Whiskey Mansion Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
37 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Peaceful inn

4,6 su ottobre 18, 2014

This is the type of B&B that you want to return early in the afternoon to catch a nap. Rooms are large, beds comfy, breakfast prepared by professional chef. We loved our stay and will be back.


Wonderful stay at Whiskey Mansion

4,6 su ottobre 16, 2014

Beautiful old house nicely furnished with period furniture, breakfast better than one could get eating out. Friendly and helpful staff.


Beautiful and fun getaway!!

5 su ottobre 04, 2014

Beautiful home with a great location! The house was cozy and exactly what we were looking for. The owner was a fantastic host! Also a wonderful cook! We will definitely be back again.


Wish We Could Live There!

5 su agosto 27, 2014

The stay at Whiskey Mansion was perfection. It was cozy, and we truly felt "at home."


Lovely home and gracious service

5 su agosto 26, 2014

The room was very comfortable and beautiful furnishings. The owner and hostess went out of their way to make us feel welcome and had good suggestions on places to see and eat during our stay. We had a great breakfast on the porch and we enjoyed our stay, would not hesitate to book again.


Best B&B I have ever stayed in!

5 su agosto 25, 2014

The home is gorgeous and true to the period! We stayed in the Nursery Room, which has its own bathroom, and I couldn't be happier with the quality and cleanliness. The owner is attentive, an amazing cook and knows everything about St. Jo. I will never stay elsewhere when in town! Buy his sourdough cranberry bread too, omg!


This is a great.

5 su agosto 23, 2014

It was a great place to stay and the hospitality was very good. There is a lot to see in St Joe and they seemed to know a lot about it. Thanks.


Relaxing getaway

5 su agosto 06, 2014

We had a fabulous time there! We loved the owners dedication to keeping the house historically accurate yet filled with modern convenience. Breakfast was also very delicious. Sarah was a marvelous tour guide as well. It was a great anniversary getaway and we plan on returning!


Weekend stay at Whiskey Mansion

4,8 su agosto 06, 2014

It was my teenage daughter's idea to stay here. We loved the history of the building! Breakfast was homemade and wonderful. Staff was super friendly and helpful. We would stay here again!


We Will Return!

4,4 su agosto 04, 2014

The room was lovely, the bed comfy, the shower relaxing, the cats accommodatingly aloof, and the breakfast outstanding. Next time, we will plan to stay more than one night. We very much enjoyed the experience.


Great

5 su luglio 09, 2014

A lot of care is put into this old gem of a Victorian home.


Whiskeyed!

4,0 su luglio 07, 2014

Lovely, quiet b&b in a strange, charming little town. (Note to out-of-towners: Monday MAY be an official holiday in St. Joe. Visit late in the week. (Also maybe not Sunday.))


highly recommendable

4,0 su luglio 01, 2014

Olin is a perfect host.


Lovely stay in St. Joe

4,6 su giugno 28, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at Whiskey Mansion. My favorite thing was watching a huge silver moon rise while sitting on the big front porch.


Great Experience!

5 su giugno 19, 2014

Wonderful historical residence, great hospitality, AMAZING breakfast, and a definite return! We were visiting Benedictine College for a 40th class reunion... all in all, a fabulous weekend. Thank you!


A wonderful weekday get away!

5 su giugno 14, 2014

This B&B is a true relaxing and refreshing experience. The rooms were comfortable and beautiful. The service was excellent and the food was perfectly prepared. Olin is a true Renaissance man with outstanding building skills, delicious cooking skills and a sense of color and design that is impeccable. We felt as warmly welcomed guests in the house of a dear friend. You should definitely check in if you are in St. Joseph, MO.


whiskey mansion

4,2 su giugno 08, 2014

The food was awesome and the host ws super nice. We had a family gathering and had a wonderful time. We plan on staying again.


Beautiful home, splendid interior decorating!

5 su giugno 01, 2014

I always enjoy a B&B when the proprietor has some time to visit and share the history of the area and home. The restoration of this home is astounding, a true work of love and a lot of talent. Loved the Tower Room. Hope everyone enjoys the stay as much as we did.


A Relaxing Stay

5 su maggio 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight at the Whiskey Mansion Bed and Breakfast. We were warmly welcomed in this fascinating historical home. Our hosts were well-informed about area dining and attractions and gave us good recommendations.


Whiskey Mansion

5 su maggio 01, 2014

Whiskey Mansion is beautiful. My husband and I stayed in the Water Spa room. The host was friendly. The food and service were good. I would be happy to stay there again!


Delightful B&B with a great host

3,8 su ottobre 25, 2013

Spent 3 nights here, early October, whilst researching my family background. Enjoyed the house and would recommend it to my friends. Olin was not around during our stay, but would like to say to him that we enjoyed our stay in his beautifully restored house and were well looked after by Sarah. Steve & Sue (UK)


Just passing through.

5 su maggio 08, 2013

We were passing through and had to leave early in the morning, so we were unable to experience the dining portion of this review. But that just means we will have to come back right!!!!!?? :). The home is beautiful, the room was perfect! We loved it and thank you for the suggestion of the patee house! We had a great time there and budrouxs Cajun was phenomenal! We will definitely be coming back. Great job the the restoration after the fire Olin!


A wonderful place to stay

5 su dicembre 29, 2012

We really enjoyed this Bed and Breakfast. The home was beautiful and we had the special treat of seeing it decorated for the holidays. The service was outstanding and the food was spectacular. We definately have plans to return. Debra, Sterling Michigan


Work with a relaxing place to rest my head

5 su agosto 15, 2012

I normally would have stayed in hotels while on business in St Joe, due to them being booked i started looking and came across the Whiskey Mansion. I couldn't have asked for a more relaxing beautiful environment. Enjoyed nightly the outdoors on the wrap around porch with no stuffy hotel room to deal with. Weather was great. the entire stay was one of the best, being away from home wasn't so bad this time. thanks Olin for a wonderful stay.


Good value at Whiskey Mansion B&B

4,6 su marzo 19, 2012

We stayed at the Whiskey Mansion B&B for one night. Olin Cox, owner, was most helpful in getting us settled in, recommending the Patee House Museum as the one to see if time was limited (which we did, very impressive!) and he suggested a martini bar in town (great martinis and huge variety of beer) as well as the Bad Art Bistro- wonderful food). The room was very clean, bed was super comfortable. We had an ensuite which was nice. It appeared that the bathroom was fairly new, but renovated to fit the period of the home which was around 1880's. The breakfast began at 8:30 am, abit late for us, but I believe Olin would have accommodated if we'd asked. We had baked French toast...delicious..and fresh fruit, coffee. The mansion was almost torn down after a devastating fire. Olin worked on the home for 12 years, doing incredibly detailed renovations to bring it back to its former beauty. It was a marvel! We'd go back for sure, and we've already recommended it to friends. A great value for the money!!


Excellent B&B

4,8 su novembre 04, 2011

Whiskey Mansion is a great place to get away and relax for a night or three. Excellent breakfast and Olin is an amazing host.


Weekend Getaway

4,8 su agosto 05, 2011

We came to St. Joseph for a weekend getaway, and to visit some of the historical sites around the city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Whiskey Mansion. We were totally impressed by the loving restoration of the building, and the period decor was just perfect, even though it contains all the modern amenities. Olin gave us a good rundown of places to visit and the restaurants, etc., in the area. (We REALLY enjoyed the Patee House museum!) The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent! Our only quibble was a lack of decaf coffee or herb tea for breakfast. We will recommend this B&B to friends who visit St. Joe!


Dissapointed

2,4 su luglio 13, 2011

We arrived last Thursday and there was no one around. I called the number listed and got an answering machine. About half an hour later Olin drove up and said the phone usually rings through but failed this time. We stayed in the Tower room which was partially under construction, understandable in an old house. Down stairs we looked at photos of the family that owned the house over the years. We cane upon pics of the fire which all but destroyed the building and were impressed with the job done in restoring the mansion. Lying in bed that night I noticed 2 wires hanging from the celing and a mount for a smoke detector but no detector, we tried several of the windows but couldn't budge them. We didn't sleep very well that night. Olin said breakfast was at 8:30 and we were ready for a great meal, but when we got down stairs no one was around so we went to Perkins for breakfast. I phoned Olin yesterday and got his answering machine and am still waiting for a call back. Ed Berkun


A great place to stay!

5 su aprile 07, 2011

I was in St Joe for a nite and didn't want to stay at a Best Western. The other online reviews did not disappoint. Olin is a good host, a great cook and has done a fantastic job restoring this mansion. I stayed in the Maid's room and loved it. Hope to get back again soon!


Memorable Place to Stay

5 su marzo 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Whiskey Mansion Bed and Breakfast to celebrate his birthday. The atmosphere is very quiet and relaxing. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our room was nice. Olin informed us about the Mansion's history and knows the best places to eat and visit. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with good company. Whiskey Mansion was our first bed and breakfast and we plan to go back because our stay at the Mansion was a tranquil memorable weekend.


Our Holiday Stay

2,8 su marzo 20, 2011

The Tower Room was quaint, comfortable, quiet and very clean with a wall flat screen to watch March Madness. Most of the rooms were occupied. While trying to use the shower at 8:15 a.m. my husband discovered NO hot water. At the same time I was brushing my teeth & washing my face in the sink outside the water closet when the hot water ran out. When we brought this up to the innkeeper, he merely stated that had never been an issue before.

Risposta del proprietario
The guest was upset and informed me that there was a problem at check-out rather than at the time of the problem. I told them that I had never had that problem before and would look into it. I went to the room shortly after that and there was hot water. I am sorry that they had an issue with it. But not given a chance to look into the problem at the time does not enable me to solve it or offer an alternative.


A St Joe Hideaway

5 su luglio 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights and throughly enjoyed ourselves. The Mansion is lovingly restored capturing the details of life at the turn of last century. Olin provided us a great breakfast and recommendations on things to do. The room appointments, linens and bed provided a welcome rest.


25th Wedding Anniversary

5 su dicembre 06, 2008

I rented the entire Bed & Breakfast for me and my husband and seven of our closest friends to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We didn't have musch time to go anywhere so we stayed in St. Joe, arranged for entertainment, and enjoyed a fabulous five course dinner. The rooms were great, a step back in timewith all the comforts. Breakfast was perfect as was the entire experience. Thanks to Olin Cox, I was able to create my Silver Anniversay memories with some of our best friends, at less than hlaf the cost of a boring cruise.....


I'll be comong back!

4,4 su dicembre 04, 2008

Wow! That's what came to mind when I learned of the story to the Whiskey Mansion B&B. Kudos to Olin (the owner) for restoring this historic jewel after an almost total loss from fire. One would never know it today! I also found that Olin knew what he was talking about when it came to history and information about St. Joseph,. I look forward to staying again next year and to see his progress with the detailed projects he is still working on.


A Lovely Stay

5 su ottobre 15, 2008

I just stayed here over the weekend for three days and had a great time! The ongoing restoration of this grand and spacious old house is simply amazing. The public rooms are huge with soaring ceilings and gorgeous Bradbury and Bradbury wallpaper. A fabulous American walnut staircase has been carefully reproduced and leads to a very spacious, private and cozy upstairs. I had the Tower room which had super comfortable bed, high ceilings, large windows and a new but vintage inspired bath. Lovely. Breakfast each day was different but abundant. I didn't even eat lunch each day after having French toast, omlettes, quiche etc. All served with great coffee, delicious fruit and a charming and helpful innkeeper who truly loves his town and was full of tourist advice and history. I am also an innkeeper (25 years) in Seattle and typically don't like bed and breakfasts but had walked by the house on a previous visit to St Joseph and just had to try it. It truly exceeded my expectations and I quite frankly can't wait to go back! Thanks Olin!


Awesome time in St. Joseph, Mo!

4,8 su settembre 17, 2008

We had never stayed at a B&B before, so were very unsure what to expect. But what we experienced was amazing and so much better than any stay in a conventional hotel would have been, for not much more cost!! Olin is a wonderful host, amazing cook and tour guide! Upon arriving the room we had chosen was really nice, but there was another we thought would suit our needs even better, and Olin was most accomodating! While I know it won't happen very often, but it did for our special weekend together, we had the Mansion to ourselves! Olin had just been booked solid the week before and upcoming week, but for 3 glorious days, it was as though we owned the place!! Having access to the kitchen really made it seem more like a treat of living, than the cold, sterile environment of a hotel. All the rooms are amazing and Olin has done a great job of restoring the house. The grounds are beautiful and the wrap around porch is just what we were looking for!! This was a special "birthday" weekend for us and having stayed at Whiskey Mansion made it so memorable we intend to return!


Old Charm

4,6 su aprile 05, 2008

It is in a wonderful restored 120 something year old house that had almost been torn down in after a fire. The house has tremendous charm and history. I wish I could have stay longer but I will visit again. There are neat wooden staircases, tubs, hardwood floors, antiques, and even a wonderful outdoor cat name Josephine. The owner is wonderful man named Olin who will take care of you.


Whiskey Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $79 - $139
  • Recensioni (37) 4,7

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8166761529
Inizio pagina