The Ellery House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,3
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,3
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
178 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful Weekend

5 su luglio 09, 2014

Lovely accommodations - thoughtful, gracious hosts. Would return gladly!


We had a very enjoyable stay - excellent breakfast!

4,4 su novembre 29, 2012

Very enjoyable stay in Duluth


Excellent Girls Weekend

5 su ottobre 31, 2012

Jim & Joan run an amazing B & B! I HIGHLY recommend the Ellery House. We had a girls weekend here and it was extremely relaxing! They are gracious hosts who go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast is fantastic and the afternoon cookies are to die for! The rooms come with little perks all over, such as robes and toiletrie items. They provide the option to have breakfast in your room, which is a lovely treat. Give the Ellery House a try...you will NOT be disappointed!


Great Experience!

5 su ottobre 24, 2012

My husband and I had a great experience at the Ellery House as we celebrated our first anniversary. Waking up to delicious coffee and the sunrise over the lake on the porch was an exceptionally energizing way to start the day! Breakfast was phenomenal; I wish we could have had more than one breakfast in a day. We had a very private experience when we wanted it and great company when we wanted it.


Relaxing Stay In Duluth

4,6 su ottobre 15, 2012

The owners of The Ellery House really know how to do this. They are there if you need them but are so unobtrusive. Jim was kind and helpful. They have most things set up to be self service, even lattes and espresso! They had delicious cookies and port and sherry as well. The room was nice but small, I think some of the others are larger. It was comfortable and we slept well. The breakfast was delicious and served with a beautiful presentation. All in all a really wonderful stay!


Great Hosts

3,8 su settembre 26, 2012

Jim was a great host and Innkeeper. The breakfast was great and we really enjoyed our room. Perfect location, close to everything.


Nice Breakfast

4,4 su settembre 24, 2012

Food for breakfast was good, food suggestions weregood. It had a nice wraparound porch.


Weekend of wonder

3,6 su settembre 19, 2012

We had a lovely weekend. The food, service and room was wonderful! My only thought was that the home needs some TLC (cobwebs in a few corners, pealing paint inside and out), plants dying from lack of water, ect.. I also found it strange that we never met Jan, just Jim. Would definately be back, especially for the stuffed french toast!


Fantastic Value!

5 su settembre 18, 2012

I stayed at Ellery House during a girls night out with my mom. The innkeeper, Jim, gave us many suggestions for dinner and even had menus available! The rooms had great historic touches and were very comfortable to sleep in. Breakfast was great with a variety of food, fruit and delicious coffee or lattes. I also felt that pricing was very reasonable compared to other B&Bs in the area. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in the Duluth area!


A real treat!

4,6 su settembre 17, 2012

Great hospitality, good food, and a lovely house add up to a real treat at The Ellery House. Do yourself a favor and spend time there.


Relaxing in Duluth

4,6 su settembre 15, 2012

We spend 3 days and nights at Ellery House to attend a wedding and relax. Our hosts Jim and Joan were very accomadating and generous. The meals were excellent in variety and quality. There was also espresso, cocca, cookies and prot or sherry for the evenings. We took advantage of these treats every evening. The B&B is well situated to the Duluth's urban activities of food, shopiing and museums. We will visit again and certainly stay at the Ellery House.


The Ellery Escape

4,6 su settembre 12, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time in the seclusion of the Daisy Suite at the Elelry House this past weekend. Jim and Joan are wonderful innkeepers/owners. The breakfasts were out of this world! Fantastic cuisine with creative presentation, palate, and complexity.


Really neat old home; wonderful inn keepers

3,8 su settembre 11, 2012

A very warm and inviting home with extremely nice inn keepers to make your stay what you want it to be. The breakfasts were very good and the fruit plates were tremendous. A very nice touch with the Tawny Port and Sherry set out in the evenings along with cookies and nuts.


Stay at Ellery House

5 su settembre 03, 2012

The hosts were warmly welcoming and served an excellent breakfast. It was fun to meet other people and talk around the communal breakfast table. We would stay there again.


Wonderful!

5 su agosto 31, 2012

What a wonderful place! Due to construction, we were having problems finding the place, so called Jim who directed us, but not only that, he walked up the street to meet us to be sure we didn't have any more problems. He is such a friendly, hospitable host! The room was very nicely decorated and so comfortable!!! Then time for breakfast...absolutely out of this world. Both mornings it was delicious and, the presentation was beautiful. We had it in our room with the door open to a beautiful view of Lake Superior. We stayed in the Ellery Suite. Jim and Joan make you feel like honored guests.


Fantastic

5 su agosto 30, 2012

My granddaughter and I stayed one night at the Ellery House recently. It was the first time for both of us at a B and B. The only disappointment was the construction on the avenue which made it difficult to get to. I called the owner and he graciously talked me the driveway. He was so pleasant. My granddaughter loved the baby Grand piano in the living room. She still tells me that was the highlight from our mini before school vacation. I definitely would advise The Ellery to anyone


Nirvana

5 su agosto 29, 2012

Lynne and I had such a relaxing and blessed time at Ellery House. Jim and Joan were the consumate hosts. Friendly and so conversatinalist. We relaxed in Daisy's Suite and will do so again. Joan , do not make yourself scarce, would have loved to met you. The breakfasts you created were amazing.We miss you already. David and Lynne Gary Eagan, MN


Awesome getaway!

5 su agosto 27, 2012

A wonderful B&B that included delicious treats, bathrobes, a super comfortable bed and friendly care-takers.


Ellery House

5 su agosto 27, 2012

We had a great time, the house is beautiful, the rooms comfortable and spacious, and the breakfast was absolutely amazing! Shawna & Mike


Duluth Highlight

3,6 su agosto 21, 2012

Host was extremely helpful and informative about local restaurants and activities. The room was adequate and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.


warm and inviting B&B

5 su agosto 18, 2012

The service and attention to details was wonderful!


Great place to stay!

5 su agosto 15, 2012

Great rooms, great food, great hosts, and convenient, easy to find location. What's not to love. Our first choice every time we are in Duluth.


Victorian Charm

4,2 su agosto 05, 2012

This was our first experience staying in a B&B. We were not disappointed at all. Our Daisy room was spacious and clean with an old Victorian charm. Our innkeepers were very accomodating and friendly. The clawtooth tub and shower were a delight to end our days from touring the Duluth area. What a treat to relax in a tub with plenty of leg room for my 6 foot husband and I. The breakfasts were delicious and my favorite experience of our stay. Fresh fruit, souffles, homemade muffins and jams to name a few selections. You will not be disappointed. in staying at this B & B.


One of the good ones

4,8 su agosto 03, 2012

Jim is a very helpful friendly host. Great coffee and a terrific breakfast. Wonderful room.


Our Favorite B&B

3,6 su luglio 31, 2012

The breakfasts at the Ellery House are heaven on a plate! We also enjoy very much having an extra porch room attached to the Daisy Suite for our own use. An extra bed (when snoring is a problem), and a "table for two" for breakfast in our room. Jim and Joan are GREAT hosts who do all they can to make your stay in Duluth a pleasurable experience. Jim always has great recommendations for restaurants and sites to see. We will definitely be repeat customers.


The sunporch room was perfect!

4,2 su luglio 31, 2012

After a month of long, hot, sticky days or days locked inside with AC, it was completely wonderful to sit in Daisy's Sunporch with the windows open and enjoy a lovely breeze off of Lake Superior. Our hosts were gracious and the home was lovely. We fell in love with Lena the cat!


Satisfactory stay

3,4 su luglio 25, 2012

The innkeepers are great people! The B&B may not be our best choice of lodging. (My husband wondered where the TV was!) My main complaint was that the windows were filthy. Not listed in AAA and maybe that's why. Also there is no AC (window units and fans) and no main floor bath.


Quiet night at the Ellery House

4,6 su luglio 23, 2012

My daughter, who is 25, and I decided to stay at a B & B in Duluth at the last minute. In fact I made reservations at noon for that night. We were looking for a quiet get away. The Ellery House totally exceeded our expectations. We were warmly greeted by Jim. Just stepping in the front door, takes you back to a time when life was far less complicated. The rooms were spacious with a grand piano in the center of the living room. We had a choice of two rooms for the night, and we chose the Thomas Wahl. This room is done in gold and browns with a fireplace in the corner and a small table with two chairs in front of the bay window and a marble sink and shower with bath robes.The feather bed was so wonderful that we didn't want to leave the next morning. In fact, it was the most restful night's sleep that we'd had in quite a while. We even played a game of Clue in the dining room complete with hot chocolate and chocolate chip cookies, which were addictive. There was fresh coffee outside our room at 7:00 am. We had a choice of having breakfast in our room or in the dining room. We ate at 9 am and had the dining room all to ourselves for such a fabulous breakfast: Fresh fruit plate, stuffed french toast, maple cured bacon and beverages. Jim joined us for coffee, and we also met Joan, his other half. My daughter even went back to bed after breakfast. I urge you to make arrangements to stay at the Ellery House, it will be an enjoyable experience. We plan on staying here for our next trip to Duluth.


Loved the Ellery House

3,8 su luglio 18, 2012

The Ellery House was wonderful! The room was clean, there were extra's like CD player and romantic music, two wine glassed with a cork screw...plenty of towels and really soft robes. The innkeeper was pleasant and easy to talk to. Lena the cat was entertaining. Loved that there was no TV


Beautiful!

5 su luglio 18, 2012

A couple of friends and my husband and I recently stayed at the Ellery House! What a wonderful place! The innkeepers were very accommodating, the rooms were comfortable and lovely, and the food was out of this world! We will definitely be back!


We went back...and we glad we did!!!!

3,8 su luglio 11, 2012

Since this was our third visit to The Ellery House, it seems kind of evident that we love the place!! And, since it was our third visit, it makes it hard to rate everything as a "five star" experience since they met that level the first time AND the second time, their EXCELLENT rating becomes the expected norm. So, yes, when we have the chance and are in the area, we will certainly stop by again and stay at The Ellery House.


A very Plesent stay

5 su luglio 10, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Ellery House. The room was great and being from South Louisiana sleeping with the windows open and a nice cool breeze blowing in was fantastic.I have to tell you what we enjoyed most was breakfast. The breakfast you served was great But sitting down for breakfast with you and your wife and your other guest is what we enjoyed most. We got carried away and spent most of the morning just talking. Again thanks for a very plesent stay.


Honeymoon At The Ellery House

5 su luglio 02, 2012

Absolutely Wonderful! My wife and I recently stayed at the Ellery House. The house is beautifully furnished. I have never slept on a more comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious and fhere was plenty of it! The owners looked after every detail and made us feel very special. We are already planning our next visit!


The Ellery House needs a lick of paint.

3,2 su giugno 20, 2012

It's just a bit under the weather. Hosts are wonderful! They bake cookies and muffins in the kitchen and the smells are excellent! I had to fix the toilet. Didn't refill. Barely flushed. Chipped paint everywhere, and peeling paint on the outside. Smells nice though! Needs a bit of TLC!


Great place to stay for Grandma's Marathon

4,4 su giugno 20, 2012

We stayed here while I ran Grandma's Marathon. It was great! Nice place to stay to rest before and recover after the race. Jim and Joan were very accommodating with the early wake up time on Saturday and need for breakfast. Very nicely allowed us to use the kitchen for our delivery order after the race. The only thing is I wish I had realized my room did not have a bathtub in it because I really needed to soak my legs! Oh well. I would highly recommend this place in Duluth.


Our Ellery House Experience

4,8 su giugno 13, 2012

A wonderful relaxing stay with a marvelous breakfast and innkeepers who treated us like family.


Always a pleasure!

5 su giugno 13, 2012

This was our 7th stay at the Ellery House. We always feel so pampered there.


Great Honeymoon stay

4,6 su giugno 08, 2012

We had a great time at the Ellery House. The owners are very friendly and informative. The food was so absolutely the best. We paid for the honeymoon extras and they were more than we expected. We would highly recommend this B&B.


Enjoyed our stay at the Ellery House!

4,4 su giugno 06, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Ellery House. Great location and exceptional value. Very private and Jim and Joan were very friendly and accommodating. I'd recommend to anyone!


Great place to stay!

4,6 su giugno 06, 2012

What a beautiful place. The owners were so nice and the breakfasts were delicious. Greatly enjoyed the "house cat". The only less than positive thing I have to say is that the lake view consisted of what could be seen over the tops of the trees so was a bit obstructed. But the beauty of the house and grounds more than made up for that. The sunroom was delightful and we spent a great deal of time in there. Bed was very comfy and warm (as were the fabulous robes). I would stay there again. Very enjoyable!


Four Day Stay in Duluth

5 su giugno 02, 2012

Returning to our former city we knew right where we wanted to stay - at the Ellery House. We had been there once before on a return visit and found the accommodations, food, and fellowship outstanding. It is centrally located and gave us quick and easy access to the places we wished to visit. A good supply of local information - including menus - was available, and advice was readily offered when asked for. We look forward to retuning to Duluth and to the Ellery House.


We'll be back!

5 su maggio 30, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast and it surpassed our expectations. I highly reccommend the Daisy Suite with it's cozy sunporch and wonderful claw foot tub. Jim was very hospitable and the food was delicious. We loved that breakfast was brought to our room and displayed so nicely. It was a fabulous get away. We will definitely be coming back. Kathy Doucette & John Ruddy


anniversary get away

3,8 su maggio 26, 2012

We had a great time and was good to get away for a couple of days.


Amuch needed respite

5 su aprile 23, 2012

Little did the owners of the Ellery house (Jim and Joan) realize what a gift they gave my husband and me . We had just dealt with 3 family deaths and decided we needed a quick get away. What a great retreat it was. Jim was a super host and easy to talk with and Joan cooking is awesome! Every detail was attended too and we hope to return sooner than later! Thank you Inn Keepers its a real gift you have! Rick and Fran Myran


best ever kind hearted

5 su aprile 19, 2012

cozyness of the Ellery house , the pride and uniqueness of it. the care and specialty in food


Will definitely book another stay soon

5 su aprile 10, 2012

The only regret I have about staying at the Ellery House is that we only stayed one night. In the future, I would stay longer. Jim and Joan were very hospitable and friendly. The goodies made by Joan were amazing (I'm now a chocolate chip macademia nut cookie convert). The house was clean and had great character. We can't wait for our next stay.


excellent experience

5 su marzo 29, 2012

Room is very nice. Hosts are most friendly but not intrusive. Breakfast is generous and delicious. Fine dining options within easy driving distance.


The Ellery House is sure to impress!

4,6 su marzo 14, 2012

We had a wonderful mini vacation in Duluth and a wonderful stay at the Ellery House B&B.


Top Notch Hospitality

5 su marzo 02, 2012

What a tremendous place! Jim and Joan have tended to every little detail with their guests comfort in mind. We lacked for nothing. It was hard to leave. We felt so pampered. We stayed in the Daisy Suite. LOVED IT! Very spacious, private, and quiet. We only knew the other guests were in the house by seeing their vehicle in the parking lot. Warning: it is above the kitchen so you smell the breakfast and afternoon cookies baking. Smells so delicious it is hard to wait for them to be ready to eat. Everything was delicious and served with flair. I don't give high ratings easily. I won't give great marks for just meeting my expectations. But this was truly an outstanding experience. Far exceeded our expectations and 5 stars have been earned. Thank you Jim & Joan for such an enjoyable stay.


Wonderful time at a beautiful victorian B&B

5 su febbraio 29, 2012

In Feb 2012, we reserved the Daisy Suite at the Ellery House B&B in Duluth and loved every minute of our stay. The breakfasts were delicious, very creative, and beautifully served. Each room was elegant yet comfortable, nicely decorated with period furniture, and spotlessly clean. The little touches were so nice. When we arrived we found fresh flowers and home made truffles in our room. Jim is a gracious host with entertaining and interesting stories, and a most accommodating personality. We will definitely come back again!


Two nights on the hill.

3,8 su febbraio 29, 2012

Kind, friendly hosts. Beautifully presented, absolutely delicious breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Relaxed atmosphere.


Thomas Wahl Room 22-23 Feb 2012

3,8 su febbraio 27, 2012

Friendly hosts, super breakfasts - especially the Strawberry Rhubarb muffins! Will defintely recommend to friends and family!


Terrific Winter Stay!

4,4 su febbraio 22, 2012

This was my 2nd time at the Ellery House and as always, things were outstanding. Service is very personable, rooms and beds are fantastically comfortable, and the food is splendid. I look forward to my next return.


Babymoon!

5 su febbraio 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed there as we wanted to relax, and it was a great place to do it! The breakfast was excellent and Jim had all sorts of good ideas for things to do if we wanted.


Ellery House - loved it

3,8 su febbraio 10, 2012

We had a very enjoyable time at Ellery House. A lovely location, beautiful home, skilled and experienced innkeepers. And breakfast rocked!


AMAZING STAY :)

4,0 su febbraio 01, 2012

We needed a weekend away, and we found the right place! From the time we got there everything fell into place, Jim made us feel right at home. We did not get the chance to meet Joan but I'm sure she's just as kind. The food was out of this world good!! Sooo good, I'd go back just to eat. This was our first b&b so we weren't sure what to expect, we are at a stand still because we want to talk and not be hushed, but really enjoy every other thing about this place. I'm sure we'll be back! Unforgettable place that's for sure !!


Gracious Host, Comfy Bed, Affordable rate

4,8 su gennaio 23, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ellery House Bed and Breakfast in Duluth. We stayed in the Thomas Wahl Room which has a beautiful view of Lake Superior from the seating area located in the room’s bay window. During the summer, the lake wouldn’t be visible, but a beautiful canopy of trees would be lovely as well. The room’s corner fireplace is very romantic. The inn is located 2 short blocks from the 7+ mile Lakewalk along Lake Superior which is beautiful all 4 seasons of the year. My husband has a herniated disc and he said the bed was perfect. The furniture throughout the B&B consists of beautiful antiques, all which coordinate beautifully with the natural woodwork in this architectural gem. The breakfasts are unbelievably wonderful. I have probably stayed in 15 different B&Bs, and the breakfasts here were the best. The fresh fruit was wonderful quality, and beautifully presented. The egg dishes were fabulous, and the raspberry muffins with a light lemon glaze were outstanding. The snacks and beverages provided here is a very nice feature. There is an espresso/latte machine which looked quite fun- too bad I don’t drink coffee. There was Port and Sherry wine, also hot water for tea, or chocolate. There are snacks as well--fabulous chocolate chip cookies that are made daily, also nuts and salty snack mix. The hosts Jim and Joan were so helpful. I have gone to Duluth for years, and Jim pointed us to small restaurants with great food that I had never heard of. With the absence of snow for skiing, he gave us good ideas for other things to do. His charming conversation made us feel like we had been friends for years. I highly recommend the Ellery House B&B


Great place!

4,0 su gennaio 20, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Ellery House and enjoyed it very much. It was clean, comfortable and very nice to come back to each night. We loved the breakfasts and Jim is a wonderful host. It was one of our most enjoyable B&B experiences.


Amazing Stay! It made our Anniversary Weekend Memorable!

5 su gennaio 14, 2012

This victorian dream house, decorated for Christmas, is very ideal for a anniversary stay in Duluth, Mn. We stayed in the Daisy suite which is a lovely 3 room suite with a grandeur turn of the century bathroom and quite a view from the sunroom. The innkeepers were knowledgeable about the area and were able to make applicable suggestions of hot spots in the area, even in January. Mornings greeted us with gorgeous sunrises over the lake, and the wood-burning stove wrapped us in warmth. Breakfasts were dreamy as baked french toast, egg and ham souffle, wide varieties of fresh fruit and to die for strawberry rhubarb muffins! We want to go back soon!


Great Location

4,2 su gennaio 12, 2012

Very warm welcome by the owner.Great breakfast ! Only a short walk down to the lake. Would definitely go back.


just enough

2,8 su gennaio 03, 2012

-room was just how it was described- it was clean, big, and a nice home feel -service- was attentive, respectful of privacy, and on time -cleanliness- the room was cleaned when out, it was quick and daily -dining- decorative fruit which is always cute, however the "main breakfast dish"was limited. no variety outside of bread, eggs, and cheese Overall a great room and house and would consider returning.


incredible stay! would recommend!

5 su gennaio 03, 2012

Jim and Joan are excellent hosts with a beautiful getaway! The Ellery House was outstanding, gorgeous rooms, delicious food, and outta this world coffee!


Great little getaway!

4,4 su dicembre 21, 2011

My wife and I wanted to get out of town and relax before the birth of our first child. Never staying at a B&B before, I researched some in Duluth and found this reputable neighborhood gem. Finding the Ellery House took a couple trips around the block, but we made it! Welcomed by Jim at the front door, we felt right at home. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and very clean. Jim suggested some great places for dinner, and gave us a coupon for the Aveda Salon, so we could get a cheaper couple's massage! We stayed in the Ellery Suite and enjoyed the great view of Lake Superior. Jim delivered our breakfast in the morning and told us all about the meal. Like others mentioned in their reviews, the food was absolutely outstanding! The presentation was very creative and the variety was great! We would have breakfast there every day if we could....WOW! Mouthwatering! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the Ellery House and got us "hooked" on B&Bs. What a great experience! We will be back!


Amazing Stay at the Ellery House

5 su dicembre 15, 2011

I absolutely LOVED the Ellery House. It was my first B&B in the United States, and now I am spoiled. Jim and Joan's breakfast was the most amazing thing ever (Note: Do not try to diet if you are staying with them). The rooms were so cozy and romantic.


Ellery house Dec. stay

5 su dicembre 15, 2011

The breakfast's are outstanding in taste and quanity. Great hosts highly recommended. Mark and Shari


The perfect weekend get away!

5 su novembre 17, 2011

My husband and I went on a weekend getaway to the Ellery House and could not have been more happy with out stay. The Innkeepers were the nicest people I have ever met and the food was absolutely delicious! We will definitely be coming back and recommending this place to all of our friends looking for a little vacation just a few hours away.


The Ellery House

4,2 su novembre 13, 2011

It was a great experience...we expected to meet other guests, but as it turned out we were the only ones who chose to eat in the dining room. Jim was very kind and sat with us. Enjoyed the conversation. Would have been nice to meet Joan. We loved our stay in Duluth and thank The Ellery House for helping make it absolutely perfect!


Cozy, quiet, comfortable stay in Duluth

4,0 su novembre 02, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ellery House - Jim was a great host. The B&B was actually full both nights that we stayed, but you would never know it - when we were there it was always quiet and cozy. We stayed in the Ellery Suite - I absolutely loved the big picture window and the fireplace. We'd certainly come here again and/or recommend this B&B to friends and family.


Brief Duluth Getaway

5 su novembre 01, 2011

My wife and I stayed for only one night on a quick getaway and we absolutely loved the Ellery House! It was easy to find, near the lakefront attractions, and Jim was very pleasant and gave great advice on fun and dining. Worth every penny, we'll be back for sure!


Highly Recommend

4,8 su ottobre 26, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Ellery House in October and had a wonderful stay. Jim, the innkeeper, was a great host and was helpful in providing hiking and restaurant tips. The breakfasts were outstanding and fresh, homemade baked goods were available each afternoon along with a great selection of teas, port/sherry, and access to an espresso machine. I would highly recommend staying at The Ellery House.


Excellent B & B

4,6 su ottobre 21, 2011

What a wonderful way to spend our 5th Wedding Anniversary! Delicious food and exceptional service! Jim and Joan are wonderful innkeepers! Would recommend this B & B to everyone! Don't miss out on the cookies..they are delicious!!!


Amazing getaway?

5 su ottobre 18, 2011

This place exceeded our expectations! Everything was simply amazing! It was our first visit to the North Shore so we appreciated all of their recommendations for us, which hit our interests right on the nose. I also appreciated the breakfast. I'm new to being gluten free and they took all the worries away with preparing a delicious in room breakfast that I didn't have to worry about. (the tastiest I've had in a long time!) All of the touches were delightful and I can't wait to go back there!


Another perfect visit to Duluth

4,8 su ottobre 11, 2011

Ellery House continues to be my absolute favorite place to stay. I travel for work a lot and usually stay in chain hotels. The hospitality that I get from Jim and Joan is a real treat and the house really has started to feel like a home away from home. Not to mention that the stuffed french toast is worth the two hour drive to Duluth all by itself!


Great place! Wonderful hosts!

5 su ottobre 03, 2011

My wife and I did a weekend trip to Duluth and this was our favorite place by far. My wife loves big, old houses and this fits the bill. It was clean, well kept, and the service was great. Breakfast was amazing and so was the coffee. Our room was the Ellery suite and it was so nice. We loved the porch, in room gas fireplace, and the antique feel of it. We loved that they had a self service espresso machine in the kitchen that you could use anytime you want. A great value and will recommend to anyone traveling to Duluth. Thank you Jim & Joan!


fabulous!!

5 su settembre 28, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at the Ellery House. It was fabulous! The owners were very knowledgeable and helpful with activities and restaurants in the Duluth area. The breakfasts were super delicious!!! It was a very relaxing weekend.


The Ellery House

4,0 su settembre 25, 2011

We stayed at The Ellery House for 3 nights as a part of our honeymoon. The room was very nice and comfortable. The breakfasts were great, and it was evident that there was much care taken in preparing and serving it to us. Jim is very knowledgeable of the local area and had many good suggestions for places to visit and eat. We would definitely stay there again.


Charming and Restful Respite

4,6 su settembre 17, 2011

I was immediately smitten with The Ellery House, which sits on a hill above Lake Superior and is filled with antiques. Jim is a helpful and friendly host. My favorite part was our huge bathtub - great for soaking after a run on the lakefront path. The fruit salad that came with breakfast was a work of art, as well as fresh and abundant. I can't wait to come back and stay for more than one night!


Stay in Duluth

3,8 su settembre 11, 2011

Very clean. Host was above and beyond on accommodating us. Food was excellelt and presented well. Very nice stay.


Excellent Host

4,0 su settembre 09, 2011

My stay at the Ellery House was great! I found it to be very charming. The food was excellent. Jim knew that I am interested in being a B&B owner and really took the time to talk to me about the business and industry. I really appreciated that. It was a very nice touch. Thanks, Jenny


Ellery House

4,0 su agosto 31, 2011

Excellent service, food and hospitality. I highly recommend.


Awesome place!

5 su agosto 15, 2011

The Ellery House was exquisite in every way. We relaxed, enjoyed the food and the company! We would go back and recommend this place!


Our overnight stay in Duluth

4,4 su agosto 11, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ellery House. Directions to reach the B&B were clear (despite alot of construction). The owners were very hospitable, the room was comfortable and quiet and breakfast was outstanding. We would recommend Ellery House to anyone visiting Duluth.


The Ellery House is a great retreat!

5 su agosto 11, 2011

Jim and Joan are so welcoming. It is a great place to stay to get away from the stress of everyday life. I stayed in Lilla's Room which is a very relaxing room decorated in blue and white. I loved my stay at the Ellery House.


Great experience! Great food! Gracious host!

4,2 su agosto 06, 2011

Great experience! Great food! Gracious host! We truly enjoyed our stay. Although only 1 night, it was our first trip to Duluth. When we go back, we won't hesitate to stay again. The breakfast was all we had wished for after reading our MN local cookbook. Close to downtown for convenience, but tucked away and quiet for great sleeping!


So much fun!

5 su agosto 02, 2011

The Ellery House was the perfect, quaint weekend get-away spot. Jim and Joan were wonderful hosts who stay up to date on the restaurant, activities, and events in the area. The property is a short distance from Duluth's bustling main street (Superior). And, most importantly, the breakfast is unbeatable in terms of quality, including locally produced ingredients.


Ellery House Review- Duluth, MN

4,2 su agosto 01, 2011

Host was most congenial, house was lovely and fun to meet other guests. Located close to many of the historic downtown activities.


Great honeymoon!!

4,6 su agosto 01, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at the Ellery House. Jim greeted us as soon as we arrived and gave us a bunch of information of things to do in the area. He was so nice and helpful. We chose to have breakfast in our room every morning and the food was amazing. We were so full after eating breakfast every morning. We are planning on going back to the Ellery House on future anniversaries.


Sunday getaway

4,0 su agosto 01, 2011

It was a bit spendy for a single night, but the "character" of the vintage house and hosts made for a nice stay. We enjoyed the morning conversation at breakfast and the food was wonderful.


A Wonderful Choice

4,8 su luglio 30, 2011

The B & B was wonderful in every way. Very convenient location and the North Shore route was very easy to navigate.


The best experience ever!!

5 su luglio 29, 2011

The Ellery House is a fabulous bed and breakfast. From the beginning of our visit we were treated like "family" by both Jim and Joan. They seem to have perfected how much interaction you want with the innkeepers. They were always around when we had a question but left you to explore the beautiful Ellery House. We stayed in the Ellery room and felt like we had stepped back into a different time. The room had a beautiful bedroom, sitting room and balcony with the modern convenience of air conditioning. Thank goodness! It was so hot outside but very comfortable in our room. So after getting a few suggestions from Jim about where we could go for dinner we went to explore beautiful Canal Park. When we returned to our room we filled out our breakfast request and decided to have breakfast in our room. We woke up early and there was fresh coffee outside the door which we were able to enjoy on our balcony in the cool of the morning. Breakfast was absolutely incredible from the warm homemade strawberry rhubarb muffins to the beautiful delicious fruit plate and a ham, cheese, and egg dish with fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee, it was a breakfast to remember. I cannot say enough about the Ellery House. It was above and beyond the experience I was looking for and I look forward to staying there again and I will tell all of my friends and family. I mentioned it to all of the businesses I went into while I was visiting Minnesota and Wisconsin. Thank you Jim and Joan for a wonderful stay!


Ellery House was a superior stay on trip around Lake Superior

4,6 su luglio 24, 2011

Friendly welcome, relaxed hosts and atmosphere. The rooms were well appointed and air conditioned which was very welcome given the extreme hot spell. Loved that there was a lovely antique table and chairs for enjoying a glass of wine in the room. The breakfast was superior and the fruit art beautiful and tasty. Really enjoyed the host joining the dining table to visit while we ate breakfast. Would highly recommend this B&B and would return.


Ellery House

4,4 su luglio 16, 2011

We stayed at the Ellery House B&B 2 nights over 4th of July 2011. It was beautiful and very relaxing. The Inn keepers went out of their way to make sure everyth was great for our stay. The food was ranked with the best we have ever had at a B&B. If you are looking for a relaxing, restful break from daily grind, this is the place for you! Thank you Jim & Joan. Kathy & Mark Dunker


lovely experience

4,2 su luglio 06, 2011

We spent only one night at the Ellery House but will certainly be back. Duluth is a great place to visit and we found the Ellery House to be a beautiful spot with wonderfully warm hospitality. We felt the rooms were a good value and the breakfast was superb.


Grand old lady of Duluth

3,8 su luglio 05, 2011

This old Victorian home is a great place to stay if you are into charm and history. It is readily accessible from the freeway, yet it seems set off by itself, surrounded by trees and set up on a hillside. Our room was small, but clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. We had our choice of breakfast served in the room or down in the dining room. We chose the latter and it gave us a good opportunity to visit with Jim, since we were the only guests that night. The breakfast fare is excellent for getting a good start on the day. The only thing lacking, if one wanted it, is television.


Wish we could do this all over again. Excellent!

5 su luglio 04, 2011

Dear Jim & Joan Thank you so much for an excellent stay while Freddie & Willie had to do their training on the Cirrus. We miss the outstanding breakfasts every day. Your guesthouse is definitely on top of our list, should we come back to Duluth again. Enjoy the summer! We are back home and it is really cold. Best regards Freddie & Anesta Greyling


Duluth get-away

3,8 su luglio 03, 2011

we enjoyed our stay. the room was very nice and the breakfast was FANTASTIC. the downside, on a main street with LOTS of traffic, it was also easy to miss the turn into the driveway. A little confusing on where to park. It seemed like the driveway was shared by three other properties. Seemed a little pricey.


A great B&B for runners

3,8 su luglio 01, 2011

Jim was an incredible host. He helped orient me to running trails and paths as well as a vegan/vegetarian place for dinner. Overall, a wonderful stay; I highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Duluth!


Will return again and again!

5 su giugno 28, 2011

Stayed here on our honeymoon and for our sixth anniversary. Will return for many anniversaries to come. Close to downtown and Canal Park. Beautiful setting. Delicious food. And great innkeepers!


Excellent B & B in Duluth

4,2 su giugno 26, 2011

This was our second stay at Ellery House, which equals an endorsement: we went back because we enjoyed it last time we were in Duluth. The location is very convenient, the host Jim is very hospitable (even for a b & b), the rooms very comfortable. Although it is on a busy street minutes from downtown, there is a secluded feeling to it (I think the front rooms may experience a little traffic noise, but ours was certainly quiet). The old Victorian could use a bit of spiffing up - they are restoring it beautifully, but a little work still needs to be done. The breakfast is wonderful and very filling, we didn't need lunch that day. Bottom line: first-rate b & b, we'd go back.


Ellery House

5 su giugno 19, 2011

Had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed the hosptality and comfort of our stay at the Ellery House in Duluth MN.


Love Ellery House!

4,4 su giugno 18, 2011

Wonderful place to stay. Very close to all the highlights of Duluth. The breakfasts were so wonderful and the cookies hit the spot after a long day hiking Gooseberry falls in the afternoon. Wonderful hosts. Hope to visit again!


Excellent Service

4,6 su giugno 02, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay ath the Ellery House in Duluth MN. The food was fantastic and we really enjoyed talking with Jim Halquist, one of the innkeepers. The service is what made this stay great!


Try this suite!

5 su maggio 25, 2011

Daisy's Suite is the perfect space to relax and look at the view.


Ellery House Review

4,0 su maggio 22, 2011

Owner Jim, very personable and welcoming. Helpful with city directions. Charming early century house with period decor. Comfortable bed and room. Cozy fireplace. Food was great. Thank you!


Very, very nice people run the Ellery House!

4,6 su maggio 22, 2011

My husband and I were very impressed with the wonderful people who run the Ellery House - the best part was the great breakfast conversations and incredible food! The house was confortable. We had a great time in Duluth.


Great weekend getaway.

5 su maggio 18, 2011

This was our second stay and it was as good as the first. We will definitely be back again.


Wow!

4,2 su maggio 15, 2011

My wife and I spent an evening at the Ellery House and were immediately amazed by the hosts' service. We were given a nice list of things to see and do in the area, and given recommendations for the top few dining areas that met our desires. We chose to have breakfast in the sunporch of our room. The meal was incredible and so was the atmosphere.


Excellent experience for a great price

4,8 su maggio 04, 2011

We could not have been more impressed. We plan on staying here each time we come to Duluth!


snow on may 2

4,8 su maggio 02, 2011

Very comfortable, clean rooms. Great soap! You can buy more to take home. Plush robes. Amazing breakfast & fruit display! Poorly marked without a big sign. Would definitely recommend it.


Wonderful Hospitality!

4,6 su aprile 20, 2011

So nice to take in a relaxing ambiance with a gas fireplace and a beautiful view of Lake Superior. But what really stood out about this place was the hospitality and yummy food (maple syrup bacon & appple muffins)!!! Breakfast in the room with a cup of hot coffee was a great way to begin the day. Jim even helped me to my snow covered car after the spring snow! Thank you for a wonderful stay :-)


The Ellery House

4,2 su aprile 20, 2011

I think they need to offer more then one breakfast. You don't know what you are getting until it's delivered to your door. They also have to offer healthy breakfasts as the food was excellent, it wasn't too healthy. I also wish that places wounldn't make their pictures on the web look so perfect. As we arrived at the house, it looked rather run down and we had second thoughts getting out of our car, although nice, it wasn't as nice as the picture made it seem. It's 120 years old so for it's age it was in good shape, but expect some wear and tear. I think it's an on going restoration project. It was an enjoyable stay and I think we would stay there again, but, you always take a chance on B&B's because they are run the way the owners feel it should be run. Jim, the owner was as nice as could be and even helped me, along with a guest, get my stuck car out of the driveway. He knew Duluth very well and suggested a nuimber of things for us to do. He was short staffed too as his wife was out of town, but he never missed a beat. All and all a very nice stay, and as I mentioned, we would stay there again.


Excellence!

4,4 su aprile 14, 2011

We had a great stay. Jim was a wonderful host, and breakfast was AWESOME. It was my partners first time in a b&b and I'm glad we picked this one, because now I think he may be hooked!


A warm stay on a cool weekend.

3,8 su aprile 14, 2011

The high light of the stay was the food. It was fantastic. Jim and Joan were very gracious and helpful with any questions we may have had.


Wonderful stay

5 su aprile 05, 2011

The stay at the Ellery House was a awesome way to spend our 20 year of marriage. The host Jim was always friendly and very helpful in making sure that we could find activities and restuarants to fit our needs. The room is warm and inviting. Staying in a restored Victorian home added that touch of elegance that made the romantic weekend even better. I would higly recommend the Ellery house to any of my friends.


Everything was amazing!!

4,4 su marzo 16, 2011

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast and my husband and I were blown away by how wonderful it was. The hosts were friendly, the home beautiful, the atmosphere relaxing and the food was AMAZING! We felt so pampered, especially by the wonderful claw foot tub and the gas fireplace in the sun room, which were part of the Daisy Suite. The only problem I have now is, deciding if I should risk trying another bed and breakfast or if we should simply return to Ellery House for another wonderful getaway!!


Winter Retreat

4,2 su marzo 14, 2011

Our fourth stay with Jim and Joan was just as good as the first three. The home is warm and inviting, the room was comfortable and the food is always delicious. Looking forward to our next visit to Duluth...


Good food, bad view!

2,8 su marzo 09, 2011

Good: 1. Breakfast, served in room if you want. And its actually yum. 2. Ellery Suite, and the bed. Bad: 1. The other rooms made me claustrophobic, glad I picked out the suite. 2. The view of the lake is not much of a view coz of the huge trees in the front. 3. When I read the reviews everyone was raving about the 'good company', frankly the hosts are super nice but their conversation skills are borderline boring.


ellery review

4,0 su marzo 07, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The food was delicious. The homeowner was kind and insightful.


Wow!

5 su febbraio 26, 2011

This is the best experience we have ever received at a B&B or Hotel. I travel extensively throughout the US and this one is a keeper. The patron was most helpful in receiving us, Breakfast in our room was a gourmet treat with special valentines day grapefruit and a wonderful egg dish, as well as home made pastry. Every effort was made to make our stay special and it was.


Romantic Get-Away

4,0 su febbraio 16, 2011

We were warmly greeted by name upon arrival. Breakfast was beautifully designed and tasted just as good! We'd definitely consider it again when staying in Duluth.


Best Coffee in Duluth

4,8 su febbraio 16, 2011

If you like coffee the Ellery House will keep you coming back. Any time of day you can make an espresso. In the morning there is a fresh brewed pot at your door.


Ambassadors for Duluth

4,6 su febbraio 16, 2011

Lovely room, Joan & Jim extremely helpful w/ info on Duluth and moving there. They were able to accomodate my dietary restrictions (lactose-intolerant diabetic). We'll visit Ellery House again soon.


Ellery House Weekend 2/5 and 2/6/11

4,0 su febbraio 13, 2011

Excellent service and food! Company during our stay was great and Jim is the best host. Would definitely stay again...


Great stay in the Thomas Wahl room in January!

5 su gennaio 30, 2011

Our room was authentic, cozy, and romantic. It was the perfect place to spend cold January nights. Jim had excellent advice about entertainment in Duluth. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious, but the company and conversation was the best part. Choose The Ellery House if you want a relaxing and enjoyable time in Minnesota.


Great place to stay

5 su gennaio 26, 2011

We stayed in Daisy's room and spent most of our time in the lovely sunporch - definitely worth the slightly higher rate. This B&B is a beautiful Victorian home, yet not stuffy - we were very comfortable and the hosts helped us to feel right at home. The breakfast was filling and delicious, and we enjoyed the late night snacks as well. Looking forward to our next visit!


Excellent Relaxing Weekend Getaway

5 su gennaio 21, 2011

Jim and Joan have a fabulous B&B. We stayed in the Ellery Suite and the Thomas Wahl room thus far and both stays were wonderful. The breakfasts were amazing and the rooms were delightful. We went in the summer and winter and had a great time on each occasion. The last time we went they served fresh baked choc. chip cookies at 9pm....DELICIOUS :)


Repeat stay

4,8 su gennaio 21, 2011

Love The Ellery House. Jim and Joan are wonderful hosts. Breakfast is to die for. No tv in our room, but we didn't want one...


Incredible B&B! We'll be coming back often

5 su gennaio 20, 2011

We stayed in the Daisy Suite which had an adorable sun porch with fireplace, a great bathroom with a great bathtub. We were just looking for a nice weekend getaway and ended up with a relaxing, rejuvenating stay at Ellery. Jim, the owner, was great to converse with and was so helpful providing us with suggestions for snowshoeing trails, rentals, museums to visit and places to eat. He even planted the idea in our head that our room might just be comfortable enough to have a night in. And that is what we ended up doing. What a cozy way to spend one of the coldest winters. A little part of me had wanted to take the weekend someplace with a beach. The Ellery House ended up being even better.


Superb Meal and Amazing Innkeepers

4,2 su gennaio 13, 2011

The Ellery House excels at service. The innkeepers are helpful, friendly and knowledgable without being intrusive. Jim's stuffed french toast is out of this world! The Daisy suite comes complete with a 6' antique clawfoot tub that eases away any tension. Very romantic and inviting. This was our 4th stay at the inn.


A very nice place to stay!

5 su gennaio 02, 2011

The Ellery House was a lovely treat. The food was magnificent, the hosts so friendly and helpful in every way. We would love to come back again!


Ellery House Winter Visit

5 su gennaio 02, 2011

Good location - easy to find, well decorated with period furnishings, excellent hosts, great coffee, wonderful breakfasts, very clean rooms and a very relaxing environment.


Very relaxing as always

4,4 su gennaio 01, 2011

We always feel very pampered at The Ellery House. The food and attention to detail is outstanding.


A relaxing get away

5 su dicembre 26, 2010

Truly enjoyed our time (my wife and I) at the Ellery House and will most definitely stay there again! If you are looking to get away for some R&R or simply a weekend break this is one of those places in Duluth that you simply have to visit! Great place, great hosts, great food!


Hockey Mom Heaven

5 su dicembre 19, 2010

I travel often to go to my son's hockey games. I usually end up in a hotel but decided to try a B€B ... Wow! I was blown away with my stay at the Ellery House! The room was awesome ...really enjoyed the fireplace and solitude during a snowy weekend. Jim and Joan were delightful and made me feel at home as soon as I walked in. The organic breakfasts were scrumptious and beautifully presented. It was so much nicer hanging out at the Ellery House between games than a hotel. I've already passed along this well secret to other hockey moms... :). Thanks for a wonderful stay Jim and Joan!


Wonderful Duluth B&B getaway

4,8 su dicembre 02, 2010

Our stay at The Ellery House was perfect in every way! The minute you walk through the front door, you feel at home. We enjoyed the delectables available to us in the evening and cannot rave enough about our breakfast....wonderful muffins, ham and eggs and cheese souffle-ish, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, yum! The bed was nicely made and very comfy, the fireplace was a delight and even the rattling of the water pipes was quirky. Overall, A+ and we will definitely be back soon!


My annual must-stay

5 su novembre 01, 2010

This was my fourth stay at The Ellery House, and just like every time before that, I was blown away by the comfortable surroundings, incredible breakfast, and warm hospitality from Joan and Jim. My favorite room is Daisy's Suite, where I enjoyed a cozy fire on the sunporch, a hot bath in the clawfoot tub, and a restful night's sleep. Joan brought my breakfast to the sunroom, where it was presented beautifully and tasted incredible. I love The Ellery House because as it is definitely a historical building with Victorian furnishings, it is also up-to-date and very clean, with an un-stuffy feel to it. I always leave rested, happily well-fed, and content after a nice conversation with the innkeepers.


Thank you Jim & Joan

5 su novembre 01, 2010

The Ellery House is amazing. Our 3rd stay in 17 years and everything (add a few upgrades) is as we originally loved about the place. A very welcoming place to visit and we would highly recommend to everyone.


Truly an enchanting weekend~

3,2 su ottobre 28, 2010

Intriguing conversation, warm inviting home, scrumptious breakfasts and a beautiful stay in an adorable victorian in a historical neighborhood. Only one thing I would change. The bed in the Thomas Wahl room was too hard for our liking and are backs both ached by the third night. Otherwise a perfect weekend~ Thank you Jim & Joan


The only place I stay in Duluth

4,0 su ottobre 25, 2010

I travel for work and the Ellery House is my favorite place to stay anywhere. Jim and Joan are the most gracious of hosts and their breakfast is fantastic! The house is in a great location -- quiet, yet easy to get to -- and has been lovingly cared for.


Great getaway value

4,6 su ottobre 24, 2010

If you are looking for a great getaway that is fun, close and a real experience, that the Ellery house is a greta place to start. You will not walk away hungry from the huge breafast that they provide, and the conversation afterward is very well worth it too. The rooms are very comforatble, and clean. Close to all the action, and yet quiet, and restful.


Would stay at the Ellery House again!

3,4 su ottobre 19, 2010

After reading many reviews of Duluth B&Bs, my husband and I decided to stay at the Ellery House. The rooms were clean, food was gourmet and wonderful and the hospitality was great. We would stay there again!


Ellery House review

3,2 su ottobre 14, 2010

Enjoyed closeness to activities in the Duluth area. Jim was a wealth of information of sights to see.


A welcoming place to stay

4,4 su ottobre 07, 2010

We only wish we could have stayed longer. Our host was so gracious and unfortunately we were unable to enjoy their company the following morning. A beautiful home, well kept, clean, warm and inviting.


breakfast is beyond anyone's expectations

4,4 su ottobre 07, 2010

We enjoyed two outstanding things about the Ellery. First, the innkeepers were extremely warm and welcoming. Second, the breakfast was presented in an outstanding manner and was soooo tasty. Thanks Ellery!!


We loved the Ellery House

4,2 su ottobre 02, 2010

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and we loved our experience! We are still raving about how great it was to spend our one year anniversary at the Ellery House. The breakfast was delicious and we loved having access to hot drinks and snacks when ever we wanted. We are already recommending this b & b to family and friends!!!


A wonderful getaway.

4,8 su settembre 26, 2010

The Ellery House was a wonderful place to stay to explore Duluth and the lower North Shore. The hosts did everything in their power to ensure that the stay was relaxing and personalized. We stayed in the Daisy's Suite and it was very well appointed with little extra touches that made our stay all that much better. The sunroom off the bedroom became a favorite hangout for us during the evenings and rainy times. The bathroom was amazing - featuring massive period (original?), yet fully functional sink, bath, showers, etc. Very fascinating. obviously the house has been renovated with love and care. The meals were delicious and the hosts gracious, inviting and knowledgable about the area. We highly recommend the Ellery House as a place to stay in Duluth.


A gem

5 su settembre 22, 2010

Jim and Joan are wonderful hosts, going above and beyond the call of duty to make their guests feel comfortable and welcome. Breakfasts here are to die for. Lovely fruit plates and creative dishes that will fill you up for most of the day. Can't recommend this B&B highly enough.


Last minute find

4,0 su settembre 04, 2010

We decided last minute to stay over in Duluth. Booked room less than 24 hrs before we arrived. Great hospitality & outstanding breakfast!!! Very pleased.


The BEST Romantic Getaway in Duluth!

4,8 su luglio 07, 2010

We spent three days of our honeymoon here and had a WONDERFUL TIME! Jim and Joan are great hosts. They really give you that "welcome home" family sort of feeling. I had never been to duluth so Jim gave us many ideas of the touristic places and we had a BLAST! We stayed at the Daisy Suite and it is by far worth every penny! Beautiful decorations, wonderful setting within the wooded trees that makes it seem like it isnt located in the city. Food is AMAZING!! My favorite was the stuffed french toast (it was like nothing I had ever had before, but was amazing).... my husband enjoyed the Eggs Ellery (also very yummy). They really put a lot of effort into details. From the heart shaped watermelons, to the fresh made cookies, to the romatic music to play in your room. It was a great way to relax after our crazy wedding. Even my rough and tough, blue collar husband had a great time! If you are going with your loved one, make sure to order the Romance Package-- Beautiful Fresh flowers, champange and AMAZING melt in your mouth handmade chocolates....I miss the place already. I cannot wait to visit again!


Outstanding bed and breakfast

5 su luglio 05, 2010

First time at a Bed and Breakfast. The breakfasts were superb. The Innkeepers Jim and Pat were very friendly. Would take time to visit with the quests at breakfast and more than willing to share what sites to see in Duluth.


Outstanding Service & Value

5 su luglio 01, 2010

Our stay at The Ellery House was absolutely wonderful! Jim and Joan made us feel right at home. The room was both clean and inviting, and the bathrobes were an appreciated ammenity. Our breakfasts were simply out of this world! One really wouldn't have to eat for the rest of the day. When in Duluth again, we will definitely stay at The Ellery House.


Visit Ellery House!

4,0 su giugno 20, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed ant Jim and Joan's Ellery House. They couldn't have been nicer. They offered great suggestions on what to do in Duluth. This was especially helpful as we went in May planning to do outdoor things...and it snowed! The breakfast's were very good...they post a couple of their recipes on their website and I plan to make them for my own friends and family.


Wonderful spot to stay!

5 su dicembre 07, 2009

Wonderful old mansion with antique furnishings. The innkeepers provided an incredible breakfast in our suite that was truly memorable! Thank you, Jim and Joan for a great 41st anniversary!


Treat yourself

5 su novembre 06, 2009

The Ellery House in Duluth, MN pampers their guests to comfort/plush lodging and excellent choice of food. Reasonably priced -- beautiful setting.


Birthday Getaway

4,8 su ottobre 06, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B, we usually do the hotel thing. The Ellery House was beautiful and the service was excellent. Jim and Joan are very gracious hosts. The breakfast was amazing!!! We will definately be back!


Fantastic stay!

4,4 su ottobre 01, 2009

The home has been beautifully restored and furnished. The owners had great snacks and little thoughtful items in the room which made it feel liek home. The sun porch in our room and the breakfast were great. The room could have been dusted better.


The Ellery House

4,6 su settembre 24, 2009

We had an amazing time. Wonderful food and conversation.


Can't wait to own a bed and breakfast of my own!

4,8 su giugno 18, 2009

This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and The Ellery House far exceeded my expectations! I'm inspired to start a bed and breakfast of my own some day due to the amazing hospitality of Jim and Joan. I had a few hours to spend in Deluth and Jim patiently gave me lots of suggestions for free and fun things to do. Thanks Again!


Heaven on a hillside.

5 su maggio 17, 2009

From the custom made lock on the front door, the baby grand and bauhaus grandmother clock in the parlor, to the elegant breakfast with lumberjack portions, this inn will give you a welcome home feeling. Watch for the driveway, though. I missed it almost every time we arrived. Jim & Joan give a quiet, relaxed feeling to your stay. Dana & Deb Lee, Minneapolis.


five stay getaway

5 su maggio 11, 2009

We will definitely be back to stay at the Ellery House in Duluth, MN. Jim and Joan were gracious and knowledgeable, the food was exceptional and the room was beautiful!


A weekend in Duluth

5 su aprile 16, 2009

Nice room with a nice view. Great hospitality. Helpful into about the area. Food was fantastic, after all, it's 1/2 the name.


Best Ever Breakfast

5 su marzo 20, 2009

Everything was exceptional about my visit to the Ellery House - the hosts Jim and Joan, the room, the location. But I have to exclaim that I have never had a better breakfast at a B&B and Jim was ever so kind. The Ellery House is a great place to stay.


The best stay ever

4,2 su marzo 03, 2009

Very relaxing, great value. will exceed expectations.


Thank-you Jim and Joan!

4,6 su febbraio 10, 2009

My husband and I spent an overnight, around our anniversary date, at Jim and Joan's B & B. Their service was fantastic, the restaurant suggestion really wowed us, and the accommodations and in-room breakfast were fabulous! We couldn't have had a better, more restful stay. It was just what we needed. We also enjoyed chatting w/ Jim and Joan before we checked out. They are kind and generous people!


A delightful stay

4,6 su gennaio 28, 2009

We loved our room and the view of Lake Superior. The fireplace was cozy, the tub was spacious, and the food was amazing. Would come again.


our stay....

3,6 su novembre 25, 2008

was a great room, with electric 'wood stove', sitting room, private bath. Seemed pretty clean except for the small table we ate at in our room-crumbs were on it from a previous boarder.


awesome people and place

5 su novembre 10, 2008

we loved everything about the Ellery House. I would love to live in a house like that one!! Loved it all!


Two Thumbs Up!

4,0 su ottobre 14, 2008

The hosts were very friendly, helpful & accommodating. They also made suggestions on things to do and see in the area. The home and rooms are clean and nicely decorated, and the breakfast was beautiful & delicious.


The Ellery House

5 su settembre 09, 2008

Outstanding!


Mmmm... Delicious

4,4 su settembre 01, 2008

This was our second stay at the Ellery house. Our first stay was on our honeymoon several years ago and we had such wonderful memories of the delicious food and comfy night, so when we were in Duluth on vacation last week, we knew we had to go back! It was every bit as wonderful as I remembered. We stayed in Lilla's room, which is so quaint and charming with the little bathroom with the clawfoot tub and the big plush bed that makes for Great sleeping! The food is what we looked forward to most and were not disappointed! We were greeted with fresh chocolate chip cookies and the full espresso bar, and the breakfast was delicious stuffed french toast with thick slab bacon and fresh fruit platter...mmmm...delicious!!! Will always recommend and will definitely be back!


Great Place!

4,2 su agosto 25, 2008

We really enjoyed Ellory House. The innkeeper gave us excellent dining and sightseeing suggestions. Our room , Daisy's room, was very comfortable, but water from the showerhead basically just trickled out.


Delightful!

4,8 su agosto 19, 2008

A visit to this treasure on Minnesota's North Shore along with three tall ships made our week.


Accomodating Experience.

4,8 su agosto 04, 2008

For one 5th wedding anniversary my wife and I stayed at the Ellery House. Our host Jim was very friendly and pointed us toward some wonderful local attractions. The Ellery House was a very pleasant place to spend an evening. Thank yo so much.


Ellery House review

4,4 su luglio 30, 2008

Charming hosue, unique rooms, generous amentities, very gracious, helpful, warm hosts, unbelievably good breakfast/snacks/etc.


Pampered in Duluth

5 su luglio 23, 2008

From the time we entered and Jim said "just relax, I'm here to pamper you", I knew it would be a great stay! From the comfy feather bed to lovely products in the old-fashioned bath, it was such a wonderful stay. When we asked for suggestions for a dinner restaurant, our host was very knowledeable. When we returned from our evening outing, we were welcomed with fresh chocolate chip macadamia cookies and our choice of beverages. The breakfast was a work of art and our hosts accommodated my gluten free needs. Although we could have had breakfast in our suite, we chose to eat in the dining room and have one more chance to visit with Jim, our host. He is a delightful conversationalist. We will definitely be back to stay at the Ellery House!


The Perfect Honeymoon

4,6 su luglio 03, 2008

This being our first time at a B&B we didn't know what to expect...besides a bed and some breakfast. What an amazing and relaxing stay! The food was divine, the owners are so welcoming and hospitable, the rooms are beautiful and clean. We will be coming back! The have set a high standard!


Last Minute Trip

4,8 su aprile 07, 2008

I would love to suggest The Ellery House to anyone staying in Duluth. We booked our trip with Jim over the phone and we were welcomed into his historic home only 4 hours later. The Ellery room had a very comfortable bed and some wonderful views. The breakfast was terrific and hot, and they allowed us to check out late. We are looking forward to our next visit.


Warm and welcoming

4,4 su settembre 15, 2007

The Daisy's Suite was adorable, roomy and comfortable! The sun porch is where they served our gormet breakfast at our request. The view of Lake Superior Harbor was intriguing. Positioned at the back of the house on the second floor, we had complete privacy and quiet. Wonderful hosts, and great food! Very reasonable too, making the weekend stay even more enjoyable. We will stay there again.


The Ellery House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $119 - $199
  • Recensioni (178) 4,5
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2187247639
  • Gratuito 1-8003553794

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina