Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
115 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Castle

5 su gennaio 29, 2014

It was a really beautiful place and area. Would definitely go back again.


Beautiful Victorian in the Country

4,8 su dicembre 18, 2013

Loved the detail to the B&B. Very clean & romantic. I instantly felt at home. Wonderful breakfasts also. Very friendly Innkeeper & knowledgeable about the area & places to dine.


Third Stay and As Good As Ever!

4,4 su novembre 08, 2013

This was our third stay at Castle in the Country. The first two times we stayed in the whirlpool suites, but this time, due to a tight budget, we stayed in one of the standard rooms, the Golden Tower room. We stayed just after Christmas last year. Leading up to our stay, I was a little disappointed we weren't going to stay in one of the "fancy" suites. When we arrived, I was proven completely wrong! The Golden Tower room was great. It actually was two rooms, in a way. The main sleeping area has great character with a full turret ceiling, modeled from the original turret design of the tower. Out side the room, -well they describe it as a sitting area, but it is more of a "sitting hallway". Right outside the room is a table and a beautiful, antique (or antique style) couch. However, as the room was in the attic, the wall was too sloped by the couch to sit comfortably. Pulling it out a few inches will remedy any discomfort but we didn't use that couch much. At the end of the hall is a vanity with a comfortable stool. Great to put on makeup or check a tie, and very cute. The bathroom was clean, everything you need. It had a one person shower. The thing that stands out most, almost a year later, is how they utilized the space and made the most of a smaller room. The tv was smallish but perfectly proportional to the room, the door from the sleeping area was a sliding one, many wonderful decorative accents were in the windows to utilize that space, and there was a skylight in the shower to make it seem more open. The only thing, and this really couldn't be helped, is the heating unit in the room is extremely loud. It's an old house, and the room is in the attic, so the heat/ac is a unit, not central. The unit is right by the bed, and makes a lot of noise. On the bright side, the room heats up quickly and we were able to turn it off for most of the night, even during a snow storm. And like always, service was great, food delicious, amenities wonderful.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Returning Guest, We're so glad you chose to come back for a 3rd visit and that your stay with us, even after a year, was so fresh in your mind:-) We loved hearing that you felt... "like always, service was great, food delicious, amenities wonderful". We also appreciate the "heads up" about the noise on the wall unit heater from our guests because we're ready to fix whatever needs fixing as long as we are made aware of a problem. In this case we were able to reduce the noise immediately by cleaning the filter, so we're thankful you let us know at check out. We're looking forward to your fourth visit and hope you'll have a wonderful visit no matter which of our rooms/suites you choose!


Pure Heaven

5 su settembre 01, 2013

Would recommend to everyone - beautiful home surrounded by lovely woods with lake. Wonderful gourmet breakfasts. Attentive staff. Close to good restaurants and wineries.


Dream home in the country

4,6 su agosto 22, 2013

Beautiful and relaxing retreat! The staff was extremely welcoming and the room is just heavenly. For the most part, we felt we were living in a dream home out in the country, as we rarely bumped into anyone besides breakfast or at the pond. I have never felt so relaxed and "at home" on a vacation.


Very Impressed!

4,8 su luglio 01, 2013

My wife and I spent our 6th anniversary at Castle in the Country and were very impressed. When we first arrived, we had to wait a slight bit. At first, I was a little miffed by this until I realized it was because Ruth goes over the entire itinerary with each couple individually! We were both taken aback by this as we were not used to that level of personalization, especially from the owners! We purchased one of the packages and so Ruth also took care of getting our dinner reservation setup. When a snag came up with our original choice, Ruth called us to find a solution which worked, which was a nice touch. We stayed in the Camelot room, which was gorgeous. It was immaculately clean and the attention to detail is astonishing. One thing we loved is that the fireplace is right at the perfect level to look at when you are laying on the bed. The hot tub and shower were fantastic as well. It was also secluded from the rest of the rooms and having our own private entrance was really nice. It added to the ambiance of the experience. The breakfasts both days were fantastic! My wife in particular loved her omelet. However, we were particularly surprised by the picnic basket. Neither of us were expecting all that much from it, but we took the basket out to the gazebo and had an amazing lunch. We were surprised how fantastic a simple lunch can be. The bread was amazing! The massages were great. Both masseuses were incredibly friendly and my wife and I both came out of the experiences feeling fantastic. The one downside was that to do the things we wanted to do (namely hit the beach and eat at the restaurants Ruth recommended) we did more driving than I expected. This wasn't a problem, but it is something to be aware of. The Castle is in the Country and there is a reason Country is in the name! In short, we plan on coming back!


Very Nice!

5 su dicembre 27, 2012

We stayed the weekend before Christmas. It was very quiet and just what my husband and I needed. The room 'Crowning Suite' was beautiful. We loved the tub and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and we had a couple's massage and the ladies did a great job. We had everything we needed, the picnic basket was so well thought out. We had such a relaxing and enjoyable time. The romance was around every corner!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, I always admire couple's who know how to find what they need to have a wonderful time together. We've found that total peace and quiet with just the right amount of pampering is usually the passport to romance! So glad you found what you were looking for and were able to enjoy a romantic escape here at Castle in the Country.


Perfect getaway in MI.

5 su novembre 09, 2012

My husband and I just got back from the Castle in the Country. We stayed in the King Arthur suite and it was nothing shy of amazing. The moment we go there it was instant relaxation. The was both modern and rustic at the same time and it was incredibly inviting. The view from this room is breathtaking and I believe it hosts the biggest window in the castle keep building. The inn keepers and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and did everything to make our stay wonderful. We purchased a couple of add-ons, including the Isn't it Romantic package, and the Picnic Lunch. Both were high quality. The food was delectable our entire stay and the restaurant we received a voucher to, Salt of the Earth, was beyond words. I am already craving the fried risotto and hanger steak we had there. The grounds were beautiful and this was in late fall. They have a nice trail for walking/biking, The pond is beautifully situated and there is a nice deck and Gazebo to sit and take it all in from. Everything was clean and so well kept up. It truly makes you feel like a home away from home...well a much more comfortable and less stressful home. ; ) We can not wait to go back!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, "Instant relaxation". That's what we all work to provide for our guests here at Castle in the Country and it's what so many couples need in their lives. Thanks for letting us know that you found that magical feeling:-) We'll keep working to bring that to every guest who walks through our doors and in every guest room that we provide. Looking forward to having you back sometime soon!


Fabulous Stay

4,6 su ottobre 13, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Castle in the Country -- from the beautiful home, warm welcome, lovely accommodations, superb food and beautiful grounds. We will be back.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Can't wait to welcome you back for another "Fabulous stay" We're just so happy we hit all the right buttons for a great getaway.


Repeat customer

4,2 su ottobre 06, 2012

I've stayed twice at Castle in the Country once in Camelots Chambers and once in Lancelot. I will admit to enjoying Camelot more (before the renovation, it had an amazing sitting room and the most comfortable bed. I haven't seen the new version but hope they kept the sitting alcove). The pond and grounds are beautiful and my boyfriend and I didn't mind the drive to Allegan or Fennville-we enjoyed the suites that much more when we came back. Lancelot was nice but not to my tastes;the three sided fireplace gives the room character but gave the suite a cramped feeling. However, I am still eager to try the varied suites available. The only thing that went wrong at the Castle happened during our first stay. Some wires got crossed and the staff prepared a glutton free breakfast for me even though I don't have an allergy. But I got two helpings of fresh fruit and the glutton free pancakes were very good-honestly curious to know the recipe. Good food, great rooms, beautiful grounds and amazing coffee. Can't wait till my next visit!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We love our Repeat Guests - we're just so honored when you decide to come back to Castle in the Country for special celebrations. I always tell potential guests that many of our Repeat Guests stay in several of our rooms so that they can try them all out,and with 10 suites and rooms all together, we can be assured of several great visits. Thanks for proving my point...and we'd love to see you back for a third visit sometime soon.


great breakfast and atmosphere

4,0 su luglio 16, 2012

We stayed at the Jewel Box room for two nights. The breakfast is indeed very very delicious. The music in the dining room helps to create a very relaxing atmosphere. Interior decoration is very nice throughout the B&B at both buildings. Restaurants recommended by the host are all very good. The only thing we are not so satisfied is that our room doesn't have the flat screen TV as stated on the B&B's website and the TV is very small as well. The B&B has some nice DVDs for guests to watch but we couldn't really enjoy this feature... Other than this, we do think about returning again. However, we will choose a different room next time.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our Inn. We're always happy to hear when our guests have enjoyed the breakfast, the atmosphere and the decorations of the Inn as well as the recommendations we make for restaurants in our surrounding area. We really feel all of those aspects of your bed and breakfast experience are all significant ways that we can contribute to the value of your stay with us. We also appreciated hearing what would increase your enjoyment of the Inn and since your review we have corrected this oversight and purchased a brand new Flat screen TV for that room. Now, every room/suite in our Inn has a flat screen and DVD player and we're hoping every guest, even those who choose our coziest rooms will enjoy every aspect of their visit. We're looking forward to seeing you again and thank you for helping us to constantly improve.


A great getaway

5 su giugno 26, 2012

Castle in the Country was the perfect getaway within reach of Lake Michigan, Kalamazoo and Grand Rapids. The Crowning Suite was fantastic. The food was wonderful. The innkeepers were very hospitable. One of our highlights was kayaking on the lake and walking the nature trails.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We love hearing that you had a great experience at our Inn! We're pretty pleased with our "middle of nowhere" location since we think it gives couples like you enough great adventure right on property or within a pleasant driving distance to fun adventures at beaches, wineries, shopping and great restaurants. Just keep this thought in mind "A day at the Country is worth a month in town" and we'll hope to see you back, soon. :-)


Honey Moon

4,4 su giugno 07, 2012

Sorry, I'm writing a late rewiew. I really enjoyed my stay on 11/08/2009. It was an awesome honey moon!! I felt like a princess. The castle was super clean, calm, and quiet! And the couple massage was to die for! I'm already thinking of planning to spend our anniversary there! Thanks for wonderful time

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We love hosting honeymoon couples here at the Castle and we're so glad your experience was everything you were expecting. Our magical maids are super thrilled when you find everything super clean and our amazing massage therapists love to make the couples side by side an amazing experience as well.


Charming and Romantic

4,4 su maggio 30, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Castle in the Country. The rooms were lovely and surrounding acres were nice to stroll around. We also had a chance to kayak on the lake and observe nature. Breakfast was very good and plenty. Many thanks for a relaxing and comfortable stay


Just what we needed & more!

4,6 su gennaio 25, 2012

A beautiful home, serene setting, warm hospitality. Attention down to the smallest detail. Food was exquisite! The perfect backdrop for a most memorable honeymoon. We can't wait to return!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We're so excited to be able to provide "attention down to the smallest detail" just for guests like you who notice every detail! It just makes our job that much more fun when we can envelope our guests in the most beautiful surroundings and feed them exquisite food. We've found all these touches bring about an atmosphere of relaxation and a backdrop within for couples to make wonderful memories with each other. Hope to see you soon!


Getting ready for a return Visit

4,0 su gennaio 04, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Castle in the Country in July 2011, it was our first visit to a B&B. We were extreemly impressed. We are preparing to return in January to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. I can't say enough about the staff and owners, how welcomed we felt. Ruth and Herb you are truely amazing!!!


Wonderful Stay at Castle in the Country

4,6 su ottobre 20, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Castle in the Country. The room was very nice and the staff was full of great information and very friendly. They served us breakfast on two mornings and the food and presentation was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and our entire stay was very relaxing. We will definitely be visiting them again when another rest and relaxation weekend is needed.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your generous review. We love it when couples come to us when they're looking for rest and relaxation...there seems to be such a great need for that and yet very few places are designed just to give it. So glad you enjoyed the breakfasts, the grounds and the room you selected. We love doing what we do and we'll look forward to having you back sometime soon.


Our Engagement

4,6 su ottobre 18, 2011

Just last weekend I surprised my fiancé (girlfriend at the time), and took her to Castle in the Country. I had contacted the staff at least 7 times within a month prior to our trip. They helped my extensively each time to make sure the trip was unforgettable. The care that was taken towards the details in every aspect of their Bed and Breakfast was truly heart felt. As many can expect my fiancé has already discussed our future returns for Anniversaries. Thank you so much to the staff and family of Castle in the Country. Sincerely, One Happy Man

Risposta del proprietario
Dear "One Happy Man", We absolutely Loved helping you with all the planning to surprise and delight your beautiful fiance with a proposal! Of course we were just as determined to make an unforgettable experience for both of you and we felt very lucky to be a part of your love story. Each of our staff members were thrilled to be adding their own special gifts of service to the Happy Couple. We're all looking forward to many happy returns (return visits for Birthdays, anniversaries and maybe even a "take-a-break-from-wedding-planning-weekend" sometime soon! :-)


Castle in the Country

4,4 su agosto 20, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Castle. It was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. The host were gracious and food excellent. The rooms where as presented in the photos. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We LOVE B&B Newbies and we're so glad that you gave us a try! Glad our Castle gave you what you were expecting based on our website photos. Truth in advertising is very important to us too and we're always happy when our guests make note of this so others who haven't yet decided if they want to take the plunge. We're happy the hospitality and food hit the mark! We'll keep working to meet your expectations and we'd love to have you back anytime.


Bests B & B stay

5 su agosto 16, 2011

We had a wonderful day this past week at the Castle in the Country! First of all, I can't believe how much time they put into details at the Castle in the Country. Anything we needed, it was provided. The room was incredibly clean and smelled absolutely wonderful. Just a subtle, clean scent. We stayed in the King Arthur suite. Amazing view, great mattress, awesome tub. Two person shower was great. The food was incredible. We enjoyed everything, from the menu and the variety to the soft music and individual tables so you don't have to sit with people. Husband keeps talking about the food and enjoyed all of it. And... I hate sausage and ate mine the first morning. It was so good! They have a full sized fridge/freezer available in the new building, Castle Keep. My hubby is also a coffee snot. He would've loved a pour-over station with coffee that could be ground there. But I told him I would mention it in an email to Ruth in case others "snots" requested this, and she said she would've been happy to provide him with a French Press. If you stay here, ask for anything! They have it! The only thing that would've made the room better was that 2 of the 3 flameless candles were not working in the King Arthur room (batteries, probably). If it bothered us, we would've asked to have someone look at it. We ran out of tissues (we each had colds), asked Karissa to replace it, and it was done immediately and delivered personally to our room. Their service is impeccable! Listen to their recommendations on food and entertainment. If you don't go to Salt of the Earth for dinner at least one night, shame on you. It's out of this world. It was featured on the Food Network! Hubby got the scallops and lobster bisque soup and almost cried it was so good. The cake with chocolate and sea salt is to die for. Fennway Station is great too. Unique seating in a railway car. Stay for at least 3 nights. We only did 2 and regret it.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Wow! Thanks so much for providing such a detailed review of our Inn. Your feedback about every aspect of your stay;from the food to the comfort of the bed to the service we provided; will help others who are looking for their own romantic getaway. As you noticed, I love to put thought and attention into every space within our two buildings and our surrounding property and when those details are noticed and appreciated, I just get a boost of energy to do more! Thanks for such a great boost... and we're readying the French Press for your next visit :-)


Beautiful but......

3,0 su giugno 20, 2011

We were hoping to have a really good experience with the B&B but it seems as if communication was lost between myself and the Innkeeper and/or staff. When I spoke on the phone with either staff or innkeeper I told them that we would be coming in around 3pm and was hoping to get information regarding places to eat, etc. When we arrived at the B&B, I was talking on the phone on the front porch to whomever answered the phone and the whole conversation just seemed odd. I told the person I was speaking too that I wasn't told that check in was between 4 and 6 and I just didn't feel very welcomed. The innkeepers never did introduce themselves when we saw that at breakfast either. We just knew who they were because of the name tag. Thank goodness that my sister-in-laws sisters own a B&B because if they didn't I would totally be turned off about staying at another B&B.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We are so very sorry that your early arrival at the Inn was not what you had hoped and that you weren't aware of our check in time frames. Since you had booked via a third party booking engine and not directly through us, we were expecting that you had been given the same information that we give to all of our guests about our check in time between 4:00-6:00 p.m. eastern standard time and about our names as the owners and our Innkeepers' name. As a result, we must have seemed very confused about why you were requesting an early arrival and we apologize for being unwelcoming at that time. We promise to check into the processes used by this national site for communicating the very basic information regarding check in times for anyone else who books in this way in the future so that we can connect more effectively right from the start. We do appreciate your review and we hope you'll accept our sincere apology for making you feel unwelcome.


A real castle in the country

5 su maggio 29, 2011

What a great place for a 45th wedding anniversary . Our room, food were #1, even the cat did her best to please us. The owners, Herb and Ruth did a wonderful job making us feel welcome. you will not be dissapointed.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We are so honored that you chose to stay with us for your 45th anniversary. It was great fun meeting you and we're so glad that we were able to provide just what you were looking for in your special celebration getaway. Miss Abby, our outdoor cat, misses you greatly! Come back and see us soon.


Castle in the Country (May 6-8, 2011)

4,4 su maggio 16, 2011

My wife and I generally take at least a week long vacation and therefore we have only stayed at a B&B one other time. Because we are not familiar with these facilities it was difficult to figure out where we wanted to go. After looking at many B&B websites and reviews we finally chose the Castle In The Country as our location. The reason I chose this location versus some of the others was due to some reviews that I read. To be the best doesn't mean that you are going to satisfy everyone or be perfect all of the time. There are ALWAYS people that you just can't make happy. What I tend to look for in the reviews is how the complaints are tended to. As there are times when every complaint can not be resolved it is the effort that I appreciate. There was an instance in which they responded to a review and it was the attitude in which they presented themselves to the readers that I noticed most. Some of the competition did not respond so well to thier complaints. I was fairly certian that IF there was an issue with my stay that it would be handled appropriately. I am glad to report that there were no issues with our stay. Everything was provided on-time as promised and the meals were excellent.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for writing your own review of our Inn. It really helps potential visitors just like you make their decision to stay with us. We totally agree with you that we can't make everyone happy every time, but we're thrilled to know that we hit the mark with you, even in one of our smallest rooms, the Jewel Box. Thanks for reminding us how important every interaction is with our guests! Hope to see you back sometime this summer or fall.


EXTRAORDINARILY BEAUTIFUL

4,8 su aprile 29, 2011

This was my husband and I first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast and it was with so, so Wonderful that words are so hard to express. I walk into my suite and it was breathtaking. The scenary was beautiful and The Castle as well as the Castle Keep was totally devine. Herb Boven elegant touch that he places on his food was so delicious, I have been looking every where for the Sweet Amaretto Cherry Focaccia bread, to no avail, no where! so I quess I would have to visit again just to delight my tastebud. The way that Ruth displays her grandeur of hospitality and warmth was very sincere, geniune and wonderful, she made the stay very welcoming. We stayed 2 days where it rain and had a winter storm warning in the middle of April. WOW! But it made our stay just that more cozy. We enjoy our stay in the King Authur Suite with 100% satifaction and no complaints. Thank you to the staff at the Castle in the Country for 2 beautiful days on April 18 & 19, 2011 Ken & Barbie

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Ken and Barbie, We really enjoyed meeting you both and hosting your visit! You were so appreciative of everything that our Inn offered and that is heartwarming for us. Like most of his recipes, Herb combines several different recipes to make his Sweet Amaretto Cherry Focassia Bread so that makes it hard to find, but I'll ask him to put his recipe on our web site blog sometime soon. So glad you loved it...it's one of my favorites also :-) Hope you will be able to come back and see us soon.


Relaxing stay

4,8 su aprile 26, 2011

We took advantage of the one available night to check out this b&b on short notice. I only wish we could have stayed longer! Despite the rainy weather we had a wonderful and relaxing time. Next time we will definitely do a longer stay to enjoy the woodlands and lakes. Great breakfast!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, So glad you enjoyed your visit. We loved hosting you and even though you had only one night, the two of you seemed to be prepared to have a great time and enjoy everything together. We'd love to have you back this summer. Right now is the perfect time to book on our real time availability. There's plenty of space available and remember, "a day in the Country is worth a month in town", or so we like to say at Castle in the Country.


Our experience

5 su marzo 03, 2011

We just stayed this week at the Castle and we just had to get on here and let everyone know how outstanding it was. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast look no further. We stayed in the King Arthur room and it was so beautifully decorated and romantic. We had dinner at our room after a long day of driving and it was so romantic sitting by the view with the fireplace. Every meal we ate we have NO complaints. Some stuff we didnt typically like but when Herb prepared it we tried it and fell in love. Every detail was amazing. The whole ride home we thought about when to come back! We didnt want to leave and were sad to go. Karissa, Ruth, and Herb put nothing but sincerity and thought into every detail of this establishment and when working with their guests. Thank you for the best stay of our lives. Brittany & Rodney

Risposta del proprietario
Hi Brittany and Rodney, You two were so much fun! We loved having you at the Inn and are thrilled that you had such a great time...even trying some food dishes you didn't normally like and turned out to love. :-) Hope you can find the time to come back soon, the property will soon be in full bloom and you would be able to have the picnic basket dinner out on the decks or in the screened house at the lake. Karissa, Herb and I are so honored that this was the best stay of your lives and we're going to do our best to live up to that on your next visit...and the next...and the next! :-)


Lovely getaway out in the country

5 su febbraio 22, 2011

I've stayed at this inn three times in different rooms (Rose Gazebo, Lady Gwenevere, and Camelot's Chambers) and enjoyed it each time. It has a truly elegant ambiance, from the bedding to the decorations to the whirlpool tub (where available). The breakfasts were delicious, and there was an excellent DVD collection for late night movie watching. On my last visit, I even had dinner delivered to my room in a basket (chicken pot pie, but I believe the options change). Would recommend highly if you want to "get away from it all".

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to our Inn each time you've stayed with us and in 3 completely different rooms as well. We often tell potential guests that we try to make all of our guest rooms and suites equally welcoming and comfortable but coming from you will be much more convincing It's always such a treat for us to ,have our repeat guests back with us because we get to know you and what you like and it's like having family


Perfect Relaxation & Rejuvenation Getaway

5 su gennaio 07, 2011

Our stay at the Castle in the Country exceeded our expectations in everyway! We stayed in the luxurious King Arthur with it's beautiful decor, high ceilings, view overlooking the pond, and the most comfortable bed ever. Ruth and Herb were very warm and gracious, the entire staff really took excellent care of us during our stay. We would definitely recommend the Royal Treatment package. The couples massage followed with a picnic basket filled with homemade goodies was out of this world and dinner at Salt of the Earth was wonderful. Everything aspect of our stay was on point and we didn't want to leave which is why we stayed an additional night. We look forward to coming back to the Castle. Thanks again for a very enjoyable and relaxing getaway. Tim & Cheri

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Tim and Cheri, We really enjoyed hosting you and it was a great compliment to us when you decided to stay an additional night because you were having such a great time. We create all of our packages based on guest feedback and it's so gratifying when we get to enhance your entire visit with just the right details, like the massage and the picnic basket stuffed with Herb's homemade bread and other goodies. We love our repeat guests and we'd love to have you back for a visit some time this Spring, summer or Fall. Warmest Regards, Herb and Ruth


An amazing honeymoon!

5 su dicembre 24, 2010

My husband and I questioned going to Michigan instead of Florida for our honeymoon, but once arriving at the Castle we were convienced we make the right decision. Our room was more beautiful than we could have imagined. Ruth is very sweet and Herb is an excellent chief. Every morning we were greeted with an amazing aroma of "good morning" (breakfast). We arrived on December 19 and departed today, December 24. I will miss the "good morning" aroma and miss the friendly faces. We can't wait to return this summer!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We were so glad to have you choose us for your honeymoon visit. You were such a delight and we're thrilled to know that you loved your room and the breakfast. It's for couples just like you that we created the "Kiss Work Goodbye" special for the 5th night free. We really love honeymooners. See you this summer!


Cute, cozzy stay

4,6 su dicembre 13, 2010

We stayed here and really enjoyed ourselves. We spend a day in Holand and Sagatuck (for a little bit). I liked that they had DVD's there so we could relax at night after long days. Holland was fun, cute town to walk around in. Plenty of stores to go into to escape the cold.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, Glad you enjoyed yourselves! We enjoyed hosting you for your weekend getaway. This time of year we love to refer both Holland and Saugatuck to couples who want quaint shops, wineries and just fun places to duck into out of the cold. This just makes coming back to your room with a fireplace and a good movie that much more inviting.


Perfect weekend escape

5 su novembre 24, 2010

We stayed in the King Aurthur Suite in the Castle Keep building. It was beautifully decorated and the view over the pond through the picture window was stunning. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious and well presented. We hiked through the trails on the property and enjoyed the peacefulness and beauty. The staff provided excellent recommendations for meals and exploring the local towns. Downtown Holland had great shops to explore. Dinners at the Grill House in Allegan and Salt of the Earth in Fenville were wonderful. A perfect weekend getaway! Thank you Ruth and Herb and staff! Laurie and Karl

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Laurie and Karl, Thanks so much for letting us (and our future guests) know about the things you enjoyed during your visit! We loved meeting you both and helping you discover the experiences that were perfect for you. It is such an honor to be part of our guests' lives and we do thank you for sharing yourselves with us. We hope to see you again,soon!


What a wonderful weekend!

5 su novembre 01, 2010

We so enjoyed our stay at this beautiful and romantic getaway. The grounds are beautiful, the home-cooked meals (some served privately in your room) were delish and the wagon ride was a blast! The rooms are clean with attention paid to the smallest details. The staff was so friendly and courteous and went above and beyond to make this weekend just right. Spent the day ini Saugatuck-only a 30 minute ride-and visited Fenn Winery. Thank-you again for making this weekend so special. Sincerely, Michele and Michael

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Michele and Michael, Thanks so much for letting us (and all of our future guests) know about your visit to our Inn. We are so happy when we can help you find the romantic getaway you're seeking and provide great food and fun at the same time. We'll look forward to seeing you soon...remember, we'll be doing sleigh rides on Friday nights in January and February so it's not too soon to plan your return visit.


GREAT PLACE TO WIND DOWN

5 su ottobre 27, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Castle keep AND KARISSA was RIGHT! It was the BEST! Hour of our lives with our couples massage!!!!! Do NOT miss out on this if you go!! Thanks to Rachel and Angelia. All the staff were sooo personable and we felt at home…it was great to reconnect with each other getting away from our busy lives and this is definitely the place to do it. We wished we could have stayed a third night……so we could have another massage and enjoyed more of the relaxing atmosphere. We loved our hike in the woods, where we saw lots of nature and it led us down to the screened porch where we sat for an hour or so and didn’t even notice it was getting dark…. Dinner at the grill up the street was superb…..and Ruth had tons of info for us so we would not miss out on anything. Thank you again for a great stay. Tom and Shaz

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Tom and Shaz, Loved hosting the two of you for your weekend away. You both were so committed to having a great time with each other and the staff just loved helping you out with that goal;-) We're looking forward to seeing you again soon and for at least 3 nights.


Great Staff, Beautiful Grounds, Excellent Breakfast, Perfect Stay.

5 su ottobre 27, 2010

I just had my wedding at the Inn last weekend, and I have nothing but good things to say about my experience. The staff was warm and inviting, and made us feel comfortable throughout our stay. Ruth, was great she took so many wonderful photos of our event. I have showed them to many of my friends and family members and they have gushed about them. And asked me who my photographer was. The food was great as well, I would recommend having dinner at the Inn at least one night of your stay. My husband and I loved our pinic style dinner basket and the food was fantastic. Also, the breakfast we were served each morning of our stay was so good. Everything was abesolutely delish. We stayed in the Castle Keep, and our room was nice and well appointed with a great view. The grounds are also very nice and offer many trails and a gazebo for lounging. This provides the perfect setting for a romantic getaway. I abesolutely adored my time at the Inn, and I am looking forward to returning soon. Thank you, again to the staff for making our special day so perfect.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, I had such a blast with the two of you during your photo session for your elopement package. Criss crossing the property and stopping to get inside and outdoor shots everywhere just gave us the the best possible outcome in your photos. I'm thrilled that you're happy. We love hosting elopements because it just fits with the type of experience our property is perfect for and you two were lovely to work with. Here's wishing you a wonderful life together and we'll be looking forward to your return visit to our country castle sometime soon.


Fabulous!!!!!!!

5 su ottobre 21, 2010

We LOVED Castle in the Country and have already shared with friends what a spectacular time we had. It was our first "couples" massage and felt so "relaxed", our picnic lunch was perfect we ate on the beach in South Haven. It was a bonus that we had wonderful "fall" weather. We will definately be returning... Thank you again Herb & Ruth and staff

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, Thanks for your wonderful review! We love being part of your getaway, especially when you're so happy being together and ready to enjoy all the special packages that Castle in the Country can add to your visit. So glad you enjoyed the side by side massage and the picnic basket. That's my idea of truly relaxing luxury...when both of you get pampered at once.


Anniversary Get-a-Way

5 su ottobre 12, 2010

My husband planned a weekend get-a-way for our 23rd anniversary. We LOVED the picnic dinner of rustic pot pies, carriage ride, his and her massages and just walking the beautiful grounds! The Peacock room was cozy and all of the annemities were seen to with great detail! We would highly recommend a visit anytime, but the fall colors were truly breathtaking!!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We love to host anniversaries and we're so glad you chose us to celebrate with you. It was so much fun talking with you about your many b&b adventures...you are really veteran b&b goers and it was great to share experiences. Since we've visited a lot of other b&bs ourselves we wanted to include the Dinner at the Inn package for our guests to be able to kick back and relax and I'm so glad it worked for you.


2nd year

4,0 su ottobre 03, 2010

A great B&B for our first. We enjoyed the privacy, the comfort, and the people. Our one complaint would be the mattress seemed worn/old.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Inn. As a first time b&b goer you were likely apprehensive & hopefully also expectant and judging from the things you listed as what you had enjoyed..."the privacy, the comfort and the people" we're hoping we exceeded your expectations. As part of our regular upgrades throughout the Inn, the bed in that room is already scheduled for replacement this fall, but we do appreciate the feedback from our guests and we will keep trying to be the best b&b experience for seasoned and new b&b goers alike.


Lovely place, next time would stay in building by the lake.

3,4 su settembre 26, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here, but were we to return would not stay in the main house. We would stay in the newer building with the lake view where the rooms were beautiful with lovely views. We enjoyed walking the extensive grounds, and taking the paddleboat out on the lake. The breakfast was good and the bed comfy. Everything was great though did not appreciate the unprofessional way the young woman who greeted us when we first got there was dressed. Her plunging neckline showed it all. Also, could have used two bars of soap in bath as you had to share one for shower and sink.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, Glad to hear that you enjoyed all the extras that our 65 acre property provides. Since we have two very unique buildings each room is completely unique as well. Some in each building offer great views while others offer more of an intimate indoor space but all are surrounded by the opportunity to mix and match just the right elements into your stay to make it a great getaway for you. We appreciate your perspective and your feedback and will use it to make our service to our guests even better.


A Great Stay

4,4 su settembre 12, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Castle in the Country. My wife and I stayed in the 5-Heron room at the main Castle building. It was a nice, cozy room with a very comfortable bed and a two-person jacuzzi. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and watched several movies from the Castle's DVD library. The only drawback to the room was that there is no door, but rather only a curtain, separating the bathroom from the bedroom. The food was also top notch. The breakfast on our first morning was phenomenal - french toast with a blueberry and peach compote, along with fresh fruit. On the second morning, the breakfast was good - a quiche-like main course accompanied by an apple-filled pastry and slightly-oversalted potatoes - but not as much to our taste as the prior morning's breakfast. Regardless, it was excellent to have such well-thoughtout breakfasts prepared for us each day. What really sets this place apart, however, is the staff. For instance, on our second night, neither my wife nor I was feeling up for a long dinner out, so Ruth helped us find a great meal that we could pick up just down the road and eat on the grounds in the screened-in gazebo overlooking the pond. It was a perfect way to spend the evening given our mood. I have nothing but praise for Castle in the Country!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, Thanks so much for writing this review. We're always happy when some of the simplest things hit the mark and we're so glad the gazebo became your own private haven for a perfect dinner for just the two of you. We do put a lot of thought into our breakfasts & we are constantly tweaking recipes trying to have each of them appeal to a wide range of tastes. We loved to hear that the food was top notch for you. Since every one of our suites with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces are unique the Heron room is the only suite that does not have a door on the bathroom and we agree with you that it is a drawback. When we were renovating our Inn, it was a priority to allow for a view of the fireplace from the tub and still incorporate a stand alone shower. We had to compromise to accomplish both goals in the Heron room but we're always looking for new innovations in the reno world, so stayed tuned. We really do appreciate your high praise and we'll do our best to deserve it.


You just can't beat this!!

5 su luglio 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed too night their. And we had a ball.. The room we had was called the Sir Lancelot room it was very clean and huge, The breakfast was very good ( Home Cook) I love the grounds. The Innkeepers made us feel at home. This was the first time we had been to bed and breakfast. We will do this again.. Thank you all, Robert & Samella.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Robert and Samella, We enjoyed meeting you so much! You were very thorough in your questions about us and the experience you could expect when you booked and I always find it's a smart thing to do...less unhappy surprises for you, and more ways for us to get to know you before you even book. Loved knowing that we share our anniversary month! We'll look forward to seeing you soon.


Castle in the Country

5 su luglio 22, 2010

We stayed in the King Arthur room. It was fantastic! We also had the hot stone massage -- like heaven on earth. This is the place to stay and we WILL be back soon!!!!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, You're both angels in our book. We loved hosting your visit and the massage therapists felt completely appreciated by the two of you! :-) Now remember you promised to return really soon and maybe the next time you'll want to try the Reflexology session in the Gazebo as well? Stay happy and safe til then.


Mini Vacation

5 su luglio 07, 2010

We stayed in the Camelot's Chambers room, which was very nice. The grounds were just beautiful with lots of flowers and wooded areas. The breakfast were very good.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Herb takes alot of time watering all those flowers everyday but I think he enjoys visiting with guests as they share gardening secrets and pest control techniques. Every gardeners heart seems to be to nurture life and coax exuberance out of the ordinary. Aren't we lucky we get to share that job with you our guests.


Great for a romantic retreat!

4,6 su aprile 16, 2010

We will go year after year to celebrate our anniversary & look no further for any place else.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We're so honored to be part of your anniversary celebration and we truly appreciate your vote of confidence in us. We'll do our best to keep our Inn fresh and comfortable for you and your romantic retreat- year after year.


Romance Defined

4,4 su marzo 30, 2010

Everything about Castle in the Country boasts romance, from the Victorian style themed rooms to teh wonderful gourmet breakfasts. The tranquil grounds from pond to lake to gazebo were amazingly a peaceful beauty to see. Definitely will be back to visit again someday.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Wow, thanks for your review. We just love it when our guests take full advantage of all that our property has to offer. From the century old Castle to the Contemporary Castle Keep, it has been great fun decorating both to be enjoyed by guests who soak up all the atmosphere while reading a great book in our sitting rooms or walk hand in hand through the woods. Real nature really is the shortest path to tranquility isn't it? We'll look forward to the "someday" of your return.


Romantic Weekend

5 su marzo 15, 2010

My husband and I went away for our four year anniversary. We take turns surprising each other and we were extremely happy with every aspect of our visit. Looking forward to return this summer.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, I always admire the courage of couples who take turns surprising each other with a getaway! I'm so glad you were both extremely happy with your visit. I think a getaway is the perfect gift to give yourselves for an anniversary so that you can both be pampered at the same time. Hope you can sneak away this summer and surprise each other with a special celebration of "just because..."


best B&B in MI

4,0 su febbraio 17, 2010

This is a delightful quaint place! If you are looking for a relaxing, comfortable, quiet romantic stay, then this is a place for you and your mate. We are looking forward to seeing it again in the spring and fall!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your review! Guests are really looking for the things you mention that you found here and we're very grateful that your experience was just right for you and your mate. If you liked the grounds in the winter time you will just love being back this summer or fall. The wooded areas are just alive with every kind of bird and the lake reflects the bluest of skies. Hope to see you soon.


Quiet & Romantic

4,6 su febbraio 02, 2010

Meals were superb. Sir Lancelot room was beyond expectations with fireplace and whirlpool tub. Innkeepers had great recommendations for nearby restaurants. Inn was quiet and relaxing.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Exceeding your expectations is our goal. When we go away we always look for great food, great referrals for restaurants, and, we look for a room that is quiet, romantic and memorable. So, we're totally thrilled when our guests find all those things at our place. Thanks for letting us (and all of our future guests) know about your experience.


Camelot Found at the Castle In The Country

5 su febbraio 02, 2010

The Castle in the Country is truly the 'holy grail' of everything an inn or B&B aspires to be. Every detail has been planned and executed perfectly; from the beautifully restored victorian main house to the more contemporary country manor decor of the 'castle keep' exudes elegance, romance and relaxation. I highly recommend staying in and ordering their picnic dinner for in-room dining; it is as delicious as it is romantic. They've also managed to make their rooms as comfortable and cozy as they are beautiful. Do not pass up an opportunity to stay at this inn - Ruth and Herb have definately 'upped the bar' for all innkeepers to strive for. I can't wait for our next visit!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Wow! Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We just started offering the Dinner in your room picnic option and it was great to hear that it hit the mark for you. Since Herb makes everything from scratch at the Inn, he has worked hard to get just the right combination of flavors in those hand-crafted pub pies. And, Karissa (our Assistant Innkeeper) and I have encouraged him to include just the right amount of chocolate in those delicious Cherry Amaretto Cheesecake Brownies. We thank you so much for the compliments in your review and promise that you've inspired us to keep striving for perfection.


An amazing place to stay

5 su gennaio 04, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Castle Keep this past weekend. We had never been to a B & B before and did not know what to expect. The Castle in the Country exceeded all of our expectations. From the time we checked in until the time we checked out, all of our questions and concerns were answered. We ate at the Grill house the first night after the suggestion from Ruth. The second night ate at Via Maria's in Holland after a wonderful day in downtown Holland visiting all the shops. The rooms were emaculate, and definitely exceeded our expectations. We are planning another trip this spring and will definitely be back. Our goal is to stay in all the different rooms. I am going to suggest the Castle in the Country to everyone I know. Thank you for such a wonderful weekend.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, From checkin to check out you were a delight. We love hosting guests who have never stayed at a b&b before because it is so much fun giving you all the information we know will make your visit extraordinary. We'll look forward to seeing you in the spring and thanks for sending all your friends and family our way!


The Best Romantic Weekend!

4,8 su gennaio 02, 2010

This was our first B&B and our first weekend getaway without the kids. We had a fantastic weekend! Our room was definitely a wow! We were very impressed how nice it was. We loved the trails in the woods. We were there Thanksgiving weekend and would love to come back and experience it in the Summer and the Fall. Ruth was very pleasant to talk with and gave us all the information we needed. The food was very delicious. I highly recommend visiting here, you won't be disappointed!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, So glad you had a fantastic weekend at our Inn. Those trails are just the perfect way to get away from it all and still have all the time in the world to connect with each other. Glad you liked Herb's food. Our facebook page is starting to get quite a few of his favorite recipes and that's a great way to take the Castle in the Country experience home with you. Thanks for choosing us and we'll be happy to welcome you back this summer.


Fun Fall Getaway

4,8 su novembre 09, 2009

My husband and I wanted to get away from the city for just one night and Castle in the Country was perfect! Our room was beautiful and the grounds were so peaceful. We loved the trails in the woods especially all of the fall color. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, As we say on our sign at the Castle Keep building, "A day in the country is worth a month in town." Hope that your visit gave you just the right amount of peace in your life and we'll look forward to your return when you need the batteries recharged in the future.


Perfect Romantic Getaway

4,2 su novembre 02, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip to the Castle and it was absolutly wonderful!! I had read reviews that described the attention to detail and they were absolutly true!! Ruth and Herb have thought of everything their guests may need or want! From check-in to check-out we felt attended to, but not bothered. When we had a question about directions, or a restaurant, someone was available to help. During our two night stay we ate at the Grill House the first night. The location is great (just 5 min away) and the food is great!! The second night we ate at Via Maria in Holland and it was worth the 30 min. drive. Very romantic, great food, and excellent service. We were quite impressed at how beautiful the grounds are, and VERY quiet, the rooms are clean, the food is wonderful and the location is perfect. We felt secluded in the country, while easily being able to travel in to Saugatuck and Holland. I would recomend the Castle to my friends and family, and we eagerly look forward to returning for another getaway!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Thanks for reviewing our Inn so quickly. We really enjoyed hosting you and thanks for noticing all the details...it helps that we've been in the innkeeping business now for almost 19 years and our guests have trained us well. :-) We're glad you enjoyed the grounds and their peaceful quality. I think everyone needs a little more peace and quiet in their lives and I'm glad we could provide it for you. We'd love to have you back this winter. We'll have the snowshoes out for guests to enjoy our trails and afterward those whirlpools & fireplaces are just the ideal spot for doing nothing while you watch the snow fall. See you soon!


Another great find...

5 su ottobre 22, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's and this one is right at the top of our list. Beautiful room, beautiful grounds (65 acres!!), and fabulous food! We also brought our dog and found that Saugutuck and South Haven (close to Castle in the Country) are very dog-friendly towns to visit. Relaxing and peaceful time! Highly recommended!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We enjoyed hosting the two of you, and your little dog too. We really are thrilled to be at the top of your B&B list! In Camelot's Chambers it just works for us to be able to accommodate guests with a pet since it's so close to the trails and also far from the other guest rooms. We appreciate well behaved pets and can easily understand why couple's like yourself want to enjoy our great area. Glad you found the places in Saugatuck and South Haven that we recommended for Pet friendliness and that you enjoyed the room, the grounds and the food here at Castle in the Country too. Hope to see you back again soon. Warm Regards,


Absolutely perfect!!!!

4,6 su settembre 20, 2009

This was our first stay at a B & B and they really set the bar. The owners are wonderful people and really care about their guests. The food was presented in such an artistic manner and just as delicious. Such a peaceful and tranquil setting. The Sir Lancelot room was perfect for us. Very clean and romantic. Thank you for the perfect getaway. God Bless.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We're so glad you enjoyed your first stay at a B&B with us and I must say that we're selfishly hoping you won't want to go anywhere else. LOL No, really we do realize that it is a big decision for people to try a b&b instead of the typical lodging choices, but we try to make it a more intimate and comfortable choice so you'll be convincing all your friends and family that they should ditch their fears and try a b&b as well, hopefully Castle in the Country! Love to have you back real soon.


Superb relaxation in a lovely setting

4,8 su agosto 15, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the "Castle"! We stayed four nights and had such a relaxing time. It was an anniversary trip for us, and we came to the castle because of its recommendation as one of the romantic B&B's around, and we were not disappointed. One of my fears as I looked at a B&B instead of a fancy hotel was that beds might be uncomfortable. That was NOT the case here...the pillows and mattress were soft enough to be plush yet firm enough to give good back support. So comfortable!! The full breakfast every morning was very filling. I loved that I could eat a full breakfast meal that was not greasy or overly rich, yet still thoughtfully put together and absolutely delicious. My ONLY tiny disappointment with the breakfast was this: we had the same breakfast on our first morning and last morning. It was still delicious, but I know that there were other menu options (as we saw what was being served the next day), and we would have enjoyed tasting something different. Perhaps this isn't normally an issue - I don't know how common it is to have guests stay 4 consecutive nights. Nevertheless, this was by far our favorite B&B stay, and probably one of our favorite getaways in general... this was so much more unique than a glitzy hotel. At a Marriott, for example, outside of your room, there's not a lot for you! Here, our room was a lot better than a hotel room, AND there was so much available to us on the grounds and in the buildings themselves. We could go out on a boat, or stay in and choose a movie from their library...and even run down to the kitchenette to pop some popcorn! The innkeeper has so many more suggestions than your average concierge. If you haven't done a B&B before, try the Castle...although you might never want to go anywhere else!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your 5 day-4 night vacation. Since we have that great mid-week discount of 4th night free we've really enjoyed the luxury of more time with our guests, more time for them to enjoy the property and more time to enjoy this great part of Southwest Michigan. Your great review talks about the things you considered when deciding whether or not to book our Inn and I'm sure there are others who question the same things. Thanks so much for choosing Castle in the Country and we're looking forward to seeing you again!


Simply the Best B&B Ever!

4,8 su agosto 04, 2009

After researching the area inns, my husband and I booked two nights at Castle in the Country. We had no idea how wonderful our trip would be! Ruth checked us in and gave us some great information about the surrounding area as well as the 65-acre property the inn sits on. The Romeo and Juliet suite, located in the Castle Keep, was our choice. The suite itself is very spacious and comfortable, with vaulted ceilings, a king-size bed, large Jacuzzi tub, fireplace, private bath, large closet and lovely décor. Just outside the room there are DVDs, complementary toiletries and sundries, music, just about anything a guest may need! On the main floor of the building is a large dining room, and a kitchen area that the guests may use. We are not the type to eat large meals every night, so the kitchen fridge was very convenient for us to keep our snacks and light meal items. The breakfasts were divine. Herb incorporates many items from the local farmers’ markets into his cuisine, which gives it wonderful flavor and freshness you can’t get just anywhere. The grounds are lovely, including a smaller pond, gazebo and deck area located just outside the Castle Keep building. If you’re adventurous, you can walk the mowed paths into the woods, to the larger lake at the back of the property. We did this several times, and actually fished off the dock (using our own equipment), used the provided kayaks and paddleboat, and enjoyed the screen house that is adjacent to the lake. Ruth and Herb have thought of every convenience for their guests—there was even insect repellant and sunblock at the Keep building for guests’ use, and it definitely came in handy. This mini-vacation to Castle in the Country was just what we needed: a tranquil, relaxing retreat away from the touristy spots. We plan to go back very soon.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We are so thrilled when we can be just what you needed. We love to provide all the surprising little details that turn a great getaway into an exceptional one. Thanks so much for letting all of our "would-be-guests in on your experience and we'd love to have you back very soon.


Elopement b&b

4,2 su luglio 10, 2009

After much research we chose this establishment for their wedding package. The innkeepers were very gracious and we basically showed up with a gown and tux. Very clean, and charming with a little modern touches. Beautiful grounds with plenty of room to roam. We were pleasantly surprised and rave about our wedding here to everyone.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We had a great time hosting your elopement wedding. It always adds just the right amount of excitement and romance with a wedding couple in the Inn. Thanks so much for choosing us to host your special event. I hope the special sparkle that you both had for each other translated well through your photos. We hope you'll come back soon for a getaway and remember to ask for your free anniversary cake!


Wonderfully romantic anniversary

5 su giugno 16, 2009

We stayed for two nights 6/3-6/5 2009. Everything was wonderful. We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet room. The attention to detail, not only in the room, but also at the entire inn was unsurpassed. Ruth's recommendations for dinner at local restaurants were perfect. We also loved the delicious breakfasts. We will definitely return for another visit!!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We do love to pay attention to the details that are going to make your well-deserved getaway the best it can possibly be. To us, beautiful rooms, memorable food and great restaurant suggestions set the stage for everything romantic and all the extra details in our rooms, within both buildings and outside on our grounds are just the details to help you relax and feel pampered. We were honored to be part of your experience and we'll look forward to your next visit at the Castle.


Relaxing and Romantic

4,0 su giugno 09, 2009

Great stay. Nice staff, greet food, and nice rooms. Good place to go for romantic get-away.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, Thanks so much for your review. Being a person of more words than are necessary most of the time, I really appreciate your succinct way of boiling it down to just the best words to describe your experience. Hope to see you back soon.


A memory to never forget

5 su maggio 04, 2009

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time in the Castle in the country. Our room, Sir Lancelot, was even better then imagined. Breakfast was very good! We had a wonderful time and look forward to visiting again soon.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We're so delighted that you had an amazing time at our Inn. Thanks for giving us the chance to exceed your expectations and go beyond your imagination. Hurry back to visit us again.


The best B&B!

5 su aprile 29, 2009

Very clean & comfortable. Great food.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We work really hard to score high marks for cleanliness and comfort in our rooms and buildings at Castle in the Country. Since Herb spends many hours shopping for fresh & local ingredients and prepares all of the food from scratch, it's great to see it earned your 5 star rating. Thanks so much for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back.


Amazing B&B!

4,8 su aprile 21, 2009

We stayed in the King Arthur room for our anniversary. The room was wonderful, food was delicious, and the service was great! There is nothing I would change about this place. Very peaceful setting. We will definitely be back!!!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We love helping guests celebrate anniversaries. It's such an important reason to celebrate and we're glad we could give you time to relax and enjoy each other. We'll keep working to keep our rooms wonderful, our food delicious and our service great! Thanks for a great review and see you next year?


Best wedding ever!

4,6 su marzo 27, 2009

Not only was our beautiful wedding here, but we also came back for our anniversary! Peaceful surroundings, great food, quiet and comfortable lodging- we anticipate celebrating future anniversaries here!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We do love our wedding couples...and we love it even more when you come back to celebrate an anniversary. That just proves you were perfect for each other and we are happy to be the perfect place for you to come back and share the memories of your special day together.


amazing

5 su marzo 19, 2009

Great way to start the New Year- relaxing, beautiful, peaceful inn. Loved the fireplace, whirlpool, scenery, and food- excellent. Thank you!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Hope you are having an amazing year! Thanks for the great review of all the things you loved at Castle in the Country. We're always here for you and would love to host a Summer, Fall or Winter getaway and we'll do our best to surpass your last getaway.


MAKE THIS YOUR FIRST STOP IN ALLEGAN

4,0 su marzo 18, 2009

We will return to the Castle in the Country. My husband needed to relax, and we needed the time alone! I can't think of a better place in Michigan! Great food! Great room! Great Hosts! Great surroundings!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, Thanks so much for your great review. We love to be taking up all the space in your mind as the "best place in Michigan" for you to escape, relax and be alone together. Come on back to the Country some time soon.


Treated Like a king at the Castle.

5 su marzo 17, 2009

My wife and I had a planned trip up to Allegan and just so happened to stumble on the Castle website. Having never been to a B&B we decided to give it a whirl. After our stay I cannot say enough about the castle. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. The InnKeeper was able to accomodate our early arrival by offering us a room other than what we had booked at the same cost. We were provided with a detailed explanation of the facility and surrounding area. They made it very clear that if we need anything to let them know immediately. The room was amazing and I can not say enough about the comfort and relaxation I had during the stay. More amazing was the breakfast. From the mouth watering apricot/almond scones to the Grand Marnier French Toast made from fresh homemade bread, I left begging for more even though I could not have taken another bite! I look forward to being able to visit the Castle in the summer to see all 65 acres in its beauty. I highly recommend a visit if you are in the area!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We're so glad that you loved your visit to the Castle. We believe all our guests are royal and we love sharing our Kingdom with you. Come on back and enjoy the summer or fall at the Castle, your loyal subjects (the Castle Staff)will be happy to welcome you back. ;-)


Great Anniversary Get Away

4,8 su marzo 10, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's before but the Castle was by far the best one we've ever been to! Our room was spectacular and the food was excellent. It was nice having the option to eat in the privacy of our own room. We look forward to returning soon. Thanks Herb and Ruth!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We are always so honored to have our guests declare us "the best we've ever been to!" Thanks so much for your review. It may encourage others to know they can expect spectacular rooms and excellent food from us at Castle in the Country. We'll keep working to deliver that level of service to both the veteran b&b goer and the first time b&b goer alike.


Fabulous!

5 su marzo 03, 2009

Awesome staff! Wonderful food! Great mystery weekend!


wonderful experience

5 su febbraio 18, 2009

I would recommend it to others!


Surprise!

4,8 su febbraio 10, 2009

I surprised my wife with a weekend away. She did not know where we were going. Our weekend was terrific. We had the Romeo and Juliet room. Everything was very well thought of at the inn. Ruth and Megan were fantastic hosts and Herb is a great cook. Highly recommend!


great stay

5 su febbraio 04, 2009

great stay


perfect winter getaway

4,8 su febbraio 04, 2009

Great cozy 'castle' located near great ski resort. The employees were so nice and the weekend was perfect. Would highly recommend!


Winter weekend getaway

5 su febbraio 04, 2009

What a wonderful weekend we just had! Castle in the Country was cozy, warm, lovely and memorable. We loved the Inn, the room and Chefs wonderful meals. Everyone smiled all the time. I look forward to returning someday, hopefuly someday soon. Thankyou so very much for everything.


superb royalty

5 su febbraio 04, 2009

Castle in the Country provides each guest with the royal treatment- from the fabulous, gourmet breakfast, to the Romeo and Juliet suite; our stay was amazing and we were treated like their royal guests!


Impressed in Indianapolis

4,6 su gennaio 26, 2009

We enjoyed a fantastic weekend at Castle In The Country for our second anniversary. Neither one of us has ever been to a B&B, but I fear that all other B&B's will fail in comparison to this one. Ruth and Megan were very kind and hospitable. Our breakfasts, wonderfully composed by Herb, were very tasty. We could not have asked for a better way to celebrate our anniversary or a better B&B to have been our first.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, We loved having you visit our Inn and were delighted that you enjoyed the experience. Here's wishing you a wonderful year and hoping we get the chance to host a few days of escape for you back at the Castle sometime this summer.


Best B&B Stay

4,6 su gennaio 26, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Castle in the Country. The rooms were beautiful and well kept, as were the 2 houses they have. The food was exceptional. Herb is a wonderful cook and great teacher, as we enjoyed a cooking class from him. The best B&B breakfasts I have ever had.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Herb and I enjoyed your group's visit very much. What a blast for him to drink wine and show off all his cooking savvy for eight appreciative and beautiful women! How great is our job? We get to enjoy warm surroundings, great conversation and incredible food with guests like you. Hope to see you again sometime soon.


warmth and comfort in the woods

4,0 su gennaio 12, 2009

The service was wonderful and the hospitality exceeded my expectations. This inn was comfortable and warm and the food was terrific! Hope to be back!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review of our Inn and your kind words about your feelings of comfort and warmth. That's exactly our goal for every guest and doesn't our world seem to need that right now? Hope to see you again and in the meantime, we'll be inspired to keep our little spot in the woods going until your return.


Castle in the Country

5 su gennaio 09, 2009

We had a wonderful, relaxing experience! The food and atmosphere were wonderful and elegant! Excited to return!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, So glad you were able to relax and enjoy your visit to our Inn. We feel very honored that you picked us to spend your hard earned get-away time at our Inn and if we hit a "home run" in your experience it makes us feel great. Thanks for the review and hope to see you soon.


Much nicer than expected

4,0 su gennaio 05, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Our first visit to a B&B and it was nicer than expected! We plan to go back in the summer. Nice lake, walking trails, etc. Only recommendation would be that spa quality/name brand toiletries would be a nice touch vs. the quite inexpensive items provided.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your review. As you know, it is very important to us to have you and other guests delighted with the experience you have at our Inn. We especially appreciate hearing your feedback regarding our complimentary toiletries. We have provided the brand name products; hair rinse, hair cleanser, body bar and bath crystals that we currently offer for about a year and liked their natural, green packaging, but we have been sourcing other products and would really appreciate hearing from you about what you didn't like about them so that we could make our purchase of replacement items sometime this Spring. Thanks again for your wonderful review of our Inn and we'd love to welcome you back sometime this Summer.


Our favorite romantic getaway

5 su dicembre 16, 2008

We had our wedding at Castle in the Country in December 2005. Every single experience and interaction with the Innkeepers Ruth, Herb and Megan has been great. A few months prior to the wedding my then-fiance and I went to tour the beautiful Castle as well as the Castle Keep with Ruth as a very helpful and informative guide, helping us choose our ceremony and reception locations as well as prospective rooms for our guests. Ruth handled every small detail for our wedding: food, flowers, the officiant, photos, horse-drawn sleigh ride. All we had to do was show up with our clothes and our guests! It was a magical winter wedding. Our guests stayed in the Castle Keep building; hubby and I stayed in the King Arthur suite and our guests stayed in the Romeo and Juliet suite, Camelot Chambers, Lady Gwynevere Suite and Sir Lancelot suite. Each room had it's own unique and stunning decor, and our guests have raved ever since about Castle in the Country, and some are now repeat guests to this wonderful B&B, returning from Canada to stay here again since our wedding. My hubby and I have gone back every year in December for our anniversary and stayed in the King Arthur suite, and it is always a peaceful and refreshing getaway for us. This past weekend we spent our 4th weekend there, and as always every detail was great. This is by far our favorite B&B - it just has everything. We recommend it to everyone we know who needs to get away for a peaceful retreat! We've also enjoyed the nearby Grill House restaurant, Bistro 120, Old Regent Theater, and walking through the quaint Historic district in Allegan. Next time we come back to Castle in the Country we want to try the spa services, as our friends highly recommended the side-by-side couples massage. There's always something new to do each time you visit, which is something else we like! Ruth, Herb and Megan do a fabulous job making Castle in the Country a really special place. -Michael & Tashua

Risposta del proprietario
Hi Michael and Tashua, Thanks so much for all your kind comments. We enjoyed hosting your wedding four years ago and have been so honored to have you visit us faithfully each year. You're the reason we love our business. Looking forward to seeing you next year...or maybe we can tempt you to come back sometime during the summer so that you can enjoy the whole grounds, maybe via horse drawn wagon or buggy instead of the sleigh;-) Warm Regards, Ruth


Great Experiance in Michigan

5 su dicembre 16, 2008

We enjoyed a temendous weekend. The hospitality, the room (which may have been the nicest we have ever stayed in), the food and the friendliness of the staff were outstanding. I cannot say enough good things about the Castle in the Country. We stayed in the Romeo & Juliet Suite. It was absolutely beautiful. Ken Semelsberger & Debra

Risposta del proprietario
Hi Ken and Debra, Thanks so much for your review of our Inn. Since the two of you stay frequently in other B&Bs it is high praise indeed that you enjoyed your experience with us and that we compared so favorably with other select B&Bs. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.


Relaxing and Romantic Getaway

5 su dicembre 08, 2008

Our stay at the Castle in The Country was just what we needed after our wedding. It was very relaxing. The inn was awesome and the food was excellent. We did the side by side couples massage and a winery trip where a town car picked us up with a picnic basket lunch and we went to a few of the local wineries for some tasting. We will come back to stay for sure. We have already recommended it to all of our friends. Thanks again for the great honeymoon. Mark & Meredith

Risposta del proprietario
Hi Mark and Meredith, Thanks so much for your review of our Inn. I know that I missed the opportunity to meet you both since our Assistant Megan, was in charge of the Inn during your visit. When couples like you choose us for your honeymoon, we want to do everything perfectly for you so that we can be a part of a great start together. I'm looking forward to meeting you next visit. Thanks for the great review.


Where you are treated like royalty!

5 su novembre 29, 2008

We have stayed with Ruth and Herb a few times. Each time we felt like we were part of the family...yet being treated like royalty. The rooms are amazing! The food is divine! And the Castle itself is beautiful! We have recommended it to everyone we know! We can't wait to go back :)

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, You are royalty to us. You remind us that we really do have the best guests ever and we look forward to re-connecting soon. Warm Wishes for a great year until we see you again.


Very romantic and relaxing

5 su novembre 23, 2008

Our stay was everything we hoped it would be! Hot tub soaks in the morning, breakfast in the provided robes while we looked out over the gazebo and the lake. Our room was very comfortable, cozy, romantic and relaxing! Even the smallest touches, like the many fresh daily candles, was greatly appreciated! We will definitely be coming back and staying in a different room, for a different feel, and will recommend your inn to all of our friends!


What a wonderful weekend

4,0 su novembre 20, 2008

Before our arrival I needed to call because we were going to arrive late. The inn keeper already knew who I was and explained a late check in procedure to me as well as letting me know they upgraded our room. It would all be explained in a welcome letter which we could find at the front door. Everything was as stated and the room we were given was extraordinary. The next morning we awoke to the smell of a wonderful breakfast which was served at a wonderful time of day at 9am. Our room overlooked a beautiful pond and we could see dear running in the fields in the distance. The inn keepers were very informative and we were able to visit some very wonderful small cities nearby. Dinner was served beautifully at 7pm (another great time). The food was excellant. We were able to retire to our romantic room and have an excellent evening. The next morning we awoke again to the smell of breakfast cooking and had a leasurely morning on the 65 acre inn. It was the loveliest weekend I can remember having in years. Thank you Greg and Lorie Blair


The Absolute Best

5 su novembre 06, 2008

We were married on Halloween and decided to stay at Castle in the Country for a few days. It was beyond what I expected. The Inn is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. I will recommend Castle in the Country to everyone I know. If you have the chance to stay make sure you get the couples side by side massage. Lisa & Jake Smith


Fantastic Weekend Getaway

4,6 su novembre 04, 2008

Although the weather was not the best, my wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed walking the trails in the rain and our stop at the lake, lounging and listening to the rain on the roof of the screened patio was soooo! relaxing. The food was great! Ruth, Herb and Megan made our stay fantastic. We will definately be back. And we will recommend the Castle in the Country to all of our friends. Thank you Ruth, Herb and Megan for a great weekend. Mike and Marlene


A beautiful weekend.

4,0 su ottobre 30, 2008

We just spent the most wonderful long weekend at the Castle In The Country. Ruth and Herb made us feel so welcomed and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Their passion for what they do, shows in their impeccable taste of style in the decor and the delightful breakfasts that are served. We had a fabulous time and hope to return soon. Sincerely, Stewart and Sue


What a relaxing week end

5 su ottobre 28, 2008

Ruth was very helpful with ideas for places to go and things to do on a cold, wet Saturday, since outdoor activities were not overly atrractive. After a day touring the interesting places near by, the huge jacusi was a wonderful, relaxing treat.


Lovely romantic Weekend.

4,4 su ottobre 26, 2008

We had a lovely time at Castle in the Country. We went with another copule and were able to enjoy time together in the gazebo as well as time alone. The view of the lake was spectacular with the fall colors on the trees. Loved the kayaks!


Castle in the Country

5 su ottobre 25, 2008

Honeymooning at the Castle in the Country was the best decision my Husband and I made. It was romantic, secluded, and just WONDERFUL. I can't wait to go again.


Great Week End Stay

5 su ottobre 19, 2008

I just wanted to send a quick note of appreciation to all of you for making our stay this past week-end such an enjoyable event. This was our first visit to The Castle In The Country and it will not be our last. From finding your B&B on the web to the interactions on the telephone, planning our stay with you was easy and comforting. Our room was cozy, spotless and fun. Breakfast was very enjoyable. Thank you very much for a wonderful week. My husband and I will be back and we will recommend you to our friends.


Outstanding

5 su ottobre 16, 2008

Our whole stay was just perfect. From the cleaniness, to the food, to the screen house by the lake, and the kayak ride on the lake. A wonderful stay.


A perfect Anniversary getaway!

3,6 su ottobre 02, 2008

Four our 30th anniversary I surprised my wife with two nights at the Castle in the Country. We were not disappointed and very happy that the Inn, the meals & the room lived up to the online 5 star reviews.


Weekend Getaway

4,4 su settembre 29, 2008

You have a beautiful B&B place. The staff was very welcoming and pleasant & helpful. It was nice to get away and relax. It would be helpful to have pant hangers, a stool to step into & out of the whirlpool bath and a choice of a savany breakfast.


We are already planning our next visit

5 su settembre 08, 2008

We are regulars at B&B's and this one was by far our faviorite . There were so many activities to choose from. The rooms were absolutly beautiful and the food was amazing ! Most of all we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and not only will we be back but we will recommend it to our friends and family. Thank you .


A beautiful place to relax

4,8 su settembre 06, 2008

I stayed here with two friends for a girls get-a-way and it was great. We stayed in the Rose room and it was beautiful and very clean. The breakfast was delicious and the dining room was elegant and warm. The innkeepers are very hospitable and make you feel at home. The location is great because you are not far from shopping, hiking,etc. I highly recommend it.


Castle In The Country

5 su agosto 25, 2008

The warm hospitality together with the beauty and distinctiveness of the grounds and accommodations made for an exceptional experience. We particularly appreciated the private lake and the workouts provided by the kayaks and paddleboat. We've raved to friends and relatives about all aspects of our stay and will continue to do so.


Very, Very, Nice

4,6 su agosto 23, 2008

We enjoyed our stay very much.


The Most Romantic Awesomest Two Days

5 su agosto 15, 2008

This place is awesome. The staff was so interested in all the details. They knew who I was, what we were looking for, and were so willing to make sure that we recieved the most out of it. No corners were cut. Extremely beautiful. Definitely a 6 star with us. We will be back.


Country Heaven

4,0 su agosto 10, 2008

This is the best bed & brekfast experience we have ever had. From the time we found the the site on the net, until our departure, everything about the Castle in the Country exceeded our expectations. The innkeepers, rooms, dining, grounds, woods, trails, pond and lake make this a very, very special kingdom where one can truly come apart and get refreshed!


Beautiful

4,0 su agosto 08, 2008

We were so surprised at how beautiful and romantic the castle is. The food is delicious and the rooms are unbelievable, like stepping back in time in a grand way.


A Great Stay

4,0 su agosto 08, 2008

A bit far from Lake Michigan if you want to spend a lot of time at the beach. But, the privacy, great beds, beautiful location, kayaks on a private lake, and free movie selection outways the extra driving time.


Ultimate Relaxation!

5 su luglio 16, 2008

This B&B was outstanding as far as serenity, relaxation, massage, personality of innkeepers, decor of rooms, tranquility along with numerous places to see in the area. Food was the ultimate in taste & presentation!


Great 1st Stay!

4,8 su luglio 03, 2008

Beautiful Property, Great Food, Friendly Staff. Will visit again.


First Class at the Castle

5 su giugno 21, 2008

Our stay at the Castle was very relaxing and first rate. We stayed in the King Arthur which has a wonderful view of the pond and country side. Everyone was very friendly and made you feel welcome and at home. The food was all prepared from scatch and was delicious. The decor is outstanding. You could not ask for anything better in a B&B and we hope to go back again.


Great time at The Castle.

5 su giugno 06, 2008

Suspects gallore in the most recent murder mystery at the Castle In The Country. Amid a wonderous gourmet meal made by the Innkeeper himself, participants tried to solve the latest " Who done it". murder mystery at the Castle In the Country.


Surprise Birthday weekend

5 su aprile 29, 2008

We had an excellent stay. Very friendly host, great food, nice location, all decorations are made with class, very clean. We will definitely go back!!


Lovely Rooms in Quaint Location.

3,6 su dicembre 14, 2007

For a true out of the ordinary get away location, choose this beautiful home. Breakfasts were outstanding. Staff friendly with good recommendations for local attractions and restaurants. Rooms spacious and very clean. Would definetly recommend for anyone.


AN enchanting getaway.

5 su dicembre 13, 2007

Friendly, honest, extremely competant innkeepers made us feel like old friends before we left. Great food and very clean, imaginatively furnished and decorated rooms.


Romeo & Juliet

5 su ottobre 30, 2007

We stayed in the Romeo & Juliet Room it was awesome. The decore was perfect. The setting was beautiful. Recommending it to everyone.


Very nice

5 su ottobre 18, 2007

Very nice, couples massage was really great!


Wedding Anniversary

5 su ottobre 14, 2007

Castle in the Country far exceed our expectations! Hosts were friendly and knowlegable about the area. The room we had was amazing and the breakfast? To die for. We have told our family and friends they MUST stay here the next time they need to get away!


Castle in the Cuontry.

4,8 su ottobre 14, 2007

This bed and breakfast was outstanding.


Honeymoon Retreat!

5 su aprile 23, 2007

Our honeymoon was relaxing and memorable, thanks to the hospitality of the Boven's. Wonderful food; privacy; great recommendations for restaurants and things to see in the area. We hope to be back to celebrate our anniversary! We have already told several friends about the great stay we had at the Castle. Five Stars to you!


Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $129 - $289
  • Recensioni (115) 4,7
  • Camere 10
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2696738054
  • Gratuito 1-8886738054

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina