Metivier Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
105 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Quaint inn, friendly host

4,0 su luglio 07, 2014

Nice location to town and boat docks. Love the clipity-clop of the horses throughout the day. Quiet night on a beautiful porch overlooking outstanding flowers.


Perfect!

4,2 su luglio 07, 2014

We stayed as a family of three in one room and grandparents in another room. We all couldn't have been happier! The staff was so helpful and friendly, the breakfast was delicious and the rooms were very clean and beautiful. We've already recommend it to others and look forward to staying again ourselves! Thank you!!!


Lovely, relaxing, outstanding breakfast

4,2 su luglio 03, 2014

This place is great. Beautiful fun gardens. Cosy living room with a wood burning stove. Rooms are typical small island size but clean and brightly decorated. This was our second time and I'm sure we'll be back for a third.


Great place to stay!

5 su luglio 01, 2014

We absolutely loved the Metivier Inn! Our room was exactly how it was advertised. The atmosphere of the Inn is relaxing and very pleasant. Couldn't have chosen a better place for our first visit to the Island! We will definately be back!


First trip to Mackinac Island

4,6 su giugno 28, 2014

This was our first trip to the island, and thanks to the friendly and courteous staff at the Metivier, we had a wonderful time! The Inn was nicely appointed, the rooms were clean, and the food was excellent! The location was superb - 1 block off Main Street - yet quiet and relaxing! Loved hearing the clip clop of horse hooves throughout our stay. After seeing what else was available on the island, this will definitely be our 'go to' B&B next time we visit! Highly recommended!! Thanks David and Blanca!!


Excellant Stay on Mackinac Island

5 su giugno 26, 2014

We had our family at this bed and breakfast including our grown children. It was very close to anything on the island. Being off the main street it was not noisy but very easy to get anywhere. We had a blast. The breakfast and cookies were very good with a good variety. We will definitely return here when we return.


We will return!

5 su giugno 26, 2014

We had a delightful stay at this wonderful Inn. The location was ideal. The facility was charming, clean, well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time and want to return to Mackinac Island; but, will only stay at Metivier Inn.


Lovely B&B

3,6 su giugno 23, 2014

Have returned to the Metivier for the past 5 years. We love the location, the gardens and the breakfast is wonderful.


Excellent B&B-quiet,yet close to town.

3,8 su giugno 22, 2014

Stayed for one night. Great location for walking to all stores,tourist sites etc.Clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly.


We're glad we found this B & B!

4,2 su giugno 19, 2014

The property was lovely, the rooms were quaint, and the service was excellent! We'll stay here again someday soon.


Excellent place to stay

4,2 su giugno 16, 2014

A very nice place to stay, and very well located just a black from the main street on the island. Quiet enough to sit on the beautiful porch and watch people, but close to activities. Rooms a bit small, but certainly roomy enough and very nicely decorated. Warm and friendly staff and a very nice breakfast. Wonderful place to visit on the island.


Lovely B&B on Mackinac Island

5 su giugno 15, 2014

This a very charming B&B. My husband and I have stayed here almost every year for at least 15 years. We just celebrated our 50th anniversary at the Inn and enjoyed the beauty of the Inn and Mackinac Island. We stayed in the 3rd floor turret room - sitting in the alcove with the windows open gave us the feeling of our own separate porch. Breakfasts are always delectable. I especially love Dave's oatmeal. We have stayed in a number of B&Bs around the country and this is our favorite.


A nice basic, quiet inn

3,0 su giugno 06, 2014

This was a pleasant place to stay for a night, quiet, well-kept, warm-spirited, in the center of town but a block up from noisy, busy Main St. and the docks. During the day the horse carriages clip clop by, a relaxing, old world sound. There's a lovely front porch, though the rear lawn area is nothing special. Breakfast was generous and varied. Our room was clean and attractive. It was also very small, had a toilet and shower in a closet-sized space, with the sink across from the bed. There are very few amenities and few surfaces: these factors made us feel the room was at least 20% overpriced. It was disappointing to note that long in advance we were given a room - or that there are any rooms - directly next to the sitting porch - the windows are literally inches away from where people may be sitting and talking. The porch has a 9 pm "silence" curfew but the situation can have a way of compromising a sense of privacy and space. After 9 pm though it was very quiet, as were neighboring rooms. If you stay there I recommend carefully choosing where in the inn you stay, since most rooms do not face the porch and the street.


Exceptional!

4,8 su giugno 02, 2014

Loved the peacefulness of the location. Exceptionally clean rooms and a most accommodating and pleasant staff. We will be back!


Great place to stay at :)

4,6 su maggio 29, 2014

It was very nice place great location as it wasn't in the main straat but very close to everything, very clean. I only would love to have is more different food at breakfast as I don't eat pork ;) Thanks for the great place you have.


outstanding

4,6 su maggio 29, 2014

great staff


Great stay!

4,6 su maggio 28, 2014

The place was beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay


Relax and Renew

4,8 su maggio 20, 2014

What a wonderful time my husband and I had at the Metivier Inn. It is centrally located one block from the main street. Our King size room was just newly remodeled and the bed was very comfortable. The owners are very knowledgeable and helpful. Each morning we had a fantastic breakfast and my husband loved their coffee, which he is picky about his coffee. From recommending entertainment,booking our reservations to making sure our "Taxi" picked us up on time for our delicious dinner at the Chop House. You know you are staying at the right place when the "Taxi" drivers all agree that it is the nicest Bed and Breakfast on the island.


A great place to stay!

5 su maggio 19, 2014

This was our second time on the island and Dave and Blanca were the reason! Their hospitality and service were always complimented by the comfortable room and outstanding breakfast. We will be returning on our next visit!


Relaxing Weekend!

4,4 su ottobre 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the jacuzzi suite for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. We found the room to be comfortable and quiet. The Inn is located close to the downtown area allowing us to walk to dinner and shopping. Dave and Blanca were welcoming and helpful. My wife and I are already talking about returning next year. I would recommend this Inn.


First Time to Mackinac

4,6 su ottobre 14, 2013

I finally had the chance to visit Mackinac Island! Even though we only stayed for one night, it was great. The Metivier Inn was a lovely B&B to stay at. I hope to venture by next season and stay a few more days.


Best B and B on the island

5 su ottobre 13, 2013

We have been staying at Metivier's since the early 80's. At no time have we been dissappointed with their service and hospitality. The rooms are always clean and the breakfasts are the best on the island. David and Blanca work very hard to make your stay a very enjoyable one.


Excellent all round

4,8 su ottobre 10, 2013

We were 2 couples on our first visit to the island in late Sept. Location was excellent ( we were not active walkers!) , Inn and rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable and hosts very accommodating to our wishes. Was great having breakfast out on the front porch each morning Would not hesitate to recommend or return.


I love it!

4,8 su ottobre 08, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time even though it rained much of our weekend stay. The Metivier Inn breakfast was scrumptious and the rooms are cute and comfortable. We felt like we were really living in an old-time B&B, except that the Inn is equipped with wireless service, cable TV, A/C and electric heat. We rode bikes and walked and burned enough calories to justify eating the fabulous food at a few of the many wonderful restaurants that cater to us weekend Islanders! We will definitely return to Mackinac Island, and we will ALWAYS stay at the Metivier Inn!


Fourth time staying.

5 su ottobre 07, 2013

We've stayed on the island several times. The last 4 have been at the Metivier and any trips in the future will also be at the Metivier. The staff is as friendly as they come and always make us feel welcome. The breakfast is something we always look forward to and has never disappointed. The location is perfect for us. Market street is one block from the main street in town. It's a much quieter location but still only a block away from most of the shopping and places to eat. Our favorite spot is on the front porch drinking coffee and watching the horses and island visitors go by. Note that many of the guests we start conversations with are also repeat visitors to the Metivier. If you stay on the island we highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. (Just an FYI, we have been visiting Mackinaw Island for 37 years. Staying approx. 15 times.)


Wonderful!

5 su ottobre 06, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Jacuzzi room for our honeymoon. It was our first time staying both on the island and in a bed and breakfast. I was very impressed with everything during our stay and wish we could have stayed longer! Besides the room, there was also a private porch outside that was like a private oasis. Definitely will be staying here again!


Family Reunion

5 su ottobre 05, 2013

September 29, 2013 We had a Family Reunion at Metivier Inn. It was perfect! The hospitality was wonderful! The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. Everyone commented on how much they enjoyed their breakfast. We had our Family photos taken there on Metivier's beautifully landscaped grounds by Island Photo. The photos turned out awesome! We all left with treasured memories!


Great place..

5 su ottobre 03, 2013

Totally enjoyed staying at Metivier Inn. I would love to return to the island and stay there again. We really enjoyed sitting on the front porch.


Great service

4,8 su ottobre 03, 2013

We didn't make this easy. We initially booked out stay for 9/26 & 9/27 but had to cancel after a minor mishap with our car. We decided we would go anyway on the 27th and called that morning to see if they had a room. To our surprise they did and we booked it. When we arrived we were asked if we had ever been on the island before (we hadn't) and were given an overview of the restaurants, sites, and a map. We used the porch and the chairs on the front lawn to relax after 2 busy days of seeing the island. The rooms were clean, breakfast was good, and the staff was extremely accommodating. Overall a very good experience. And by the way, this was also our first time staying at a B&B.


Had a Wonderful Visit

4,8 su ottobre 01, 2013

My husband and I have stayed on the Island in various places many times. This was one of our favorite places to stay by far. The atmosphere true to that of the Island, the decor was in keeping with the island history and very tastefully done. The breakfast selection was excellent and beyond what is acceptable in a B&B. The grounds are gorgeous and a very relaxing place to sit and read, people watch, etc. We'll be going back for sure.


Lovely B&B

4,8 su settembre 29, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in the Jacuzzi room for our honeymoon. The room was very nice. Clean with a private back porch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The morning hot breakfast was decent. The only complaint is that the free wifi didn't reach up to the third floor in the back were our room was.


BETTER THAN EXPECTED

4,8 su settembre 28, 2013

Our late 9/2013 vist was excellent. The entire facility is spotless and the staff and owners were outstanding and helpful. The location, one block from the main street is very convenient. The breakfast was a little repetitive and not everyone likes scrambled eggs with herbs. After noon tea cookies were a little stale. However, in all other respects, the B&B was nicer than expected. It might go without saying, the Island is totally unique.


Great place on the Island

4,8 su settembre 24, 2013

I stayed the weekend of September 20-22. The room was great, the staff was friendly. I'd definitely stay again the next time I'm on the Island.


Great race weekend get away

5 su settembre 10, 2013

Came to the island to run the Mackinac Island 8 Mile Race with friends. We happened upon the Metivier web site & booked 2 rooms. So glad we did, the rooms were clean, well furnished & cozy. The property is very well groomed with a private backyard. The location is ideal being close to ferries & town. The breakfast was outstanding especially the oatmeal. Coming from Sarasota Florida & sight unseen we were not disappointed.


Worth the stay

4,8 su settembre 05, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hart Inn, part of the Metivier. This was our fourth trip, and we plan to return next year. The location is perfect, the hostess is first class, the room is clean and comfortable, and the outside sitting area is very inviting.


Our wonderful vacation in Mackinac Island

5 su settembre 04, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful get away at the Metivier Inn. The room was very clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was very good, and the coffee, cookies, and fudge made the afternoon breaks a delight. The house was beautiful inside and out. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and watching the horse and carriages go by. The flowers were very pretty. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit. The location was excellent just 1 block off the main street.


A High point of our trip

5 su settembre 01, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights (Aug. 25 - Aug. 28) at this wonderful establishment. We searched many options and Metivier Inn was the perfect choice. The Inn is well decorated, the rooms very inviting and comfortable, and the rambling front porch is the perfect place to enjoy morning coffee/tea, or to rest after a busy day of biking or walking the island. Market St. is one block away from Main St. and this location is ideally situated to all points of interest. Market St. is not nearly as crowded or busy as Main St, and you'll enjoy the carriages and wagons going up and down in front of the Inn without the mass of people in the streets. The Inn Keepers are great and the breakfast selection each morning was wonderful. We do not stay often in B&B's, but this one is a MUST. We would not hesitate to return to the Island, but only if we could reserve a room here at Metivier Inn.


Home Away from Home

4,0 su agosto 19, 2013

My husband and I spent several days on Mackinac this August and chose to stay at Metivier Inn. The inn is beautiful and relaxing, but most importantly it has a wonderful staff. David and Blanca, the innkeepers, were present and available at almost every moment and it was obvious they put the needs and comfort of their guests at the top of their priority list. Our room was very clean and made up for us every morning. Breakfast was prepared by Dave and always delicious. When in our room, we felt like the only people in the inn because it was so quiet. The porch was a terrific place for a little afternoon fudge snack and some people-watching. Market Street proved to be the best place we could have stayed because it had "traffic" but not nearly the crowds that Main Street seemed to constantly maintain. Perhaps the most memorable moment of our time at Metivier was when Blanca and Dave offered their own personal bikes to us. We asked them for directions to a dinner spot we planned to visit. As soon as they learned we didn't have our own bikes, they insisted we take theirs and mapped out a route for us. From their suggestion, we had a lovely ride up to Stonecliffe Inn, the most delicious meal of our trip, and a gorgeous ride "home" past some of the most stunning homes on the island during sunset. We will most definitely return to the island and it will be very difficult to stay anywhere but the fabulous Metivier Inn.


Both classy and comfortable

4,8 su agosto 18, 2013

My wife and I spent two lovely days (and nights) at Metivier Inn in August, 2013. Everything went smoothly with a combination of 'class' and 'comfort'. Location was perfect for both getting around, as well as just sitting on the porch and watching the community pass by. The flower garden was a piece of sculptured art. If we return to the island, we'd stay there again.


Wonderful

5 su agosto 13, 2013

Staff very helpful and friendly. The gardens in front and rear are exquisite. Excellent breakfast. Will stay there again and highly recommend it to friends.


20th Anniversary Vacation - August 2013

5 su agosto 11, 2013

Loved, Loved, Loved this place. We felt so at home and comfortable. The owners are so accommodating. You will not regret staying here. It was absolutely beautiful.


A Pleasant August Stay

5 su agosto 09, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Inn earlier this week. Can only echo what others have said about the rooms, grounds, food, and location. Given prevailing charges on the Island this is an exceptional value. My only suggestion might be improvement in the email communication: the typo's and subject heading of "Standard" really don't reflect the otherwise excellence of the Metivier Inn.


It's like going home to Mom's place, only better! (Forgive me Mom!)

4,8 su agosto 04, 2013

We had a fantastic visit here! It's all in the little details . . . convenient to the Star Line Ferry, plush cotton towels, an extremely comfortable mattress, beautiful victorian decor, specialty toiletry items, fantastic buffet (out-of-this-world oatmeal; scrambled eggs and with meat, which varied every day; delicious fresh fruit; gourmet hashbrown casserole; homemade cookies . . . I miss the food already), beautiful gardens, enchanting porch seating, just far enough away from the busy main street but convenient walking distance to restaurants, fudge shops (yes, you will give in and buy the fudge!), beautiful gardens and friendly, well-trained staff! There's not question that we would return here again in the future! Now, if I could just clone this place locally!!


The Stuff that Dreams are Made Of.....

5 su agosto 02, 2013

We arrived on Mackinac Island full of hopes that our Honey Moon would be filled with moments that would last our life times. Our stay at the Metivier Inn provided the palet to which the colors of our first week as a married couple were painted on. From the moment we walked through the garden shrouded trellised entrance to be greeted by the staff, I could tell we were in for something special. The House itself jumps off the page of a Charlotte Bronte' novel with its meticulous 19th century charm and elegance. The room was immaculately kept, and the beds....were clouds of down that we floated in each night...and each after noon while napping before afternoon tea. Starting each day with the superb breakfast fueled our island explorations, and made the sounding of our morning alarm a herald of great things to come. Rounding out our week, we awoke the last day of our honey moon eager to start our lives back in the real world as a united family. However there was a remorse to the day. A remorse brought on with the knowledge that we would be leaving somewhere that has become a very vivid portrait in our memory. We vowed, as did many couples we met during our stay there, that there was no longer a need to search for accommodation while on Mackinac. There is no Grander a place to stay than at the Metivier. Thanks you...we will see you again...Kevin and Mandy Plunkett


3 great nights Metevier Inn

5 su luglio 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this great Inn on Mackinac Island. Everything was great from the looks of the Inn, to the room, to the food. Thanks for a wonderful time


Great Location and Accommodations

4,4 su luglio 28, 2013

Based on the recommendation of two different sets of friends, my husband and I stayed two nights at the Metivier Inn. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the grounds are beautiful and the breakfast was quite substantial and good. We particularly liked the location. Market Street is up one block from Huron/Main Street so it is close to everything but not in the midst of all the crowds (and noise). At the Metivier there are plenty of spots to sit and relax outdoors -- on the porch, in the back garden, front lawn, etc. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Exquisite

5 su luglio 06, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the turret room this week. The inn is exquisitely decorated and clean. I especially enjoyed the attention to detail-the coordinating colors, the crisp linens, the make up remover pads provided in the toiletries, etc. The breakfast was the best we've ever had at a B & B. The gardens are glorious. I loved the ambience of the entire inn-the relaxing porch, the welcoming staff, and especially the wonderful art work that adorns the walls.


An Ideal Inn!

4,2 su luglio 01, 2013

This B&B is centrally located on a quiet street and has easy access to the Ferry docks, restaurants, shopping, walking and biking trails, museums and riding stables. The public areas of the B&B are very charming and comfortable with a lovely front porch overlooking a beautiful garden. The owner's artwork plus historical photos on the walls are interesting. Our private guest room was tastefully decorated, clean, with a comfortable bed, private bath (hot water with good pressure), and very quiet. The flat screen TV and internet access were appreciated for the little time we spent in the room. The breakfast buffet was very good, and the afternoon refreshments were a nice touch on a warm summer day! The Staff was friendly and helpful. We would recommend this B&B plus we'd like to return for another stay. K.A. Avery


Relaxing place to stay

4,6 su giugno 29, 2013

Breakfast was great, nice comfortable dining areas inside or on the front porch. Quiet atmosphere throughout. Landscaping and flowers everywhere. We would highly recommend Metivier's.


Great place to stay on the Island

4,8 su giugno 24, 2013

We spent just one night on the Island and the Metivier Inn was the perfect place. Check in was quick and easy with super staff. The room was clean and very nicely decorated. The breakfast was terrific! Hot and cold food, fresh coffee. We made it our brunch before we wandered out. And the front porch was a beautiful place to watch the carriages go by. We will stay there again.


super

5 su giugno 19, 2013

We Stay at Metivier every June for the lilac festival. This year was our sixth visit and we keep coming back for more. The location is perfect one block off the hustle and noise of main street but convenient to the attractions we enjoy. Evenings hearing the clip clop of the horses from their front porch is great. Rooms are very clean, breakfast tasty and the innkeepers friendly and accommodating. The best.


Very nice

4,4 su giugno 18, 2013

Stayed three nights the weekend of June 7th, 8th and 9th for our 20th wedding anniversary. Weather was a bit chilly so hot chocolate and coffee when we stopped back in the afternoon was very appreciated, along with the fudge. Room was very nice and clean. Staff was friendly. Location was perfect. We left our bikes in the bike rack and came and went throughout the day. Breakfast was delicious and much more than we expected with lots to choose from, including the awesome oatmeal. One evening we warmed up by the burning wood stove before going off to bed. Porch was nice and was enclosed with plastic sheeting which kept it warmer. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.


Exceptional!

4,4 su giugno 18, 2013

My husband and I spent our 44th wedding anniversary with two friends at Metivier this past week. Simply put...the Inn was exceptional. The room was beautiful and clean. The atmosphere was welcoming and relaxing. The yard & porches were fantastic. We sat there each evening talking or playing games watching people go by and hearing the horses clomp down the street. Great location off the Main Street but within 3-5 minutes of everything. Of course, every day we had to return at 3:00 for those cookies!


Hart's Inn

4,6 su giugno 18, 2013

Hart's is a smaller, nearby property owned and managed by the same people as Metivier's. It's a lovely little place with clean, comfortable, attractive rooms and a pretty side garden area and patio. It was built in the early 20th, not 19th century, and so is different than the Victorian B & B's on Mackinac.This was my second stay, and I'll be back again soon.


family trip

3,6 su giugno 17, 2013

the staff is all welcoming and kind, very helpful, rooms very clean and the breakfast had your basic staples (cereal, oatmeal, granola, yogurt, toast) but also usually with some eggs and fruit and some rotating pastry very convinient location on the island, great time with my parents and 2 year old daughter


Beautiful Inn on a Beautiful Island

4,6 su giugno 11, 2013

On Mackinac, the Metivier is fits perfectly in place. It has a perfect location in my opinion. Easy walking distance to the madness if Main Street but still just far enough to be relaxing. My wife and I had a wonderful time for 4 days, 3 nights at Metivier and would definitely recommend it. It's big enough that you have your own space but not too big to be called a B&B. It was a great experience. The only complaint I had was the water pressure. There is none. But, for a few nights that wasn't worth causing a raucous over. Over all, we loved it!


The Smith's, Zionsville, IN

4,2 su giugno 10, 2013

As always we had a fantastic time at the Metivier. This was our 4th time staying at the B&B and we'll be back next year. We enjoyed room 10 which overlooked the back gardens. The breakfast was very good with a variety of food options. Would like to see Hot Water available up into the evening for hot tea. The inn keepers are very nice people and made our stay very enjoyable along with the staff.. Great place to stay!


A Wonderful Property.

4,6 su giugno 09, 2013

I was on Mackinac Island for a conference and wasn't sure if the the Metivier Inn would be convenient enough but this property exceeded my expectations. My room was spacious and a comfortable refuge after a day of meetings. The property is in a convenient location and I look forward to staying here again for both vacations and business.


Great B&B

4,8 su giugno 07, 2013

Had great stay at Metivier. Excellent service, hot coffee all day, clean cozy accommodations, fire to keep warm if cold, attractive, unique, centrally located. Highly recommend Metivier.


Memorial Day Weekend

4,8 su giugno 01, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Metivier. It was a wonderful getaway for us. The Inn is perfectly located as other reviewers mentioned. The breakfast was a great way to start the day each morning. We loved the big porch -- a place to play cards, have coffee and cookies, people watch, read a book, or just relax. And the Inn is very clean...kudos to the staff!


Wonderful Experience

5 su novembre 06, 2012

We stayed at the Metivier Inn in October and it was a WONDERFUL experience!!! For starters the Metivier Inn is located within walking distance to downtown and the ferry. The rooms are very clean and have all the amenities one could need. We also enjoyed the home cooked breakfast every morning and the afternoon cookies and tea. We had a great time and will definitely be back!!!


Great Turtle Trail Run AND Halloween

4,8 su ottobre 31, 2012

We booked the room for 2 nights so we could participate in the Great Turtle Trail run/walk. We were fortunate to be able to book 2 nights at the same place as it was the last weekend of the season. The room was spotless, as was the entire Inn. The breakfast was sufficiently varied that you could have a healthy wholesome breakfast- great for a run/ walk or indulge with warm fruit cobblers as well as eggs, toast,rolls, fresh fruit, coffee. Afternoon cookies or nibbles of fudge and hot coffee on a brisk autumn afternoon were welcome treats. The Inn was quiet despite Halloween/last weekend of the season revelry. It was also close enough to where we needed to be without being on the main drag. Great experience- if you are open to B&Bs, I'd highly recommend Metivier Inn


Our Third Stay.

5 su ottobre 17, 2012

This was our third time staying at this B&B. Good value, good breakfasts, and a comfortable place to stay. Chicago, IL


Consistantly wonderful

4,4 su ottobre 15, 2012

We've been staying at the Metivier for close to twenty years. We have always enjoyed our stay and found the Inn to be very comfortable. The Innkeepers are truly wonderful and are the reason the Inn operates so well. It's always the people that make a stay memorable and Dave and Blanca as well as former George and Angie are the best. The owners should be proud of the way their guests are treated. We couldn't recommend the Metivier more highly as "The place to stay" on the Island for comfort, cleanliness, location, and friendliness. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. J&J, Clarkston MI


Perfect Weekend! You won't be disappointed!

4,8 su ottobre 03, 2012

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Metivier Inn and could not have been happier. It is obvious a lot of love and pride goes into this place. The garden is fabulous. I was surprised to see so many flowers blooming this late in northern Michigan this late in the fall. The staff was always gracious, friendly and helpful. Our room and the entire inn were immaculate. The breakfast was delicious. There was something for everyone. The location was very convenient to the ferries and the downtown restaurants and shopping.The fort and the Grand Hotel are short walks. We enjoyed hiking, riding bikes, renting a do it yourself horse and buggy. Our favorite restaurant experience was The Woods. Itwas an experience getting there and our food was delicious. A little expensive, but worth it for the quality of food and the ambience on a cool fall evening. The Metivier staff recommended it and were helpful in securing our transportation This was our first trip to Mackinack. We will be back with friends and family. We will stay at the Metivier Inn. Mark and Laura Miller


Another week in paradise

5 su settembre 17, 2012

This was our 10th year staying at Metivier Inn and it is the best. The management and staff are outstanding and the entire atmosphere is like home. This is a must place to stay when on Mackinac Island.


Beautiful Inn

4,2 su settembre 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Metivier Inn for 20+ years and it always feels like home when we come back. The rooms are unique and very clean. We love to eat breakfast outside on the porch every morning. It is a very quiet place to stay and David and Blanca are great hosts. It is a little pricey but it is very nice.


Wonderful place to stay

4,6 su settembre 10, 2012

Staying on Mackinac Island was a special treat in itself. But staying in Metivier Inn definitively made our stay even more special and unforgettable. We stayed there two nights and liked absolutely everything about it. Our clean, comfortable and cool room leading to a beautiful, spacious but cosy porch, pretty garden and its wildlife, delicious breakfasts, biscuits and coffee in the afternoon, friendly personnel, the perfect location, just a minute away from the busy Main Street and the ferry dock. I hope that Metivier Inn staff and its owner will continue to provide the excellent service to many tourists to come. I very rarely wish to return to the same place but this is one place I would gladly return to.


Great place to get away from it all

4,2 su settembre 04, 2012

Rooms were very comfortable with comfortable beds and were clean. The breakfast was very good, as was the afternoon snack and coffee. The garden areas and sitting areas were very relaxing and beautiful! Nice to be one block off main street, so did not have to contend with the daytime crowds and noise. All in all, a great place and I would definitely stay here again. The staff was awesome too!


LOVE the Metevier Inn!

5 su agosto 31, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Metevier Inn. Both times we stayed in room #14 with 2 queen beds. This place is perfection. Quiet, clean, comfortable, perfect. They have a wonderful hot breakfast that we liked to enjoy out on the front porch while we watch the horses trot by. They also have a delicious afternoon tea with sweet treats that is very enjoyable. The service is wonderful and the atmosphere is extremely comfortable and friendly. My husband and I enjoyed a glass of wine in the evening on the two adirondak chairs on the front lawn. Absolutely lovely and relaxing. Can't wait to stay here again!!


Exceeded Expectations

5 su agosto 30, 2012

We spent a long weekend at Metivier with our two teenage daughters before school starts. This is our 3rd trip to Mackinac and first stay at Metivier, and we will never stay anywhere else. Relaxing, reading and playing games on the porch is such a treat. Breakfast was amazing, and the afternoon coffee and sweets were wonderful. The gardens are awesome - countless people stop to take pictures as they are walking by. The Inn was cozy, clean and quiet - just perfect for a stay on the Island. Thanks to all the staff!


A wonderful place to stay!

5 su agosto 24, 2012

We stayed at the Metivier Inn while on the island for a wedding. What a wonderful location! It is so close to all the shopping, dining and The Grand Hotel. The breakfast spread in the morning was delightful. The room was perfect, clean and had a beautiful garden view. We cannot say enough nice things about this establishment.


Metivier Inn

5 su agosto 20, 2012

We have been coming here for nearly 20 years and love it more and more. What a great Inn! It's a wonderful retreat from our busy world. The hospitality of the Inn Keepers Blanca and Dave is top notch and we feel like family. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast is always great and we love eating it on the front porch watching the horses go by. The gardens are superbly maintained, so much so that island visitors are always taking pictures in front of them. This is by far the best inn on the island and the only place we will ever stay. p.s. I have been working in the hotel industry for over 26 years!


Lovely place!

4,2 su agosto 19, 2012

It's like home away from home without all the work. So peaceful and relaxing, yet in the middle of it all. The perfect place to stay.


Mackinac Island's Best

4,4 su agosto 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed the second weekend in August 2012 for our honeymoon at the Metivier Inn and could not stop discussing how we made the perfect choice for a place to stay on Mackinac Island. With the perfect location (one block off of Main St. and within a 2 minute walk from any dining spot or attraction), quiet (unlike similar places on Main St.), and clean updated rooms (which seems hard to find on the Island). We have already recommended the Metivier Inn three times since our stay, which ended 5 days ago. If you are planning a trip to Mackinac Island and don't know much about where to stay (we found the Metivier on the Internet) then the Metivier is the perfect bet.


Fantastic!

4,8 su agosto 06, 2012

Wonderful last minute stay at the Metivier! We loved it and will definitely book again. Breakfast was marvelous, the gardens are gorgeous, the rooms are very quiet and peaceful (we were on the first floor). The only bad thing was that we couldn't stay longer! :)


Great anniversary stay

4,0 su agosto 04, 2012

For our anniversary, my wife and I stayed at Metivier Inn for the first time in July, 2012. We definitely would like to stay again. The location on Market Street is great; its a quiet street but very close to many attractions. The turret room was great, offering extra seating space and a nice view outside. The grounds are wonderful, with many people on the street stopping to take photos. There is a nice view of the golf course and the Grand Hotel from the rear of the backyard. The hot breakast was very good each morning. David, Blanca, and the other staff were very friendly and helpful.


Hated to Leave

4,6 su agosto 03, 2012

I had been wanting to go to Mackinac Island for years. I had no idea what to expect. I was overwhelmed! The Inn is beautiful. Tourists are constantly stopping to take pictures of her breathtakingl garden and home. Her flowers are gorgeous and so well maintained. The room was clean, cool and quiet at night. It was not big, but we spent most of our time sightseeing or relaxing on the porch, listening to the horses clopping up and down the street. The breakfast was delicious, offering something for everyone. She even had sweets and iced tea or lemonade midafternoon! I would definitely return here!


Deluxe King Room.

5 su luglio 28, 2012

Like others, we decided to stay on the Island on short notice. Metivier was more than accommodating. The room was fantastic! The staff was outstanding, making sure all of our needs were met. It was so very relaxing to sit on the front porch eating breakfast while other tourists from the Island are snapping pics of the beautiful gardens at the Inn. All the while you're thinking "I'm staying here, how cool is that!"


Absolutely Wonderful!

5 su luglio 24, 2012

We highly recommend the Metivier Inn- we stayed here 16 yrs ago for our 1st year anniversary and again just recently for 3 nights for our 17th anniversary and it was just as wonderful! We love the location just off of the main street so less noisy and beautiul setting with the gardens. The breakfast is perfect as well. We would definitely stay here again!


Family at the Inn

4,8 su luglio 18, 2012

My family and I stayed for two nights. We had tried for a suite, but none were available since we booked at the last minute. We stayed in a room with a comfy bed and our kids slept on a pull-out couch, it was comfy as well. The breakfast was perfect for a picky 9-year-old and a picky Dad! It's likely we would stay there again!


July 10

4,6 su luglio 17, 2012

We loved our stay at the Inn. Room was comfortable, clean and well equiped. The beds were very comfortable. The staff very accomodating, helpful and friendly. We loved the setting and most of all the gardens.


Mackinac Island's Quintessential B&B Experience

5 su luglio 16, 2012

Enjoy the warmth and nostalgia of Mackinac Island in a setting that makes you feel like you're home. The Inn embodies what the imagination visualizes when it comes to a B&B. From the quaint and comfy rooms to the sweeping front porch, the Metivier is an experience that everyone deserves to lavish upon themselves. The inviting breakfast, scented soaps, and the gentle clip clop of the horses transports the guests into a world of relaxation where the realities of the mainland are soon forgotten. With the modern convenience of a/c and wi-fi, you can enjoy historic Mackinac Island in modern day comfort. If it wasn't for my wife wanting to stay in a B&B, I would have missed this gem, this experience, and this wonderful way to enjoy Mackinac Island.


A Picture Perfect Place

5 su luglio 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Metivier Inn and will stay there again when we return. It would be hard to imagine a more lovely house and garden. The beautiful Victorian was spotlessly clean. The paint on all that wood trim looked picture perfect, which is why I took so many pictures of it. The flowering garden was amazing. The location perfect - in the middle of everything but away from the hustle and bustle of Main Street. (Is that even possible? - Yes) When we booked it, we wanted a place with air conditioning because not every place on Mackinac Island has it. We are so glad we did. It was unusually hot, but sleeping was not a problem in our suite. We were cool and comfortable. Our gracious hosts were there during the day to answer any questions, get us a taxi for dinner, and tagged our luggage for the ferry. The breakfasts were bountiful with lots of hot and cold choices. All delicious. But I also liked something else that I wasn’t expecting from a B & B. It has the coziness of a home but the spaciousness to be on your own, even in the public places. We were traveling with another couple, and it was no problem to find a table where we could eat together without being crowded with other’s conversations. The dining room had many tables in it, but you can also eat on the porch or in the living area. The porch was my favorite spot. If you can, book a suite off the 2nd floor porch. (I’ll be honest - I didn’t see the other rooms), but ours had a living area with a sofa, table & chairs and a small kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. Wonderful for a couple like us where my husband wants to get up at 4 or 5 a.m. and I would like to sleep until 7 or 8. Remember that this is a B & B and not a hotel. When we realized that we wouldn’t arrive until 9:00 pm, we called to let the desk know. They left keys for us in envelopes with a nice note. The Metivier made our stay on the Island a joy.


Everything about our stay was excellent

5 su luglio 15, 2012

We enjoyed ourselves completely. Everything was exceptional.


Sublime Relaxation

5 su luglio 15, 2012

The perfect place to stay when you visit the island. It is located a block from main street so you can easily walk to everything. Rooms are exceptionally clean and the staff makes you feel like family. My favorit part of the stay is geting up early, grabbing a cup of coffee and sitting on the larg front porch watching and listening to the horse drawn delivery wagons go by. Relaxation at its best.


Lovely place to stay

3,6 su luglio 13, 2012

The standard room was comfortable, with a nice pillowtop on the bed and two wingback chairs. The inn itself is in a perfect location, away from the daytime crush, and always felt safe. We considered it just right for two nights.


Lives up to the hype!

5 su luglio 09, 2012

Outstanding is really the only adjective to describe The Metivier Inn on Mackinac Island. The location is close enough to the main street to walk there easily but far enough away to get out of the huge summer crowds. The room was beautiful and the bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The breakfast was delicious and there are plenty of tables to enjoy your food without having to sit with strangers. The front porch is large and we enjoyed sitting out there with a bottle of wine, some crackers and cheese, and people watching. The Inn is also right across the street from a stable so if you like horses this is the place for you. The owners were very nice and helpful. Well worth the price and we will definitely stay here again. Mackinac Island is a magical place and you really need to spend at least a couple of nights on the island to get the full effect. We highly recommend the Metivier Inn!


Excellent stay at Metivier

5 su luglio 01, 2012

I recently stayed at Metivier Inn and it was splendid. You will receive a warm welcome upon arrival and the kindness continues throughout your stay! We had a Standard room and it was perfect. Exceptionally clean and very nicely decorated. The bed was AMAZING; pillow top and very comfy. Even the view out our window (Our room was on the back of the building) was beautiful, a perfect view of the gardens. The breakfast was delicious and included many options. I highly recommend Metivier if you plan on staying on the island. The only downside was that we didn't stay longer! Will definitely be back for another stay!


Last Minute success!

5 su giugno 28, 2012

We decided at the last minute to stay on the island overnight, and were told to check with the Metivier. We were able to get a room at a great rate and absolutely loved it! The Turret room was lovely and the bed was so comfortable! We enjoyed the seating area and the delicious breakfast the next morning! Highly recommend, and it was a great location!


Clean and great location

4,0 su giugno 20, 2012

Our first time staying on the island. The room was quaint and very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location, 1 block off main st, short walk to grand hotel and beautiful view of bridge at night!


Great bed and breakfast!

5 su giugno 20, 2012

Excellent service, staff very helpful, A very comfortable room and great breakfast. Would stay here again anytime on the island!


1st time at a B & B

4,6 su giugno 19, 2012

Visited the island several times before, but never stayed on the island until this year. This B&B is beautiful, the garden and porch was so peaceful and relaxing. I would definitely stay here again.


Lovely place

3,6 su giugno 16, 2012

Beautiful place. Been here before. Only complaint was wifi was hit & miss and we could hear the woman snoring in the next room. Otherwise, all was good.


Beautiful Inn!!

5 su giugno 14, 2012

This was our first stay on the island and what a great place to stay at! The rooms were so clean, the staff was wonderful and the gardens were something to dream about! We enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Everything was just perfect, even the water and cookies served throughout the day. Will be back again -soon, I hope! Kathy, Newark, Ohio


Great property, okay food

4,2 su giugno 06, 2012

I was pleased with my room and the staff, who were courteous and helpful. I was a bit disappointed with breakfast. It tasted good, but was fairly simple. Usually an egg dish (scrambled) along with one other hot entree. Based on my past experience, I thought it'd be something with a bit more pizzaz, such as stuffed french toast or something. I would certainly stay at Metivier again, though.


There Is Some Place Like Home

5 su maggio 30, 2012

Warm and friendly staff, yummy breakfast, super comfortable bed! The entire inn is beautiful and immaculate! I loved hearing the clip clop of the horses hooves as I was waking and before I went to sleep. So relaxing! We would love to visit Metivier Inn again!


Central Location, Good Value

4,4 su maggio 30, 2012

We booked this last minute for Memorial Day Weekend in 2012. One of the great benefits of the Metivier Inn is the ability to see what's available and to book rooms online. Most of the B&Bs on Mackinac do not have this capability. The room was very clean and very nice. The bed was very very comfortable. It was a bit stuffy in the room (18) as the AC didn't quite work properly, but we spent most of our time out and about so it was ok and there was a fan provided. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious and we were able to eat out on the front porch both mornings. Its central Market Street location offers a nice quiet spot between downtown and the Grand. It is directly one block from Sheplers which makes it very convienent. All in all, its as good a value for the money as you will find on the Island. I will stay again.


An outstanding B&B on Mackinac Island

5 su maggio 30, 2012

We stayed at the Metivier Inn in Mid-May, and we loved it. The location is very convenient--only one block from the Star Line ferry dock. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated, and the staff were all very friendly. Our breakfasts were outstanding, with a hot buffet and fresh coffee. This is one of the most outstanding B&B we have visited, and we would definitely stay here again.


Great! We never stay anywhere else on the island

3,8 su maggio 29, 2012

Just got back from our 3rd year in a row staying at the Metivier Inn B&B over Memorial Day weekend, while attending a conference held at the Grand Hotel. The first year, we were looking for someplace quieter than the Grand. We found the Metivier Inn on our conference list, looked at the website and picked it as our first choice. We have never switched, even the year that we were phoned and "invited" to stay at the Grand Hotel. The staff is great, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and I love using the living room on cold days, and the big front porch on warm days, like last weekend. We also enjoyed sitting in the Adirondack chairs in the yard, people- and horse-watching in the nice weather. Last year, I had to work for one of the confernce days, and Dave, Blanca and staff accommodated me in the back breakfast room, where I used one of the big tables and had the weather channel on television in addition to using the wireless connectivity for my computer. The breakfast is very good, with eggs and another hot dish (ham, biscuits, or sausages this year), fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal, bread (my favorites are the cinnamon raisin bread and danish). Coffee,tea and milk, of course, and I may have forgotten some of the other offerings. In the afternoons there are cookies. I was able to eat a big breakfast, go until "cookie time" and then eat dinner out. We have already started discussing our next-year's stay.


We enjoyed our second dtay at the Metivier Inn

4,6 su maggio 27, 2012

We recently stayed at The Metivier for a second time. We took advantage of the early season on Mackinac Island hoping the weather would be good and the crowds small. We were not disappointed. We like the Deluxe room because it has a refrigerator so we can bring food and drinks, and some snacks. That way we don't have to eat out every meal every day. Breakfast is always good, as are the afternoon cookies. Tea and coffee are always available and the staff was friendly and helpful. Being on Market street is a plus, you are not on Main street but can be downtown in one minute!


May 2012

4,8 su maggio 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Metivier Inn. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. They made great suggestions for where to eat and even called and made the reservations for us. Breakfast was very good and the atmosphere was very relaxing! We stayed in the turret room (Room 5) and the view with all the windows and the cool breeze was ideal for relaxation and rest. Only one block north of the Main St. and all the shopping. Very much in the center of it all but just far enough away to not be in the center of all the hustle and bustle. I loved waking up to the sound of clopping of horses (no cars on the island at all!). Horse rentals are just across the street too. We will definitely want to come back!


Come back every year

5 su settembre 26, 2011

My family loves the Metivier Inn. We come back every year for a long weekend. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and well stocked. The breakfast has a variety of delicious foods. However, the best part is the front porch. There is plenty of comfortable furniture to sit on and enjoy the island.


A great time

5 su settembre 28, 2010

We spent two nights in a standard room Sept 25, 26, 2010. It is a very comfortable and friendly place. The breakfasts were outstanding with a large variety and quality foods. The room was very clean and linens were fresh and plush feeling. The owners and clerks were all very friendly. We would highly recommend.


Great getaway

4,8 su settembre 13, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit at the Metivier. The staff were very helpful and the facilities were just great. We would enjoy returning.


Metivier Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $130 - $330
  • Recensioni (105) 4,7
  • Camere 22

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-9068476234

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina