Hillcrest Hide-Away Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
127 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Charming, warm and welcoming B & B

5 su settembre 24, 2014

I was at the Hillcrest Hideaway for a girls weekend with a coworker and my personal attendant for my wedding to rest and relax before my wedding day coming up and that is just what we did - rest and relax. We had a wonderful time in Lansboro. Carol and Marv are wonderful hosts. They are both very knowledgeable about the Lansboro area and it's history. They can help direct you to area attractions and inform you of any special happenings going on at the time of your stay. The breakfasts were so delicious! You can't find anything like their food in a restaurant! There is nothing like home made warm bread and coffee just out side your door in the morning before breakfast. Then you get a marvelous home made/ hand made breakfast that is so comforting and delicious. Also we can't forget the homemade choc chip cookies waiting for you in your room when you arrive. This is my 3rd stay at the Hillcrest Hideaway and certainly NOT my last. I will be back next fall. It is just a wonderful place to stay!!!!! I can't speak highly enough about it.


Enjoy your stay!

4,6 su settembre 07, 2014

The innkeepers are excellent hosts, friendly and personable, making our stay very pleasant and relaxing. They know a lot about the area, so don't hesitate to ask. Our room was clean, comfortable and decorated like the Craftsman style home it is. Their home is a quiet oasis with beautiful gardens. The breads and breakfasts were delicious. If stairs are a concern, let the innkeeper know when you reserve a room.


Girls Weekend

4,4 su luglio 27, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this B&B for one night. It was a very pleasant evening. We enjoyed being walking distance from the downtown activities. The owners were very accommodating.


Outstanding Experience

5 su maggio 27, 2014

The whole experience we had was excellent. Breakfast was delicious, hosts were friendly, room was comfortable and clean, bread and coffee for wake-up was a treat, town was full of interesting things to do and places to visit, and the quiet setting was perfect for our anniversary.


Great (but too short) getaway

4,8 su maggio 27, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Marv and Carol last weekend. Every detail was accounted for...Hillcrest Hide-Away will be our Lanesboro destination. Thank so much.


Winter Get Away

4,8 su marzo 10, 2014

We went to Lanesboro for the perfect winter get away. The cross country skiing was fantastic, best day of the year for that. The accommodations here were perfect too. Carol and Marv were excellent hosts. Our room was very clean, quiet. Very romantic with the electric fireplace. The room had a wine opener and wine glasses. At breakfast we talked and learned about Carol and Marv. The breakfast was very good, the bread and coffee at our door at 7:00 was great. We will definitely come back here. We are planning on a summer trip now.


Hillcrest Hide-Away B&B

5 su dicembre 20, 2013

Amazing in every way!


Our First

5 su dicembre 18, 2013

We enjoyed our B&B experience. Yummy breakfasts, awesome welcome cookies for the duration of our stay and clean and comfy quarters! Thank you!


Hillcrest Hide-Away in Lanesboro, Mn

4,4 su ottobre 17, 2013

We have stayed in several B&Bs in Lanesboro. They are all wonderful, each with their own unique character. This particular B&B is off the main street approximately 3 blocks. The rooms are very clean and breakfast was very good. The home allows the guests to "relive" the craftsman house lifestyle.


My 3rd time here, just love it

4,8 su ottobre 17, 2013

I've been back 3 times because they not only have great lodging and food, but the atmosphere is wonderful - altogether, it's the best B&B I've been to. So much to do in Lanesboro too. We love Marv & Carol!


Great girl's weekend

4,4 su ottobre 01, 2013

Spent a girls getaway at the Hillcrest Hide-Away. The hospitality was terrific and Carol's cooking was wonderful! Our room was so comfortable that two nights went way too fast. Thanks for a great weekend!


Gracious hosts, with a serving of comfort and convenience on the side

4,0 su settembre 18, 2013

Marv and Carol are such hospitable, caring people! We especially enjoyed the use of the little deck off our room. The view into the back yard was lovely and peaceful, with beautiful landscaping as a backdrop. If you're looking for Victorian elegance, this place is not for you, but if you want a comfortable, clean place to stay with great food and friendly hosts, Hillcrest Hideaway is one of the best! We are very grateful to have found a place where we could stay for just one night over the weekend--a nice getaway that doesn't break the bank!


Better than going to my favorite aunt's house!

4,6 su settembre 17, 2013

Talk about peace and quiet. Literally the Hill Crest east of downtown. Idyllic! And then, Carol's fresh baked bread outside my door with coffee first thing in the morning, followed by her wonderful cooked breakfast. The Eggerts are the kind of people you wish would run all B & B's. Absolutely a great choice.


Peace of Heaven

5 su settembre 03, 2013

Would recommend this to everyone I know, you want to get away from everything. This is the place, the food, people, town, Hillcrest B&B is the the place to stay


Home away from home

4,2 su agosto 29, 2013

This being our 1st time at a B&B, it was very pleasurable. Carol and Marv's home is lovely, relaxing and the food was "awesome". We will certainly return in the future.


Restful stay at Hillcrest Hideaway B&B

4,6 su agosto 23, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing, wonderful stay at the charming Hillcrest Hideaway B&B in Lanesboro, MN. Superb breakfasts each morning with home baked breads.


CHHS Girls visit Lanesboro

3,6 su luglio 31, 2013

Fresh bread baking and delivered at 7AM - what could possibly be better??


Great get-away!

4,6 su luglio 29, 2013

Very cozy B&B with amazing breakfasts! We will definitely be back!


Hillcrest Bed and Breakfast Lanesboro

5 su luglio 15, 2013

The couple that own this bed and breakfast are delightful and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast is delicious. Guests are treated to chocolate chip cookies upon arrival and fresh bread and coffee at their door in the morning.


Marv and Carol are the best in Lanesboro!!!!

4,6 su luglio 12, 2013

Marv and Carol are the very best in Lanesboro! If you want to be pampered and spoiled rotten in an immaculate B&B, Hillcrest Hideaway is the place to go!


Beautiful place to stay - and the warm bread every morning was amazing!!!!

5 su luglio 05, 2013

We had a walk out porch on our room to the backyard - it was nice not to have to go through the house every time we were coming and going.


Pleasing mother -daughter vacation

4,2 su giugno 26, 2013

Carol ad Marv made our stay relaxing with an at -home feeling. Carol accommodated our dietary requests deliciously. Our room was lovely and comfortable. It was a very positive first time B&B experience. Our hosts also gave us valuable information about the area, which made our Lanesboro experience wonderful.


Excellent Weekend Escape

5 su giugno 18, 2013

Beautiful rooms, outstanding innkeepers and a wonderful breakfast all make for a terrific weekend getaway.


High atop Lanesboro

4,4 su giugno 12, 2013

We visit Lanesboro several times a year for the Commonweal Theatre and bicycling on the Root River Trail (Rails to Trails system.)  We enjoy staying at B&B's and reserve at different homes each time.  I selected the Hillcrest for Saturday, June 8  from the Lanesboro website for these reasons: 1) didn't require a two-night weekend stay, 2) the home wasn't cluttered with antiques and "stuff", 3) the innkeepers, Marv and Carol, sounded like interesting people, and 4) the description of breakfast was tasty. We found accuracy on all counts! We stayed in the Peace Room-spacious with a comfortable queen bed, two chairs, ample lighting, bathroom with all the amenities - including a swing arm makeup mirror with magnifying side! I commented to the innkeepers at breakfast how I appreciated it. Breakfast was served in the cheery dining room - fresh fruit cup with sprig of chocolate mint leaves, pomegranate-blueberry or orange juice, lovely muffins, and a wonderful egg Monte Cristo! Oh, I forgot to mention, at 7 am they left a pot of coffee and small, freshly baked loaf of banana nut bread outside our door...what a treat upon awakening. Their gardens and landscaping are beautiful too. We will return to the Hillcrest!


bike tour stay

4,6 su giugno 06, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay and bike tour.


Gaps in dining and service

3,2 su giugno 05, 2013

This B&B is perfectly situated on a hill above downtown Lanesboro: quiet, lovely rooms, very nice host and hostess. The hostess provides a jar of cookies for the room and delivers coffee, bread, etc. to the rooms at 7am---all very nice. While this place is very good in many respects, my comments are made with the understanding that having a B&B is a very competitive endeavor. At $135. a night, we have a right to expect consistent quality and excellence. Inexplicably however, we found gaps in the service: late Sunday night we told the hostess we had to leave by 9am the next day, and she thanked me for the notice. However, when we left a few minutes before 9 the next morning, the main breakfast entree was nowhere to be seen, and we were not offered "something for the road," which would have been a nice touch. While the food was very good, the portions were adequate---we were given only 2 sausages at the one full breakfast we ate. We would have preferred a family style serving arrangement. A final detail: the wonderful fresh-baked bread in the morning had a tiny plastic jelly container, the kind you see in IHOP. With all the attention devoted to a beautiful house and quality, why wouldn't you provide home made jam? Again---we have stayed in other B&Bs---in Lanesboro and beyond, where attention to quality, service and detail were greater. So given the competition, we won't return; we think we can get better overall service and food elsewhere. All that said, with a few minor adjustments, this B&B could easily be outstanding.

Risposta del proprietario
We are glad when customers offer us feedback. Feedback exposes our blind spots and helps to improve our service. In the future we will be more aware when our guests depart early to assure they have “something for the road” beyond the loaf of bread received each morning. Regarding the comment about the breakfast entrée not yet on the table, it was likely in the oven waiting to be served. For the past 9 years we have been including good quality jam in the baskets with our bread. We found that so much of that jam went unused and ended up in the disposal. We are re-thinking that option based on your feedback. Thanks again for your comment – Marv and Carol


Hillcrest Hideway is a gem!

4,8 su giugno 04, 2013

I absolutely loved our time at Hillcrest Hideaway. Carol & Marv felt like family for a day. Their hospitality and culinary touches are unmatched. Thank you for an amazing experience in Lanesboro!


Nice Lanesboro B & B

3,2 su maggio 30, 2013

Friendly and helpful hosts. Good food and very generous portions. Beautiful garden setting and lots of bird-watching. Comfortable bed and room. Quiet and private. Good place to stay if you don't want "fancy".


B and. B

5 su maggio 09, 2013

Great stay . Wonderful owners and good food


Hillcrest Hide-Away very comfortable

4,0 su maggio 01, 2013

We needed a one night stay for 2 rooms after a wedding in the area. Marv & Carol were very helpful in making the rooms available when we needed them as well as providing a very comfortable and friendly stay.


Lovely stay

5 su aprile 29, 2013

We stayed in the large lower level Hope Suite and found everything from the fresh baked cookies waiting in our room to the custom scented soaps and lotions in the bathroom to make us feel special and welcome. Breakfast was PHENOMENAL!


Wonderful Hide-Away!

4,6 su aprile 29, 2013

Marv & Carol made us feel right at home the moment we arrived. We felt like old friends that hadn't seen each other in awhile. The Joy room was very comfortable and the food was beyond fabulous. Our daughter had purchased our 2 night stay as a Christmas gift and it was our first time staying in a B & B. It turned out to be one of the best experiences in our lives and we'll definitely return!


High School Girlfriend Getaway

5 su aprile 28, 2013

Recently I planned a getaway with three of my girlfriends from high school. We have kept in pretty close touch since 1981 but lately our get-togethers involved husbands and kids. We decided we wanted a little girl-time for ourselves. About 12 years ago we'd been camping and biking along the Root River and we remembered Lanesboro. Two of us were coming from Wisconsin, one from Iowa and one from Minnesota so Lanesboro was a perfect meeting place. I was delighted to find that it was the Bed & Breakfast capitol of Minnesota. Only problem was that there were very few options for a party of four. Happily I found the Hillcrest Hide-Away! It was perfect. We had plenty of space in a beautiful, welcoming home. After shopping, dinner and seeing a play we came "home" to have tea and talk late into the night. In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast and great conversation. What a great girlfriend weekend!


Great Last Minute Get Away

5 su aprile 24, 2013

First time staying at a B&B. Our hosts were very kind and gracious, made us feel "at home".. Accomadations were wonderful.


Wonderful people serving in a wonderful home!

4,8 su marzo 04, 2013

Fantastic place to stay at a great value. The breakfast was unique and amazing while the owners are exceptional servants with loving hearts. We sat for over two hours during breakfast because conversation was so enjoying.


Home Sweet Home!

4,6 su febbraio 13, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed hosts Carol & Marv Eggert! Wonderful food, fun to be around, and such warm hospitality. Very knowledgeable of the town and surroundings, and really enjoyed visiting with them. Loved the warm homemade bread and coffee at our door each morning before breakfast in dining area. We will definately be back again! Thank you!


Almost Always Booked

3,8 su gennaio 19, 2013

This wonderful inn was hard to book for 2 couples, because it is almost always booked. There are many reasons -- great place and hospitality and located in a quaint fun town and bike trail.


Hillcrest Hide-Away

4,6 su gennaio 19, 2013

Wonderful hospitality, spacious rooms, gracious to special needs! Highly recommended for a special getaway!


A Great Get-Away!

4,2 su novembre 06, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hillcrest Hideway! A great room, friendly couple, and peaceful atmosphere. Marv and Carol made our stay special.


Relaxing, tasty experience

5 su ottobre 22, 2012

Carol and Marv are friendly, great hosts who really care about their guests. They offer information about the town and provide a relaxing environment. The breakfast was delicious! We had a great time.


Fall Stay

3,6 su ottobre 16, 2012

We did a Sunday and Monday evening stay at Hillcrest. Beautiful view out of our 3rd floor bedroom. Nice quiet setting away from traffic with great accommodations and a hearty breakfast.


great stay

4,8 su ottobre 14, 2012

This is a lovely B & B in a lovely small town. Really enjoyed our stay, and Carol and Marv were just delightful people. It's the first time while staying in a B & B that our hostess and host joined us for coffee/tea while we finished our breakfast. They were a great source of information as well as fun to talk with. Certainly would return here. One thing I want to mention is that the location in on a hill about 3 blocks from the downtown area so if there is a concern about walking you may want to be aware of this.


Home Away from Home

5 su ottobre 08, 2012

Bed & Breakfast provides an inner peacefulness usually only when in your own home. Not hurried in any manner other than to eventually return.


Comfortable, relaxing, two-night stay

4,4 su settembre 29, 2012

We had a comfortable, relaxing two-night stay at this B&B in Lanesboro. Marv & Carol were very accommodating and friendly. Breakfasts were wonderful!


Wonderful B&B

5 su settembre 26, 2012

The hosts of Hillcrest Hide-Away B&B were wonderful ! They were available without being intrusive, and let us enjoy their home as if we were family. The day started with fresh bread and coffee delivered to our room, and continued with a scrumptious breakfast. They are now my home-away-from-home in Lanesboro.


Very nice stay

5 su settembre 24, 2012

Marv and Carol are very gracious hosts, who will do all they can to make your stay the best. Jim and Jolene


Relaxation Plus

4,4 su settembre 10, 2012

It is all the little things that add up to a wonderful time. Cookies, fresh bread and coffee delivered to your room, and flowers on your breakfast plate making for a relaxing time plus much more!


Just the best!

5 su settembre 10, 2012

Our stay at Hillcrest Hide-Away was just the best B&B experience for us. Marv and Carol were such gracious hosts and even took the time to visit with us after breakfast and answer all of the questions we had about their delicious recipes and Lanesboro, etc. They truly went out of their way to make our stay memorable, from the delicious Snickerdoodle cookies upon our arrival, to the warm fresh-baked bread and coffee waiting outside our room in the morning, to a very delicious breakfast. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy, clean and inviting, the garden was fabulous, and their attention to detail was amazing. This B & B is truly a find and we'll definitely book it again on our next visit to Lanesboro! Diane and George Potts, North Liberty, Iowa


The Southern Hideaway

5 su settembre 07, 2012

Everything was great. Very relaxing, it was like time stayed still. We didn't want to go home and will definitely come back.


Wonderful B&B

4,4 su settembre 06, 2012

Delightful B&B, charming hosts, and interesting other guests. We have stayed at three other B&B's in Lanesboro -- this is our favorite!


Lovely room...toomuch company

3,8 su settembre 05, 2012

We had the lower suite with a table to play games and a private patio. The garden is gorgeous and contains a labarinth to walk. The morning dining was allguests around one table and our hosts sat down with us the entire time. This was different than I usually expeerience, especially at B and Bs in the UK. I didn't care for it. I like the guests just to visit and enjoy the diversity of where they are from.


Anniversary celebration

5 su settembre 04, 2012

Thank you Marv and Carol for making our stay a quite delightful one.Such a peaceful retreat with such amiable hosts.Everything was just right!!!


Will stay again!

4,4 su agosto 28, 2012

Very charming house and the hosts were great, as was the food.


Honeymoon Get Away

4,8 su agosto 27, 2012

We spent two days at Hillcrest to celebrate our honeymoon. It was a wonderful experience. Comfortable rooms and bed. GREAT food too! Carol and Marv are delightful people and were very helpful in suggesting things to do in town. We would recommend Hillcrest to friends and family.


Enjoyable Stay!

5 su agosto 20, 2012

We've stayed at three different B&B's over the past 3 years and this one was our favorite so far! We stayed in the "Peace" room. It was so clean and comfy! Marv & Carol truly know how to treat their guests right. They aim to please! We will definitely visit their B&B again!


Hillcrest Hide-Away

5 su agosto 12, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Home was beautiful & well-kept. Attention to details, friendliness, & efforts to make our stay pleasurable was greatly appreciated. We loved this coffee & fresh bread at 7 A.M. served to our room. Efforts to satisfy our vegan needs at breakfast were also appreciated. We plan on returning soon!


Heart of Lanesboro

4,2 su agosto 05, 2012

The location is very quiet. The room was larger than we had expected. The hosts were very friendly and kind.


beautiful week-end in Lansboro

3,6 su agosto 01, 2012

Had a great time staying up on the hill --serene and calming. Away from the hustle and bustle unlike the other B & Bs' which are right in town. Marv and Carol were attentive and kind. Great chocolate chip cookies. Enjoyed walking the labyrinth out amidst the garden. The only downside was the very sweet breakfasts...mind you, delicious and esthetically pleasing to the eye but really did miss having more protein and less sweets.


Cheerful Carol, & Chocolate Chip Cookies

5 su luglio 27, 2012

We love B&B's and the greeting we received at Hillcrest was the scrumptious best -- cheerfulness, cookies, and dinner suggestions.


Mom's peaceful getaway!

5 su luglio 25, 2012

I enjoyed my peaceful visit to the town of Lanesboro. I espcecially enjoyed the Hillcrest Hide-Away. All the little extra's made it a perfect get away from all the hustle and bustle of life. I enjoyed the fresh breads each morning, the gourmet breakfasts and the fresh baked cookies waiting my arrival. Marv & Carol were perfect hosts and gave some wonderful suggestions for place to go and see. I will definitely be back!


Great place to stay

5 su luglio 24, 2012

Stayed at the Hillcrest-Hideaway for a biking vacation in July. The morning coffee and still warm bread was dropped off outside the door at 7a.m. was a great start to the day. A very delicious full breakfast followed at 8:30. The Root River bike trail was a wonderful ride even if the temperatures were in the high 90's. Hoping to make it back to ride again in the fall.


Great get-away!

5 su luglio 23, 2012

Marv and Carol are wonderful. Loved the jar of cookies and bread every morning. Breakfast each day was amazing.


A lovely retreat after a day on the bike trail

4,6 su luglio 22, 2012

We absolutely loved our night at Hillcrest. Cookies and hot beverages on arrival and a chance to sit on our private patio sheltered from a welcome rain. Beautiful and comfortable accommodations with plenty of space. Warm bread and coffee to wake up to and then a healthy and not overwhelming breakfast before hitting the bike trail. We will return!


hillcrest

4,8 su luglio 20, 2012

Very nice, great food and personal touches like homemade cookies in room,wake up fresh bread and jam, great coffee and courtous service, will visit again.


Excellent Stay In Lanesboro

5 su luglio 17, 2012

My wife and I had an excellent stay at the Hillcrest Hide-Away B&B. We were greeted warmly by the owner, who even had a welcome sign posted with our names on it. We were shown to our room, and given freshly baked cookies. Our room was great, comfortable, and relaxing. It had a private patio that overlooked their lovely garden. Fresh bread was delivered each morning at 7, along with juice and coffee. A delicious breakfast was then served at 8:30. The owners are very friendly and courteous. They take every precaution to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The board games and books in the room are a nice touch also. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who asked, and we hope to get back there soon.


The gift of hospitatily

4,2 su luglio 16, 2012

The homeowners of Hillcrest Hide-Away demonstrated their gift of hospitality many times in our weekend stay at their comfortable and cozy home. It was a delightful experience. We were also thankful that children were welcomed here. I understand that sometimes people who staty at B&B's don't care to share this time with children and I wanted to be respectful of that and agreed if my young daughter was having a hard time, we would go to our room for breakfast time. We were just so thankful we could have her come with us! Also, a great location-we were able to bike from Hillcrest to main street and the bike trail in an easy 5 minutes!


Relaxing Weekend

4,2 su luglio 11, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The room/suite was larger than average. The walk in shower was very nice. We had a room on the first floor. It was quite. It was an easy access accommodation. The hosts were very informative about the local area and provide some discounts for theatre tickets. We highly recommend you attend the local theatre at least for one production. Additonally they sat with us at breakfast giving a true B and B experience. There are great bike paths to meet all needs with plenty of places to rent different types of bikes . Contrary to our host's statement, he is not shy and very willing to share information with a good sense of humor. We would stay again if ever in the area.


Great place to stay while in Lanesboro

5 su luglio 09, 2012

My husband stayed in this B&B on a recent two day get away. We had never stayed at a B&B before and we were very pleased with our stay. The Inn keepers were pleasant and helpful. We biked early each morning and returned to a loaf of warm fresh baked bread and iced tea and then had a wonderful breakfast of great food and conversation. We stayed in the peace room and it was a very large room with a very comfortable bed. If you are looking for a place to stay in Lanesboro you won't be disappointed if you stay here.


Lovely B&B. The hosts were great. Highly recommended.

4,8 su giugno 24, 2012

We spent two days here. Very nice. Comfortable, friendly, great breakfast. Wonderful room. Stay here!


R and R in beautiful Lanesboro

5 su giugno 20, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Hillcrest Hideaway in Lanesboro. Carol and Marv are very attentive hosts. The room was spacious, and had many amenities which made the stay pleasant. We liked that it had wi-fi, and also a personal air conditioner in our room. The delivery of fresh-baked bread, juice, and coffee before breakfast was a wonderful way to start a day. Breakfast was fabulous, and we left fully "stuffed" with their food bounty! We would highly recommend this place!!


Welcoming and relaxing

4,6 su giugno 13, 2012

My husband and I recently spent our anniversary at the Hillcrest Hide-Away B&B. This B&B has lots of nice touches that you don't typically see at other B&Bs. Upon arrival we were given a jar of cookies. Each morning a warm loaf of bread was delivered to ourdoor with a pot of coffee; great for early risers like us! In addition to the bread and coffee, the breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The rooms also featured hand soap and lotion from a local boutique...they smelled terrific! We loved our stay.


Great place to stay!

4,4 su giugno 06, 2012

This was our first experience staying at a B&B and we must say it was a wonderful experience. The freshly baked loaf of bread with jam and coffee and juice was a great way to start the day followed by a very filling and delicious breakfast. Carol and Marv were very gracious hosts and visited with us during breakfast and shared their knowledge of Lanesboro and the Rhubarb Festival with us. We have decided that staying at a B&B is like staying with friends.


Great time at Hillcrest Hide-Away B & B

5 su giugno 01, 2012

Great, relaxing, time. Fun to meet new people! Service was outstanding and very comfortable!


Great Place in Lanesboro

4,4 su maggio 30, 2012

The rooms are spacious, unlike many bed and breakfast houses. No feeling of claustrophobia. We were greeted graciously by Carol and Marv and there were home baked from scratch chocolate chunk cookies in our bedroom. Also warm homemade bread and coffee and then a gourmet breakfast. These are the reasons we have returned to Hillcrest HideAway year after year.


Wonderful stay

3,8 su maggio 20, 2012

Hillcrest is a great starting point to explore Lanesboro-close to shopping and the bike trail. Wonderful warm bread and coffee brought to your room before a delicious breakfast.


I would highly recommend this wonderful, warm B & B!

5 su maggio 16, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at Hillcrest, and I was not disappointed. Carol and Marv are warm, accommodating, non-intrusive, and so very helpful. They made dinner reservations for us the evening we arrived, and gave us a voucher to get a reduced price on play tickets. Carol's breakfasts are so yummy, and she goes over and above to meet dietary needs. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated, and full of amenities, including freshly baked chocolate chip cookies!


Charming B&B

4,4 su maggio 15, 2012

Marv and Carol are friendly and delightful hosts. They make you feel at home and ensure that you have everything you need. The fresh-baked bread delivered to your room in the morning with coffee and tea is a very nice, unexpected treat. When I mentioned that my bleeding hearts didn't make it though the winter, Marv dug up one of his plants and gave it to me. Such warm hospitality!! Also, you receive a voucher for $5 off ticket purchased for a play at the Coomonweal Theater.


Lovely In

4,4 su maggio 09, 2012

The home was lovely, the room was lovely and the innkeepers were exceptional!!! We had a great time and Carol's cooking is out of this world! Thank you for making out 35th wedding anniversary special!


Friendly Folks, Quiet Room, Good Food

4,2 su gennaio 22, 2012

We stopped in early and were greet by Carol, we had a night out so returned late. Slept well, showered in the morning, and ate a good, well presented, breakfast. We mustered a lot of restraint not to overindulge in delicious cranberry muffins. We'd like to come back and vist the gardern Labyrinth in season.


Hillcrest Hide-Away

4,6 su novembre 06, 2011

Innkeepers were very friendly. great food -- comfortable place. Beautiful gardens.


Bed, Bread and Breakfast!

5 su ottobre 14, 2011

The Hillcrest Hide-Away is a wonderful place to stay for a quiet weekend away. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Each morning we had a loaf of yummy bread outside our door followed by an outstanding breakfast in the dining room. Marv and Carol are very warm and friendly hosts. If you're headed to Lanesboro, I highly recommend that you choose the Hillcrest Hide-Away!


A heartwarming place..

5 su settembre 11, 2011

We were first-timers in the B&B world at the Hillcrest Hideaway, but we can't imagine much better. Carol and Marv were generous, attentive hosts and excellent cooks. The Hope Room was spacious, spotless, and well appointed, and does include easy-to-access wireless Internet. The garden was a pleasing panoply of colors and shapes, and our ultimate highlight was Missy, the charming kitty who stays where she is allowed, but is very pleased to greet those who wish to share her company. We spent quite some time conversing with our hosts, who are very active in the community and well informed. We are highly pleased, and hope to return. Grant and Cindy - Iowa


Not outstanding

3,0 su agosto 18, 2011

The fresh bread daily was delicious and a nice touch as were the chocolate chip cookies. The details in the room left much to be desired. A bit ecclectic for my taste. Nice people.


Hillcrest at Home

5 su agosto 01, 2011

We had the best time. Wonderful hospitality! Quiet, comfortable, clean, great breakfast. Would highly recommend.


Peaceful and serene

5 su giugno 07, 2011

I loved the B&B. Everything was clean and there were many little special touches to make your stay special. The food was spectacular. I loved the special little baby loaf of warm homemade bread at my door in the morning. I will definately go back. This would be a great place to go to find peace and do some soul searching. Loved it!


Wonderful Weekend

5 su maggio 23, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Hillcrest B&B. Carol and Marv were friendly and helpful hosts. They gave us excellent recommendations on dining spots. Our two-room suite (Harmony) was attractive, comfortable, and spotless. The second room of our suite, with its couch, two rockers, electric woodstove, and coffee table was ideal for visiting with my sister and brother-in-law who stayed in the other second floor room (Peace). Carol & Marv have thought of every detail. The warm homemade bread at our door at 7 a.m., along with hot tea and coffee, was a real treat. Fresh fruit, warm scones, and wonderful egg creations awaited us at breakfast both mornings. This B&B is a tea-lovers delight! Over 8 flavors of herb tea and another 8+ flavors of black, green & white teas were available to us at all times. The Culligan water dispenser made cold AND hot water available to us for tea or hot cocoa. The service was superb. Carol & Marv have a true calling to hospitality. We felt very welcome and comfortable in their B&B and would love to return for another visit.


Delightful and Cozy B&B

5 su maggio 17, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hillcrest Hide-Away B&B and found Carol and Marv to be very warm and welcoming hosts. Our room (Peace room) was immaculate, very attractively decorated, spacious and comfortable. My sister and brother-in-law stayed in the other second floor room (Harmony) and that arrangement was perfect for our planned get-together. We had privacy and plenty of space to visit and relax. Carol and Marv have a gift for hospitality and have thought of everything to make a stay with them exceptional and memorable. The basket of bread and jam at our door each morning was such a treat! Our breakfasts were simply delicious and also beautiful to look at. Carol is a wonderful cook and Marv is the perfect server! We felt so at home and were very happy we chose to stay at Hillcrest Hide-Away for our weekend in scenic Lanesboro.


Wonderful retreat in a wonderful location

4,4 su maggio 14, 2011

Just got home from a wonderful stay at Hillcrest Hide-Away. From check-in to check-out, our time was great! Carol and Marv do a fabulous job running the B&B down to the fine details... the special touches in the room, your own cookie jar upon arrival (filled with delicious homemade cookies), an unexpected anniversary card, fabulous books and games to read, a garden to enjoy, fresh breakfast bread and coffee delivered to your room at 7:00 a.m. and a fabulous full breakfast! Though we only stayed one night, our get-away seemed like we had been gone for days... so relaxing and enjoyable!


Texans Looking for a Retreat!

5 su dicembre 28, 2010

When my daughter said we would stay in Lanesboro for a getaway I was intrigued. The plan was for me to babysit the two grandbabies while she and her friends from Texas went to a play in town. We immediately settled in and got comfortable. Carol was cooking the most delicious stew and the house smelled of fresh sheets, homemade bread and pure heaven. The babies went fast to sleep and I wandered downstairs to find Carol and Marv playing cards at their table. I'll always remember that! The girls came in and caught up on old times and laughed until morning. Warm bread and a tray of hot drinks was delivered at 7:00 and we met for breakfast at 9:00. The lovingkindness of our hosts was a treasure and the delicious food a treat. Almost home in Rochester, I was sad to realize I'd left my new boots. I'd intended to write to them when I got back to Houston to see if there was a way that I could get them mailed to me. Can you imagine my surprise when my daughter told me that Carol and Marv drove the boots to her front door?! I will ALWAYS remember that gesture. And I will always remember the way they made us feel in their lovely B&B. Soft-spoken, warm and friendly, I feel as though I have known them a long time and it is my hope that I will.


Fall getaway

4,2 su dicembre 09, 2010

The quality of our visit was excellent. it was peaceful and refreshing. The innkeepers were very inviting. We would stay here again.


Quality Home Stay

5 su dicembre 02, 2010

We have stayed in B&Bs in the U.S., Canada and western Europe. Hillcrest Hide-Away B&B ranks among the top! In addition to the excellent cleanliness, hospitality and food we appreciate Marv and Carol's concern about the environment and supporting local businesses. If you are looking for a quality home stay Hillcrest Hide-Away provides it. Al and Ruth Carp


Top shelf innkeepers & service

4,6 su novembre 13, 2010

Very down to earth people, sincere, helpful, extra friendly, and Carol is a great cook. Hats off to Marv, too!


Excellent B&B

4,8 su novembre 13, 2010

This B&B made my friends' and my reunion visit even more special. Carol & Marv have a most beautiful B&B & their service is outstanding -- 5 star food & welcoming graciousness.


HOME AWAY FROM HOME

5 su ottobre 14, 2010

THEY MAKE YOU FEEL WELCOME & "AT HOME" FROM THE MINUTE YOU FIRST WALK IN THE DOOR UNTIL YOU CHECK OUT. THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING, FROM THE EVENING COOKIE JAR IN OUR ROOM, THE MORNING BREAD & COFFE TO THE BREAKFAST. IF YOU WANT TO FIND A NICE RESTURANT JUST ASK MARV, AS HE WILL NOT STEER YOU WRONG. OUR ROOM WAS CLEAN & WARM FEELING WITH LOTS OF ROOM & SEATING. TWO THUMBS UP FOR THE FOOD, CLEANLINESS, APPEARANCE & FRIENDLINESS. CAROL & MARV MAKE YOUR STAY EVEN MORE ENJOYABLE.


Wonderful!

5 su ottobre 08, 2010

The stay was so peaceful; Hope Room was so comfortable and spacious. Marv and Carol are such gracious hosts and the breakfast and treats were delicious. Thank you and we most certainly plan a return visit! D & S - St. Cloud


perfect!

5 su settembre 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Hope Room for two nights. We could not have asked for a more pleasant stay or more attentive and kind hosts. The accomodations were a value. We will be returning.


Enjoyed

4,0 su luglio 19, 2010

We had a great visit! The romm was warm and delightful. The coffee and warm bread at the room door two hours before breakfast was a great, enjoyable, slow start to the day. The breakfast and people around the table made the rest of the morning picture prefect. Thanks!


Home away from home

5 su giugno 22, 2010

We never dreamed that our first experience in a B&B would be so wonderful. Our room was so clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were amazing. Marv and Carol were so warm and inviting. We really enjoyed our visits with them. We loved it so much that we changed the plans for our next vacation and are returning to Lanesboro and Hillcrest Hide-Away.


Just like home!

5 su giugno 07, 2010

Marv and Carol made us feel at home with their hospitality and yummy food. The breakfast was healthy and delicious and we felt we could help ourselves to beverages as we needed. We will return for sure! Josh and Katrina, Hammond, WI


A Simpler Life

5 su maggio 28, 2010

Our stay at Hillcrest Hide-Away B&B was a breath of fresh air, a step back in time to a less complicated world. Marv and Carol were friendly, courteous, accommodating and thorough.


The best girls weekend ever!

5 su febbraio 24, 2010

“The Hillcrest Hide-away is one of the most spectacular places I have ever visited! My family and I had a surprise 50th weekend birthday party for my mother and not only was she surprise but she, as well as the rest of us were very well taken care of. From the first phone call to the moment we walked out the door to go home the service given to us was EXCEPTIONAL! Both the food and stay was inviting, warm, cozy and fun. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B to EVERYONE staying in the Lanesboro area- you will not be disappointed. We were so happy and please with everything that we even scheduled another weekend before leaving. Thank you Carol and Marv!”


Great Night Away

4,2 su dicembre 17, 2009

We feel blessed to have stumbled upon this B&B. A perfect getaway for peaceful time together. Delicious home backed cookies, bread, & breakfast were a highlight in addition to the warm, comfortable time w/our hosts Marv & Carol.


A Quaint Stopover in a Quaint Little Village

5 su ottobre 23, 2009

Marv and Carol bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. You'll be glad you chose the Hillcrest Hide-Away in Lanesboro!


A lovely, welcoming experience

5 su settembre 07, 2009

For our first visit to Lanesboro, we wanted to stay somewhere that was in the heart of the charming town...but yet in a location that would provide the quiet that the countryside brings. We found that with Hillcrest Hide-Away! Marv and Carol have created a very inviting B&B, with all of the personal touches that a caring relative or friend would provide -- homemade chocolate chip cookies in our guestroom; locally-made soap in the bathroom; a basket with freshly-squeezed orange juice, yummy preserves, and freshly-baked bread every morning (and even a little Baggie to hold any leftover bread for later!); a nice selection of magazines, books, and games; and, of course, great tasting and beautifully-presented breakfasts. All that...and a charming Arts & Crafts home with beautiful landscaping! Hillcrest Hide-Away is truly a lovely spot. We highly recommend it!


Off the beaten path...

5 su agosto 23, 2009

Hillcrest Hide-Away was a wonderful experience. We loved the quiet and the "off the beaten path" feel. Within walking distance of everything, including the bike trail, without the hustle and bustle. Enjoyed the Essence of Laneboro products, the freshly baked cookies, the always available ice tea and freshly baked bread each morning. Marv and Carol are excellent hosts and the breakfasts were beyond any expectation we had. We hope to make it an annual weekend away! Melody and Kevin, Rogers, MN


Great!

5 su agosto 18, 2009

A real treasure with wonderful rooms, food, and hospitable innkeepers. We felt like we were visiting with family.


What a deal!

5 su agosto 12, 2009

Be sure to purchase Carol's cookbook. Today I made her apple streusel muffins and intend to make every recipe in the book! YUM!


Friendly Hosts

4,6 su agosto 04, 2009

Four-unit craftsman home on hill with beautiful garden, outdoor patios. Gracious hosts Marv & Carol were attentive to dietary needs. Special touches include cookies on arrival and fresh-baked bread and coffee delivered to each room before breakfast. Rated 5 stars.


Engagement Extraordinaire

4,4 su agosto 03, 2009

Hillcrest Hideaway offered us a splendid and authentic Lanesboro experience with gracious, knowledgeable hosts. Marv and Carol were eager to provide information (with brochures!) about Lanesboro dining and attractions. We even saved money by using a coupon they provided. They went well above and beyond my expectations in setting up a surprise post-dinner arrangement in their backyard to surprise my now-fiancee. Thank you Marv and Carol. It was a special two days.


A wonderful hide-away

4,2 su agosto 03, 2009

You will be extremely pleased with this bed and breakfast. The keepers are extremely flexible and are willing to accommodate to meet you needs. In addition, they are knowledgeable of the area and attractions. You will be thrilled with all there is to do in such a small town. Or, you could just hide-away in their friendly home.


Last Minute Suprise

5 su luglio 24, 2009

We chose the Hillcrest Hide-Away at the last minute -from the library parking lot. Our choice for a B&B could not have been better. Marv and Carol were excellent hosts. The accomodations, conversation and food were all the best. We will be back for more relaxation and good times.


Simply, the BEST!

5 su luglio 21, 2009

Marv and Carol are warm and welcoming hosts. They also work wonderful magic in the kitchen; you won't be disappointed.


Great Nite

4,2 su luglio 17, 2009

We were planning on going to Lanesboro in the near future, got close so decided to check it out, glad we did and now we know where to go when we return to bike and enjoy the river and theatre, excellent hospitality, great room and food, looking forward to returning in a few weeks. Ron and Marilyn


relaxing, peaceful, comfortable, and pleasant

5 su luglio 17, 2009

A warm loaf of bread at your door at 7:00 in the morning sets a mark of excellence that places this B&B above the rest!!! Gourmet breakfast tops it off!


A charming B&B

4,6 su giugno 30, 2009

Thank you, Carol and Marv, for a completely charming place to spend our 19th anniversary. Very clean and wonderful hospitality. We will be back!


Get away weekend

4,8 su giugno 22, 2009

Marv & Carol are wonderful hosts at this beautiful B&B overlooking Lanesboro.The fresh baked cookies on arrival along with a basket of fresh baked bread & beverages delivered to your room early morning are just a few of the special touches.The breakfasts were superb and very plentiful.We traveled with another couple & we all can't wait for our next getaway to Hillcrest Hideway!


Girls Get-a-way

5 su giugno 09, 2009

Four of my friends went to Lanesboro to ride bikes and "get away from it all". Unfortunately, it rained cats and dogs but the highlight of our trip was staying at Hillcrest Hide-Away. What a delight! Many personal touches, including home-made chocolate chips cookies right out of the oven! The breakfast was scrumptious, and the innkeepers, Marv and Carol, were a delight! I would definitely stay again. My friends commended me for finding such a quaint B & B where we could hang out and enjoy looking at Marv's beautiful gardening!


Wonderful weekend!

5 su giugno 08, 2009

Five of us women came to Lanesboro to bike and stayed at Hillcrest Hide-Away. It was the greatest B & B we've stayed at, with wonderful amenities and the best personal touches. It rained the first day we were though, so we played games around the big table in the suite. Marv and Carol are very gracious hosts, who truly care about their guests. Great location, just a few blocks from the main hub-bub, which was really nice. We loved the back yard and play to return next year for our annual outing to bike.


Best weekend of summer

4,8 su novembre 03, 2008

the hosts were the nicest people anyone could ever imagine. They were not bothersome, but always available for any request, no matter ho small. The rooms very cozy, but plenty spacious, and had many small touches, such as fabulous handsoap from the local essence shop. The couple was incredibly knowledgeable about the history of the area, as well as the current information and didnt hesitate to suggest to us places to go or things to do that only people as in tune with the town as them would know. they were very conversational during meals, but in no way overbearing. they relate well to the guests and are genuinely interested in what you have to say. The setting was wonderful - close enough to town, but just away from the hustle and bustle. The deer came right into the yard and you could walk right up to them - beautiful gardens, tons of songbirds... I couldn't have asked for more genuinely kinds hosts who were authentically happy to have us, and excited to cater to our specific desires. I simply wouldn't have changed a thing about the weekend. ...and ask for the pecan pancakes! Nick and Brooke


Worth every penny!

5 su settembre 22, 2008

We just returned from our girls weekend in Lanesboro. The Hillcrest Hide-away was fantastic. Carol and Marv are excellent hosts that pay attention to the details. We stayed in the Harmony Suite. It had a queen bed and a queen sleeper sofa in the sitting area. We also had our own bathroom. They had a book called "If" in our room that kept us girls talking for hours. We had fresh homemade cookies and fresh baked bread at our door both mornings at 7:00am. Breakfast was excellent and it was great to have Carol and Marv sit down with us as we ate and tell us about themselves. They never imposed, they always asked if we minded if they join us. We had a back entrance to our room, so we didn't distrub the house when we came in. And a great deck to have a glass of wine and enjoy the quiet night. Everything was perfect. I wouldn't change a thing. We plan to return with our husbands some day.


"Touch of Grace"

4,8 su luglio 09, 2008

Upon entering Hillcrest - welcome & our names on a chalkboard greeted us along with our host. Freshly backed bread w/ juice & today's weather forecast greeted us outside our door before breakfast. Such gracious & kind owners. We'd come again.


Hillcrest Hide-Away

5 su luglio 08, 2008

Wonderful Inn - impeccably clean, away from the hub-bub, but still only a few blocks from the downtown scene. Very personable & with wonderful food.


Relaxing!

4,8 su giugno 29, 2008

Though Lanesboro is a small town, Hillcrest is still away from the "main drag" and much quieter than other places I have stayed in town. The space was relaxing, homey and wonderful. The back deck was a great place to watch the sun set and the stars come out. A pleasant walk UP Church Hill from the restaurants, and the theater.


Hillcrest Hide-Away

4,6 su giugno 19, 2008

This place was wonderul. The owners are extremely hospitable. Beautifully decorated.


Hillcrest Hide-Away

5 su maggio 13, 2008

Great room, peaceful setting. Wonderful food and service.


Great beds!

5 su aprile 16, 2008

The simple little special touches of the innkeepers were phenomenal! Cookies & bread fresh from the oven and coffee early on and then fantastic breakfast later. Books and games available—fireplace a plus.


A Little Bit of Heaven On Earth

5 su gennaio 22, 2008

This was my 2nd stay here. Marv & Carol are such great hosts. Every detail is looked to and the breakfasts are superb! Fresh bread and preserves with coffee and tea were served promptly each day by 7am & breakfast at 8:30am. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated.


Hillcrest Hide-Away Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $119 - $149
  • Recensioni (127) 4,7
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5074673079

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina