Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,4
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
109 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Great but . . .

4,2 su settembre 16, 2014

The accommodations were great. We loved the peace and quiet. It was just what we needed. However, the innkeeper was not very friendly and outgoing. If she was having a bad day, I will give her the benefit of the doubt. However, she was not engaging and was somewhat unfriendly. At one point, I even asked her if something was wrong. She did not engage me in conversation at all and during breakfast, stood in the corner and almost sulked. I hate to write a bad review but this is the only thing preventing me from recommending this to friends. The housecleaner was friendlier than she was. Again, if it was a difficult time for her, fine. But if this is her personality all the time, I believe she is in the wrong business.

Risposta del proprietario
I am so sorry that you felt I was not friendly. I want everyone who visits my home to feel welcome and comfortable. I always try to give each guest the attention that they need or want without trying to dominate the conversation. Obviously I failed with you, and I apologize.


Comfortable, Quiet, and Clean

3,2 su agosto 27, 2014

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend an hour or so from St Louis & found it at the 'Plain & Fancy'. Brenda & Tom are a friendly, inviting couple that served 2 wonderful gourmet breakfasts & interesting stories about their historical property. One of our priorities was a pool & they have a nice one. It was small, but very relaxing. We also enjoyed Thee Abbey, and Baylee's BBQ Restaurants. Both were great, especially the homemade ice cream at Thee Abbey. We'll go back again!


Great stay

4,8 su agosto 25, 2014

The staff was attentive to your needs yet also allowed you have your privacy. Nestled in the country yet not super far from civilization. Had a great breakfast in bed. I suggest any one to stay here at plain and fancy.


Wonderful Get Away

4,4 su agosto 20, 2014

We picked this bed and breakfast by the reviews and must say it met our greatest expectations. We brought our two granddaughters who had never stayed at a bed and breakfast. They didn't know what to expect. However, they were delighted and couldn't wait to eat the delicious and huge cookies left in our room daily. They loved the freedom to use the pool and hot tube and to just be able to come and go on the premises. The breakfast was superb and most delicious! When we finished breakfast the first day, Tom & Brenda said,"See you tomorrow." My granddaughter, who would rather sleep in than eat breakfast said, "We won't miss it." That was a compliment. When we packed up to leave, I asked the girls what they thought. They said, we really liked it. It was MUCH better than a hotel room. "We felt taken care of!" :). We will keep you on our list when we return to Arcadia. Thanks for a wonderful stay


Stay review

3,4 su agosto 16, 2014

The room was lovely, very modern and comfortable. The towels all smelled like mildew though. The pool was very nice and well taken care of. The outdoor hot tub was not clean and you see scum built up around the edges, plus the water smelled liked mildew. The surrounding area was beautiful and was enjoyable to explore. The horseback ride was also enjoyable and Tim was a great guide.


wonderful stay at a beautiful bed and breakfast

4,8 su agosto 07, 2014

We had a great stay at the Plain & Fancy. The rooms were gorgeous and very comfortable. The innkeepers were lovely hosts. I particularly appreciate how accommodating they were with my allergy to gluten. Breakfast was delicious and perfect!


Relaxing Country Retreat

5 su agosto 03, 2014

We went sightseeing throughout the beautiful Arcadia Valley on the first and third days of our stay, while relaxing and enjoying the amenities at the B&B on the day in between. We read and relaxed in or around the pool, hot tub and whirlpool bath. It was wonderrful.


Wonderful stay in Ironton!

4,8 su luglio 30, 2014

My time at Plain and Fancy was wonderful, relaxing. Tom and Brenda were gracious hosts and helped with anything I needed.


blessed stay

5 su luglio 17, 2014

They provided all the extras. We stayed at other B & B's on our visit...same or more expensive, but not as good of quality.


Weekend Getaway

4,8 su luglio 07, 2014

We had a great time horseback riding, and was pleased to be close to Elephant Rock park and Johnsons Shut - In State Park.


Great little weekend getaway

5 su giugno 25, 2014

Stayed here a Fri and Sat night to take in local attractions. Arrived very late, had called ahead, and they left my room key and a welcome note in their mailbox. We stayed in Scarlett's Hideaway so had a private entrance. The room was very modern, the whirpool tub in one corner with a fantastic seperate bath that included a very large two person spa shower. Bed was perfect firmness and the room had everything promised. Fireplace (which we didn't use) and couch were there, along with a small fridge containing a few complimentary soft drinks. They had our requested bottle of wine, two glasses and a fresh basket of flowers which my gf loved. Meals were served in central dining, great company from the innkeeper and food was fantastic. Will definitely be back...highly recommended. Just like name implies: a little plain, and a little fancy. Both in equal measure. Oh stables right next door, good time riding as well. Very convenient.


Great place to star

4,8 su giugno 16, 2014

My sister and I really enjoyed our time here. We stayed in the Amish room, which was absolutely adorable and we were pleasantly surprised my the home baked cookies! The caretaker made us a delicious breakfast the following morning and gave us some helpful information about places we should visit. Although we didn't use the pool or hot tub, they were well maintained and had it been hotter we definitely would have taken a dip! This place is close to all of the areas attractions such as elephants rock park and the Johnson shut ins. This is a lovely little gem of a bread and breakfast and we would definitely come back here again.


Plain & Fancy-Nothing plain about this wonderful Inn!

4,8 su giugno 10, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights recently at Plain & Fancy and had a truly wonderful experience! A friendly innkeeper, exceptional food (so good that we bought the cookbook that they offered!) and a clean, spacious and comfortable room all combined to make our weekend pleasant from start to finish. Ruth, our innkeeper, was also a great guide to local restaurants and attractions. We changed our plans based on her recommendations and were so glad we did. By the end of the weekend, we felt that we had really seen the area and gotten a feel for the rich history, natural beauty and the warm, friendly local population; all in all it was an enjoyable trip that we would recommend to anyone. The only suggestion we would make is to ask about the bathroom set up before reserving. We had a wonderful suite, but the bathroom was smaller than we like and clean, but dated. As we toured the other rooms, most had newer, larger bathrooms (some with whirlpool tubs or double sinks that ours did not have) that we might have preferred. A VERY minor thing, but worth checking out. Highly recommend Plain & Fancy!


Spring Vacation

5 su maggio 23, 2014

This B & B was fabulous! It was everything and more! The home is very clean and inviting. The breakfast was wonderful and the running creek behind the house was peaceful. I can't wait to come back and go horse back riding.


Amazing!!

4,8 su aprile 27, 2014

Great hospitality, clean rooms, awesome facilities and beautiful surroundings. Definitely recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a beautiful relaxing getaway!!


Wonderful B&B, Great Location & Excellent Breakfast

5 su aprile 23, 2014

This was our first time staying in a Bed and Breakfast and it was a great place. The location was perfect for the activities we had planned, the room was beautiful, the breakfast was superb and the inn keeper was sweet, friendly, courteous and we felt like she was our friend when we left.


wonderful getaway destination

4,6 su aprile 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Plain & Fancy B&B! The location is perfect to take in all the local sights/parks. The stream that flows behind the house is wonderfully relaxing to watch/listen to. The food was delicious and we enjoyed everything about our stay here.


Plain and Fancy Review

4,8 su marzo 26, 2014

Excellent stay

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for visiting with us !!!


Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast

3,8 su febbraio 26, 2014

Very nice stay. Clean rooms. Ruth works her tail off.

Risposta del proprietario
I'm glad your stay was pleasant. The work is the most enjoyable that I have ever done!!!


Rathgeber February 16, 2014 stay

5 su febbraio 20, 2014

Wonderful get away, great service, food and location. We will be back!!!!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves and I am glad I got to meet you. I hope to see you again soon!!


Highly recommend

5 su dicembre 18, 2013

Unique property with beautiful grounds. The rippling creek is awesome in the hot tub. Very satisfied and impressed. Would take hwy 67 to hwy 72 instead of 221 because 221 has a couple turns that are easily passed which is a stressful ride. 67 to 72 is easy and gorgeous!

Risposta del proprietario
Yes, Hwy 67 To Hwy 72 is a little farther but a beautiful scenic drive that makes it worth while. I am so happy that in the middle of winter you were able to enjoy our area and take time to gaze at the stars that are incredible at this time of year! Thanks for visiting and hope you come back in the summer!


Wonderful getaway in the Arcadia Valley

4,4 su novembre 14, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Plain and Fancy. Our room was neat and tidy, and not a lot of fru-fru, which made him very happy. Our hostess was very endearing, and our breakfast was delicious and just enough. We felt very welcome and at home.


Wonderful getaway!

4,2 su ottobre 30, 2013

The banana split pancakes were delicious! Horesback riding was lots of fun!


My stay at Plain & Fancy

4,0 su ottobre 30, 2013

All was really good but little to no hot water at peak times


end of the day...

4,8 su ottobre 29, 2013

Wonderful place to stay for the last day of vacation (or any time)! What a way to just sit back and relax. The room was spacious, the whirlpool in the room was relaxing, good company and the food was excellent! What more could a person ask for.


Beautiful B & B

4,6 su ottobre 29, 2013

We stayed in the Amish Room. Very comfortable with whirlpool tub and seperate shower in private bath. Common areas were very pleasant. Pool closed for the season and hot tub not working that day. Unfortunately, couldn't make it an extended stay. Lots to do in the area. Great place!


Plain & Fancy, Arcadia Valley, MO

5 su ottobre 23, 2013

Very nice, classy and comfortable. Ruth our hostess was warm and friendly. We plan to stay there again. Thank you.


Sisters Getaway

4,6 su ottobre 20, 2013

My sisters and I met at Plain and Fancy B&B for our sister getaway. Our room was very clean and decorated well. We loved the large homemade cookies which were waiting upon our arrival.We enjoyed using the hot tub, which was located outside. It was a perfect place for our weekend together. I would certainly recommend this bed and breakfast to others. I will certainly use them again given the chance in the future.


A great, relaxing anniversary weekend

4,6 su ottobre 12, 2013

Our stay was wonderful at Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast. Located just outside the hustle and bustle of city living. Perfect for our anniversary weekend. The hospitality was wonderful, never annoying or invasive. Little extras were included that made the stay that much more likable. We really enjoyed the conversations with everyone who both ran the house and stayed at the house. We will be back!


cozy retreat

5 su ottobre 07, 2013

We stayed in Scarlett's hideaway. It had a private entrance and faced the river behind the property. The room was beautiful and even though it was 80 outside the basement room was cool enough we could start a fire in the fireplace. We would definitely stay again!


Perfect Getaway

5 su settembre 16, 2013

With changes in our lives, which now have us working together, our day-to-day lives have become going to work then home and trying to keep the office at the office. My husband has always enjoyed photography. He purchased a new camera and we decided to travel the state throughout the year and so he can take pictures of the old mills in Missouri. The opportunity to getaway for three day weekend came up and we decided to go to the East Central part of the state to start the “photo tour”. We have always enjoyed staying at B&Bs. “Plain & Fancy” was the best decision for our hub that weekend. We were able to travel out from there with great food (the Banana Split Pancakes are amazing!) and conversation around the big table each morning. The day trips ended each day with a wonderful room with a huge luxurious bathroom each evening. We cannot wait for the next photo weekend away at another Missouri B&B!


wonderful!

4,0 su settembre 09, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time! The room was comfortable and clean. The banana split pancakes were indescribable! We went on the horseback ride was relaxing. We had a wonderful time and will return!


Great getaway for a small town and quick stay

4,2 su settembre 03, 2013

Great getaway for a small town and quick stay


Great Place to Get Away

4,4 su agosto 21, 2013

We stayed in the Scarlett Hideaway Suite. It was Nice, Large, and Clean. Bathroom was alittle small but overall the room was very nice. We really enjoyed the Fire Place and Jacuzzi Tub. The Room Price was alittle high in comparison to other places we have stayed but we were still happy with the choice. It was very peaceful and quite which is what we wanted. The Food was AMAZING! The Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We will be returning in the future.


Great stay

5 su agosto 16, 2013

Great rooms, friendly people, Fantastic breakfast... loved the pool and hot tub, the horse back riding around land was really nice. fishing behind the house or out at the pond was good... really enjoyed our stay, would recommend to anyone.


quiet weekend getaway

5 su luglio 25, 2013

Very relaxing clean quiet environment. Definitely a great place for couples to sneak away for a weekend.


Nice place to stay with things to do if you wish, or comfortable to relax!

3,8 su luglio 15, 2013

The only thing we didnt like is that the door to our room only locked from the inside. When we were away we were unable to lock the inside door (butterfly room). Luckily we were the only guests at the time with access to the main house. That being said, everything else was wonderful. The grounds are well maintained and the pool area is immaculate. Its very clean and we loved the house's character. The innskeepers, Brenda and Tom were quite helpful with whatever we needed whether it be directions or a puzzle to keep us occupied. Would definately recommend! Enjoy!


Very nice B & B

4,4 su luglio 03, 2013

Wonderful views from porches, very relaxing venue! Would recommend!


Great B&B

4,6 su giugno 30, 2013

We had a very nice time at Plain and Fancy. We stayed 3 nights, had the place all to ourselves most of the time. Except when we needed something there was always someone around to take care of it.Very pleasant owners, would liked to have had more time to visit with them.And maybe will in the future.


Much needed peace and quiet

3,2 su giugno 27, 2013

We had a peaceful anniversary trip away from the kiddos and I was looking forward to nothing more than peace and quiet, and that's exactly what Plain & Fancy provided. We don't eat grain or dairy and the breakfasts were spot on, we didn't have to compromise even once! They have a beautiful property including a peaceful creek, refreshing swimming pool and gorgeous pond to watch the sunset over. We stayed in the Butterfly Room which is right next to the main entrance and adjacent to the front porch, so the room wasn't as dark or as quiet as I would like. So if I stayed there again, it would be on the second floor.


A wonderful getaway

4,8 su giugno 24, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating an anniversary. We went horseback riding with our guide Tim. The Scarlett room was great. We loved the fancy but plain style of the bed and breakfast; it gave a sense of peace and relaxation. The stars are so bright at night. The breakfast was so delicious;it leaves you wanting more of the great flavors. The pool was an added plus too!


June, 2013

3,2 su giugno 19, 2013

Plain & Fancy is nice but could use some cleaning up.


Awesome Place!!!

5 su giugno 12, 2013

We spent our Anniversary here for one night & it was awesome!!! The room was great, loved the tub & shower. We will for sure be back next year for our next anniversary


10th aniversary

3,8 su giugno 10, 2013

The grounds were beautiful, I wish we had planned a few less activities so we could have spent a little more time just relaxing, reading on a quiet bench and lounging by the pool. The staff were friendly and helpful.


Very enjoyable stay

4,4 su maggio 29, 2013

My husband and I had a very relaxing stay.


Great Getaway

4,0 su maggio 24, 2013

Spent a long weekend at Plain and Fancy. We arrived after the designated check-in time, but the entrance info and such was easy to find and use. We stayed in the Butterfly Room. I initially didn't love that it's right off the home's entrance and the room didn't lock from the outside, but neither turned out to be an issue in reality. And the bathroom in this room is awesome! Breakfast was delicious (eggs and muffins one day, banana split pancakes the other). There are not very many options for eating out in the town, but enough for a weekend if you're not looking for a fine dining experience. The location is very convenient. It's easy access to 21, and just a short car ride to Taum Sauk, or Johnson Shut-Ins, or Elephant Rock state parks.


Great Place, Great Time

3,6 su aprile 13, 2013

This B&B was exactly what we were looking for. Everything was clean and the owners are very nice. The only thing we can complain about was that we expected a full course breakfast. Don't get me wrong, the breakfast was great, but it was plated and brought to us and we expected more of a variety to eat instead of one entrée.


B and B review

4,8 su marzo 23, 2013

Had a wonderful stay. Will definetly revisit.


Excellent Bed and Breakfast!

4,2 su marzo 06, 2013

It was a very refreshing time away!


Great fireplace

4,0 su marzo 04, 2013

Very good except one of the provided robes had strong perfume smell from a previous guest and while we got a nice bottle of wine for the outdoor hot tube, they forgot the bottle opener.


Very clean and comfortable

5 su novembre 25, 2012

Very impressed! My husband took me to the bed and breakfast for my birthday as a surprise. We also went horseback riding and fishing. It was a very fun and relaxing weekend. Tom and Brenda are both very enjoyable. We had fun with Tim on the horseback ride and fishing. Would enjoy going back to the bed and breakfast.


Awesome Weekend get away!

4,4 su novembre 16, 2012

The Merello's have outdone the rest of B&B with clean nice rooms, great breakfast, and all at a great value.


Beautiful place and quiet weekend!

4,2 su ottobre 31, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay for our 25th anniversary. It surpassed my expectations in many areas. Very clean and well kept. Many interesting things to see in the area but not too many places to eat! Stayed in Scarlet's Hideaway. Very nice. Had a great time. Would definitely like to return someday. The property is beautiful! Nancy, Granite City, IL


Nice, But Doesn't Have the Charm of an Older Home or Inn

3,6 su ottobre 16, 2012

If you like staying in a new house...this remodeled home is the place to go. Hosts were gracious, attentive, and provided a good breakfast. However, breakfast was at 9:00 AM, which was about an hour too late for us, but coffee was ready at 7:00. I thought the room rate was a little high, but I know the innkeepers have to work hard to maintain a clean, quality facility. A creek and wooded area behind the house provide a peaceful place to explore.


Plain & Fancy BB

3,8 su settembre 10, 2012

The breakfast was great! There just wasn't alot to do locally.


Our First

4,8 su agosto 15, 2012

Great room and even better breakfast foods. What more could you want?


One year anniversity getaway

5 su agosto 12, 2012

For our one year anniversary my wife and I wanted to stay at a bed and breakfast near Johnson Shut-Ins. This was our first bed and breakfast and it was great. The food was amazing and the butterfly room was perfect.


"Plain & Fancy B&B"

4,6 su luglio 23, 2012

What a wonderful time! Plain & Fancy is just that. Tom and Brenda make you feel at home. The accommodations are tops. Stout Creek runs just behind the B&B which made for great birding. (The bald eagle was a plus!) The hot tub, pool and affiliated riding stable also made for great fun. And its located near several very nice state parks. Also, Brenda is most helpful at navigating you to the best area restaurants. All this at a very reasonable price.


From St. Louis, MO

4,6 su luglio 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Plain and Fancy from July 13th -July 15th. It was so quiet and peaceful and very romantic. The Butterfly Room was so beautiful. I would recommend anyone that wants to getaway with the love of their life and have a very romantic time together, please try this place out. Brenda and her husband Tom are awesome. I can't wait to go back for our Anniversary.


AWESOME B&B!!!!!!

5 su luglio 02, 2012

My parents booked my husband and I the weekend there right after our wedding. Not only was the B&B beautiful, but it has a beautiful view, great location and the best service. The owners were beyond nice and keep their place VERY clean and kept up. We will def reccommend it to others and return ourselves! Btw do the trail rides, it was beautiful and a lot of fun!! Awesome B&B! 5stars!!


Simply perfect!

5 su giugno 26, 2012

The grounds were beautiful and well kept. We loved how the gazebo, seating area around the fire, and the hot tub overlooked the creek bottom. It made our honeymoon very romantic in the evenings, looking at the stars, listening to the sounds of nature and watching hundreds of lighting bugs light up the woods. Breakfast was better than any restaraunt I have been to! Scarlet's hide-away was amazing and Rhett's suite was full of charm. Oh yeah, the covered deck at the pool, which also overlooked the creek (where we saw a shovel sized softback turtle) was a pretty cool place to hang out too! The hosts were a very friendly and helpful couple who were there when you needed them, but left you alone to enjoy your privacy. We would recommend Plain & Fancy to anyone! - Jerrod & Caressa


Perfect Get-away

4,8 su giugno 25, 2012

Though it wasn't cheap, this was an amazing place. I would certainly go back and I would most definitely recommend it.


Awesome Bed and Breakfast!

4,8 su giugno 08, 2012

The rooms are beautiful and sparkling clean. The breakfasts were tasty and presented beautifully both mornings we were there. The location is quiet and peaceful, perfect to rest and relax with someone special. The horse-ride is also super fun and an interesting ride through the woods. You will be amazed how large the farm is. I'd take the ride in the beginning of the stay so that you can relax in the hot-tub or Jacuzzi afterwards :)

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for staying with us. I am so glad that you got to go on the trail and enjoy the ride through the woods. Hope you did get to use the hot tub after your ride!


Honeymooners

4,8 su giugno 06, 2012

We came here on our honeymoon and it was amazing. Room was great and private, breakfast was delicious, and the area was really nice.

Risposta del proprietario
We were happy to have you as our guests. Perhaps you can start a tradition; celebrating every anniversary at Plain & Fancy.


Very enjoyable and realxing!!!

3,8 su giugno 03, 2012

we were wanting a little getaway for our Anniversary and my birthday......and we RECIEVED it here!!!!!:)our room was the Scarlet's Hideaway and it wasn't quite as big as it looks in pictures but plenty of room for us.our own little coffee brewer and jacuzzi tub that nicely fit two.we enjoyed the homemade cookies:) The pool, room,grounds, it was all lovely! O and don't forget the breakfast in a pretty dining room and delicious food! Thank you Tom and Brenda for sharing your home with us:)


Plain and Fancy was quite Dandy

5 su maggio 25, 2012

Brenda's knowlegde of the area and sites was very knowledgeable and helped in planning ht days events. Highly recommend the scarlet hide away room!


Relaxing stay

5 su maggio 16, 2012

Plain & Fancy is a nicely decorated B&B. The owners have classy taste and do not clutter the beauty of their establishment. Food was great and company even better. Everything was clean and tidy.


Relaxing B & B

4,6 su maggio 14, 2012

My new wife & I really enjoyed our stay. The staff were all very friendly and the food was amazing. We visited some local wineries, spent some time relaxing in the hot tub and had a wonderful horse back ride before we returned home. We will deffinitely be back.


Beautiful, clean and well priced and so much to do.

5 su aprile 26, 2012

I had no idea there was so much to do in Ironton. We saw Elephant Rock, Johnson Shut Ins, went horse back riding and stayed in this wonderful B&B. The view over the water was so calming. The food was great, you must ask about the walnuts, and everything was so clean. The bathrooms were not converted closets, they were large new baths. This is a must go to for everyone. BW/St. Louis, MO


Great Place!

5 su aprile 24, 2012

Really enjoyed this place.Everything was as good or better then advertised. Very pleasent people,great food,beautiful surroundings and great location. whole place was impecably clean and perfectly decorated. Hot tub felt great after long day of hikeing the local sights. We had the Rhett Butler room which was very spacious for two or just right for four. If you are in the area don't miss out an Baylee Jo'sBBQ and Seafood rest. in Ironton,faboulous!!


Wonderful weekend away

5 su aprile 08, 2012

We loved our stay in the Scarlett room. It was so peaceful and quiet. We got good recommendations for dining locally, a lovely breakfast. We will be back!


Wonderful time

5 su aprile 04, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Plain & Fancy. The home is wonderful, the views spectacular, and the food was simply out of this world.


Terrific place to stay!

4,0 su febbraio 17, 2012

Service was wonderful and the food was tremendous. We loved Scarlets Hideaway and will most definitely be returning for another weekend. Very romantic.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for staying with us; we look forward to seeing you again.


A Perfect Night Away

4,8 su dicembre 20, 2011

This was our second stay at Plain & Fancy and it was just as enjoyable if not more so than the first. Brenda and Tom are exceptional hosts with a knack for details. You will not regret trying this B& B and chances are you WILL be back if you do.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for staying with us once again. We love having guests who come back and see us. We hope that we can continue to meet or exceed your expectations and that we will see you again sometime in the future.


S Rowan

4,4 su dicembre 04, 2011

The rooms was luxurious and private. The view outside was beautiful and the service was fantastic. I have already recommended it to family and friends.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for staying with us and recommending us to your family and friends. Hopefully, we will get to meet some of them!


Great Stay

4,8 su novembre 22, 2011

Everything was perfect. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to come back again!


anniversary getaway

5 su novembre 21, 2011

breakfast was awesome. we stayed two nites and had a great time. very relaxing


Wonderful place! We'll be back! :-)

4,0 su novembre 06, 2011

My wife and I had a very nice stay. The breakfast meals were WONDERFUL, and we enjoyed sharing the meal with the other guests. Nice, comfortable, quiet place. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again sometime!


Plain and Fancy

3,0 su novembre 03, 2011

The suite with the kind bed could use a coffee table by the couch to put food and drinks on. Was surprised there weren't soaps, lotions, shampoo included. The food was very good and we didn't leave feeling like we overate, just right. Thank you

Risposta del proprietario
I also am surprised that you did not find the toiletries that we provide in the rooms. I will certainly look into the issue. There is to be a non-foaming bath oil on the steps of the jacuzzi tub, along with a bar of herbal soap. Linen spray on the nightstand by the bed. And, in the bathroom there should have been a bottle of bath gel in the dual spa shower, a premium anti-bacterial hand soap as well as a concentrated room spray. If requested, other supplies can be provided. I had not thought of putting an end table by the love seat. Thanks for the suggestion.


Fall Retreat

3,8 su novembre 02, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Plain & Fancy very much. The room was very clan and comfortable and the breakfast was unbelieveable. It was a good value for the money ($140/night). We did not get to use some of the other facilities, hot tub, horses,etc. due to the coolness of the temperatures, but this is a place that we would defintely stay again.


Our First Bed & Breakfast Stay

4,4 su ottobre 31, 2011

We were pleased with all aspects of the Plain & Fancy Bed and Breakfast. The home is gorgeous and comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous. This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and we are glad to have had a wonderful experience.


low water bridge

2,8 su ottobre 20, 2011

Disappointed in personnel - vert unfriendly. Didn't make me feel welcome in any way. Tons of little things wrong in water bridge cabin. ie flickering lights - smoke alarm blaring away. No heat . This last item was fixed however.No provision for handicapped access. No handrails and Step into main house almost impossigle to get up.


Good times

5 su settembre 07, 2011

Me and five of my girlfrinds stayed at the the cottage that is attached to the pool. We arrived late, but they were very accomadating to that! They left instrustructions to which cottage we were staying in the mail box so we had no problems with that. The directions on their web site were PERFECT and we had no problems getting there. The grounds were VERY pretty and well kept. Overall, we had a fantstic time and all of us would come again and stay at the bed and breakfast or the cottages!


The most amazing and romantic place ever. Heaven on Earth :)

4,8 su settembre 02, 2011

What can I say about Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast. Lets start with saying that the pictures on the website barely does justice to how gorgeous and beautiful of a place this really is. Tom and Brenda are the most amazing host ever. Their place was extremely clean and each and every room was so special and decorated so well and not to forget the awesome breakfast they cooked for us every morning. Felt right at home :) So here's goes the story. My boyfriend & I had decided that we would book a vacation where neither of us have any idea to where we were going till the day off. We were supposed to just pack our bags and then book a flight. We did a search on kayak and entered random 5 to 6 airports in US. Saint Louis came up first so we booked our flights 9 hours before we were leaving. Now ofcourse it was my bf's suggestion that we can't go from one city to the other so he got a car rental and we drove 80 miles away from the airport and arrived at this bed and breakfast. He had booked us a special night at this place "Gazing the Stars" - a hot tub night starring at the skies & stars amidst forest & trees. Brenda lit candles for us and gave us a bottle of chilled wine. It was simply breathtaking. We went to Johnson's shut-ins nearby the next day where there is waterfall and a beautiful lake in the middle of this park where you can swim. We also went canoeing for 6 hours on Black river and horseback riding the next day. Each and every moment on this trip was amazing. We would most definitely visit this Plain & Fancy bed & breakfast again and definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience adventure, romance, thrill and an experience of a lifetime :) V & A


b&b

4,6 su luglio 28, 2011

the hospitality is great. The horseback ride was fun and the food was delicious

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for staying with us; we hope to see you in the future.


The Scarlett O Hare Sweet

4,2 su luglio 24, 2011

We stayed on a Saturday-Sunday. We loved the room. The jacuzzi felt great, and we had what was probably the best shower ever. We were served a banana split pancake for breakfast and it was absolutely delicious.

Risposta del proprietario
Banana split pancakes are our specialty; glad you enjoyed!


Plain & Fancy B & B review

4,2 su luglio 24, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the Cottage. Great location for doing all of the activities in the Arcadia Valley Area.

Risposta del proprietario
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at one of our cottages. Arcadia Valley really is a pretty part of Missouri with lots of outdoor activities.


will return

4,4 su luglio 21, 2011

Stayed in the Red Hat Suite and greatly enjoyed the Inn. Our hosts were fun and helpful, suggesting local points of interest. Very relaxing and nice surroundings. Food was very good and many extras made the Plain & Fancy B&B a place we will return.

Risposta del proprietario
We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to your return visit.


outstanding

4,8 su luglio 11, 2011

I highly recommend this place. Our stay was fantastic and I don't have anything wrong to say about this bed and breakfast maybe one thing our stay was to short and I wish we can come back again.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for choosing us. Maybe you can come again and stay longer next time!


Enjoyed the Arcadia Valley

4,6 su luglio 07, 2011

Great place to stay. Enjoyed it a lot! Floated the Black River. Rode horses. Enjoyed Elephant Rock and Johnson Shutins State Parks. Had a great place to stay while doing so. Very relaxing location.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad you got to enjoy the natural beauty of our area!


Always a wonderful experience

4,4 su luglio 04, 2011

My children and I always love this wonderful B & B. The ride was fun with Tim and Brenda is always friendly and wonderful. Will be back in the Fall to see the colors on the hills. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for choosing us once again; we look forward to your visit in the fall!


A perfect anniversary

4,4 su luglio 03, 2011

Spent 2 nughts for aour 45th anniversary Everything was perfect - great hosts! Wow! those breakfasts. We really enjoyed the trail ride as well - one of my reasons for selecting P&F

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary at our home. May you have many more anniversaries to celebrate in the future!


Getaway Weekend

4,2 su giugno 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice, relaxing weekend and that is exactly what we got! The room was perfect, very clean. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool. The meals were delicious. I loved the fresh baked cookies and fluffy robes. Definitely would recommend this place!

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks so much for staying with us. Perhaps we will see you and your boyfriend again sometime!


Nice place to stay

4,2 su giugno 27, 2011

The rooms were very clean (I mean extremely clean) and it was nice to have a kitchen and washer/dryer during the trip. The pool is a good size for kids. We had a GREAT trail ride at the cattle ranch next door (sold via the B&B). The horses were gentle and well trained, the trail cowboy was friendly and good with the kids (and nervous adults), and the trail was itself was fun. We also enjoyed the Johnson's Shut-ins. We would stay here again.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for staying with us! We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope it is the first of many.


Anniversary Stay

4,4 su giugno 21, 2011

First time at a B&B and absolutely loved our 2 day stay. We had the Scarlett Hideaway which was very nice and private. The hot tub was great to sit in at night and look at the stars. We really enjoy our stay and the privacy we had for a romantic weekend.

Risposta del proprietario
We are pleased that you enjoyed your first time bed and breakfast experience. Hopefully, you will be able to enjoy many more beautiful bed and breakfasts that the state of Missouri has to offer.


A great escape!

4,8 su giugno 07, 2011

A wonderful experience. My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary there. We took advantage of the horseback ride and enjoyed "Spring Fling" package. Tom and Brenda are great hosts!

Risposta del proprietario
We were happy to be a part of your 30th anniversary celebration. Thanks so much for staying with us!


Anniversity

5 su maggio 09, 2011

Everything about the stay was OUTSTANDING! My Husband and I enjoyed the property the minute we step foot on the property. Room was everything and more and the trail ride over 256 acres of land was to die for! The breakfast was great. This was the best anniversity stay yet. Keep up the OUSTANDING WORK Tom and Brenda and we look forward to staying with you all again real soon!


Plain & Fancy Bed and Breakfast

3,8 su maggio 09, 2011

The room was nicely decorated enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and spa shower.


Ultimate getaway

4,6 su aprile 03, 2011

Had a great one night stay. Plan to go back and spend more time. Room was amazing with a view of the creek. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit!


All i can say is wow

4,2 su marzo 23, 2011

Being an indian national i had little worry going and staying in a country place where i would be odd one out lol but i was so comfortable and brenda seems to understand my accent so well. Room was clean and jaccuzzi tub was awesome, dinner was excellent. banana split pancakes for breakfast was very colorful and yummy. The location of plain and fancy is in nicer looking area of the town. i will go there again for sure.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for coming to our home. We truly enjoy our guests and want you to feel comfortable and pampered. We look forward to your return visit.


A great stay!

4,0 su marzo 21, 2011

Outstanding in every way except one: the irregular flagstones on the front walk are a menace.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for staying with us and your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed our home. We decided to preserve the front walk, which we feel is part of the charm of the house, even though the walk is somewhat irregular.


Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast

4,0 su febbraio 22, 2011

I purchased my stay through groupon and was not disappointed. The accommodations are comfortable and extremely clean. The romantic star gazing package was well worth the purchase. Although the owners were away at the time of our stay, we had acceptable service. Our breakfast server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Overall, we had a wonderful visit and plan to stay again in the summer so we can see some of the surrounding parks.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for visiting us. I am sorry that Tom & I were not here to greet you. Hope you are able to come back this summer so that we might enjoy your company!


Wonderful

5 su febbraio 18, 2011

Great romantic getaway. The hospitility was great and the breakfast was outstanding. I would absolutely recommend this B&B. Tom and Brenda were great host.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for this nice review. We love guests like you!


Plain and Fancy is just that.

4,4 su dicembre 28, 2010

The hospitality was AMAZING. I will definitely return for another visit.


Wonderful place to stay

5 su dicembre 01, 2010

The room was beautiful, the food fantastic and the owners welcoming. I highly recommend staying here. The area is beautiful and the community is friendly.


Great stay

4,4 su novembre 17, 2010

It was beautiful and clean, lots of fun. We would definitely go back.


Plain & Fancy: More Fancy than Plain

4,0 su settembre 13, 2010

Very nice place, easy to find along the highway. Brenda & Tom were very nice hosts.


Awesome Place

4,0 su settembre 03, 2010

My daughter (who is 10 yrs old) and I took a mother-daughter vacation alone and we had a blast. The Innkeepers are very nice and planned a trail ride and a massage for us. We stayed in the room "Scarlett's Hideaway" and it was beautiful, homey and comfortable. We will definitely go back!


A great little place with nice horses

4,6 su novembre 13, 2009

The place was great - nice and simple, but with all the little modern touches. Their trails rides were great as well.


Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $149 - $199
  • Recensioni (109) 4,5
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5735461182
  • Cellulare 1-3146402564

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina