Anchuca Historic Mansion & Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia4,2
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
16 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Great place to stay at!

5 su giugno 10, 2011

Actually, I just wanted to stay one night at Anchuca but after all when I saw this lovely palce, I decided to extend my staying up to four nights. Indeed, it was the right decision. Nice located, tremendous rooms, friendly employees and the host, Tom Pharr, was just wonderful. He told me about the history of Anchuca (happy home) and I could use their library and all the things. Moreover, food, breakfast, brunch (on Sunday) or dinner was served in their café/restaurant and it was prepared and cooked by Chris - just go for it and try it out by yourself - absolut delicious, indeed. I am looking forward to visit this place again, next year. Bruno, Switzerland


Beautiful gardens too!

3,8 su maggio 29, 2011

This hotel was on a beautiful, gated lot. Breakfast was wonderful and the service everything a traveler could ask for. The room included a free "tour" of the house which was a great extra. We stayed in the carriage house, though, which had a definite musty smell. (I took a benedril at night.)


Loved Anchuca!

5 su agosto 30, 2010

We booked Anchuca for my parent's 50th anniversary celebration and loved it! We stayed in the main house and my parents stayed in the carriage house. Our rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated. Chris and Tom, the owners, made sure we had everything we needed...even a horse and buggy ride through downtown. The food was outstanding. You must visit Cafe Anchuca, even if just passing through Vicksburg. I bought their cookbook so we could try to recreate our meals at home. For the anniversary party, the cafe catered dinner in the main house dining room and every attention to detail was made. The weekend was so memorable and we all had a wonderful time.


What a low !

1,0 su agosto 23, 2010

When we arrived at the Anchuca we were directed to the room the travel agency had reserved. The room was tiny, the main AC was broken, so they had to put a mobile AC unit as well as an extra fan and we were recommended not to use both the AC and the hair dryer at the same time or the fuse would blow … Of course, we just could not accept this situation and complained to the office. We talked about this to Tom Pharr, and he agreed the room was usually reserved for the short stays (1-2 nights) and was not suited for a longer stay. He proposed us a corporate apartment he owned nearby for the same price and promised us we would have a room in the mansion in less than two days. The corporate aprtment : the floor was stained, there were dustbunnies under the beds. If it was not enough, we soon realized that, if there were two bedrooms, they were equipped with one 54x75 bed in each which is , as we are both tall (6 and 5.6), unsuitable for two persons … For the furnitures, well, we were far from the 1830’s mansion....But we still naively thought it was for a short time and that Tom Pharr would keep his word. Well, he never told us again about an other room, what a surprise … not. During our stay, the floor has never been cleaned, neither even swept, the beds randomly made. As we had to leave early on the 6th, we checked out in the evening on the day before. I gave my credit card to the clerk at the office. First news, I was charged $825 (150/night before taxes) When I asked for a bill, he was unable to provide something more than a “post-it”. Now, enough was enough, and I asked some serious explanation about this mess. The clerk was unable to find any, and so I told him I would be back in the 2 following hours and expected a real bill. Two hours later, we came back at the office, and a real bill was awaiting us, this time for a $135/night before charges.

Risposta del proprietario
We rarely have reviews that warrant a response, but the misinformation in this case could not be ignored. When this guest first stayed with us in 2008, we upgraded him to Aunt Sarah’s Courtyard Suite at the same rate as our lowest priced rooms. We enjoyed having him stay with us, and he enjoyed the stay. Unfortunately, his travel agent booked a different room for the August 2010 trip, our only other room with a king sized bed located in the Carriage House. We suggested that they might be more comfortable in one of our newly renovated corporate apartments, particularly since they had reserved a longer stay and offered it to them for the same price as the room they booked. It came with a nice large living room, full kitchen, washer/dryer, free WIFI, Cable TV, private bath, and 2 bedrooms with a queen sized bed in each. On Tuesday morning, our manager escorted the two guests upstairs in the main house to show them the Master suites that where now available for guests. They indicated that they did not wish to move and said nothing about any problems with the corporate apartment. Likewise, nothing was said about any problems with housekeeping. Our housekeeping attended to this couple everyday of there stay. All of our staff tried very hard to make their stay a pleasant one, but were met with nothing but rudeness. This guest decided to take care of his bill in the middle of a very busy dinner shift. At this late hour there was no B&B receptionist on duty, so one of our café servers ran his credit card for him, not realizing we were discounting the rate for his room. Unfortunately, he stormed out of the reception area, slamming the door behind him and alarming our dinner guests before managment realized any of this was happening. Eventually, he came back and Chris was able to apologize for the mix up and presented him a itemized invoice.


Magnificant .......perfect Southern charm

4,0 su aprile 26, 2010

If you have not been to Anchuca to experience old Southern charm, then you owe yourself the experience. Tom has thought of everything to make your stay memorable and Chris works his magic in the kitchen.....absolutely outstanding. My husband and I go at least once and year and sometimes twice. Along with Tom and Chris, their staff is so helpful and nice. It makes our stay the absolute best. If you don't want to just eat and sleep and drink in the wonderful charm of the home, Tom has a day planned for you. We will always return to Vicksburg and Anchuca and bring as many friends as possible. THERE IS NOTHING LIKE IT........


Little hidden gem is Vicksburg

4,6 su novembre 18, 2009

We have visited many bed and breaksfast inn and Anchuca is exceptional. The cottages along side of the mansion were cozy and charming in decor. The breaksfast was delicious. The inn also has an onsite restaurant which is very convenient. The food and service is wonderful. Definitely plan a return visit to Anchuca and historic Vicksburg.


If you think there is no reason to visit Mississippi---You are wrong

5 su settembre 21, 2009

Anchuca is the true meaning of Southern Hospitality. The owners Tom and Chris and their staff are warm, knowledgable,considerate ,helpful and anxious to please.The facility is magnificant,confortable and welcoming.The restaurant for breakfast and dinner is second to none.My wife and I will return to Mississippi just to stay here again.


The Best in Vicksburg

5 su agosto 18, 2009

We absolutely loved Anchuca. While planning for our trip to Vicksburg, we could not make our mind up on which B&B to stay. Cedar Grove, Four Corners, Anchuca and the others all looked so great on the internet. The reviews were somewhat concerning for some of the B&Bs. It was a big decision and a lot of money so we decided to leave it to fate and go to Vicksburg without a reservation. I Do Not recommend going without any reservation. Our trip was a Tuesday/Wednesday of a none holiday week. We spent time going to several of the B&Bs to find the best one. After looking at the first few, we were concerned. They were not what I had expected after looking at the web pages. We drove to 1st Street to check out those B&Bs. When we walked into Anchuca, I knew it was the one. We were immediately greeted with a sincere, warm, southern greeting by the Aunt of the owner of the house. She was able to get us in for the night. When I asked if we could see the rooms before we reserved, she generously gave us tour of the entire house. The house was well maintained, very clean, and it was remarkably decorated. There were many antiques and artifacts from the time period. We were able to get all three rooms of the main house. I will tell you that as we were finishing the reservation arrangments, someone called and wanted to stay there also. Fate was kind to us. We had full run of all three bedrooms of the entire main house. Chris and Tom(the owners) live next door. The rooms, service, cleanliness and history of the house are all outstanding. You will not be disappointed. The grandparents (65+ yrs) had a great time. The children (9, 13 and 15yrs) all had a wonderful time. The 9yr old said this was the best hotel she ever stayed in.


Wonderful Stay

5 su agosto 14, 2009

Anchuca is the most wonderful B&B. The rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. The food is delicious. I will recommend Anchuca to my family and friends. Thanks for a lovely stay Chris and Tom


THE BEST

5 su febbraio 18, 2009

Absolutely outstanding service, beautiful rooms, fabulous food. The best place I've ever stayed at in over 25 years! The people are wonderful- the whole experience couldn't have been better!


Anchuca

4,0 su gennaio 13, 2009

Our room was beautiful, and all you need if you are going to be out and about. Food was excellent, staff friendly. If you want lots of room, stay in main house.


excellent

4,6 su gennaio 13, 2009

Service, friendliness, and accommodations were excellent. Breakfast was also excellent. We learned a great deal about the area. hosts show their love of the area.


Lovely and restful

5 su gennaio 13, 2009

Quiet, peaceful, tasteful, GOOD food and hospitality!


outstanding hospitality

4,0 su ottobre 24, 2008

extra touches and sincere appreciation of their guests and they show much pride in their home and surroundings.


Love it!

4,6 su ottobre 23, 2008

Loved it! Wonderful place, great people, delicious food, comfortable rooms and atmosphere!


A great anniversary weekend

4,2 su agosto 27, 2008

The outstanding elements of this bed and breakfast are its beautiful setting, grounds, and mansion; the friendly and extra knowledgeable staff, delicious food, and the extra time the staff took to arrange a special visit with another host at a nearby bed and breakfast. Thank you Tom and Chris!


Anchuca Historic Mansion & Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $125 - $210
  • Recensioni (16) 4,4
  • Camere 7
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6016610111
  • Numero di Fax 1-6016610111
  • Gratuito 1-8886860111
Inizio pagina