Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
3,8

Più info

  • Camera3,6
  • Servizi3,8
  • Valore3,8
  • Pulizia3,7
  • Cibo3,8

Valore della struttura
39 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Great return stay

5 su gennaio 27, 2013

I have been hosted at Phoenix Risin on three separate occasions in the past 18 months. It has always been a very pleasant experience. I was greeted on each occasion with a smile, glass of wine, and charm. My room was very clean with warm, silk, sheets. Breakfast was served each morning. I love Phoenix Risin and recommend it highly.


Relaxing Getaway

4,0 su luglio 26, 2012

My husband and I frequent B&Bs and this time we were not let down. The host, Janice, was very kind and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious. We recommend it to anyone.


A Great Over Night Stay

5 su dicembre 27, 2011

My stay at Phoenix Risin' was one of the best and most pleasant stays that I experienced in quite a while. The accommodations were excellent. The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The whole place made you feel like you were right at home. I thought the formal setting room that had the walls covered with art was exquisite. Some of the art was by artist that I knew which made me feel even more at home. The host was very knowledgeable about the city and very helpful. I wish I could have stayed longer.


my experience of the bed and breakfast

3,6 su dicembre 12, 2011

The stay was nice the service was a slow, but the owner made up for that with her pleasant attitude.I will definetly recommend to my friends.


Great home from home

4,2 su maggio 22, 2011

From the moment I was welcomed with a glass wine to the moment I left after a hearty breakfast brunch this was a home from home experience.


Thumbs up for Janice

4,4 su dicembre 02, 2010

Phoenix Risin’ provides convenience and charm with a personal touch. We find it to be the perfect place to stay in the heart of Baltimore, at a reasonable price, and Bolton Hill is a beautiful neighborhood. The location is especially convenient for us, since our son is a student at Maryland Institute College of Art, just a couple blocks away, also in the Bolton Hill/Mount Vernon area. Our room on the third floor was charming and quiet. Janice Orr is a wonderful and attentive hostess. Using ingredients fresh from the farmer’s market, she whips up a delightful breakfast, providing charm and conversation as she cooks. We love Janice and intend to make Phoenix Risin’ our regular Baltimore destination.


Will not return

1,2 su ottobre 26, 2010

Rooms and bathrooms were unsanitary. We were told bkfast would be ready at 8:15am. When we arrived it wasn't even begun. There was a broken glass window in our room. No heat, you had to ask the owner. Roach motels under the bed. We informed out owner that we would leave at 8:30 on Sunday. She was never there to see us leave. We gave up on breakfast. It was like renting a room on Craigs List rather than a B&B.

Risposta del proprietario
This review shows that sometimes, no matter how hard we try, we can't please everyone. If our inn was as terrible as reported, we would not be celebrating our 11th year in business, Valentine's Day 2011. We took note of everything the reviewer said and even changed one of the companies we use, even tho we have no pests. We will continue to try to make our guests as comfortable, and relaxed as we want all guests to feel. We want guests to leave feeling renewed and wanting to come back.


Great Stay

4,4 su giugno 14, 2010

We enjoyed our comfortable and relaxing stay. The premises are well-kept and the location is great for seeing the city. The host was very friendly and accommodating, and we had a great breakfast.


Wonderful B&B

4,0 su maggio 05, 2010

The B&B is absolutely lovely and in a charming Baltimore neighborhood convenient to many of the places we needed to get to, including Penn sattion for those using MARC or Amtrak. Janice is very kind and accommodating, wonderful to spend time with.


Four thumbs up

4,8 su ottobre 06, 2009

I see most of the other reviews for this Bed and Breakfast are similar to ours. We enjoyed it very much, and happily recommend it. Those who didn’t enjoy it don’t seem to “get it.” A Bed and Breakfast is NOT a luxury hotel. They typically don’t have valet parking, room service or bell boys. If you want all of the amenities of a luxury hotel, I suggest you stay in a luxury hotel. A good Bed and Breakfast is more like a canvas, and the owner is the artist. The idea is to have a charming, clean, peaceful place to stay, and perhaps a unique experience to enhance your travels. We enjoyed the Phoenix Risin’ very much for just that reason. If you are adventurous, check it out. If you want your stay to be forgettable, stay at the Marriot.


Very Charming

4,2 su luglio 24, 2009

My stay at the Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast was very enjoyable. The room and bathroom was clean, comfortable and convenient. The staff was friendly and courteous far beyond my expectations. If I ever find myself in Baltimore again I am definitely going to keep this bed and breakfast high on my list of places to stay.


awesome!

5 su giugno 30, 2009

i just wanted to drop you a line to let you know how very much we enjoyed staying at your place over the weekend. it was every bit as lovely as we thought it would be. you should be proud of the establishment youv'e built. when we walked in the door we were awed by the spirit that greeted us. the location is great. the neighborhood is esthetically pleasing for sure, but clean and quiet as well. i can't say enough about the decor...just breathtaking. i did notice how you pay attention to detail. for instance, i was really wowed by the little adinkra symbols painted on the bedroom doors of the serengeti room. nice touch. the innsitters were fantastic and knowledgeable about the inn as well as the area and had great recommendations for stuff to do and places to go.they went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. the breakfast was delicious and the presentation was great. you left no leaf unturned. we had a memorable time and we would definitely stay again. sherbi and dave


Obama Inauguration Week Bust

4,0 su marzo 06, 2009

My wife and I made reservations to stay at the Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast owned by Janice Orr. We arrived for our stay the Sunday of Presedential Inauguration week. The amenities and condition of the Inn are not as depicted on their website. We left after staying only one night of a reserved and pre-payed 6 nights. My wife contacted the owner of the Inn, Janice Orr and she has made no effort or offer of resolving the matter. The following is a brief list of the numerous problem areas of service delivery we experienced while in Baltimore, MD at the Phoenix Risin Bed and Breakfast: 1. Lack of cold water to the main bathroom sink on the 3rd floor. 2. The bed linens were stained and considerably worn. 3. Internet access was not provided to us after requesting the access key and being made previously aware of availability. 4. Breakfast was not provided as agreed after the first and only night of our stay. 5. The ceiling fan in the bedroom assigned to us had a thick layer of dust. 6. The carpet at the entrance of the bedroom door was gone exposing the nails in the door frame in the full bathroom of the 3rd floor 7. The wrong key to the room in which we were to stay was provided and we were locked out of our room for about 90 minutes. It was our full intention to stay from January 18 - 24, 2009. Unfortunately, the amenities were not to our expectations or as advertised on the web site. Fortunately, we were able to find The Holiday Inn BWI had rooms available so we stayed there for the remainder of the week. Ms. Orr claims a refund is not in order because of inauguration week making room availability a premium in the area. My wife went as far as to give Ms. Orr five days to re-consider a refund or make us an offer and we have yet to receive a phone call or email reply from her.

Risposta del proprietario
First, we are open all year. Valentine's Day 2009 marked our 9th year in business. In that time we've received six (6) complaints, including this one. If we provided the type of service alleged, we would have been out of business years ago. We've received rave reviews from local and national publications (BALTIMORE and ESSENCE Magazines; BLACK ENTERPRISE.com). We also have repeat customers and many guests are referred by previous guests. The writer requested a refund, giving the above allegations as the reason for their request. A review of all of the facts led us to determine that the request had no merit. Thus, we've decided not to give a refund. The writer omitted very important information: 1. This complaint was sent to the Better Business Bureau and Attorney General. Both closed the complaint in our favor; 2. We had No Refund policies for cancellations and early departures during Inaugural Week. The writer Agreed to these policies in writing, altho we only asked guests to acknowledge receipt of them. 3. We had an inn full of guests. None of the other guests left early; 4. The writer's wife made reservations a few days after Barack Obama was elected the 44th President of the US. She reserved her room at a price lower than our inaugural rate and called several time a day for 2 weeks to insure that her reservation was processed at the lower rate. Every business in/near DC increased their rates. We followed suit, but did not increase her rate. Thus we lost money by keeping our word. We could have made as much with a two day reservation as we made with their reservation; 5. Her reservation was for 6 nights. Most people reserved 1-3 nights. Upon arrival she stated that had she known the Inaugural event schedule, she would have made reservations for fewer nights; 6. I offered breakfast to our guests, but they declined breakfast; 7. I only spoke to her the night she arrived and next morning. I asked how their night was. They said everything was great; 8. I went out that evening @ 8:30 PM. When I returned, I was told by the innsitter that they left while I was out with all of their bags. They didn't tell her that there were any problems when they left. A friend came to get them. His wife told me that she would've stayed with that friend had she known she was going to be in town when she made the reservati ons; and 9. Before they left they did not tell me or anyone here that anything was wrong. They waited for two (2) weeks (14 days, not 5 days, as alleged) to call. His wife said that she went online to see if there were other complaints. They didn't complain immediately because their complaints weren't true. If any allegations had been true, they could've been solved/fixed immediately. We didn't fix anything because there was nothing to fix. We decided that she looked for ways to cut down her Inaugural expenses. We know that lodging near the airport is always less than in town. Also, it would've cost $800 - $1200 to change flights during that week. The only available options for cutting expenses was to either stay with a friend or stay some place cheaper. Because we had a written "No Refund" CONTRACT with her, she decided that the only way she could hope to justify a refund request was to make false allegations about the condition/service at our inn. Thus, in view of the above, we didn't give a refund. Apparently both the Better Business Bureau and the Attorney General agree with us.


Phoenix Risin

3,0 su febbraio 11, 2009

The room was very nice and comfortable, but it took a really long time to be able to get into it so we could not enjoy it as much as we would have liked to.


Phoenix Risin'

3,8 su gennaio 13, 2009

The location was wonderful. The owner was very warn and the inn was very cultural (all types). the breakfast was different and most tasty. I would highly recommend this establishment to friends and family. The other people at the inn were pleasant.


Relax and be at ease

3,2 su dicembre 01, 2008

comfortable, casual at ease. welcoming and warm. I'll be back!


very relaxed, warm, calming atmoshpere

4,4 su dicembre 01, 2008

I would like to know the other guests who are staying unless for confidential reasons.


unique experience

3,0 su novembre 25, 2008

I enjoyed my stay very much. The atmosphere was very homey and friendly. The cultural effects were very nice.


Will not be back

1,4 su ottobre 19, 2008

Our stay was less than expected. There is no identifying sign on the building, so it took a while to find. No one answered the phone when we called. They were not ready for our arrival (check-in is listed as 3pm and we arrived at 3:30). We received no welcome or instructions upon arrival - we had to fend for ourselves. We were kept up the first night by other guests past 1:30am. The toiletries and food in the room and bathroom were already opened, which is unsanitary. There was a bag full of dirty socks and underwear in the closet in our room. Breakfast was late the first morning and we were not even offered breakfast the second morning. We were there for 2 days, and no cleaning was performed after we got there. The neighborhood is beautiful and there is a great restaurant right down the street, but the stay was not satisfactory. We were disappointed, to say the least.

Risposta del proprietario
The reviewer doesn't normally stay in B&Bs. There is no identifying sign on the building, because we are in a historic area that does not allow them. The inn is a large building so we can't always answer the phone before it goes into voicemail,but we do try. We always welcome our guests. They can't enter the inn without it. One of the things that distinguishes B&Bs from hotels is the respect guests show each other. There are no toiletries or food in the guest rooms. The guest rooms are on the opposite ends of the floor, and the guests in those rooms share a bathroom and a half bathroom. All of the guests said that they wanted breakfast at the same time, so we waited for everyone to come downstairs before we served the meal (altho guests were given juice to drink). The only time that guests are not offered breakfast is when they've indicated that they didn't want it. We went out the second morning, but rushed back so that we could prepare breakfast for our guests. As we drove up, they were leaving. It was 9:30 AM. Check out is 11:30 AM. They said they wanted to get an early start. We have been in business for almost 9 years; and are constantly striving to make our guests want to return again and again. So we welcome these comments.


Virgin Voyage

4,6 su settembre 03, 2008

As A first timer, my wife and I had a great experience that we hope to try many more times. The homey atmosphere really allowed us to relax and enjoy ourselves.


Refreshed

3,0 su settembre 03, 2008

A very pleasant stay without the hustle and bustle of hotel living. Beds were comfortable and I woke up feeling refreshed.


Dissapointing

2,6 su agosto 24, 2008

The Inn has three rooms. When we arrived about 2:15pm, the guests for the other two rooms were waiting outside and I learned that check in was at 3:30, (posted on their website). One of the other party's told me that he had made arrangements to drop off his luggage early and return to check in. We decided to do the same. When the door finally opened at about 3:00pm we were greeted by a lady that was not properly dressed to receive guests. Her limited amount of clothing was slipping off her and at one point, asked us to step around a corner out of site so she could fix her "clothing malfunction". The other guests had young children and must have been quite embarrassed. She said we could check in early since we were all there. Check in took a long time as she walked us through showing us everything from how to open and close doors that did not work well to how to flush the toilet and how to operate the shower. There were safety issues also. They included a lot of clutter in our room and extension cords under the curtain in our room. Our bedroom had a typical 30" wide doorway with two doors approximately 15' wide each that swing to meet in the middle. One of the doors is connected to the floor by a latch that was very difficult to release. My wife could not operate it and had to squeeze through one 15" door. It would be a serious problem if the building had to be evacuated in an emergency. I would not reccommend this Inn to anyone.

Risposta del proprietario
We are disappointed to learn that the reviewer was disappointed with his stay, as we aim is for our guests to have a relaxed and rejuvenating experience once they enter our door. Check-in is any time after 3:30 PM. That time is on the reservation sheet guests get from their reservation agency. The reason for the check-in time is to give our staff time to clean up after departing guests. We let them in early, since they had a baseball game to attend; and their luggage would be safer here. We do not agree that anyone working here was improperly dressed, but if there were a "clothing malfunction," we would want her to fix it. We always show our guests how unique items, such as the steam shower and push-handle toilet, function. That is because we are concerned about our guests' comfort and safety. We don't want them to get scalded or not know how to flush the toilet. We didn't know about the problem with the latch, but after reading the review have taken steps to assure that the latch opens easily. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and appreciate all of this guest's comments.


Friendly, but...

2,8 su luglio 22, 2008

The hostess was personable and chatty when she was there(mornings only). Expect to empty your own trash containers,hunt down clean towels etc.

Risposta del proprietario
As a B&B we are only allowed to serve breakfast, so it is only natural that guests will see me in the morning - I cook and serve breakfast. When guests arrive, we show them their rooms. Each room has 2 sets of towels; and we show them where extra sets of towels are in the bathrooms. There is also a "Welcome" letter that, in part, asks guests to tell us if there is a problem, so that we can fix it, if possible. The letter also tells guestss where extra towels, pillows, and covers are. She only stayed 2 nights and shouldn't have had to look for any towels, but if she had asked about them, we would have reminded her where extra towels are. Also, if she had told us that her trash can was full and we would have emptied it. We want our guests to relax and will continue to do everything in our power to see that they do. Thus, we will also revise our "Welcome" letter to stress our concern for guest comfort and safety.


great!

3,6 su giugno 20, 2008

great location, really nice home, cozy and very hospitable


i have high standards

3,6 su giugno 16, 2008

comfortable room. wonderful sleeping bed. delicious breakfast. great location. thoughtful and attentive host


awesome

4,4 su giugno 16, 2008

everyone should come here. this is amazing, the best! really!


wonderful

5 su giugno 16, 2008

very wonderful stay. looking forward to coming back next time we are in baltimore


outstanding!

5 su giugno 11, 2008

outstanding place to stay i recommend staying


nice

3,0 su giugno 05, 2008

my stay was nice and i would come again


Wonderful Place!

4,6 su giugno 05, 2008

this was just a wonderful place to stay at


Phoenix Risin' B&B

5 su giugno 03, 2008

Warm and cozy, exceptionally decorated rooms, friendly service and company and outstanding breakfasts!


Sedona room

4,2 su giugno 02, 2008

Very pleasant location and innkeeper, with excellent breakfast, quiet rooms, easy access to sites of interest.

Risposta del proprietario
Our guests are important to us. We strive to provide our guests with a warm and rejuvenating atmosphere. We will continue to do all that we can to make their stay one that will keep them coming back to stay. As always, we appreciate their candor.


Paradise

4,8 su maggio 21, 2008

Oasis in the middle of the desert! That's what comes to my mind when I think of Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast. I came upon this "treasure" just per chance, riding around the city with a friend on Memorial Day Weekend 2007, looking for adventure. Little did I know exactly what was in store for me. I was invited to attend a cookout, and when we happened upon Bolton Hill, I wondered, "what's here?" In any event, when the red door opened, it was like stepping inside another world and I found myself wondering, am I still in Baltimore City??? Where has this place been in all my years of living here? The decor is elegant and rich, yet very inviting, making you want to sit and stay a while. Janice is a warm and welcoming hostess, and I felt like a little kid -- like, oooh -- can I see the rest of your house? Each of the rooms has its own personality and depending on the type of adventure you're seeking, I know you'll find a room that speaks to you! I knew then I'd be back. So, in October 2007 for my birthday, I treated myself to a stay at the inn. I also wanted to surprise my mate, for he too did not know anything about this treasure. It is a warm and intimate place, not too far from anything and yet, it seems miles away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Pass the word on -- I DEFINITELY recommend a stay at the inn!

Risposta del proprietario
We continually strive to provide our gu


Not at all rejuvenating

1,2 su maggio 07, 2008

I regret to write this review and have tried to offer an objective description. Please seek alternative accommodation. Carpet in the house (stairs & halls) is filthy and has a strong unpleasant odor. There was no private bathroom (Sedona Room) and the website does not indicate this. Exposed light bulbs in the full bathroom were decorated with fake flowers - a fire hazard concern. It was difficult to avoid bodily contact with the curtain inside the narrow shower. I had to open the windows to air out the room from the house’s pungent odor. When I arrived back after a long conference day, the innkeeper informed me that she closed them due to problems with beetles. She said an exterminator treated my room that day with pesticides. There was no prior notification. A room key was not provided upon arrival. The doorknob lock was broken anyway. The innkeeper hesitated to give front door keys upon request, although it’s kept locked. As a solo traveler, I felt uneasy with the idea of waiting for someone to answer the door each time I came and went. However, the neighborhood is charming with row houses, brick sidewalks, and lots of trees. The room was not ready when I arrived at 4:30pm. I was tired and wanted to lie down. The innkeeper needed my help to change the sheets and remove a dirty coffeepot and mug. The headboard was broken and detached from the bed frame. Dark-colored flannel sheets were provided - in May. The iron was dirty. Although asked for my preference ahead of time, there was no sparkling cider or champagne. The kitchen was cluttered and unclean. For breakfast, I was offered a variety of unrefrigerated, opened bottles of juice and shriveled, bruised fruit. During my stay, I was the only guest. Conditions are extremely unsatisfactory, contrary to the website description.

Risposta del proprietario
This review was a shock. The guest stayed in the same room and shared the same bathrooms as the reviewers below, who had no complaints. She stayed in that room for 4 nights, was the only guest, but never complained about anything nor asked to change rooms. The only odors that I aware of are the cleaner we used on the rug before she arrived, and citrus furniture polish. There was a bug problem that we acted quickly to end. We were told that they came in thru the open window, so we closed it. Our inn is in 1 of the best areas in town. It's safe, has 2 colleges, with their own buses and police. We have an escort service for guest use. All guests receive room and inn keys. All locks work.We told her this. The guest's comments reinforces my belief that each guest's experience is unique to him/her. While we can't please everybody, it doesn't mean that we won't try. It just means that we will try harder.


I'm coming back

3,2 su maggio 06, 2008

I felt safe and no complaints. I stayed one night. When I get home I'm going to call so that I can come back for 2 or 3 days.

Risposta del proprietario
We look forward to having all guests return to stay with us. We will do everything in our power to make sure that this guest's next stay will be better than the first stay. We want guests keep coming back to stay with us. Moreover, we appreciate his patronage. Thank you for being our guest.


Nice

3,0 su maggio 05, 2008

My stay was nice and I would come again.

Risposta del proprietario
We want our inn to be a place where guests want to return again and again. Also, we will do everything in our power to see that future stays exceed the expectations of our return guests.


Beautiful place!

5 su aprile 20, 2008

A warm ,pleasant place to stay, the service was excellent, the food was out of this world! This was my first visit to a bed and breakfast and I had a wonderful time. I recommend this place to anyone!!! It's really nice.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your wonderful review. It's always good to know that our guests enjoyed their stay, as much as we enjoyed having them here. Please rest assured that we continually strive to make sure that all of our guests have the same experiences as you did. We look forward to having you stay with us, again.


An exhilarating experience

4,6 su aprile 13, 2008

I returned to Phoenix Risin Bed and Breakfast this past month for the six or seventh time. I frequent the Washington/Baltimore area on business. I am a repeat customer because of the atmosphere, the warm personable innkeeper, and the service she provides. The Inn is filled with African, African American, Native American and Hatian art. I particularly enjoy the effort the Innkeeper makes to make me feel at home while away on the road. Upon return visits, I am always greeted with a warm hug and my favorite beverage of choice awaiting my arrival. The Innkeeper is very familiar with the highest quality restaurants and makes recommendations for me and my business associates. She provides very hearty breakfasts that meets with my taste and are based on my eating habits, as a breakfast loving person and early starter. I highly recommend Phoenix Risin because of the personalized service that is provided each time I return.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your wonderful review and for reminding us that we need to ensure that frequent guests get the same extraordinary service and value that new guests receive. It's always great to have repeat guests stay with us. They're like old friends, but even old friends deserve only the best. Thus, I can assure you that we will make sure that we pay more attention to your needs, so your next stay will be the same caliber as those which have kept you coming back. We aim to keep repeat guests returning to our inn. Thank you, again.


Phoenix Risin - Inhospitable

1,0 su novembre 26, 2007

I recently stayed at Phoenix Risin with a few colleagues for a business meeting. The pictures on the website are deceiving and the property is disgusting. For starters -The property was unprepared for our arrival and the innkeeper provided several excuses but never offered a discounted Upon entering the property, the innkeeper had all of personal items (shoes, clothes, etc) out in the junky foyer area. Upon our walk thru of the home which had lovely artwork, the rooms looked clean but was not. in-room Coffe makers with fungus in side, old bed sheets with holes in them. The innerkeeper did not cook breakfast and kept a filthy kitchen. She also eased dropped in on our private meeting and proceed to provide input interrupting our meeting. There were so many levels of unprofessionalism and filthy living conditions I couldn't ruin one's appetite. Last but not least we checked out early due to inhospitable conditions and the innkeeper rushed downstairs to charge our credit card for 2 nights instead of 1 night in a sweatshirt and panties (Disgusting!!) singing her excuse song. I would NOT recommend this property to anyone

Risposta del proprietario
We take guest comments seriously. If we didn't, we couldn't have stayed in business for 7.11 years, getting GREAT reviews and many referrals. We regret that the guest did not make her concerns known prior to this review, but we appreciate her candor. We take pride in our beautiful, clean, and sanitary inn and continually strive to keep it the place where guests return again and again. We have 3 rooms. The guest requested and was given early checkin. We also gave her group free meeting space. The innkeeper was unable to cook breakfast that day, but offered our last room to offset the cost of the meal. They accepted. This was done at the cost of losing the previous guest who stayed in that room for 6 nights and requested to stay a 7th night. We strive to give each guest a great experience. We use only the finest high thread count linens. Checkin is 3:30 PM, which gives us time to clean. Our staff has a cleaning checklist. We also have an early departure policy: Guests are responsible for full payment, unless we can rent their rooms for the remaining dates of the reservation. Checkout +s 11:30 AM. They did not leave at that time. Their meeting ended at 9 PM. In response, we are taking steps to declutter the inn. We fired the cleaning staff and hired new people. We strive to please every customer and are confident that a stay at Phoenix Risin' is a rejuvenating and unique one.


Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $160 - $180
  • Recensioni (39) 3,8
  • Camere 1
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-4104622692
  • Telefono 1-4104624551
  • Numero di Fax 1-4105233434

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina