. Sophie is extremely polite and caters to your every need. Her breakfasts are amazing and fill you for the rest of the day. Just her being the inn keeper makes this place an easy choice to stay at. Loved the Colonial room!


Wonderful weekend

5 su luglio 18, 2013

Excellent, comfortable room and bed. Sophie was wonderful and could not do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Will definitely stay there again when in Wilmington area.


Great place to stay

4,4 su luglio 08, 2013

The location and the home were great. Sophie, the owner, made the trip for us by making us feel like we were truly at home. She is also an animal lover. I would recommend this home for anyone visiting the Wilmington area.


A must visit!

4,6 su luglio 05, 2013

Thanks again for the wonderful hospitality! We loved staying at your B&B and hope to visit again sometime. We would recommend Port City to everyone. Sophie has the most amazing southern charm & hospitality. :) The breakfasts were outstanding! I think literally nothing can beat Sophie's grits and waffles!! We have already sent a friend there to stay. We know they'll love it. We can't wait to visit again!


Definitely Worth It, Can't Wait to Go Back!

5 su giugno 18, 2013

This was mine and my husband's first time staying at a bed and breakfast, we couldn't have picked a better place to stay at. Mrs. Sophie is absolutely amazing and her B&B is just as amazing. She made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The rooms we very clean and the service was better than I could have asked for. As for the food, Mrs. Sophie's cooking is SO delicious. She made sure there was enough breakfast on the table for an army and was so kind as to have snacks available in the afternoon which was perfect for us before heading out to dinner. The atmosphere is super friendly and very inviting and we are already looking forward to going back. I can't say enough great things about this wonderful establishment and the innskeeper, Mrs. Sophie. Sincerely, Jessica Allen


Weekend getaway in Wilmington!

4,0 su giugno 10, 2013

A friend and I decided to venture to Wilmington for the weekend and happened across this B&B online. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated how Sophie made us feel as if we were house guests for the weekend. We will definitely return.


Very Comfortable and Relaxing!

4,8 su giugno 05, 2013

First time I did a bed & breakfast and won't be a last! I recommend this one to anyone especially first times like myself. It is very comforting and relaxing where you can feel like you are closer to home. The management is hospitable and willing to accommodate anything for you! Worth the money and I plan to return in the near future! Thank you Sophie! :)


Welcoming and Warm

4,2 su maggio 28, 2013

Loved staying here! Convenient to everything. Well maintained. Very homey and beautiful. Sophie was amazing!


Park City Guest House Review

5 su maggio 18, 2013

Sophie is wonderful!


Great Southern Hospitality

4,8 su maggio 11, 2013

Ms Sophie is a grand lady and fantastic host. I highly recommended the Port City Guest House. Robert


Port City's Finest & Friendiest

4,2 su aprile 30, 2013

The finest host at a B&B we have stayed at in recent memory. Personal and provied good information about the area, real estate and things to see & do.


Outstanding value and delightful stay at Port City B&B

4,8 su aprile 25, 2013

Generous accomodations and gracious service are evident at Port City B&B, comfortably situated in a walkable historic district neighborhood, owned and operated by a Wilmington native. Breakfasts are a treat with a superfluity of food and pleasant conversation.


wonderful b and b

4,2 su aprile 18, 2013

Sophie, the owner and host was a delight! She treated us like family and fed us many times during our stay. She takes great pride in making you feel special. Thanks Sophie....say hi to Chase (the dog)


excellent

5 su aprile 10, 2013

from a b&b owner i appreciate all the effort. a good referral in a dissapointing situition


Great place to stay in Wilmington

5 su aprile 03, 2013

This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast and the standards have definitely been set high. A historical house that is comfortable and clean, amazing food, great conversation, and amazing hospitality...I couldn't ask for anything better.


Port City Gem

4,4 su marzo 12, 2013

It probably pays to visit Wilmington in the off-season, but the hospitality shown to us by proprietor Sophie Johnson was outstanding, and we enjoyed spaciousness of the large home, and the comfortable room and heated mattress. The home is a a leisurely walk from the historic downtown, and very accessible to the main roads that take you to the beaches and commercial districts. Sophie is an excellent cook, and we enjoyed fabulous breakfasts and even late afternoon snacks and drinks. Our visit was just perfect.


Relaxing B&B (Great service)

4,6 su marzo 08, 2013

The hostess for the B&B was very welcoming and friendly. We will definately come back. The hostess did a great job of getting the different guests together and facilitating a conversation. In the end, we came out with good places to see and learning about other places to visit.


Relaxing Weekend!

5 su marzo 06, 2013

Everything was perfect just what we needed for our getaway weekend. Sophie was very accommodating, she made us feel at home and told great stories! The room was also amazing along with the house everything was beautiful. The country food was great everything homemade I couldn't find room for it all! We will defnitley be back. Reshe Ibrahim


Amazing Weekend

4,8 su gennaio 28, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we had at this beautiful bed and breakfast! Sophie knows how to entertain her guests while allowing privacy. Very entertaining stories, relaxing evenings on the front porch, and amazing food!!! We definitely plan to return!!


Best Birthday

4,8 su gennaio 24, 2013

What a great way to spend a birthday weekend. Perfect weather for hanging out on the fabulous front porch. Sophie is the best, balancing privacy with fun conversations. Food is wonderful and plentiful!!! Great spot within walking distance to the wharf area and shopping. Love Wilmington. Christmas decorations were enough to keep me entertained, she had place decorated fabulously. Will definitely be back!!!


Excellent B&B

5 su gennaio 09, 2013

Enjoyed my stay in this lovely B&B. Sitting room was gorgeous, breakfast was excellent, and early evening snacks were a nice surprise. Sophie was an excellent host- I will definitely return if I have the opportunity to return to Wilmington.


Bravo!

5 su gennaio 02, 2013

We're aging baby boomers who have traveled the world and stayed in a variety of places. We chose to meet friends in Wilmington because it was the half-way point for both parties. Not knowing what to expect, we were charmed by Wilmington's historic district and delighted that we stayed with Sophie at her lovely home on Market Street. Sophie is gracious and friendly, helpful and accommodating. Her friends and family pop in and we saw her even feed the AT&T technician breakfast. All love Sophie and now, we do too. If you appreciate having a place to stay where you're treated like favorite members of the family, stay here.


Very nice stay.

4,4 su dicembre 03, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the guest house and had a very pleasant time. The atmosphere of the house is very warm and open and it's easy to feel at home. Breakfast was truly delicious and we enjoyed to chat with our host and the other guests.


Friendly and delightful

5 su dicembre 02, 2012

We are a couple, both 65. We have travelled extensively, and have experienced the range of accommodations, from tents to suites, from B & B's to luxury hotels. In the end, value, warmth and enjoyability transform a room into an experience. We recently stayed at the Port City Guest House while attending a wedding in Wilmington, and the stay could not have been better. The host, Sophia, made sure that we were comfortable, ranging from coffee and marvelous breakfasts, to snacks (well, actually pretty close to a meal) and wine in the afternoon and evenings. The house and furnishings are charming, clean and delightful. The locations is perfect, an easy walk (remember, we are 65) from downtown Wilmington and the riverfront. We could not recommend this more highly.


First Time at a bed and breakfast but not last time.

5 su novembre 26, 2012

I stayed at the Port City Guest House with my girlfriend during the week of the Marine Corps Birthday Ball. All the local hotels were booked and came across a bed and breakfast a short distance from the ball and decided to give it a shot. Having never stayed at a bed and breakast I wasnt sure what to expect. I was greated by Sophie who was very nice and had snacks and wine ready before we even got that. She was very accomodating throughout our entire stay. If there was anything we needed, Sophie was sure to have it taken care of. The room was very traditional and cozy. It was actually a welcomed relief to not be surrounded by technology for a change. Our first night we were the only ones staying at the Port City Guest House, however for the remainder of our stay (3 nights total) all rooms were booked. I was concearned about hearing the other guests but you would have never known other people were staying there. Very quiet. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and cooked to order. The table was well set and had lots of amenities to go along with the breakfast. Also there were snacks throughout the day that were also delicious. The location was also great. Is probably out of walking distance to the downtown area for most people, but its a very short drive. We took a cab home one night and it was about $5. Lots to do downtown and really good resturants. Overall I thought the cost/value ratio was great. Compared to what I normally spend on nice hotels and what I get out of them, I thought this was great. I'll certainly be back, perhaps for just a weekend getaway.


Weekend Getaway

5 su novembre 13, 2012

As a treat for my beautiful wife, I booked us a room at the Port City Guest House for our weekend getaway. Sophie was a wonderful hostess that never failed to tend to our needs and went above and beyond what we could've hoped for. Convenient location with its own parking in the back so you don't have to worry about parking on the street. Good food, plenty of snacks and plenty of conversation topics with Sophie. We had our own bathroom and the room was more than we could ask for. It was almost impossible for us to ever leave the bed since it felt just like home.


charming place with an even more charming hostess

5 su novembre 09, 2012

We stayed at the Port City Guest House B&B for a wedding in Wilmington. The B&B is conveniently located close to downtown Wilmington. The place is charmingly decorated and immediately made us feel comfortable. The hostess Sophie went out of her way to make sure everybody had what they needed. The breakfast (and afternoon snacks) were delicious. We'd stay there again if we are in the area. Highly recommended


Sophie is the best!

5 su novembre 05, 2012

We stayed at Port City Guest House during the weekend of my daughter's wedding and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Sophie is a great hostess and made my whole family feel like part of her family. We would stay again any time!


charming B&B

4,2 su ottobre 26, 2012

Reception (In-Out precessing),Informations, service in all matters outstanding.


Almost like home!!

5 su ottobre 24, 2012

Our family stayed at Port City Guest House while we prepared for my daughter's wedding. It was perfect for us! It has charm and comfort with a little nostalgia thrown in. Sophie did an outstanding job keeping us fed. She always had the most delicious breakfasts and was ready with snacks at a moment's notice. She made us feel welcome from the very first moment. We had 4 children 9 and under with us, and she treated them with kindness. I couldn't have asked for better accommodations for our special weekend.


Great stay

4,2 su ottobre 17, 2012

Beautiful house in a great location for exploring Wilmington and surrounds. Sophie was warm and welcoming and made every effort to make us feel right at home. Breakfast was fantastic and Sophie made sure that we had everything we wanted. Would recommend a stay hrere


Southern Hospitality At Its Finest!

5 su ottobre 16, 2012

Our stay at Port City Guest House was AMAZING. Sophie is a DELIGHT and practically bends over backwards to ensure everyone is comfortable and happy. We brought our dog, and she was more accommodating to him then we could ever have imagined—he didn't want to leave! We stayed in the Blue Room, which was adorable, and the bed was super comfortable. We'll DEFINITELY stay at the Port City Guest House next time we're in Wilmington!


An exceptional bargain and a pleasant night's rest!

5 su ottobre 16, 2012

The Port City Guest House significantly undercuts the per night price of the major hotels in Wilmington, while at the same time offering personal attention, very comfortable accommodations, and excellent food (included in the price of the stay). With only 4 rooms, you're best advised to book your stay early!


Terrific Experience and Wonderful Location

5 su ottobre 15, 2012

The house is beautiful, the location is convenient to downtown and the beach, and Sophie provided the warmest hospitality. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. Sophie was very attentive to our needs, providing wine, hot chocolate and extra snacks. The breakfast was delicious and we tried something new each day. If you enjoy a relaxed bed and breakfast atmosphere that allows you to feel at home away-from-home, this is the place to go in Wilmington!


Lovely Weekend Getaway

4,2 su ottobre 15, 2012

We had a lovely weekend. Ms. Sophie was a gracious hostess with charming southern hospitality. She made us feel like family, even though we were a bit hesitant about what to expect. The house was very comfortable and a historic beauty.


I want Miss Sophie to come and live with me!

5 su ottobre 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights and wish we'd had time to stay longer. Sophie is fab, a charming hostess, I could talk to her all day, the house is lovely as was our room. As for the food, nothing was too much trouble for Sophie, everything freshly cooked and as much as you wanted! As overseas visitors this was, for us, the best of Southern Hospitality.


Short but great stay at port city guest house

4,4 su ottobre 11, 2012

We stayed at the Port City Guest House for two nights in October. It was a slow time of year, so my wife and I were the only guests there. We enjoyed our stay very much. The house is beautiful and Sophie was a wonderful host. We really enjoyed talking to her and her breakfasts were as good as I've had. She made sure we were at home during our stay. Snacks and wine were always available. We would certainly stay with her again.


Found a new friend!

5 su ottobre 10, 2012

I recently stayed at Miss Sophie's Port City Guest House in her Blue room. I was staying at a B&B for the first time ever, and am a single woman, so was nervous. Miss Sophie went out of her way to make sure I was comfortable and taken care of every minute of my stay! The food was wonderful- you will never go hungry around Sophie- and the house itself is a treasure! Highly recommended!!


Deserves 5 stars!!!!!

5 su ottobre 10, 2012

9/12 We had the best time with Miss Sophie. What a lovely Southern lady. Her B&B is a must see. Wonderful food and accomodations. The Green Room was beautiful as were all of the other rooms in this stately historic mansion. We'll definetly stay at Port City Guest House again.


great getaway

4,8 su ottobre 04, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and stayed at this guest house. Plan to stay there again. Sophie is a fantastic hostess who goes out of her way to make you feel right at home. The food was delicious,plentiful and readily available. The house is lovely and charming and we had a large room that was quite comfortable. It is very quiet and relaxing to sit on the porch or take a stroll. I left Port City Guest House feeling like I have a new friend. Dana Blankenship


Awesome place to stay.

4,4 su settembre 27, 2012

Very convenient to downtown area. Nicely decorated old house. Loved the old fixtures and decorations.


Great time!

5 su settembre 18, 2012

Me and my girlfriend decided to take a celebratory weekend at the beach. During our quest online for places to stay, Port City Guest House appeared in our search. Neither of us had every stayed at a B&B and we decided that was the place for us. We stayed in the Colonial room and it was just what the doctor ordered. The service and hospitality blew us away. During my college years I worked for a four diamond hotel and it did not offer near the value or the comfort as Port City Guest House. Sophie really knows how to take care of her guest.


Simply Fantastic!

5 su settembre 17, 2012

My husband & I just celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Port City Guest House. This was our first ever b&b experience, and it was AWESOME! Sopie treats you better than family and goes out of her way to be sure that you are comfortable, well-fed, and at ease. The house is beautiful, the food is scrumptious, and the company is lovely! We couldn't have asked for anything more! Thanks so much, Sophie!!


Port City Guest House stay

3,4 su settembre 11, 2012

Our Port City Guest House stay was comfortable, quaint and close to many attractions. We had access to wifi, laundry and a nice living room.


We love Sophie

5 su settembre 10, 2012

We came to Willimngton for a wedding and the grooms party stayed at Port City Guest house. It was the best time ever! Sophie is the hostest with the mostest and the rooms were fabulous! When we return to the area, we will definitely stay here again. Thanks Sophie!


Sophie is the best

5 su agosto 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this B&B and have to say, the reviews were right. Sophie is the warmest, kindest hostess you'll ever meet. She makes you feel at home, provides refreshments and snacks all day, and makes the most outstanding breakfast- exactly how you want it. Her passion to serve her guests is so touching. It is a wonderful place to stay if you want a home away from home. Erik & Denise


Sophie is the key to the experience.

4,8 su agosto 28, 2012

Upon our check in Sophie immediately made us feel at home. After a quick tour, she forced us to sit, relax, and enjoy some afternoon wine and cheese with her. Whether just sitting on the spacious front porch or dining on one of her huge breakfasts, we always felt at home. One night, we got in sort of late and Sophie offered to make us some food as she didn't feel our McDonald's dinner was sufficient. For an older home, the accomodations were better than usual. The only glitch was a WiFi that didn't quite reach to the front bedroom we had. But had perfect reception in the dining room of the home. But you don't come to a B and B to be on the computer all the time, right? Will come back and recommend to friends. Great location, comfortable bed, and a gem of an innkeeper in Sophie. Thank you darling!


Great First B&B Experience

4,6 su agosto 27, 2012

This was our first time staying in a B&B and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. From the moment we arrived until we left for home we felt welcome and "at home." Sophie was the perfect hostess and her breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The accommodation were clean, comfortable, and beautiful. Sophie also had great recommendations for dining and entertainment in the area. I have and will recommend this B&B to friends and family.


Wilmington vacation

4,8 su agosto 27, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time in Wilmington while staying at the Port City Guest House. Sophie goes out of her way to make her guests feel welcome in her home. As a native of Wilmington, she is knows the area well. The house has a beautiful old construction and character that cannot be found in modern architecture. A truly wonderful experience.


Lovely house

3,6 su agosto 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. The food was outstanding. I printed out the recipe for her waffles (the best waffle I ever had). The biscuits... homemade goodness. I would recommend staying here.


40th Anniversary Celebration

5 su agosto 20, 2012

Sophie was a great hostess... very personable and helpful. She greeted us when we arrived in the afternoon, and gave us a snack of fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, and crackers.. She had soft music playing in the parlor, which was elegant. She showed us to our room, and even took one of our bags up for us. We especially appreciated the private parking off the street, and could come and go as we pleased. One morning, she cooked eggs to order, our choice of ham, bacon or sausage, grits, and toast, and had fresh fruit for snacks and breakfast. The second morning, she served delicious Belgian waffles with fresh blueberries, strawberries and bananas, and homemade blueberry syrup, and our choice of meats. She offered eggs, too, but with all of that, I didn't feel like I needed eggs. We had a wonderful 40th anniversary stay, and Sophie was an excellent hostess!


The epitome of Southern hospitality!

5 su agosto 20, 2012

My husband, daughter and I had the pleasure to stay at this absolutely charming bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Green Room and it was the most comfortable and home atmosphere we have ever experienced aside from being at home! The room was cozy and comfy. The breakfast was absolutely the BEST! The biscuits were delicious and fluffy. The way the dining room is set is formal but because of the warmth of the hostess, Sophie, the atmosphere was friendly and open. This made for a wonderful opportunity to meet and greet the other guests over a lovely meal! Sophie made each and every person staying in her home feel like a long-time friend and each person was treated like royalty! Sophie and her wonderful dog Jake made us feel like family! She truly has a gift for making these weary visitors from Massachusetts feel like royalty. We will definitely stay with Sophie and Jake again in the near future!


Wonderful in Wilmington

4,6 su agosto 18, 2012

Sophie s the epitome of southern charm and hospitality we felt safe and at home best place to stay in Wilmington by far!


Truly is your "Home away from Home"

5 su agosto 18, 2012

We have always stayed in B&B's and been members for years. Decided to stay at Port City Guest House and we were more than delighted that we did. It was the best start of our vacation. We were greeted by "Sophie" and were made to feel we were "friends" right from the start. Never had such a warm welcome such as hers. It is a "dog friendly" place and believe me our dog was made to feel like one of the family there. Sophie even offered to take the dog out while we toured Wilmington. The room was large and decorated warmly, extremely clean, and comfortable. When we first got there Sophie served us wine and told us all about the house and the town of Wilmington, where to go for dinner, shopping, sightseeing. The house itself is decorated beautifully in antiques which she loves to shop for. She has done a wonderful job painting and decorating. The best part is there is not time limit for breakfast. When we arrived downstairs we were served a wonderful breakfast which she cooks herself. She goes out of her way to please you. When we left after a 2 night stay I felt I left a good friends house. I would definately recommend staying there, it was a wonderful experience. We plan on returning on our way to NJ again from SC. and plan on staying a lot longer than 2 nights. You will not be disappointed, it is a warm, relaxing place to stay, you will feel like you are more than welcome. You will leave there with good memories . Enjoy! Pat DePalma


Our first time at a B&B

4,8 su agosto 17, 2012

And we will never forget it. Sophie is an amazing hostess and we felt right at home. Had we known what a great experience we were going to have we would have booked the room for longer. Thanks Sophie for everything!


Southern Hospitality at its finest!!

5 su agosto 14, 2012

My Wife and I stayed with Sophie for 3 nights at this wonderful Guest House. It is within walking distance of the Town centre. The Breakfast is fit for Royalty, the house is a home away from home and Sophie (The owner) is a wonderful hostess. We have travelled all over the world and have never encountered such fantastic hospitality. We would stay up talking with Sophie who, as well as being a great hostess is also a great conversationalist. If your're going to stay in Wilmington and Port City Guest House is full, then I suggest you change your dates to avoid missing a great experience of a Personal, Professional warm guest house and hostess, We will be back!! Thanks Sophie!!


Wonderful experience

4,6 su agosto 13, 2012

Can't say enough about the Port City Guest House and Sophie! We do not usually stay at B&Bs, so we didn't know what to expect. It exceeded our expectations. Sophie couldn't be more helpful and her breakfasts were excellent, she even had snacks and drinks available in the afternoon and in the evening. I would highly recommend a stay at the Port City Guest House!


Wonderful Experience

5 su agosto 12, 2012

Cannot say enough good things about staying here. A hostess with the mostest who truly enjoys her guests, very comfortable accommodations, perfect location, and a beautiful home. We have already made reservations to go back and cannot wait.


My review

3,4 su agosto 09, 2012

Charming house and wonderful service. The hospitality was wonderful. It was like meeting new friends.


Excellent B&B

4,8 su agosto 07, 2012

Beautiful house, clean and well kept. Innkeeper was incredible. Happy to join you for conversation or give great advice on Wilmington. Recommendation for BBQ was spot on. Totally made us feel at home. Kept us stuffed and constantly plied with wine, tea, beer, coffee, and whatever else we wanted. Rich, sumptuous breakfasts - almost too much food. Rooms comfy and spacious enough. Excellent amenities - washer/dryer, fridge, microwave, anything else you could need. Definitely recommend.


Feels like home

5 su agosto 05, 2012

Had reservations for a Saturday. Death in family necessitated a last minute change in plans. Sophie knew how distracted I was and met me and I followed her to the B&B. She was able to accomodate my family at the last minute as well. If she says she'll take care of it, it will be done. Friendly, professional and a great cook. Her breakfasts are wonderful. House is beautiful and close to downtown. Highly recommend.


A Hidden Gem in Wilmington.

5 su agosto 01, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in several B&B's over the years and we are always a little skeptical of glowing reviews . While not on the waterfront (like some other more expensive ones we considered), its a quick 5 minute ride in an area of many beautifully maintained historic homes. This is clearly made up for by its charm and Sophie's wonderful hospitality. She is a bundle of energy who clearly enjoys caring and feeding her guests. We are already looking to go back sometime in the fall.


A Sparkling Gem in Wilmington

5 su luglio 30, 2012

This classic B & B offers a tremendous deal considering the comfortable rooms, mega breakfasts and complimentary afternoon/eve drinks and snacks, . The delightful owner and host, Sophie Johnson, offers a lovely character Southern home with veranda and gardens in a quiet but good location just a short drive to Wilmington's riverside attractions. It is also easy to drive to the beaches or link up to the I-40. Our room was large and spacious with its own bathroom. There was plenty of room to park our car at the back and Sophie was eager to help in every way. Guest facilities include laundry, communal microwave and fridge. In the huge downstairs salon, at the large dining table, complimentary afternoon drinks, from tea to wine and beer, were available along with snacks such as excellent cheese and crackers and home-made salmon patties with a rich sauce. In the morning classical music soothed the gathering for breakfast with the table laden with fresh fruits, fat free Greek yoghurt, preserves and jams, coffee and infusions. But each day Sophie also prepares a huge cooked breakfast which can include treats such as large waffles, superb light cheese grits, perfectly prepared eggs, tangy bacon, tasty sausage and buttered toast. She loves chatting to her guests and helped us all get to know something of each other and relax in the comfort of her large well preserved home. The happy experience is rather like joining an upscale house party. We would certainly stay here again and will recommend the Port City Guest House to anyone heading for Wilmington.


Awesome first time bed and breakfast experience!

4,4 su luglio 29, 2012

Sophie (the inn keeper) was the best hostess!!! She makes it a point to make you feel right at home. You will not leave hungry! The rooms were very clean and we would definately stay there again :)


Best B&B in Wilmington

5 su luglio 28, 2012

This B&B was beautiful. Sophie was a wonderful hostess, and Jake was adorable and friendly. We had a great room, plenty of food, and the waffles were to die for. The location is good as well, with a cute antique shop on the corner, and the beach not too far away. All in all, it was a fantastic stay, and we would love to come again.


Best B&B I have ever stayed in!

5 su luglio 27, 2012

I had heard about Southern Hospitality but to experience it for myself was a joy. Sophie was a fantastic host and really went out of her way to make me feel at home. I really couldn't have asked for more. I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Port City Guest House and would highly recommend it and would definitely love to come back again someday. Thanks Sophie for making my visit to Wilmington so enjoyable. I have told my friends all about you :o)


Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!!!

5 su luglio 26, 2012

This was one of the best places we have ever stayed!! Sophie and Jake are so great and they make you feel so welcome. Thank you Sophie for everything!! We will be coming back soon! Laura and Chrystal, Molly and Willow


Perfect visit!

5 su luglio 17, 2012

We had an amazing trip to Wilmington largely in part due to Sophie. She took such great care of us and always kept our bellies full. She went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable, well fed and even did some of our laundry! The room was great and we will definitely be back soon.


Awesome time!!!

5 su luglio 09, 2012

Well let me tell you, ended coming alone but had a great time anyway! Sophie was the most wonderful women running that place! From the time I stepped in and by the time I left felt at home. Now the food, amazing, Sophie can cook her tush off and you will not leave hungry for sure, the place was so beautiful !!! Thank you again


Wonderful place to stay!

4,8 su luglio 08, 2012

This place and Sophie are amazing! It is beautifully decorated and Sophie goes above and beyond making her guests feel "at home". We felt like we were visiting friends and honestly, hated to leave! Sophie is an AMAZING cook, providing a cooked to order breakfast each morning. The only problem with breakfast we had, was she didn't make waffles while we were there and we stayed 4 nights. Oh well, the rest was wonderful. The room was beautifully and comfortably decorated. The only issue in our room was the shortage of electrical outlets in the bathroom- only 1 plug in ( alternated appliances). We had access to an HE washer/dryer, snacks, and wine any time of the day. There was also a refrigerator in our room. This B&B is VERY close to the downtown waterfront historic area and is in an area that is central to the rest of Wilmington. Loved the place and will stay again when we go back to Wilmington! Thanks Sophie! L & R, Tennessee


Wonderful In Every Way!

5 su giugno 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the tail end of our honeymoon and we loved every second of our visit! Sophie is the most generous and warm host. She gives meaning to 'southern hispitality'. Breakfast is anything your heart desires and it's not a set time every day. Whenever you wake up, she's there ready to cook you something delicious. There's even a washing machine and dryer to use. We'd been travelling for 10 days once we got to Wilmington so this was huge for us. We felt right at home our entire stay. Can't wait to go back one day!


So Awesome!

5 su giugno 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided for a weekend getaway. We chose a B & B because neither of us had ever been to one. We really didn't know what to expect except for reading the reviews. Sophie was so awesome! She really made us feel like one of her family members. The food was so great. You really didn't want to eat anything else. We will definitely be back and she told us next time to bring the kids..... maybe we will. Thanks for a great weekend Sophie! Mike and Melissa.


Awesome Time for our Anniversary

5 su giugno 17, 2012

Sophie is so sweet and so attentive. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay and will be returning soon and will recommend Port City Guest House to all of our family and friends!!


Very historical looking

5 su giugno 12, 2012

Sofie is very sociable and accommodating. If nothing else, she makes sure you are fed. Everything she serves is home made and she buys the best and the freshes fruit. She makes the best breakfast and the choices are numerous. In the afternoon she makes pastries, pies and a small snack such as salmon patties. She gives you all the wine you want and she hangs around to socialize with you. She also greets you when you come back in the evening and offers you more wine and goodies. She has chips, pretzels, candy etc there all the time for you. She is a great hostess and really makes you feel welcome into her house.


A Great Homely B&B with Food & Service to Match

4,4 su giugno 07, 2012

Sophie is a exceptional host and we would definitely return if we visit Wilmington again.


Wonderful stay

4,8 su giugno 05, 2012

Loved staying at the Port City Guest House. Great location, nice room, outstanding breakfast & snacks. Ms. Sophie is so friendly & sweet. Would definitely stay there again!


Surprise!

4,6 su maggio 30, 2012

Sophie was the perfect innkeeper/hostess, constantly surprising us with treats throughout the day. I've never stayed at a B&B where you had food and wine nearly all day! What a delightful stay!


Definately home away from home !!

5 su maggio 28, 2012

Stayed here for a couple nights and were delighted by all that we experienced ! Sophie was the ideal host and made sure we were totally at home in her beautiful historic mansion. FOOD was to die for and she feeds you all the time ,,,all you can eat and then some ! Enjoyed sitting on the front porch and just relaxing ! Would definately reccomend this Inn to everyone !! Love you Sophie !


Justfantastic!

4,8 su maggio 18, 2012

My husband and I was looking for a quick and great getaway from Florence, SC. We were amazed with Everything! Sophie is the BEST! All the sites and sounds were up to par. Enjoyed the battleship tour, carriage ride, HeriettaIII, and others were a sure winner. The food was beyond my wildest dreams. Sophie can cook extremely well. We had a full belly at all times. We didn't even have to eat out much because Sophie's brunch was not light; but heavy. God bless Sophie and the Port City Guest House. JW and EW


Best value in Wilmington

4,4 su maggio 17, 2012

Off street parking, easy drive to Historic District, best breakfast ever served to us in a bed and breakfast. Owner goes out of her way to ensure a pleasant experience. Will recommend Port City to anyone who visits Wilmington.


Legendary waffles, incomparable hospitality

4,8 su maggio 11, 2012

What's not to love about Port City Guest House? No stranger to the B&B scene, my husband and I thought we knew what to expect when we arrived. Boy were we wrong! Sophie does an amazing job of keeping tummies full and conversation flowing, and Jake the dog is charming, if a little overly dramatic about being hungry (I assure you he's not!). Staying at the Port City Guest House felt like staying at an old friend's home rather than at a lodging establishment. We returned after 10p.m. one night after getting caught in a torrential downpour, and Sophie had a glass of Cabernet and some pecan pie waiting for us. Enjoying our wine and pie on the front porch while watching the rain come down as we recounted our day's adventure was one of the best parts of our trip! With all the charm and friendliness, we were still given plenty of space and privacy. Oh, and to say the waffles are amazing is an understatement. I think this is our new favorite place to stay in Wilmington!


5 Stars Across the Board!

5 su maggio 11, 2012

True southern hospitality best describes our experience at Port City Guest House. The owner, Sophie, takes great care in making sure you're well fed and accommodated. If you love breakfast, this is the place to stay. From the homemade (from scratch) waffles with fresh blueberry syrup to eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, fresh fruit and OJ/Coffee, you won't need to eat again until dinner. You'll seriously cut down on your dining out expenses while visiting Wilmington if you stay here. Our room (Colonial) was nicely decorated and comfortable, and we had our own bathroom (down the hall). At the end of our last night there, we grabbed a glass of wine and hung out on the front porch listening to the rain and watching the cars pass by - so relaxing. We'll definitely be back! Oh and don't forget to say hello to Sophie's dog Jake.


Wonderful First B&B Experience

4,8 su maggio 09, 2012

I have never stayed at a B&B quite like the Port City Guest House. My experiences have been limited to establishments that are more like hotels with breakfast. When I first walked in to Sophie's it was clear that I was a guest in someone's home. Admittedly that made me quite nervous, but as soon as we were led into the dining room for some wine and homemade salmon cakes I knew we were in for a treat. The room was beautiful and quite large. Sophie went above and beyond to make us feel at home. From the delicious spread for breakfast each day, make sure you try a waffle they are like a bit of heaven on your plate, to the afternoon snack time each guest is very well fed. Sophie treated us like family, taking a picture of us dressed up to go to a wedding and even giving us a ride downtown (a short walk, but not fun in heels) to go out for the evening. The Green Room was lovely, but if you are a fan of showers over baths I would suggest picking another room. The bathroom features a tub with a shower attachment but showering was a bit of an adventure in order to not splash water. All in all I highly recommend staying at Port City Guest House and I am looking forward to a return trip.


A wonderful stay with a wonderful hostess!

4,8 su maggio 08, 2012

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate her birthday and could not have made a better choice. Some B&B's in Wilmington may be more posh but NONE will surpass the warmth of the Port City Guest House. Sophie not only served us wonderful breakfasts each day; she also served up great conversation. We felt like family not guests. She made our trip very memorable!


Consider staying with Sophie and Jake

4,8 su maggio 02, 2012

Port City guest house cannot be beat for it's hospitality and charm. Sophie fed us til we were in a food coma while Jake the dog tried really hard not to beg:) It is a true southern experience that I would gladly repeat next time I am in town! Tina and Alain


Great Stay

4,2 su maggio 02, 2012

Wonderful host, great food, excellent conversation, perfect location.


Will stay here again. The food a fellowship were wonderful.

4,8 su maggio 02, 2012

Breakfast was generous, hot and delicious. Location in the historic section is close to UNCW campus and interesting sites and restaurants.


Great Value and Hospitality!!

4,8 su aprile 30, 2012

This is the place to go for the best bang for your buck. A stay in this B & B is like a step back in time. Even though the home is nearly 100 years old it is decorated beautifully as it ould have been in the 1920's, and everything is kept spotless and well maintained. Sophie is the best! I cannot begin to describe her friendliness and hospitality. She really made us feel like it was our home too. The breakfasts were like no other B & B's I have been to. Whatever we asked for we got, including the selection of eggs and breakfast meats which were cooked to order - when we wanted it on our schedule! And the waffles with Sophie's homemade blueberry topping were incredible. The only drawback was our bathroom was located down the hallway. It however was no big deal beacuse it was our still our private bathroom. This will not be a detriment for us returning. Try it, you will be pleasantly suprised what a great value this B & B is! I wish I could give it six stars.


Port City Guest House

5 su aprile 16, 2012

Sophie is great! She is always upbeat and hospitable. There is never a shortage of snacks throughout the day. The breakfast is outstanding. The rooms and beds are comfortable. There is an 'at home' feel which is what a B&B should strive for. We'll be looking to stay there again!


Food and fun

5 su aprile 15, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Port City Guest House. We had a wonderful time. Sophie was welcoming, the room was clean, and the food was GREAT! She made everyone's breakfast to order. She even made me home made biscuits this morning. We will return.


Southern hospitality at its best

5 su marzo 26, 2012

The stay here exceded anything I ever looked for in a bed and Breakfast. If you want to be pampered and feel like royalty then this is the place for you.


Very hospitable

5 su marzo 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend. The Port City Guest House is conveniently located, which worked well for us, as we made several trips to/from the beach and downtown Wilmington. Sophie is incredibly accomodating, seemingly always willing to adjust her schedule to meet the needs of her guests. She knows the area well and can offer suggestions for your stay. Our room was comfortable, and there are several places to sit outside on the front porch or back patio. Wonderful breakfast and plenty of snacks all day long! We had a lovely stay.


Wonderful Experience

4,8 su marzo 13, 2012

My friend and I went to Wilmington for weekend this Spring and stayed at the Port City Guest House. It was a marvelous experience and a wonderful place to stay! The rooms were beautiful, large, and clean and the meals that Mrs. Sophie served every morning and afternoon were delishes to say the least! I felt spoiled with all the variety of scrumptious treats and homemade dishes she offered us everyday. This was a fantastic place to stay, it was close to historic Wilmington and the beach and the accomidations and service was excellent!


Relaxed and Well-Fed thanks to the Port City Guest House

4,8 su febbraio 29, 2012

The home is centrally located- it's easy to dart to downtown or out to the beaches (though you will need a car). Sophie kept us stuffed all weekend with HUGE southern breakfasts and tea times that were far more than just tea. Snacks were always at the ready. Sophie was friendly and warm (easy and fun to chat with) but unintrusive. The home is old and quaint with period details (high ceilings, multiple fireplaces, wainscoting, antiques, etc.). Sophie was always available to help with anything we needed though the rooms were well-equipped and we rarely needed anything beyond quenching our hunger. In a day and a half, we felt like we'd been away for at least 4-5 days, thanks largely to how comfortable and relaxed we were in the B&B.


So nice...

4,4 su febbraio 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time with Sophie at Port City Guest House. We stayed in the Colonial room and the mattress was fantastic! Sophie makes the best breakfast and she will keep feeding you until you are ready for a nap. She was accommodating and wonderful to talk to. You will feel like you are staying with family. I highly recommend this place. Don't miss it!


Meant to be.....Awesome place and Incredible Inn Keeper :)

5 su febbraio 13, 2012

We cannot begin to explain what a wonderful INN KEEPER Ms. Sophie is! We did some homework before actually deciding on WHERE to stay in Wilmington. Knowing we only had a few precious nights in town...to see our son and his family, we wanted a place close by, clean and inviting....Sophie's place is over the top....and we cannot say ENOUGH GOOD about her and her wonderful home. We were greeted each and every time with just wonderful southern hospitality and also we became closer then we ever thought :) WE HIGHLY recommend Sophie! We stayed in the GREEN ROOM and it was more then perfect. And we don't want to forget her wonderful breakfast each morning...WOW!! You will NOT be disappointed....Stay with Sophie :) She is the BEST!! K & P


Our Stay at Port City Guest House

4,6 su febbraio 03, 2012

Sophie was a wonderful host. She was friendly and always had a great variety of foods and drinks. I really enjoyed not being told what one thing I had to eat and at what time. Sophie was very accommodating. My only issue was the outdated electical systems in the bathrooms. I had a hard time finding somewhere to plug my hairdryer in.


"Much more than expected"

4,0 su gennaio 19, 2012

We tried to get away from home as early as possible for our first visit to The Port City Guest house in Wilmington . Despite our efforts we arrived late and to our surprise Ms. Sophie not only left the lights on but greeted us upon arrival . The next two days were filled with great information from our gracious host about Her Fare City . The breakfasts were over the top , Ms Sophie was more than accomodating and we had a wonderful visit . We look forward to our next visit to not just Wilmington but also to see Ms Sophie. Thank you The Haags Williamsburg Va.


Truly a home away from home!

5 su gennaio 13, 2012

We had a wonderful two-night stay with Sophie. She is so welcoming and friendly, we felt right at home. A beautiful house, decorated just perfectly. We also enjoyed the lovely Christmas decorations! One of the best mattresses I have ever slept on in a B&B, fantastic breakfast, too, and tastly snacks in the afternoon. We'd go back in a heartbeat!!


NYE Stay

4,0 su gennaio 04, 2012

Excellent food and service. I brought my puppy and Sophie was very very good to him.


wonderful experience

5 su dicembre 16, 2011

what a wonderful place to spend our anniversary; we couldn't have asked for anything more


We will definitely be returning.

5 su dicembre 11, 2011

We found that The Port City Guest House exceeded our expectations. Our hostess Sophia went way above and beyond in making us feel at home. She gave us wonderful restaurants recommendations for our evenings. Sophia’s breakfasts were gourmet quality with lots of choices to meet every ones fancy. She is very knowledgeable about all the various sites and attractions. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and guaranteed a great night’s sleep.


Exceptional Service

4,8 su novembre 30, 2011

This is a wonderful B&B, capturing the atmosphere of a great destination like Wilmington with a distinct southern charm. Interaction with Sophie, the owner/innkeeper was a fun part of the overall experience. She's a wealth of information about Wilmington, an excellent cook, and just a wonderful person. The rooms are all well taken care of, clean, and offer a great character of this 1920s era home. Parking off the alley took a little getting used to the first time you back in/out, but you get the hang of it quickly.


Grand Dame Alive and Well in Port City!

5 su novembre 04, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights and three days in this lovely bed and breakfast (the Colonial Room, specifically) on the weekend of October 29 & 30, 2011. The Innkeeper, Sophie Johnson, made us feel so at home, we didn't want to leave - so we did the next best thing - we booked a room for our next visit to the area this summer! The dining was extraordinary, from the wine and cheese and cookies and snacks to the hearty and delicious breakfasts served each morning - her blueberry waffles were at least an inch thick and light as air! When she found out my husband is a "sweet tea" man, there was a fresh pitcher of ice tea waiting for him on each visit to the beautiful dining room. And this wasn't the only example of this Innkeeper's desire and ability to accommodate her guests - I personally witnessed her offering two other guests in the house that weekend additional services and accommodations above and beyond what was included in their stay. Very clean, conveniently located, exceptional service, extraordinary dining - all at an outstanding value. To give you an example of how much fun we had, when we were out enjoying an evening at Thalian Hall (so grateful for the recommendation, Sophie), I asked my husband if he was having a good time. He said yes, but that he'd be just as happy back at the house enjoying another interesting conversation with Sophie - true story - and my husband is a man of few words - very few words. Already looking forward to our next stay at the Port City Guest House - definitely a jewel in the crown of this historic beautiful seaport town (and the house is a gem too!) Oh, and if you are lucky, and you happen to be staying here on your birthday - be sure to mention it to Sophie - she will make sure you feel extra special on YOUR special day! Woody and Melinda Dunham


Best Ever

4,0 su ottobre 28, 2011

This was such a wonderful place to be that we extended our stay. Beautiful turn of the century house, large bedrooms, lots of hot water in the shower, wonderful breakfast to order - enough to eliminate the need for lunch, and a gracious, accommodating inn keeper. Add a very comfortable bed and quiet. What more can you ask?


Wonderful stay!

3,8 su ottobre 26, 2011

The innkeeper, Sophie, made our stay a real pleasure! She went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. She was very generous with her time and knowledge, offered us food and drink throughout the day, and made our little dog feel right at home. We will definitely be back!


Great place to stay!

4,6 su settembre 23, 2011

This was our first b&b experience, and it was a great one! The food was delicious, the rooms great. The private parking is a plus too. The innkeeper, Sophie, makes the stay even more memorable and is a great hostess.


A Charming Bed & Breakfast!

5 su settembre 18, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this beautiful old home. The food was wonderful and the host is a very sweet lady. It is also located in the Historic Downtown area with lots of great places to walk to. We highly recommend this quaint B&B. -R & A


Friendly and attentive hospitality

4,6 su settembre 07, 2011

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay at the Port City Guest House over Labor Day weekend. Innkeeper Sophie Johnson's warmth, and friendly and attentive hospitality made us feel very welcome in her lovely, historic home. We stayed in both the Blue and Green Rooms, and enjoyed the Green Room especially for its spacious, comfortable bed, and private bath. We also had a great time relaxing and reading on the front porch of Port City Guest House in the late afternoon with some complimentary wine, beer, cheese, and crackers. Sophie's cooking was a treat to wake up to in the morning. Don't pass up an opportunity to try her grits! We would definitely stay here again and recommend Port City Guest House to friends.


My home away from home

5 su settembre 07, 2011

My wife Cynthia and our 13 months old son Aidan had the privilege of staying with Sophie and her loyal pet Jake 4 nights. I admit I am not one to write reviews nor read them because I want to go to a place without preconceptions.But Sophie's outstanding hospitality allows me to make an exception this time. The food was awesome, she would not stop inquiring until you were completely satisfied. We had different items every day. The room was very cozy and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was clean and spacious ( a big plus if you have a very active toddler). If you ever need a place to stay in the Wilmington area, look no further than this B&B. It's a five minute car drive to the historic downtown area and about 10 to 15 minutes drive to Wrightsville Beach. Food,location,Decorations...all are great reasons to come to this inn. Sophie, however,is the main one.Her warmth and kindness make her one of a kind gem...much like her place. Miguel


Best place ever!!!

5 su agosto 29, 2011

This is the best place I have ever stayed and would highly recommend anyone to stay there. Sophie the owner is lovely and instantly makes you feel like a part of the family. She always has a massive selection of food for breakfast and always asked if there was anything in particular I wanted. On the night I arrived she made me dinner and was constantly feeding me on my stay! She has chips chocolate tea and cookies and cake that you can always have too. The room I stayed in was beautiful it was seriously fit for a queen!! Very comfortable beds and cable tv in the rooms too. Heaps of towels and all of the toiletries were provided too in your very own bathroom! It is only a 15 minute walk to downtown Wilmington on a really nice street. Couldn't recommend highly enough! Loved my 4 nights here!!


Warm and cozy stay with sophie

5 su agosto 05, 2011

My best friend and I stayed at Sophie's wonderful b and b for 2 nights and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It was clean cozy professional and homey and lovely. We didn't want to leave! Definitely recommend and will be back!


Shawn's Stay

4,0 su agosto 01, 2011

Very nice -- elegant, clean, host was very friendly & went over the top in food for breakfast! Definitely would go back.


An unexpected treat!

5 su luglio 31, 2011

Looking for a place to spend 2 nights in proximity of wedding events in the historic district; a restful place, not in the large hotel with the wedding party late-night activity. Trusted a friend's recommendation, and friend was right. You will not meet a host more gracious, more interested in making your visit all you'd like it to be. She asks what you'd like for breakfast the night before; the options are endless. She will get it exactly right, serve it whenever you ask, so let her know if you'd like to sleep-in. Perfect spot for a girl's weekend.


Port City Guest House

5 su luglio 25, 2011

Breakfast portions very generous! Innkeeper was very accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.


Great Weekend

4,6 su luglio 18, 2011

Had a great family visit and met several very nice guests during our two night stay. Sophie is a remarkable innkeeper and a fantastic cook and everyone feels at home in this B & B. Wonderful garden area adds another special touch.


Just like home

5 su luglio 15, 2011

We stayed with Sophie for 5 nights. She gave us anything we needed, plenty of food and even did my small laundry! She was the absolute southern hostess! The house was big and beautifully decorated, the bedroom was clean and absolutely comfortable. We will stay with her again, no question.


Like Staying with Family

4,2 su giugno 29, 2011

While the inn itself is lovely, it's innkeeper Sophie who makes your stay a delight. I arrived on a Friday evening in the midst of "refreshments." Sophie immediately supplied me with food, wine and introductions to the other guests. We stayed eating and chatting until bedtime! Breakfast was a feast and Sophie will not let you go without filling you up. She then sent me out with a bottle of sunscreen with a higher SPF than mine, fearing for my fair skin. When I left, I felt like I was leaving home. If you're looking for anonymity, this isn't the place for you. But if you'd like a warm welcome and a deeply thoughtful and kind host, then book today!


What a find in Wilmington!!!!!!

4,8 su giugno 28, 2011

My husband and I have been to many bed and breakfasts across the southeast, and I have never felt compelled to write a review (bad or good) until my recent stay at the Port City Guest House in Wilmington. We were in town for a wedding and struggling to find a decent hotel that wasn’t super expensive when I came across this B&B. The reviews online were so good, I knew we had to give it a try. We were not disappointed. I was so impressed with the whole experience that it actually prompted me to write my first ever review. From the second we walked in the door, Sophie made us feel right at home and went above and beyond the entire weekend to make sure we were 100% happy. On the first night, social hour turned into social evening as Sophie continued to bring out more and more goodies because all of the guests were having such a good time getting to know one another. We never made it to dinner because we were so full with all of the wonder treats!!! Breakfast was more of the same. The food was incredible and it just kept coming. Sophie wasn’t happy until we were sufficiently stuffed and rolling back to our room. She is a hoot! On top of the service, which was beyond anything I would have expected, the B&B itself was great. Great location, fantastic overall house and very nice guest rooms. If you are going to Wilmington, you must stay here!


Wilmington Hospitality

4,4 su giugno 20, 2011

The food and service was top notch. This is a quaint and welcoming house. The owner treats you like family.


Everything you could ask for & more

5 su giugno 15, 2011

My stay at Port City Guest House was a surprise, and what a wonderful one it was! I thought we would be at the Marriott but after my stay this weekend at PCGH I never will be again! We weren't able to get there until 10:30 on a Friday night but Sophie (and Jake, her super friendly dog) waited up for us and welcomed us in with open arms, as if we were coming home. She showed us to the parking in the back so our car wasn't on the street and then offered us a late night snack. She helped facilitate another surprise of roses, champagne and home made chocolate covered strawberries, the best I had ever had!! The house was amazingly beautiful and clean as can be. The sheets were so soft! She provides toiletries, bath robes, iron and ironing board, pretty sure I saw laundry as well, a small fridge, and even sun tan lotions! Basically anything you could need she either already had or would get for you. Her breakfast was delicious and incredibly filling. We didn't eat lunch because we were still so full. My personal favorite was the honey & cinnamon bananas. I know it's something that seems so simple but they were so good, along with all the other fresh fruit, scratch made biscuits and breads. (everyone has already mentioned the other breakfast yummies) I could go on and on about the beautiful house, the great location (just 12 blocks from the heart of downtown Wilmington and 20 mins to local beaches), the scrumptious food... but for me, Sophie is what makes Port City Guest House the wonderful place it is. The day we left we actually sat around talking to Sophie for quite some time. She is that kind of person, like your favorite aunt or something. I can't wait to go back :)


Second time as good as the first

4,8 su giugno 13, 2011

A great find very close to the heart of the Cape Fear Riverwalk activities. Sophie is a gracious hostess who warmly receives all her guests and makes them part of her extended family. Hope to return for a third visit to enjoy all that Wilmington has to offer and being pampered again by Sophie.


Well Fed!

4,2 su giugno 07, 2011

The house is beautiful, with mornings (and at least one late evening) spent on the comfortably large front porch. The proximity to historic downtown Wilmington is extremely convenient for sight seeing and dining, while Wrightsville beach is a scant 15-20min drive. Best of all, however, is Sophie's infectious laughter and good nature, not to mention the amazing amount of food she made. Breakfast was a smorgasbord of food; including homemade waffles (and 4 different syrups, including a sugar free) one day, and three different fruits and two types of fresh, home-baked bread on another. Of course there was also the lunch time snacks and the ubiquitous fresh baked goods: homemade coconut cream cake (day 1) and homemade lemon meringue pie (day 2). It's like spending time with your favorite mom/aunt/godmother/grandmother/insert-favorite-over-doting-family-relation-here. Seeing friends and family in Wilmington will never quite be the same, and Sophie will be getting my hard earned dollars the next time I'm in town.


A Repeater of a Place

5 su maggio 25, 2011

Love love love it! The house is an old charmer of a house with all the classic details. We stayed in the large 'Green Room' with our own bath and got to snuggle into a cozy comfy bed. It's come and go as you please with no curfew. Love that, too! We were treated like favorite family, fed a yummy breakfast of fruit, eggs, hashbrowns, toast, ham, sausage (so much we didn't need to eat lunch either day, plus it was awesome and if you are lucky Sophie will make you her waffles) and we had so much fun being with Sophie. The house and location are an awesome draw, but the owner, Sophie was the best part. We spent one day just being with her! She is a smart and fun firecracker and you are going to love her. From the moment we walked in the door, we felt like we were home. I'm ready to move! There is private parking in the back which is nice so you can unload your car almost right at the door, a sweet garden, and you can see that big ol' front porch waiting for you and your coffee or glass of wine.


Great B & B

4,0 su maggio 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed a weekend and Sophie was fabulous! It's like being a guest in her house. THe breakfasts she fixed were amazing - especially the walnut waffles! Port City Guest House is a great value.


Real Southern Hospitality

5 su aprile 18, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Port City Guest House during the azalea festival and loved it. Everything was just perfect - the house, the furnishings, the food and especially Sophie who is the perfect hostess. We will certainly stay there again the next time we are in Wilmington.


A gracious home with a charming and gracious hostess

5 su aprile 18, 2011

It's a fine big house filled with beautiful things! Sophie is the ultimate hostess and went far out of her way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. The location was convenient to everywhere we wanted to go and parking was easy. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was terrific and more than abundant - the arrangement was only for breakfast but wonderful little treats and such kept appearing during the day. We will definitely stay there again!


Best Stay Ever

4,8 su marzo 12, 2011

I've stayed at over 30 B&B's over the years and this was the best stay yet! Sophie is a fantastic hostess.... it was like a trip home (but without the disfunction ;-) ). Would stay here again in a heartbeat !!!


Weekend at Aunt Sophie's

4,4 su gennaio 29, 2011

From the moment we met Sophie, she made us feel like family. Her hospitality was outstanding. Not only did she welcome us in her home with open arms, but she also treated our dog as her own. Her home is like a museum, full of beautiful art pieces and antique furniture and feels warm and inviting. Sophie makes the most amazing breakfasts ever, including her famous waffles. She caters to your individual dietary needs and offers a variety and an abundance of food. You will never go hungry! We stayed for New Year's eve and enjoyed ourselves so much that we stayed another night! Thanks Aunt Sophie!


Loved every part of this B&B!

4,0 su gennaio 28, 2011

This was our first time staying in a B&B and it was amazing! Sophie was the best host a person could hope for and we ended up staying in and hanging out with her instead of going out. If you want an experience instead of just a vacation I would highly recommend this B&B!


Best place ever with best innkeeper ever

5 su dicembre 20, 2010

We stayed at the PortCityGuestHouse 2009 during the big rainfalls in Atlanta. Not only that it's a beautiful place to stay, it is like visiting family. Any problem or wish we had, Sophie knew the solution earlier than we knew the problem. She is like a fairy. Even when our flights were cancelled several times, any inconvenience were "No Problem, I'm happy your back safe!" Sophie's breakfast is famous. She is taking the best care of her visitors ever - even compared to other high class B&B's. 5 stars at least from Germany


Hospitality

5 su dicembre 20, 2010

Sophie made us feel welcomed as soon as we walked in the door. She lavished snacks and drinks on us in the afternoon and made us feel at home. I would highly recommend this place to any person looking to get away.


NC B&B

4,6 su dicembre 06, 2010

Great location, room and service 100+%. Innkeeper help and hospitality great, makes it very easy to return to the City & B&B


Birthday weekend

5 su ottobre 12, 2010

Loved visiting Sophie again. Love the house -- big, clean & comfy! Host was extremely hospitable. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in town.


Southern hospitality

5 su ottobre 11, 2010

Delicious hearty breakfast! made to feel right at home. Warm & welcoming, the ultimate in Southern hospitality.


Great, wonderful

5 su ottobre 11, 2010

I have always wanted to stay at a B&B. This was on my Bucket List. I am glad I got to do it!


Trying to find a reason to go back

5 su ottobre 04, 2010

this is my 4th stay at this B&B and each time I am treated like a "star." The whole package was over the top -- food, rooms, guests & Sophie!


Get-Away Weekend

5 su settembre 22, 2010

We were greeted with a friendly smile and a wag of a dog's tail - very homey. Enjoyed delicious breakfast each morning and snacks in the evening. We were made to feel this was our home. Very friendly, clean, will visit again!


Sophie and Jake

4,8 su settembre 22, 2010

Sophie the innkeeper at Port City Guest House was kind, friendly, and made us a huge breakfast. She gifted us a bottle of wine for our anniversary! Her dog Jake was sweet and made us feel at home too!


First Rate B&B

5 su agosto 18, 2010

First rate B&B! Outstanding inn with lovely landlady and gorgeous rooms!


A Big Treat

5 su agosto 11, 2010

Sophie gave us (family of three) a generous welcome in her neo-classical mansion. We got two rooms for the price of one. the rooms were from a fairytale with all the modern luxury (wifi). We can surely recommend it.


Home away from home

4,4 su luglio 20, 2010

I've been in different B$B's in North Carolina and South Carolina and so far Sophie is the best innkeeper ever!, she makes delicious breakfast, always attentive, she truly makes you feel at home, we were sad to leave!!!the afternoon snacks are great. The rooms are huge and the house is lovely, location is perfect, less than a mile walk to front St, we went to Carolina Beach which is only 20 min away. We had a very comfortable stay, My mom, daughter and I love Sophie and will be back for sure


Didn't feel like a visitor!

5 su maggio 10, 2010

Made to feel very much at home and welcome - Sophie was accomodating in every way.


A Wonderful Stay!

4,8 su settembre 24, 2009

My husband and I were originally supposed to check in some time in the morning. Unfortunately, some unexpected things came up and we ended up checking in some time past 10:30 in the evening. Honestly, we were afraid to call about how late we were going to be. When we called to let the B&B know, Sophie was extremely gracious about the whole thing and waited up for us. She was the perfect hostess for the entire weekend. Our room was beautiful, the house was tidy, Sophie was extremely helpful, and the food was excellent. We especially enjoyed her morning waffles! We didn’t have to worry about our car being parked on the street because they had parking in the back. Overall, it was quite a pleasant experience and we plan on staying at her B&B the next time we are in Wilmington. Happy traveling!


Fantastic hostess, great stay

4,6 su settembre 22, 2009

Amazing food, lovely house, and the most friendly and helpful landlady I've met. I would totally recommend this place, especially for people who have never been to Wilmington before, and would definitely stay here again.


Port City Guest House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $124 - $139
  • Recensioni (168) 4,7
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-9107621790

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina