Robards Mansion Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,1

Più info

  • Camera3,6
  • Servizi4,2
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia3,8
  • Cibo4,4

Valore della struttura
59 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Great place to stay . . !

4,4 su febbraio 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I were looking for a Valentine getaway weekend. I found the Robards Mansion on-line; it sounded interesting. They just bought/opened the B&B in December 2013 - it is amazing the work they have done on it! Beautiful antiques, high ceilings, warm and colorful throughout. Ken and Deb are wonderful hosts - and great cooks! Come to the breakfast table hungry - we enjoyed scones, pastries, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, fruit, juice and coffee. We sat for three hours and enjoyed our conversations! If you like dogs, ask to meet their two pets! Both shared fascinating stories about growing up, living on a farm, and their reasons for buying a B&B in Hannibal! And both of them know the antique world! We will definitely return - can't wait to see the progress next time! Centrally located among other mansions and beautiful churches! We enjoyed our time with them!


never went home

5 su gennaio 17, 2014

I stayed here last year and feel in love with the place. It was in bad shape when we got there because the little lady that was running it was also working an outside job and had a husband that had a bad stroke .We have now bought and cleaned it really well. It is a work in progress and we hope to keep on repairing the house to former beauty.At this point it is a beauty in it on right and enjoyable in all ways.


Nedra and Leon were great

4,4 su ottobre 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending a few days at Robards Mansion. The hostess could not have been any nicer, you felt right at home and the food was great. Thanks for a wonderful birthday getaway Mike and Pat


Awesome Place to Stay

5 su ottobre 23, 2013

Great hospitality and ambiance. Superb breakfast. Robards Mansion wraps it's arms around you!


Wonderful weekend away

4,4 su ottobre 09, 2013

Our stay was wonderful. The old mansion had charm and the food was excellent. Our service was great and our stay at this B&B made our weekend very special.


Labor Day outing

3,4 su settembre 16, 2013

We met friends for a Labor Day outing. After some confusion about our reservation we placed on line the owners did everything they could to make it a very nice stay. The breakfast was the best part of our stay.


Robards- an excellent place to stay!

4,8 su agosto 28, 2013

The owner, Nedra, is so friendly and caring!! The breakfast she serves is delicious, and there's always plenty of it! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, and look forward to going back.


Wonderful stay!!

5 su agosto 18, 2013

How many people can say they spent 4 days in a mansion?? Well, we can! The Robards Mansion exceeded our expectations. The mansion is breathtaking especially the staircase! The stairs alone are worth the visit!! Nedra and Leon made us feel like family instead of visitors. We wish we never had to leave. We felt so at home everywhere, on every floor! The hike up to the cupola is worth the effort! The views are breathtaking! Breakfast with Mark Twain was an unexpected delight! Don't miss an opportunity to spend a few days and nights at the Robards Mansion! John and Cathy Krebs


August 8, 2013 stay

4,4 su agosto 12, 2013

The Robards Bed & Breakface is definitly old. You can see how statly it must have been in its' day. Nedra gave us a tour of the whole mansion even the large coupola. It is a great location for all of the downtown historical sites. Nedra fixted us a really outstanding breakfast. The price was very reasonable as B&B's go. Tom & Mary


More charm than any hotel chain

4,4 su agosto 10, 2013

I visited Hannibal to learn more about Mark Twain and was intrigued by the Mark Twain connections to this house. By my third day, I felt like family. I stayed in a fabulous front parlor room, had a great tour of the house and gained all sorts of insight about Hannibal. The home-cooked food was great. It is an old house full of character which you're not going to get in a spic and span clean Ramada. I'd visit with Nedra any time. Victoria Blunt


Robards Mansion

4,2 su luglio 31, 2013

The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.


A night in Hannibal

4,4 su luglio 25, 2013

We had a suite. It was very spacious. Our host was delightful and the food was fantastic. The house is lovely, but I wish it had been decorated with more period pieces.


Comfortable, informative, good location

4,0 su luglio 20, 2013

Nice historic home, good location, very hospitable and informative innkeeper. Enjoyed our stay.


A grand old home with a Mark Twain pedigree.

3,6 su luglio 20, 2013

My husband and granddaughter and I stayed at the Robards Mansion in Hannibal as part of a special trip for her. The suite we stayed in provided her with her own room and twelve foot ceilings to add to the charm. Nedra was very friendly, cooked a great breakfast, and ended up showing us the whole downstairs and let us go into the cupola. John Robards was a boyhood friend of Samuel Clemens and it is documented in his Autobiography that Sam visited John in this house.


Hannibal Cannibal Run!

5 su luglio 10, 2013

I had booked myself back in the winter months to stay here during the Tom Sawyer days festival. I had ran in the Hannibal Cannibal run and I not only enjoyed Hannibal, but the stay at this Bed-n-Breakfast was perfect. Simple and quiet. The homeowners are sweet as ever and the food was yummy. The homemade biscuits were perfect. The rates are oustanding compared to all the others and they offered just as nice comfort and privacy. I wanted to book myself right away again for next year!


Gem of a place

5 su giugno 21, 2013

The mansion is so full of character, the accomodations very comfortable, the breakfast fit for royalty, and to top it off, Nedra and Leon are wonderful people, and they made sure I was comfortable. Thank you very much. I will definitely recommend this place. Angel


A Delightful Getaway

4,8 su maggio 16, 2013

We enjoyed our time at Robards. The host and hostess were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic. Also, excellent location.


Ejoyable and convenient

4,4 su aprile 09, 2013

Nedra was very accomodating and pleasant.


Robards Dec. Stay

2,8 su dicembre 25, 2012

We arrived after driving straight up an icy road, and recognized the Robards Mansion. The walk was icy and slippery, but the B and B was wonderfully warm and inviting. The Bonnie Blue room was nice and the breakfast, although plain, was more than enough food.


Mark Twain visited this home in 1902

4,4 su dicembre 01, 2012

Nedra was very welcoming and informative, the full breakfast was beyond our expecations and the location of the home in the heart of old Hannibal was perfect.


Highly impressed, will be glad to stay again!

4,6 su novembre 26, 2012

We spent the 4th of July Weekend at Robards Mansion. We had the first floor room, which was very, very large. The ceilings were very high. There was a fireplace and a half bath in the room. The home is very old with lots of history. It has been well maintained, and it is obvious there is continued renovation, as is typical when caring for a historical home. The inn keepers provided light refreshments and beverages through out our stay and provided the most wonderful breakfast! The quantity and the quality were superb. At the time of our stay, the husband of the caretaking couple was in the hospital with life threatening medical issues. I fully would expect and understand if they cancelled our stay. Rather, not only did they permit us to come, their extended hospitality was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed fellowship with the innkeeper and her visiting grown daughter and son in law.


Cluttered -- not quaint

2,2 su ottobre 09, 2012

We ended up in the room on the first floor with "semi private" bath. The shower/tub was across the dining room and the shower fixture was broken. Shelves in our room and the bath were just cluttered with junk. The heater was very loud, although the bed was comfortable. We were not offered any tour of the house or information about history, etc. The front porch needs a good paint job and someone to make it look more like the photoshop'ed version you see here.


Lovely Home and Charming Owners

5 su ottobre 02, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Robards Mansion B&B. This is a pleasant, quiet, clean and well maintained home. Nedra serves a delicious breakfast. It is located within walking distance to historic downtown Hannibal. Would stay here again.


Nice room

4,4 su settembre 19, 2012

Nice room. Nedra was exceptionally friendly. Would stay there again.


At Home in Hannibal

5 su agosto 09, 2012

This was a wonderful experience. Beautiful architecture and ambiance, very nice room and bathroom, easy access in and out, and within easy walking distance of all the Old Town Hannibal sites. The breakfasts were superb. Miss Nedra had a surprise for us every day, and she has a unique for making all her guests feel they are at home. All this for less than a night in a cheesy hotel. Going to Hannibal? Go to Robards Mansion! Chuck Sanders


Very pleasant B&B

4,0 su luglio 23, 2012

This location is very well suited to anyone who wishes to see the historic downtown area of Hannibal. It is within easy walking of many of the sites related to Mark Twain as well as the riverboat ride. The room was very clean and comfortable and the innkeeper clearly was concerned about my satisfaction during my stay.


Pleasant Stay

4,4 su luglio 15, 2012

My stay was just what Ii expect from a B&B. Nedra was very friendly and respectful. Her cooking was excellent. She always asked me if I needed anything. The room was spacious and clean. The only small problem was the lack of grounded outlets but I bear in mind I was staying in a very old stately mansion. I would stay there again in a heart beat!


Perfect location to historic landmarks

3,8 su luglio 09, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Hannibal, despite the very hot temperatures.


Hannibal Haven

3,4 su giugno 22, 2012

Recent stay in Hannibal (one night) was delightful doing all the Mark Twain "touristy" stuff including river boat ride and hiking (!) up to the lighthouse for breathtaking view of Mississippi. B & B located just a few blocks from river and "downtown" area. Innkeepers very friendly and even took us on a tour of the three story historical home in which we stayed and they resided. Room was pleasant, quiet, and had private bath w. some interesting plumbing. Breakfast was delicious (they kept the coffee coming!)


Close to everything!

3,8 su giugno 13, 2012

The beds were comfy and the breakfast was filling (a lot to choose from!). We were blocks from all the main attractions but in a nice quiet neighborhood with beautiful old homes. We were close enough to be able to come back whenever we needed and had the freedom to come in and out.


Rombards Mansion

4,2 su maggio 14, 2012

Location was convenient to downtown and hosts very friendly and accomidating to our time frame and needs. Food was excelent selection and quantity.


Great place to stay while taking in the charm and history of Hannibal

4,2 su marzo 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in a room filled with local history. Leon and Nedra have made the restoration of this historic home a long-time labor of love. The home has been wonderfully restored, but those wanting it to look 21st century...it's 19th century. We loved it for that very reason, and the breakfast prepared for us was delicious, filling and kept us going on our day. We hope to return and will stay here again.


The Robards Mansion

3,8 su ottobre 19, 2011

This mansion is lovely. And the people who opened their home to us are delightful. Breakfast was delicious and the tour that followed was very pleasant, complete with a view from the cupola. We would stay there again!


Economical stay in Hannibal, MO

3,0 su ottobre 19, 2011

Robards is a great house that with some TLC will be a beautiful B&B someday. The owners are sweet people and Nedra is awesome in the kitchen. The breakfast was a great spread. I see others have mentioned the 'tour' being excessive. While Leon is long winded, it is optional, and well worth it because the view from the top of the house is really neat.


Nice Rooms for price

3,6 su ottobre 17, 2011

The owners were very nice and told some nice stories of the house and Hannibal. My disappointment came from the fact they listed internet and did not have access for guests to Wi-Fi.


Honeymoon #29

4,2 su settembre 02, 2011

Enjoyed our stay very much and the B&B owners where very pleasant. I recommend it. Thanks!


weekend stay

3,0 su settembre 01, 2011

Nice couple who run the B & B. Nice home, good breakfast. Pleasant experience. Thank you. Keith and Lisa Bergquist


Mid-west driving tour

4,0 su agosto 25, 2011

We stayed one night at this little B&B as part of a three week driving vacation, during which, we stayed at a significant number of B&Bs in the mid-west. Our breakfast at Robards Mansion was the best one of our entire trip!


You get what you pay for

3,0 su agosto 17, 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Robards Mansion and the caretakers were very nice and served a great breakfast. The room (Blue Bonnett) was very big and clean. The furniture seems a little mix matched and the matress on the bed was extrenly uncomfortable. We have stayed at alot of bed and breakfast homes and this was one of the worst matresses we have slept in. The bathroom was nice but didn't appear as if it had been cleaned very well from a previous user. Electric outlet for the shaver and curlers did not work. Breakfast was more than expected and was very tasty. If they ask you to take the tour, it is more about thier own personal history more than the house. Our overall comment would be that we only paid $80.00 for the room and if the matress would have been a little more comfortable I would have felt I would have gotten what I paid for.

Risposta del proprietario
We are, naturally, disappointed when a guest feels there was something lacking in his stay. We have never had a complaint about the mattress before, it is practically new and not a cheap type mattress. We clean the rooms and bathrooms between each guest. The tour is optional, just an added "amenity" if desired offered to our guests only. There is a number of steps involved so some people do not choose to go. We have tried to keep our prices affordable so that more people can enjoy the experience of staying in a house where Mark Twain visited many years ago.


Great place to stay

4,8 su agosto 13, 2011

A wonderful, historic mansion. The owners/hosts were delightful and helpful. The food was delicious and we only wish we could have stayed a few more days.


Great Value For the Price

4,6 su agosto 08, 2011

I stayed here in early August and thoroughly my enjoyed my stay in the Library Room on the ground floor. The room was huge and very comfortable. It wasn't a gourmet breakfast but it was delicious and plentiful. I'd definitely stay again if I came back to Hannibal. It was a wonderful place to stay at a modest price.


Wonderful stay and visit in Hannibal, MO!

4,2 su agosto 02, 2011

We had never been to Hannibal, MO, so we decided to take a couple of days and go over. Everything from the sites to see to the bed & breakfast made the whole experience just wonderful. We would definitely go back and visit again. Thank you!!


Not impressed with the room

2,2 su luglio 19, 2011

I didn't think the place was very clean. The shower had mildew, shade fell off the window, floors squeek bad. Breakfast was fairly simple but okay. Good location to downtown. Kind of pricey. Wouldn't stay there again.

Risposta del proprietario
I was a bit startled at this review. The comfort and enjoyment of our guests is our number 1 concern. We thoroughly clean after each guest departs. After some searching we did find a bit of caulking outside the shower that could, perhaps, be construed as mildew at first glance. As to being "pricey" that is the first time we have ever had that complaint. We have not increased our prices in over two years due to the economy and our desire to provide couples and families with a nice place to stay. We offer an all you can eat breakfast buffet each morning which always includes meat, eggs, various pastries and fruits. Our rooms are large and all have private baths. We are sorry when anyone feels they have not received good value.


Restful stopping point

3,4 su luglio 16, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at Robards Mansion on the way back to Chicago from Kansas. After a long day's drive, we found the Bonnie Blue Room to be pleasant and comfortable, and a quick jump from Main Street. Breakfast was simple but satisfying. The tour of the house afterwards, while overly long, had many points of interest. The McClellans have put a lot of care and attention into restoring the mansion and it shows. The price point was also hard to beat.


Good Value but Be Aware

4,0 su luglio 07, 2011

The B&B is very historic and the service is excellent, including a house tour all the way up to the cupola after breakfast. However, one of our two mornings we had to endure a religious talk. Since our religious views are far, far different than the host's, it was an unfortunate unpleasantry.


Beautiful home - Great location

3,6 su luglio 07, 2011

Leon and Nedra were excellent hosts and we felt very welcome in their beautiful home. Nedra's breakfasts were delicious and after breakfast, Leon took us on the tour of the home - including the cupola with the river view. The history of the home is very interesting and the location was an easy walk to downtown.


Weekend Getaway

4,6 su giugno 15, 2011

We came to Robards Mansion after researching all of the B&Bs in the Hannibal area. It is an excellent value, very convenient to most of the Hannibal landmarks, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The food was great and more than plentiful, and we enjoyed the opportunity to chat with Nedra and Leon at breakfast. We particularly enjoyed Leon's tour of the house, and the details of his extensive restoration of this National Register property. We will recommend Robards Mansion to friends who are planning a visit to Hannibal.


Robards Mansion B&B stayed overnite 2/3 May 2011 in Hannibal, MO

4,0 su maggio 06, 2011

This was our 3rd visit. We have tried most B&Bs in downtown Hannibal and have found this the best overall experience so far.


Great weekend in Hannibal

5 su aprile 18, 2011

The room was huge and spotless. Breakfast was great tasting, plentiful and offered much variety.


Hannibal in December

4,2 su dicembre 06, 2010

My family and I enjoyed our visit to Hannibal this December. The B&B's food was exceptional and the accommodations were peaceful and homey. The owners are friendly and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful time!


Nice B&B for the price

4,2 su settembre 17, 2010

This is a very nice B&B for the price of the rooms. The owners are very nice and were very accommodating. The rooms are well-kept and breakfast was wonderful. However, if I could make some suggestions for the current owners, I would have them add photos throughout the house of the property as it has looked thru the ages as well as photos of the former owners, the Robards, since now the house is filled with photos of the current owners' family. Also, info on the property would have been nice to have displayed in each room, especially if the information was on the particular room you were staying in during your visit. Finally, it would have been nice to hear about the history of the home & the Robards during the tour. Instead, we were given a history of the current owners' family and were told all about the renovations they have done and are doing. I'm not saying it wasn't interesting or that we didn't enjoy it. It's just not what you would expect to hear during a tour of a historic home. Also, just a warning - the tour includes some pontification on the end times. If this isn't something you want to hear about, I would suggest you skip the tour altogether. Overall, though, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.


Great Value

4,0 su novembre 19, 2009

I was traveling alone visiting family in the area when I stayed at Robards Mansion last weekend. I thoroughly enjoyed staying in such a historic home. I felt very safe and the owners were thoughtful and helpful. The rooms were huge and the delicious breakfast plentiful. I will definitely stay there again when I am in the area.


Avoid this one

1,8 su settembre 21, 2009

We were looking forward to staying at what appeared to be a lovely restored home only to find out that it had been restored by an amateur harry homeowner and decorated by a wannabe. The bathroom was very large but had a miniature shower and a miniature sink and vanity. The extra space was unused except for one small corner where what must have been intended to be a closet had a closet rod extending from the shower to the wall. The floor was "decorated" with 4 or five flowered scatter rugs. The bedroom was decorated with plastic flowers hanging or "potted" at various places in the room. The room had a dropped ceiling that was dropping. The bedsheets were too small for the bed and consequently pulled off the mattress with every movement in the bed. The upside was location and the very good breakfast in the morning. Even that was spoiled when as we were leaving the owner (husband) turned into a preacher in a pulpit quoting biblical passages and messages.


Great Stay

4,0 su gennaio 21, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed a weekend in November for her Birthday. The Innkeepers were friendly, hospitable, and very informative. The room was clean and very private. If you're looking for something clean, modestly priced, with a bountiful breakfast and private, I would definitely recommend the Robarts Mansion. Thanks for a great stay! Matt & Kelly


Good hosts

4,2 su ottobre 28, 2008

The Robards Mansion was pleasant and the hosts were good and great cooks. The rooms were good temp and a tour was given of the house. Valerie from Kansas City MO


A good impression for our first B&B

4,0 su maggio 27, 2008

Just found this site, would have reviewed sooner... This was our first stay at a B&B, a very positive experience. Lovely home, nice large dining room. Breakfast served buffet style, lots of choices both mornings. Mr.McClennan is quite the character, very entertaining at breakfast, a lovely couple. They gave us a tour of all 3 floors after breakfast. Couple is older, can tell it's harder to keep everything clean/dusted. Seem to be pack-rats, lots of stuff... Still a good value and interesting stay! Would send friends there after preparing them.


Unique Vacation Experience

5 su febbraio 05, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Robards Mansion in June of 2006 while traveling through Hannibal on vacation. We had a thoroughly delightful time staying in such a gorgeous, historical home. Our bedroom was absolutely huge, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. At breakfast, instead of the usual individual plates we've been served at most B & Bs, there was a sideboard filled with more food than we could possibly eat - pastries, fruit, eggs, and bacon. We enjoyed hearing about the history of this grand home and were treated to a personal tour of all the beautiful rooms. I would definitely recommend Robards Mansion to anyone looking for, not just a real bargain, but an unique vacation experience.


Great Stay, Low Price!

5 su febbraio 05, 2007

In January 2007, we stayed several nights at Robards Mansion Bed and Breakfast. As frequent guests of B&Bs around the country, we found this establishment to be top notch – especially for the low price! Not only did we find our guest room beautiful, but we were able to see the other bedrooms while on the complimentary tour and are hoping to stay in each one throughout our journeys. In addition, the innkeepers are sincere and wonderful people that make you feel right at home. And if that weren’t enough, the home style breakfasts are just like grandma used to make! We left every morning stuffed full of delicious bacon, eggs, quiches, fresh fruit, pancakes, fresh blueberry muffins, and more. Overall, we had an extraordinary stay at the Robards Mansion Bed and Breakfast and look forward to staying there again!


Disappointing

1,8 su gennaio 31, 2007

This could be a great B&B and I'm sure they have worked hard on the place but as guests we were not happy. If the innkeeper's are reading this, please allow me some constructive critisism - 1. Don't tell the story of cutting your fingers off and the blood squirting while your guests are eating breakfast. 2. Don't leave leftover used soap and other bathing items for the next guest to use. 3. Show pictures of all the rooms, not just the only one that looks nice. 4. Don't disregard guest's religious or other beliefs and discuss ghosts, demons and exorcisms you've had.

Risposta del proprietario
As there is a legend of many houses in Hannibal being haunted, we did tell them of our experiences and how the house is no longer haunted. Many people want to hear about the ghost that used to be here. In fact, some people come with the idea, they could see it. We do our best to reassure that there is no ghost. Yes, our house was haunted when we bought it. No one has ever complained to us but I do recall the this guest and he was rather squeamish when things such as exorcism were mentioned. When people leave, they almost always shake our hands (or hug) and tell us they appreciate the stories while they were here and no one else has complained. There was an article in the local newspaper about the former occupant "ghost" here which we give them to read if they so desire. We even made an exception to our strict "no pets" rules and allowed them to bring their dogs. This is the only time in over 8 years have we relented on this rule. It took us extra time to clean the rooms after the dogs' visit so we are back to our no pets rule. I was not aware there was left over soap in the bath room but that is certainly something that we will be aware of in the future and make sure it doesn't happen again. Thank you for telling us about that. We do serve a full cooked breakfast each morning, not a continental or bagel and butter type thing. Everyone compliments us on our breakfast as it is more than enough and a wide variety. When people stay more than one day they have a different menu each morning. We serve it on the side board and let each one fill their own plate so they can take only what they like. We feel our rooms are all equally attractive and since it is impossible to really get a picture of an entire room, I doubt that we will change our web site. Our rooms are all large and attractively decorated. We redecorate every year or so no one really sees the same thing twice.


Robards Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $70 - $120
  • Recensioni (59) 4,1
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5732481218
  • Gratuito 1-8882755811
Inizio pagina