Devereaux Shields House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
237 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Very Nice Place

5 su aprile 06, 2014

My mother and I stayed at Devereaux Shields for a girls' weekend recently and we loved it! We stayed in the Alice Room, in the cottage down the street from the main house, which turned out to be quite convenient since that's where breakfast is served each morning. The room was very pretty and extremely clean and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and accommodating, as were the ladies who served us breakfast(which was large and delicious!). If you come in town for the Spring Pilgrimage, as we did, Devereaux Shields is perfectly located to access many antebellum homes as well as downtown. I would definitely recommend it, and will stay there again if I return to Natchez!


Visit to Natchez

4,6 su marzo 30, 2014

Our trip down the Natchez Trace from Virginia and staying at the Devereaux Shields House B&B was a great experience! Though our visit was not really long enough we absorbed the ambiance of Natchez with pleasure. Ron & Eleanor were very graciously helped with restaurants, etc. Their staff couldn't have been any nicer and the breakfasts were delicious!


Excellent stay!

5 su marzo 27, 2014

Ron and Eleanor are excellent hosts! Loved our rooms, the service was great and breakfast was wonderful! Hope to return! Natchez is a charming town to explore.


Fabulous House - Wonderful Hosts

5 su marzo 24, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Devereaux Sheilds House and loved it. The house is beautifully decorated. It is fresh, clean and quiet. The rooms are spaceous furnished with antiquie furniture. We loved our upstairs balcony looking out on the adjacent houses. The breakfasts were a delight. The hosts are very friendly but not intrusive. We would definately recommend this B&B if you are going to Natchez.


Excellent Bed and Breakfast in Natchez

4,0 su marzo 20, 2014

We were made to feel very welcome. The welcome "wine" was wonderful and breakfast was also fantastic. Great place to stay would certainly recommend


Perfect home base for touring Natchez

4,8 su marzo 18, 2014

Couple and teenage daughter stayed 3 nights in main house Gallery Suite. Great location for home touring and restaurants, attentive and friendly hosts, beautiful and spacious rooms, very clean, pretty landscaping and cozy backyard. Safe parking off the street. Would love to return.


Fantastic Stay!!!

5 su marzo 15, 2014

My wife and i celebrated our 2nd Anniversary here and got the relaxation and comfort we desired. Ron and Eleanor have a very special thing going.


Outstanding B & B

5 su marzo 03, 2014

Eleanor and Ron were very gracious hosts and the staff was friendly and helpful. The cottage has been expertly renovated, the room was well appointed and breakfast was excellent. This is definitely the place to stay in Natchez.


Very Pleasent Stay

4,6 su febbraio 17, 2014

My wife and I spent a lovely 2 day weekend stay with Ron and Elanor at their very beautfiul home in Natchez. We stayed in the suite with the private veranda and that has to be one of my all time favorite rooms. Just getting to go out every morning and evening and sit out there was worth the trip. The inn keepers are very pleasent and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfastes were good, but walking over to another location one morning for breafast made me pass on it one morning. Despite that, all in all one of the best BnB experiences of my life. Will gladly come back some day and highly recommend.


I was immpressed with the personal attention of the owners and conversation with them.

4,2 su febbraio 09, 2014

Our over night stay and the personal attention given to us by the owners. We only happen upon the B & B by accident forced out of our nomral trip route by the stoms yo futher up North. However, next year we will attempt to work in another night or two at the B&B just so we can take in the attractions of the area.


Great Stay

4,4 su gennaio 23, 2014

We had a great time on our stay. Very relaxing. Hosts were great! They gave us lots of recommendations on things to see and do. Breakfasts were very good as well.


Very pleased

4,4 su gennaio 21, 2014

owners are very nice people, the house is in pretty good shape and rooms are just as advertised. Me and my girlfriend were pretty happy to be there. highly recommended.


Beautiful Cottage!

5 su gennaio 07, 2014

Clara's Cottage was perfect for our trip to Natchez! It has four guest rooms which was perfect for our group of four couples. We had the whole cottage to ourselves. We all really enjoyed sitting out on the front porch together that evening. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Nachez.


Cottages at Devereaux Shields House

4,4 su gennaio 07, 2014

We have an annual trip to Natchez around Christmas, and this place ranked right up there with our favorite places to stay. We stayed in the cottages and had an absolutely great time. The cottages are a few houses down from the main house and has 4 very nice rooms. 2 rooms have 2 beds in them. We had a group of 4 couples that filled up all 4 rooms, so we had the run of the place. It also has a great front porch. The owner was very friendly and was very knowledgeable about Natchez.


Get away.

4,6 su dicembre 31, 2013

Ron and Elanor are great hosts. The rooms are very comfortable and cozy. I would definitely recommend staying at the Devereaux. Thanks you Ron and Eleanor for an awesome time.


A Pleasant Stay

4,8 su dicembre 26, 2013

My sister and I loved staying at the Devereaux Shields House. It was a great experience from the time that the owners, The Frys, greeted us. The room was charming and clean and comfortable. I plan to return with my husband sometime in the future.


Make this home part of your wonderful stay in Natchez

5 su dicembre 22, 2013

The Devereaux Shields House was truly an amazing house with beautiful grounds, excellent hosts, delicious breakfast, and great insights were given on places to eat and visit during our stay in Natchez.


wonderful stay at Devereaux Shields House

5 su dicembre 20, 2013

The hosts were wonderful and our suite had a great balcony where we could enjoy morning coffee. Will definitely visit again when in Natchez. Breakfasts were amazing.


Excellent stay in Natchez

5 su dicembre 15, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Devereaux Shields House. We stayed in Aunt Clara's Cottage which is across the street and down a couple of houses. Both houses were spotless and comfortable. We stayed in the Elmo room - I kept meaning to ask how it got its name, because it's not childlike at all! It's a very large and luxurious room, and the bed was extremely comfy. The house strikes that great compromise of lots of authentic character combined with updated amenities. We also had off-street parking, which was nice. Our hosts were fun to be around, yet gave us plenty of privacy. The location is great - you are close enough to walk downtown, although frankly, there's plenty of parking downtown and the walk is a bit much in cold weather, so we only walked once. On our first night there, we were out and heard someone call our names. It was Ron & Eleanor, leaving a restaurant. They invited us to hop in their car for an impromptu little tour - so nice! Breakfast is usually served at Aunt Clara's Cottage at 8:30. Our breakfasts were delicious - we had something different each day. There's also a fridge stocked with sodas & water, an ice machine, a coffee maker, and candy & nuts out at-the-ready any time of day. We loved Natchez, the antibellum mansion tours are incredible and the riverfront is beautiful. We spent days site-seeing, evenings out at wonderful restaurants, and nights sitting on our front porch with a drink. We highly recommend both the town and this B&B!


Amazing weekend getaway...

5 su dicembre 05, 2013

Staff was very polite, rooms were immaculate, breakfast each morning was a delightful experience... Would highly recommend the Devereaux Shields House to anyone staying in Natchez!


Very enjoyable stay

4,0 su dicembre 05, 2013

Ron and Eleanor were very helpful with recommending great dining places and getting us reservations at our selected restaurants. They also had great recommendations for houses to tour. Delightful people. Rooms were spacious in the Cottage and the breakfasts were unique and excellent.


Devereaux Shields House

2,8 su novembre 27, 2013

The house was nice and the room was clean. The owners are very regimented about check-in time, and the process of arranging a late check-in was not as easy as it should have been. In addition, I found the proprietors to have an odd affect to be owners of a bed and breakfast. They were not rude, but also were not overly friendly. Finally, breakfast is a formal sit-down with everyone staying in the house. If you are looking for even a semi-private getaway with your significant other, this is not the place for you.

Risposta del proprietario
Since opening our Devereaux Shields House B&B we have put our heart, soul and hard work into developing an environment that fosters a really great guest experience. Such an experience does, however, require guests with an open spirit, an appreciative heart and a welcoming attitude. It seems these guests came with baggage that was better left at home. We have received untold numbers of letters, emails and reviews from our guests thanking us for our friendly & welcoming spirit, be it early or late, our satisfying private getaways and our wonderful breakfasts be they together in our dining rooms or upon special requests privately in our gardens or on our porches. We do apologize if these guests didn’t receive the experience they desired, as we certainly do try to be all things to all people.


Perfect place in historical Natchez to stay

4,8 su novembre 24, 2013

My husband and I came to Natchez for the first time on our honeymoon. The Devereaux Shields home exceeded our expectations. Beautiful place and breakfast was fabulous! Will be back!


Wonderful stay at Natchez

4,6 su novembre 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Natchez with Ron and Elenore who made our stay in this beautiful town very pleasant. we can only recommend this B&B and will certainly stay there should we return to Natchez.


First B&B experience

5 su novembre 17, 2013

First time for my husband and I to stay at a B&B. We enjoyed it very much! The owners and staff were very nice. The room was great. The house was beautifully decorated. We would definitly stay here agian! The Smiths


A Slice of Heaven in Natchez

5 su novembre 06, 2013

I love the old South and the Southern hospitality. A stay at the Devereaux Shields House makes you feel like you've been transported back into time. It's a slice of heaven in Natchez. Ron & Eleanor go beyond the expectations of most B&B's by making you feel like you just arrived at your own home. Ron called to make our dinner reservations at a wonderful, quaint, local restaurant and also arranged for a carriage ride/tour of the city. Although, our time wasn't long enough in Natchez, Larry & I enjoyed our visit so much that we have recommend their home to friends and we plan to stay there again on our next trip through Natchez.


West visits South

5 su novembre 06, 2013

We stayed at Devereaux-Shields house late October through early November. We stayed in the Gallery Suite. The rooms were beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our hosts Ron and Eleanor Fry knocked themselves out to make sure we had everything we needed at all times. Their hospitality far exceeded our expectations. We would highly recommend the Devereaux-Shields house to anyone who is planning a trip to the Natchez area!


Charming and comfortable

5 su novembre 05, 2013

We felt very at home on our stay at Devereaux Sheilds. The owners Ron and Eleanor were more than accommodating as was their small staff. The homes are beautifully taken care of and decorated. Even the breakfast served was far beyond my expectations. We have stayed at other places in Natchez and will choose to stay at Devereaux in the future.


Top Inn in Natchez

5 su ottobre 30, 2013

This B&B was the best of the three B&B's we stayed in. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we had our own bath. Breakfast was very good, the best French toast I have had.


Birthday Getaway

5 su ottobre 18, 2013

This B&B made you feel like home. The hospitality of Ron and Eleanor was wonderful. My husband and I plan on a return visit in future.


Charming and lovely

4,6 su ottobre 02, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and almost everything was wonderful. The ONLY problem was the bed in the smaller room of the Gallery Suite is a beast. It really has to be the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. The king bed in the larger room is most comfy no one will get a good nights rest in the smaller room. That's a real shame.

Risposta del proprietario
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your kind review in all but for our antique double bed mattress in the 2nd bedroom of the Gallery Suite. While this mattress is firm, we have not had any expressions of displeasure about the bed from previous guests. However since we do aim to please, we replaced the mattress as of Oct 9 with the same quality in the King Bedroom of the suite. Ya'll come back, bring this to our attention and we'll treat you to a southern lagniappe.


Charming and Relaxing B&B

5 su settembre 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for our one night in Natchez. Doris, our hostess for the stay, was gracious and helpful with directions for around town. Delicious breakfast. Glad we chose this B&B for our stay and would recommend.


Third time around

5 su settembre 19, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time. This is our third time around. Our host are nice people. We will be coming back again soon.


It was great!

5 su settembre 19, 2013

Had a great time. Can't get any better than that Would ask you check the small lamp on table by window for shortage in Room 6


Just what we were looking for

4,2 su settembre 13, 2013

Ron and Eleanor were amazing. Very personable and attentive to making our stay the best it could be. We stayed in the Victoria room at Aunt Clara's cottage. Cottage had great character and charm. Beautiful wood floors and was decorated nicely. Breakfast was great, servers were very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.


Charming B & B

5 su settembre 12, 2013

The hosts and all of the help were very much service oriented and gracious. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. The food was excellent and everything in the rooms appeared to be spotlessly clean as well as comfortable.


Nice bed and breakfast

2,8 su agosto 22, 2013

Food facilities, with some room for improvements: - very small bathroom, shower did not work - one of our rooms could not be locked, luckily we did not have to share our floor - dinner reservations were agreed but when we arrived at the restaurant, no reservation was made

Risposta del proprietario
It is disappointing to us that on rare occasions we are unable to connect with some guests to properly determine their needs, which is so essential to insuring a pleasing B&B experience. We apologize if these guests did not enjoy our usual fine Natchez experience and we would be willing to offer them a Southern Lagniappe on a return visit. However, had the guests brought any of these issues to our attention at the time, we could have easily addressed them. The food comment is unclear to us. We generally serve breakfast in the dining room that is of the greatest comfort and convenience to most of our guests, which often has some guests walking a few steps to breakfast. Our breakfast experience takes place in beautiful décor and includes fresh flowers, soothing music, a starter of fresh fruits and biscuits, or scones, an egg-du jour entre, cheese grits or potatoes, meat du jour, and choice of juices, coffee or tea. Eleanor is a certified/approved ServSafe Food Safety Handler. We always inquire with guests as to any special breakfast health needs or preferences. While we take all reasonable steps to provide a wonderful breakfast experience, we cannot take total responsibility for the underdeveloped palates of younger guests. Eleanor’s breakfasts have a wonderful reputation. These guests enjoyed one of our luxurious 2-room suites, which we often think of for ourselves. Victorian homes often have space compromises that we feel add to their appeal. We do have another 2-room suite with a more spacious bath. The shower does most certainly work, but the old shower does require a pull-turn operation to activate. A separate key for the second bedroom was available. We apologize that these guests felt inconvenienced at dinner. However, dining early at 5pm at Magnolia Grill rarely meets with disappointment.


Short and sweet

5 su agosto 12, 2013

Brilliant place. Lovely hosts. 1 night was too short. Would greatly recommend.


Charming cottage, nice price

3,6 su agosto 03, 2013

We enjoyed relaxing on the porch in the evenings. The breakfasts were delicious but a little small on the portions. We ate at the Magnolia Grill at Eleanor's suggestion and were very pleased. It was a very nice first time B&B experience.


Outstanding

5 su luglio 31, 2013

We went to Natchez after winning tickets to the Food and Wine Festival and were fortunate enough to get the last room available at Devereaux Shields House. The room was immaculate and the bed so comfortable. The service was superb and the food so delicious. We will definitely stay there again.


The Cottage in Natchez, MS

4,4 su luglio 30, 2013

The hospitality of Ron and Eleanor was outstanding. The Cottage was beautiful and it was so pleasant sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine and talking to the other guests. Eleanor even went above and beyond to make us reservations at a local restaurant right along the mighty Mississippi!


Enjoyable Relaxing Atmosphere

3,4 su luglio 28, 2013

We stayed one night in the Louise room in Aunt Clara's Cottage. It was a very nice relaxing stay. Quiet, beautiful neighborhood. Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience.


My mom first B&B!

5 su luglio 27, 2013

We had a great time! Mom was very happy and pleased! We fell in love with Ron & Eleanor! They made our stay great! We will go back real soon!


Devereaux Shields July 2013 Stay

5 su luglio 20, 2013

Great hospitality from Eleanor! We will definitely be back.


Clean B & B

3,6 su luglio 18, 2013

The room was large and clean. The bath also was adequate. Service was prompt. Ron was available as a resource person a good share of the time.


Beautiful B&B

5 su luglio 15, 2013

My husband and I had a delightful stay at the Devereaux Shields House. Our hosts were pleasant and unobtrusive. We really enjoyed sitting on the porch rocking away the evening. Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. After our experience we have decided that we might like to own a B&B ourselves one day. The only thing I would have liked is flavored creamer for my coffee!


Great Stay in Natchez

4,8 su luglio 09, 2013

Had a very enjoyable, relaxing stay at this B&B in Natchez. Wonderful host & hostess. Beds in "Alice's Room" were comfortable & breakfast was delicious as we shared it with a nice family also staying there. Good food also at Magnolia Grill, alongside the "Mighty Mississippi." We took our time to shop, tour antebellum homes and Natchez National Cemetery. All in all a very good stay in Natchez! Visitors from Texas


lovely cottage

3,2 su giugno 27, 2013

Eleanor took the time to suggest a nice restaurant for us to celebrate my 59th birthday. She also made reservations which was very helpful. Ron & Eleanor also came by while we were having breakfast to visit & inquire about our evening. I really loved all the flowers & nice sitting area on the porch of Aunt Clara's cottage...it was very welcoming.


Week night stay on the road to Memphis

4,2 su giugno 18, 2013

Had a great one night stay with my wife and 22 year old daughter who enjoyed the privacy of the adjacent sleeping quarters in the Rose suite. Breakfast was only average, but what you would expect on a weekday morning, breakfast casserole and egg grits.


Natchez Getaway

4,8 su giugno 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The room was beautiful. Ron and Eleanor were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We will definitely stay there again.


Lovely B&B; charming innkeepers.

4,6 su giugno 02, 2013

Natchez was an unplanned stop on a month-long road trip through the south and turned out to be a very nice 'accident'. The town is quite interesting with many lovely old homes, and the Devereaux Shield House a very comfortable, welcoming lace to stay.


Great B&B

5 su maggio 30, 2013

Fantastic bed and great location. Breakfast and service was superb.


Excellent Service!

5 su maggio 30, 2013

If you want to be treated like royalty, then Devereaux Shields House is the place to go. My husband and I were so pampered we did not want to leave! The rooms were lovely and the food was the best! Ron and Eleanor treated us like Kings and Queens. We are already planning our next trip back. Thanks, Ron & Eleanor for everything!


Comfortable rooms, fabulous common areas and delicious breakfasts.

4,8 su maggio 26, 2013

Our stay at Devereaux Shields was great. We booked the Louise room and found it to be comfortable, spacious and inviting. The common areas were wonderful. The owners are helpful and offer to make reservations for you at the area restaurants. The minor drawback in the parking (single driveway) but that is easily worked out over breakfast with the other guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!


An Oasis in Natchez

4,4 su maggio 22, 2013

Devereaux Shields is located on a leafy, quiet street and is a cool oasis for gentile living in a town struggling to revitalize itself. The house is full of antiques collected by the Frys and feels authentic and comfortable. We were welcomed by Eleanor who quickly made us feel at home. We later met Ron who is the perfect B&B host as he is a good conversationalist, knows the area, and is interested in his guests. Breakfast is a solid start to the day with one specialty such as the strata or french toast we enjoyed at our two meals. Highly recommend Devereaux Shields.


5 Star B & B

5 su maggio 21, 2013

The Deveraux House exceeded our expectations in all categories. We stayed in Aunt Clara's Cottage. The room was even better then in the pictures on the web site. The staff provide excellent service and go about their business unobtrusively and professionally. The two breakfasts that we enjoyed at the Deveraux House were excellent. Not only do I highly recommend the Deveraux Shields House, I hope to make another trip to Natchez just to stay at this B&B.


What a Great Way to Spend a Weekend...or Longer

5 su maggio 15, 2013

Our stay at Devereaux Shields House was wonderful and we would highly reccommend it to anyone interested in exploring the Natchez, Mississippi area. Ron and Eleanor truly bend over backwards to make sure that your stay in their lovely antique filled home is perfect.


Great Place to stay in Natchez!

4,8 su maggio 11, 2013

Nice room, wonderful hospitality, delicious breakfast and lovely grounds - a great place to stay in Natchez


Absolutely beautiful

5 su maggio 10, 2013

Wonderful house Excellent innkeepers


Beautiful place to stay.

4,4 su maggio 10, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and informed of local area. Extremely comfortable. Fantastic breakfast. Superb hosts. Thank you.


True southern comfort

5 su maggio 10, 2013

A great B&B with an unique beautiful guesthouse. Very nice hospitality


May 3 2013

5 su maggio 09, 2013

My wife and I frequent Natchez, MS because we love this city. We were married a year and a half ago and one of our first day trips was to Natchez. There is so much history and the Antebellum Mansions take you back in time. After we were married we began staying a different BB's in Natchez for weekend trips. Our first stay at The Devereaux Shields House was the weekend of May 3rd. This BB is so amazing. We stayed in the Gallery Suite which to our surprised, when we arrived, had a private balcony overlooking the quiet street below. The bedrooms were 2 and very spacious and comfortable. The private bath was nice also. One thing my wife and I appreciated the most was we were told we had complete access to the downstairs parlor and living room. There was only one other couple that stayed in the main house and we hardly ever saw them. The gardens, front and back, were peaceful and so inviting for relaxation. There were large fountains in front and back that made relaxation even more enjoyable. Ron and Eleanor made our stay comfortable and offered several suggestions for diner at local cafe's, which we took their advice and did not regret it! My wife and I mentioned several times during the weekend, this was the best BB in Natchez we have ever stayed in.


Wonderful stay

5 su maggio 09, 2013

My wife and i spent two nights in Aunt Clara's cottage, and enjoyed relaxing on the Antebellum porch surrounded by other Victorian homes remodeled to their previous splendor. The rooms were very comfortable, and the breakfast was delightful. Ron & Eleanor were perfect hosts, and the staff were delightfully helpful. We drove to the Vicksburg battle grounds, but wish we had stayed another day to visit the historic town.


Staying in Natchez

4,4 su aprile 27, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at this B&B which was extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the owners were extremely helpful with advice on local attractions and restaurants. I would highly recommend a stay here.


A bit of peace before hitting New Orleans

4,2 su aprile 23, 2013

A lovely bed and breakfast...exceptionally clean and welcoming.would highly recommend to any one looking for some peace and quite


Aunt Clara,s Cottage

4,8 su aprile 16, 2013

Perfect weather and perfect accommodations . Our stay in Natchez was wonderful and inn keepers Ron and Eleanor helped to make it all happen. Will return and bring friends to share the fun. Tom And Katherine Long Valley, NJ


Beautiful stay in a lovely city.

4,6 su aprile 15, 2013

We arrived and were greeted by our host Eleanor. She showed us around and then offered us a refreshment, which we drank while sitting on the front porch. We had planned on staying only one night but asked if a room was available for another night. We moved across the hall after breakfast. By the way, breakfast was outstanding!! Our 1st choice room was larger and nicer than the second night. We didn't mind since they fit us in.


Outstanding stay

5 su aprile 07, 2013

We stayed at Aunt Clara's cottage, a few houses down from the main Deveraux Shields house. Elinor & Ron made us feel welcome, walked us down to our room, made reservations for us for dinner and truly made us feel comofrtable. The room was spacious and had everyhting we needed. Breakfast was scrumptious & price very reasonable. If we are ever in the area again, we most definitely will return.


Three night stay during Spring Pilgrimage

4,4 su aprile 06, 2013

The room we were assigned was larger than expected. The furniture was comfortable. The neighborhood was very quiet. Breakfast was always served at 8:30 and was delicious.


A perfect B&B

4,2 su aprile 02, 2013

A friendly welcome, a nice environment, well situated, a confortable room, an excellent breakfast, everything you need at a reasonable price.The place to stay when you visit Natchez,MS.


Beautiful property in the heart of Natchez

4,8 su marzo 29, 2013

We loved our stay at Aunt Clara's Cottage - sweet little place - very comfortable accomodations. Ron and Eleanor were very gracious. I think my favorite part was waking up to the view of The Burn next door out my window. Breakfast was good, but not the best meal of our trip. I would highly recommend Biscuits and Blues for lunch or dinner - Eleanor had suggested it, and it was wonderful!


The Perfect Place To Stay

5 su marzo 27, 2013

The accomodations were beautiful and comfortable. Ron and Eleanor have created an oasis in their gardens and in their home and were the perfect hosts! Breakfast was amazing - unique and extraordinary recipes that were delicious. I left with a renewed spirit and a profound sense of peace. I will be back!


Lovely Inn

4,8 su marzo 24, 2013

Our room was spacious and well appointed. We had a nice breakfast the next morning and met lively charming people who gave us some good travel tips about sites to see. They particularly recommended visiting Longwood and we agree.


Wonderful weekend getaway

5 su marzo 15, 2013

Deveraux Shields house was a very comfortable place to stay while visiting the history Natchez is known for. Ron and Eleanor were very friendly and helpful during our stay. The room were very unique, nice to have to two joining rooms. We had a wonderful stay there and planning to return next year.


Delightful

5 su marzo 13, 2013

Devereaux Shields is full of Southern Hospitality and charm. The Breakfasts were wonderful. Our room was clean, and the sheets were luscious. Highly recommend.


Thank you for your hospitality

5 su marzo 11, 2013

We enjoyed meeting both Ron and Eleanor and visiting on the veranda. Devereaux Shields House and Aunt Clara's Cottage are so unique, comfortable and very well maintained. The breakfast was "to die for" and we found your staff to be pleasant and accommodating. We would definitely shoot for a return visit sometime in October and wish to say, "Thank Ya'll" again for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay! Ratings: Outstandings across the board. Your Louisiana neighbors, March, 2013


Ahhhhhhh!

5 su marzo 07, 2013

Wonderful girlfriends getaway. Extremely clean & inviting. Breakfast was superb also.


Natchez Weekend Getaway

4,2 su marzo 02, 2013

Lovely accommodations and lots of help planning our days, Great recommendations and don't miss a stop at the Visitor's Center,


Stands out in a town full of B&Bs - and Petfriendly!

4,6 su febbraio 14, 2013

I stayed in this host's petfriendly cottage near the main Devereaux Shields House. The neighborhood is outstanding -- no need for a car -- great for dogwalking -- part of the historic district near the beautiful Mississippi River bluff -- antebellum mansions on every block. Lovely, extremely comfortable room with nice seating area. Nice front porch and back patio area. Friendly and helpful hosts. I would love to return.


Birthday Getaway

5 su febbraio 13, 2013

We stayed at the Devereaux Shields House as a getaway for my husband's birthday in January. Ron was such gracious host!!(Eleanor was visiting family) Our room in the mainhouse was beautiful! We were welcomed as if we were family and hope to return again.


Feb 2013 visit to Natchez.

4,4 su febbraio 04, 2013

My wife Susie and I stayed with Ron and Eleanor at Clara's cottage, part of the Devereaux Shields house Bed and Breakfast. We both truly enjoyed our visit and would not hesitate to stay with them on our next visit. We were treated like family by both Ron and Eleanor, as well as the other guests staying at Clara's Cottage. We found the location to be convenient to old town area and all points of interest. We will recommend our friends and relatives stay with Ron and Eleanor on their visits to Natchez. Oh, one more thing…. Our Schnauzer Rascal was also very well treated which made our stay that much more enjoyable.


Warm and Welcoming

4,8 su gennaio 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Victoria Room in Aunt Clara's Cottage, Devereaux-Shields House just before Christmas. We loved the room! I have mobility issues so having a main floor rm was a bonus. The bed was so comfortable and the room was lovely. Eleanor is a wonderful cook so we were treated to fantastic breakfasts as well as her yummy cookies. Ron is a charming host and gave us lots of history, not only about the house, but also Natchez.


Great B & B!

4,6 su gennaio 09, 2013

We spent only one night here but it was a beautiful house and the host Ron was incredibly gracious and helpful. It was a little more expensive than what I normally spend on hotel stays, but for B&B's in the area I think it is well priced and definitely a treat!


Two fabulous evenings in Natchez!

5 su gennaio 04, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay. The bed & breakfast was outstanding in every way and the hospitality was wonderful. The hosts were great people, very knowledgeable about Natchez and gave us good directions to places and events in the area as well as good restaurants. We definitely look forward to staying there again in the future.


First Stay at a Bed and Breakfast

4,6 su gennaio 02, 2013

This was our first stay in a bed and breakfast. We didn't know exactly what to expect but were pleasantly surprised by not only the hospitality of the inn keepers but also the amount of privacy we had. Perks of the room were a private balcony, the softest sheets I've ever slept on in my life, and a delicious breakfast. We did not spend time outside at the house, but there is a beautiful garden area outside with plenty of seating that would be wonderful for unwinding! A very nice place to stay.


Christmas 2012 in Natchez

5 su dicembre 29, 2012

Wonderful hospitality in warm, lovely surroundings. "Gourmet" breakfasts enjoyed with good company and conversations with other guests. Pleasantly surprised and will definitely repeat. Arlene & Kathleen Christmas 2012


Wonderful Historic Experience!!

4,8 su dicembre 21, 2012

Beautiful home and neighborhood in a historic area. We found the whole experience to be quite peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast was 10 out of 10 too! I would recommend this B&B to anyone!


Outstanding!

3,8 su dicembre 06, 2012

I took my parents to here and they really enjoyed the stay. We stayed in suite rooms and both rooms are maginificent.


Excellent B&B in Natchez

5 su dicembre 04, 2012

Lovely period home with antiques and gardens. Loved our room (Gallery Room) with the balcony. Ron and Eleanor are genuinely nice and will make you feel right at home. Eleanor's French Toast is amazing. What a wonderful treat.


Wonderful B&B Experience

4,6 su novembre 19, 2012

The proprietors, Ron & Eleanor eagerly greeted us as we arrived. Ron gave us a tour and brief history on the house and the surrounding area. The house is beautifully decorated in period furnishings. The Rose Room was very comfortable. Ron gave us dinner recommendations which were very much appreciated. The next morning a deliciou breakfast prepared by Eleanor was served by two gracious ladies in the cottage down the street. We especially appreciate their generosity in offering the rooms at no charge for veterans on Veteran's Day.


Lovely stay at the Devereaux Shields

5 su novembre 18, 2012

We actually stayed at the cottage that is right across the way from the Devereaux Shields main house. It was beyond lovely. A huge bedroom and a truly comfortable and charming room. Loved all the electric candle lighting in the windows. Very convenient to walking to the river and into the downtown area. We were provided with a wonderful breakfast the next morning. The owners are personable and run a great establishment. Will definitely stay here again if we get back to Natchez.


Excellent place to stay!

4,6 su novembre 11, 2012

We had a great time and enjoyed every aspect. Highly recommend!!


Wonderful Experience!!!

5 su novembre 09, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Service was top notch. Breakfast both days were fabulous. Eleanor accomodated my dietary requests beautifully and even gave me a new recipe that I can't wait to try out. We would definately stay here again and again. Thank you Eleanor and Ron for a wonderful experience.


Girls Getaway

5 su ottobre 30, 2012

This is our second year to stay at Aunt Clara's Cottage and we love it, couldn't be more pleased. The hosts are wonderful and the food is fantastic, we always leave with recipes in hand. We can't wait to return next October!!


Devereaux Shields House/Aunt Clara's Cottage

5 su ottobre 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Aunt Clara's Cottage. The inn keepers went out of their way to make us feel at home.


Restful, relaxing

5 su ottobre 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Our rooms were large and beds comfortable. Ron and Eleanor were very helpful with dining suggestions, even making reservations for us. Each morning we received a wonderful breakfast. Mary Ann Stumpe


Enjoyed the 18th Century feel!

3,2 su ottobre 17, 2012

We stayed in the Gallery Room with a turreted sitting area and long private second-floor balcony. The weather was perfect, so every morning for two hours in our provided robes we had coffee on the balcony after waking. The entry, parlor and staircase decor and furnishings transports one back a century. Our king bed was comfortable and the ceiling fan and AC kept the room at our perfect temperature. Being there on Saturday night, the hosts prepared a Sangria and appetizer spread for happy hour for all guests in the lovely garden with water features. Our weekend in October was perfect and we recommend the Devereaux-Shields House for everyone wanting to sleep in a bit of history.


Cottage Stay

4,8 su ottobre 17, 2012

We stayed at the Cottage down the street from the main house. The cottage was wonderful, with a private bath, also a wonderful porch to have a coffee on in the evening. Would highly recommend it to anyone. Natchez is a wonderful little town as well.


Comfort and Charm

5 su ottobre 16, 2012

Our stay at the Devereaux Shields B&B in Natchez couldn't have been better. Eleanor and Ron were gracious and so helpful. We would definitely stay there again and are recommending it to our friends.


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

4,4 su ottobre 05, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 20 year anniversary and I must say it was a great choice. The house house is beautiful, the owners are very down to earth, kind interesting people and made us feel very comfortable for the whole stay. The rooms were nice but a tad bit on the warm side for me as I like to sleep with the air on 65 but that is personal preference. The food was fantastic and the company was more than enjoyable. Very clean and well kept. I would recommend this B&B to any and everyone I know. If you are planning a trip to Natchez, this is without a doubt, the place to stay.


Great Hospitality

4,0 su settembre 27, 2012

The Innkeeprs' hospitality was great, and Ron's knowledge of the area was fantastic. These enhanced our stay at the Devereaux Shields House and our visit to Natchez.


Elegant and refined.

5 su settembre 21, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a nicer stay in Natchez. Room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfasts were superb. Do not fail to ask for Ron's special model railroad tour--you'll be amazed!


Wonderful people, beautiful B&B

5 su settembre 08, 2012

Licated near the Mississippiha Rive, we enjoyed our stay...made our stay in Nat hex special.


Very helpful innkeepers

4,6 su agosto 28, 2012

This was our first time to Natchez. My wife and I enjoyed chatting with the owners and Don went out of his way to get us reservations for dinner at the Magnolia Grill, with a wonderful view of the Mississippi. We would highly recommend Devereaux Shields.


Just Wonderful

4,4 su agosto 24, 2012

The stay was wonderful. Ron and Eleanor was very nice and has a lovely lovely place. Would not want to stay anywhere else.


Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

5 su agosto 17, 2012

Beautiful house and location. Proprietors could not have been more gracious. Look forward to returning!


Charming B&B

4,8 su agosto 07, 2012

We celebrated our 43 anniversary in Natchez. Enjoyed a few days of restful antique shopping, admiring the antebellum homes, and wonderful view of the Mississippi River. Devereaux Shields B & B was a charming and restful place to relax for a few days. The host really took good care of us and I would recommend Devereaux Shields as a wonderful get-a-way!


Devereaux Shields House

4,6 su agosto 03, 2012

Great stay, and had a blast until my truck would not start due to elec problem. Mr Fry came and helped out as much as he could. Would recommend the Deveraux Home


Natchez B&B

5 su agosto 02, 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic time in Natchez and loved the B&B. We loved the little touches like a cold drink as soon as we got there and wine outside our room that night.


DK

4,4 su agosto 02, 2012

This place is absolutely charmingand perfectly located, and it has everything you expect of Southern hospitality. Yoy feel at home straight away.


The Rose Room

5 su luglio 24, 2012

My first but not last bed & breakfast. It felt like staying with a long lost relative. Very welcoming, and Mrs. Fry even shared a recipe for the delicious peach french toast. Enjoyed the warmth and comfort of staying in a well loved home.


Enjoyable stay in Natchez

4,4 su luglio 16, 2012

Beautiful rooms and awesome owners. Would encourage more electrical outlets for C-pap machines, heating pads and fan. I will definately recommend this to others and hopefully will revisit in the very near future. Thank you Eleanor and Ron.


3 Alices in the Alice room

5 su luglio 16, 2012

Beautifully decorated. Had the opportunity to view all the rooms and they were all spectacular. Hosts Ron and Eleanor are friendly and were helpful with guiding us to the type attractions and restaurant we wanted. Breakfast was amazing and staff ead polite and friendly. The three in my party enjoyed our stay and will recommend it to all our friends and family!


Would stay here again....

4,0 su luglio 15, 2012

The Fry's were gracious host. The B&B was located within walking distance of downtown Natchez. Would recommend all to stay here.


Very nice and peaceful

4,4 su luglio 13, 2012

My mother and I stayed in the Rose Suite, which has two very large bedrooms separated by a bath. The beds were very comfortable and the space was nice and quiet, and the furnishings were beautiful. It was also nice having a TV in each room, so we could hang out alone or separately. We walked down the street to the cottage for breakfast, and it was nice to meet the other guests. The owners were very helpful in suggesting things to do and places to eat. The only thing I would have liked was a desk or table where we could sit to use the computer or play games. I only wish it had been cool enough to spend some time in the beautiful yard.


Aunt Clara's Cottage - Louise Room

4,4 su luglio 11, 2012

Our first trip to Natchez, Southern Charm and Hospitality at its Finest! Enjoyed Natchez with its rich history and beautiful turn of the century homes. Ron and Eleanor were very gracious and warm hosts! John Ramer, Janis Durbin Denham Springs, LA


Devereaux Shields

5 su luglio 02, 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and met the wonderful owners of this beautiful B&B. From the very beginning it felt as though we had known Ron and Eleanor all of our life. I would highly recommend this place!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Jeff, Cyndi, Jackson and Noah


A Best Bed and Breakfast

5 su giugno 30, 2012

Ron and Eleanor helped make our first visit to Natchez a wonderful experience. They spent as much time with their guests as needed to answer all their questions. Dining room appointments awesome.


An antebellum vacation

4,8 su giugno 27, 2012

Ron & Eleanor Fry are terrific hosts who run a wonderful bed and breakfast. The accomodations they provide in Natchez are outstanding in every respect. Ron made great recommendations for dinner and even made the reservations. The breakfasts were unique with a taste of the South and very tasty. My wife and I strongly recommend this B&B.


Devereaux Shields House, Natchez Mississippi

5 su giugno 26, 2012

We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before, but it was really fun. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. It was wonderful to have a private bathroom. The breakfast was very good and the host made us feel very welcome. We really enjoyed meeting and visiting with the other guest at breakfast. This will not be the last time we stay in a B&B.


Fantastic B&B

5 su giugno 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Devereaux Shields House and it was wonderful! The rooms were fantastic, the breakfast was great, and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine. I would definitely go again!


Loved Aunt Clara's Cottage!

4,2 su giugno 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Aunt Clara's Cottage part of this B&B. The Victoria Room was perfect for us and we would stay there again if we travel to or through Natchez. Our first B&B experience and we were pleasantly surprised by the privacy of the room and the building in general. The breakfasts were great and we enjoyed the other guests. My wife really enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the comfy chairs with the overhead fan helping with the Natchez June temperatures. The only glitch we had was that housekeeping was not done at all after our first night. Apparently, the room was simply overlooked. Not the norm, I'm sure. But, we would stay there again in the future.


Very nice bed and breakfast.

5 su giugno 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time. Everything was outstanding. Roy and Linda Pontiff from New Iberia, Louisiana.


pictures don't do this charming B&B justice!

5 su giugno 14, 2012

The pictures on line were beautiful and that was one of the main reasons why we chose this B&B.When we arrived it exceeded our expectations in every way. Ron and Elenor were such gracious hosts,and made our stay very pleasant. Being in The Rose Suite in the big house made us feel like royalty,and in every inch of the beautifully done grounds we found a little romantic spot to sit and relax.The full breakfast was devine........Loved the experience so much that we immediately booked the same rooms for our Oct. stay!


A nice stay after a punishing ride

4,2 su giugno 03, 2012

I'm currently training for a 100 mile "century" bicycle ride. After completing a 61 mile ride down the Natchez Trace it was refreshing to go to what seemed more like my grandmother's house than a cold and impersonal motel room. Ron & Elenor go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and a part of their extended family. I will certainly make plans to stay there again on my next trip o Natchez.


Our Grand Stay at Devereaux Shields House

5 su giugno 03, 2012

The gracious innkeepers Ron and Eleanor Fry made our visit so very welcoming. Traveling with my husband, sister and brother in-law we so enjoyed the beautiful home. An evening on the front porch with wine was like another time from the past. The grounds and neighboring homes on the block made for a perfect evening walk. The breakfast at Aunt Clara's Cottage was delicious. Thank you ever so much, Betty, Terry, Jane & John


Devereaux Shields

5 su maggio 31, 2012

I can't say enough about our stay at the Devereaux Shields House in Natchez, MS. Ron and Eleanor went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. This is the best vacation we have ever had and I can't wait to go back. I was there last week, still miss it and think about the breakafast and our room everyday. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who wants to have a good time and feel safe and at home during their vacation. Ernest and Lisa Ladner Bay St. Louis, MS


Charming and relaxing

5 su maggio 31, 2012

The owners were very nice and friendly and gave us good advice on planning our daily outings. The cottage was very homey, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very good. I would definately stay here again.


Alabama Girl

3,2 su maggio 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay and was exceptionally glad to be able to bring along our furry little family member, Butch. Eleanor and Ron were gracious host and very accommodating. The only part of our stay we thought could be improved upon was the breakfast, something more traditional without too much flare; just our preference. We would definetely stay here should we ever return to Natchez.


Great B&B in a great city!

3,8 su maggio 30, 2012

Lovely place to stay for some nights. It was like to have our own little home. Thanks!


Loved This Place

4,8 su maggio 29, 2012

This was our first B & B experience and we loved it. The room was very nice, breakfast was great and we really love the conversation around the breakfast table. We will be going to B & B's in the future!


First time stay at a B&B

4,8 su maggio 21, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Love the intimacy the B&B provides as well as how personable the owners were to try to be sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. And Mrs. Fry even went as far as okaying some of her breakfast plans with us. We will return.


Wonderful weekend in Natchez

4,6 su maggio 19, 2012

We stayed over a weekend in the Elmo room in Aunt Clara's cottage. The room was spacious and clean, and while we could hear occasional vehicle traffic we had no trouble sleeping like babies. Ron and Eleanor were very accommodating, and even Oscar, our schnauzer, enjoyed his stay, which included lounging on the veranda with coffee in the morning, and again in the evening with a cocktail. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Natchez.


A GREAT place to stay

4,8 su maggio 14, 2012

We stayed with the Frys for two days and it was a real joy. It is obvious that they really enjoy having guests at their B&B. Our hosts were available to help us with ice, questions or just company. Truly an old south experience. Natchez has many things to see but the joy of "rocking" on the porch was my favorite part.


Nice place to stay in Natchez

3,4 su maggio 12, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the porch, really enjoyed relaxing there with a cool drink after a day of touring. Also, Ron and Eleanor Fry, the owners, were very friendly spending one evening (about 2 hrs) with us on the porch with lots of interesting and fun conversation. They are very nice folk. I thought the room was a good value.


Natchez

3,4 su aprile 28, 2012

Very pleasant stay. Aunt Claires Cottage had a great porch, but other than that there was no central living room to congregate. The owners were nice, but not the usual B&B people who love to tell stories, etc. Breakfast was simply OK. Rooms are reasonably priced.

Risposta del proprietario
Upon request we do provide guests in Aunt Clara's Cottage a tour of our Devereaux Shields House and do allow guests to enjoy the parlors, gardens and porches in both houses. Further, we all currently improving and upgrading all common areas in both houses to enhance our guest's experiences. We do work hard to provide a wonderful fresh breakfast for all our guests every morning. We are frequently introducing new recipies to this end. We appologize if we did not meet this guest's expectations on one morning's breakfast or common areas might not have been available.


Motorcycling to New Orleans with 6 friends.

4,8 su aprile 23, 2012

Took a week-long trip to New Orleans with 3 other couples on Harley's. The stay at this B&B was one of the highlights of our trip. The owner's are wonderful people and the help was excellent. Beautiful old southern home, well preserved and cared for. We;re going to return to spend a full week-end in Natchez with the highlight being staying in this wonderful B&B.


Very nice B&B would come back again

3,8 su aprile 14, 2012

The B&B was a very nice place to visit and stay. The owners are very nice and inviting. I would go again and again. Only complaint for some was the lack of breakfast. The was my first B&B so I did not know what to expect for breakfast. I would rate it AAA+++. If you go talk to the owner about model RR if you are one as well!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your kind comments. We do ask all guests if they have any health or special needs for breakfast including timing. We are accustomed to accomodating guest's early or late breakfast needs for either airline flight departures or sleeping in. We appologize that it seems you missed one of my wife's wonderful breakfasts for some reason.


accommodating innkeepers!

4,6 su marzo 08, 2012

Innkeepers took wonderful care of us - from restaurant recommendations to picking up a birthday cake to finding rooms at another inn for extra members of our party. Made us feel like "visiting friends"!


A Memorable Experience

5 su marzo 03, 2012

My Brother, his partner and myself spent a night at Aunt Clara's Cottage and it was just the most memorable experience. The owners were friendly, welcoming and helpful. I would recommend it highly to anyone who wants a "step back in time" experience that they will not forget. Definitely worth the long drive from New Orleans. Written by Elise from Leeds, UK.


We absolutely enjoyed our stay! Thanks a lot to Ron and Eleanor!

4,6 su marzo 02, 2012

Great we found it on the web and it is really dog friendly! All the others say they are and then they offer you a kennel! At Devereaux Shields you can bring your dog to the room, at least our small one!


Awesome !!

4,8 su febbraio 25, 2012

Great place to stay in Natchez... Quiet, clean, safe, what more can I say ?


Fun For Kids Too

5 su febbraio 24, 2012

My wife and I were in Natchez for an overnight stay and she wanted to stay at a B&B. Our two boys ages 10 and 6 were with us. Eleanor and Ron were very welcoming of the entire family. The boys had fun playing in the yard of Aunt Clara's cottage, while we enjoyed rocking on the porch. We stayed in the Elmo Room. The stately king size bed was wonderful. The kids slept on a day bed and it's trundle. The room was very large. The breakfast was gourmet for the parents with delicious pancakes for the kids. It was a wonderful visit.


Southern Style Hospitality at Its Best

5 su febbraio 15, 2012

Exciting weekend getaway for a romantic aniversary celebration. Thanks to Ron & Eleanor Fry our gracious host for making our stay a special occasion and one for the memory book.


A Warm and Lovely Place to Stay in Natchez

4,2 su febbraio 13, 2012

Devereaux Shields House is a lovely and comfortable place to stay in Natchez. The proprietors, Eleanor and Ron, are welcoming and full of great information about the area. The location is wonderful within walking distance from the downtown area and many of the historic homes in Natchez. The breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious.


Devereaux Shields

4,8 su dicembre 22, 2011

Ron and Eleanor are excellent hosts and the place is absolutely beautiful. Will definitely return.


Great value and location in a great city!

4,2 su novembre 18, 2011

We were in town for "Angels on the Bluff". Chose Devereaux House for the value and location. We stayed in their cottage just up the street. Ron & Eleanor were very helpful and knowledgable about Natchez. If you are interested in trains, or model railroading..ask Ron for a tour of his developing train layout. It will be incredible when finished. We would absolutely stay there again.


Devereaux Shields a nice stay.

4,0 su novembre 05, 2011

Eleanor and Ron were very nice and helpful. I thought we were staying in the main house, not the cottage. That was a bit of a let-down, but we got over it. Not sure if there's a way to figure that out ahead of time, without calling them. Natchez was very nice, as well.


Had a Fun Time

4,4 su novembre 01, 2011

Stayed in Louise room for two nights. The hospitality of our hosts was outstanding and made our stay very enjoyable. Great atmosphere, location and cleanliness. The other guests were also having a good time and contributed to the experience.


Aunt Clara's Cottage

5 su ottobre 24, 2011

I recently stayed in Aunt Clara's Cottage during a girls weekend get away. It was the best experience we've had at a bed and breakfast and we have stayed in several different ones. The rooms were great, the sheets were fabulous and the hosts couldn't have been better. We have found our place for the trip next year!!!!


Four Ladies that Escaped.

5 su ottobre 22, 2011

There were four of us. We stayed in the Rose room which was two bedrooms connected with a single bathroom. I thought the rooms were charming and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Ron and Eleanor were very welcoming and charming. Their friendly attitudes made us feel welcome and at home immediately. In addition to the lovely home and rooms, our daily breakfasts were awesome. The staff was friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Wonderful experience

4,2 su ottobre 21, 2011

Beautiful home in the heart of Natchez. Very gracious innkeepers respectful of your privacy. Breakfast was great and the best part was meeting another guest who suggested a side trip outside of Lafayette LA that was another highlight of our trip. Highly recommended.


THE BEST

4,0 su ottobre 19, 2011

Stayed in Louis Room, spacious, clean ,comfortable beds. Owners are very friendly and made one feel at ease. Ron was helpful in recommending restaurants and made reservations for us. Enjoyed breakfast and visiting with other guests. Would stay again.


Great Food and Hospitality

4,0 su ottobre 15, 2011

Stayed in the smaller of the two properties operated by Ron and Eleanor Fry. The room was charming and comfortable and very clean. Every need of the guest has been thought out in advance. The food was outstanding and the hosts very gracious. This was my first stay at a B &B. A great introduction. Exceeded my expectations in every respect.


Fall Pilgrimage was great !!

5 su ottobre 09, 2011

This was our second time with Ron & Eleanor at Devereaux Shields House - everything was perfect, again. They both made us feel like we were part of the family, and even made sure that our daughter, who is expecting her first child, had milk, herbal tea and honey with her breakfast. Pilgrimage in Natchez is awesome and Deveraux Shields is the place to stay.


Great Stay!!

5 su settembre 22, 2011

We had a great stay in the Rose Suite. It was very comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. Ron and Eleanor were very hospitable. I would highly recommend!!!


Epitome of Hospitality

4,6 su settembre 14, 2011

Our stay in Aunt Clara's Cottage was so restful and serene! We had a couple of special requests that were immediately addresses in a positive manner! Ron and Eleanor treated us as "royalty". They are very "hands-on" property owners! Our room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was absolutely fabulous! We would highly recommend this property!


Well deserved!

5 su settembre 11, 2011

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at the Devereaux Shields house for our 1st anniversary. It is very difficult to describe how beautiful and wonderful the experience truly was. The house itself is gorgeous and it really is like stepping back in time! Ron and Eleanor were awesome and very friendly....and then there are the breakfasts! Oh my Goodness, incredible is all I can say! I realize that there are many choices in Natchez, but do yourself a favor and don't miss Devereaux Shields!!


wonderful stay

5 su agosto 22, 2011

this is the best b & b that we have stayed. great food and accomoadations. wonderful hosts. thanks to ron and eleanor for a great stay.


Our Anniversary stay

4,0 su agosto 10, 2011

Our stay at Devereaux Shields House B&B was wonderful! Ron and Eleanor made us feel so welcome and right at home. Their place is beautiful and the breakfast was fantastic. Thanks for helping to make our 25th anniversary very special. : )


rating choices exceed my expectations

3,4 su luglio 26, 2011

I've never liked to score or rate anything so the choices made here could be misleading. We enjoyed our stay here. It seems a little over priced for one room for 2 nights but it was very clean and comfy. The breakfast was just ok for us. It was fresh and all but just not what we liked. Our host and hostess were nice and helpful and eager to make our stay enjoyable. It was our first time in a B & B and we may try one again in the future!


First B&B experiece in Natchez MS

5 su luglio 11, 2011

Loved or room Service was phenomenal- Ron and Eleanor were wonderful host and hostess. The group breakfast was an added value experience. Made us feel at home


Great weekend!

5 su luglio 10, 2011

Ron and Eleanor are warm and generous hosts. We spent two wonderful nights at Aunt Clara's Cottage in the Victoria Room. Breakfast each morning was delicious! Ron and Eleanor helped to make our stay in Natchez fun by making suggestions of local homes to visit and providing us with history of the area. They were more than willing to help make arrangements for our daily excursions. They made a point to remember the name of each and every guest staying at both Aunt Clara's Cottage and at Devereaux-Shields House, and making sure that we had everything we needed. We look forward to returning soon to Aunt Clara's Cottage to visit with Ron and Eleanor again.


Great Experience!

5 su giugno 08, 2011

We recently stayed at the Devereaux Shields House and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was perfect, very spacious, clean, comfortable, natural light with just the right touch of a period feel. The owners were very pleasant and accomodating. The breakfast Eleanor prepared each morning was very good, especially the french toast. My husband and I stayed in the Elmo room, only negative is there was no light over the mirror in the bathroom. Not a big deal but since we were preparing for a wedding, a light over the bathroom mirror would have been a great help with putting on makeup. Nonetheless, they provide a stand alone make-up mirror in the room so I just took it to the window and used the abundant natural lighting. Overall, it was a great stay...would definitely return.


just wonderful!

4,4 su giugno 02, 2011

Well, already last year, I was staying at Devereaux Shields House and I really can recommend this place to stay at. Ron and Eleanor are friendly, helpful and her breakfast was always lovely. I am sure, next time visiting the South, I will stay there, again. Bruno, Switzerland


Devereaux Shields House ( Aunt Clara's Cottage)

5 su giugno 01, 2011

Our first time to stay in B&B. VERY Happy with our hosts.


Enjoyable B&B

5 su giugno 01, 2011

Ron and Eleanor are gracious and attentive hosts. They made our stay pleasant and enjoyable and we highly recommend staying there.


Een hele fijne tijd

5 su maggio 27, 2011

We hebben een hoge prijs/kwaliteit verhouding in Deveraux Shields gekregen. Het ontbijt was echt heerlijk!!! We hebben ook in een leuk hoog hemelbed geslapen. Zeker aan te bevelen!!!!


Charming!

5 su maggio 24, 2011

Just spent 3 days over Mothers Day and Eleanor & Ron made it a wonderful experience. Clean, charming rooms! Great location! Beautiful city with good food both dining out and breakfasts in. Highly recommend this fine bed & breakfast!


Our relaxing stay in Natchez

4,0 su maggio 11, 2011

On our recent tour of the Southern States, we stayed in Aunt Clara's Cottage, just down from the main house, in a quiet part of Natchez. It had everything we needed and was conveniently placed for the Historic area. We had the Elmo room which was very clean, beautifully presented, spacious and with a large bathroom. We loved sitting out on the front porch before breakfast and in the evening with a glass of wine before going out for dinner. The breakfasts were excellent including the first decent cup of English tea of our trip. Eleanor was an excellent host, very helpful without being pushy, so much so that when we left, after only 3 nights, we felt we were leaving a friend.


An April Sojourn at Devereaux-Shields.

5 su maggio 10, 2011

Two girlfriends and I were guests in the Rose Suite at this beautiful B & B in historic Natchez MS. The innkeepers were friendly and hospitable, making sure our stay was comfortable. They were available to answer questions and make suggestions for restaurants and sites to visit. The southern breakfasts were hearty and delicious, and Eleanor is very generous with her recipes. We had a wonderful stay and enthusiastically recommend the Devereaux-Shields.


Girls Getaway

4,8 su maggio 05, 2011

What a beautiful B&B! My mom, sister, aunt, cousin, neice and I had a wonderful time at this lovely home. It was truly breathtaking and we especially enjoyed coffee in the beautiful garden outback and the quiet private balcony right off the bedroom. Ron was very informative about the history of the home and the town in general. Eleanor made our dinner reservations for us which was great because we were weary from our 7 hour drive! The breakfast was wonderful and the dining room at Aunt Claras cottage was beautiful and charming! We couldn't have ask for a better place to spend our girls getaway!


Great

4,8 su maggio 04, 2011

Wonderful experience, the host couple were gracious and welcoming


April 2011

5 su aprile 29, 2011

The Devereaux Shields experience has brought us back to Natchez on many occasions over the past few years:husband; children; family; friends. Innkeepers Ron and Eleanor treat us as if we are family. They are happy to assist guests in regard to tickets, reservations, carriage rides, flowers, wine, etc. A very user friendly site allows ease in planning including useful links to Natchez events & activities. The breakfast in Aunt Clara's Cottage dining room allows folks a time to meet while enjoying an appetizing dish.


Getting away from reality with just the girls

5 su aprile 26, 2011

My mom,my aunt, cousin, and myself spent a wonderful three nights in Natchez. Eleanor was so much help from letting us check in late due to HORRIBLE weather on our end to helping us decide what to do while visiting the wonderful city. We had a blast!! Met some great people from as far as Whales, England to the friendly locals. OH and I can't forget the the sheets!!!!!!!!!!!! I could write a book about the wonderful sheets!!! lol. The homes in Natchez are full of history and beauty. We were all glad this was the trip we made. We had not made it out of the city limits before we were planning next years! Terri, JUdy,Doris Ann, and Susie


Highly Recommend!

5 su aprile 25, 2011

Beautiful clean facility and wonderful staff. Innkeeper was very helpful in recommending dining establishments and calling to make our reservations. The breakfasts were delicious and the atmosphere were relaxing. We hope to visit again soon!


first time ever at B&B

5 su aprile 23, 2011

Had always wanted to do the Plantation piligramage in Natchez.Got the chance this past April to do that and stay at our first time B&B.Did that at the Devereaux Sheilds house for three nights.Everything about the place and especially the people/service was super.Had breakfast every morning with chances to meet different people everyday.Coming out of Nebraska during the winter it was great sitting on the front porch in the Old rocking chair and enjoying the Southern hospiltaly.Will do it again next chance i get.Thank you Ron and Eleanor


Sister's weekend

5 su aprile 21, 2011

My three sisters and I spent 4 nights at the Devereaux Shields house. The owner and staff bent over backwards to make our stay pleasant. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets were wonderful! We hope to have a chance to go back!


Natchez Spring Pilgrimage 2011

4,6 su aprile 20, 2011

Devereaux Shields House is an exquisite property. We felt that we were guests in one of the wonderful historic homes of Natchez. But what made the stay even more special was the hospitality and incredible friendliness of our hosts. Plus the breakfast!! Outstanding every day (we were there for 3 mornings). You could not go wrong staying at this excellent home. Additionally, Natchez was an incredibly welcoming place to visit. We were welcomed by people on the street!


The place to stay in Natchez

5 su aprile 18, 2011

We stayed for the second time in Aunt Clara's Cottage, part of the Devereaux Shields bed and breakfast just down the block. The place has so much charm, no stairs to navigate (except the front porch), which is great for when mom comes, and it accepts pets. The rooms are spacious, and the hosts are wonderful. Your every need is attended to. The breakfasts are tasty and plentiful. It is within walking distance of several of the pilgrimmage houses on tour, and it is quiet and has a great porch for reading. We have stayed in many B&Bs in Natchez, some very good, some disappointing. We like Aunt Clara's Cottage the best!


Our 10 year Anniversary stay at Devereaux Shields

5 su aprile 17, 2011

Everything was beautiful and perfect. The online tour does not do justice to the actual home, room, grounds, or the food. This was the perfect place for our 10 year anniversary getaway. I enjoyed the calmness of this B&B. Will definitely return in the future.


a step back in time!!

5 su aprile 12, 2011

a wonderful b/b!! there were four of us and we stayed at devereaux shields house for 2 nights for the spring pilgrimage. the home just set the mood for our trip--it is just gorgeous, comfortable and very very relaxing!!! we will be back!!


Summer Pilgrimage

4,0 su aprile 07, 2011

We stayed in the seperate guest house and had a fantastic time. The hosts were outstanding and provided all of our needs. Their recommendations for dining was perfect.


So Relaxing!

5 su marzo 31, 2011

We enjoyed our stay with Ron and Eleanor so much! We felt as if we'd known them all our lives! The best part was sitting out on the front porch each night with a cup of coffee in hand and chatting with the other visitors at Aunt Clara's Cottage. We met so many nice people! Everything was perfect from the food to the rooms to the nice southern hospitality. We hope to go back and stay with our newfound friends again as soon as we get the chance! Gail from Alabama


Good times at Aunt Clara's Cottage

4,0 su marzo 30, 2011

Enjoyed our 4 night stay at Aunt Clara's Cottage. Good food, helpful hosts, comfortable rooms, close to all the action of Spring Pilgrimage. We walked to two of the houses on the tour. Great place to stay for anyone touring Natchez.


top of the line

4,8 su marzo 29, 2011

everthing about our stay was top of the line room - top of the line service - top of the line breakfast - top of the line hospitality - top of the line friendlyness - top of the line


Great hosts and an excellent value

4,4 su marzo 23, 2011

We reserved the room based on the two-bedroom, four person suite, but found the best feature to be the friendliness and responsiveness of our hosts, Ron and Eleanor. They are a warm and inviting couple who were more than pleased to meet our needs and comfortably share time together.


Relaxing at its finest.

4,6 su marzo 14, 2011

Hosts were the best of the best. Food was outstanding.. We were pampered and made to feel like part of their family. I would not stay anywhere else but here if we ever go back. Absolutely just what we needed. Perfect . Teresa Heilevang


Great Weekend

4,0 su marzo 13, 2011

We had a fantastic, relaxing weekend at Aunt Clara's Cottage. The hospitality was excellent, the room was immaculate, and the breakfast was outstanding. You cannot go wrong if you stay here!! All that and pet friendly too.


Wow.

4,6 su febbraio 24, 2011

It was a small paradise. Even in mid-February, I sat out on the upstairs veranda and felt the soft quiet breeze flow through the trees and down the street. Dim lights glowing in the windows at twilight. I'm not a writer or poet, but this place makes me want to be one. The most pleasant hosts I've ever met. The furnishings made me not care anymore what it would be like to be allowed to sit & sleep on the museum furniture at the Getty Center. I've experienced better now. I felt like I had been welcomed into my grandparents beautiful home again for three days.


Perfection

5 su febbraio 22, 2011

I have never had such outstanding service anywhere. From the moment we walked in the door, Ron and Eleanor new our names and were interested in what brought us to Natchez along with what we wanted to do there. They suggested activities, places to eat, and places we couldn't miss while there. We stayed in the Elmo room in Aunt Clara's Cottage, and it was massive. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Breakfast both mornings was served promptly, and by an amazingly friendly staff. The food was delicious and the stay just couldn't have been better. The extras were also unexpected. There was water and pop in the fridge, snacks out all day, and in the afternoon a jug of sweet tea, perfect for sipping in a rocking chair on the front porch. I cannot wait to go back and stay there. Thank you Ron and Eleanor for making our stay so amazing! Rachel K. Indiana


Can't wait to go back

5 su febbraio 19, 2011

The house is beautiful. Ron and Eleanor are so sweet. We only stayed one night, but I definitely want to go back for a long weekend. Our breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a peaceful and beautiful getaway.


A comfortable place to stay in Natchez

3,8 su febbraio 05, 2011

The owner of the Devereaux Shields House was very accommodating as we had a 8-week-old baby that had to share our 10-year anniversary with us. Because it was mid week and a slower season, we had the whole cottage (Aunt Clara's Cottage) to ourselves! We did not have to worry about our baby disturbing anyone else and we had a wonderful, relaxing get away. The Elmo room was very spacious and accommodating, the private bathroom was modern and clean, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The rooms are tastefully decorated in antiques with some modern convenience (TV, ironing board in closet). My husband slept through the considerable traffic noise (the cottage is on a city corner) so if you're used to "country living quiet" it may be too noisy for you. We did not experience the breakfast normally served in the cottage, but were instead given a pass to eat at a nearby Antebellum home which was a wonderful, unexpected experience! The owner also gave great suggestions for many dining options that were very close and easy to find. Aunt Clara's Cottage is a comfortable and convenient place to stay in downtown Natchez, MS.

Risposta del proprietario
We are so pleased your Natchez Anniversary Getaway was relaxing even with your new baby. We gladly accommodated your request during our slow time as a diversion from our normal child policies. Normally our streets are quiet and peaceful, but soon to be completed infrastructure and street repairs have temporarily diverted traffic. While we do enjoy sharing a total “Bed and Breakfast” experience with our guests, on rare occasions we do offer guests an opportunity to enjoy a wonderful breakfast at the Castle and tour of Dunleith. Some B&Bs do send their guests out on a more regular basis. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back for another getaway for 2.


Absolutely wonderful!

4,2 su gennaio 21, 2011

We had such a romantic one night getaway! Innkeepers were very friendly and helpful but gave us our privacy. Breakfast was delicious! We will definitely be returning!


Pet Friendly

5 su gennaio 19, 2011

The Fry's were exceptionally accommodating even providing an early AM snack since I had to leave before regular breakfast. We selected this B and B because they allowed pets and we and our small dog could not have been more pleased with the accomodations in every way. I have already recommended this location to friends to visit for a most pleasant getaway. Come stay and enjoy!


Everything was wonderful. Ron and Eleanor are wonderful and perfect hosts.

5 su dicembre 31, 2010

Ron and Eleanor had everything ready upon our arrival. The breakfasts they served were outstanding, and the rooms in Aunt Clara's Cottage were perfect. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a wonderful Natchez Getaway. Kathy Schimel


Comfortable stay in the heart of Natchez

3,8 su dicembre 19, 2010

Devereaux Shields B&B is in a delightful corner of Natchez. The gardens were well kept and the appearance and maintenance of the house were in keeping with all the other elegant properties in the area. There were nice additional touches such as a hot drinks dispenser and snacks. The veranda offered a lovely opportunity to sit outside on a sunny day to watch the world go by . Ron, the proprietor, was genuinely warm and friendly with all the local information we needed. We especially appreciated his tips about the Candlelight tour at Stanton Hall and helped us set up visit to a nearby cotton plantation called Frogmore - highly recommended. Breakfast was wonderful with a different menu each of the three days we were there. It was nice to share a table with the other guests and learn about their adventures. We had a wonderful three days in Natchez and thoroughly recommend staying at Devereaux Shields House. Cheryl & Bob Lickiss


GREAT GETAWAY!!!!

4,6 su dicembre 18, 2010

The Devereaux Sheilds B&B was simply the best. It had everything we wanted. Ron and Eleanor were the perfect hosts. We had delicious breakfasts and wonderful conversations each morning. The suggestions they gave us on what to do and where, really helped, and just like the B&B itself, exceded our expectations. The most beautiful antebellum home concentrated in on place I have ever seen. Dinner at the Magnolia Grill was fantastic, lunch at Biscuits and Blues was just like home, and dinner at Breaud's just like any meal at a four star restaurant in New Orleans but with out the suit and tie. Y'ALL SHOULD GO!!!! the Who Dats from Vacherie, LA


A++++

4,0 su dicembre 06, 2010

Thank you Ron and staff for a wonderful get away for my birthday! You made me feel right at home! The food was exquisite! The service was delightful. Ron's personal touch made all the difference- from making reservations to listening and responding to all our needs regarding Natchez. Ron is a train bluff just like me and it was a pleasure to be able to share that. I felt so at home that I even shared my own oil paintings that I happened to have in my car! Returning again would be my pleasure! Linda


A wonderful experience at Aunt Clara's Cottage

5 su novembre 26, 2010

We had a great time and Eleanor was a wonderful cook! I would definitely recommend this to anyone!


Devereaux Shields is a "must-stay" in Natchez

5 su novembre 06, 2010

Located on a quiet street of fine old homes you feel like you've been transported back in time while sitting on the porch of Aunt Clara's Cottage, the sister property to the Devereaux Shields House. We stayed in the Victoria Room, but spent some of our most enjoyable time on the porch. The Victorian properties are beautiful on the outside and furnished beautifully on the inside. The breakfast was fabulous, especially the french toast (Eleanor will give you the recipe). Speaking of Eleanor (and Ron), the owners and hosts, they couldn't have provided more gracious hospitality and were happy to help with ideas for shopping, dining or other attractions and adventures.


Birthday at Aunt Clara's Cottage

4,8 su ottobre 22, 2010

My sister Alice and I spent her 55th birthday on 10-10-10 in the Alice room at Aunt Clara's Cottage. We enjoyed our time in Natchez. Beautiful weather and great hospitality.


Charming B&B

5 su ottobre 20, 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much. Wonderful location, near other beautiful homes, very friendly and helpful owners and hosts, and great breakfasts! We would definitely come back again! Janet and Larry California


First Trip to Natchez

5 su ottobre 17, 2010

We enjoyed our trip to Natchez. It is not close for us to visit but we may plan another trip in the future. One of the reasons is Ron & Eleanor Fry. They were very friendly and enjoyable to be with. This was our 1st B&B and I was a little apprehensive, but it was very relaxing. Thanks for a great trip.


Great place to stay in Natchez

5 su ottobre 16, 2010

We stayed in the Elmo Room in Aunt Clara's Cottage which is just a few doors down from Devereaux Shields House. The cottage was more spacious than we expected and had charming wood floors, high ceilings, large windows, private baths and antique furnishings. A wonderful breakfast was served each morning in the front dining room of the cottage. We have stayed at some really nice B&B's in the US and Canada, but this one was the best of all. Eleanor and Ron were excellent hosts.


Wonderul 21st anniversary

5 su settembre 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our 21st wedding anniversary. Everything was wonderful. The service was excellent. This was out first time ever staying in a bed and breakfast and thanks to Ron and Eleanor, we intend to make it the first of many more. Thanks again for again for a wonderul time. The Freemans


Southern Living Comfort

4,0 su settembre 11, 2010

Greetings! The cottage was very much like being in a Southern Living magazine. Enjoyed being on the corner as saw the flavor of the community with all the passing vehicles. Enjoyed the stay!!!


Greatly enjoyed weekend

5 su settembre 08, 2010

Ron and Eleanor are warm and helpful hosts. The buildings are very clean and the rooms are very nice. It was a great experience for us as this was our first b & b stay.


Excellent B&B!!

4,8 su agosto 27, 2010

We stayed in the Elmo room and it was PERFECT! Large room with a nice mix of antebellum with modern touches. Local information, water bottles, coffee and light snacks are included 24hrs in the dinning room. The Innkeepers - Ron and Eleanor we very warm and helpful and made us feel right at home. A BIG plus for us is that the cottage is DOG FRIENDLY!! Our dog revieved as warm a welcome as his humans!! 5 THUMBS & $ PAWS UP!


Great place!

5 su agosto 12, 2010

Wonderful room, great breakfast and very friendly hosts. Would be happy to stay here again.


We will be back

5 su agosto 09, 2010

The room, the house and the location exeeded our expectations. A nice home can be found in any city but to keep it up like this one is not an easy task. Also, it is surrounded by other beautiful old homes and we were able to walk to our restaurant and enjoy the veiw. We will be back! Lafayette Louisiana


Dining at the Devereaux Shields

5 su luglio 31, 2010

I live in Natchez and have had the immense pleasure of dining three times in the past year at the D.S. Home---twice for luncheons and once for evening dinner (last night). Each dining experience was a great treat to myself in every respect. Hosts Ron and Eleanor Fry are every bit as wonderful as all the previous reviews have said...they make your "real glad to know" list immediately. And talk about enjoying mighty tasty food from the Fry Kitchen-- may my 4th time to dine there be soon! /James O'Brien


Enjoyable

5 su giugno 24, 2010

Ron & Eleanor are wonderful. What can I say...Everything had exceeded our expectations. If we are ever in the area or take another trip to Natchez, there's only one place to stay. Thank you! Mike and Norma B


Nicely Done in Natchez

5 su giugno 22, 2010

Ron & Eleanor, we can't tell you enough how enjoyable our stay in the Elmo Room was last week. Besides having a lovely home, your cooking was terrific, your guests were fun and engaging, your recommendations for restaurants and site-seeing were spot on and YOU were great hosts. We have already told several friends we have the place for them to stay when they visit Natchez. To sum it up...it was MARRVELOUS! ---God Bless, Ronnie & Kelly


Trip to Natchez

5 su giugno 18, 2010

We had a delightful experience . We had never been to Natchez before. Our stay was perfect. Ron and Eleanor are the perfect hosts. The house is amazing and the food was perfectly prepared and served.


Southern Hospitaliy at it's best!

5 su maggio 26, 2010

Our side trip to Natchez on our way to New Orleans turned out to be the highlight of our trip by staying with Ron and Eleanor Fry at the Devereauz Shields house. This was our first stay with them and will not be our last. Our only regret is we could not stay longer. They were very helpful in guiding us to the right resturants, historical sights and things of interest to us. We had great conversations with them and other guests at breakfast. We are sold on B & B's and this one is on the top of our list. In haste, I had left my toiletry bag hanging on the back of bathroom door and when I called they Fedex it to me. Great Service with a smile and a very happy guest.


complete relaxation... ahhhhh.... sigh....

5 su maggio 17, 2010

From the moment you arrive the feeling is... just RELAX... The home is beautiful, the price is great and our host and hostess were wonderful! Loved the peach french toast for breakfast. Very laid back, homey and gorgeous all at the same time! Will return soon!


Great hospitality!!

5 su marzo 13, 2010

My husband and I visited Natchez for a wedding. Devereaux Shields was the first place I looked at and booked. The owners were extremely nice. They had coffee with us also. Their service was top-notch. We stayed in the Alice room. The room was beautiful, spotless and quiet. The antiques were nice throughout the house. The breakfast was absolutely amazing. This is a must-stay!!


I want to go back! Today!

5 su dicembre 29, 2009

When life is too fast, smooth it down at Devereaux Shields in Natchez. Just a stone’s throw from the busy Gulf Coast, we drove to Natchez on a Friday evening seeking a cure for our weariness. The proprietor, Ron, told us to watch for “lights.” Suddenly, the inky black of night exploded with luminaries from every window of the 1893 home on Union Street; we were home. A weekend at the Devereaux Shields was a sensory experience. The porches and nooks called us outside to sit a spell in the wicker chairs, and sip tea or coffee. We drank in turn of the century ambience, heard the comforting sounds of birds, and reflected on life past and present. An afternoon in the downstairs parlors in front of classic fireplaces gentled my soul. The music of Marshall Styler was the perfect backdrop for reading or playing games. As I looked around, I almost heard Devereaux or Julia Shields saying, “Enjoy!” I climbed the majestic staircase to a second floor bedroom where period furniture enveloped me. Some of the best sleep I’ve had in years awaited. Breakfast? Eleanor spread a table like none other at Aunt Clara’s Cottage! I lost track of time in conversation with other guests. We indulged with a slice of Natchez fine dining. Caramel Peach French toast or Cajun Quiche, a slab of ham or links of sausage, ever flowing coffee or hot tea. They’ve got it all. In my mind, I take a quick trip back to Natchez when things get hectic. Why wait? Give Ron and Eleanor a call. (written by D and D)


Great B&B..If you visit Natchez this is the B&B for you.

5 su novembre 10, 2009

Owners (Ron & Eleanor) were great host and met our every need. Great rooms, service,great dinning and very clean...When you visit Natchez this is the B&B you will love....


Devereaux Shields House

5 su ottobre 21, 2009

Ron & Eleanor Fry are wonderful hosts and their assistant Nickie is a delightful addition. We loved the cozy coffee station for a 7am pick-me-up prior to breakfast at 8:30 am


Devereaux Shields House

4,2 su ottobre 20, 2009

Excellent! Very accommodating.


Aunt Clara's Cottage

5 su ottobre 09, 2009

This was our first experience with a B&B. The Louise Room was very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast wonderful, very delicious. Ron and Eleandor are very wonderful host, we felt like part of the family. Thanks again for a most pleasant stay. We will go back.


Aunt Clara's Cottage

5 su ottobre 06, 2009

Eleanor and Ron were outstanding hosts. The cottage was comfortable, quiet, very clean and tastefully decorated with period furniture. Both were quick to share information that made our touring easy and enjoyable. We would stay there again and look forward to seeing Ron's progress on his model train room!!!


Devereaux Shields House

4,6 su settembre 23, 2009

Enjoyed very much--Ron and Elanor most gracious host and hostess--very helpful.


Natchez' best innkeepers

5 su agosto 20, 2009

Both guest rooms and common areas are spacious and attractive, the food fresh and tasty, and the location perfect, on a quiet yet convenient street of beautiful historic homes, but the best feature of this B&B are its innkeepers, Ron & Eleanor. Although Natchez has many wonderful B&Bs, most are staff run -- and in my opinion, it's just not the same as an owner-operated inn. On your next Natchez visit, be sure to tour the big plantation homes, then come home to the DSH.


Wonderful stay

5 su giugno 05, 2009

My husband and I recently spent two nights in Aunt Clara's Cottage and had a delightful time. The king bed was comfortable, the breakfast was elegant and delicious and the conversation was most pleasant. Ron and Eleanor are very gracious hosts, even accomodating my food allergies and mailing me the two blouses I left in the closet!


wonderful place to stay

4,8 su aprile 30, 2009

The home is lovely; Ron & Eleanor are wonderful hosts and the breakfast was very good and well presented. We recommend this B&B and would definitely stay here again.


Wonderful Southern Hospitality

5 su aprile 25, 2009

We spent 5 days in historical Natchez for the Spring Pilgrimage and the highlight of our trip was the wonderful southern hospitality Eleanor and Ron graced us with during our stay. The Rose Suite was awesome, food was delicious, gardens were beautiful, but, most of all, the hostess was the BEST!!! I highly recommend the Devereaux Shields House for anyone visiting Natchez. Make sure to request their scrumptious scones!


Wonderful Southern Hospitality

5 su aprile 23, 2009

The Rose Suite was awesome, food was delicious, gardens were beautiful, but, most of all, the Hostess was the BEST!!!! Make sure to request scones for breakfast!! Highly recommend staying at this lovely B & B.


lovely weekend

5 su marzo 11, 2009

Had a great stay. Service was excellent, and rooms were beautiful. Enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. Also, owner was very helpful, kind, and great hospitality.


super-active B&B

4,2 su marzo 11, 2009

Exquisite house and furnishings, friendly and welcoming hosts, great breakfast. Comfortable surroundings, excellent facilities without stuffiness or pretension.


Our stay was wonderful!

4,6 su dicembre 30, 2008

We had a wonderful stay in Natchez. The Bed & Breakfast was beautiful and the owners were so attentive!!


Wonderful B&B experience

5 su dicembre 11, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at this B&B numerous times, and each time our stay has exceeded our expectations. Ron and Eleanor are wonderful hosts, and they run a fantastic business!


Devereaux Shields

5 su novembre 04, 2008

Our stay was wonderful. We will stay there again. The food was excellent. The house was beautiful and we felt as if we were at home.


beautiful home

4,8 su ottobre 23, 2008

Ron and Eleanor were wonderful hosts. Beautiful home-very comfortable


lovely inn, lovely town

4,2 su novembre 08, 2007

Located on a beautiful residential street, convenient to both downtown and the river. Friendly welcoming innkeepers made my visit a delight.

Risposta del proprietario
It appears the reviewer inadvertently forgot to review us in the Cleanliness category. Can an inquiry be sent to the reviwer?


Devereaux Shields House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $129 - $189
  • Recensioni (237) 4,7
  • Camere 6
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6013045378
  • Gratuito 1-8883045378

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina