House On Main Street Recensioni

Globalmente
4,1

Più info

  • Camera4,1
  • Servizi4,1
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,4
  • Pasti in loco3,8

Valore della struttura
31 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Good value. Great town.

4,4 su dicembre 12, 2015

Comfortable, clean rooms, great location. Breakfast has everything from fruit to cereal, coffee in a help yourself style, All you can eat


Great B&B

4,8 su ottobre 12, 2015

Great experience and reasonable price considering we visited during the peak of the foliage season. Donna and Tim are very nice and welcoming. Food is vegetarian. I knew this going in based on reviews prior to making a reservation. So the food exceeded my expectations because my expectations were low. Very good vegetarian breakfasts. We stayed for two days and had a good variety. Highly recommend


very pleasant stay in Williamstown

4,4 su ottobre 07, 2015

I graduated from Williams College and come back from time to time to visit my alma mater and the Berkshires. I had not stayed in The House on Main Street before and decided to give it a try, in part because it has resident cats (I love cats!) The house is lovely--a charming house that is well maintained: clean, tidy, nicely furnished, and very comfortable. Our room was cozy without being cramped and the bed was awesome--visually and in terms of comfort. The hosts have perfected the art of being friendly, helpful, and making one feel at home all without being intrusive, brusque, or demanding. IMO they are the ideal B&B owners. And their cats are charming. The House on Main Street is marvelously well sited to explore Williamstown on foot (close but not in the middle of things). And being right near the junction of Rt 7 and Rt 2 without being right on the highway makes it great for exploring the region as well. I would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B, and I look forward to staying there again.


The Place to Stay in the Berkshires

4,8 su agosto 25, 2015

The House on Main Street is the place to stay in the Berkshires. The conversations with the guests and the hosts are worth the price alone! It is walking distance to many fine restaurants. The Clark Museum is nearby as is the Williams College Museum of Art. I highly recommend the House on Main Street!


Could be better

2,8 su agosto 11, 2015

Great location near the theater and campus. Mostly quiet except for the motorcyclist next door who liked to gun his engine early and late, but not the fault of the innkeepers. However as veterans of B&B's, we noticed a few things that could be a lot better. I think the food is number one. The breakfasts were aggressively vegetarian with little interest or panache. Soggy oatmeal with raisins was the main and only course one morning and another breakfast consisted of pancakes with orange and pecans in them. There was milk and orange juice, dried cereal if you want, but I am used to more food and more spectacular food at the B&B's I've stayed in before. Usually there is some sort of welcoming snack, a plate of cookies or cheese and crackers, a bottle of inexpensive local wine, something that says we are thinking you as you arrive or after you come in from the theater. Not here. There is a whole sun porch with comfortable wicker seats and old decrepit cushions. A perfect place for a cool afternoon glass of wine or a cup of coffee before breakfast. But not a side table to put the refreshment on so they end up inconveniently on the floor. Lastly, we learned from a former guest who had stayed at the Inn twenty years before that the Inn had been Woodrow Wilson's summer White House pre World War I. Most B&B's have some sort of interesting history that the advertise that make the stay a little more interesting. Some of these caveats may seem a bit picky but the whole idea is that the owners could have done much better without any significant outlay in time or money. Strikes me as being a bit careless, lazy or maybe just a bit ignorant. If you want a comfortable place to sleep for not a whole lot of money, this is the place. Just do not expect too much more.


College Town B&B

3,8 su agosto 08, 2015

The House on Main Street is a very comfortable place to stay in quiet little corner of Williamstown. The big draw is the innkeeper, Timothy, who manages to make a group of strangers sitting around his breakfast table feel as if they were participating in a stimulating seminar at the nearby Williams College. The difference is that Timothy and Donna's cooking is much better.


Breakfast Was Lacking

2,8 su luglio 11, 2015

Admittedly, I have only stayed at two other B&Bs but I found the breakfast lacking. It was a tasty bowl of seasoned oats but quite frankly I expected another course. There was bread for toasting, bananas and sliced pineapple but some baked goods or eggs would have added greatly. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom a bit outdated but not unexpected in an older house. The Innkeepers were pleasant.


A real home on Main Street

5 su giugno 03, 2015

The proprietor was very helpful in taking an outstanding photo of our group.


Clean & comfortable with friendly host

2,8 su aprile 24, 2015

Right on edge of Williams College, it is clean & comfortable. The breakfast was good & creative, but not special. Overall, it was somewhat spartan in character in a safe but tired neighborhood - meeting our needs for a one night layover to visit The Clark. The host was quite charming & joined us for a pleasant breakfast discussion.


Lovely Spot in the Heart of Williamstown

4,8 su aprile 20, 2015

This is the second time that I have stayed at the House on Main Street. It's a lovely place, comfortable rooms, excellent food and the host, Timothy, is a wonderful, friendly, helpful man. I love my breakfast chats with him. Wholeheartedly recommended.


Very pleasant and convenient to art museums and hiking trails.

3,0 su ottobre 20, 2014

Felt obliged to make conversation with owner who joined me at the breakfast table.


Difficult to spot from the road, we needed better directions to find it

4,0 su ottobre 09, 2014

Very friendly owner.


Labor Day in the Berkshires

3,6 su settembre 14, 2014

We arrived to a note on the door and so we found our room. It was a bit weird that the house was empty and unlocked but apparently it is okay; we left our stuff in the rooms and never felt unsafe, but it is a unique feeling! The room (Rose room, second floor) was charming, our bath just next door was nice. My only complaint was the situation of the angle of the ceiling; I turned my head after looking out the window on my side (right) of the bed and whomped my head nicely! Breakfast time was nice to meet the other guests. I found the 2 breakfasts (pecan pancakes one morning, frittata the second) a bit on the dry side, but perhaps because the host and hostess are gluten free and vegan? Not sure but the spicy bean salad on the second morning with the frittata was tasty! All in all, a pleasant experience. Tim the host was very congenial.


An Outstanding Bed and Breakfast!

4,6 su settembre 03, 2014

The House on Main Street it a fantastic place to stay. It is within walking distance of everything in Williamstown. Breakfasts are served at a big table and it is fun to meet all the other guests. The rooms are very comfortable. Timothy and Donna are gracious hosts. It is definitely the best place to stay in the Berkshires!


short but great stay

5 su agosto 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Timothy's house and his company very much. Volker and Elisabeth fro Switzerand


A Williamstown Gem

4,0 su agosto 18, 2014

This lovely Inn is within walking distance to the Clark Museum, Williams College and the Williamstown Theater Festival. The King Bedroom with the private bath is very comfortable and downstairs there is a front and back porch where you can read and relax. The freshly made buckwheat, blueberry pancakes were delicious.


College Visit

5 su agosto 17, 2014

The location is wonderful and the innkeepers were extremely accommodating. I would highly recommend it. Because they had a number of guests, it was a little difficult to get bathroom time in the a.m., so you will want to plan accordingly.


Good location

3,4 su agosto 11, 2014

Nice place and a good location


Worth a stay

3,8 su luglio 30, 2014

Exceeded my expectations, very good value for location, quality, service.


Our stay in Williamstown MA

5 su luglio 05, 2014

Our host was very friendly and accommodating to our family's needs. Our breakfast of pancakes was particularly delicious. The location is fantastic and quiet and very green. I love the history of the building and the information about the history of the town was available on site.


Would definitely return to the House on main Street

5 su aprile 19, 2014

We came to Williamstown for a college visit and the House on Main Street was a short and pleasant walk to the campus and downtown area. We really enjoyed the cozy atmosphere at the House on Main Street. We stayed in the Rust Room, where President Wilson is reputed to have slept. The room was very comfortable, as was the shared bathroom in the hallway. The shower was hot and it was nice to have Avalon Organics products for the bath. Donna and Tim were very welcoming hosts. In addition to good tips for dinner out, they provided a delicious breakfast of local, organic, gluten free almond pancakes with local maple syrup and preserves. Yum! And coffee and tea were available throughout the day. We'd definitely stay there again! Lisa, Madison, WI


extremely pleasant. absolutely recommend

4,2 su febbraio 21, 2013

Just great! Everything from the food to the conversation was pleasurable. Stay at this B&B. You will not be disappointed.


Charming B&B

3,6 su novembre 15, 2012

Quiant and historic Victorian style


Some wonders are simple

5 su settembre 17, 2010

Timothy and Donna have a great, comfortable b&b which is in a perfect location if you're destination is Williamstown. I was fortunate to get the perfect room for me and my son on very short notice for a visit to see the college. It was spacious and the beds were large (we're both 6') and very comfortable. The place is immaculate and feels like a home. Tim made sure that we all felt like welcome guests and even made a disparate group of guests feel very comfortable with each other. The breakfast menu was even tailored for the mix of guests. Tim seemed to make it look easy. I specifically wanted a B&B for the ability to enjoy a more relaxed stay. I am grateful I chose the House on Main Street. I must give it the highest recommendation in all categories. It is so much like visiting a friend.


The Inn on Main Street is Wonderful

4,4 su luglio 02, 2010

My Mom & I stayed at The Inn on Main Street mid-June 2010 and had a fine time. I would certainly recommend this B&B for others. Tim was courteous and helped with my Mom's senior needs. He even sent back a small item that we had forgotten there. The best way to reach the Inn is to follow Tim's directions on his site. Williamstown really is a delight. The breakfast was substantial, fresh, and with excellent pancakes! Thanks, Tim & Donna for all your help and care!


Perfect & Proper

5 su ottobre 14, 2009

This is what a perfect & proper B&B should be like. We had such a great time here. Wonderful breakfasts, excellent hospitality...


Overwhelmingly disappointed

1,0 su agosto 13, 2009

Inn was dark when I arrived. Musty smell, allergies to food not considered, room was dirty & bed very uncomfortable.I travel often & stay in B & B's in North America & this one is the worst I have seen.


Great place and hosts

4,6 su novembre 15, 2008

We had the largest bed we've ever slept in! The room was airy, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were yummy-excellent pancakes! Timothy was very friendly and helped us choose somewhere to eat in the evenings. The inn is very conveniently situated for The fab Clark institute and the rest of the town-all very walkable. Thanks for a great stay-definitely worth revisiting! A and G, Essex UK


great location

4,0 su novembre 05, 2008

fun hosts, good breakfast. The front porch is a great place to relax, read, enjoy a glass of wine or just sit. Try it!


delightful

4,0 su novembre 05, 2008

lovely place, great hosts, wonderful breakfast. can't ask for more. a definite repeat!


House on Main Street

3,8 su giugno 26, 2008

clean, friendly owners, and great location.


House On Main Street

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $165
  • Recensioni (31) 4,1
  • Camere 6
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono (413) 458-3031

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina