The Teacherage Recensioni

Globalmente
4,3

Più info

  • Camera4,0
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Pasti in loco3,9

Valore della struttura
9 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A nice place to break up the drive to the beach.

4,0 su agosto 03, 2015

We were on our way to the Outer Banks and decided to stay overnight fairly close by so as to avoid the long traffic that usually happens on the weekends there. We had driven quite a few hours by the time we had arrived at the Teacherage. At first we saw the old house which was in need of an exterior paint job and thought 'uh oh'. We knew though that it was an old house from the 40's that used to house the teachers who taught at the school next door. Brenda came out to greet us and show us around. On the outside the house seemed a little 'midnight in the garden of good and evil' but on the inside it made me think of my grandmother and her quilting bee friends sitting around fanning themselves in the parlor of the old farmhouse drinking big glasses of sweet ice tea with the heat of the southern climate on a summer day. it was sweet the memories the old house brought. Our rooms as well were nicely done with that mix of old-fashioned and eclectic. The house doesn't have central air however there is a window unit in the bedrooms and the living room along with a big porch full of chairs and table to hang out on. We were all so beat from the heat and driving that we pretty much crashed in our rooms the rest of the evening with the exception of a walk outside in the curiosity an hope of seeing a Bob White bird that was singing outside of our window. It was shy but we enjoyed listening to it. We slept well and had a huge breakfast that would see us all the way to dinner there was so much. From yogurt to fresh cantaloupe to fresh made eggs, it was all delicious and much appreciated! A day later, I was even more thankful to our innkeepers for finding and letting me know I had left a unique silver ring behind. I felt so bad that on our way back home we ended up swinging by for the ring rather early on a Sunday to pick it up but can't thank Brenda and Graham enough for letting me know I left it. Thank you for a lovely stay!


Our Stay at The Teacherage

4,4 su luglio 24, 2015

This was our first time using Bed and Breakfast.com, so we were a little nervous about a lot of things as most people would be. Without the backstory, I booked with The Teacherage and had to cancel on the same day. I had used PayPal (which I recommend) and had a debit card in that service. My refund was delivered to my bank account in less than 10 days (counting a weekend). I ended up re-booking with them within a couple of days. Everything went through without a hitch.I also had to call Bed and Breakfast.com for some help and was pleased with their service as well. The inn was just as it appeared on the site. It was a really beautiful little place. We stayed 2 nights and were pleased to see 2 to 3 other couples had booked both nights. Unfortunately, our plans did not allow us to take in the restful quality of this little gem, but we were more than satisfied that we had found a good deal and some great new friends. I have no complaints, so the following is for informational purposes only. The rooms and inn were IMMACULATE. We had the room with the private bath. It was tiny but very functional. Be careful, the shower floor is very slick. We stayed in the worst part of summer, and since the rooms are individually cooled and heated, it was a little warm but cooled off. Pulling the drapes during the day helped a lot on the 2nd night. Our plans took us to Chesapeake/Suffolk area, and the 35-45 mile drive was quick and very beautiful. Would not recommend staying here if you were going much further as it is in rural NC but included in the Chesapeake MPA. We would stay here again, without a doubt. Graham and Brenda have done an outstanding job with this little diamond in the rough.


Enjoyed the stay

3,8 su aprile 26, 2015

Arrived around 5 pm on rainy,drab Sunday. Brenda offered/served delicious coffee/hot tea and lite snacks in parlor. She graciously answered my questions about the B&B, it's history, and it's acquisition. Our itinerary for the two day stay was almost non-existent since the trip was made on impulse. Graham's suggestion to visit The Hermitage in Norfolk suited our interests perfectly. With the improving weather, hikes we took through the Dismal Swamp and Merchants Mill Pond State Park made the visit to the area delightful. Our room in The Teacherage was clean, interesting and the bed comfortable. The breakfast in the dining room at 8:30 each morning consisted of eggs, delicious zucchini bread, cinnamon roll, yogurt, toast, orange juice, coffee, tea, ham, sliced cheese, cereal, milk, jam. We certainly enjoyed our brief stay, and appreciated the reasonable rates for the room. If making reservations on line, include in the comments if you would like breakfast.


charming step back in time

3,2 su aprile 01, 2015

Very nice old house being lovingly restated by the owners, a very nice couple. It was my best stay on a road trip through the eastern coast


A Perfect Escape From the Daily Grind

5 su febbraio 20, 2015

I live about 35 minutes away from the Teacherage and I had no idea it existed. I wanted to do something special for my girlfriend on Valentine's Day. So instead of staying home, I searched for a "home away from home". I decided that hotels were too impersonal, so a bed and breakfast was ideal for us. Their prices for room and breakfast are very reasonable, if not a steal! My girlfriend and I, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I was able to pass along some local gossip to Graham and Brenda; and they made me feel very welcomed in Sunbury, NC. I highly recommend booking a stay at the Teacherage, if you are ever in the area!


Everything you love about B&Bs!

5 su novembre 27, 2014

We visited the nearby state parks and stayed at the Teacherage for a base camp. It has a very interesting history, and it's great to support the cause of its preservation. The room was spacious and comfortable, very quaint, and even had a fan/heater and box fan if we wanted it. Breakfast was delicious and varied - we couldn't eat all of what was offered! Speaking with the owners was an experience unto itself, too! Such stories! We'll definitely stay again when we come to the area.


What a country B&B should be

4,8 su ottobre 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Teacherage in early October 2014. We were visiting family in the area and did not want to go too far - what a find in the Teacherage. The history of the place is so interesting. Graham and his wife Brenda purchased the school and the "teacherage" through the NC Historic Preservation Society and are in the process of doing a remarkable job of bringing back the historic touches. The Teacherage was the actual building that single female teachers stayed at while employed at the school - located next door. It's a classic country style large rambling house, four bedrooms up and and four bedrooms down. Large rooms, large windows and high ceiling with original wood floors. Rather than try to turn the house into something it's not, Graham and Brenda have stayed true to the period and done a beautiful job. Our room was large, airy and most importantly - clean. We loved it and are already planning our next visit when we visit family again in November. Hearing the history of the school and learning about their work to bring this little piece of history back into a useful part of the community is wonderful. We spent a lovely evening out on the side porch, having a small cocktail with Graham, listening to the crickets and enjoying the breeze. The next morning we opted for our breakfast on the same porch and our hosts served up a wonderful European style breakfast that left us both satisfied, filled and happy without being stuffed. Truly this is the way a B&B should be run - we highly recommend it if you find yourself anywhere in the area. It's well worth the visit.


Perfect

5 su settembre 28, 2014

Grahm and Brenda were very nice and interesting to talk to. My son and I were bicycle touring and found this place along the route. Excellent price and very comfy room and bed. We had the breakfast in the morning to get us on the road. Would definitely stop there again.


Out of the way, a nice find!

3,6 su agosto 21, 2013

Basic, no frills B&B with very nice hosts, quiet, no tv, has wifi, breakfast on the porch. Very nice younger couple run this quaint B&B


The Teacherage

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $36 - $79
  • Recensioni (9) 4,3
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2525066526
  • Telefono 1-2524559077
Inizio pagina