4,2 su maggio 28, 2012
The Inn is comfortably updated, yet keeps the historic look of the original Inn. Very clean and comfortable. Great food at the restaurant.
2,2 su novembre 17, 2011
I decided to take advantage of a long weekend and book a room for my wife and I at the Robert Morris Inn. I went online to get an idea of what the Inn had to offer, and based on the limited photos posted on their website, I was favorably impressed and decided to make a booking. Shortly after I made my reservation online, I received a call from the Inn staff informing me that my reservation confirmation coincided with an update of their reservation system database, and the room I thought I had booked, turned out to not be available. The staffer apologized for the error, and mentioned they had one room available, and that it was one of their smaller rooms. Based on the decor and furnishings exhibited by the photos the Inn had posted on their website, I assumed the only difference in the smaller room would be size. I booked the smaller room, sight unseen. When my wife and I arrived to check in, we were shown to our room on the second floor. When the door was opened, we were greeted to a room that was indeed small, but the decor and furnishings could not have been further from our expectations. The walls, and ceiling, were covered in four different patterns of wallpaper, the furnishings resembled a collection of items from a thrift store, and the bathroom sink was barely big enough to wash your hands in. This room's decor bore little to no resemblance to those of the rooms showcased in the photos on the Inn's website. While we were told that this was a quaint room, and one that many previous guests considered to be charming, my wife and I checked out the next day for more spacious and comfortable quarters elsewhere. While I appreciate the historical significance and period details of the Robert Morris Inn, unless the management focuses some attention to the appointments and decor in ALL of their rooms, I will not be returning any time soon.
4,0 su giugno 30, 2011
Stayed in the Bottle Cottage, and enjoyed the large room and water view. Food and service are great, and it was very easy to walk to Mear's Marina and Schooners to join friends for boat rides and fun food.
3,4 su giugno 22, 2011
The Inn staff was very attentive to us at all levels. This is a beautiful and funky inn with character. Breakfast was outstanding.
5 su giugno 06, 2011
We enoyed a wonderful stay over Memorial Day weekend at the Robert Morris Inn. The Inn has a great atmosphere, is impeccably clean, our room was great and a terrific value, because the room had a sitting room and a terrific breakfast is included in the room rate. I will definitely return.
4,4 su maggio 15, 2011
the location, food and service were all excellent. if you are looking for modern amenities this is not your place, looking for a country inn...then stay here....
3,0 su maggio 09, 2011
Very nice place. Expensive but worth the money. Breakfast was especially nice.
4,2 su aprile 23, 2011
We spent a few days at this wonderful inn....went before the summer rush. Food is great and we didn't want to eat anywhere else. Oxford is really a sleepy town with not much to do so it is perfect for resting and gazing at the still water of the Chesapeake. Took the convenient ferry (right out our door) to St Michaels to do the requisite shopping. All in all - restful and quiet. Kids would hate it....
4,4 su ottobre 29, 2010
We were guests of the Robert Morris Inn but actually stayed at Sandaway Inn, a block away from the the Robert Morris. They were overbooked, so they moved us, but we can't complain because we had a beautiful room at the Sandaway and had great breakfasts at the Robert Morris Inn. The staff at the Robert Morris in were great - very friendly and accommodating. We'll definitely return.
2,6 su settembre 19, 2010
The Innis a treasure, but the decor is very faded and it doesn't wshow much sign of investment in a generation or so. I am not suggesting a massive modern restoration---that would price it out of the middle-class market, which woud be a real loss--but rather a tasteful revamp. It also does need internal airconditioning, though---the units in the windows block the view and drken already dark rooms.
3,2 su agosto 24, 2010
Oxford is a great location for an Eastern Shore weekend as you are centrally located to many towns. It is extremely quiet at the Robert Morris Inn and the town is pretty much dead after 9:00 pm. The Inn is very nice, old colonial style setting. We visited in August and was very hot given there's no central AC, but just window units - recommend staying on lower floor if hot weather. There's not a lot of common area except for the restaurant so you were pretty much limited to your room if not out and about exploring town or surrounding areas. We were looking for a few more amenities and a little more space so probably would not stay here again. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. This was just a little too quiet for our tastes.
4,8 su agosto 05, 2009
An excellent place to find peacefulness and tranquility. The accommodations are lovely, owners and staff very gracious.
5 su luglio 13, 2009
We loved our stay at the Robert Morris Inn. The history, location, service and accommodations were extraordinary.
4,0 su luglio 02, 2009
The Inn was recommended to me by friends from the Eastern Shore. I wanted something beautiful,serene, quaint and on the water; I got just what I wanted. I really am glad that I spent my birthday weekend in Oxford at the Robert Morris Inn. The staff are a large part of my positive experience.
4,0 su giugno 28, 2009
Medium grade B&B with a lot of historic atmosphere. Very nice!
1,4 su giugno 19, 2009
We were extremely disappointed with the quality of the inn. The room was shabby and had no amentities. We ventured over to the sandaway and immediately noticed how much nicer it is. Please give callers a head up.
Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, We are very sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with the decor and amenities offered at the Robert Morris Inn. If you had come to me during your stay with your dissatisfaction, I would have upgraded you to Sandaway or given you a gift certificate to come back to Sandaway. I regret to learn about your stay this way. Please identify yourself and any concerns you might have on a return visit. It is very unusual for us to get a review like this. We want all of our guest to have a very pleasurable stay.
3,0 su ottobre 30, 2008
We stayed in Sandaway part of the inn. Great location and view of the water. Very close to the ferry. King room was spacious as was the bathroom. Enjoyed the large porch even in cool weather. Continental breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Oxford is a quiet peaceful place with some good restaurants.
4,8 su ottobre 09, 2008
beautiful weather to sit and relax, watching the day sailors and the sunset
4,0 su settembre 19, 2008
Great location, perfect room. Very helpful staff!
4,2 su luglio 20, 2008
We had a wonderful experience at the Robert Morris Inn. Our room was upgraded due to air conditioning problems in the main building, and we loved our stay in the Tuckaway cabin. It was very quaint & we were steps away from the waterfront. We most enjoyed spending quiet time in the chairs right by the water. The breakfast was very good...simple and not huge quantities, but a perfect way to start the day. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Robert Morris Inn and the town of Oxford, and definitely hope to return for another quiet getaway!
4,8 su luglio 16, 2008
First visit to the Eastern Shore and an excellent choice of lodging at the Robert Morris Inn. The Inn, the furnishings, the service, the Continental breakfast, the views, all superb!
3,6 su luglio 10, 2008
My wife and I wanted to visit St. Michaels for July 4th. Many good places were already booked so we looked in the vicinity. Oxford is close enough and we stayed at Robert Morris Inn. It is a nice and relaxing place. The room (in the main inn) was big but basic and the bathroom was small but functional. The waterfront area of the Sandaway Lodge (another property) was great to relax in. The ferry to a location close to St. Michaels is literally next to Robert Morris Inn. We were also pleasantly surprised to learn that Robert Morris signed the original Decalration of Independence. All in all, a pretty good value.
4,0 su luglio 06, 2008
We stayed at the Inn and everything was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice, clean and comfortable, but not overly luxurious. It was what you would expect from a historic building. The bed was clean and comfortable. While they had a continental breakfast, the restaurant at the inn had closed the year prior while there was no indication on b&b.com that we saw. There is not a ton of things to do in Oxford, but that's what we were looking for. There were a couple of restaurants and an ice cream shop, which covered our needs. Views were spectacular and getting to St. Michaels was easy. I would recommend the Robert Morris Inn and would stay again.
4,6 su maggio 29, 2008
The Inn proved to be the perfect spot for a romantic weekend mini-vacation. The in-keepers were welcoming and friendly. Our weekend was scenic, relaxing and peaceful. It met and surprised our expectations.
3,2 su maggio 22, 2008
Quiet, romantic!! Best night of sleep I've had in a very long time!!
4,0 su maggio 14, 2008
My husband and I loved the room we saw on the website. When we checked in, our room was small and very different but still very charming. It was relaxing and quiet. The view from the sandaway was amaxing and the staff were very polite. We will be back!
3,6 su maggio 07, 2008
Only beach/riverfront property (along w/ sister property Sand-Away) in Oxford. (Those on St. Micheal and Tilghman will either cost twice or not provide equivalent rooms and ammenities) Area is quiet, laid back, perfect for getaways, yet conveniently close to "busier" St. Michaels and Easton. Highly recommended. Service is friendly, accomodating. Will definitely visit again/regularly.
3,6 su aprile 24, 2007
If you want to get away for a quiet weekend, this is a great place. The inn is beautiful, and the grounds are peaceful and stunning. Oxford is a quiet town, so be prepared to take the ferry over to St. Michaels if you want shopping or more restaurant options.
3,4 su aprile 23, 2007
We stayed in the Sandaway which had nice waterviews and the lawn is a great place to sit and read a book. The surrounding area is quite. It is a great place to relax. Our room was basic, nothing special but for the price we paid it was a good value. One way to improve our stay would be to add coffee makers to the rooms or make coffee available in the lobby of the Sandaway so that we didn't have to go out in search of coffee in the morning. Dinner at the inn was really good and met our expectation. After reading all the reviews about the crab cakes our expectation were pretty high. We really enjoyed our time in Oxford. Its a great place if you want to get away from it all and relax.
Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guests, Thank you for the suggestions. We finally have the coffee station built at our waterfront Sandaway lodge. Most rooms at Sandaway also have coffee makers. We hope to see you back. Safe Travels, Ben Gibson Innkeeper
4,0 su gennaio 18, 2007
We have stayed at this twice for weekend get-a-ways. Lovely Inn and reasonably priced. Beautiful surroundings.