Whiskey Mansion Bed and Breakfast Recensioni


Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Pasti in loco4,7

Valore della struttura
62 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Retro Cool in a Retro Cool Town

4,8 su novembre 17, 2015

Okay, you have to understand a bit about St Joseph, as it is a very mixed town of restored Retro and the unrestored oldstock buildings that are run down, Whiskey Mansion is really a neat place to stay while traveling. We happened to be the only ones staying and Olin was kind enough to show us around the Mansion. We recommended an upscale Pizza place which was excellent. Slept very well in the quite Mansion and the cooked breakfast egg torte was outstanding in the morning. Good people and a great place made for an excellent stay. Recommended.

Anniversary Weekend

5 su ottobre 17, 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary. Neither of us had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast before and thought it would be a nice experience. We stayed in the Tower room and it was beautiful as was the rest of the property. I especially appreciated being told when we got to our room that we should close certain blinds before bed as they faced east. I can't really comment on the breakfast as I never eat early in the day but my girlfriend loved it. Quiche was served that day along with fresh bread. She felt spoiled. My one complaint, and it's a very minor one, is that I tried to figure out by phone and email what TV channels were available. Olin said he doesn't watch TV and couldn't confirm that they had one particular channel that my girlfriend absolutely had to have (her favorite show premiered that weekend). I had a backup plan ready but didn't need it. It would have been very helpful if I knew before arriving what channels they had but as I said above, it's a minor complaint that doesn't change my views of the stay or property. We would both stay again.

My Missouri home away from home

4,2 su ottobre 07, 2015

I have stayed at the Whiskey Mansion 6 or 7 times in the past few years whenever I return to the St. Joseph area to visit family. The history of the house and neighborhood are fascinating and I enjoy walking in the neighborhood to see the many historic houses. I've stayed in nearly every room but return to the tower room whenever possible. The breakfasts are always delicious and my food allergies are respected, even if my portion has to be prepared separately. Soon after I discovered the mansion, I arranged to hold a reception for my mother's 91st birthday there and it was a great success with a grand array of desserts served in an impressive display. The owner and staff are very helpful and always willing to make a special effort to make me feel welcome.

Fun place!

4,2 su settembre 29, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Whiskey Mansion - staff were accommodating and welcoming. The house was beautiful and well-appointed. Just a few comments on improvement - we stayed in the Ferdinand Room. It was kinda dark and needed some more lighting by the beds so we could both read in bed, and in the bathroom.

Risposta del proprietario
I certainly understand your lighting concern. This is a problematic topic for a historical bed and breakfast. We frequently get requests for "modern" adaptations to the Mansion. The light fixtures are 1880's that we have electrified. There is a limit to amount of light they can provide while still looking authentic. We included two other lamps in that room from 1910(c.). With the floor lamp in that room we recently fitted it with very bright 4 bulbs. Subsequently we have had complaints that the floor lamp is now too bright. While I am certainly open to suggestions, it is a tough balance to keep authenticity and modernize to individual requests and tastes.

Great Place to Stay in St. Joe

5 su settembre 21, 2015

The home is lovely with great attention to detail. Breakfast on the veranda was tasty and the host was gracious. My husband and I enjoyed the stay and will recommend the Mansion to friends.

Very Nice Place

3,6 su settembre 04, 2015

Stayed there and enjoyed it.


4,8 su agosto 24, 2015

My husband and I stayed for our 20th anniversary and we were so impressed. Everything from the room to the food exceeded our expectations. I can't wait to go again!

Great stay at Whiskey Mansion

4,8 su agosto 24, 2015

I spent one night at Whiskey Mansion and had a delightful time, got a great night's sleep, and had a delicious breakfast. The host visited with me while I ate breakfast, answering questions about the house and giving good advice about the best route to take as I traveled across Missouri. I will definitely return if I'm in the St.Joe area.

Vacation stay

4,2 su agosto 23, 2015

I have never been at a bed and breakfast, but I would again after staying here. The house was in a historic part of town. I would stay again on my way through St. Joseph. The people were very nice and there was no set time forbreakfast.

Whiskey Mansion

3,0 su agosto 23, 2015

This was our second time staying here and have to admit that your first experience was much better. The room and house seemed cleaner last year and we seemed to have more encounters w/ staff last year. Would still recommend trying the place, but will not be staying again in St. Jo for vacation next year. It is in a nice historic part of town. Lots of interesting buildings nearby.

A beautiful B&B that makes one feel very welcome and comfortable.

5 su giugno 16, 2015

Our group had booked only one night, but we all wished we had planned a longer stay. The staff was very helpful and wonderful to us. When we come back to town, we will be sure to make plans here for another stay.

great experience.

5 su maggio 26, 2015

Would highly recommend this B&B. Beautiful historic home with all the modern conveniences.

Wonderful Gem not far from k.c

4,8 su maggio 06, 2015

My husband and stayed at the Whiskey inn to celebrate our 11 year anniversary. The service was amazing!!! Olin's friend Mark was working and he was so hospitable and helpful! He was very polite but informative! The house is gorgeous, Olin has done a wonderful job keeping the original design in mind.I will definitely be returning! And the French toast was absolutely delicious!!!

Whiskey Mansion April 2015

5 su aprile 24, 2015

Took my 80 year old mother to St Joseph, MO to see a concert and needed a place for one night. Always wanted to do the B & B thing. It was wonderful! The place is clean and furnished with really neat antiques. Breakfast was Dee-licious! Olin is a great host. Can't wait to go back with some friends, stay a couple days and see more of historic St. Joe.

A Delightful Experience

4,8 su aprile 20, 2015

The Whiskey Mansion is a beautifully restored and furnished Italianate on a quiet tree-lined street. Nothing about it felt cheap, yet the room rate was very reasonable. The service was excellent and Olin was attentive to my dietary restrictions of gluten-free. The breakfast was amazing. Felt very pampered.

Great Place to Stay. Loved the Mansion,

5 su aprile 05, 2015

A great place to stay - Innkeeper was very friendly and informative. Very Clean, would definatley stay again if traveling through.

my birthday getaway

4,6 su marzo 11, 2015

The place midwinter isn't as green grass fancy as you see in photos but threw the doors was this stunning place.Our stay was amazing and beautiful. We were greeted by Olin and showed to our room.He told us lots about the place and other local information. He was accommodating with a special diet with no problems and I will tell everyone about this great place to stay.

Lovely Stay

5 su febbraio 26, 2015

Beautiful home, wonderful host, delicious breakfast, and fabulous music!

A Complete Gem

5 su febbraio 20, 2015

Wonder stay at a wonderful gem. Mansion has been lovingly restored. Food is unbelievable. If you are looking for that something special place, look no further. Lots to do. Olin has great suggestions on what to do and where to eat. Two of his suggestions that were fantastic were the Patee Musuem and Justus Drug Store Restaurant. Just completely over the top.

Great 5th Anniversary Stay

5 su febbraio 18, 2015

My wife and I stayed in the Water Spa Room for our second visit to Whiskey Mansion. I proposed to her five years ago during our first visit, so I surprised her with a trip back on the date of the fifth anniversary. The room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. Olin has done a lot of work to restore the house and it looks amazing.

Weekend Get-Away!!!

5 su gennaio 19, 2015

My wife and I were over due for time for us "only" with no kids. In searching for a unique place to stay, we found Whiskey Mansion B&B and it sounded nice. Once we entered the property, I could this was home was renovated extremely nice. Being in real estate my self, I could tell a lot of care went into every detail of the rooms. Our stay for two nights was exactly what we needed. Our room was perfect for us and the food was amazing. I would recommend Whiskey Mansion to any as it very affordable for the quality and value. We will certainly consider another stay there in the future.

Awesome stay!

4,4 su dicembre 10, 2014

Our stay at Whiskey Mansion was our first b&b experience. It was wonderful. The house is beautiful and Olin was a wonderful host. Breakfast was delicious! I didn't want to leave. We want to go back in the summer.

Great weekend away

4,4 su dicembre 02, 2014

The spa room was great.


5 su novembre 22, 2014

This house was burned to the point where one would think it would be demolished in the 1990s, but it was restored by the owner to amazing condition. If you love old, elegant houses, this is the place to stay! I stayed in the "Tower Room" - a cute room with a little sitting area in a part of the house that at one time had a tower. The room was very comfortable. The owner has a great scrapbook about the past of the house, and was very willing to answer my numerous questions about the restoration of the house. Breakfast in the AM was delicious, and included some amazing sourdough cranberry/walnut bread. If you want the sterile blandness of a Hilton or Marriott, this is not the place for you, but if you want to stay in an elegant Victorian mansion with excellent service and breakfast, (and a very friendly red tabby kitty named Josephine to great you), definitely go here! I am looking forward to going back again sometime in the future.

Great place to stay in St. Joe

5 su novembre 02, 2014

I've stayed here seven times over the last 4 years and always look forward to coming back. This historic house is amazing and the breakfast is always great.

Peaceful inn

4,6 su ottobre 18, 2014

This is the type of B&B that you want to return early in the afternoon to catch a nap. Rooms are large, beds comfy, breakfast prepared by professional chef. We loved our stay and will be back.

Wonderful stay at Whiskey Mansion

4,6 su ottobre 16, 2014

Beautiful old house nicely furnished with period furniture, breakfast better than one could get eating out. Friendly and helpful staff.

Beautiful and fun getaway!!

5 su ottobre 04, 2014

Beautiful home with a great location! The house was cozy and exactly what we were looking for. The owner was a fantastic host! Also a wonderful cook! We will definitely be back again.

Wish We Could Live There!

5 su agosto 27, 2014

The stay at Whiskey Mansion was perfection. It was cozy, and we truly felt "at home."

Lovely home and gracious service

5 su agosto 26, 2014

The room was very comfortable and beautiful furnishings. The owner and hostess went out of their way to make us feel welcome and had good suggestions on places to see and eat during our stay. We had a great breakfast on the porch and we enjoyed our stay, would not hesitate to book again.

Best B&B I have ever stayed in!

5 su agosto 25, 2014

The home is gorgeous and true to the period! We stayed in the Nursery Room, which has its own bathroom, and I couldn't be happier with the quality and cleanliness. The owner is attentive, an amazing cook and knows everything about St. Jo. I will never stay elsewhere when in town! Buy his sourdough cranberry bread too, omg!

This is a great.

5 su agosto 23, 2014

It was a great place to stay and the hospitality was very good. There is a lot to see in St Joe and they seemed to know a lot about it. Thanks.

Relaxing getaway

5 su agosto 06, 2014

We had a fabulous time there! We loved the owners dedication to keeping the house historically accurate yet filled with modern convenience. Breakfast was also very delicious. Sarah was a marvelous tour guide as well. It was a great anniversary getaway and we plan on returning!

Weekend stay at Whiskey Mansion

4,8 su agosto 06, 2014

It was my teenage daughter's idea to stay here. We loved the history of the building! Breakfast was homemade and wonderful. Staff was super friendly and helpful. We would stay here again!

We Will Return!

4,4 su agosto 04, 2014

The room was lovely, the bed comfy, the shower relaxing, the cats accommodatingly aloof, and the breakfast outstanding. Next time, we will plan to stay more than one night. We very much enjoyed the experience.


5 su luglio 09, 2014

A lot of care is put into this old gem of a Victorian home.


4,0 su luglio 07, 2014

Lovely, quiet b&b in a strange, charming little town. (Note to out-of-towners: Monday MAY be an official holiday in St. Joe. Visit late in the week. (Also maybe not Sunday.))

highly recommendable

4,0 su luglio 01, 2014

Olin is a perfect host.

Lovely stay in St. Joe

4,6 su giugno 28, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at Whiskey Mansion. My favorite thing was watching a huge silver moon rise while sitting on the big front porch.

Great Experience!

5 su giugno 19, 2014

Wonderful historical residence, great hospitality, AMAZING breakfast, and a definite return! We were visiting Benedictine College for a 40th class reunion... all in all, a fabulous weekend. Thank you!

A wonderful weekday get away!

5 su giugno 14, 2014

This B&B is a true relaxing and refreshing experience. The rooms were comfortable and beautiful. The service was excellent and the food was perfectly prepared. Olin is a true Renaissance man with outstanding building skills, delicious cooking skills and a sense of color and design that is impeccable. We felt as warmly welcomed guests in the house of a dear friend. You should definitely check in if you are in St. Joseph, MO.

whiskey mansion

4,2 su giugno 08, 2014

The food was awesome and the host ws super nice. We had a family gathering and had a wonderful time. We plan on staying again.

Beautiful home, splendid interior decorating!

5 su giugno 01, 2014

I always enjoy a B&B when the proprietor has some time to visit and share the history of the area and home. The restoration of this home is astounding, a true work of love and a lot of talent. Loved the Tower Room. Hope everyone enjoys the stay as much as we did.

A Relaxing Stay

5 su maggio 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight at the Whiskey Mansion Bed and Breakfast. We were warmly welcomed in this fascinating historical home. Our hosts were well-informed about area dining and attractions and gave us good recommendations.

Whiskey Mansion

5 su maggio 01, 2014

Whiskey Mansion is beautiful. My husband and I stayed in the Water Spa room. The host was friendly. The food and service were good. I would be happy to stay there again!

Delightful B&B with a great host

3,8 su ottobre 25, 2013

Spent 3 nights here, early October, whilst researching my family background. Enjoyed the house and would recommend it to my friends. Olin was not around during our stay, but would like to say to him that we enjoyed our stay in his beautifully restored house and were well looked after by Sarah. Steve & Sue (UK)

Just passing through.

5 su maggio 08, 2013

We were passing through and had to leave early in the morning, so we were unable to experience the dining portion of this review. But that just means we will have to come back right!!!!!?? :). The home is beautiful, the room was perfect! We loved it and thank you for the suggestion of the patee house! We had a great time there and budrouxs Cajun was phenomenal! We will definitely be coming back. Great job the the restoration after the fire Olin!

A wonderful place to stay

5 su dicembre 29, 2012

We really enjoyed this Bed and Breakfast. The home was beautiful and we had the special treat of seeing it decorated for the holidays. The service was outstanding and the food was spectacular. We definately have plans to return. Debra, Sterling Michigan

Work with a relaxing place to rest my head

5 su agosto 15, 2012

I normally would have stayed in hotels while on business in St Joe, due to them being booked i started looking and came across the Whiskey Mansion. I couldn't have asked for a more relaxing beautiful environment. Enjoyed nightly the outdoors on the wrap around porch with no stuffy hotel room to deal with. Weather was great. the entire stay was one of the best, being away from home wasn't so bad this time. thanks Olin for a wonderful stay.

Good value at Whiskey Mansion B&B

4,6 su marzo 19, 2012

We stayed at the Whiskey Mansion B&B for one night. Olin Cox, owner, was most helpful in getting us settled in, recommending the Patee House Museum as the one to see if time was limited (which we did, very impressive!) and he suggested a martini bar in town (great martinis and huge variety of beer) as well as the Bad Art Bistro- wonderful food). The room was very clean, bed was super comfortable. We had an ensuite which was nice. It appeared that the bathroom was fairly new, but renovated to fit the period of the home which was around 1880's. The breakfast began at 8:30 am, abit late for us, but I believe Olin would have accommodated if we'd asked. We had baked French toast...delicious..and fresh fruit, coffee. The mansion was almost torn down after a devastating fire. Olin worked on the home for 12 years, doing incredibly detailed renovations to bring it back to its former beauty. It was a marvel! We'd go back for sure, and we've already recommended it to friends. A great value for the money!!

Excellent B&B

4,8 su novembre 04, 2011

Whiskey Mansion is a great place to get away and relax for a night or three. Excellent breakfast and Olin is an amazing host.

Weekend Getaway

4,8 su agosto 05, 2011

We came to St. Joseph for a weekend getaway, and to visit some of the historical sites around the city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Whiskey Mansion. We were totally impressed by the loving restoration of the building, and the period decor was just perfect, even though it contains all the modern amenities. Olin gave us a good rundown of places to visit and the restaurants, etc., in the area. (We REALLY enjoyed the Patee House museum!) The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent! Our only quibble was a lack of decaf coffee or herb tea for breakfast. We will recommend this B&B to friends who visit St. Joe!


2,4 su luglio 13, 2011

We arrived last Thursday and there was no one around. I called the number listed and got an answering machine. About half an hour later Olin drove up and said the phone usually rings through but failed this time. We stayed in the Tower room which was partially under construction, understandable in an old house. Down stairs we looked at photos of the family that owned the house over the years. We cane upon pics of the fire which all but destroyed the building and were impressed with the job done in restoring the mansion. Lying in bed that night I noticed 2 wires hanging from the celing and a mount for a smoke detector but no detector, we tried several of the windows but couldn't budge them. We didn't sleep very well that night. Olin said breakfast was at 8:30 and we were ready for a great meal, but when we got down stairs no one was around so we went to Perkins for breakfast. I phoned Olin yesterday and got his answering machine and am still waiting for a call back. Ed Berkun

A great place to stay!

5 su aprile 07, 2011

I was in St Joe for a nite and didn't want to stay at a Best Western. The other online reviews did not disappoint. Olin is a good host, a great cook and has done a fantastic job restoring this mansion. I stayed in the Maid's room and loved it. Hope to get back again soon!

Memorable Place to Stay

5 su marzo 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Whiskey Mansion Bed and Breakfast to celebrate his birthday. The atmosphere is very quiet and relaxing. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our room was nice. Olin informed us about the Mansion's history and knows the best places to eat and visit. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with good company. Whiskey Mansion was our first bed and breakfast and we plan to go back because our stay at the Mansion was a tranquil memorable weekend.

Our Holiday Stay

2,8 su marzo 20, 2011

The Tower Room was quaint, comfortable, quiet and very clean with a wall flat screen to watch March Madness. Most of the rooms were occupied. While trying to use the shower at 8:15 a.m. my husband discovered NO hot water. At the same time I was brushing my teeth & washing my face in the sink outside the water closet when the hot water ran out. When we brought this up to the innkeeper, he merely stated that had never been an issue before.

Risposta del proprietario
The guest was upset and informed me that there was a problem at check-out rather than at the time of the problem. I told them that I had never had that problem before and would look into it. I went to the room shortly after that and there was hot water. I am sorry that they had an issue with it. But not given a chance to look into the problem at the time does not enable me to solve it or offer an alternative.

A St Joe Hideaway

5 su luglio 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights and throughly enjoyed ourselves. The Mansion is lovingly restored capturing the details of life at the turn of last century. Olin provided us a great breakfast and recommendations on things to do. The room appointments, linens and bed provided a welcome rest.

25th Wedding Anniversary

5 su dicembre 06, 2008

I rented the entire Bed & Breakfast for me and my husband and seven of our closest friends to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We didn't have musch time to go anywhere so we stayed in St. Joe, arranged for entertainment, and enjoyed a fabulous five course dinner. The rooms were great, a step back in timewith all the comforts. Breakfast was perfect as was the entire experience. Thanks to Olin Cox, I was able to create my Silver Anniversay memories with some of our best friends, at less than hlaf the cost of a boring cruise.....

I'll be comong back!

4,4 su dicembre 04, 2008

Wow! That's what came to mind when I learned of the story to the Whiskey Mansion B&B. Kudos to Olin (the owner) for restoring this historic jewel after an almost total loss from fire. One would never know it today! I also found that Olin knew what he was talking about when it came to history and information about St. Joseph,. I look forward to staying again next year and to see his progress with the detailed projects he is still working on.

A Lovely Stay

5 su ottobre 15, 2008

I just stayed here over the weekend for three days and had a great time! The ongoing restoration of this grand and spacious old house is simply amazing. The public rooms are huge with soaring ceilings and gorgeous Bradbury and Bradbury wallpaper. A fabulous American walnut staircase has been carefully reproduced and leads to a very spacious, private and cozy upstairs. I had the Tower room which had super comfortable bed, high ceilings, large windows and a new but vintage inspired bath. Lovely. Breakfast each day was different but abundant. I didn't even eat lunch each day after having French toast, omlettes, quiche etc. All served with great coffee, delicious fruit and a charming and helpful innkeeper who truly loves his town and was full of tourist advice and history. I am also an innkeeper (25 years) in Seattle and typically don't like bed and breakfasts but had walked by the house on a previous visit to St Joseph and just had to try it. It truly exceeded my expectations and I quite frankly can't wait to go back! Thanks Olin!

Awesome time in St. Joseph, Mo!

4,8 su settembre 17, 2008

We had never stayed at a B&B before, so were very unsure what to expect. But what we experienced was amazing and so much better than any stay in a conventional hotel would have been, for not much more cost!! Olin is a wonderful host, amazing cook and tour guide! Upon arriving the room we had chosen was really nice, but there was another we thought would suit our needs even better, and Olin was most accomodating! While I know it won't happen very often, but it did for our special weekend together, we had the Mansion to ourselves! Olin had just been booked solid the week before and upcoming week, but for 3 glorious days, it was as though we owned the place!! Having access to the kitchen really made it seem more like a treat of living, than the cold, sterile environment of a hotel. All the rooms are amazing and Olin has done a great job of restoring the house. The grounds are beautiful and the wrap around porch is just what we were looking for!! This was a special "birthday" weekend for us and having stayed at Whiskey Mansion made it so memorable we intend to return!

Old Charm

4,6 su aprile 05, 2008

It is in a wonderful restored 120 something year old house that had almost been torn down in after a fire. The house has tremendous charm and history. I wish I could have stay longer but I will visit again. There are neat wooden staircases, tubs, hardwood floors, antiques, and even a wonderful outdoor cat name Josephine. The owner is wonderful man named Olin who will take care of you.

Whiskey Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $89 - $139
  • Recensioni (62) 4,7
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8166761529
Inizio pagina