Captain's House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,2

Valore della struttura
44 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Peace and quiet with a side of Ocean

4,4 su ottobre 24, 2010

We visited the Captains House on our way further north and were sorry we had but one night to stay. The owners and staff were welcoming and provided for a wonderful time. The breakfast was great with several things from which to choose, and the porch was a great place from which to start the day! The lawn goes directly to the rough granite shoreline - it was wonderful to just sit and soak in the sun, view and ocean air. The rooms were well furnished and comfortable, the common rooms very relaxing. Can't wait to return.


breathtaking setting

5 su ottobre 22, 2010

Magnificent view upon arrival and was warmly greated by host Howie and dog. Sue relayed a knowledgable review of the area and the home, They both made our visit very special, Our room was beautifully decorated and we enjoyed the relaxing breakfast on the porch, The granola was excellent, The view from the whole house was remarkable, Such a cozy setting! Vic & Dixie Davis


A genuine find in Rockport, Mass

4,6 su ottobre 11, 2010

If you are looking for a wonderful and peacful getaway..this is the place! Yet it is so convenient to many other activities if you aren't going to give yourself downtime..yet this place will help you really relax alot. The innkeepers, Susan and Howard, are really great folks..they make you feel welcome and are there for any info you want or need, yet not intrusive. The pics and descriptions on the website are right on..no fooling! The ocean and rocks are right at your finger tips, the islands and light house views are spectacular..as well as the beauty of the property, flower garden, etc. Breakfast is really nice...a good blend of morning food and a relaxing atmosphere...and always a different warm yummy breakfast cake. We were there 3 nights and regret we couldn't stay longer...we will next time! Thanks, Susan and Howard! You're the best!!!


Breathtaking ocean view

4,0 su settembre 28, 2010

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast home with unbelieveable ocean views. You can't get any closer to the rocks and water than this. We've stayed here two years in a row and plan to return again. Gretchen and Tim are very friendly and helpful to recommend nearby places to dine. I would recommend Captain's House to anyone who wants a quiet place to relax and enjoy the ocean views.


We've stayed here three times!

3,0 su settembre 25, 2010

We love it here! We love the privacy, the proximity to the ocean, the sun porch in Room 1, and the homemade granola. We enjoy coming here because it is a quiet place to read, rest and relax with a beautiful view of the ocean. . .We look forward to our next stay at the Captain's House.


A Piece of Heaven at the Captain's House

5 su settembre 16, 2010

A stay at the Captain's House is like falling in love for the first time. The hosts are warm and friendly, the sweeping ocean views are magnificent, and the home is a delight offering cozy bedrooms and a wonderfully delicious array of breakfast foods. It's impossible not to instantly relax. This was our second year back and we enjoyed it as much as the first time we stayed. We often sat outside on the white wooden chairs facing the ocean, just listening to the sound of the gentle waves and breathing in the salty air. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back again. We'd like to make this a yearly event.


Wonderful Location

4,2 su settembre 13, 2010

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Rockport. The location is so wonderful I'm just perfectly content staying at the inn all day.


All you could dream for

4,6 su settembre 12, 2010

Three nights at the Captain's House was all we could fit into a week that included the first wedding of a grandson. The weather was rainy, but we had plenty to do and see in and around Rockport. Our hosts Gretchen and Tim were very helpful in providing insights and inside information on Rockport. We have been day-trippers off and on for 40 years or more but this is the first time we stayed overnight. What we have been missing! At the height of the storm, we spent an entire morning glued to the breakfst room windows watching the waves crash against the rocky shore less than 100 feet away. What a treat! Lee and Jules


A breath of fresh air

4,8 su settembre 11, 2010

Towards the end of a very busy summer , my husband and I looked at each other and realized we needed some time away to relax and unwind, just for us. The Captain's House was the perfect place! The location is amazing, sitting directly on a rocky bluff overlooking the ocean. Gretchen met us upon our arrival and gave us a tour and some great advice on where to eat dinner in Rockport. The large and stately old house offers enough space for each of the guests so that you have the feeling of visiting a wealthy and welcoming grandmother who happens to be out. We stayed in room 2 which has a great fireplace and large windows which look directly out onto the ocean. After watching a beautiful sunrise over the ocean directly from our bedroom window, we had a delicious breakfast of homemade coffee cake, tea and fruit. We felt so well taken care of, rested, and almost ready for the new school year! The Captains House is truly a gem, we cannot wait to go back.


heaven on earth

5 su settembre 11, 2010

The shore of Cape Ann is my favorite place on earth and Captain's House is the perfect accommodation from which to enjoy it. Aside from the tasteful and comfortable ambience (with just the right balance of attention and privacy set by the inn keepers Gretchen and Tim), the proximity of being right on the water is unique. If you love the sound of the ocean as I do, this is the place to be...it is eqaully breathtaking from a visual perspective as well. I have been going to Rockport and Captain's house for my entire adult life and look forward to many more visits-there is nothing better for relaxing, letting go of stress and finding one's peace.


A beautiful destination that we'll return to!

5 su settembre 11, 2010

My husband and I have been vacationing in Rockport for over 30 years with other family members, but situations change. The family doesn't come as a group any longer, so after being away for two years, we decided to return on our own. We knew about the Captain's House and loved the location. We weren't disappointed! The room was lovely, and the breakfast teriffic! Homemade goodies every morning, in addition to yogurt, cereal, etc. We ventured out a few times, but spent most of our time right there! It's such a great spot, why leave? We're walkers and readers, and it's perfect for both. The huge comfy living room is just right for some quiet time before heading upstairs for a great night's sleep! We're already planning for next summer's visit.


Lifelong treasured memories!

4,6 su settembre 11, 2010

The Captain's House is the perfect place to both relax and feel inspired. I treasure my memories of being there as a child over forty years ago, and bringing my own children there, I know they will treasure their experiences there as well. The boulder beach is a world unto itself, perfect for painting, photography, yoga, for children to climb and play, or just for watching the weather, the tides, sea birds, kayaks, and fishing boats go by in a peaceful, private setting. The house is lovingly maintained with great attention to detail and lots of historical character. The staff is accommodating but nearly invisible, and the breakfasts have gotten better each year. The Captain's House is walking distance from town along a lovely footpath that goes along the sea. The town itself can be crowded during the summer, but it does not attract beach crowds, as the beaches are small. I always leave the Captain's House feeling refreshed, as if emerging from a separate, peaceful world. I cannot recommend it enough!


Room with a View

5 su aprile 11, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful my stay at the Captains House was. I was in town to take a mosaic workshop and someone suggested I stay there. It was everything I dreamed a bed and breakfast would be like. A charming hostess; home-made cakes and home-made granola were an added treat. The view, the antiques and the openness of the B&B were excellent. There was an incredicble view of the ocean from my room. I highly recommend it.


This is the place---what a find.

3,0 su novembre 28, 2009

The Captain's House was the perfect 2 night getaway. First & most important: it's right on the ocean. Second: we could easily walk into town, taking the scenic Old Garden Path that rambles along the shore line. We stayed in Room 3 (ocean views, queen bed, private bath, clean and fresh) and have our eye on Room 1 for our next visit (suite with separate sunroom & fireplace). Good self-serve breakfast buffet on the enclosed porch with separate tables. Unpretentious, spectacular location, lovely place.


Post card destination

3,8 su novembre 11, 2009

I highly recommand a stay at Captain's House. I shared the beautiful room #1 with two other friends. The hosts were very accomodating and friendly. The view of the ocean was as beautiful if not more than all the pictures shown on the site. Great place to go for a quiet spot along the coast during summer time. We could hear the sound of the waves from the room. Outside at night we were delighted to look at the moon, stars and lights from distant lighthouses. Don't hesitate!


Rockports Secret

3,8 su novembre 10, 2009

With only five rooms this Bed & Breakfast you don’t get lost in the crowd. Beautiful views from all the rooms, sounds of the ocean to lull you to sleep, a great breakfast, a comfortable place to read, and a long porch facing the ocean are some of the things to enjoy. While three of the rooms have their own bath rooms, two have adjoining ones; all are decorated in light colors and comfortable beds with no phones or in-room TV’s. There is a TV with DVD and computer in the common guest area for those who must. The living room is a comfortable place for listening to music, chatting, reading or just relaxing. The B&B's owners Gretchen and Tim Parker are great hosts offering advice on sites to see or where to dine.


Home Away From Home

4,6 su novembre 10, 2009

We have stayed at Captain's House numerous times. You cannot find a better value for an oceanfront b&b. Rooms are lovely. We actually prefer the non-formal breakfast (as opposed to having to sit at a table with perfect strangers) and the offerings are yummy. This really is our Rockport home away from home.


Breathtaking views

4,8 su novembre 09, 2009

It was our pleasure to stay in Room 1. The views were unbelieveable. Captain's House sits right on the Atlantic Ocean. We will definitely return for another stay there. Bill and Carolyn Carter Longview, Texas


Awesome location

3,4 su ottobre 15, 2009

I had a fantastic room looking out over the ocean and went to sleep with the sound of the surf breaking on the rocks below drifting in through the open window... magical! Lovely place to stay but I was slightly disappointed with the breakfast fare - rather limited range though of good quality.


One of the nicest in Rockport!

5 su luglio 14, 2009

We come to Rockport at least twice a year and this house is one of the best out there, highly recommend it!


wonderful

5 su luglio 01, 2009

Before we went to Captain’s house, I spent 3 hours just looking at websites of all Bed & Breakfasts and hotels in Cape Ann. There was no doubt even before we went that Captain’s House was the best place to stay. The warm and very personal atmosphere, the taste of family’s rich history and tradition, the lovely room with its breathtaking sun porch, the view of the open ocean from all our windows (You could almost touch the ocean from our room!), beautiful breakfast area, and much more made us feel very comfortable. Our 2 and ½ year old daughter loved the house so much. She even made friends with the owners’ dog and loved looking at the beautiful ceramic cup with a captain’s image on it. What a great place this B & B is! It is a true pearl of Cape Ann. I am so glad we found it and experienced living there. Rich, Barb and Kalina from Upstate NY


Amazing getaway spot

5 su giugno 30, 2009

What a beautiful and special home to stay in. You definitely feel that you're away from it all while only being a few miles from the middle of town. To be able to fall asleep with the sounds of the ocean and enjoy the views of the lighthouses, it was all breathtaking!


It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!

5 su maggio 15, 2009

This is a place that you just say WOW when you drive up... and it keeps getting better. We took the train into Boston every day to sight see. There is free parking at the train station and a round trip ticket is about $15. There is nothing quite like eating your delicious breakfast while watching the Lobster Boats checking their pots. Coming "home" after a busy day and relaxing on the porch while listening to the surf only a few yards off the backyard is surreal. I want to come back again and spend more time walking around Rockport, Gloucester and Manchester By the Sea. This is a special place and Gretchen and Tim are such warm hosts. Bonnie Rooney


Captain's House, Rockport, MA, just great!

5 su marzo 24, 2009

It's now been almost 40 summers that we've been staying at the Captain's House, and so it's like our second home. We have stayed in every one of the five rooms (each of which is lovely), taken advantage of the wide porch, inside and outside, and the rocks, on which our children (and now grandchildren) have frolicked. And we've met some really nice people, our co-guests, many of whom, like us, are annual returnees. It's just great!


Magical

5 su marzo 23, 2009

You never have to leave except to have dinner or bring it back and open a nice wine because you're not getting a better view at any restaurant. Gretchen and Tim just flat out want you to enjoy their entire B&B as well as your private room. They make it easy to create your own relaxing retreat. Don't be shy about exploring the large rocks as the tides change. We found so many rock venues for lunch, reading, sunbathing and exploring for a mini dip or throwing out a fishing line. We discovered more and more unexpected beauty to the flower gardens when we least expected it. It's not often that the word enchanting comes to mind but the Captain's House is that and more. Ellen and Bob, Middlesex, New Jersey


Good as it gets

5 su marzo 23, 2009

I can make this quite simple. We have stayed in this room for the last quarter of a century and can not wait to make it year number 26. Front row on the Atlantic, sea smells, fog and sun, gulls, surf sounds... and my personal addiction, fishing for stripers. Second generation and just as warm, friendly and accommodating. Good as it gets.


Right on the ocean

4,4 su marzo 22, 2009

The Captain's House is the B&B we had been looking for on the North Shore of Boston for years - it is as close as you can get to the ocean without camping out on the rocks. Fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves, and if you get to stay in Room 1, there is an attached private sun porch just for you. Gretchen is the most gracious hostess, always helpful but never intrusive. Breakfast is a buffet with something for everyone, and you can sit on the porch overlooking the water. We love to sit on the rocks just behind the house - always something going on in the vast expanse of ocean, with lobster boats, sailboats, waterbirds, and the twin lighthouses in the distance. It is peaceful, but you don't have to go too far to find restaurants and shopping.


favorite place to stay

4,8 su marzo 20, 2009

We have stayed at many B&Bs over the last 35 years, and seldom return to any; we like variety. But every year we return to the Captain's House. The views are stunning, the walk to town is delightful, rooms are great. The breakfast is as good as it gets for "continental" with always something fresh baked, and the best granola anywhere. You can't beat falling asleep with the sound of the waves lapping (or crashing!) on the rocks outside your window. John and Susan


magical bed and breakfast

4,8 su marzo 19, 2009

We have been coming to the Captain's House for ten years, drawn back by the charming hosts, excellent period rooms, and the astonishing views of the Atlantic. A wonderful place to relax.


The reality equals the pictue

4,6 su marzo 18, 2009

It's a rare situation when the reality equals or exceeds the publicity. The first time I drove in the yard I was just awed. There is nothing between the front porch and the ocean except a bit of lawn and the famous rocks of Rockport. Rooms #1 and 2 have the best views, but all rooms have an excellent view. If you like to hear the waves crashing all night as I do, leave the windows open. There are some wonderful restaurants in Rockport, but my favorite meal is take-out lobster roll on the porch at the Captains House. Gretchen is a great owner. She is informed and present when yo need her, and gone when you want the quiet time. A perfect inn.


The Edge of the World

4,8 su marzo 18, 2009

I, of course, would consider it an HONOR to write a review of the Captain's House...far and away the best vacation spot in MA...IMHO. My little poem, dedicated to this lovely home, is my greatest praise..."Standing at the edge of the world… Atlast I can breathe. Misty arms like lace enfold me, Wrapping heart and mind in peace I shall e’r return to this place… Part of me will never leave." At the Captain's House, our heart is home. Surrounded by the thrill of the ocean, the smell of wood and clean and quality is everywhere. The thick rugs, the feeling of warmth and comfort, mixed with old world charm, soft light and stillness... The ocean draws us from most every window, soothing and smoothing out all life's emotional wrinkles and promising a beautiful new day. Though this home belongs to someone else, their home becomes ours for a weekend. They graciously share it with us and seldom impose on our solitude, except to provide a cozy breakfast, the auroma of coffee and a smiling face. The Captain's House is the best place to unwind and enjoy the freedom that only the pure joy of an ocean can provide.


Treasure in Rockport

4,8 su marzo 17, 2009

We set out for a weekend getaway on Cape Ann with no definite lodging plans. Once we walked into Captains House, there was no question of looking any further.The inn is beautiful. The common areas are warm and welcoming. The rooms are well decorated with enough extra touches to make is very comfortable but not overly "frilly or fluffy".That is a comment for the benefit of the men who have been known to complain of such things. The ocean views are superb. It is an inn that serves as a great home base to explore the North Shore or the welcoming kind of place where you could just stay put with a good book and relax. The real test of a B&B in my experience is the innkeepers. Gretchen and Tim show the perfect balance of being friendly without being invasive.The dinner suggestions were also right on target. We will be returning and would recommend it highly.


Great place to stay;loved it

4,8 su marzo 16, 2009

This is the most beautiful place to stay if you love the ocean. The rooms are very pretty and comfortable;the views are indescribable and our hosts were very attentive and helpful.Go and stay, bring your camera. I'm going back and I think you will too.


Gorgeous View

4,2 su marzo 16, 2009

My husband and I needed to get away from our 7 children who were eager for us to get away! As such, we were delighted with the helpful tips on where to dine in Rockport. The views from our room were exquisite even on the one day it rained. The fireplace in the room added a dose of romance as well. In addition, the daily breakfasts offered variety and creativity to each day's beginning. We highly recommend this stay if you crave beauty and peace


Returning in August

3,8 su marzo 16, 2009

Lovely Inn right on the ocean. Open the windows and let the smell and sounds of the Atlantic send you off to sleep. We went last summer and made a reservation for this summer as we were leaving. Good spot to use as a base too. Nice neighborhood area to walk around at night. Very safe. Rockport rolls up the sidewalks at 9:00PM so it is very quiet. All in all a great deal.


Captain's House

5 su marzo 16, 2009

Wonderful stay - PErfect!!!


Breathtaking view at Captain's House

3,6 su marzo 16, 2009

Despite the fact that we've never had the opportunity to stay in the infamous Room 1, my husband and I have been to the Captain's House twice. We were able to see one of the lighthouses with our heads on our pillows from one of the rooms! The innkeepers are warm and welcoming and the breakfast delicious. But being right on the ocean is definitely the greatest draw. It's wonderful to hear the sound of the surf as you are falling asleep. We also really enjoy the public path along the rocky shore into town with the scenic overlook of Rockport from the "head". We'll definitely return.


The Perfect Ocean Getaway

3,8 su marzo 16, 2009

Over the years my wife and I have returned to the Captain's House on a yearly basis. It is the perfect place to enjoy the peace and quiet of the ocean.


Family Stay at Rockport

4,6 su marzo 15, 2009

It has been our experience that B & B's are not always kid friendly, and don't always offer the views they claim. That is not the case at Captain's House. Our entire family - including our 10 year old son - was warmly welcomed and the view was absolutely stunning. The rooms were neat and clean, with a wonderful family atmosphere. We had complete privacy. Gretchen was very helpful with directions and ideas for attractions. The food was outstanding , and that's really saying something considering we have the pickiest eater on earth in our son. We would gladly go back anytime, and have discussed a return trip in the near future. Rockport was wonderful, but the Captain's House made our stay truly memorable. Thanks so much!! The Nardi's


Beautifuly View-ON THE OCEAN

4,8 su marzo 15, 2009

Six of my family stayed at the Captain's House Inn, having found it on the internet and wanting to be "close" to the water. Actually, we were only feet away, as you can see from the picture as well as find it on Google. Easy to figure out when you can book a room, each of which is accurately pictured. The breakfast is on the side of the house facing the ocean with views of two islands and two light houses. The Inn is only minutes away from Downtown, easy to find, has its own parking area beside the house. Wonderful innkeepers, great views, very comfortable rooms, friendly innkeepers. What more could you ask for! After four trips to Rockport, actually going to many of the locations shown on the internet, and comparing location, price, and accomodations, you won't be disappointed in the Captain's House Inn. GDW Advance, NC


Absolutely Perfect!

5 su marzo 08, 2009

My husband and I have been going to the Captain's House at least once a year for 8 years now and we are always completely satisfied. We stay in Room 1, which has stunning ocean views and its own private sunroom. Breakfast is laid out every morning in the beautiful oceanfront breakfast room and you can go down at your own leisure to enjoy it. The views from the house are magnificent and there are plenty of nooks to sit in out on the rocks and dream. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. We love it there!


Wonderful oceanfront B&B

4,6 su novembre 16, 2008

My husband and I have stayed here for the past two summers. We stayed in Room 1, which has a wonderful porch attached and amazing ocean views. The location of the Captain's House is excellent - right on the ocean and walking distance into town. We are not veteran B&B'ers so we didn't know what to expect on our first visit. We were so happy with the experience that we immediately booked the same for the following summer. Breakfast is more than adequate - homemade granola, a baked item, beverages, fruit. You can eat in the breakfast room or out on the porch. It's hard to describe but the best part is really the ocean and views of the twin lighthouses. If you want a very relaxing getaway, this is the place!


Great location, beautiful views

5 su agosto 20, 2008

We had a wonderful stay. Rooms were clean. We stayed in room 1, the only room with a private sun porch which we spent many hours in. Views are beautiful, you can't get any closer to the ocean. Loved sitting on the rocks and listening to the ocean. Breakfast was a homemade bread or cake, fresh fruit, delicious homemade granola, yogurt, cereals, juices....lots of choices. Innkeeper was very friendly. Shopping and beaches are very close by. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. We can't wait to go back.


Exceeded my expectations!

4,4 su luglio 28, 2008

The Captain's House was everything it advertised and more! When we arrived at the house, it's expansive ocean view quickly appeared, and we spent much of our time either in the sitting room overlooking the water, or on the chaise lounges right on the rocks to hear the calming sound of the waves. Beautiful sunrise (if you're awake for it!), and just minutes from downtown Rockport. Very helpful staff. I would definitely stay there again!!


Captain's House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $135 - $210
  • Recensioni (44) 4,5
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8776257678
  • Telefono 1-9785463825

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina