Kara's Kottages Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,9
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Pasti in loco4,3

Valore della struttura
26 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful place to stay close to downtown Kalamazoo

4,6 su luglio 17, 2015

We stay here every time we come through Kalamazoo. The "cottages" are just beautiful - right off the pages of Pottery Barn. There is even a lovely patio with a firepit, chairs, and a nice big table. And, the house is close enough that you can walk to downtown Kalamazoo. By the way, this isn't a typical B&B. There is no shared dining area. She does have some eggs and other breakfast items available to cook your own breakfast (there is a kitchenette in the room with a full size fridge and stove). So, this is way I gave the Onsite Dining only a 3.


Awesome BNB, without the 2nd B

4,0 su aprile 12, 2015

My husband and I stayed in The Pine Room at Kara's Kottages. It was a breath-taking room, with private sitting area (fireplace, tv), kitchen (stove, microwave, full fridge), and full bath all included in the suite... and this is the smallest of the rooms! She's done a lovely job with the reno! We were less than a mile walk to the downtown area (Kalamazoo Mall), and countless breweries, restaurants, and shops. Kara was a gracious hostess, and left us everything we could possibly need. The only thing that kept our stay from being perfect was the lack of breakfast. Let me preface by saying that Kara leaves a fully stocked kitchen with many breakfast choices (eggs, bagels, biscuits, cereal, granola, juices, milk, cream cheese, etc.)... for you to make for yourself. With no breakfast being served, we ended up skipping out both mornings, and simply opting for leftovers from dinner the nights before. We were also expected to do all of our dishes before we left. That part did not feel like a BNB to me... at least, not one we've been to before (more than a dozen in several states). I don't want to deter anyone from staying at Kara's Kottage, because we really did enjoy the stay, over all. We just felt like part of what we pay extra for in a BNB is a more personal breakfast experience.


My first B&B

5 su aprile 08, 2015

This was my first B&B and I enjoyed every second of it! Even though it was only for one night, I know for sure that I will be returning again and again. Kara was there to greet me and she showed me around the other two rooms and I was in awe. The decor was beautiful and all I could think is that I'll have to come back and bring friends! It is definitely a home away from home. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, everything was great. The reason I came was to surprised my girlfriend and she loved it, it's definitely better than a hotel. I give it two thumbs up!


Nice and relaxing

3,4 su marzo 30, 2015

This was a nice stay.


Weekend Stay

5 su marzo 10, 2015

Had a wonderful overnight stay at Kara's Kottages. Our room was beautifully decorated and oh so clean and cozy. Loved that the cottage was equipped with everything you need for your stay! I would highly recommend a stay at Kara's Cottages.


Wonderful Stay at Kara's Kottages

5 su febbraio 24, 2015

I brought my daughter to Kalamazoo for a visit to Kalamazoo College. Kara's Kottages was the perfect place to stay. Close enough to campus we were able to walk to all campus activities so we did not have to worry about parking on campus. The cottage was wonderfully warm and inviting. We didn't want to leave when our visit was over. I would recommend anyone visiting the Kalamazoo area to stay here!!


Great place to stay!

3,8 su febbraio 11, 2015

The "Kottage" was cozy, very clean and had many upscale upgrades. It felt like home with the plush bedding, TV, cable, DVDs, wireless Internet, books and magazines and fully stocked kitchen. I have 3 small complaints. The photos make it look as if you are in the country. In fact, you are near downtown on a busy road and next to the railroad. Second, the cancellation policy is ten days prior to stay or you pay full price. We had a conflict come up 7 days prior. Thankfully, our conflict ended up being cancelled, so we could enjoy the Kottage. Last, there were many quick breakfast items, but no fresh produce. Fruits to go with the plain yogurt or veggies to cook with the eggs would have been much appreciated! Overall, it was a great place to stay, many times better than a hotel! I would stay here again if visiting Kalamazoo!


Best bed and breakfast I've been to

4,8 su febbraio 09, 2015

If you find yourself in Kalamazoo, stay here. The rooms (apartments really) are large yet cozy, Decorated very well and no detail is missed. Super highly recommend


Great find

5 su febbraio 09, 2015

This B & B is on the top of my list. Amazing property and all the comforts anyone could want.


Wonderful Stay, Perfect Engagement Weekend!!

4,2 su febbraio 05, 2015

To celebrate my 25th birthday, my boyfriend (now Fiance!) & I booked a stay in the Pine Kone Kottage for the weekend of Jan 30th. Our cottage was exquisite, so cozy & romantic. Within 15 minutes of arriving Travis was inspired to get down on his knee & propose! The lights were dimmed just so & the fireplace was gently roaring, it was a moment of a lifetime! We will definitely be returning. Kara's attention to detail in both amenities & decor was spectacular. All the breakfast fixings were provided, as well as a stocked "mini-bar." Toiletries & extra linens were available too. The location was splendid. We had a pleasant walk downtown on Saturday, many restaurants were nearby. A train runs close to the Kottages so that may bother some people but it didn't bother us. I am so thrilled that Kara's Kottages was the location of our precious engagement story. I happily will refer all my family & friends to stay at Kara's Kottages if they find themselves in Kalamazoo! Thank you Kara!


Overnight in Kalamzoo

4,8 su febbraio 04, 2015

Very nice "Kottage" in a residential area of Kalamazoo. The main street the house is on is a little busy, but with the blinds closed, it wasn't too bad. The Kottage itself was very nice, and all the free items you can use for breakfast were a great bonus. I will definitely come back here again.


Comfortable but downstairs guests noisy

4,2 su gennaio 04, 2015

Beautiful B&B located close to downtown Kalamazoo. Well stocked kitchen and a variety of food such as eggs, sausage, yogurt, granola and cereal. No fruit as pictured in the photos. Our first night was spectacular, but the second night the guests downstairs came in noisily at 12:30 am and were smoking and loud until 4 am, a blatant disregard for the Kottage rules. I left a message on Kara's voicemail about the disturbance. Kara notified me that she charged the guests for our room in addition to the $200 smoking fee. When she notified the other guests about those charges, they asked her if she would talk to us to remove our charge. That put the burden on us and we felt uncomfortable being the ones responsible in charging the disruptive guests for our inconvenience, especially because there was no policy stating this would happen. We ended up paying for a restless night. Kara indicated to me that she is revising the quiet policy to include monetary damages for violators. I realize that this is unlikely to happen again, but it did happen to us.


A place I'd like to live

5 su novembre 17, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at Kara's Kottages this past week. The property was so lovely and charming and had everything you could possibly want or need. We decided that we wised we could live there! Kara was extrememly nice and accommodating and allowed us to extend our checkout time when our transportation was delayed by weather. I highly recoommend staying here and will absolutely stay here if I am ever in Kalamazoo again. 5 stars.


Dreamy....

5 su ottobre 14, 2014

Kara's Kottages is a beautiful tucked away treasure near downtown Kalamazoo. The beds are like sleeping on the clouds. Kara has every paid every attention to detail in the Kottages and you won't want to miss an opportunity to stay in this beautiful home away from home. You will love this dreamy bed and breakfast with more bed than breakfast, it is definitely a must see!! Thank you Kara for hosting us for our wedding!


Wish we could keep this place secret

5 su ottobre 07, 2014

I managed to convince my daughter to go away for a weekend where we could be together and catch up, without her dealing with her senior year college demands. We could basically go anywhere in a 100-mile radius from where she studies, (I had to take a 7 hour flight anyway). We ended up choosing the Kalamazoo area because we liked the pictures Kara posted in her site. I had come up many things to do together: there was a hot air balloon show going on, and I figured we could explore the town and watch the ND football game at a local pub on Saturday night. We ended up staying in all weekend, cuddled up in the wonderful sofa, surrounded by peace and quiet and in the most homy, well-thought place we have ever been, watching tv, and sipping Kara´s delightful coffee and teas. The bedding, towels, the throws and robes in which we spent most of the time, the floors and pottery barn decor is extra comfy and impeccably clean. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to make anything we wanted for breakfast, and all the seasonings to cook our other meals. Kara has stocked up the place with everything from q-tips to chip clips… (by the way, we accidentally took one with our opened bag of chips, we will be bringing it back when we stay again.) This is the kind of place one wishes to keep secret to go back time and again. Kudos, Kara on what you have accomplished here. Thank you for the quiet time and the happy memories!


Ultimate Comfort and Relaxation

5 su novembre 18, 2013

We arrived a bit earlier than what we stated in the reservation and had the good fortune of meeting the owner, Kara. She is extraordinary! Kara gave us a grand tour of all the units, because they were not rented for the evening. Her attention to detail is outstanding and I can assure she has gone to great measures to make sure your stay is comfortable. We stay in the Pine Cone Cottage and it was perfect! The unit was clean and cozy, especially with the fireplace and had all the comforts of home. I highly recommend Kara's Kottages.


Comfortable, charming and perfect for our needs.

5 su novembre 07, 2013

The accommodations could not have been more ideal or better suited for our needs. We were thrilled and plan to stay there again and again.


Fantastic stay, would recommend to anyone interested in staying here.

4,8 su luglio 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at Kara's Kottages the weekend of my brother's wedding. It was fantastic--the room was clean and very comfortable, and had everything we needed from extra linens to a very generously appointed kitchen (we went to the grocery store before checking out what was offered, and bought many unnecessary items.) Kara was extremely attentive and responded quickly to our questions once we were there. My parents and uncles stayed in another unit, and were equally impressed. The common courtyard was so convenient and was where we spent most of our time catching up and hanging out. I will definitely stay here again whenever I'm in town again. Thank you so much Kara!


Would stay again!

5 su maggio 24, 2013

Very nice. Had everything we needed and more. If in the area would stay again.


Unparalleled beauty, charm and attention to detail...

4,6 su aprile 29, 2013

We arrived to an inviting fireplace and cozy lighting that just begged us to sit and relax for a bit. It was even nicer than it looked in the photos. The refrigerator and cupboards were stocked with everything we could think of for our breakfast needs---most items even healthy and organic! Definitely one of the cleanest and most comfortable places we've ever stayed---it would even pass my grandmother's "white glove test" ---I would recommend KarasKottages wholeheartedly and without reservation. Since it is downtown and close to a college campus, you do get a little noise from groups walking by (especially late Saturday night/early Sunday morning). If you are used to city life, it won't even phase you.


Amazing!

5 su aprile 17, 2013

Karas Kottages are a very warm cozy place to stay. Everything was beyound clean and Kara was so very helpful and friendly! We will be going back plenty of times to have get togethers.


Home away from home

5 su ottobre 23, 2012

My co-worker and myself were in town for a conference and stayed at Kara's because the conference hotel was booked. We were blown away by the cottage! It was so cozy and comfortable, we referred to it the whole time as "home", it was really hard to leave the cottage to go to the conference and it was the perfect place to return to after a long day of sessions. The details in the cottage were impeccable! I can not say enough good things about this, by far the best place I have ever stayed anywhere in the country! Thank you so much, Kara!


My thoughts...

2,6 su agosto 12, 2012

Pics show what room looks like, daily housekeeping is not done, breakfast is make your own but supplied (as shown on add), location very close to downtown, train did not both me, best description is studio daily apartment rental.


Oh so fantastic!

5 su maggio 25, 2012

This B & B is truly an exceptional place! We checked in to absolutely wonderful accomodations, but it was the little touches that really set this place apart. . . such as the well stocked fridge, the comfortable pillows, the guest bathrobes, and the lovely outdoor seating, with a firepit! Well worth the price!


Great accommodations

4,6 su aprile 20, 2012

My Husband I were upgraded to a nicer room at no extra charge due to a double booking. The owner was very nice and quick to respond to questions. The place was clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated.


A hard person to satisfy

5 su aprile 15, 2012

I'm the guy that never feels he gets his money's worth and also the guy that would never write a review, but here I am. My wife and I rented the two bedroom suite on the second floor this weekend we had our daughter, son inlaw and granddaughter coming from Wisconsin to join us we met Kara at the room because we needed to get in early which she made possible, even let us shower while she finished her cleaning! Kara was very personable and friendly, very accommodating with all our needs. The suite was fantastic everything the site says it is and more,all items top of the line bedding, linen, furniture. Was impressed enough this is where I will stay when ever we are in town, and I just want to thank Kara for everything! The one time I will say I Got my money's worth!!


Kara's Kottages

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $139 - $159
  • Recensioni (26) 4,6
  • Camere 3

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2694910765

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina