Blair Hill Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
10 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Blair Hill Inn

5 su ottobre 17, 2014

This B&B is a really well hidden secret, and a great nugget of beauty. Dan and Ruth are amazing, and the entire experience there was memorable. I would recommend this location to everyone!


An Outstanding Inn, Outstanding Stay

4,8 su giugno 19, 2013

For it's very high price relative to other Select Registry Inns, Blair Hill had a lot to live up to. In fact, it did, and was outstanding. The rooms are, hands down, the largest and most tastefully decorated we've ever encountered in a small inn. The view from our room was staggeringly beautiful, and we commented frequently about the absolute cleanliness and attention to detail that Dan and Ruth paid to their inn. Topping it all off was Dan's breakfasts, which were truly gourmet. I only wish I had more room to enjoy his coffee rubbed sausages, not to mention the rest of his delicious breakfasts. Unfortunately, we were too early in the season to partake of the inn's dinners, but based on the breakfasts they must be wonderful. Given the lack of other places in the area that serve healthy food, we found the Sunday pizza dinner a very good way to relax, with excellent martini in hand, while looking at the magnificent view. Beyond all this, Dan and Ruth pointed us in the right direction to see 2 moose on two different evenings -- which made our stay that much more enjoyable. My wife and I would heartily recommend staying at Blair Hill.


The perfect place

5 su maggio 22, 2012

I find myself struggling to find the words to do this place justice, but here goes. My wife and I got married here and from planning to execution, the Blair Hill Inn creates an inviting, relaxed and elegant atmosphere. In all of our travels, we have not found accommodations that we more highly recommend. With easily the best possible view of the lake and mountains surrounding it, Blair Hill Inn complements the natural beauty and elevates it to something like heaven. The building, perched on a green hill with beautiful stonework and several towering pines, is majestic. The interior design is absolutely perfect, with tasteful, high end furniture and décor that doesn’t feel dusty or stuffy like some New England inns can. It strikes an absolute perfect balance of old and new features with such thoughtfulness in every aspect. Just when you think a day at the Blair Hill Inn is nearing perfection, you will witness a sunset from its windows that is unparalleled. You also cannot go wrong with any of the rooms. Our family members booked up the whole inn for our wedding. Each space is different, with a unique arrangement, feature or design that makes us want to stay in it. Food is a big draw for this place and we loved all that we ate there. Our guests enjoyed lamb, swordfish, and pork loin for the wedding and every dish was savory and fresh. What really brings the whole experience together is the efforts of owners Ruth and Dan. They are the best. Over the course of our planning they did everything to be helpful, accommodating, and patient. They are two of the nicest people we've ever met and I can't imagine such a beautiful place in the hands of better people. In summary, we will come back any chance we get. Even though it's a 5 hour drive from Boston and we may only stay one night, we know it will feel worthwhile. Stay here!


Old World Charm and Beauty

5 su agosto 29, 2011

This is truly a unique and beautiful inn. The innkeepers Ruth and Dan are gracious, friendley and more than accommodating. The decoration and attention to historic detail is evident from the moment you walk through the door. The rooms are large and spacious with lovely bathrooms filled with thick towels and every ammenity one could require. There are fresh flowers throughout and beautiful gardens surrounding the inn. Dinner was an epicurian delight where each of the five courses left you anticipating the next. The desserts were over the top in beauty and flavor. The breakfast is both elegant and delicious. The quiet and beauty that surrounds the inn is breathtaking and serene. This was truly a wonderfuly experience and we have every intention of returning as it was absolutely fantastic! Mr & Mrs Andrew Kushner


An elegant and beautiful inn

4,8 su ottobre 12, 2009

It was my wife's birthday and she has always wanted to see the changing of the leaves in Maine. I wanted an elegant inn, nestled in a beautiful setting that was in a remote area so that we could go hiking. The Blair Hill Inn was all of that and more. Dan & Ruth are fantastic hosts. They are so gracious and attentive. Our server Bonnie was golden! By the time we left, we knew we had made some wonderful friends. The Inn is elegant, but not at all stuffy. The Inn is nestled on a hill overlooking a beautiful lake. The rooms are spacious and elegantly appointed. The food was fantastic! For example, we had pork loin and chicken that was raised specifically for the inn on special grain. I highly recommend this place to everyone


not that impressed

2,8 su agosto 25, 2008

owners are more preoccupied with running their evening restaurant business than at least greeting the incomming guests. Did not expect wires hanging out from the ceiling, cracked window panes and some of the house siding being replaced. Under renovation?improvements? The breakfast food is good but not exceptional.

Risposta del proprietario
We are truly sorry that this was the impression left with these guests. We work so very hard to make all guests feel welcome and comfortable. Normally, both my husband and I greet diners and guests so we can give everyone our undivided attention. On that evening, I was attending a hospital board meeting which was to end at 6:00PM but unexpectedly ran over leaving my husband alone to check in guests and diners. He didn't mean to seem hurried but apparently he did. We offer this not as an excuse because we know that each guest's expectations must be met, but to explain that we do not treat our 'inn' guests secondary to our diners. I believe that all other reviews here and on tripadvisor. com will attest to that. As to the issues with the guest room itself - we did find a small 2 inch crack at the upper left corner of the window. We don't know when that happened or how but it didn't distract from the view and was quite minor. All of the windows in this room have since been replaced as part of our restoration efforts. As to the wires hanging from the ceiling; just above the guest door next to the existing smoke detector there was a small hole with two wires extending about two inches from the hole. We were in the process of replacing the stand-alone smoke detectors with a new, hard-wired smoke detector system. Upon check-out the new detectors were to be connected and the old removed. Unfortunately, we did not think to explain this as we didn't see it as a distraction from the overall ambience of this beautiful guest room. And, yes, we had just put a new french window in the bathroom of another guest room and were in the process of replacing clapboard around it. I truly wish these guests had told us that they found issue with these things so we could have had a chance to explain and/or offer some sort of amenity in return. We always bend over backwards to make something right if we can!


Loved the innkeepers

5 su luglio 14, 2008

This inn stands at the top of a hill in a stately setting overlooking fabulous views of Moosehead Lake. We stayed in room with a fabulous King Bed and a view that went on forever. Ruth and Dan are exceptional innkeepers. I've never felt so welcome and appreciated as a guest. They're down to earth, interesting and so interested in the lives of their guests. Anyone who asks to see photos of our kids is tops in my book. We had dinner (they only serve on Thurs-Fri and Sat) and it was exceptional. It's a five course meal and each course is perfection. I'm a dessert lover, and the chocolate cherry brownie sundae with goat milk cheese ice cream was incomparable. The porch is a don't-miss. Incredible views from a porch filled with wicker furniture and a swing. The Inn at Blair Hill is a true winner.


Ohmygosh! A true "Wow!" inn

5 su luglio 14, 2008

I've just come back from staying at the Blair House and it is just exquisite. It sits high above a hill overlooking a spectacular view of Moosehead Lake. The verandah has to be one of the best porches of any inn I've ever experienced. It is the perfect place to sip a glass of wine and watch the sun set. One thing I love about this inn is that all the doors to the rooms are left open if the room is unoccupied. This gave me the chance to look into some of the rooms, and each was as lovely as the next. I'd say the decor is primarily Haute Maine Cottage, with plenty of sophisticated touches like marble floors, and exquisite chandelairs. The grounds are truly amazing. The pictures here show the huge front lawn, but don't show all the beautiful stone walls that meander throughout this estate. The gardens are lovely too, and each room, table and foyer bears the pedals with fresh flowers throughout the inn. We had the chance to eat dinner at the Blair Hill Inn and were just in heaven. It's a five-course prix fixe dinner, with each course complementing the one before. The food was just fabulous; better than we can find in our city location. I would have to say, however, the best thing about the Blair Hill Inn is Ruth and Dan, the owners. From the very beginning, we felt welcome by their genuine interest in us and their unpretentious pride in what they've created (from a distressed farmhouse) in the inn. Watching them interact with other guests convinced me they truly love what they do, and that is reflected in the warm hospitality of the inn. I would give this inn my highest recommendation.


Complete Indulgence!

4,4 su luglio 08, 2008

My husband and I spent four nights at the Blair Hill Inn for our June honeymoon. The Inn is exquisite, yet entirely comfortable. It was a pleasure to get to know Ruth and Dan and we loved spending a bit of time outdoors with their animals. The breakfasts were - by far - the best we've ever had - anywhere. We highly recommend the Blair Hill Inn for that relaxing New England get-away any time of the year!


Magnificant B&B

5 su febbraio 26, 2007

This Inn is absolutely breathtaking and clean. The Inn Keepers are so accommodating. They are the chefs as well and will modify meals according to your dietary needs. The food is delicious. It is a very friendly place. My husband and I definitely want to return.


Blair Hill Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $350 - $495
  • Recensioni (10) 4,7
  • Camere 8
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2076950224
  • Numero di Fax 1-2076954324

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina