The Galen C. Moses House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
57 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

loved it

5 su aprile 26, 2014

Dear Larry & Jim, We have just returned to the wilds of Maine from a two night stay at your gorgeous home. You both have the skill of hospitality refined to art. Breakfasts were displays of culinary art. The tastes were sublime. We appreciated your suggestions as to where we might spend the day as well as your restaurant guidance. Such a treat to return to our beautiful room to find the bed covers turned down, the shades drawn and the lights on. We were touched by these kind gestures. It truly makes one feel welcome. We loved our conversations with both of you, always witty and enjoyable. Your restoration of this fine old property was clearly an act of love and can be seen in every space. May you both continue to find happiness in whatever you choose to do. Phil & Barrie Colbath Fayette, Maine

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for this very positive review. You seem to highlight the areas that both Larry and I attempt to emphasize. We really look forward to your return.


One of a kind!

5 su ottobre 18, 2013

Beautiful, interesting house. Friendly, welcoming environment. One of a kind stay!


Would definitely recommend this place!

4,6 su agosto 14, 2013

Jim was very welcoming when we arrrived and gave us a tour around the house, telling us about its history etc. Larry welcomed us in the morning and we had a great pre-breakfast chat. Breakfast was excellent. Great tips for the area included!


Excellent Stay!

5 su luglio 24, 2013

A remarkable place in all aspects. Adding to this: the two friendliest innkeepers in the world- they did everything for us. we would recommend this place to all. Words cannot explain how great it is - it has to be experienced!

Risposta del proprietario
We appreciate your positive comments and do hope that you will return soon. We so enjoy interacting with our guests throughout their stay but, especially, at breakfast where we can assist in planning your day and attempt to know you better.


A Great Stay in Maine

4,8 su febbraio 24, 2013

The hosts, Jim and Larry, were wonderful. The house and decor were amazing. A five-star stay!


A Rare Experience

5 su settembre 11, 2012

Great house, great breakfasts, great hosts, great welcome, great memories to keep alive.


Fabulous Hosts!

5 su settembre 07, 2012

Fun place to stay. Great food. Wonderful company. Terrific rooms!

Risposta del proprietario
We are always pleased when guests take their time to write a review. It gives us great feedback on how we are doing as innkeepers.


Delightful Weekend Getaway

5 su settembre 06, 2012

Hosts Jim & Larry welcome their guests at this resplendent B&B full of delightful Victorian architecture and collectables, set amongst a peaceful gardened property. Their style and wit were exceptional and the meals were delicious. We were so pleased that they were dog-friendly, too.


Excellent & Awesome!

5 su agosto 12, 2012

Wonderful hosts, great service, beautiful old historic inn full of antiques. Highly recommend a visit! Jim & Larry rock!


Best house on place

5 su luglio 27, 2012

Warm and friendly reception in a Victorian historic atmosphere. Unforgettable.


Newly weds

5 su settembre 22, 2011

It was a perfect place to stay after my wedding. Jim and Larry are great people with lots of character. Mildred, the housekeeper was sweet and delightful. The rooms are very clean. They allowed you to do as you needed (i.e. there were not curfews or strict unreasonable house rules). The parking is in the back or on the street and very convenient. The brunch in the morning was delicious, but one was not required to attend. It was indeed outstanding!!


Amazing!

5 su settembre 14, 2011

We stayed with Larry and James mid week before labor day and it was fantastic. Our room was spotless and charming, the house was full of antiques but very clean and breakfast was wonderful. Best B&B ever.


Wow!

5 su luglio 18, 2011

Simply great property: lovely rooms, quiet, but walking distance to town; gracious hosts; grand breakfast...


The most beautiful bed and breakfast

4,6 su maggio 23, 2011

I was so impressed with my stay last week. I spent three nights while on business and it was the nicest bed and breakfast that I have stayed in. Larry and Jim are impeccable innkeepers. The room was perfect. The bed was turned down in the evening with fresh water next on the night-stand. Everything was in its place. The inn had been restored to the original home and decor. Every piece was meticulously cleaned, polished and finished. I stayed because I had a business meeting. I will come back with my wife because it is so romantic.


Victorian Charm

3,8 su agosto 10, 2010

You are transported back in time to the gracious Victorian era. Historic B&B in great location for exploring. Mid-coast Maine. Informative and friendly hosts help you make the most of your visit.


Immaculate

4,0 su agosto 03, 2010

Very clean accommodations. Weather was very warm, so common areas were warm, but all bedrooms had A/C. Hosts very nice. Food very good.


The Pink House!

4,2 su giugno 20, 2010

We were passing through Bath in late April and were able to find a very nice place at The Galen House. The two gentlemen who hosted us were friendly and made us a most delicious breakfast! Their greyhound dog looks as though he is living the life in this fancy home. There are many excentric things throughout the house and we were pleased to find that we could play music on the piano.


Wonderful

5 su giugno 16, 2010

This was an excellent B&B. Jim and Larry were wonderful hosts and had the best breakfasts. This B&B really made our trip wtih its relaxing atmosphere.


Warm, Welcoming and Beautiful!

4,6 su giugno 02, 2010

From check-in to check-out, just lovely! The "Galen Moses", Larry, Jim and summer, are now the destination, not just an overnight accommodation. We found reasons to not run here and there, and instead stay put, to enjoy their beautiful home and hospitality.


Delightful Surprises

4,8 su novembre 02, 2009

The location of this B&B was its first plus. We could walk to virtually any place in town to eat, enjoy the shops, and stroll the waterfront park. The connection to history was its second star. My husband loves both history and the YMCA, and Jim and Larry had both areas covered with detailed facts and anecdotes. The "Pink Lady" is stunningly restored both inside and out. The fellows have their whimsical moments when it comes to decor, which added to the fun and charm of our stay. (Ask Larry about his book of trees.) Breakfast was gourmet quality, and the trivia-sprinkled conversations ran through all four courses. Both Larry and Jim are to be commended for a first class production!


great hosts, good location

4,2 su settembre 12, 2009

Larry and Jim are very helpful and seem to truly care about their guests. Great breakfast. Good location if you want to explore the Mid-Coast.


Fun location, great hosts, excellent breakfast.

5 su agosto 31, 2009

Larry & Jim go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome & pampered.


Fantastic stay

5 su agosto 24, 2009

Larry & Jim provide a relaxed but stimulating atmosphere. Between the well-thought-out rooms (with interesting and charming decor and antiques) and delightful hosts I had a wonderful stay. Breakfast was top-notch.


A little disappointing, after great expectations

3,4 su agosto 21, 2009

We got off on the wrong foot, when we could not find the bell and walked through the fantastic garden and invaded via the kitchen door we presumed was the entrance off the parking lot...it was not. It is a beautiful house, very spacious and comfortable. The hospitality...our host was quite crusty and seemed put off by our questions. The 8AM sharp breakfast time was a little confining for vacationers but did get us out and about early the next day.


Hosts & Home Extraordinaire

5 su agosto 06, 2009

Jim & Larry are the pinnacle of hosts. The Galen Moses House is 8,000 sq ft. of exceptional woodwork, stained glass, lovely grounds, arches, & walking distance to downtown Bath. Come & enjoy.


Grandeur in 19th Century Bath, ME

4,6 su marzo 03, 2009

What a memorable winter break for someone from Houston! My stay in a historic Victorian mansion with period furnishings and on the street where all of the town's elite lived was marvelous! Walking to light streaming in the stained glass windows was a great start each day!


hosts with the most

4,2 su gennaio 22, 2009

Jim and Larry's personalities compliment one another perfectly, and their talents combined to make our stay at the G.C. Moses House memorable. The decor is over-the-top fabulous, the food delicious, and the camaraderie comfortable. They know the area well and offered suggestions for activities and dining.


Galen Moses House

4,4 su ottobre 10, 2008

What a marvelous stay! We highly recommend this beautiful and expertly-run inn.


Romantic, very clean, good value.

5 su settembre 22, 2008

My wife and I spent 3 romantic evenings at this historic house. We felt more at home there than amongst friends. The hosts are gracious, personable and interested. The breakfasts are equivalent to the best. The quiet area is near downtown. The rooms are impeccably clean. Drs D&S Lacroix


Lovely....But

4,2 su luglio 23, 2008

As a whole the Inn exceeded our expectations. One of the innkeepers omnipresence & excessive dialog kept the experience from being exceptional.


What a delight!

5 su luglio 14, 2008

My sister and I stayed in the Moses room at the Galen Moses House while visiting family and planning a wedding for next summer in Popham Beach. What a delight it was to find this place and come back home to it each evening! Larry and Jim were the consumate hosts - so friendly and accommodating and they really made us feel at home. Jim's breakfasts are outstanding while Larry's gardens a lovely place to relax and enjoy his 72 varieties of hosta! Not only will we go back, this B&B will be on the recommended list to wedding guests for the summer of 09!


Superlative stay!

4,8 su giugno 30, 2008

Having shied away from B&Bs because of previous insatisfactory experiences, we cautiously booked a stay at the Galen Moses House. What we discovered was a stellar visit provided by two consummate hosts! The room was lovely and inviting, the breakfasts outstanding and an atmosphere of warmth. This is what a B&B should be!


At home with Jim and Larry

5 su giugno 19, 2008

Hosts Jim and Larry make you feel at home in thei beautifully restored Victorian, from the warm welcome to the great breakfasts to the easy conversation. Don't miss this one-of-a-kind experience.


Quaint, Elegant, Secluded

4,8 su giugno 10, 2008

Gourmet meals, personal service, fun hosts - went the extra mile. It was the best trip we ever had.


At home in the museum.

4,4 su giugno 10, 2008

It looked like a museum, but didn't feel like a museum. It felt warm a nd personal and not sterile. Very friendly staff.


A Walk Back in Time

3,4 su maggio 29, 2008

The Galen Moses House is walk back though time. The architectural detail in each room is extraordinary with extensive period furniture. Larry and Jim are wonderful hosts!


Oh, my! Oh, my!

5 su maggio 09, 2008

Galen Moses is by far the most welcoming and entertaining B&B I have visited. Jim and Larry are hosts extraordinaire...engaging, discreet, and fun to be around. Scrumptious breakfasts. Fabulous music. Every room is a step back in time. You'll be smiling for weeks after you are back in your own cosy nest.


My Galen Moses

4,6 su maggio 02, 2008

Jim and Larry are great hosts. Their home is beautiful with period furnishings with the modern amenities that I need. The Bath area is so quaint. You think you are taking a wonderful step back in time.


A week at Galen Moses

4,6 su maggio 01, 2008

We were in Bath house hunting and not only did Jim and Larry provide great breakfasts, friendly service and lovely rooms, they also introduced us to a realtor and gave us great insight into Bath.


Hosts with the Most

4,6 su maggio 01, 2008

We were fortunate enough to stumble upon the Galen Moses House when we were scoping out places to live in Maine. Bath was a good mid-way point, and so we spent several days at the Galen Moses House. It's a beautiful Victorian mansion with terrific architectural features. Jim and Larry couldn't have been better hosts. They imparted to us their love of Bath and even found us a Realtor who ultimately found us a house in Bath! Jim's cooking is delicious and the guests are treated not only to a great breakfast, but the antics of Larry's service. Both guys are there to make your memorable. They have done a great job renovating and maintaining the splendor of the house. The rooms are all spacious and individually decorated. In the cold weather, you may be fortunate enough to sit by the library fire and share a cocktail with the hosts or other guests. I can guarantee that your stay at the Galen Moses House will be memorable.


Great Memories

5 su aprile 28, 2008

I spent many weeks at the Galen C Moses House while consulting at a local hospital. After a short time it began to feel like home. I have returned often with family and friends. Jim and Larry are wonderful.


Review of Galen Moses

4,8 su aprile 25, 2008

I have stayed at the Galen Moses House many times and always enjoy it. It takes me back to 19th C. elegance that modern hotels cannot accomplish. It is beautfully maintained and retains the architechtural features that made it special to its original owner. Breakfasts are an especial treat, always something one does not find elsewhere.


CAN I MOVE IN WITH THEM?

5 su aprile 24, 2008

Wow, what a place ! and what amazing hosts.. James and Larry are wonderful.. you got to stay there.. !!! I want to live there !


An enjoyable stay!

5 su aprile 23, 2008

The big "pink house" is a real treat - wonderful, clean accomodations and a delicious morning meal. Jim and Larry are exceptional hosts; warm and witty and definitely a lot of fun.


Not an ordinary visit!

4,6 su aprile 23, 2008

We have stayed at Galen Moses twice while in town to visit with our son at a local boarding school. Our first visit was in a lovely Victorian style room with fully appointed private bath. Little details like shower hats, fresh ice water at the ready, really made the experience above average. Our early breakfast needs are always met with a smiling and witty kitchen elf who serves fabulous food, even before the main breakfast. Too bad we can never partake of that! Our second stay was in a full mini apartment with a kitchen. Also a lovely stay with room to spread out. We always feel as though we pretty much have the run of the house, and never feel like we are the paying guests, only like guests. Since our visits tend to be very emotionally involved given our homework assignments, we always feel very supported by the owners. They are quite helpful as well as funny. The theme stuff is fabulous and the house is decorated amazingly. We highly recommend a visit.


A step back in time to elegance and gracious attention

5 su aprile 23, 2008

In a word - superb! There are few places that can truly calm the mind, lift the spirit, and delight the senses. The GCM is one of those places.


One of a Kind

5 su aprile 23, 2008

The Galen C. Moses House is a charming and beautifully decorated Bed and Breakfast. The owners are very good at making their guests feel welcome. The Inn and the rooms are impeccably clean. My husband and I are repeat visitors and will definitely be visiting again in the near future. We not only love the Inn we love the historical town of Bath.


Galen Moses House is the best romantic getaway

5 su aprile 23, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our wonderfully appointed room. The gourmet breakfast hosted by the inn's owners was yummy, and the conversation among the guests was memorable. This inn is well-located--- walking distance from quaint shops and a short drive to Freeport, the outlet mecca. Can't wait to return to Galen Moses House again.


Oh my!

4,6 su aprile 23, 2008

This is one you just can't miss! An unbelieveably exquisite home with oodles of history and the innkeepers' tour is not to be missed. I promise you have never enjoyed a spot like this!


Fun With Our Girls

5 su aprile 23, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stat at the Galen C. Moses House and touring the surrounding areas. An excellent time was had by all!!


Unique & Charming

5 su aprile 23, 2008

Jim and Larry are the perfect hosts for a weekend away in charming Bath.


Wonderful Bath

5 su aprile 23, 2008

I cannot say enough about the Galen Moses House! The initial greeting from the owners was so warm and inviting, I felt like I had known them all my life. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed plus breakfast was far beyond any expectation. The innkeeper's willingness to acclamate us to their town took lots of time and energy on their part and, quite frankly, we would not consider staying anywhere else. We have recommended it to many of our friends and associates.


Victorian Treasure

4,6 su ottobre 16, 2007

Exquisitely furnished, charming, and knowledgeable hosts, fabulous breakfast. A real treat.


Galen C. Moses House

4,4 su ottobre 16, 2007

Excellent service and hospitality. We will return again!


A Magical Stay.

5 su ottobre 08, 2007

This b&b is one of the most beautiful and interesting houses around. Usually you see well maintained vintage architecture and detail in a museum. Jim and Larry have somehow managed to combine museum quality with comfort and a sense of humor.


Galen C. Moses House.

4,0 su settembre 19, 2007

An excellent visit - our 3rd-4th visit. An excellent facility.


Wonderful Experience!

4,4 su settembre 14, 2007

The Galen Moses house was the most unique B&B we've every stayed in. It was like being in a museum. Our room was impeccably decorated and maintained decorated and maintained, our breakfasts were fabulous and our hosts were gracious and welcoming. Summer, their greyhound ws an added treat!


The Galen C. Moses House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $198 - $198
  • Recensioni (57) 4,7
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2074428771
  • Gratuito 1-8884428771

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina