MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,4
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
214 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Cedar cabin

4,2 su luglio 27, 2014

Rented the cedar cabin, nice location within 3 blocks of the downtown area. Quiet and out if the way. I would stay here again. No problems and never even saw the owners, felt like we had the place to ourselves. Disregard my rating if the dining, we didn't eat at the B&B since we rented a cabin.


Weekend in July 2014

2,8 su luglio 19, 2014

The cabin that we stayed in this year wasn't as nice as the one last year. The bathroom door didn't work very well and the coffee pot stopped working as well. However, it was clean and the staff was friendly. The location to the waterfront area is great!

Risposta del proprietario
Sorry your stay in the cabins wasn't great. We always want our guests to have a wonderful time. We would have liked to have the opportunity to address any problems. Again we're sorry.


Wonderful Respite!

5 su luglio 16, 2014

We had a lovely three nights in Grand Marais. The MacArthur House is just perfect - an easy walk into town for great food and yet it is in a quiet neighborhood so you can sleep with the windows open - and no noise! We had a beautiful room in the main house, and terrific breakfast each morning. Plenty of good coffee and fine hosts who know a lot about the area. They were the perfect combination of welcoming and friendly without being too much so. We would definitely go back!


A Gem in Grand Marais

4,6 su luglio 11, 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at the MacArthur House. Max and Sherri are wonderful hosts. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. My wife's birthday occurred during our stay. Sherri noticed the birthday card on the nightstand and when my wife and I returned that evening a bottle of champagne was waiting for us in our room. It is this kind of unexpected and unsolicited service like sets apart the MacArthur House from other B&B;s. Breakfasts were outstanding and the location of the B&B is great. All the restaurants and shops are just a short walk away. If we return to Grand Marais we would certainly choose the MacArthur House. Max and Sherri are really nice people and run a superb B&B.


Great Stay!

3,8 su luglio 07, 2014

Fantastic place. We will book again and have already recommended to friends and family!


MacAruthur House B&B Crituque

4,8 su luglio 05, 2014

food was outstanding, people were very friendly. I would definitely stay again


Beauitful and Relaxing Stay

5 su giugno 29, 2014

We had a bad experience with another B&B in Two Harbors and called to see if MacArthur had an opening for the next day. Max was very nice and eventhough he could not hear me due to iphone issues told us to come the next day. We were greeted by Sherri who was very down to earth and kind, which made us feel good after the horrible experience the day before. The room was incredible and beauitful-whirlpool, TV with Direct programming, a view that overlooked the lake and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and we are now planning another stay for hopefully next year. We would highly recommend staying two to three days!


My stay at the MacArthur Cabins

4,6 su giugno 04, 2014

We rented the Pine cabin, and it was PERFECT! It was just supposed to be me and my two kids, but my Mom ended up staying, and since the cabin had a pull out couch, she also had a bed. Then my dad and sister showed up the last two days of our stay, and my parents took the couch while my sister got the roll away out of the closet. It was quaint, charming and we all had a really great time. Russell was extremely helpful, and we really enjoyed doing s'mores at night around the camp fire area that was right beside our cabin. I would recommend this to anyone. I could not rate the dining, because we had a full kitchen in our cabin, so no one cooked for us except for me. We did go downtown for pie several times and even made it out to Naniboujou Lodge for lunch one day - amazing food and a really cool place to visit. We are looking forward to coming up again next year for another graduation at CCHS.


Great place to stay!

5 su maggio 01, 2014

This was our second stay at the MacArthur House. It was just as we remembered it. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, he breakfasts fantastic, and Max and Sherri wonderful hosts. The house is very easy walking distance to the North House Folk School and downtown Grand Marais making this a perfect place to stay. We will stay there again in the future.


don't miss this place on your stay in Grand Marais

5 su aprile 27, 2014

I was the only guest stay there and the owners are very attentive to all my needs I would stay there again


Grand Marais weekend

4,8 su aprile 13, 2014

Brief stay for business and recreation events in Grand Marais Central location; flexible (offseason) re arrival and departure needs


Quiet,Comfortable,congenial

4,6 su marzo 18, 2014

Hosts welcome you and ensure all is to your liking. The well kept home is away from the traffic, home is well insulated ,so it is cosy and warm in the winter.


A Great Stay for a Relaxing Weekend

4,8 su marzo 04, 2014

The room was not fancy, but it was clean. The bed was very comfortable. The owners are really nice and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious! The B&B was exactly what we needed for a relaxing winter weekend on the North Shore!


Couldn't control the heat

4,0 su febbraio 06, 2014

The house is immaculately clean. The proprietors are friendly. Our breakfast was most enjoyable. The house was very quiet. Our only complaint is about the room temperature. We like a cool bedroom for sleeping. The wall thermostat did not seem to control the off-peak electric heater, which stayed too hot to touch all night.


Outstanding!!!

5 su febbraio 04, 2014

My Fiance' and I stayed for a quick weekend getaway and the B&B was amazing! the scenery from the area was stunning and we love the area to begin with! The outdoor activities are endless if you love nature! Max was very helpful and very friendly, the food was outstanding and the room was very romantic and comfortable! A week after we got home my bride and I called and booked the same room for the rest of the weekend after we get married for a mini honeymoon. I would recomend the MacArther house to anyone going to Grand Marais!


Exceeded our expectations!

5 su ottobre 29, 2013

Everything we wanted from our vacation. Which has been never. We reserved a cabin, which was explained with full kitchen. Well when we checked in, it wasn't what we expected. or what we read when reserving our cabin. So we went to the owner, & said we love the place but not what we had expected. So the owner went to get his appointment book, & looked that he had two other cabins with full kitchen for our time frame. And he said that we could choose our cabin. We chose the cabin that we fell in love with. Which was next to the street which was less than 2 blocks away with the full view of Lake Superior. We are definitely coming back & reserving the same cabin! Had the most wonderful time, with the most beautiful, relaxing time ever. Highly recommend MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast! Maybe try the house itself too. Heard they have the most amazing breakfast!


We had a great experience!

5 su ottobre 11, 2013

MacArthur House was a great place to stay for our anniversary getaway! It was clean, quiet, and the breakfast was great. Would highly recommend to family and friends.


A Great B&B

4,4 su ottobre 10, 2013

What a great stay and wonderful breakfast! Very conveniently located in Grand Maria. It was easy to walk to and from the B&B to the downtown area of Grand Maria.


The best stay in Grand Marais!

5 su ottobre 08, 2013

The MacArthur House is an excellent choice for a stay in Grand Marais. Max and Sherri are wonderful hosts; breakfast is always delicious and the location is great. Highly recommended!


Motel room - great value

4,4 su ottobre 07, 2013

This place was perfect as we didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room. Great value for a place to sleep. Very clean and staff was very friendly. We didn't eat here as we preferred to eat in town (and B&B isn't allowed to serve motel guests). Simple room, but again, great value for a warm room and comfortable bed.


Awesome stay!

5 su settembre 23, 2013

The area was great. We stayed in one of the cabins and it was nice and we'll kept. Would definitely come back again.


Unplugged

4,4 su settembre 17, 2013

great location and office staff was friendly and helpful. cabin was clean and had everything we needed. the review requires an answer to dining but we were in a cabin and made our own meals. I gave a 'met my expectations' because I was the cook :-)


Mountain Stage stay at the MacArthur House B and B

4,4 su settembre 17, 2013

We truly enjoyed our visit there, really lovely place, great hospitality, great food !! We could walk to the music venue, and also to restaurants. Very quiet little neighborhood. Our room had the only older bed, I think .....not one of the higher pillow top beds that you get now, but still comfortable. Max and Sherri are super hosts.


Stay at MacArthur House

4,8 su settembre 16, 2013

Great stay again at MacArthur House in Grand Marais. Sherrie and Max are very friendly and helpful.


First B&B Experience

5 su settembre 15, 2013

My fiancée and I had never visited a B&B, and I thought it would be a great experience for visiting Grand Marais. We both found the house and rooms immaculate. The breakfast was healthy and very good. I had a great time getting to know the others in the house. We stayed in the Jacuzzi suite, which had a beautiful view, and the bed was very comfortable. During our stay, we visited the little playhouse in town, and it was a great experience. Although my fiancée wished there was a microwave in the dining area of our room, I was happy to have to visit adorable Grand Marais for dinner and great musical entertainment. The owner is actually a musician himself. I hope we can jam with him next time we visit. I think we'll try out the cabins next time!


great B&B

5 su settembre 15, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Grand Marais. MacArther House was excellent. Quiet, Clean, Friendly, and great breakfast


This is a keeper!

5 su settembre 07, 2013

Max and spouse have done a very good job with this place. It is very clean, quiet and a short walk to the shops and dining in Grand Marais. THe room was spacious. The breakfast home prepared and tasty every morning. No store bought food served here! The living room was very welcoming, almost expected to see their grandkids bouncing in! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.


Our first B & B experience.

4,0 su settembre 05, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised that all aspects of our stay exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was delicious and the conversation with other guests was very enjoyable. Good time all around!


Poor Start, Okay Remainder

2,6 su settembre 01, 2013

We checked in to the MacArthur House on an unseasonably warm day. Upon arrival we were escorted to our suite on the third floor. My husband politely asked if there was air conditioning. The reply, was no - perhaps you should stay at the Best Western as we want you to be happy. We were both shocked at this response. We did not feel welcome. The space was fine, as were the breakfasts. Hospitality left something to be desired. We always stay in B & B's for the outstanding hosts, this time it was far less than expected due to the poor start.


Nice overall

3,6 su agosto 25, 2013

We liked our stay in the suite. I think the suite could use a decorators touch as the walls were plain white with outdated wall hangings. Could be a more cozy and inviting, but still a nice place to stay. A fireplace would really top it off, especially for northern Minnesota. Breakfast was very good. Would recommend to others.


Perfect

4,8 su agosto 25, 2013

Well taken care of accommendations, clean, nice rooms and wonderful breakfast. Max and Sherri very pleasant host/owners. Location right in town, street parking no problem, walk to everything in Grand Marais.


Good Stay

4,8 su agosto 23, 2013

We were pleased with our stay at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast. The hosts were polite, the coffee was good and strong (but not over powering), the breakfast was tasty, and the room was clean. Good experience and would recommend to others.


Lovely B and B , shame about breakfast

3,4 su agosto 23, 2013

Lovely B and B in every way but no absolutely no choice about breakfast. In an establishment of this quality there should be a buffet and choice. Especially there should be a sugar free options and fresh organic produce available.


A Nice Time

4,0 su agosto 21, 2013

Had a great stay at the MacArthur House B&B. Simple, clean rooms with a comfortable bed. Conversation at breakfast was wonderful. The food was very good and someone persuaded one of the hosts to serenade us on his violin!. Most of Grand Marais was within walking distance.


Great Place to Stay

3,8 su agosto 21, 2013

Great place to stay in Grand Marais. We would most definitely stay at the MacArthur again.


MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast was a quaint place to stay

4,6 su agosto 19, 2013

Stayed one night~Excellent place to stay~Nice People


Aspen Cabin-

4,2 su agosto 18, 2013

We stayed in the Aspen cabin: It was clean and quaint, perfect for a pair. Anything needed was there. The caretakers are very kind. It is quiet and close to town.


Fantastic Stay

5 su agosto 14, 2013

The McArthur House B&B is wonderful! Very spacious, clean, delicious food. They work with any dietary needs.


Clean, friendly, just blocks from town

3,8 su agosto 12, 2013

Had a very nice stay. Cleanliness is my biggest requirement and that was surely met. We also wanted to be able to walk to shopping, restaurants and bars and that was easy. We had a great time in town, meeting locals and visitors. The B&B owners, Max and Sherri, were lovely people.


Very pleasant stay with a very freindly, helpful host.

4,4 su agosto 12, 2013

Great knowledge of restaurants in the area and was right on, on all counts they were great.


Great place to stay along LAKE SUPERIOR

4,4 su agosto 10, 2013

We were traveling from Thunder Bay and decided to break up the trip with a night a Macarther House. We picked it basis trip advisor and were very pleased with our stay. We were welcomed by the innkeeper who explained the dragon boat parade and music event where he was performing on fiddle. He recommended some restaurants and we had a great evening in Grand Marais. The next morninging breakfast was excellent and the table conversation was interesting. We would stay here again if in the area.


Comfortable and quiet.

4,2 su agosto 10, 2013

Due to a death in the family, had to cancel a first reservation shortly before arrival. No cost to us! Located in a quiet neighborhood in close proximity to Lake Superior and many of the local attractions. Hope to return.


Excellent Northwoods Stay

4,8 su agosto 08, 2013

This is an excellent B&B in Grand Marais. Max and Sherri are very congenial hosts, and make delicious breakfasts. We have now stayed there 6 times -- usually after camping in the BWCAW -- and each time has been a wonderful stay. We recommend it very highly.


Anniversary getaway

4,0 su agosto 07, 2013

Very friendly grounds keepers. We liked that we had our own cabin separate from others. Wasn't to private tho for an anniversary getaway, but would probably go back with our kids. The cabins are very old and outdated but that added to the charm. The beds were just as old however so didn't make for to comfortable sleep. Walking distance to downtown Grand marais and away from the noisy highway. Breakfast is not included for cabin rentals but Grand Marais has plenty of excellent eateries. The Pie place for breakfast, crooked spoon for lunch and Angry trout for supper:)


Not worth it

2,0 su agosto 04, 2013

I booked a cabin for a last minute trip to Grand Marais with my wife. When they called me to take the advance payment, a comment was made that they normally require a two night stay. I understand that as they are in a limited season, resort area, but it was a completely unnecessary comment when booking two days before arrival. Cabin was very small and dated. Showerhead was at shoulder level and had to crouch down to wash hair. Might be fine for a fishing trip, but I booked it as a small cabin getaway for my wife and I. Figured it out would have been a bit nicer as it was part of a B&B. Ps.Had to choose a dining score, but did not eat there at all.


Room review.

3,8 su agosto 03, 2013

My only suggestion would be to provide hairdryers in each room, especially if you get quite a bit of motorcycle clients.


Weekend Away!!!

4,2 su luglio 29, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay and wish I could of stayed longer. Will definitely stay there again. One of the better B & B I I have stayed in.


Great place

4,6 su luglio 29, 2013

Max & Sherri were great hosts and we had really fun at Grand Marais. The location is great ~3 blocks from the lake or may be 4 blocks. Worked out perfect for us.


Perfect Weekend Getaway.

4,8 su luglio 25, 2013

It was such a pleasure staying at the MacArthur House cabins. We've been searching for a spot to get away for the weekend, to relax and disconnect from the business of life. The cabin was a perfect getaway. It was very clean and cozy. We can't wait to go back!


best bed & breakfast yet!

4,4 su luglio 18, 2013

Wonderful! Very relaxing. We would love to visit again.


Another great stay...

4,6 su luglio 10, 2013

Hospitality, location, great room and great atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed our second stay here.


We called it "Home"

4,8 su luglio 10, 2013

The MacArthur House was a wonderful place to spend a week while in Grand Marais. The minute we walked in we felt like we had friends in Max and Sherri. The room was amazing- high ceilings and huge windows, and was so clean! The beds and pillows were comfortable, which is such a nice thing while on vacation! Max and Sherri were the best part about this place. They were friendly and gave us great advice on what to do and where to eat. They were generous with their time and their space. The breakfasts were really tasty and they were accommodating with any kind of allergies or dietary restrictions. The other really cool thing about MacArthur House is the cabins they own surrounding the B & B. They do not include the amazing breakfast but they each have their own personality and are just as welcoming and clean as the rooms in the main house. It was really hard to leave Max and Sherri and the MacArthur house. We will definitely stay there again. Micki and Jeremy


Lovely Place to Stay

4,0 su luglio 10, 2013

This is an ideal location. It sits on the hill, only a short walk to most anything you would like to do in Grand Marais.


Good company, good food and good location

4,4 su luglio 08, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The room was simple, but clean and had a private bath so it suited us. We've already talked about going back next year and possibly renting one of the cabins for a longer stay. If you like bed and breakfasts - meeting interesting and fun people at an 8:30 breakfast and taking your shoes off like it's your home, you won't be disappointed and you will find Max and Sherri to be very helpful and friendly.


A North Shore Gem

5 su luglio 04, 2013

Very satisfied with all aspects of our stay.


Wonderful B&B is beautiful Grand Marais

5 su giugno 29, 2013

The rooms are spacious and each room has its own Rey clean bathroom. The house is quiet. The owners are very friendly but allow you to have plenty of privacy. We spent 3 nights and wish we would have booked for longer.


Great Getaway on the North Shore

5 su giugno 24, 2013

Very comfortable and convenient to Grand Marais sights. Great family atmosphere.


Worth the stay

4,4 su giugno 11, 2013

Max and Sherri are super hospitable and good company. Very much enjoyed our stay.


The 2013 Memorial Weekend Honeymooners

4,8 su giugno 02, 2013

The breakfast served each morning is delicious and is more along the lines of Sunday brunch. You eat like kings! Max had great tips for places to visit and had good stories too.


Great place to stay!

5 su maggio 30, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B, and we are sold! Our room was large, and we loved having windows on 3 sides. Max made sure coffee was available every morning before breakfast, and he kept the pot full, so I never ran out. Breakfast each morning was delicious! Offerings included vegetable frittata, homemade coffee cake, rosemary potatoes, French toast bake, fruit strata, banana bread, fresh fruit each day, and orange juice. Our room was on the first floor, and the smells from the kitchen helped encourage us out of the comfortable bed each morning. Max and Sherri are the nicest people and truly want your visit to be wonderful. We highly recommend the MacArthur House for your next visit to Grand Marais!


Great B&B

4,8 su maggio 29, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the B& B. The owners are very nice & friendly. Our room was really great. We stayed in the Harbor Suite and would have loved to have stayed longer. Bed was very comfortable 2 person spa tub very relaxing and the rooms were very clean..


MacArthur House is lovely

4,8 su maggio 29, 2013

The B and B was warm and inviting and so were its owners. The rooms had an abundance of natural light and were as clean as a whistle as well as simple and elegant. My room had a view of Lake Superior and was very cozy. I thought the breakfasts were well prepared and the coffee was strong and delicious. It definitely surpassed my expectations and the stay was one of my best yet in this area. It is easy to walk to the Lake and get to restaurants but was quiet and peaceful too. I will never stay anywhere else in Grand Marais.


Wonderful honeymoon destination!

5 su maggio 27, 2013

We stayed in the beautiful Harbor Suite, and were very impressed with the room's appointments. Max and Sherri were very nice, and made sure all our needs were attended to. Would definitely stay here again!


Fantastic!

5 su maggio 01, 2013

The main building is brand new and constructed as a B&B. The rooms are large and well furnished. (Including a large live plant in each room.) Beds are king size with big pillows. There is a "living room" available to all with giant TV, movies, etc. The breakfast is substantial and well-prepared. Note: there are two separate cabins adjacent and the owners have just purchased an adjacent motel. I think they all are being re-decorated. When they are done, I suspect they will be great too. However, my review does not include them -- only the main building.


Early spring getaway

3,8 su marzo 29, 2013

Friendly laid back hosts, excellent food, easy coming and going, could use a few more special touches (special shampoo, lotion, conditioner, artist's works displayed, offer of coffee as early as "needed" )


Lovely Time

4,4 su marzo 22, 2013

Great town,great house, great skiing, great hot tub after a long ski.


It's a good deal

4,4 su marzo 10, 2013

We stayed here in the off-season (early March) in the Birch Room, and had a very pleasant experience. The room was spacious, spotless, warm, and delightfully decorated (it was quite amusing that Max apologized that the two sitting chairs did not match because he was rehabbing the matching chair). Breakfast was delicious, the rates were very good for the value, and Max and Sherri had no problem with us showing up a little late because of bad driving weather coming up. Only thing really missing was a lake view, but who cares when everything else was so nice? We would definitely stay here again.


Overall a very nice and comfy B&B stay

5 su febbraio 23, 2013

We recently spent a few nights here during a stay in the Grand Marais area. I had wanted to try this B&B out for some time and was not disappointed. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. The view of the harbor was nice, although it would be worth upgrading to the suite for the better view. The breakfasts were very good and the hosts were very helpful and charming. My only comments for improvements would be to replace the beds and perhaps the bedding. Our bed was somewhat hard and not overly comfortable for sleeping. However, that is a matter of personal preference. I would highly recommend this establishment and we plan on staying here again.


We are planning on coming back!

4,8 su gennaio 07, 2013

Max and Sherri were outstanding in every way. Our room was super clean and we felt very welcome and at home during our stay. The price is better than some of the crustier motels in Grand Marais. Overall, a great first Bed and Breakfast experience for us!


A must when staying in Grand Marais!

5 su gennaio 06, 2013

Max and Sherri are very welcoming and super friendly! We had a wonderful time! Rooms are very bright and clean. Breakfast is delicious!


awesome stay once again

5 su dicembre 24, 2012

We stayed with Max and Sherri last year and promised ourselves we needed to go back.It was late in the season but the hospitality and great breakfasts added the warmth to one of the nicest places we have stayed. The house was fully decorated for the holiday season. Grand Marais was bustling with activity like always. We will be back again soon in the new year. Thanks Max and Sherri for another unforgettable stay. Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year to you both. Steve & Shelley


The MacArthur House - The Place to Stay in Grand Marais

5 su novembre 12, 2012

We were very impressed with the MacArthur House and found that this lovely B&B provided the utmost in warm and hospitable lodging. Each spacious room has been meticulously arranged in the house as to allow the utmost privacy for each guest. The high ceilings and lots of natural light are a bonus. MacArthur House owners, Max and Sherri are gracious hosts and tended to all details in making sure our stay was everything it could be. They were also very accommodating in helping us with our last minute plans to extend our visit by two additional nights. The MacArthur house has a bright future with newly acquired cabins on their property. Our children and their families stayed in these great, clean cabins which lend to the ‘up north’ feel of Grand Marais. We definitely plan to make the MacArthur House a place to stay and hope to visit again soon. Beth and Greg Cramer Plymouth, Minnesota


Simply Lovely

4,6 su ottobre 28, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast, and it was as wonderful as the first time. My friend and I wanted to know if the Angry Trout would be open during our stay. Max called them and got back to us prior to our visit to let us know they indeed would be open through that weekend. The breakfast cuisine included with your room is superb and presentation lovely. Also, the location is very convenient to downtown.


Four Day Stay

5 su ottobre 23, 2012

I was taking classes at the Grand Marais Art Colony. Arlene Hammond


Beautiful & Spacious B&B

4,0 su ottobre 23, 2012

We were pleased to see how large and spacious our room was. It was very light, airy, & comfortable. We also felt our stay was a good value for the money. Both Max & Sherri were very friendly and helpful. They provided a tasty alternative to my dietary restrictions of no gluten. We were very pleased with the breakfasts each morning. The only request my husband had was he wished they served some kind of meat with the breakfast. The B&B is very relaxing and the location is great. The yard & surrounding gardens are beautiful to explore and we would definitely like to stay here again! D & D-Oct. 2012


Always Top Quality

5 su ottobre 13, 2012

We've been going to the MacArthur House for 12 years and we'll keep on going. It is a beautiful B&B in a beautiful setting. The food is delicious. Max and Sherri always make us feel right at home. We've recommended it to friends.


MacArthur House Perfect in every way!

5 su ottobre 08, 2012

We arrived 10/5/12 at the MacArthur House for a two night stay in one of their very well equipped and CLEAN comfy cabins. Sherri and Max both greeted us at the door and spent time getting acquainted with us and even took us on a tour of their many lovely B&B rooms. The cabin was ideal for our stay as we 3 aspiring watercolor painters each had our own room and bed to ourselves with plenty of shared living room and kitchen space to spread out and relax in the evenings. We were only 3 blocks from the Art Colony where we attented a 2-day workshop. The cabin was quiet and comfortable. Free wi-fi was a plus and appreciated the kitchen fully equipped with all necessities to share meals evenings and a.m.s. Most certainly I would stay again and will recommend to others who have the chance to visit Grand Marais!


MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast October 3 & 4 2012

5 su ottobre 08, 2012

We arrived and were pleased to see such a beautiful Home. Our Host met us at the door and was very cordial as he took us to our room. We had an extremely nice room... clean and roomy. We spent some time on the patio overlooking their gardens. The next two mornings we were served wonderful breakfasts and had pleasant conversation with a nine-time returning group of three guests. We will return to this lovely place also. D & M, Minneapolis, MN


Fall Color Getaway

5 su ottobre 05, 2012

Just as described. Conveniently located to downtown, Within walking distance to shoreline. Max and Sherri are definitely people-persons. Can see why they've been in the business so long. The only disappointment--didn't see a moose in the wild--not host's fault!! Great time!


Walk to dinner

5 su ottobre 01, 2012

Wonderful facility, less than 0.5 mile walk to Lake Superior and best local restaurants. Our well-equipped suite had a stting area with TV, small fridge, and a view of the lake. Managers very friendly and helpful.


Fall hiking and dining !

5 su settembre 27, 2012

Both Sherri and Max are so warm and remember us from previous visits. They have exellent restaurant suggestions and serve fantastic breakfasts. We had a wonderful view of the harbour from the 3rd floor suite.


A great place to stay

5 su settembre 26, 2012

We felt very welcome and the accomodations were perfect for us. We would definitely stay again.


our great experiences at MacArthur House

5 su settembre 25, 2012

This is the fourth time we've spent at MacArthur House and we've already made reservations for next year.


A wonderful B&B to match the hosts

5 su settembre 24, 2012

First time to stay here during 9/2012 and what a great choice. Sherri and Max were wonderful hosts who supplied us with delicious breakfasts every morning. At each breakfast we talked with all the other people and exchanged ideas for "What to do" around Grand Marais. Max and Sherri were also a big help with places to see. We will be back!


MacArthur House.

5 su settembre 23, 2012

We had such a wonderful time at the MacArthur House. The food was wonderful. The rooms were clean and very bright and welcoming. Max and Sherri had wonderful ideas for places to visit and good dining. We will definitely visit again. Grand Marais is a wonderful place to visit and the macArthur house made it even better!


Our stay in Grand Marais

4,0 su settembre 17, 2012

I stayed one night at MacArthur House B&B. Stayed in the AlAska room, which was nice sized and had a nice bath. Would have preferred a nice easy chair in the alcove in the bedroom instead of the large plant.


Favorite place to stay

5 su settembre 12, 2012

We have stayed here many times, always excellent service and great accomodations.


MacArthur B&B

3,8 su settembre 03, 2012

The accommodations were great. I do wish breakfast was less of a set piece. Had there been options, I would have been able to make the high-fiber choices a middle-aged digestive system appreciates.


Awesome place to stay.

5 su agosto 30, 2012

Max and Sherri are very cordial hosts. The Breakfasts were looked forward to every day. The area has a bunch of outdoor thing to do. The hosts are very knowledgeable of the area. We'll be back soon!!


Wonderful B & B

5 su agosto 27, 2012

A friend and I stayed 3 nights at MacArthur House and we had a wonderful time. Max and Sherri were very helpful with ideas of places to go to eat and different things to see. The breakfast was delicious! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Thanks Max and Sherri for being wonderful hosts.


Great location in Grand Marais

3,0 su agosto 18, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins, not in the main part of the B&B. We were disappointed that guests in the cabins didn't get breakfast. Our only other complaint is that the lighting in the living room wasn't bright enough for reading. There were two lamps that were much too dim to use for reading. I like to read when I'm on vacation.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your input. We have recently purchased the cabins and it's a brand new experience for us. We always want our guests to be happy and comfortable. The lighting has been changed. We so sorry for your inconvenience. We're sorry for the confusion about breakfast. Our website does state on the Cabin description page and policy page breakfast is not included in the cabin rentals. Again, we always welcome input so our guests have a great stay.


Wonderful!

5 su agosto 18, 2012

MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast was just "darling". Very quiet.......clean.......beautiful gardens to enjoy.....wonderful deck to sit outside and visit. The B&B featured the best breakfasts ever. Only a couple short blocks to Lake Superior.....well worth the walk. Thank you for helping make our stay in Grand Marais a nice relaxing time.


Clean and comfortable

5 su agosto 15, 2012

They were very understanding when we had family illnesses at the last minute and couldn't get there our first night. They did not charge us for our missed night, although we expected them to.


Grand Marais. August 2012

5 su agosto 13, 2012

This was a wonderful B&B! It ws within walking distance to downtown and the hostess were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was to die for....watermelon, kiwi, grapes, a fluffy mixed quiche and homemade blueberry cake (so..moist).


Five stars for Max and Sherri !!

5 su agosto 09, 2012

This was our second visit at the MacArthur House and we loved every minute of our time there! The only (very small) issue you may have, if you are sensitive to light in the mornings, is their glorious windows which only have mini-blinds on them. I improvised window shades out of cardboard so it was plenty dark enough for me. This place is peaceful, rooms are soundproof, clean and beautiful, and the breakfasts are delicious. And always the fellow guests are nice, intelligent and welcoming... my hubby, who was not a B&B guy, didn't want to miss out on one of our breakfasts when we stayed there for six nights earlier this month. This is the best B&B in Grand Marais!


Our stay at McArthur B&B

4,2 su agosto 09, 2012

This is a lovely B&B. We were greeted promptly at the door by Max and Sherri when we arrived and shown to our room, which was very nice--clean, airy and comfortable. We appreciated the fact they use ecologically friendly products in the bathrooms. Everything in the house is immaculate with local artwork displayed on some of the walls. Breakfast was served formally in the dining room. The food was light, fresh and well prepared. We enjoyed meeting the other guests of the house. This was our first time in a B&B. For our tastes, it was quite formal and we were looking for a more "homey" sort of atmosphere.


The MacArthur is a gem of a place

5 su agosto 08, 2012

The MacArthur house is the perfect combination of private and quiet as well as convenient to the rest of the amenities the area has to offer. The owners are considerate and do their best to ensure every detail is thought through. Great experience, will return again without hesitation. (The breakfast was great) Thank Max and Sherri


Wonderful get a way

5 su agosto 01, 2012

We rented one of the cabins and were pleasantly surprised by the size and furnishings. The cabin was very clean and contained everything we needed to make meals on our own. The nearness to Lake Superior was a plus as it was only 2 blocks away. The price was so reasonable! We will definitely come back!


Get-away in Grand Marais.

3,8 su luglio 30, 2012

Grand Marais is a great, great lake town. Nice access to the lake and shore, many interesting shops, a good selection of places to eat and drink. The MacArthur house is in very easy walking distance to the town center. Sherri is a personable host and the breakfast was excellent.


Clean and Comfy Place to Stay

3,6 su luglio 28, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our one night stay in Grand Marias very much. The MacArthur House is one of the cleanest places we've ever stayed. It is convenient to town for dining/shopping, parking was convenient (on street in front of house), and breakfast was very good. Max and Sherri are very friendly hosts. We also appreciated the small refrigerater located conveniently in our room--nice touch.


Relaxing and enjoyable

5 su luglio 25, 2012

Great hosts, and the fresh picked raspberries for our breakfast was the perfect touch.


Outstanding!

4,8 su luglio 25, 2012

Our stay with Max and Sherry was the best in every way. They were so friendly and accomodating. Our room was exceptionally clean and very welcoming. The breakfasts were served with grace and elegance. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back again. We have already recommended their inn to others. Thanks Max & Sherri.


We had a nice, relaxing time.

4,2 su luglio 23, 2012

The web site appropriately represented this B&B. The hosts were friendly and gracious.


A very nice stay

5 su luglio 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Harbour suite for 3 nights over the 4th of July. We could not have had a nicer stay in Grand Marais. This was our first visit to Grand Marais and while it rained 2 of the 3 days the MacArthur house made the stay very nice. The room was large, very clean and comfortable with a nice viiew of the harbour. A nice 2 peron jacuzzi and very nice sheets and towels. The breakfast was excellent the hosts friendly and nice and the recommendations for dinner right on. Highly recommended for a trip to Grand Marais.


First-time Visitors to Grand Marais

5 su luglio 17, 2012

The MacArthur House was the perfect B&B for our first-time visit to Grand Marais and northeast MN. The home was lovely, room was clean quiet, guests were friendly, and Max & Sherri were welcoming and the perfect hosts. We were very pleased, would stay here again, and will refer friends and family to this B&B.


Lovely Grand Marais :)

3,8 su luglio 14, 2012

Really nice place, reasonably priced and excellently located in a lovely town!


Our stay in Grand Marais-MacArthur House

3,2 su luglio 13, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the MacArthur House B&B. The location allowed us to be able to walk to wherever we wanted to go in town. The room was very comfortable and the food was very good.


Honeymoon Revisited

5 su giugno 29, 2012

We had honeymooned on the GunFlict Trail 47 years ago. We found the canoe outfitters and thus had a great time remembering our honey moon. We loved our room, the town of Grand Marias, and the hospitality of our inn keepers. Dennis and Nancy Brovold


MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast

4,6 su giugno 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the MacArthur House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were great. I even wanted to take a picture, the presentation was so wonderful (but I thought that was toooo touristy). Rooms are large and very bright. House is clean and in excellent condition with a beautiful garden and nice deck to enjoy. They are just a couple blocks from Main Street so we walked down to the lake or shopping in town. We would definitely stay there again and I have already recommended the MacArthur House to someone.


Was a great place to stay, would definitely come back

3,6 su giugno 23, 2012

Our hosts Max and Sherri were great - we were leaving the day of the flooding in Duluth with numberous road closures. Our hosts helped us map out an inutual detour to get us around Dutluth - very helpful and so friendly.


Great as always

5 su giugno 12, 2012

We love the Macarthur house- Max & Sherri are great hosts-very knowledgable about the area. The rooms are very clean & comfy & breakfast is great. In addition Max & Sherri are friendly & fun but if you want your privacy they are respectful of that. We won't stay anywhere else in Grand Marais.


MacArthur House...I'd stay there again.

3,4 su giugno 05, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. Well organized. Not quite as much closet space as I would have liked. Good coffee in the morning and easy to get. Breakfast...good wholesome food. Main course seemed to usually include an egg dish or baked/fried breads. I would have liked to have had a few more breakfast options, including some "cold" options. Overall, good place to stay and the price was reasonable.


MacArthur House was Clean and Comfortable

3,8 su maggio 28, 2012

Great location, quiet, friendly hosts, very neat and clean.


Wonderful B&B in beautiful Grand Marais

5 su maggio 28, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at MacArthur House and could not have been happier with our stay. The room was comfortable, spacious and spotless, our hosts Max and Sherri warm and welcoming, breakfast was spectacular - perfect down to the last detail. Because the room we wanted was only available for 3 nights of our stay, our hosts upgraded another couple to a better room so that we would not need to change rooms during our visit - a much appreciated arrangement. Thanks so much to Max and Sherri! Should we return to the area, we would choose to stay here again in a hearbeat.


Highly Recommended

4,8 su maggio 10, 2012

On the spur of the moment, we decided to visit Grand Marais, MN and because we like B&B's, we searched for one that would suit our needs. We wanted something that would be within walking distance of the main sites in the town while also being a good value. We found these things at MacArthur house and Max and Sherri are excellent hosts - warm and welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. Loretta and John Larkey


Exceeds all expectations!

5 su aprile 28, 2012

Max and Sherri are wonderful hosts and very friendly. The breakfasts alone are worth the price of the rooms. From our second story window we were able to watch the sun rise and set over Lake Superior! MacArthur House is in excellent condition and kept spotless. This was our third stay and we will return again.


Wonderful B & B

4,8 su febbraio 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at The MacArthur House. We were very pleasantly surprised with the overall light, airy, spacious interior of the house and our room had lots of windows offering lovely views of Lake Superior. Max and Sherri are gracious and accomodating hosts who are fun to chat with and they are happy to offer suggestions if asked. We will certainly go back again and would not hesitate to recommend this B & B as a wonderful place to unwind and relax and a convenient location from which to explore and do many different activities. Truly a good value!


Worthwhile

4,0 su febbraio 08, 2012

Very clean, well organised, very friendly, surpised no choice for breakfast luckliy we liked what we were served. A simpler breakfast would have sufficed . Parking was the biggest issue. Parking on the road was treacherous as the snow had melted and the road was an ice rink !


Clean and bright, friendly and pleasant hosts

4,2 su febbraio 01, 2012

We were in Grand Marais for the annual Crooked Spoon mid-winter wine dinner (which was excellent btw) the night of Jan. 28, 2012. In the past, we've stayed at several of the hotels in town, but wanted to try something different. The MacArthur House B&B was very nice, and we'll likely be back.


Pleasant stay

3,4 su novembre 22, 2011

We enjoyed our visit to MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast. We wanted something more than a hotel while we were on vacation in Grand Marais. A bed & breakfast provides a more personalized experience. Staying there was like being a guest in someone's beautiful home. It was very clean, and we were invited to the "public" areas of the home and yard. Our room (the smallest one) was nice, but lacked ambiance. The room was a bit spartan, and could have used a second chair. Breakfast did not disappoint; we enjoyed the gourmet meal the next morning. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and it was a good value.


Beautiful and inviting

5 su novembre 13, 2011

The inn is very beautiful. It is a great location and it is close to the shopping, dining and the lake. It has a wonderful view of the lake. Max and Sherri are very friendly and inviting. For our first time at a B&B, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.


Excellent value and well located

4,0 su novembre 06, 2011

This was our second visit to MacArthur house for a one night mini- break from Thunder Bay. The rooms are very comfortable and reasonably priced and make it an affordable treat to visit, do some local shopping and eat at the local restaurants. The house is well located in easy walking distance to the heart of Grand Marais. Wel plan on returning soon.


Our first Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su novembre 02, 2011

This was our first ever bed and breakfast to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We weren't quite sure what to expect and it was a little wierd "living" in another couple's house. Max and Sherri were wonderful and very welcoming. Plus they have great friends with whom we talked with for a while one night. The room was great and spacious. The jacuzzi was what we both needed. Breakfasts were delicious and the company was great. We would definitly visit them again when we get the chance.


Very delightful stay!

4,0 su ottobre 29, 2011

Max and Sherri were very welcoming. This is the first time we have stayed at a bed and breakfast and I just love the feeling of being a guest at somebody's home. I can not have gluten and they were prepared for people like me and they made gluten free waffles along with some very delicous potatoes and veggies. I recommend MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast, we had a very relaxing time.


Beyond my expectations!!!!

4,4 su ottobre 24, 2011

Very nice place to stay with homy athophere and wonderful breakfasts served by delightful people. Shared many interesting tips of area and wonderful company of other visitor to dine with. Thank you Max and Sherri


Fantastico!

5 su ottobre 21, 2011

My husband and I had an excellent stay. The food was delicious, the house was serene and beautiful . Max and Sherrie were so very kind and friendly. We'll love to come back !!! Great job guys, we thank you for making our stay a memorable trip! T&I


MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast

4,8 su ottobre 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the MacArthur House for our 25th anniversary. Our room was beautiful, very spacious and private. The bed was also very comfortable. Max and Sherri have a wonderful home and the breakfasts are delicous!


great stay!

4,2 su ottobre 12, 2011

Great place! Close to downtown Grand Marais. Really nice folks. Very clean.


Honeymooners

4,4 su ottobre 11, 2011

Max and Sherri upgraded our room for same price as original room booked since it was our honeymoon. We got to stay in the room with the Jacuzzi; very nice.. high ceilings, very clean and comfortable.


A great B&B in a great town

5 su ottobre 11, 2011

We stayed for two nights and were completely satisfied on all counts, but the breakfast deserves special mention. I've never had better at a B&B. The hosts, Max and Sherri were very personable and helpful.


A Repeat Guest

4,6 su ottobre 06, 2011

We've been staying annually with Max andSherri since they opened MacArthur House. It makes our trip perfect. Thank you!


MacArthur

4,0 su ottobre 03, 2011

Could use more soap; shampoo; and conditioner in the bathroom


MacArthur House: A Great Getaway

4,0 su settembre 26, 2011

This is a lovely Bed and Breakfast, in a beautiful lakefront town on Lake Superior. While the B and B isn't right on the lake, it is only a short (downhill) 2 block walk into town, where there are gourmet meals and artistic shops to visit. The house is modern and well kept up. Rooms are comfortable and bathrooms are wonderfully clean. Breakfasts were delicious and on time (even when there were 12 guests!). Highly recommend this place; you won't be disappointed.


Wonderful B&B

5 su settembre 24, 2011

My wife stayed two nights, one before we went on a 6 day BWCAW wilderness canoe trip, and one day after that trip. Wonderful accommodations, great hosts, delicious breakfast, excellent recommendation on where to eat. It was one of the nicest B&B's we've stayed in. Max prepared our breakfast a half hour early on our first day, so we could take off on our canoe trip. I highly recommend the MacArthur House!


my first visit but not my last

5 su settembre 23, 2011

This was my first time experiencing a bed and breakfast and was pleasently rewarded by awesome hosts and other guests. The communal breakfast was superb in every way and prepared fresh in the mornings.The room was very comfortable and offered all you could want. Would i recommend this as a place to stay-most definitely and i hope to see Max and Sherri again soon.Thank you :) Steve Colebourne & Shelley Kallos


Outstanding!

5 su settembre 20, 2011

This was a marvelous home to stay in! Hosts were warm and welcoming. Room was light and airy and spacious. Breakfasts (we stayed two nights) were lovely. Home is conveniently located a couple blocks up from town so easy to park the car and walk the town. Enjoyed the communal table - great conversation with people of like minds (like to travel, enjoy the out of doors). We visited in September and enjoyed not having to deal w/ kid "issues." Will be recommending MacArthur House to friends who visit this area.


Had a great stay and the MacArthur House!

4,2 su settembre 11, 2011

We stayed at the MacArthur House B&B on Saturday, 8/27. To our surprise we had the whole 3rd floor of the house to ourselves. The room was very nice along with the bonus living room and sitting area. The bathroom was also large. The view from our room was great- we could see Lake Superior. The breakfast the following morning was very good. We would stay here again.


Very Pleasant

4,0 su agosto 26, 2011

Max and Sherri are gracious hosts in this quiet space surrounded by beautiful gardens. My room was spacious, well appointed and immaculate. The pecan coffee cake at breakfast was beyond delicious! All the amenities I desired were available.


Great experience - we'll be back!

5 su agosto 26, 2011

We absolutely loved this Bed & Breakfast. The room was great (we stayed in the Alaska room). Very comfortable and lots of space. The breakfasts were fabulous! Convenient location to downtown - an easy walk to local shops and restaurants. We'll definitely be back!


Great Visit

4,6 su agosto 23, 2011

This was our second visit to the MacArthur House B & B. We love staying here and visiting Grand Marais and hope to visit again next year. Max and Sherri were great hosts. Breakfast was delicious. The common areas and rooms were comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our visit very much. Linda and Pat, Arizona


MacArthur House is a great place to stay

4,0 su agosto 21, 2011

The room was large with high ceilings. Spotless. Good bed. We would stay there again.


Great honeymoon getaway

4,6 su agosto 18, 2011

My new wife and I stayed for one night at the MacArthur house for the second night of our honeymoon and it was a wonderful experience. Grand Marais is a great town to spend some time in and the MacArthur how was a perfect cozy place to come back to. It really feels like a home away from home.


Loved MacArthur House B & B!

4,4 su agosto 16, 2011

We had a lovely overnight at this very neat b & b. Wonderful airy room, very clean, delicious breakfast & the opportunity to meet a very gentle, kind host.


Fantastic experience

5 su agosto 11, 2011

Max & Sherri were wonderful hosts, & breakfasts were wonderful! First bed & breakfast we stayed in, and it was great dining with new people. I HIGHLY recommend.


Great Grand Marais Stay

5 su agosto 10, 2011

Immaculate house, friendly, quiet, delicious food, beautiful gardens, very restful.


Superior!

5 su agosto 10, 2011

Pleasant, quiet, comfortable spacious rooms. Great hospitality, engaging conversation in the 'gathering room' and a wonderful breakfast is a great way to start the day and end your day on the north shore, Lake Superior! After 30+ years visiting Grand Marais, this is my favorite.


Great Stay!

4,8 su agosto 07, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at the MacArthur House. We will definitely try to get back to this area and stay there again. We had incredible breakfasts, a great room, immaculately clean, and the hosts were very helpful and welcoming!


Excellent Stay in Grand Marais

4,0 su agosto 07, 2011

I can thoroughly recommend MacArthur House. The rooms are comfortable and spacious (and we had one of the smaller ones) Max and Sherri are charming hosts and provide excellent breakfasts ,the communal dining makes for an enjoyable experience meeting interesting an varied people. Use of the lounge makes it feel like home from home. Ideally positioned only a few minutes walk from the town centre and even closer to some excellent restaurants Graham and Linda , England


MacArthur House--I'll stay there again.

4,8 su agosto 03, 2011

My friend and I stayed for five nights in the LaBerta suite and loved it. It was very comfortable, quiet, private, and convenient to the restaurants and shops in Grand Marais. The breakfasts were outstanding; Max is a terrific cook. Sherri and Max are very welcoming hosts, who make you feel right at home.


We had a great time at the MacArthur House!

5 su agosto 03, 2011

The setting was lovely and convenient, the hosts were charming, the food was great. We hope to come back again soon!


MacArthur House

4,4 su luglio 23, 2011

Sheri was a great hostess. It was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was great!


A Great Getaway

4,6 su luglio 15, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in July 2011. MacArthur House is in a wonderful location close to all amenities in Grand Marais. Accommodations were great. Slept well & ate even better. Max & Sherri are wonderful hosts. We will be back.


Average at best

3,2 su luglio 13, 2011

We too were put off about being met at the door with the "no shoe rule".I'm surprised they get such great ratings-we have stayed at many B&Bs and this is average at best.The home is very plain-white walls and carpet and no unique decor as many others have-more like a generic motel room. The breakfast was good but no seconds were offered and had no meat like bacon or ham with the egg dish.


Holiday weekend stay

4,0 su luglio 07, 2011

Max and Sherrie run a great B&B. The rooms are clean, the breakfasts were outstanding and the location is terrific. A great way to get some exercise by walking the few blocks to and from the marina and all of the shops.


Comfortable and classy

5 su luglio 07, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the MacAthur House B&B The food was great and hospitality even better. Great view of the lake and very close to the center of town, and centered between Cascade Sate Park and J.C. Magney State Park. Overall great place to stay!


Very nice place

4,2 su luglio 06, 2011

Very nice place to stay. We chose the simpler room to save a little money. It was nice. Normal type room and bath. Breakfast was very nice and hosts were friendly. We met some very nice people at the breakfast table.


Great first-time B&B experience!

4,6 su luglio 05, 2011

The B&B was very clean, welcoming, and the owners provided a wonderfully warm welcome. The food was terrific and the proximity to Grand Marais businesses was very close. I might suggest having a TV included in the North Shore room where we stayed one night. Keep up the excellent work!


MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast June 13, 2011 visit

5 su luglio 05, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful 1 night stay in Grand Marais. Max & Sherri were wonderful hosts. Sherri recommended a marvelous place for dinner - the Crooked Spoon. We'll be back at the MacArthur House when we next visit Grand Marais.


Outstanding stay!!

5 su luglio 04, 2011

Room was very cozy and comfortable. Price was affordable. Breakfast was super. Thanks Max and Sherri for a great stay! When we get to your area again, we will be sure to stay here!!


Celebrating One Year Anniversary!

5 su giugno 30, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the MacArthur House! It was the perfect way to celebrate our one year anniversary. We just stayed one night in the Birch Room, and it was very pleasant, very clean, and welcoming. The breakfast was fabulous! Great stay for a great value! Thank you!


Great Experience!

5 su giugno 27, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. The innkeepers were so friendly and gave us suggestions and ideas on things to do in the area. And breakfast was awesome! We would definitely stay again. Thanks so much for the great time.


MacArther House

5 su giugno 20, 2011

Very pleased with the rooms. Super clean. Excellent breakfasts! Excellent recomendations for local resturants too. Very nice people, very freindly.


no shoes and white carpet

3,0 su giugno 20, 2011

I didn't really care for the no shoe rule! At breakfast 2 of the guests came barefooted. To me the body oils in your feet are worse than if you wore shoes Also with the no shoes rule we felt a little intimidated in our room when we wanted to have a glass of wine. We were so afraid that we might spill a drop on the white carpet that we really didn't enjoy our wine all that much.. Otherwise it was very clean. Next time in the area tho I think I will opt for one that is right on the shoreline Frank and Pat Decker


Thank you for saving my wife's 60th Birthday Present!

4,8 su giugno 19, 2011

We wanted my wife's 60th Birthday to be special and it was, but only because of our wonderful hosts Sherri and Max. My 2 daughters researched and found this great bed and breakfast in Grand Marais, MN. To go with this long weekend was a trip to Isle Royale, a place she has never been even though she has driven around Lake Superior as a young adult. In order to make sure we were there on time, with no problems we rented a car, MORE about this later. When we got to the bed and breakfast we were warmly greeted by Sherri, shown our room and made to feel at home with her answering all the questions we had. I am sure she has answered them all many times before, but she made us feel like it was the first time. We had a great evening and went to bed with alarm clock set for an early ( before breakfast time) start the next day. Sure enough 6.30am we picked up coffee and cake from the kitchen and went outside to drive to Grand Portage for the ferry. This is 40mins at least. We had a flat tire on the rental car!!!!!!!!!!! Being handy I get out the spare and start to change it, the flat tire will not come off the car, so I start to inflate the flat tire. NOW this is where a good host turns into an OUTSTANDING HOST, they say "please take our car we do not want you to be late". We took them up on the offer and had a great day on the island and a great stay at the bed and breakfast. The following morning a leisurely breakfast was a real treat. Thank you again Sherri and Max for making a great birthday present possible. Would I recommend this as a place to stay, yes indeed it is like staying with family. Geoff Bull


Just Lovely

5 su giugno 01, 2011

Really lovely place to spend a night or two. Good food, very comfortable bed, lots of light (Superior Room), great hosts... I'd stay here again for certain.


Romantic Getaway in Grand Marais

5 su maggio 05, 2011

From the moment we walked through the door of the MacArthur House B&B, we felt right at home. Sherri and Max are wonderful hosts, creating a warm atmosphere and serving gourmet breakfasts. Our room ~ Superior ~ exceeded our expectations. The king size bed was fresh and comfortable, the linens soft and inviting. The MacArthur House is centrally located, permitting easy access to a variety of activities around the town. MacArthur House B&B is a must stay for anyone looking to explore the Northern Arrowhead. Kevin and Nancy S.


I'll be back

4,0 su aprile 03, 2011

From the first call to the end of the trip was an outstanding experience. Being it was my first time staying at a B&B all me questions were answered, the staff was friendly and I was reassured that the pics on-line did not do the house or rooms justice. The Price quotes were accurate and calls were returned promptly. I will use bedandbreakfast.com again and would definitely plan another trip to stay at the MacArthur House!


Wonderful stay in a special town

4,0 su febbraio 28, 2011

The hosts were helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was delightful and the location provided easy access to the downtown.


Great place

5 su febbraio 23, 2011

Sherri was a wonderful host and made a delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at MacArthur House, and hope to visit again in the summertime.


North Shore Getaway

4,4 su febbraio 16, 2011

A lovely experience. Max and Sherri provide comfort and camaraderie, along with a delicious breakfast.


Couldn't be better

5 su gennaio 19, 2011

Very nice building and rooms. Lovely breakfast and people. The price was very affordable and we enjoyed our stay.


Reed and Karla's 27th Anniversary

5 su gennaio 19, 2011

It was our first stay ever in a B&B. We had lived in Grand Marais a few years back, had seen the MacArthur House, and knew the Bichels; that was our primary reason for choosing the MacArthur House. We were astonished. We felt like we were honored guests in their home, but the photo album does no justice to the actual splendor of the rooms. It was a marvelous way to spend our 27th anniversary. And the food--wonderful!


New Year's Weekend

4,2 su gennaio 09, 2011

This was the perfect way for my husband and I to share our first married new year's together. We braved the icy roads to be surprised by a wine and appetizer social and had a chance to chat with the others staying. We had a quiet night in and enjoyed the quiet together. Breakfast the next morning blew my mind; asbolutely delicious! After checking out, we were able to 'explore' the town of Grand Marais which is cozy and welcoming. We can't wait to come back again. Thank you!


Lundell Stay

4,2 su ottobre 31, 2010

We had a wonderful time in your suite and were very appreciative of the upgrade. We'll definitely come again! Everything was wonderful. Thank you!


Highly recommend

4,6 su ottobre 06, 2010

Genial hosts, great location, good food and very clean, well maintianed rooms. I would recommend this B and B to anyone.


Best Breakfasts

5 su settembre 25, 2010

Max and Sheri are the BEST cooks. The food was delicious! In fact, a few days after our stay, I wanted to entertain guests and make the same frittata and pecan waffles that we had at the MacArthur House. Of course, I wanted them to taste as good as Max and Sheri's, so I called and asked if they would share their recipes. To my surprise, Max shared the recipes and was more than helpful in explaining exactly how he made the frittata and pecan waffles. This is definitely the place to stay in Grand Marais.


The Place to Be!

5 su settembre 22, 2010

If you're going to the Grand Marais area this is the place to stay. There are lots of activities, shops and no shortage of eateries. The B&B is within walking distance to almost everything in town. Max and Sherri are very hospitable and wonderful cooks, but give you your space. The other guests we met have been staying at MacArthur house year after year now we know why.


Great Stay - Great Breakfast!

4,6 su settembre 09, 2010

We stayed two nights at the MacArthur house and enjoyed both visits.


Very nice Bed and Breakfast

3,4 su settembre 02, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. Max was very helpful, the inn was walking distance to town and very spacious. Breakfast was nice but a bit too sweet for my taste.


Wonderful Accommodations - Even Nicer Hosts

5 su agosto 27, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at MacArthur House and only have positive comments to share. The accommodations were comfortable, clean, and spacious with a lovely yard and a great view of the lake. Max and Sherri were very pleasant - and helpful - from the time we walked in the door until our conversation at departure. Their input on restaurants in the area was spot on (there are some very talented restaurant owners in Grand Marais). And, breakfast both mornings was quite tasty and well done. We will stay there again the next time we visit Grand Marais.


Wonderful

4,8 su agosto 25, 2010

The MacArthur House was wonderful! Max and Sherri are great hosts and great cooks. Breakfast was AMAZING! The room was very clean and comfortable. Great location and easy to find. You will not be disappointed in your stay there!


Grand Marais B&B

3,0 su agosto 17, 2010

An OK place to stay. The room was very generic. I would probably choose a regular hotel over this B&B on my next trip to Grand Marais.


Medium priced Outstanding B & B

5 su agosto 14, 2010

The proprietors were friendly, well organized and efficient; the inn was very clean and well appointed with an up-to-date uncluttered look. The breakfasts were elegant; we felt like we were eating in a upscale restaurant. The room was delightfully roomy with a cathedral ceiling. The common areas (which included a living room, dining room and outdoor deck) were large and beautiful. We felt like we were renting a large, newer, well-maintained home. This B & B has our complete approval.


Great Time

5 su luglio 15, 2010

We were (all 10 people) sitting around the table talking for 2 hour and Max & Sherri are great hosts. We were celebrating our anniversary and they made it extra special for us.


Guest Not Customers, At Home Feel

5 su febbraio 01, 2010

Sherri was great. We felt like we were staying with an old friend. Just the right balance of privacy and personal service. Beautiful house in a great location!


our 5th year wedding anniversary

5 su ottobre 17, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the MacArthur House. Max and Sherri are tremendous hosts, the house is extremely clean, bright & cheerful, comfortable and nicely decorated. It is a fabulous and reasonably priced place to stay while in beautiful Grand Marais.


Excellent

4,0 su ottobre 08, 2009

Cozy, warm & comfortable. Hosts were very welcoming, clean rooms & common areas, wonderful food, great location. We loved it & will come again.


A prize above Lake Superior

5 su ottobre 03, 2009

We have stayed at this B&B for about 5 years. The hosts (owners) are fabulous and their food/hospitality is great.


"Best hosts in the business"

4,0 su settembre 25, 2009

Max & Sherri are truly the best when it comes to accomodating their guests with service and food. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are "squeaky" clean. They do everythig possible to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Joyce & I stayed from Sept.17th. to Sept. 20th.


Fabulous Time

5 su settembre 22, 2009

The owners--Sheri and Max are great. Not only do they cook a great breakfast to wake up to every morning, they are fun and hospitable. They welcomed us with open arms.


MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast

5 su settembre 22, 2009

Squeaky clean, fabulous food, spacious and warm homey feeling!


International Quality

5 su settembre 07, 2009

Max and Sherri were the ultimate hosts providing spotless, comfortable accommodations along with a natural gift for making people feel at home. Their gourmet breakfasts stack up to any 5-star restaurant and certainly nothing we've ever experienced at a B&B. We have stayed at B&B's from Montreal to Germany and this absolutely tops our list!


Best B&B in Grand Marais

5 su agosto 29, 2009

We enjoyed two nights at this wonderful B&B during our lodge-to-lodge hiking trip. Max and Sherri were the most gracious and warmest of hosts anyone could hope for, and they spoiled us rotten with their delicious gourmet breakfasts. Our room was huge and our bed was as soft as a cloud! We recommend the MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast to anyone staying in Grand Marais!


Sunshine Garden

3,4 su agosto 26, 2009

beautiful yellow house with warm and comfortable decor. Host was very pleasant and the breakfasts were delicious. Grand Marais was a gentle town with good restaurants and scenery of Lake Superior


Awesome Honeymoon

5 su agosto 18, 2009

We chose MacArthur House for our mini getaway after our wedding. Max & Sherri were wonderful. The inn was comfortable, the view from our room was awesome, and breakfast was scrumptious.


Coffee in Bed

4,4 su agosto 11, 2009

With a view of the Big Water and an excellent breakfast three days in a row, this was just the kind of place we were looking for. Max and Sherri host a spotless and relaxed B & B just a short walk from town. And MacArthur House gets extra points for having coffee available around 7:15am, over an hour before breakfast is served!


Gracious hosts and lovely rooms!

5 su agosto 08, 2009

I've stayed at MacArthur Bed & Breakfast over a period of nearly five years and I've never been disappointed in my time spent there. The location of the inn couldn't be better--it's quiet, yet convenient to shopping and restaurants. All the rooms are lovely and well maintained, and Max & Sherri as hosts are welcoming yet respectful of their guests' privacy. If you have any questions about restaurants, hiking or playing in the snow, they're always willing to provide information to help your stay be the best possible. They're great!


home away from home

5 su agosto 07, 2009

From the first step into the B&B, we felt at home- immaculate, greeted by owners, shown our great room, the sitting room, dining room. Breakfast was served beautifully- will truly return!


Best in Grand Marais

5 su luglio 28, 2009

This beautiful and clean Bed and Breakfast was the nice relaxing atmosphere I was looking for. They went out of their way to accomodate my schedule and provide me with a full breakfast early in the morning before the other guests had their breakfast. Super nice owners who love Grand Marais.


our stay

4,4 su luglio 22, 2009

We stayed two nights. Our room on the first floor was wonderful and spacious compared to other B&Bs we have stayed in. The hosts were wonderful people easy to talk to and gave great advice as to where to eat and what to do in town and the surrounding area.


Fourth of July weekend

4,6 su luglio 17, 2009

Lovely B&B, gardens beautiful, very clean accommodations, nice deck looking towards Lake Superior. Good breakfast, wonderful hosts.


Best B&B ever

5 su luglio 16, 2009

Large, clean rooms. Max and Sherry are friendly and Max at times can be talked into breakfast music on his violin. This was our fifth visit and we have reserved our sixth. The breakfasts are great!


first B&B

4,6 su luglio 13, 2009

Great place to stay, convenient. Really enjoyed the company of others at breakfast. Great breakfast!


Hiking couple's review

5 su luglio 13, 2009

If you're looking for personal kindness from your B & B hosts, Max & Sherri certainly provided that! They both are great cooks, the rooms are fabulous and we could see Lake Superior from ours. Max is a wonderful musician and serenaded us with his violin music at breakfast on our last day. You're a 3 block stroll from two great restaurants, with a wonderful view of the harbor as you turn toward town center. They cooked a sumptuous breakfast, shuttled us to our hiking for the day (ask them about the Superior Hiking Trail Inn-to-Inn program), and made great restaurant recommendations. Thanks so much for a fabulous stay, Max and Sherri!


Nice Relaxing Getaway

4,8 su luglio 04, 2009

This is a great place to stay and check out the area up North. It is very close to downtown, only 2-5 blocks to shops, restaurants, and Lake Superior. There is a view of Lake Superior from the jacuzzi tub which was extremely relaxing and much warmer then sticking your feet in the lake! The breakfast was delicious with a pleasant atmosphere and friendly company. All in all, I would love to come again to Grand Marais and stay at the MacArthur House B&B!


This was our first B & B

5 su giugno 23, 2009

This was a lovely home with great owners. We so enjoyed our stay there. The home is spacious and very clean. Wish we could have stayed longer and hope to go back someday.


we had a fantastic time!

4,8 su ottobre 28, 2008

The owners are so friendly and breakfast was superb! Rooms were great, too.


First Stay At A B&B

4,2 su ottobre 04, 2008

Stayed here as part of a hiking tour. Great breakfast, Max had helpful knowledge on area hiking. Sherri was out of town but had relaxing breakfast with two other guests and Max prior to heading out to hike. Just 4-5 block walk to downtown Grand Marais.


Quaint and charming

3,6 su luglio 24, 2008

We had a great time. It was the ultimate get away from our hectic work schedules. Staying at the MacAurthur House felt like being at home. It was roomy, quiet, and relaxing. The best part is the location. We walked everywhere. Thanks Max and Sherri for a great July 4th weekend.


Ultimate Hospitality

5 su luglio 07, 2008

We had the best time staying at this B&B! it was just as comfortable as being at home!


MacArthur House

3,2 su luglio 02, 2008

The bed in the beautiful superior room was very comfortable. The breakfast was yummy. The best part was the great chat we had with the talented and friendly owners, Max and Sherri.


outstanding

5 su giugno 04, 2008

this was an outstanding place to stay


MacArthur House

3,8 su giugno 02, 2008

Nice bright rooms, quiet setting friendly and informatative hosts, great hospitality.


What a view!

5 su agosto 17, 2007

We had a lovely stay at the MacArthur House and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. We especially enjoyed the beautiful flower gardens around the house, delicious breakfasts, and the large room with the extra confortable bed! Also, it was nice to be able to walk to town and see Lake Superior from our bedroom!


MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $64 - $179
  • Recensioni (214) 4,5
  • Camere 6
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2183871840
  • Gratuito 1-8007921840

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina