Harbert House B&B Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
29 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Great place to stay for visiting Warren Dunes

4,6 su agosto 03, 2014

We have stayed at many B&B's, and this place is at the top for the food. Nancy has a great idea by having wine & hors d'oeuvres in the evening for an hour so the guests can mingle and talk about dinner plans, and get recommendations from Nancy. We went to Café Gulistan (Turkish / Kurdish), which is walking distance and excellent.


A serene, welcoming getaway

5 su maggio 27, 2014

Just spent a terrific weekend in Harbor Country with my best friend. Nancy Watson runs a great B&B in Harbert. The Gallery Room was huge and beautiful. Beds ridiculously cozy. Breakfasts ample and thoughtfully served. We especially appreciated the daily nosh served with coffee before breakfast (Sunday's was a yummy cranberry tart, Monday's a lemon poppyseed shortcake with lemon curd). The inn is about a mile east of a lovely small beach on Lake Michigan with public access, to which you can drive or walk. Of course it is also only a few minutes south of Warren Dunes State Park, which is gorgeous, and a whole bunch of other things you can do if you want. Or nothing, if you want. Wine and hors d'oeuvres are served daily 5:30-6:30 - we didn't make it either time as we were busy, but it's nice to know that's an option. The public spaces are spacious and inviting, especially the back porch area in nice weather. Nancy is well connected and can suggest lots of local attractions, with a table full of leaflets. Harbert House makes the perfect anchor for a visit to this part of Southwest Michigan; I will definitely be back again. Susan H., Chicago, IL


Wonderfully Relaxing!

5 su settembre 06, 2013

Harbert House provides everything you could want in a B&B. Inn was spotless, bed was wonderful,and Nancy's food was the absolute best. We will be back soon to visit!


a nice gem

4,4 su ottobre 23, 2012

This was my first B&B and now Im spoiled. Im from Mich and was looking forward to the lake so bad. I came to stay on a whim and was lucky to find in yelp. I have to admit that i had to tell myself to feel at home instead of being in someone else's home and Nancy the innkeeper help made me feel welcome. I had the house all to myself; wish i could have shared it w friends and fam!! I stayed in the Pear room and it was lovely. I like firm beds so i wish the mattress was firmer. Otherwise, you know Nancy cares about the details ... Down to having cotton balls and Q tips. I noticed that. You dont share a communal bathroom ! ...... You will certainly enjoy your stay and have a delicious breakfast cooked by previous chef Nancy. ....


Cozy and Elegant

5 su settembre 04, 2012

Looking for a hotel on the Michigan shore everything was very high or super low. Harbert House was a perfect price and the rooms, food & host were delightful.


Wonderful Experience

5 su settembre 04, 2012

Nancy has a lovely home, beautiful rooms, delicious gourmet breakfast. You can't find a better deal for that price.


Hospitality at the Harbert House

5 su agosto 11, 2012

Ms. Nancy -- the innkeeper -- made our stay the most comfortable! She was personable, welcoming, and her breakfasts were amazing! Afternoon wine & appetizers was a special touch.


Great B&B, felt at home with yummy food & hospitality!

4,8 su luglio 24, 2012

My husband and I had friends camping at Warren Dunes State Park so we decided to stay at the Harbert House. It was very close to the park, which was convenient, but Nancy was also very hospitable and helpful. I had a sore throat and she offered me some throat spray. She is also a great cook that provided a unique breakfast! The photos do not do the rooms justice - they are very clean, spacious and very modern. We would definitely recommend the Harbert House to friends, and would stay there again when in the area!


Great Stay in the Pear

4,4 su maggio 29, 2012

A charming country B&B with a laid back friendly feel. Hostess Nancy was informative and helpful, and the Pear Room was the perfect size, well appointed and made for a restful night's sleep. During breakfast (homemade and delicious) the next day, my husband and I loved watching two bunnies outside the breakfast room playing; one would run at the other causing it to jump sraight up into the air and back and forth they would go; we'd never seen anything quite like it!


Thoroughly Enjoyable Weekend

4,6 su novembre 20, 2011

We meet long-time friends in Western Michigan every year, staying at a B&B each time. This year we met at Harbert House and were extremely pleased with everything. Nancy was an excellent hostess. She was friendly, helpful, and made us feel very much at home. Breakfasts and evening hors d'oeuvres were gourmet, yet accommodated dietary restrictions. Rooms were clean and were well-decorated. We will most definitely return.


Home Away From Home

5 su settembre 28, 2011

This is a home away from home. Nancy kept our bicycles in her garage overnight. She served us wine and freshly baked ratatouille appetizers when we arrived. We had fresh coffee cake with butternut squash as the secret ingredient waiting when we came down in the morning. An egg frittata breakfast followed that was delicious as well as beautiful on her heirloom plates. I loved the collection of glass pears in the "Pear" bedroom. We had many conversations with other guests in the comfortable open rooms with a piano and fireplace and tv. We look forward to coming back.


Happy at the Harbert House

4,6 su agosto 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Harbert House and I want to share my experience. We love B&B's because of the nice people who run them. And Nancy was exceptional. The breakfasts were a cut above the usual menu and very tasty (butterscotch & cherry coffee cakes were wonderful). If you are around in the evenings she offers a tasting from one of the local vineyards served with hors d’oeuvres. Ask for the inside out taco, if you are lucky she is serving those. The rooms were clean, newly remodeled and the baths are good sized, comfortable enough for two people to move around. Nancy turned us onto the local grocery store for homemade sandwiches we took to the dunes and the garden center for locally grown corn, blueberries, pluots (plum-apricot fruit) and patty pan squash before we hit the highway for home. Thanks Nancy. Mary Kay


Not what I expected

2,4 su luglio 23, 2011

Based on a very friendly conversation when booking with the Harbert House innkeeper, I was really looking forward to my stay. However, things just didn't fall into place as I expected. I often felt like an unwanted visitor in a private home rather than a paying guest at a b&b, as the proprietor often had personal friends visiting in the public areas of the inn. The bedroom was very attractive with a nice adjoining bath, but the innkeeper was very stingy with the air conditioning and I spent a very warm night when I was the only guest there. (The innkeeper was "out" so I didn't have an opportunity to complain.) The food was adequate but nothing special. Also, I learned as I was leaving that other guests had been provided with passes to a private beach, but one was never offered to me even though access to the lake was a main selling point for a stay at this inn. All in all a disappointing experience.

Risposta del proprietario
My ultimate goal is to make each guest feel as special and as comfortable as possible. As I live here, my friends do stop by and sometimes interact with the guests just as the guests chat with each other. When I am not at the B&B, I transfer all calls to my cell so that I can be available at all times. If a guest asks me about parking at a nearby PUBLIC beach, I offer a parking pass but my local PUBLIC beach does not require a pass. All in all, I am thoroughly sorry this person was disappointed.


Nancy is the Hostess with the Mostess!

5 su aprile 23, 2011

My husband and I live busy lives in Chicago, so when we realized we both had a weekend off, we quickly planned a last-minute getaway to Harbert House B&B. I found Harbert House from a simple Google search. I wasn't sure what to expect from this B&B, but I was definitely impressed by the great reviews I saw here, so I decided to take a chance. The house itself was immaculately clean and inviting. Our room (the Pear) was super clean and comfortable, and the bathtub was divine! (We don't have a tub at our house, so a getaway must always involve long soaks in a tub!) I was very pleased with the large game selection---we spent our evenings in the common area playing games. And even though that weekend was super rainy, we found ourselves completely replenished simply by being in a truly relaxing environment away from home. As if the wonderful environment wasn't enough to make me a true believer in Harbert House, we went on to discover the greatest Inn keeper of all time! Nancy was all of the basic things you hope for in an Inn keeper: She was even-keeled, friendly, reliable, and always went the extra mile to make sure we were happy and comfortable. Above and beyond that, she is herself was what I'd consider to be a serendipitous find in a person---she is so friendly and charismatic and enjoyable to be around---and I'm not embarrassed to say that I'd go back to Harbert House simply to hang out with Nancy and play some serious Scrabble with her. We found a true Gem! We will definitely be back, without a doubt. Very well worth it! I just hope that next time I have a chance to taste her Tuna Bruschetta. All of the goodies she prepared for us were so delectable---I'm sure this Tuna Bruschetta is not meant for those without a sophisticated palate. Thank you Nancy! It's obvious you've found your calling! -Melina and Michael, Chicago IL


Michigan Harbor Country

4,2 su ottobre 13, 2010

A wonderful find! Very clean, excellent breakfast, & close to everything. Nancy is a great hostess.


Lovely B and B Experience

5 su settembre 01, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Harbert House B & B recently and we loved it. It is charming, very comfortable and Nancy, the owner, is warm, hospitable and fun. The food she prepared was excellent, especially breakfast. We recommend Harbert House -- it really is great. Ellyn and Peter G. Chicago, IL


It's all about the Guest

5 su agosto 24, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Harbert House. The location was wonderful for the beach and investigating the local wineries. Nancy was a fabulous host who really makes you feel it is all about the guests. We stayed in the Pear Room, but checked out all the rooms. Wonderfully comfortable. The open areas are inviting and relaxing. We sat around the first night watching a movie and eating ice cream with 2 other couples as if we had known each other for years. It's just that relaxing. Breakfast was magnificant. Nancy was a caterer in her former life and it shows big time. We will definately be back to enjoy the area and some time at Harbert House.


Delightful

5 su agosto 23, 2009

Exceptionally clean and comfortable with great food and hospitality, it's easy to relax at Harbert House. We enjoyed both cocktails and a fantastic breakfast admiring the view from the huge screened in porch, and then walked to a seemingly endless stretch of beach. Restaurants, retail and parks are all nearby. We wanted for nothing during our stay and have absolutely no complaints. I'm already looking for an excuse to return.


A Wonderful Stay

4,8 su aprile 12, 2009

We live in downtown Chicago and travel frequently an hour and a half to southwestern Michigan on Lake Michigan. We ALWAYS stay with Nancy. Her B&B in immaculately clean, she is charming, and her breakfasts are always special and surprising. If you need help finding things in the area she goes out of her way to assist. She is a Chicago native and can help with any information you need for a trip there. Her address is about a mile from Lake Michigan in a wooded area, if you are not familiar with the midwest Lake Michigan is huge, very swimable, full of elusive and edible fish of all sizes.. There is great dining nearby and, if it's your thing, a brand new state of the art casino about 10 minutes away owned by the local Pottawattame tribe. And a day trip into Chicago is easily managed.


A real find!

5 su marzo 22, 2009

We stayed here and thought it was fantastic! The location was excellent, right off Red Arrow. It was winter so we obviously didn't go to the beach, but we did drive down the road towards it and it couldn't have been more than a 1 minute drive. The owner said it's about a 20 minute walk. The rooms are modern and attractive. We stayed in the Old West. It was spotless and very tasteful. We peeked into the other rooms since we were the only guests, and each was beautiful. I actually don't think the pics on the website do them justice! The bathrooms were especially gorgeous--amazing tile work. There is a HUGE screened in sun porch where you can eat/sit, and there is a huge living room with a big TV, lots of couches, games, and even a fireplace, which the owner lit for us one night. We thought the food was absolutely perfect. It was all fresh, inventive, and attractively presented. It's a really nice touch to get a little taste and a glass of wine in the early evening--we felt like it was one of those things that makes this place a cut above. Breakfasts were our favorite--goat cheese frittata and proscuitto wrapped asparagus one day and lemon ricotta pancakes with sauteed apples another. And the breakfasts were enormous! We left each day stuffed. The owner was warm and welcoming, directing us to good shops and restaurants when we asked. Overall we had a really lovely stay and hope we can go back again.


The Best of Harbert Country

4,0 su ottobre 20, 2008

I have spent many weekends in Harbert country over the years, but Harbert House made my last stay the most enjoyable of all.The rooms are comfortable and cozy, to say nothing of the beautiful attached baths. The breakfasts are a gourmet's delight and make it possible to get out of the cozy bed in the morning.And,last but not least, Nancy is a fabulous host...warm and welcoming.I intend to go back as often as possible.


Par Excellance

5 su ottobre 18, 2008

Serene, comfortable, restorative--those words express what Harbert House brought to me. The hostess is a perfect B&B host--she clearly knows what hospitality means. We really excaped the day to day hubbub at Harbert House, but felt very much at home with the amenities offered. The hostess is a wonderful chef, has perfect timing, and anticipated our every need. We will definitely return regularly.


Essence of Serenity

5 su ottobre 14, 2008

Setting, amenities, hostess - all carefully considered objectives aimed to the total comfort of the guest.


Exceptional!!

4,6 su ottobre 13, 2008

The food was gourmet, the room was beautiful, and the host was very, very nice. We didn't want to leave!


Best B&B

5 su ottobre 13, 2008

Our recent weekend at Harbert House was wonderful. The room was so comfortable I wanted to stay in bed all day, but the scent of freshly ground coffee was so inviting we made our way down for a fabulous breakfast - both days. The setting is lovely and walking distance to Lake Michigan. Our host, Nancy, was the best B&B host (and cook). The weekend was a pleasure. Harbert House is highly recommended.


A great weekend

5 su ottobre 05, 2008

This place is terrific. Nancy is the perfect hostess. Her breakfasts are delicious and creative. My room was perfect-comfortable and lovely and as was the attached private bath. I plan on making a weekend at Harbert House an annual event.


Home Away From Home

5 su ottobre 01, 2008

Harber House is a new B&B within walking distance of Lake Michigan and the beach. A rare find, cozy, spacious, clean, great breakfasts and friendly host. I have been there 3 times and have already scheduled visit #4! Love it!


Heavenly Harbert

5 su settembre 23, 2008

This Inn is the best. Beautiful rooms, restful setting in a meadow. The Innkeeper was a caterer, so the breakfast was four star!!


Highly recommended!

4,6 su agosto 25, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Harbert House this past weekend and I cannot say enough good things about it. Nancy immediately made us feel welcomed and her breakfasts were outstanding (especially since they were gluten free!). The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean. We stayed in the pear room and loved it; the views were outstanding as well. If you're looking for a relaxing and romantic get away, this is the place to stay!


Harbert House B&B

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $100 - $175
  • Recensioni (29) 4,7
  • Camere 5

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2692315111

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina