The Sand Castle Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,4

Valore della struttura
73 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

weekend get away fantastic b&b

5 su luglio 01, 2014

greta place 1/2 block from the beach on lake michigan, fantastic manicured landscape full wrap around front porch for sitting or dinning. Pool was clean and warm and absolute charming place


Great location

2,6 su giugno 02, 2014

Sandcastle Inn is in the perfect location. The walk to the beach and downtown are both only a couple of blocks away. The inn is nice but I expected more. For example, home made cookies instead of store bought. I know something little but it's something you'd expect from a bed and breakfast. Also, towels without holes and stains. My biggest complaint is the lack of an "inn keeper" in the night and of quiet hours. It is at this time when all of your guests are in your establishment and yet management left at 7:30pm. Guests can behave however they choose. We were kept awake until 1am because another set of guests had friends in their room and they were talking loudly on the balcony above our room. I didn't feel like this consistuted as an "emergency" so I did not call the emergency number. This, however, could have been take care of with a quiet hours rule and on premise inn keeper.

Risposta del proprietario
We would like to thank the guest for visiting the Sand Castle and for taking the time to write a review. All of these reviews are shared and discussed with our entire staff, and they allow us an opportunity to improve. So, thank you. The Sand Castle Inn, as the guest stated, is in a “great location”, in the middle of everything in South Haven and yet private, quiet and exclusive. Walk to the beach, town, harbor, shops and restaurants. We serve a complimentary, gourmet breakfast. We have a heated swimming pool and WIFI. Our white wicker front porch overlooks the park across the street and is a beautiful setting for breakfast and relaxing. In almost 20 years at the Sand Castle, I could count on one hand the comments we have heard about a noise disturbance. In the case of this guest, a call to the Innkeeper, who lives at the Inn and is always on site, would have fully solved this problem. The Innkeeper lives at the Inn and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We invite all of our guests - via contact information on the front desk - to contact the Innkeeper at any time of the night if they need assistance. Each night we specially bake cookies and the aroma fills the house. There are four extra long, extra plush towels in each bathroom serving two persons. We buy new towels every year because, in time, they will wear out. We would have hoped that the guest would simply use one of the other 3 towels in the bath and then bring the substandard towel to our attention so that we could replace it and then cycle it out of circulation. More than 50% of our guests are return guests, and we hope this guest will visit again.


Great location and clean.

4,6 su aprile 03, 2014

We stayed one night. Clean and pretty home. Owner does not stay in house, but there was a very nice innkeeper. Even on a cold March day we walked into town for shopping and dinner. Very nice breakfast prepared for us the next morning. We were given an upgraded room since there was one available


A Great Destination!

4,8 su agosto 24, 2013

The Sand Castle Inn was our first experience at a B & B, and to say that we were impressed would be an understatement. In fact, we've already booked a return trip just one month later! The staff was pleasant and helpful, our room was fantastic with a fireplace, large television and huge private balcony. The Inn's location is excellent, sitting just a block from the beach and a block from the downtown shops and restaurants. You will love the Sand Castle Inn.


REVIEW

4,6 su maggio 14, 2013

STAFF WAS PROFESSIONAL AND VERY PLEASANT,VERY WELCOMING,ROOM VERY CLEAN, FOOD WAS EXCELLENT.


Serenity!

4,8 su maggio 01, 2013

Great historic place. You cannot beat the innkeeper Carlene. Not only do you get a wonderful breakfast, but yummies throughout the day.....and wonderful conversation, too! Location is perfect, too! We walked to town easily and we're old! Loved walking to the beach - about a block away. I think it's great, too, that this property has a nice pool. So you get the quaint B and B, private room, private bath, nice furnishing, unusual architecture, fabulous innkeeper, super location, and a pool, too!


Castle Inn Stay

4,4 su aprile 14, 2013

Stayed in the tower. Great view of the South Haven area, including seeing Lake Michigan in the distance. Very nice, homey feel. Great facility. Would definitely stay here again!


Great weekend at Sand Castle

5 su novembre 21, 2012

The room and staff ,where top notch.


Wonderful South Haven B&B

4,8 su novembre 12, 2012

We spent a wonderful 3 night weekend at the Sand Castle in mid-October 2012. Everything about the Sand Castle was perfect and Carlina is an Outstanding cook and hostess! It was a great experience for us. We will be back again, and have already recommended the Sand Castle to several people.


August Relaxing Vacation

4,0 su settembre 19, 2012

Sue & Tom had a wonderful first stay at Sand Castle Inn. The staff treated us just like family. The food & snacks (especially the specially treated pretzels) are great. Location to the beach makes it ideal to walk down a short block with plenty of room to enjoy the warm sun. The rooms in the inn are kept spotless with fresh bath towels, etc. The front & side porches are great to relax, snack & have a beverage. The outdoor pool was very clean, plenty warm and we almost had the entire pool to ourselves more than 1 day. The Sand Castle Inn is definitely a sure place we plan stay again next summer.


Relaxing Weekend

3,6 su settembre 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Sand Castle Inn for a weekend. it was our first Bed & Breakfast experience. Overall, we were extremely satisfied. From the moment we walked in, we felt very at home, and it was easy to relax and enjoy ourselves. You could stay in your room if you wanted privacy or hit the town (only a couple block walk from downtown and 1 block from the beach) if you wanted dinner or entertainment. The breakfast was good, however, it wasn't exactly what I expected. My idea of a great breakfast is eggs, bacon, sausages, etc. and none of that was provided. It was more along the lines of fruit, breakfast casseroles and sweets. The breakfast was not bad, just not what I expected. We would definitely stay at The Sand Castle Inn again.


Perfect in town location for us

4,4 su settembre 14, 2012

The Sand Castle was recommended to us by friends and we would stay here again. The staff was great,there when we needed them,but also left us on our own. Perfect location for us, 2 minute walk to beach,10 minutes to downtown,close to bike trail. Enjoyed our breakfasts and the evening snacks were a real treat!


Beautiful!

5 su settembre 13, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this B&B twice now and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms and inn are clean, friendly and comfortable. The sweeping front porch is wonderful for enjoying the breakfast that is provided! Just a quick walk to downtown too! We had a great stay and would definitely come again. Enjoy!


Pleasant Surprise

4,8 su settembre 11, 2012

About 2 hours away from Chicago, my girlfriend and I headed to the Sand Castle Inn for a one night stay on a Friday after work. My family used to have a summer home in South Haven and I've been going back to the area for the past 15 years. I always passed by this B&B and when I saw a great deal, I made a reservation. We stayed in the Royal suite and it was perfect. Spacious (bedroom and bathroom), inviting, and comfortable. The outside private deck was enormous as well. It was quiet and the staff was friendly. No complaints whatsoever. The chocolate chip cookies were a good late night snack! I was so impressed that I booked a weekend getaway for my parents (my mom's 60th birthday present).


Recommended stop for our stay on Lake MI

3,0 su agosto 25, 2012

We love South Haven! The Sand Castle is a nice spot, handy to beach and town. Is nice to know what to expect when traveling...and friends had recommended it.


Loved it!!

5 su agosto 24, 2012

Our very first experience at a B&B. Loved it. We were there for 2 nights. Best nights sleep we've had for a while. Very quiet. Never heard any noices from the other guests. We went on to Saugatuck at another B&B and almost turned around after the first night to go back to the Sand Castle. No comparison. Noisy and no warm cookies or fresh hor'derves at 5:00 everyday. Loved the Sand Castle's location to the beach and town. We walked everywhere. If we'd gone to the second B&B first, we probably would have gone back home. Thank you for a great experience. Sandy & Jake


Wonderful Stay

4,8 su agosto 14, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely vacation at the Sandcastle Inn. We loved that it is a one block walk to a little used and very nice beach on Lake Michigan. When I got tired of the sand, we would walk back to the pool and take a dip (then a nap in the lounge chairs). We were almost always had the pool to ourselves. Don't underrate the value of the pool, it really made the difference on our stay. The room was very clean and the bathroom was very nice. The entire Inn is very well decorated and furnished. Nice big flatscreen TV for relaxing in the room in the evening. We will definitely be returning next year for another week-long stay.


One Great Cook!!

4,4 su agosto 13, 2012

Your Innkeeper was fantastic! In addition, a great cook! She's a keeper! Enjoyed our first visit to a Bed and Breakfast. We had avoided them for years. After this experience, we will again visit a Bed and Breakfast (hopefully, some day return to The Sandcastle). Was happy that the pool was nice and clean. Only thing we needed was a cooler bedroom! Matt and Karen Sisto p.s. We stayed in Douglas at a Bed and Breakfast that was not so good. What a difference. Same price. Food was good, but lacked some things. Cleanliness was not as good. The pool was very dirty there.


Overnight stay worth it

3,4 su agosto 06, 2012

The inn was impeccably decorated and the service was sufficient. My only complaint was that the bed was uncomfortable and the pillows felt like they had lumps of rocks in them. The pool surroundings were beautiful but the pool could have used a skimming - a few bugs floating around and some sand on the bottom. Otherwise, I have stayed here 3 years in a row and will probably continue to stay here.


A great escape

4,8 su agosto 04, 2012

For the past three years, my wife and i have been returning to South Haven north beach for the Lake Michigan sunsets., The Sandcastle is a great location and feels so comfortable to return each year.


i would go back in a minute

5 su luglio 16, 2012

Great place. Clean room. King size bed. Great deck off room. Excellent food. Staff helpful but not obtrusive.


Great stay!

4,8 su luglio 08, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Sand Castle Inn and absolutely loved it. The breakfast was wonderful each morning, the short walk to the beach was perfect, the staff were lovely and the room was terrific. They served a light appetizer each afternoon that we had with the wine we brought with us. They also had chocolate chip cookies for our late night snack :-). The pool was a refreshing break from the beach as well. Another bonus was the refrigerator they had for guests where you could store wine, soda, etc. They always had water, tea and lemonade available for the guests as well. I loved our room, however, it was a little noisy since it was on the street side. I'm a light sleeper so it impacts me more than others, I'm sure. I would still request that room again as it was spacious and on the second floor! Highly, highly recommend the Sand Castle Inn and we plan to go back many more times in the future.


Great place to stay

5 su giugno 29, 2012

Good service,great staff,plenty of food. Great place to relax and enjoy the time away from home.


Anniversary get-away

5 su giugno 12, 2012

The Sand Castle Inn is a great get-away for an anniversary celebration!


Would recommend to anyone!!

5 su giugno 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights, and we loved everything about this B&B! The room was beautiful (with a private bathroom, private deck and a gas fireplace). Everything was very clean - VERY, VERY clean. The pool was beautiful, clean, and heated, so we were completely comfortable swimming in 70-degree weather. The staff was friendly and helpful - each employee we encountered was perfectly pleasant, and seemed happy to be there. The food was great - they even offer appetizers each afternoon and cookies, tea, hot chocolate every evening. I felt right at home at this B&B, and I would recommend to anyone to go to South Haven, even just to stay there. I can't say enough positive things about it! I would LOVE to visit again!!


Sand Castle Inn

3,4 su giugno 04, 2012

We enjoyed our stay over the Memorial Day weekend. Nice room that was well appointed and maintained. Short walk to the beach and an easy walk to downtown restuarants. Pool was undersized because not only bed and breakfast patrons but adjacent condo owners used it. Excellent homemade breakfast but the afternnon appetizers were poor - those were not worth the effort.


The Trellis room was perfect for our needs & private access

4,2 su maggio 31, 2012

Our first bed and breakfast stay and we were very pleased. Restaurant recommendations from Sand Castle were spot on.


Friendly and Helpful

4,4 su maggio 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Sand Castle Inn. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The place was very clean, comfortable and stylish. Breakfast and snacks were yummy. It is in a great location - across from the park and close to the beach.


Amazing Stay, great location

4,8 su maggio 22, 2012

Upon arriving at this B&B, we were greeted by the most warm and amazing inn keeper. She took time to show us around the place and personally showed us our room. The Inn itself is cozy and very clean with a summer beach house feel. Every morning we were served a top notch breakfast and ate it on there wrap-around porch. What's also so great about this place is the location. It's one block from the beach so you won't have to spend hours trying to find a good parking spot. It's also two or three blocks from downtown so you can enjoy the local stores and restaurants. We brought our bikes and were able to see everything with amazing ease due to our location. I highly recommend this B&B and know that anyone who stays here will not be disappointed.


Lovely getaway in South Haven Mich

5 su aprile 29, 2012

The Sand Castle Inn is a charming B & B. My husband and I have stayed there twice in the las 6 Mos and had a lovely time. The inn is very clean, well appointed and quiet.. The public rooms are tastefully decorated as are the bedrooms. Carlene, the innkeeper, is very friendly & accomodating. She prepared a delicious hot breakfast that was beautifully presented. We really felt at home and would highly recommend a visit if you are looking to stay in SW Michigan. The location is quite convienient with private parking off street. Lake Michigan and the beach is less than 2 blocks away. We will stay again that is for sure. Carlene is a "PEACH!"


Perfect...

4,8 su aprile 12, 2012

My wife and I sneaked away for the weekend to South Haven. Sand Castle was just perfect. The room was clean, beautiful, and cozy. It is maybe a block and a half from the beach, but we could still see the beach from our private balcony. The Inn is far enough away from downtown (maybe 3/4 mile) to give you the feeling of seclusion, but close enough and convenient enough to give you access to the town's main attractions. The Inn keeper was also great... super friendly and accommodating. When we got there she was baking cookies, so the whole place smelled like fresh cookies all night! :) Honestly, there isn't a whole lot to do in South Haven, but that is exactly what we were looking for! We took some walks, did some shopping downtown, and had a wonderful dinner. Just Perfect!


Wonderful Place for an Anniversary

4,8 su marzo 08, 2012

The staff was very personable, and made our stay perfect for our anniversary. My hat comes off to the chef, the breakfast was perfect!!!! We will definitely be back and hopefully next time will be for longer than a weekend. Thank you so much!!!


Pampered in South Haven

5 su febbraio 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed in February during the week so we had the Inn to ourselves. The innkeeper was a very friendly, comfortable person. The food was delightful, both breakfast and the snacks that appeared frequently - really a great cook! We loved being close to the beach and to the downtown. It's also very close to the entrance of the KalHaven RailTrail which we skied on. We stayed in the Royal Suite - a nice big room and bathroom. The only drawback to this room is that the streetlights shine in, so shades need to be pulled at night. The room overlooks a city park - very peaceful. It was just the peace and quiet we needed.


Great Place

4,0 su gennaio 05, 2012

This place was great and the staff was wonderful. We really enjoyed the fact they served breakfast from 8:30 am to 10:30 am and this allowed us to sleep in. The big screen TV's in each room and the fireplaces made it very comfortable and relaxing.


pure relaxation

5 su ottobre 27, 2011

Room was clean, big, and comfy. Balcony was beautiful. Staff was sweet. Food was delicious. Fireplace was cozy. Couldn't have asked for a better stay!


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

4,8 su ottobre 17, 2011

This was the first time my wife and I had been to the Lake Michigan side of Michigan and was our second visit to a B&B. The ladies there treated us like family. We felt at home and were so excited to get back to the house to see what freshly baked cookies were waiting for us after a day out and about. Our room was very nice and well adorned. It was great falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of the waves. And then heading downstairs to the wonderful breakfast the ladies put together for us. Even though there were other people there, the ladies made us feel like we were the only ones there. Great time and we will be back...


We love the Sand Castle Inn & will go back.

5 su agosto 22, 2011

We are repeat customers and always enjoy our stays at the Sand Castle Inn. The rooms, breakfasts, snacks, & service are always top notch. We especially enjoy relaxing on the front porch. Downtown South Haven, the lighthouses, and the beach are all within walking distance.


A Weekend Get-Away...

4,4 su agosto 10, 2011

My husband and I booked a pool room at the Sand Castle B&B when we were in town for a weekend get-together with some friends. The room was very clean, and the staff was very polite and helpful. There were hors d'oeuvres served daily around 6pm, and a hot breakfast each morning. There was also a heated pool. My only regret was that we didn't get to spend more time at the B&B! We will definitely look into staying there again when we are in town! It was a calm, quiet and relaxing atmosphere.


Serenity

4,8 su agosto 08, 2011

Everything was excellent, and we adore the staff! I think this was our fifth year at Sand Castle, and we plan to return next summer. And the location is perfect for walking to the beach or "downtown" South haven for shopping or dining. We LOVE it!


Friendly,cozy, great location

4,0 su agosto 08, 2011

This is a very comfortable friendly inn where you truly feel at home! The large front porch with lots of seating is perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine. The pool is also a wonderful spot to refresh yourself and the beach is just a block away.Staff is wonderful.


Best Place for the Beach

4,6 su agosto 06, 2011

The suites are well sized and have a nice porch or balcony. They serve an excellent ala carte breakfast. The Inn is really close to a nice, pretty quiet public beach. At the top of the entrance to the beach, there is a cute little party store with made to order sandwiches. We love to come here to get on the beach and get wet in Lake Michigan.


Great Place at the Beach

4,6 su agosto 03, 2011

Our stay at the Sand Castle Bed and Breakfast July 3rd, 2011 was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly. We enjoyed using the pool and the close proximity to the beach. We have stayed at other Bed and Breakfast in the South Haven area and The Sand Castle will always be our FIRST choice in the future.


Great place to relax for a weekend!

4,2 su agosto 03, 2011

What a gorgeous place for a little getaway! Walking distance to beaches, quiet street, lovely front porch and pool area. Hospitality and service was top notch! Actually allowed us to book for one night on a busy weekend (which no other B & B would accomodate). We will definitely be back!


A perfect weekend, scrumptious food, gracious hosts

4,0 su agosto 02, 2011

Ah, the glorious days of summer in Michigan - at just two blocks from the sparkling sands of Lake Michigan with a pristine pool and scrumptious breakfasts, the Sand Castle Inn was a wonderful choice! This lovely home is quiet and comfortable, and our hosts were friendly and accommodating. What a lovely place for rest and respite - we will return!


Great place hope to be back there soon.

5 su agosto 02, 2011

We stayed at the Sand Castle 2 weeks ago and loved our large comfortable room as well as the convenient location. The staff could not have been more accomodating and the food was delicious. It also was very quiet so we got lots of rest both in our room and on the large wrap-around porch. All of this with the pool and a 1 block walk to beautiful South Haven beach make this a great place to spend time when traveling in Southwest Michigan. There is also a bicycle, kayak rental right across the street, very convenient to anything you would want to do. We were told that many guests are repeat customers...with good reason!


Repeat Customer

4,2 su luglio 31, 2011

We love this B&B because (1) the staff are all great, very friendly and helpful, (2) perfect location between beach and town, (3) fantastic porch. Only negative was the primary breakfast item was an egg casserole 3 straight days. It would have been nice to have had something like a french toast one of the days. Also, the innkeepers are not on site and not involved in the day to day operations.

Risposta del proprietario
We would like to clarify one of the guest's comments. The head innkeeper lives at the Inn and is available to all of our guests 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The Innkeeper lives on site and is involved in the day to day operations of the Inn. Thank you for your comments and for, again, staying with us. We are gratified by your kind words and will look forward to your next visit.


last minute weekend away

4,0 su luglio 31, 2011

The location couldn't be better unless it was on the beach. Staff was outstanding. Very comfortable bed and nice linens. We paid 275 per night, which is a little pricey, but it was in high season and last minute.


Excellent mattress

3,8 su luglio 30, 2011

We also enjoyed having our own porch and the beautiful garden.


Wonderful Getaway

4,2 su luglio 27, 2011

Fantastic appetizers, late night snacks, and huge delicious breakfast. Absolutely beautiful room and wonderful service. You pay for what you get, but we would definately go back.


A great place to stay in town and near the beach.

4,0 su luglio 26, 2011

Our room was very nice. We especially liked the balcony area. This inn is located right in town but only a couple short blocks from the beach and it also has a very nice small pool area. The breakfast was fantastic! We look forward to a return trip.


Exceeded my expectations

4,2 su luglio 14, 2011

My wife and I went there last Friday for our 1 year anniversary. Our stay was a hit, and we recommend this. Can't wait to return.


The best Inn

3,8 su luglio 11, 2011

Love the breakfast in the morning! Everyone very friendly. It is great to have the choice of the beach or a pool. Great location to walk downtown or to Lake Michigan.


Good time

4,8 su luglio 09, 2011

We had a nice stay at the Sand Castle Inn - the food was delicious, pool was warm and the beach was just a block away. We would definitely stay there again!


Wonderful place.

4,2 su luglio 04, 2011

Charming, very clean, great food, friendly and helpful staff, short walk to beach and downtown, loved the individual decks and large common porch. Would definitely stay there again.


exceptional B & B in this beachtown

4,6 su giugno 29, 2011

Breakfast was superb every morning. My mother and I were always greated and welcomed each time we returned to the Inn. The pool was a nice addition as it was too cool to be on the beach in the morning. Perfect location to walk to the beach and in to town to shop and dine. I plan to return to Sand Castle Inn with my husband on a future visit.


great location, great service but inflexible staff

4,2 su giugno 28, 2011

The location is amazing and the breakfast is delicious. Unfortunately the staff is unwilling to break from their schedule for special requests


Sand Castle Inn

4,6 su giugno 22, 2011

Great location, friendly staff, super food, really nice clean pool and would definitely stay again!


6/17 Sand Castle

4,6 su giugno 20, 2011

The inn was in a GREAT spot, a block from a deli/party store and kayak rental place, and only another block to the beach. It was also an easy walk to the downtown boardwalk area with the shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly, the room was GREAT, and the cost was less than other places in the area. We will make a point of staying there again sometime!


cool days - snoring nights

3,8 su giugno 14, 2011

Days were cool and rainy. Room was good but had to run fan and radio to cover the gentleman snoring in next room. Thin wall?? Food was fantastic, service was very good. I would return when it is warmer and ask for a different room :)


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

5 su maggio 26, 2011

Sand Castle Inn was a wonderful place to spend our 2nd anniversary together. It exceeded our expectations. The staff was very friendly, the food was excellent, and the rooms were clean.


A must stay Inn in South Haven!

4,8 su maggio 01, 2011

My husband and I chose the Sand Castle Inn for a much needed night away. It was fabulous! The room was beautiful and quiet. There was no slamming of doors, talking, ice getting from the icemaker like at a chain hotel. It was within walking distance from downtown and the beach. The host was very helpful and kind. When we arrived there were munchies to enjoy and the breakfast was wonderful as well. We will definitely return to the Sand Castle Inn!


beach pleasure

4,6 su agosto 21, 2010

I was very pleased with the room, and the breakfast was outstanding.


sand castle inn

3,2 su agosto 18, 2010

the innkeepers were not there, to check us in,,it was the housekeeper,,,folding sheets in the parlor when we arrived...the food and hospitality was great thanks to the maid and the cook,,,,,,would go back a great value......


2 night stay Aug. 10-11

3,8 su agosto 18, 2010

The room was very nice and quiet. Not real satisfied with the coolness of the room at night, but we managed. Breakfast first day was great, but second day was a little skimpy. Appetizers in the evening and cookies later on were good! Very much enjoyed the small pool after a hot day of walking to the beach and browsing the shops. Sitting on the front porch was relaxing.


Great get away!

3,8 su agosto 15, 2010

We've stayed at the Sand Castle Inn twice and would stay again. Close to beaches and town. Staff very helpful and friendly. The Tower room is quiet with a great view.


Midweek Gwtaway

5 su agosto 11, 2010

We had a wonderful stay. Hope to go back in September


Wonderful Inn

3,8 su agosto 10, 2010

The Sand Castle is a wonderful place to stay. The staff was great and made sure we had everything we needed. Inn is very clean. It is located a very short walk to beach or town. Highly recommend.


Great Breakfast and a Beautiful House

4,6 su luglio 01, 2010

My husband and I stayed over Memorial Day weekend and it was wonderful. Breakfast was great and the beds were really comfy. We ended up spending more time by the pool than at the beach. We will definitely go back


Absolutely do NOT recommend

1,2 su maggio 18, 2010

This bed and breakfast is not as advertised, and I would strongly recommend looking at one of the many other area B&Bs. A few highlights: The AC was broken when we arrived and they did not fix it for two days. The owner does not live in the area and could not be reached during this time. He chose not to compensate us because “he figures he’s already lost your business.” The staff were unprofessional and indifferent. The Innkeeper was entirely rude and very unpleasant, never once apologizing for any inconvenience we had encountered and instead being confrontational, making matters worse. We attempted to leave, but were denied any sort of a refund, so we tried to make the best of it by staying away from the INN as much as possible. We recommend you do the same. While the location is close to the beach and a park, it is also on a busy street. We are from Chicago and considered it to be very loud, especially at night. The furnishings and decor in the rooms are very cheap, and the beds are uncomfortable. The plastic plants were covered in dust and the kitchen had a very bad fruit fly problem, which prompted us to stop eating the breakfasts. It felt like a rundown motel, not a relaxing bed and breakfast. All in all, it is probably the worst travel experience we have ever had. Hence, why I have chosen to write this review to give a heads up to others who might be fooled by the many “rave reviews” listed for them here and elsewhere. I don’t see how a five star experience is remotely possible at the Sandcastle Inn.

Risposta del proprietario
We have aired out this guest’s review at our weekly staff meetings. The guest visited in August of 2009 but didn’t review the Inn until May of 2010, nine months later. This long delay made it difficult to identify the guest, and some of the seasonal staff was no longer at the Inn. We would like to thank the guest for sharing his experience and giving us his feedback. It helps us improve. We regret that the central air conditioning was out for a short time during his stay. We have an air conditioning contractor who responds 24 hours a day, and he dealt with this immediately. Our ten-room Inn was completely full at this time, and none of the other guests complained. The remainder of the guest’s review seems to be colored by the one issue. We would certainly never treat a guest unfairly because “he figures he’s already lost your business.” Making the accusation that other guest “rave reviews” are not as valid as his own review is not a serious criticism and is designed only to hurt the Inn and the staff. It makes the truth of this guest’s other complaints questionable. If everything the guest related was true, we would long ago be out of business. We have been in business for 16 years. 40% of our guests are return guests. I have read the other guest reviews on this site. None reflects this guest’s experience. We are physically inspected each year by Lake to Lake Bed and Breakfast Association and AAA and are members of too many professional travel associations to list here. Once again, we thank the guest for his review and want to assure that we will use it to improve.


The homeiness and great service!

5 su agosto 07, 2009

My stay at the Sand Castle Crown Room was simply delightful! Carlene, the innkeeper, treated us like her family! The breakfasts, snacks, and her famous chocolate chip cookies are just scrumptious!


A castle experience

5 su agosto 06, 2009

My girlfriend and I needed some R&R and decided to stay in MI at the Sand Castle. a lovely inn that sits across the street from beautiful Lake Michigan. The stay far surpassed our expectations. We immediately felt at home with the manager, Carlene. The breakfasts, late afternoon meals, and evening treats were outstanding, artistically displayed. There were always drinks, appetizers, snacks to enjoy. Our room was spotlessly clean, as was the lovely pool area. We were treated like queens! Friendliness was the overall feeling.


What a great place!

5 su aprile 21, 2009

My husband and I were in desperate need of a getaway. We found Sand Castle Inn online and booked a 3 night stay. We picked a perfect weekend, the weather was amazing and we couldn't be happier with the accomodations. The breakfast every morning was great. Carlene was very thoughtful enough to make sure we were having fun and made sure we knew everything there was to do in town. We stayed in the only room on the 3rd floor, it was spacious, clean and inviting. We loved the fireplace and balcony. And to top if off, you cannot beat the location, we walked to the beach and you can even walk to downtown. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!


Fabulous in Every Way!

5 su maggio 12, 2007

My husband and I have been staying at The Sand Castle for years, and we can't say enough good things about it. Beautiful, peaceful, welcoming, and expertly run, too, by their lovely manager. We are made to feel at home there!


The Sand Castle Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $140 - $295
  • Recensioni (73) 4,4
  • Camere 10

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 269-639-1110

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina